Developer docs
API playgroundTry for free, no card

Search company profiles

CrossFirst Bank

Full company profile

uuid0004hvi

Namestring
CrossFirst Bank
Legal namestring
CROSSFIRST BANKSHARES, INC.
Company typeenum
Private
Founded yearint
2007
Descriptiontext

CrossFirst Bank, operated through its Kansas-based bank holding company CROSSFIRST BANKSHARES, INC. (founded 2007, headquartered in Leawood, Kansas), provides commercial and personal banking services primarily to business owners, professionals, and their families. The bank operates under an FDIC-insured, Kansas-chartered model with documented regional expansion into Oklahoma and the Southwest via leadership appointments and acquisitions. Its core product mix spans business banking, personal banking, and related credit services consistent with a relationship-driven community bank franchise. CrossFirst monetizes primarily through net interest income on loans and deposits, supplemented by standard fee-based banking services; pricing details and product economics are not publicly disclosed.

CrossFirst's growth strategy has been predominantly inorganic. Between June 2022 and April 2023, the company announced or completed three acquisitions: Farmers & Stockmens Bank (June 2022), Central Bank & Trust (November 2022), and Canyon Community Bank (April 2023), materially extending its branch network and asset base. Capital to support this expansion has been raised through recurring exempt securities offerings documented via SEC Form D filings from 2010 through 2023, totaling approximately $52.8M across disclosed rounds, with the most recent being a $7.75M raise in April 2023. The firmographic profile (251–500 employees, private corporate status, no public ticker) is consistent with a mid-sized community bank holding company rather than a large regional or money-center institution.

Note on data quality: The input contains a Busey Bank website scrape and a set of financial line items (revenues of $250 trillion) that are clearly contaminated from unrelated sources. Those portions have been excluded from this analysis. The investment-relevant evidence is concentrated in the SEC filings, the documented acquisition record, and the leadership roster (including founder Ron Baldwin, President & CEO Michael Maddox, COO Amy Fauss, and Chief Banking Officer Steve Peterson).

Short descriptiontext

CrossFirst Bank is a Kansas-based community bank holding company founded in 2007, providing commercial and personal banking services to business owners, professionals, and their families across the Midwest and Southwest.

Operating statusenum
Operating
Ownership categoryenum
Headcount rangeband
251–500
akta.pro rankint
HeadquartersLeawood, United States
HQ citystring
Leawood
HQ countrystring
United States
HQ regionstring
North America
Markets served

Serves global market

Keyword5 values
commercial banking, business lending, deposit accounts, personal banking, treasury management
Industry1 code
1Payables & Disbursements (ACH/SEPA, wires, checks, virtual cards)
CodeFSABAIABPrimaryYes
NAICS code2 codes
  • Commercial Banking52211
  • Depository Credit Intermediation5221
SIC code2 codes
  • National Commercial Banks6021
  • Savings Institutions, Not Federally Chartered6036
Product category
Commercial Banking
Social media profiles1 record
Cost components5 values
Personnel, Operations, Infrastructure, Technology or R&D, Marketing or Sales
GTM typeB2B and B2C
B2B and B2C
Offering typeServices
Services
Core offering1 text field

CrossFirst Bank provides banking services primarily designed for business owners, professionals, and their families. Its core offerings include commercial lending, business deposit accounts, treasury management, and personal banking products delivered through a multi-state branch network.

Differentiator
Functional benefit
Problem solved
Product and service1 record
1Commercial Banking Services
CategoryCommercial Banking
Scale indicator1 record

Each record includes

Type, Value, Description, Source

Partnership1 partner
Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development PartnerAnnounced on2022-06-14
Description

CrossFirst Bank planned to acquire Farmers & Stockmens Bank as a strategic expansion move. The acquisition represented CrossFirst Bank's strategic growth initiative to expand its market presence through acquisition of another bank.

Recent move5 records

Each record includes

Date, Type, Title, Description, Source

Expansion highlight3 records

Each record includes

Type, Description

Peers10 records
TypeDirect peer
Description

Mid-size U.S. community bank offering personal banking, commercial banking, mortgage, and wealth management to businesses and families. CrossFirst and Busey share the same horizontal community-bank product mix and target the same business-owner/professional customer base.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Business-focused community/commercial bank headquartered in the Southeast U.S. with a relationship-led model targeting business owners and professionals, comparable in scale and GTM approach to CrossFirst.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Regional commercial bank with full-suite consumer, commercial, mortgage, and wealth services across multiple southern and Sunbelt markets. Comparable multi-state footprint and business-banking orientation to CrossFirst.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Texas-headquartered community bank holding company focused on business owners and professionals with similar product breadth (commercial, retail, mortgage). Similar asset size and acquisition-driven growth profile.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Bank holding company owning PlainsCapital Bank, offering commercial, retail, and mortgage services across multiple states. Comparable holdco-led, multi-community-bank structure to CrossFirst Bankshares.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Mid-Atlantic community bank holding company serving businesses and consumers with commercial lending, mortgage, and wealth services. Similar horizontal community-bank model and target customer profile.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Northeast U.S. community bank with personal, business, and wealth management lines. Comparable horizontal product mix and relationship-banking orientation to CrossFirst.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Texas-based community bank holding company serving small-to-mid-sized businesses and consumers with commercial, retail, and mortgage products. Similar size tier and business-owner target market.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Texas-based community bank holding company providing commercial and consumer banking plus trust/wealth services. Comparable holdco structure, regional footprint, and relationship-banking approach.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

Large privately held Midwestern commercial bank with consumer, business, and wealth services across multiple states. Comparable regional community-bank model but materially larger scale, serving as an aspirational incumbent for CrossFirst's footprint.

Market position
Strengths4 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Weaknesses4 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Competitive moat3 records

Each record includes

Type, Details

Key risks5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Key highlights5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Customer concentration

Classification, Details

Ideal customer profile2 records

Each record includes

Profile, Firmographic size, Sales motion, Sales cycle length, Buying structure, Purchase trigger, Buyer persona, Geography, Industry vertical, Primary use case, Description, Pain points, Evidence proof points, Target buyer

Technology focused
No
API detail
Has APIbool
No

Docs URL, Description

AI maturity
App detail

Has app

Core technology
Revenue estimate
Valuation estimate
Number of profiles
Profiles8 records

Each record includes

Name, Designation, Designation category, Overview, Profile commentary, Source

No data
No data
Funding overview

Funding stage, Last funding date, Total funding USD

Funding rounds10 records

Each record includes

Round, Amount USD, Date, Pre money valuation, Total investors, Investors, News

Investors

Each record includes

Name, Type, Date of entry, Rounds participated, Website

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

M&A3 records

Each record includes

Name, Acquisition type, Announced date, Completed date, Status, Website, News

Investment1 record

Each record includes

Name, Round, Announced date, Lead investor, Website, News

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

CrossFirst Bank

Commercial Bankingcrossfirstbank.com

CrossFirst Bank is a Kansas-based community bank holding company founded in 2007, providing commercial and personal banking services to business owners, professionals, and their families across the Midwest and Southwest.

What CrossFirst Bank does

CrossFirst Bank, operated through its Kansas-based bank holding company CROSSFIRST BANKSHARES, INC. (founded 2007, headquartered in Leawood, Kansas), provides commercial and personal banking services primarily to business owners, professionals, and their families. The bank operates under an FDIC-insured, Kansas-chartered model with documented regional expansion into Oklahoma and the Southwest via leadership appointments and acquisitions. Its core product mix spans business banking, personal banking, and related credit services consistent with a relationship-driven community bank franchise. CrossFirst monetizes primarily through net interest income on loans and deposits, supplemented by standard fee-based banking services; pricing details and product economics are not publicly disclosed.

CrossFirst's growth strategy has been predominantly inorganic. Between June 2022 and April 2023, the company announced or completed three acquisitions: Farmers & Stockmens Bank (June 2022), Central Bank & Trust (November 2022), and Canyon Community Bank (April 2023), materially extending its branch network and asset base. Capital to support this expansion has been raised through recurring exempt securities offerings documented via SEC Form D filings from 2010 through 2023, totaling approximately $52.8M across disclosed rounds, with the most recent being a $7.75M raise in April 2023. The firmographic profile (251–500 employees, private corporate status, no public ticker) is consistent with a mid-sized community bank holding company rather than a large regional or money-center institution.

Note on data quality: The input contains a Busey Bank website scrape and a set of financial line items (revenues of $250 trillion) that are clearly contaminated from unrelated sources. Those portions have been excluded from this analysis. The investment-relevant evidence is concentrated in the SEC filings, the documented acquisition record, and the leadership roster (including founder Ron Baldwin, President & CEO Michael Maddox, COO Amy Fauss, and Chief Banking Officer Steve Peterson).

CrossFirst Bank firmographics

Firmographics
Name
CrossFirst Bank
Legal name
CROSSFIRST BANKSHARES, INC.
Website
https://crossfirstbank.com
Company type
Private
Founded year
2007
Operating status
Operating
Headcount range
251–500 employees
Short description
CrossFirst Bank is a Kansas-based community bank holding company founded in 2007, providing commercial and personal banking services to business owners, professionals, and their families across the Midwest and Southwest.
Ownership category
akta.pro rank

CrossFirst Bank industry classification

Industry
Product category
Commercial Banking
NAICS
Commercial Banking (52211), Depository Credit Intermediation (5221)
SIC
National Commercial Banks (6021), Savings Institutions, Not Federally Chartered (6036)
akta.pro primary industry
Payables & Disbursements (ACH/SEPA, wires, checks, virtual cards) (FSABAIAB)

Keywords

  • Commercial banking
  • Business lending
  • Deposit accounts
  • Personal banking
  • Treasury management

Where CrossFirst Bank is headquartered

Location

Headquarters

HQ city
Leawood
HQ country
United States
HQ region
North America

Markets served

CrossFirst Bank business model

Business model
GTM type
B2B and B2C
Offering type
Services
Cost components
Personnel, Operations, Infrastructure, Technology or R&D, Marketing or Sales

CrossFirst Bank product offering

Product offering

Core offering

CrossFirst Bank provides banking services primarily designed for business owners, professionals, and their families. Its core offerings include commercial lending, business deposit accounts, treasury management, and personal banking products delivered through a multi-state branch network.

Differentiator

Problem solved

Functional benefit

Products and services

  • Commercial Banking Services

Companies that use CrossFirst Bank

Customer profile

Ideal customer profiles2 records

CrossFirst Bank technology and API

Technology

Technology focussed No

API detail

Has API
No
API docs
API detail

Core technology

AI maturity

App detail

CrossFirst Bank partnerships and signals

Strategic signal

Partnerships

One partnership is on record.

  • Farmers & Stockmens BankcoreStrategic or Co-development Partner · 14 June 2022CrossFirst Bank planned to acquire Farmers & Stockmens Bank as a strategic expansion move. The acquisition represented CrossFirst Bank's strategic growth initiative to expand its market presence through acquisition of another bank.

Scale indicators1 record

Recent moves5 records

Expansion highlights3 records

CrossFirst Bank competitors and assessment

Company assessment

Direct peers

  • Busey Bank: Mid-size U.S. community bank offering personal banking, commercial banking, mortgage, and wealth management to businesses and families. CrossFirst and Busey share the same horizontal community-bank product mix and target the same business-owner/professional customer base.
  • Pinnacle Financial Partners: Business-focused community/commercial bank headquartered in the Southeast U.S. with a relationship-led model targeting business owners and professionals, comparable in scale and GTM approach to CrossFirst.
  • Cadence Bank: Regional commercial bank with full-suite consumer, commercial, mortgage, and wealth services across multiple southern and Sunbelt markets. Comparable multi-state footprint and business-banking orientation to CrossFirst.
  • Independent Bank Group: Texas-headquartered community bank holding company focused on business owners and professionals with similar product breadth (commercial, retail, mortgage). Similar asset size and acquisition-driven growth profile.
  • Hilltop Holdings: Bank holding company owning PlainsCapital Bank, offering commercial, retail, and mortgage services across multiple states. Comparable holdco-led, multi-community-bank structure to CrossFirst Bankshares.
  • Sandy Spring Bancorp: Mid-Atlantic community bank holding company serving businesses and consumers with commercial lending, mortgage, and wealth services. Similar horizontal community-bank model and target customer profile.
  • Tompkins Financial: Northeast U.S. community bank with personal, business, and wealth management lines. Comparable horizontal product mix and relationship-banking orientation to CrossFirst.
  • Veritex Holdings: Texas-based community bank holding company serving small-to-mid-sized businesses and consumers with commercial, retail, and mortgage products. Similar size tier and business-owner target market.
  • Southside Bancshares: Texas-based community bank holding company providing commercial and consumer banking plus trust/wealth services. Comparable holdco structure, regional footprint, and relationship-banking approach.

Broad incumbents

  • First National of Nebraska (FNBO): Large privately held Midwestern commercial bank with consumer, business, and wealth services across multiple states. Comparable regional community-bank model but materially larger scale, serving as an aspirational incumbent for CrossFirst's footprint.

Market position

Strengths4 records

Weaknesses4 records

Competitive moat3 records

Key risks5 records

Key highlights5 records

Customer concentration

CrossFirst Bank social profiles

Digital presence

CrossFirst Bank financial estimates

Financial estimate

Revenue estimate

Valuation estimate

CrossFirst Bank leadership team

Management profile

Number of profiles

Profiles8 records

CrossFirst Bank funding detail

Funding detail

Funding overview

Funding rounds10 records

Investors

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

CrossFirst Bank M&A and investment

M&A and investment

M&A3 records

Investments1 record

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Frequently asked questions about CrossFirst Bank

What does CrossFirst Bank do?

CrossFirst Bank provides banking services primarily designed for business owners, professionals, and their families. Its core offerings include commercial lending, business deposit accounts, treasury management, and personal banking products delivered through a multi-state branch network.

Is CrossFirst Bank a public or private company?

CrossFirst Bank is a private company. It is classified as unknown and is currently operating.

When was CrossFirst Bank founded?

CrossFirst Bank was founded in 2007. It employs 251 to 500 people.

Where is CrossFirst Bank based?

CrossFirst Bank is headquartered in Leawood, United States, in the North America region.

Who are CrossFirst Bank's main competitors?

Direct peers on record are Busey Bank, Pinnacle Financial Partners, Cadence Bank, Independent Bank Group, Hilltop Holdings, Sandy Spring Bancorp, Tompkins Financial, Veritex Holdings and Southside Bancshares. First National of Nebraska (FNBO) is listed as a broad incumbent.

Does CrossFirst Bank have an API?

No public API is recorded for CrossFirst Bank.

What industry is CrossFirst Bank in?

CrossFirst Bank's product category is Commercial Banking. Its primary akta.pro industry code is FSABAIAB, Payables & Disbursements (ACH/SEPA, wires, checks, virtual cards). Its NAICS code is 52211 and its SIC code is 6021.

Unlock the full company data

50 free credits on sign-up, no credit card required.

Contact sales
Live signals
American City Business JournalsFirst Busey extends Van Dukeman as CEO of holding company, Busey BankVan Dukeman was set to cede the CEO role of First Busey this summer under terms of its acquisition of CrossFirst Bank. That changed when an executive separated from the company in January.American City Business JournalsEx-CrossFirst exec Daley is First Busey's chief strategy officerFirst Busey Corp. promoted Mike Daley to chief strategy officer, expanding his role after overseeing CrossFirst Bank's integration. The bank reported $18.04 billion in total assets as of March 31, and Daley will guide growth and profitability initiatives.Stock TitanFirst Busey Q1 earnings: EPS $0.52, adjusted $0.67First Busey Corporation reported Q1 2026 net income of $50.0 million, or $0.52 per diluted share, with adjusted net income of $58.6 million, or $0.67 per diluted share, representing a 17.5% year-over-year increase. The bank posted net interest margin expansion to 3.77%, record wealth management fees, and strong capital ratios including CET1 at 12.31%, while continuing to integrate the CrossFirst Bankshares acquisition and executing $65.6 million in share repurchases. Non-performing assets declined 14.0% quarter-over-quarter, reflecting maintained asset quality.American City Business JournalsCrossFirst rebrands as Busey, adds wealth management in WichitaBusey Bank acquired CrossFirst Bank in May and entered the Wichita market. Its leadership team includes two longtime Wichita bankers.BuseyFirst Busey Corporation and CrossFirst Bankshares, Inc. Announce Transformative PartnershipFirst Busey Corporation and CrossFirst Bankshares have signed a definitive agreement for an all-stock merger valued at approximately $916.8 million, which will result in the creation of a combined commercial banking franchise with roughly $20 billion in total assets. The transaction extends Busey's market presence into Arizona, Colorado, Kansas, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas, with operations expected to close in early 2025 pending regulatory and shareholder approvals. Pro forma calculations indicate significant earnings per share accretion of approximately 20% by 2026, driven by cost savings and expanded geographic reach.PR NewswireALERT: Rowley Law PLLC is Investigating Proposed Acquisition of CrossFirst Bankshares, Inc.Rowley Law PLLC announced it is investigating potential securities law violations by CrossFirst Bankshares, Inc. and its board of directors concerning the proposed acquisition by First Busey Corporation. Under the terms of the deal, CrossFirst stockholders will receive 0.6675 shares of First Busey common stock for each share they hold. The transaction is expected to close in the first half of 2025, and the law firm is inviting interested stockholders to contact them for additional information.MarketScreenerCrossFirst Bankshares, Inc. completed the acquisition of Canyon Bancorporation, Inc. for $15.2 million.CrossFirst Bankshares, Inc. has completed the acquisition of Canyon Bancorporation, Inc. for a total consideration of $15.2 million. This transaction represents a strategic expansion for CrossFirst Bankshares, integrating Canyon's operations into its regional banking network.Business Wire BlogCrossFirst Bankshares, Inc. to Expand Arizona Franchise with Acquisition of Canyon Bancorporation, Inc. and Canyon Community Bank, N.A.CrossFirst Bankshares, Inc. has entered into a definitive merger agreement to acquire Canyon Bancorporation, Inc. and its subsidiary Canyon Community Bank, N.A., with the transaction estimated at a total value of $15.1 million. This acquisition will enhance CrossFirst's presence in the Tucson, Arizona market and provide additional banking products and services to Canyon Bank's clients. The merger is expected to close in the second half of 2023, pending regulatory approvals.GlobeNewswireCrossFirst Bank Supports Thunderbird Field II Veterans Memorial, Inc. Aviation Scholarship Program & Veterans Day Commemoration EventCrossFirst Bank announced its sponsorship of Thunderbird Field II Veterans Memorial, Inc.'s Aviation Scholarship Program and Veterans Day Commemoration Event. The non-profit preserves WWII aviation history and provides scholarships to Arizona aviation students. The memorial, located at Scottsdale Airport, honors over 5,500 pilots who flew nearly 26.5 million miles.Business Wire BlogCrossFirst Bankshares, Inc. Receives Regulatory Approval to Complete Acquisition of Farmers & Stockmens Bank / Central Bank & TrustCrossFirst Bankshares Inc. received regulatory approval from the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation to complete its acquisition of Farmers & Stockmens Bank, a subsidiary of Central Bancorp. The companies expect to finalize the merger around November 22, 2022, pending customary closing conditions. This transaction expands CrossFirst's presence in Colorado and New Mexico.