Developer docs
API playgroundTry for free, no card

Search company profiles

I&M Bank

Full company profile

uuid0003dds

Namestring
I&M Bank
Legal namestring
I&M Group PLC
Websiteurl
imbank.com
Company typeenum
Public
Founded yearint
1974
Descriptiontext

I&M Group PLC is a publicly listed banking and financial services group headquartered in Nairobi, Kenya, operating across five East African markets (Kenya, Tanzania, Rwanda, Uganda, and Mauritius) through 119 branches serving more than 1 million customers. The group reports a KES 743 billion asset base, KES 323 billion in loans and advances, and KES 512 billion in customer deposits as of its 2025 disclosures. The bank serves retail consumers, SMEs, and corporate clients with core deposit, lending, treasury, and trade finance products, alongside specialized offerings including digital FX trading, merchant payment integration, and green finance facilities. Regional subsidiaries outside Kenya contribute 24% of group performance, providing geographic diversification across the East African Common Market.

The company's technology stack centers on a digital-first banking platform with mobile and internet banking channels, supported by proprietary products such as I&M FX DIRECT (a corporate treasury and foreign exchange trading platform offering algorithmic limit and stop-loss orders, real-time streaming currency rates, and 24/7 mobile access for corporate clients). Ecosystem partnerships with Visa, Mastercard, and Airtel Money extend payment infrastructure reach into the SME and consumer segments via USSD and mobile app integrations. The bank reports 98% of transactions processed through digital channels, indicating an advanced digitization position relative to regional peers.

I&M Group's revenue model combines interest income from its KES 323 billion loan portfolio with a growing non-interest income stream from fees, forex transactions, and digital services. For FY2025, the group reported revenue of KES 60.3 billion (up 19% year-over-year), profit before tax of KES 24.2 billion (up 22%), and non-interest income of KES 14.4 billion (up 31%). Capital sourcing has historically included development finance institutions (BII $50M exited in 2023, AfricInvest $26.7M in 2024) and concessional partners (Sida $30M green facility in 2026), with the group additionally participating in syndicated infrastructure deals such as Rwanda's Project Zorro telecom tower consortium financing.

Short descriptiontext

I&M Group PLC is a publicly listed East African banking group headquartered in Kenya, operating 119 branches across five countries and serving 1M+ retail, SME, and corporate customers with digital banking, FX trading, and merchant payment services.

Operating statusenum
Operating
Ownership categoryenum
Headcount rangeband
501–1,000
akta.pro rankint
HeadquartersNairobi, Kenya
HQ citystring
Nairobi
HQ countrystring
Kenya
HQ regionstring
Africa
Markets served

Serves global market

Offices5 records

Each record includes

City, Country, Type, Description, Source

Keyword5 values
retail banking, corporate banking, SME lending, foreign exchange trading, digital payments
Industry3 codes
1Corporate Cash Management & Treasury Services
CodeFSAMAOAAPrimaryYes
2Account & Balance Services (Operating accounts, statements, eBAM)
CodeFSABAIADPrimaryNo
3Treasury & Risk Management Solutions (FX/MM, hedging, TMS integration)
CodeFSABAIAEPrimaryNo
NAICS code3 codes
  • Commercial Banking52211
  • Commercial Banking522110
  • Depository Credit Intermediation5221
SIC code1 code
  • National Commercial Banks6021
Product category
Retail Banking
Social media profiles3 records
GTM motion3 records

Each record includes

Type, Description, Source

Revenue model4 records
1Interest Income on Loans and Advances
TypeSubscription Recurring
Description

Traditional banking interest income from lending operations. I&M Group reported loans and advances of KES 323B as part of its KES 743B asset base.

imbank.com
2Non-Interest Income
TypeTransaction Fee
Description

Fee income, forex trading, and transaction-based revenue. For 2025, non-interest income surged 31% to KES 14.4 billion, driven by digital transformation and increased transaction volumes.

techtrendske.co.ke
3Deposits and Customer Accounts
TypeSubscription Recurring
Description

Customer deposits totaling KES 512B form a major funding source for the bank's lending and investment activities.

imbank.com
4Regional Subsidiary Operations
TypeSubscription Recurring
Description

Revenue from regional subsidiaries in Uganda, Rwanda, Tanzania, and Mauritius contributing 24% of overall group performance.

techtrendske.co.ke
Marketing channels5 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Stage, Description, Source

Distribution channels5 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Scope, Target buyer, Description, Source

Cost components6 values
Personnel, Operations, Technology or R&D, Infrastructure, Marketing or Sales, Others
Pricing details2 tiers
1Corporate FX Trading - Digital Platform Access
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceMonthly
Notes

I&M FX DIRECT provides digital-first forex management for corporate clients. Specific subscription tiers or per-transaction fees not publicly disclosed.

techtrendske.co.ke
2Airtel Money Merchant Payments
ModelTransaction based/ take rateBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

50% cashback promotion offered on merchant payments. Standard transaction fees not publicly disclosed.

techtrendske.co.ke
GTM typeB2B and B2C
B2B and B2C
Offering typeServices
Services
Brand1 of 2 records shown
1I&M FX DIRECT
Description

Digital platform for corporate treasury and foreign exchange trading in Kenya, offering real-time streaming currency rates, algorithmic limit and stop-loss orders, and 24/7 mobile accessibility.

techtrendske.co.ke
+1 more record
Core offering1 text field

I&M Bank is a regional banking and financial services group operating across Kenya, Tanzania, Rwanda, Uganda, and Mauritius with 119 branches and over 1M customers. It offers retail and corporate banking, SME lending, treasury and FX trading via the I&M FX DIRECT digital platform, merchant payment acceptance, and green finance facilities. Approximately 98% of transactions are processed through digital channels including mobile and internet banking.

Differentiator
Functional benefit
Problem solved
Quantifiable outcome1 of 5 values shown
  • 98% of transactions processed through digital channels
+4 more records
Product overview1 text field

I&M Bank operates as a diversified financial services group offering a unified banking platform with multiple digital channels. The core product portfolio includes digital/mobile/internet banking (supporting 98% of all transactions), corporate treasury services via I&M FX DIRECT, SME banking with specialized lending and merchant payment solutions, and green finance facilities. The bank serves retail customers, corporations, and SMEs across Kenya, Tanzania, Rwanda, Uganda, and Mauritius through both traditional branch network (119 branches) and digital channels.

Product and service7 records
1Mobile Banking
CategoryDigital Banking
Description

Mobile banking services enabling retail and corporate customers to conduct transactions, view balances, and access banking services via mobile devices; part of the bank's 98% digital transaction volume.

2Internet Banking
CategoryDigital Banking
Description

Online banking platform providing customers with account management, transactional capabilities, and financial services access through the web.

3Digital Banking Platform
CategoryDigital Banking
Description

Core digital banking platform enabling retail and corporate customers to conduct banking activities through digital channels, accounting for 98% of all transactions.

4I&M FX DIRECT
CategoryTreasury and FX Services
Description

Digital platform for corporate treasury and foreign exchange trading offering algorithmic limit and stop-loss orders, real-time streaming currency rates, and 24/7 mobile accessibility for business clients.

5SME Banking Services
CategorySME Banking
Description

Banking services tailored for small and medium enterprises including digital payment acceptance and business financing solutions.

6SME Lending
CategorySME Lending
Description

Lending products specifically targeting small and medium-sized enterprises across East Africa, supported by international development capital.

7Green Finance Facility
CategorySustainable Finance
Description

$30 million sustainable finance facility for climate-aligned projects including renewable energy, clean transportation, green buildings, and circular economy initiatives, backed by Sida.

Scale indicator13 records

Each record includes

Type, Value, Description, Source

Partnership10 partners
Strategic tierCoreTypeTechnology or IntegrationAnnounced on2026-06-18
Description

Mastercard partnered with I&M Bank as part of its SME Confidence Index initiative, with I&M Bank among the five key banking partners (Safaricom, KCB Bank, I&M Bank, NMB Bank, Diamond Trust Bank) to expand digital payment acceptance across Kenya's SME sector. The partnership contributed to a 45% increase in Mastercard's acceptance network across Africa.

Strategic tierMinorTypeOthersAnnounced on2026-03-27
Description

I&M Bank Rwanda and UTAB signed a partnership aimed at uplifting campus life, students, and teacher welfare. The agreement was formalized between I&M Bank Rwanda CEO Benjamin Mutimura and UTAB Vice Chancellor Father Gilbert Munana.

Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development PartnerAnnounced on2026-03-27
Description

I&M Bank participated as a member of a Rwandan banking consortium supporting Paradigm Tower Ventures' acquisition of Ishara Towers Rwanda Ltd and its 1,467 telecom tower sites. Bank of Kigali acted as Lead Arranger alongside BRD, BPR, I&M Bank, Ecobank and Access Bank, bringing together over 90% of Rwanda's banking sector in one of the largest debt syndications in the country.

4BRD (Banque Rwandaise de Developpement)
Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development PartnerAnnounced on2026-03-27
Description

BRD participated as part of the Rwandan banking consortium financing Paradigm Tower Ventures' acquisition of Ishara Towers Rwanda Ltd telecom tower portfolio.

ktpress.rw
Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development PartnerAnnounced on2026-03-27
Description

BPR participated as part of the Rwandan banking consortium financing Paradigm Tower Ventures' acquisition of Ishara Towers Rwanda Ltd telecom tower portfolio.

Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development PartnerAnnounced on2026-03-27
Description

Ecobank participated as part of the Rwandan banking consortium financing Paradigm Tower Ventures' acquisition of Ishara Towers Rwanda Ltd telecom tower portfolio.

Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development PartnerAnnounced on2026-03-27
Description

Access Bank participated as part of the Rwandan banking consortium financing Paradigm Tower Ventures' acquisition of Ishara Towers Rwanda Ltd telecom tower portfolio.

Strategic tierCoreTypeOthersAnnounced on2026-03-27
Description

Paradigm Tower Ventures (through its acquisition of Ishara Towers Rwanda Ltd) is the entity whose telecom tower acquisition was financed by the Rwandan banking consortium including I&M Bank. The transaction covers 1,467 telecom tower sites.

Strategic tierCoreTypeTechnology or IntegrationAnnounced on2026-02-15
Description

I&M Bank and Visa signed a partnership agreement to strengthen digital payment infrastructure and expand Visa-powered products in Kenya. The initiative aims to upgrade payment systems in underserved areas, improve cross-border payment capabilities to support regional trade, and expand secure digital payment access for SMEs and consumers.

Strategic tierCoreTypeTechnology or IntegrationAnnounced on2025-12-10
Description

Airtel Money and I&M Bank partnered to enable direct merchant payments across Kenya. Airtel Money customers can make payments to I&M Bank's merchant network via USSD and mobile app. The partnership includes a 50% cashback offer and aims to unify mobile money and banking infrastructures for regional digital payment ecosystems.

Recent move6 records

Each record includes

Date, Type, Title, Description, Source

Expansion highlight6 records

Each record includes

Type, Description

Peers10 records
TypeDirect peer
Description

NCBA is a Kenyan bank group formed from mergers of NIC, Commercial Bank of Africa, and others, with retail, corporate, and asset management businesses across East Africa. Directly comparable to I&M on commercial banking, SME, and asset-management/mortgage offerings in the Kenyan market.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Equity is a leading East African bank with deep agent banking and digital channel penetration and a strong SME/retail focus mirrored at I&M. Both serve SMEs and corporates across Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda and DRC; Equity has overtaken incumbents through a digital-first model similar to I&M's 98% digital transaction mix.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

Absa Kenya is the local subsidiary of Absa Group (formerly Barclays Africa) and a full-service commercial, retail, and corporate bank in Kenya. Comparable to I&M on corporate banking, treasury/FX, and card/payments; significantly larger balance sheet and broader product suite.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

Ecobank is a pan-African commercial banking group with presence across 30+ African markets including Kenya, Rwanda, Uganda, and Tanzania. Overlaps with I&M on regional corporate, trade, and SME banking and is a co-financing partner on deals such as the Mogo Kenya Sh800m facility.

TypeDirect peer
Description

KCB is Kenya's largest bank by assets and the dominant regional banking group operating in Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda, Burundi, and South Sudan. Direct comparison to I&M on both Kenya retail/corporate banking and cross-border East African franchise; KCB is the primary scale competitor named alongside I&M in the Mastercard SME partnership.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Co-operative Bank is a major Kenyan commercial bank with strong retail, SME, and corporate banking franchises and a sizable regional footprint through subsidiaries. Comparable to I&M in product mix, customer segmentation (retail, SME, corporate), and Kenyan market positioning.

TypeDirect peer
Description

DTB is an East African commercial bank with operations in Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, and Rwanda, focused on corporate, trade, and SME banking. DTB is named alongside I&M in the Mastercard SME partnership; structurally similar regional commercial bank with comparable customer segments.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

Standard Chartered Kenya is the local subsidiary of Standard Chartered PLC, focused on corporate, institutional, and affluent retail banking with strong FX and trade-finance capabilities. Highly comparable to I&M's corporate treasury and FX DIRECT franchise; larger and more globally networked.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

Stanbic Kenya is the local subsidiary of Africa's largest banking group (Standard Bank) and offers a full commercial, corporate, and investment banking product set. Larger and more diversified than I&M, but overlaps heavily in corporate, FX, and trade finance across Kenya and the wider East African market.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Bank of Kigali is Rwanda's largest commercial bank and acted as Lead Arranger of the Rwandan banking consortium in which I&M participated to finance Ishara Towers. Directly comparable to I&M Bank Rwanda on retail, SME, and corporate banking in Rwanda.

Market position
Strengths4 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Weaknesses5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Competitive moat6 records

Each record includes

Type, Details

Key risks6 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Key highlights7 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Customer concentration

Classification, Details

Named customers4 records

Each record includes

Name, Industry, Type, Use case, Source, UUID

Segment4 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Primary, Description, Pain point addressed, Use case, Source

Ideal customer profile3 records

Each record includes

Profile, Firmographic size, Sales motion, Sales cycle length, Buying structure, Purchase trigger, Buyer persona, Geography, Industry vertical, Primary use case, Description, Pain points, Evidence proof points, Target buyer

Technology focused
No
API detail
Has APIbool
No

Docs URL, Description

Integration10 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Description, Source

AI maturity
App detail

Has app

Feature4 records

Each record includes

Title, Differentiator, Description, Source

Core technology
Revenue estimate
Valuation estimate
Number of profiles
Profiles7 records

Each record includes

Name, Designation, Designation category, Overview, Profile commentary, Source

Subsidiaries5 records

Each record includes

Name, Acquired on, Relationship type, Type, Business focus

No data
Funding overview

Funding stage, Last funding date, Total funding USD

Funding rounds8 records

Each record includes

Round, Amount USD, Date, Pre money valuation, Total investors, Investors, News

Investors4 records

Each record includes

Name, Type, Date of entry, Rounds participated, Website

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

M&A3 records

Each record includes

Name, Acquisition type, Announced date, Completed date, Status, Website, News

Investment4 records

Each record includes

Name, Round, Announced date, Lead investor, Website, News

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

I&M Bank

Retail Bankingimbank.com

I&M Group PLC is a publicly listed East African banking group headquartered in Kenya, operating 119 branches across five countries and serving 1M+ retail, SME, and corporate customers with digital banking, FX trading, and merchant payment services.

What I&M Bank does

I&M Group PLC is a publicly listed banking and financial services group headquartered in Nairobi, Kenya, operating across five East African markets (Kenya, Tanzania, Rwanda, Uganda, and Mauritius) through 119 branches serving more than 1 million customers. The group reports a KES 743 billion asset base, KES 323 billion in loans and advances, and KES 512 billion in customer deposits as of its 2025 disclosures. The bank serves retail consumers, SMEs, and corporate clients with core deposit, lending, treasury, and trade finance products, alongside specialized offerings including digital FX trading, merchant payment integration, and green finance facilities. Regional subsidiaries outside Kenya contribute 24% of group performance, providing geographic diversification across the East African Common Market.

The company's technology stack centers on a digital-first banking platform with mobile and internet banking channels, supported by proprietary products such as I&M FX DIRECT (a corporate treasury and foreign exchange trading platform offering algorithmic limit and stop-loss orders, real-time streaming currency rates, and 24/7 mobile access for corporate clients). Ecosystem partnerships with Visa, Mastercard, and Airtel Money extend payment infrastructure reach into the SME and consumer segments via USSD and mobile app integrations. The bank reports 98% of transactions processed through digital channels, indicating an advanced digitization position relative to regional peers.

I&M Group's revenue model combines interest income from its KES 323 billion loan portfolio with a growing non-interest income stream from fees, forex transactions, and digital services. For FY2025, the group reported revenue of KES 60.3 billion (up 19% year-over-year), profit before tax of KES 24.2 billion (up 22%), and non-interest income of KES 14.4 billion (up 31%). Capital sourcing has historically included development finance institutions (BII $50M exited in 2023, AfricInvest $26.7M in 2024) and concessional partners (Sida $30M green facility in 2026), with the group additionally participating in syndicated infrastructure deals such as Rwanda's Project Zorro telecom tower consortium financing.

I&M Bank firmographics

Firmographics
Name
I&M Bank
Legal name
I&M Group PLC
Website
https://imbank.com
Company type
Public
Founded year
1974
Operating status
Operating
Headcount range
501–1,000 employees
Short description
I&M Group PLC is a publicly listed East African banking group headquartered in Kenya, operating 119 branches across five countries and serving 1M+ retail, SME, and corporate customers with digital banking, FX trading, and merchant payment services.
Ownership category
akta.pro rank

I&M Bank industry classification

Industry
Product category
Retail Banking
NAICS
Commercial Banking (52211), Commercial Banking (522110), Depository Credit Intermediation (5221)
SIC
National Commercial Banks (6021)
akta.pro primary industry
Corporate Cash Management & Treasury Services (FSAMAOAA)
akta.pro secondary industries
Account & Balance Services (Operating accounts, statements, eBAM) (FSABAIAD), Treasury & Risk Management Solutions (FX/MM, hedging, TMS integration) (FSABAIAE)

Keywords

  • Retail banking
  • Corporate banking
  • SME lending
  • Foreign exchange trading
  • Digital payments

Where I&M Bank is headquartered

Location

Headquarters

HQ city
Nairobi
HQ country
Kenya
HQ region
Africa

Offices5 records

Markets served

I&M Bank business model

Business model
GTM type
B2B and B2C
Offering type
Services
Cost components
Personnel, Operations, Technology or R&D, Infrastructure, Marketing or Sales, Others

Revenue model

  1. Interest Income on Loans and Advances: Traditional banking interest income from lending operations. I&M Group reported loans and advances of KES 323B as part of its KES 743B asset base.
  2. Non-Interest Income: Fee income, forex trading, and transaction-based revenue. For 2025, non-interest income surged 31% to KES 14.4 billion, driven by digital transformation and increased transaction volumes.
  3. Deposits and Customer Accounts: Customer deposits totaling KES 512B form a major funding source for the bank's lending and investment activities.
  4. Regional Subsidiary Operations: Revenue from regional subsidiaries in Uganda, Rwanda, Tanzania, and Mauritius contributing 24% of overall group performance.

Pricing tiers

ModelBillingPrice
SubscriptionMonthlyCorporate FX Trading - Digital Platform Access
Transaction based/ take ratePay-as-you-goAirtel Money Merchant Payments

Go-to-market motion3 records

Distribution channels5 records

Marketing channels5 records

I&M Bank product offering

Product offering

Core offering

I&M Bank is a regional banking and financial services group operating across Kenya, Tanzania, Rwanda, Uganda, and Mauritius with 119 branches and over 1M customers. It offers retail and corporate banking, SME lending, treasury and FX trading via the I&M FX DIRECT digital platform, merchant payment acceptance, and green finance facilities. Approximately 98% of transactions are processed through digital channels including mobile and internet banking.

Product overview

I&M Bank operates as a diversified financial services group offering a unified banking platform with multiple digital channels. The core product portfolio includes digital/mobile/internet banking (supporting 98% of all transactions), corporate treasury services via I&M FX DIRECT, SME banking with specialized lending and merchant payment solutions, and green finance facilities. The bank serves retail customers, corporations, and SMEs across Kenya, Tanzania, Rwanda, Uganda, and Mauritius through both traditional branch network (119 branches) and digital channels.

Differentiator

Problem solved

Functional benefit

Brands

  • I&M FX DIRECT: Digital platform for corporate treasury and foreign exchange trading in Kenya, offering real-time streaming currency rates, algorithmic limit and stop-loss orders, and 24/7 mobile accessibility.
  • I&M Green Finance Facility

Products and services

  • Mobile Banking Mobile banking services enabling retail and corporate customers to conduct transactions, view balances, and access banking services via mobile devices; part of the bank's 98% digital transaction volume.
  • Internet Banking Online banking platform providing customers with account management, transactional capabilities, and financial services access through the web.
  • Digital Banking Platform Core digital banking platform enabling retail and corporate customers to conduct banking activities through digital channels, accounting for 98% of all transactions.
  • I&M FX DIRECT Digital platform for corporate treasury and foreign exchange trading offering algorithmic limit and stop-loss orders, real-time streaming currency rates, and 24/7 mobile accessibility for business clients.
  • SME Banking Services Banking services tailored for small and medium enterprises including digital payment acceptance and business financing solutions.
  • SME Lending Lending products specifically targeting small and medium-sized enterprises across East Africa, supported by international development capital.
  • Green Finance Facility $30 million sustainable finance facility for climate-aligned projects including renewable energy, clean transportation, green buildings, and circular economy initiatives, backed by Sida.

Quantifiable outcome

  • 98% of transactions processed through digital channels
  • +4 more outcomes

Companies that use I&M Bank

Customer profile

Named customers4 records

Segments4 records

Ideal customer profiles3 records

I&M Bank technology and API

Technology

Technology focussed No

API detail

Has API
No
API docs
API detail

Core technology

AI maturity

App detail

Integration10 records

Feature4 records

I&M Bank partnerships and signals

Strategic signal

Partnerships

Ten partnerships are on record, tiered core and minor.

  • MastercardcoreTechnology or Integration · 18 June 2026Mastercard partnered with I&M Bank as part of its SME Confidence Index initiative, with I&M Bank among the five key banking partners (Safaricom, KCB Bank, I&M Bank, NMB Bank, Diamond Trust Bank) to expand digital payment acceptance across Kenya's SME sector. The partnership contributed to a 45% increase in Mastercard's acceptance network across Africa.
  • University of Technology and Arts of Byumba (UTAB)minorOthers · 27 March 2026I&M Bank Rwanda and UTAB signed a partnership aimed at uplifting campus life, students, and teacher welfare. The agreement was formalized between I&M Bank Rwanda CEO Benjamin Mutimura and UTAB Vice Chancellor Father Gilbert Munana.
  • Bank of Kigali PlccoreStrategic or Co-development Partner · 27 March 2026I&M Bank participated as a member of a Rwandan banking consortium supporting Paradigm Tower Ventures' acquisition of Ishara Towers Rwanda Ltd and its 1,467 telecom tower sites. Bank of Kigali acted as Lead Arranger alongside BRD, BPR, I&M Bank, Ecobank and Access Bank, bringing together over 90% of Rwanda's banking sector in one of the largest debt syndications in the country.
  • BRD (Banque Rwandaise de Developpement)coreStrategic or Co-development Partner · 27 March 2026BRD participated as part of the Rwandan banking consortium financing Paradigm Tower Ventures' acquisition of Ishara Towers Rwanda Ltd telecom tower portfolio.
  • BPR (Banque Populaire du Rwanda)coreStrategic or Co-development Partner · 27 March 2026BPR participated as part of the Rwandan banking consortium financing Paradigm Tower Ventures' acquisition of Ishara Towers Rwanda Ltd telecom tower portfolio.
  • EcobankcoreStrategic or Co-development Partner · 27 March 2026Ecobank participated as part of the Rwandan banking consortium financing Paradigm Tower Ventures' acquisition of Ishara Towers Rwanda Ltd telecom tower portfolio.
  • Access Bank RwandacoreStrategic or Co-development Partner · 27 March 2026Access Bank participated as part of the Rwandan banking consortium financing Paradigm Tower Ventures' acquisition of Ishara Towers Rwanda Ltd telecom tower portfolio.
  • Paradigm Tower VenturescoreOthers · 27 March 2026Paradigm Tower Ventures (through its acquisition of Ishara Towers Rwanda Ltd) is the entity whose telecom tower acquisition was financed by the Rwandan banking consortium including I&M Bank. The transaction covers 1,467 telecom tower sites.
  • VisacoreTechnology or Integration · 15 February 2026I&M Bank and Visa signed a partnership agreement to strengthen digital payment infrastructure and expand Visa-powered products in Kenya. The initiative aims to upgrade payment systems in underserved areas, improve cross-border payment capabilities to support regional trade, and expand secure digital payment access for SMEs and consumers.
  • Airtel MoneycoreTechnology or Integration · 10 December 2025Airtel Money and I&M Bank partnered to enable direct merchant payments across Kenya. Airtel Money customers can make payments to I&M Bank's merchant network via USSD and mobile app. The partnership includes a 50% cashback offer and aims to unify mobile money and banking infrastructures for regional digital payment ecosystems.

Scale indicators13 records

Recent moves6 records

Expansion highlights6 records

I&M Bank competitors and assessment

Company assessment

Direct peers

  • NCBA Group: NCBA is a Kenyan bank group formed from mergers of NIC, Commercial Bank of Africa, and others, with retail, corporate, and asset management businesses across East Africa. Directly comparable to I&M on commercial banking, SME, and asset-management/mortgage offerings in the Kenyan market.
  • Equity Group Holdings: Equity is a leading East African bank with deep agent banking and digital channel penetration and a strong SME/retail focus mirrored at I&M. Both serve SMEs and corporates across Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda and DRC; Equity has overtaken incumbents through a digital-first model similar to I&M's 98% digital transaction mix.
  • KCB Bank Kenya: KCB is Kenya's largest bank by assets and the dominant regional banking group operating in Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda, Burundi, and South Sudan. Direct comparison to I&M on both Kenya retail/corporate banking and cross-border East African franchise; KCB is the primary scale competitor named alongside I&M in the Mastercard SME partnership.
  • Co-operative Bank of Kenya: Co-operative Bank is a major Kenyan commercial bank with strong retail, SME, and corporate banking franchises and a sizable regional footprint through subsidiaries. Comparable to I&M in product mix, customer segmentation (retail, SME, corporate), and Kenyan market positioning.
  • Diamond Trust Bank (DTB) Kenya: DTB is an East African commercial bank with operations in Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, and Rwanda, focused on corporate, trade, and SME banking. DTB is named alongside I&M in the Mastercard SME partnership; structurally similar regional commercial bank with comparable customer segments.
  • Bank of Kigali: Bank of Kigali is Rwanda's largest commercial bank and acted as Lead Arranger of the Rwandan banking consortium in which I&M participated to finance Ishara Towers. Directly comparable to I&M Bank Rwanda on retail, SME, and corporate banking in Rwanda.

Broad incumbents

  • Absa Bank Kenya: Absa Kenya is the local subsidiary of Absa Group (formerly Barclays Africa) and a full-service commercial, retail, and corporate bank in Kenya. Comparable to I&M on corporate banking, treasury/FX, and card/payments; significantly larger balance sheet and broader product suite.
  • Ecobank Transnational: Ecobank is a pan-African commercial banking group with presence across 30+ African markets including Kenya, Rwanda, Uganda, and Tanzania. Overlaps with I&M on regional corporate, trade, and SME banking and is a co-financing partner on deals such as the Mogo Kenya Sh800m facility.
  • Standard Chartered Bank Kenya: Standard Chartered Kenya is the local subsidiary of Standard Chartered PLC, focused on corporate, institutional, and affluent retail banking with strong FX and trade-finance capabilities. Highly comparable to I&M's corporate treasury and FX DIRECT franchise; larger and more globally networked.
  • Stanbic Bank Kenya (Standard Bank subsidiary): Stanbic Kenya is the local subsidiary of Africa's largest banking group (Standard Bank) and offers a full commercial, corporate, and investment banking product set. Larger and more diversified than I&M, but overlaps heavily in corporate, FX, and trade finance across Kenya and the wider East African market.

Market position

Strengths4 records

Weaknesses5 records

Competitive moat6 records

Key risks6 records

Key highlights7 records

Customer concentration

I&M Bank social profiles

Digital presence

I&M Bank financial estimates

Financial estimate

Revenue estimate

Valuation estimate

I&M Bank leadership team

Management profile

Number of profiles

Profiles7 records

I&M Bank subsidiaries and ownership

Company hierarchy

Subsidiaries5 records

I&M Bank funding detail

Funding detail

Funding overview

Funding rounds8 records

Investors4 records

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

I&M Bank M&A and investment

M&A and investment

M&A3 records

Investments4 records

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Frequently asked questions about I&M Bank

What does I&M Bank do?

I&M Bank is a regional banking and financial services group operating across Kenya, Tanzania, Rwanda, Uganda, and Mauritius with 119 branches and over 1M customers. It offers retail and corporate banking, SME lending, treasury and FX trading via the I&M FX DIRECT digital platform, merchant payment acceptance, and green finance facilities. Approximately 98% of transactions are processed through digital channels including mobile and internet banking.

Is I&M Bank a public or private company?

I&M Bank is a public company. It is classified as public and is currently operating.

When was I&M Bank founded?

I&M Bank was founded in 1974. It employs 501 to 1,000 people.

Where is I&M Bank based?

I&M Bank is headquartered in Nairobi, Kenya, in the Africa region.

How does I&M Bank make money?

Four revenue lines are on record. Interest Income on Loans and Advances are the primary driver. The others are non-Interest Income, deposits and Customer Accounts and regional Subsidiary Operations.

Who are I&M Bank's main competitors?

Direct peers on record are NCBA Group, Equity Group Holdings, KCB Bank Kenya, Co-operative Bank of Kenya, Diamond Trust Bank (DTB) Kenya and Bank of Kigali. Broad incumbents are Absa Bank Kenya, Ecobank Transnational, Standard Chartered Bank Kenya and Stanbic Bank Kenya (Standard Bank subsidiary).

Does I&M Bank have an API?

No public API is recorded for I&M Bank.

What industry is I&M Bank in?

I&M Bank's product category is Retail Banking. Its primary akta.pro industry code is FSAMAOAA, Corporate Cash Management & Treasury Services, with a secondary code of FSABAIAD, Account & Balance Services (Operating accounts, statements, eBAM). Its NAICS code is 52211 and its SIC code is 6021.

Unlock the full company data

50 free credits on sign-up, no credit card required.

Contact sales
Live signals
TechTrendsKEI&M Bank growth strategy under Abdi MohamedAbdi Mohamed takes over as I&M Bank's Kenyan business leader, inheriting a group with H1 2026 net profit of KSh10.2 billion and net loans of KSh334 billion. The bank is expanding retail and SME banking, digital onboarding, and regional earnings, with regional subsidiaries contributing 33% of pre-tax profit. Mohamed's challenge is executing these investments to generate profitable customer activity.TechTrendsKEInside I&M Bank’s push to go ‘digital fast’I&M Bank is expanding retail and SME banking in East Africa through digital channels, including five-minute onboarding and fee-free mobile money transfers. The bank has disbursed close to KES 700 million in Kenya and TZS 700 billion in Tanzania, with 90% of customers now digitally active. It plans to partner with fintechs for ecosystem leadership over the next three to five years.FinTech FuturesI&M Bank modernises trade finance services with SurecompI&M Bank announced a partnership with Surecomp to modernize its trade finance operations using DOKA-NG and RIVO. The integrated digital platform will start in Kenya and expand to Tanzania, Rwanda, Uganda, and Bank One in Mauritius. The deployment aims to reduce manual processes and improve turnaround times.TechTrendsKEI&M Group half-year profit rises 22pc to Sh10.2bnI&M Group reported a 22% rise in net profit to Sh10.2 billion for the half-year to June 2026, with operating income up 23% to Sh33.7 billion. Regional subsidiaries contributed 33% of pre-tax profit, up from 25%, and the group's share price rose 64% to Sh69.50.The StandardNairobi to host key longevity and wellness summitLongevity Unlocked, the African debut of a global longevity and wellness summit, will be held on August 30 at Entim Sidai Wellness Sanctuary in Nairobi. The event aims to gather thought leaders to discuss healthspan, biohacking, and vitality strategies, with keynote speakers including Dr. Elie Abirached and Emilian Popa. I&M Bank is sponsoring the inaugural conference, which seeks to position Kenya as a regional hub for the rapidly growing wellness industry.TechAfrica NewsI&M Bank Launches Mastercard World Elite Metal Credit Card in KenyaI&M Bank launched the Mastercard World Elite metal credit card in Kenya, developed with Mastercard for its high-value customers. The card offers no minimum spend requirement and access to The Mastercard Collection benefits, including dining, entertainment, and travel perks. Kenya's high-net-worth population grew 14% between 2015 and 2025, driving demand for such products.TechMoranI&M Bank Picks Former Absa Kenya CEO Abdi Mohamed as CEO : TechMoranI&M Group Plc has appointed former Absa Bank Kenya CEO Abdi Mohamed as incoming Chief Executive Officer of I&M Bank Kenya, pending regulatory approval from the Central Bank of Kenya. Mohamed resigned from Absa Bank Kenya after 32 years with the lender, including three years as chief executive, and will succeed Gul Khan who led I&M Bank Kenya from 2023 to 2026. The appointment is part of broader leadership changes across Kenya's banking sector in 2026 as lenders pursue digital transformation and expansion strategies.TechAfrica NewsI&M Group Appoints Abdi Mohamed as CEO of I&M Bank KenyaI&M Group appointed Abdi Mohamed as CEO of I&M Bank Kenya, subject to Central Bank of Kenya approval. Mohamed brings over 30 years of banking experience, previously CEO of Absa Bank Kenya. Kihara Maina remains interim CEO pending approval.TechCabalI&M taps departing Absa chief Abdi Mohamed as Kenya CEOI&M Group named Abdi Mohamed as CEO of its Kenyan banking business, subject to CBK approval, after he left Absa Bank Kenya. He replaces Gul Khan, and the move intensifies competition among Kenya's listed lenders as banks invest in digital channels and regional expansion.TechTrendsKEI&M Bank Appoints Abdi Mohamed as Kenya CEOI&M Group appointed Abdi Mohamed as CEO of I&M Bank Kenya, pending Central Bank of Kenya approval. Mohamed comes from Absa Bank Kenya, where he served as Country CEO and Managing Director, bringing over 30 years of banking experience. The appointment aims to accelerate growth through innovative financial services and a customer-centric strategy.