Developer docs
API playgroundTry for free, no card

Search company profiles

Speak

Full company profile

uuid00005zj

Namestring
Speak
Legal namestring
Speakeasy Labs, Inc.
Websiteurl
speak.com
Company typeenum
Private
Founded yearint
2016
Descriptiontext

Speak (legal entity Speakeasy Labs, Inc.) is an AI-powered language learning platform founded in 2016 by Connor Zwick (CEO, Harvard, ex-Thiel Fellow) and Andrew Hsu (CTO, Stanford, ex-Thiel Fellow) and headquartered in San Francisco. The company delivers a voice-first conversational AI tutor built on OpenAI's GPT-4 API and the OpenAI Realtime API, layered with a proprietary high-accuracy Speech Matching Pipeline that combines Automatic Speech Recognition with phonetic models, and an in-house Voice Agent Platform that powers Live Roleplays with low-latency, natural-turn-taking conversation. The pedagogical backbone is the proprietary 'Speak Method' loop — Learn (phrases native speakers use), Practice (repeat patterns until natural), Apply (real conversation with feedback) — supported by an AI-personalized curriculum engine that adapts in real time to learner goals, proficiency, and prior conversation performance.

The company sells primarily through a direct-to-consumer motion: a 7-day free trial on iOS, Android, and web converts into recurring monthly or annual subscriptions, with Gift Speak as a paid-acquisition variant. A secondary B2B motion, 'Speak for Business,' sells quote-based multi-year enterprise contracts with a dedicated L&D admin portal, custom content, and customer success, and has scaled to 200+ brands including KPMG and HD Hyundai. Reach extends across 30+ countries with 15M+ downloads, 25M+ personalized lessons generated in a single year, and 4.8 average app-store rating on 100K+ reviews; South Korea is the #1 market, with strong share in Japan and Taiwan, recent entry into the U.S., and an expanding footprint into mainland Chinese via a 2026 language launch. Speak is venture-backed (cumulative ~$160M raised from the OpenAI Startup Fund, Accel, Khosla Ventures, Founders Fund, and individual backers Sam Altman, Peter Thiel, Lachy Groom, Drew Houston, Jeff Weiner), reached unicorn status in December 2024, and reported $100M annualized revenue in late 2025 with 100%+ year-over-year growth.

Short descriptiontext

Speak (Speakeasy Labs, Inc.) is an AI-powered language learning platform offering voice-first conversational practice through an AI tutor built on OpenAI's GPT-4 and Realtime APIs. It serves 15M+ consumer learners across 30+ countries and 200+ enterprise brands, reporting $100M annualized revenue in 2025.

Operating statusenum
Operating
Ownership categoryenum
Headcount rangeband
251–500
akta.pro rankint
HeadquartersSan Francisco, United States
HQ citystring
San Francisco
HQ countrystring
United States
HQ regionstring
North America
Markets served

Serves global market

Offices5 records

Each record includes

City, Country, Type, Description, Source

Keyword5 values
AI language learning, conversational AI tutor, speech recognition learning, enterprise English training, mobile language apps
Industry3 codes
1Conversational AI Platforms (chat/voice bots, orchestration)
CodeHDAAAFACPrimaryYes
2Online Tutoring, Conversation Exchange & Language Coaching Platforms
CodeEDAFAOABPrimaryNo
3Pronunciation, Speech Recognition & Accent Training Tools
CodeEDAFAOAGPrimaryNo
NAICS code4 codes
  • Language Schools61163
  • Translation and Interpretation Services541930
  • Offices of Physical, Occupational and Speech Therapists, and Audiologists621340
  • Other Sound Recording Industries512290
Product category
AI Language Learning Software
Social media profiles3 records
GTM motion1 record

Each record includes

Type, Description, Source

Revenue model4 records
1Consumer subscriptions (Speak app)
TypeSubscription Recurring
Description

Recurring subscription revenue from individual language learners, accessed via iOS App Store, Google Play, and web. Offers a 7-day free trial that converts to paid plans (premium package referenced in user reviews). Generates the majority of Speak's revenue, with $100M annualized revenue reported in late 2025.

speak.com
2Freemium trial funnel
TypeFreemium
Description

7-day free trial grants full access to all features, after which users convert to a paid subscription. Acts as the primary acquisition funnel.

speak.com
3Speak for Business (B2B enterprise contracts)
TypeSubscription Recurring
Description

Enterprise SaaS contracts sold to corporate L&D teams for workforce English training. Includes a dedicated Customer Success function, Admin/L&D portal, custom content, and reporting. 200+ brands reported as customers, with KPMG and HD Hyundai named.

speak.com
4Gift Speak
TypeSubscription Recurring
Description

Gift subscription option for the consumer app, creating an additional paid acquisition channel.

speak.com
Marketing channels8 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Stage, Description, Source

Distribution channels2 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Scope, Target buyer, Description, Source

Cost components5 values
Technology or R&D, Personnel, Marketing or Sales, Operations, Infrastructure
Pricing details4 tiers
17-day free trial with full feature access
ModelFreemiumBilling cadenceMonthly
Notes

All app features unlocked during the trial period before subscription billing begins.

speak.com
2Premium consumer subscription (price not publicly disclosed)
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceMonthly
Notes

Premium package referenced in user testimonials; users mention signing up after trial and purchasing year-long unlimited membership. Exact price points not listed publicly.

speak.com
3Speak for Business — Enterprise contract (quote-based)
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceMulti-year contract
Notes

Quote-based enterprise pricing; includes dedicated support, custom content, and an L&D admin portal. Marketed as a fraction of the cost of phone English.

speak.com
4Gift Speak subscription
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

Gift subscription option for the consumer app.

speak.com
GTM typeB2B and B2C
B2B and B2C
Offering typeSoftware
Software
Brand1 of 2 records shown
1Speak for Business
Description

Enterprise / B2B offering of Speak's AI language tutor for organizational teams, with dedicated admin portal and customer success support.

speak.com
+1 more record
Core offering1 text field

Speak is an AI-powered language learning platform delivered as a mobile and web app that focuses on getting learners to speak out loud with an AI tutor. It combines an expert-crafted curriculum with proprietary voice-first AI (built on OpenAI's GPT-4 and Realtime APIs) to deliver real-time, judgment-free conversational practice, pronunciation feedback, and personalized lessons across multiple languages including English, Korean, Japanese, Spanish, French, Italian, and Chinese.

Differentiator
Functional benefit
Problem solved
Quantifiable outcome1 of 8 values shown
  • $100M annualized revenue (2025)
+7 more records
Product overview1 text field

Speak is a single unified AI-powered language learning platform built around a proprietary Speak Method (Learn, Practice, Apply) and a conversational AI tutor. The core consumer product, Speak, anchors the offering, while Speak Tutor (the AI-powered tutor) and Live Roleplays (OpenAI Realtime API-powered voice conversations) are the primary AI modules that deliver personalized, conversational practice across multiple languages. Speak for Business is the dedicated enterprise extension of the same platform, adding an L&D Admin Portal, dedicated customer success, and Business English content for organizational deployments by 200+ brands.

Product and service2 records
1Speak (Consumer App)
CategoryConsumer Language Learning App
Description

AI-powered language learning app available on iOS, Android, and web that gets users speaking a new language through an expert-crafted, AI-personalized curriculum. Targets adult self-directed learners across 30+ countries, with localized experiences in English, Korean, Japanese, French, Spanish, Italian, and Chinese.

2Speak for Business
Scale indicator11 records

Each record includes

Type, Value, Description, Source

Partnership3 partners
Strategic tierCoreTypeGTM or Marketing PartnerAnnounced on2026-04-14
Description

Partnership announced April 2026 to 'build a bilingual clubhouse' — using MLB games as a real-world language-learning engagement surface for fans.

Strategic tierFlagshipTypeTechnology or Integration
Description

Deep technology partnership: Speak is built on OpenAI's GPT-4 API and is an early adopter of OpenAI's Realtime API and audio multimodality for conversational speaking practice. OpenAI COO Brad Lightcap is quoted on the B2B page praising the partnership as 'a powerful application of generative AI for language learning'.

Strategic tierMinorTypeOEM/ Whitelabel/ Licensing Partner
Description

Historical acquirer of Speak founders' previous education product, Flashcards+ (the #1 education app, which was acquired by category leader Chegg). Reflects founders' prior exit in the education space.

Recent move8 records

Each record includes

Date, Type, Title, Description, Source

Expansion highlight6 records

Each record includes

Type, Description

Peers10 records
TypeDirect peer
Description

The largest AI-enabled consumer language-learning app globally with hundreds of millions of MAUs. Directly competes with Speak on AI tutoring, gamified lessons, and consumer subscriptions across the same languages; Speak's late-2025 U.S. market entry is explicitly framed as competing against Duolingo.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Subscription-based language learning app offering structured, expert-designed lessons across multiple languages. Direct competitor to Speak on consumer subscriptions and B2B workforce English training, with a more vocabulary-and-grammar-led curriculum versus Speak's speaking-first approach.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

Long-standing incumbent language learning platform with both consumer subscriptions and enterprise (Rosetta Stone for Enterprise) offerings. Competes with Speak on B2B corporate English training with broader language coverage but a less AI-native product.

TypeDirect peer
Description

AI-augmented language learning app with native-speaker video clips and conversational practice features. Direct Speak competitor targeting the same consumer subscription segment with growing AI conversational features.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Subscription language-learning app (acquired by Chegg) combining AI personalization with community-based feedback from native speakers. Direct Speak competitor in consumer subscriptions and a relevant comp given its prior ownership by Speak founders' acquirer.

TypeEmerging player
Description

AI-powered English pronunciation coach focused on accent reduction and speaking fluency — a narrower overlap with Speak's speaking-first value proposition. Targets global English learners and competes on the voice/pronunciation evaluation dimension.

TypeEmerging player
Description

AI-driven English pronunciation and accent training app targeting non-native professionals. Overlaps with Speak's speaking focus with a narrower, B2C-focused offering and is a relevant emerging competitor in the AI speaking-tutor niche.

8Cake
TypeRegional player
Description

Korean-language learning app particularly strong in South Korea and Japan, focused on short-form video and AI-driven conversational English practice. A regional direct competitor in Speak's home Korean and Japanese markets.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Marketplace for human language tutors that has been layering AI-driven personalization and practice tools. Adjacent competitor to Speak in both B2C and corporate English training, with a hybrid human+AI model that Speak's pure-AI approach contrasts with.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Global marketplace connecting language learners with human tutors for one-on-one lessons. Competes for the same conversational-practice budget Speak targets, with a fully human model that Speak positions its AI tutor as a lower-cost, always-on alternative to.

Market position
Strengths5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Weaknesses5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Competitive moat6 records

Each record includes

Type, Details

Key risks6 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Key highlights7 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Customer concentration

Classification, Details

Named customers5 records

Each record includes

Name, Industry, Type, Use case, Source, UUID

Segment4 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Primary, Description, Pain point addressed, Use case, Source

Ideal customer profile2 records

Each record includes

Profile, Firmographic size, Sales motion, Sales cycle length, Buying structure, Purchase trigger, Buyer persona, Geography, Industry vertical, Primary use case, Description, Pain points, Evidence proof points, Target buyer

Technology focused
Yes
API detail
Has APIbool
No

Docs URL, Description

Integration1 record

Each record includes

Title, Type, Description, Source

AI capability8 records

Each record includes

Type, Description, Source

AI maturity
App detail

Has app

Feature6 records

Each record includes

Title, Differentiator, Description, Source

Core technology
Revenue estimate
Valuation estimate
Number of profiles
Profiles2 records

Each record includes

Name, Designation, Designation category, Overview, Profile commentary, Source

Subsidiaries1 record

Each record includes

Name, Acquired on, Relationship type, Type, Business focus

No data
Funding overview

Funding stage, Last funding date, Total funding USD

Funding rounds6 records

Each record includes

Round, Amount USD, Date, Pre money valuation, Total investors, Investors, News

Investors18 records

Each record includes

Name, Type, Date of entry, Rounds participated, Website

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

M&A

Each record includes

Name, Acquisition type, Announced date, Completed date, Status, Website, News

Investment

Each record includes

Name, Round, Announced date, Lead investor, Website, News

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Speak

AI Language Learning Softwarespeak.com

Speak (Speakeasy Labs, Inc.) is an AI-powered language learning platform offering voice-first conversational practice through an AI tutor built on OpenAI's GPT-4 and Realtime APIs. It serves 15M+ consumer learners across 30+ countries and 200+ enterprise brands, reporting $100M annualized revenue in 2025.

What Speak does

Speak (legal entity Speakeasy Labs, Inc.) is an AI-powered language learning platform founded in 2016 by Connor Zwick (CEO, Harvard, ex-Thiel Fellow) and Andrew Hsu (CTO, Stanford, ex-Thiel Fellow) and headquartered in San Francisco. The company delivers a voice-first conversational AI tutor built on OpenAI's GPT-4 API and the OpenAI Realtime API, layered with a proprietary high-accuracy Speech Matching Pipeline that combines Automatic Speech Recognition with phonetic models, and an in-house Voice Agent Platform that powers Live Roleplays with low-latency, natural-turn-taking conversation. The pedagogical backbone is the proprietary 'Speak Method' loop — Learn (phrases native speakers use), Practice (repeat patterns until natural), Apply (real conversation with feedback) — supported by an AI-personalized curriculum engine that adapts in real time to learner goals, proficiency, and prior conversation performance.

The company sells primarily through a direct-to-consumer motion: a 7-day free trial on iOS, Android, and web converts into recurring monthly or annual subscriptions, with Gift Speak as a paid-acquisition variant. A secondary B2B motion, 'Speak for Business,' sells quote-based multi-year enterprise contracts with a dedicated L&D admin portal, custom content, and customer success, and has scaled to 200+ brands including KPMG and HD Hyundai. Reach extends across 30+ countries with 15M+ downloads, 25M+ personalized lessons generated in a single year, and 4.8 average app-store rating on 100K+ reviews; South Korea is the #1 market, with strong share in Japan and Taiwan, recent entry into the U.S., and an expanding footprint into mainland Chinese via a 2026 language launch. Speak is venture-backed (cumulative ~$160M raised from the OpenAI Startup Fund, Accel, Khosla Ventures, Founders Fund, and individual backers Sam Altman, Peter Thiel, Lachy Groom, Drew Houston, Jeff Weiner), reached unicorn status in December 2024, and reported $100M annualized revenue in late 2025 with 100%+ year-over-year growth.

Speak firmographics

Firmographics
Name
Speak
Legal name
Speakeasy Labs, Inc.
Website
https://speak.com
Company type
Private
Founded year
2016
Operating status
Operating
Headcount range
251–500 employees
Short description
Speak (Speakeasy Labs, Inc.) is an AI-powered language learning platform offering voice-first conversational practice through an AI tutor built on OpenAI's GPT-4 and Realtime APIs. It serves 15M+ consumer learners across 30+ countries and 200+ enterprise brands, reporting $100M annualized revenue in 2025.
Ownership category
akta.pro rank

Speak industry classification

Industry
Product category
AI Language Learning Software
NAICS
Language Schools (61163), Translation and Interpretation Services (541930), Offices of Physical, Occupational and Speech Therapists, and Audiologists (621340), Other Sound Recording Industries (512290)
akta.pro primary industry
Conversational AI Platforms (chat/voice bots, orchestration) (HDAAAFAC)
akta.pro secondary industries
Online Tutoring, Conversation Exchange & Language Coaching Platforms (EDAFAOAB), Pronunciation, Speech Recognition & Accent Training Tools (EDAFAOAG)

Keywords

  • AI language learning
  • Conversational AI tutor
  • Speech recognition learning
  • Enterprise English training
  • Mobile language apps

Where Speak is headquartered

Location

Headquarters

HQ city
San Francisco
HQ country
United States
HQ region
North America

Offices5 records

Markets served

Speak business model

Business model
GTM type
B2B and B2C
Offering type
Software
Cost components
Technology or R&D, Personnel, Marketing or Sales, Operations, Infrastructure

Revenue model

  1. Consumer subscriptions (Speak app): Recurring subscription revenue from individual language learners, accessed via iOS App Store, Google Play, and web. Offers a 7-day free trial that converts to paid plans (premium package referenced in user reviews). Generates the majority of Speak's revenue, with $100M annualized revenue reported in late 2025.
  2. Freemium trial funnel: 7-day free trial grants full access to all features, after which users convert to a paid subscription. Acts as the primary acquisition funnel.
  3. Speak for Business (B2B enterprise contracts): Enterprise SaaS contracts sold to corporate L&D teams for workforce English training. Includes a dedicated Customer Success function, Admin/L&D portal, custom content, and reporting. 200+ brands reported as customers, with KPMG and HD Hyundai named.
  4. Gift Speak: Gift subscription option for the consumer app, creating an additional paid acquisition channel.

Pricing tiers

ModelBillingPrice
FreemiumMonthly7-day free trial with full feature access
SubscriptionMonthlyPremium consumer subscription (price not publicly disclosed)
SubscriptionMulti-year contractSpeak for Business — Enterprise contract (quote-based)
SubscriptionAnnualGift Speak subscription

Go-to-market motion1 record

Distribution channels2 records

Marketing channels8 records

Speak product offering

Product offering

Core offering

Speak is an AI-powered language learning platform delivered as a mobile and web app that focuses on getting learners to speak out loud with an AI tutor. It combines an expert-crafted curriculum with proprietary voice-first AI (built on OpenAI's GPT-4 and Realtime APIs) to deliver real-time, judgment-free conversational practice, pronunciation feedback, and personalized lessons across multiple languages including English, Korean, Japanese, Spanish, French, Italian, and Chinese.

Product overview

Speak is a single unified AI-powered language learning platform built around a proprietary Speak Method (Learn, Practice, Apply) and a conversational AI tutor. The core consumer product, Speak, anchors the offering, while Speak Tutor (the AI-powered tutor) and Live Roleplays (OpenAI Realtime API-powered voice conversations) are the primary AI modules that deliver personalized, conversational practice across multiple languages. Speak for Business is the dedicated enterprise extension of the same platform, adding an L&D Admin Portal, dedicated customer success, and Business English content for organizational deployments by 200+ brands.

Differentiator

Problem solved

Functional benefit

Brands

  • Speak for Business: Enterprise / B2B offering of Speak's AI language tutor for organizational teams, with dedicated admin portal and customer success support.
  • Speak Tutor

Products and services

  • Speak (Consumer App) AI-powered language learning app available on iOS, Android, and web that gets users speaking a new language through an expert-crafted, AI-personalized curriculum. Targets adult self-directed learners across 30+ countries, with localized experiences in English, Korean, Japanese, French, Spanish, Italian, and Chinese.
  • Speak for Business

Quantifiable outcome

  • $100M annualized revenue (2025)
  • +7 more outcomes

Companies that use Speak

Customer profile

Named customers5 records

Segments4 records

Ideal customer profiles2 records

Speak technology and API

Technology

Technology focussed Yes

API detail

Has API
No
API docs
API detail

Core technology

AI maturity

App detail

Integration1 record

AI capability8 records

Feature6 records

Speak partnerships and signals

Strategic signal

Partnerships

Three partnerships are on record, tiered core, flagship and minor.

  • Washington Nationals (MLB)coreGTM or Marketing Partner · 14 April 2026Partnership announced April 2026 to 'build a bilingual clubhouse' — using MLB games as a real-world language-learning engagement surface for fans.
  • OpenAIflagshipTechnology or IntegrationDeep technology partnership: Speak is built on OpenAI's GPT-4 API and is an early adopter of OpenAI's Realtime API and audio multimodality for conversational speaking practice. OpenAI COO Brad Lightcap is quoted on the B2B page praising the partnership as 'a powerful application of generative AI for language learning'.
  • CheggminorOEM/ Whitelabel/ Licensing PartnerHistorical acquirer of Speak founders' previous education product, Flashcards+ (the #1 education app, which was acquired by category leader Chegg). Reflects founders' prior exit in the education space.

Scale indicators11 records

Recent moves8 records

Expansion highlights6 records

Speak competitors and assessment

Company assessment

Direct peers

  • Duolingo: The largest AI-enabled consumer language-learning app globally with hundreds of millions of MAUs. Directly competes with Speak on AI tutoring, gamified lessons, and consumer subscriptions across the same languages; Speak's late-2025 U.S. market entry is explicitly framed as competing against Duolingo.
  • Babbel: Subscription-based language learning app offering structured, expert-designed lessons across multiple languages. Direct competitor to Speak on consumer subscriptions and B2B workforce English training, with a more vocabulary-and-grammar-led curriculum versus Speak's speaking-first approach.
  • Memrise: AI-augmented language learning app with native-speaker video clips and conversational practice features. Direct Speak competitor targeting the same consumer subscription segment with growing AI conversational features.
  • Busuu: Subscription language-learning app (acquired by Chegg) combining AI personalization with community-based feedback from native speakers. Direct Speak competitor in consumer subscriptions and a relevant comp given its prior ownership by Speak founders' acquirer.
  • Preply: Marketplace for human language tutors that has been layering AI-driven personalization and practice tools. Adjacent competitor to Speak in both B2C and corporate English training, with a hybrid human+AI model that Speak's pure-AI approach contrasts with.
  • italki: Global marketplace connecting language learners with human tutors for one-on-one lessons. Competes for the same conversational-practice budget Speak targets, with a fully human model that Speak positions its AI tutor as a lower-cost, always-on alternative to.

Broad incumbents

  • Rosetta Stone: Long-standing incumbent language learning platform with both consumer subscriptions and enterprise (Rosetta Stone for Enterprise) offerings. Competes with Speak on B2B corporate English training with broader language coverage but a less AI-native product.

Emerging players

  • ELSA Speak: AI-powered English pronunciation coach focused on accent reduction and speaking fluency — a narrower overlap with Speak's speaking-first value proposition. Targets global English learners and competes on the voice/pronunciation evaluation dimension.
  • BoldVoice: AI-driven English pronunciation and accent training app targeting non-native professionals. Overlaps with Speak's speaking focus with a narrower, B2C-focused offering and is a relevant emerging competitor in the AI speaking-tutor niche.

Regional players

  • Cake: Korean-language learning app particularly strong in South Korea and Japan, focused on short-form video and AI-driven conversational English practice. A regional direct competitor in Speak's home Korean and Japanese markets.

Market position

Strengths5 records

Weaknesses5 records

Competitive moat6 records

Key risks6 records

Key highlights7 records

Customer concentration

Speak social profiles

Digital presence

Speak financial estimates

Financial estimate

Revenue estimate

Valuation estimate

Speak leadership team

Management profile

Number of profiles

Profiles2 records

Speak subsidiaries and ownership

Company hierarchy

Subsidiaries1 record

Speak funding detail

Funding detail

Funding overview

Funding rounds6 records

Investors18 records

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Speak M&A and investment

M&A and investment

M&A

Investments

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Frequently asked questions about Speak

What does Speak do?

Speak is an AI-powered language learning platform delivered as a mobile and web app that focuses on getting learners to speak out loud with an AI tutor. It combines an expert-crafted curriculum with proprietary voice-first AI (built on OpenAI's GPT-4 and Realtime APIs) to deliver real-time, judgment-free conversational practice, pronunciation feedback, and personalized lessons across multiple languages including English, Korean, Japanese, Spanish, French, Italian, and Chinese.

Is Speak a public or private company?

Speak is a private company. It is classified as venture growth investor backed and is currently operating.

When was Speak founded?

Speak was founded in 2016. It employs 251 to 500 people.

Where is Speak based?

Speak is headquartered in San Francisco, United States, in the North America region.

How does Speak make money?

Four revenue lines are on record. Consumer subscriptions (Speak app) is the primary driver. The others are freemium trial funnel, speak for Business (B2B enterprise contracts) and gift Speak.

Who are Speak's main competitors?

Direct peers on record are Duolingo, Babbel, Memrise, Busuu, Preply and italki. Rosetta Stone is listed as a broad incumbent. Emerging players are ELSA Speak and BoldVoice. Cake is listed as a regional player.

Does Speak have an API?

No public API is recorded for Speak.

What industry is Speak in?

Speak's product category is AI Language Learning Software. Its primary akta.pro industry code is HDAAAFAC, Conversational AI Platforms (chat/voice bots, orchestration), with a secondary code of EDAFAOAB, Online Tutoring, Conversation Exchange & Language Coaching Platforms. Its NAICS code is 61163.

Unlock the full company data

50 free credits on sign-up, no credit card required.

Contact sales
Live signals
VenturesquareEven with AI translation, English becomes more important... The global talent strategy highlighted by Speak and the American Chamber of Commerce.Speak and the American Chamber of Commerce in Korea held a seminar on AI-era global talent and corporate training. They noted that generative AI can now provide individualized learning for 10,000 employees at the cost of training dozens, and that English communication skills remain critical for overseas business.KoreatimesInterview Speak doubles down on Korea as launchpad for AI-powered English learningSpeak's Chief Operating Officer Colton Gyulay outlined Korea as the centerpiece of the company's global growth strategy, noting it was chosen as the first market in 2019 due to Korean learners' strong grammar skills but limited speaking practice opportunities. Since launching Speak for Business in late 2024, the company has partnered with over 500 companies worldwide, with Korean firms accounting for more than half of those partnerships, making Korea central to its corporate expansion strategy. The company distinguishes itself from competitors by building its platform around spoken fluency through AI-powered conversational simulations rather than traditional vocabulary drills and grammar memorization.ChosunbizAI Speak Adds Soccer Free Talk for World CupSpeakeasy Labs Korea has added four soccer-specialized Free Talk themes to its AI English learning app 'Speak' to coincide with the 2026 North America-Central America World Cup, leveraging the convenient timing of South Korea's group-stage matches held in Mexico. The new scenarios allow users to practice English expressions for common soccer-watching situations such as celebrating goals, protesting calls, and cheering for the national team. The app also supports cross-lingual learning, enabling users to practice soccer expressions in Spanish, the language of the host country.Venturesquare"What do you say when you score a goal?"... Speak launches 'Football English' content for the World Cup.Speak, an AI English learning service, launched soccer-themed AI Free Talk scenarios for the 2026 FIFA World Cup. The four scenarios cover goal celebrations, referee debates, and other match situations, designed to help Korean learners practice English speaking. The content also supports multilingual learning, including Spanish for Mexico-related expressions.SpeakWhy Learners Love Speak: Real App Store FeedbackThe article compiles numerous user reviews for the language learning application Speak, highlighting its effectiveness in teaching conversational skills through AI interaction. Users frequently compare it favorably to competitors like Duolingo and Pimsleur, citing improved retention and confidence in speaking languages such as Spanish, Japanese, and Mandarin. The feedback emphasizes the app's practical approach to language acquisition despite some comments regarding subscription costs.PrtimesAppTweak Amplify Tokyo 2026 開催レポートASO×Apple Adsの最前線を共有AppTweak Japan held AppTweak Amplify Tokyo 2026 on May 26, 2026 at LIFORK Harajuku in Shibuya, Tokyo, covering ASO and Apple Ads trends. Speakers cited that 36% of consumers use AI chat or assistants when finding apps, and AppTweak launched "AI Visibility" data for Japan. Panels featured Tabelog, Speak and CyberAgent on global expansion and Apple Ads operations.Upskillist Blog6 Best AI Language Learning Apps in 2026: Ranked and TestedThis article presents an independent roundup and hands-on evaluation of six AI-powered language learning apps in 2026, ranked across five criteria: AI conversation quality, pronunciation feedback accuracy, curriculum structure, pricing, and proficiency range. Langua ranked as the top overall pick for intermediate learners, Speak was recommended for structured beginner practice, Praktika AI for immersive roleplay, TalkPal for budget-conscious learners, Memrise for authentic vocabulary exposure, and Duolingo Max for habit-building. The article emphasizes that the right app choice depends on the learner's current skill level and learning goals rather than an app's popularity or download count.SpeakChinese now available on SpeakSpeak, a language learning platform, has launched Mandarin Chinese as a new language course, marking the most requested language addition to its platform. The course covers beginner through intermediate (B1) levels and requires a distinct approach due to Mandarin's tonal pronunciation system and heavy reliance on cultural context for effective communication. The company emphasizes its 'sound first' methodology, teaching pronunciation and tones before progressing to conversational practice, with cultural immersion woven throughout the curriculum.New Market PitchAI In Education Market Funding Trends (2026)AI in education market funding surged from approximately $188M across 16 deals in 2024 to about $515M across 24 deals in 2025, but sharply declined to roughly $50M across 8 deals in the first several months of 2026, representing a significant cooldown from the early-2025 peak. The market exhibits extreme capital concentration, with a single company dominating each year—Speak captured roughly 42% of 2024 capital, AMBOSS approximately 50% of 2025 capital, and Gizmo about 44% of 2026 year-to-date capital—while deal count remained relatively stable, indicating company formation persists even as large-scale funding pauses. Europe has emerged as the most consistent funding region across all periods, AI Practice Tools are gaining momentum relative to AI Tutor Platforms, and the market is shifting back toward early-stage company formation after a 2025 tilt toward later-stage rounds.LingtuitiveSpeak App Review: Best Beginner Language App (54-Day Review) — LingtuitiveThis article is a 54-day review of the Speak language learning app by a polyglot blogger who tested it in both Spanish (intermediate level) and Japanese (complete beginner), recommending it as their #1 beginner language app. The reviewer praises Speak's method of teaching improvisation over fixed phrases, its Smart Review system that tracks concept mastery across all activities, and its built-in Pocket AI Tutor for grammar questions. The author notes Speak currently offers seven languages (English, Spanish, French, Japanese, Korean, Italian, Chinese) with two more coming soon, and discusses pricing for Premium ($83.99/year) and Premium Plus ($164.99/year) plans.