Developer docs
API playgroundTry for free, no card

Search company profiles

Butterfield

Full company profile

uuid0006lw4

Namestring
Butterfield
Legal namestring
The Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son Limited
Company typeenum
Public
Founded yearint
1859
Descriptiontext

Butterfield (The Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son Limited) is a publicly listed independent bank and trust company (Bermuda Stock Exchange: NTB.BH; NYSE: NTB) headquartered in Hamilton, Bermuda, founded in 1858/1859 with 1,001-5,000 employees. It provides personal banking, private banking, business and corporate banking, trust and fiduciary services, and investment management to high-net-worth individuals, families, and businesses in eight international financial centres: Bermuda, the Cayman Islands, Guernsey, Jersey, Singapore, Switzerland, The Bahamas, and the United Kingdom.

The core technology stack is a conventional digital banking platform: Butterfield Online (web banking) for account access and transactions; the Butterfield Card Alerts mobile app for real-time transaction monitoring, spend controls, and card activation/deactivation; EMV chip with contactless Tap & Go; and tokenised integrations with Apple Pay, Google Pay, and Garmin Pay. Product surface spans credit and debit cards (Standard, Platinum, AAdvantage Mastercard with American Airlines, British Airways Visa Platinum, Mastercard Black by invitation), mortgages (including a UK unit Butterfield Mortgages Limited, FCA-regulated), and travel rewards programmes. Trust services span private trust, corporate services, and asset management across regulated subsidiaries (e.g., Butterfield Trust (Asia) Limited, ranked among the top five private trust companies in its region).

Butterfield monetises through four streams: net interest income (Q1 2026 NIM 2.75% on mortgages, personal loans, and credit cards against deposits), trust and fiduciary fees (recurring, on $146B group assets under administration), banking and transaction fees, and asset management fees. Distribution is relationship-led via dedicated relationship managers and physical Banking Centres in each jurisdiction, complemented by self-serve digital channels. Q1 2026 revenue was $155.9M, full-year 2025 net income $231.9M, core ROATCE 24.1%. Recent M&A is the central growth lever: R&H Guernsey closed April 2026 adding $9B AUM, and the $1.8B CIBC Caribbean acquisition was announced May 2026, materially reshaping the bank's Caribbean footprint.

Short descriptiontext

Butterfield is a publicly listed independent bank and trust company serving high-net-worth individuals, families, and businesses across eight international financial centres, providing banking, trust, fiduciary, and investment management services via relationship-led distribution.

Operating statusenum
Operating
Ownership categoryenum
Headcount rangeband
1,001–5,000
akta.pro rankint
HeadquartersHamilton, Bermuda
HQ citystring
Hamilton
HQ countrystring
Bermuda
Markets served

Serves global market

Offices8 records

Each record includes

City, Country, Type, Description, Source

Keyword5 values
private banking services, trust and fiduciary services, wealth management, offshore banking, investment management
Industry4 codes
1Offshore & International Private Banking
CodeFSAAABABPrimaryYes
2Fund Depositary (UCITS/AIFMD & Trustee Oversight)
CodeFSAAAOACPrimaryNo
3Fund Custody & Depositary Services (UCITS/AIFMD & Mutual Funds)
CodeFSAFAHADPrimaryNo
4Transfer Agency & Shareholder Recordkeeping
CodeFSAAAOAGPrimaryNo
NAICS code3 codes
  • Depository Credit Intermediation5221
  • Funds, Trusts, and Other Financial Vehicles525
  • Portfolio Management and Investment Advice523940
SIC code1 code
  • Finance Services6199
Product category
International Private Banking and Trust Services
GTM motion1 record

Each record includes

Type, Description, Source

Revenue model4 records
1Net Interest Income
TypeSubscription Recurring
Description

Interest income from lending activities (mortgages, personal loans, credit cards) minus interest paid on deposits. Net interest margin was 2.75% in Q1 2026, up 6 basis points sequentially.

seekingalpha.com
2Trust and Fiduciary Services
TypeSubscription Recurring
Description

Fee income from private trust business, corporate services, and assets under administration/trusteeship. The Singapore trust office ranks among top five private trust companies in the region. Rawlinson & Hunter Guernsey acquisition added $9 billion in assets under trusteeship with expected annualized fee-income uplift of GBP 8-10 million.

tradingview.com
3Banking Fees
TypeTransaction Fee
Description

Fees from banking services including account maintenance, transactions, and foreign exchange activity

tradingview.com
4Asset Management
TypeSubscription Recurring
Description

Investment management fees from managing client portfolios and funds

tradingview.com
Marketing channels6 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Stage, Description, Source

Distribution channels6 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Scope, Target buyer, Description, Source

Cost components6 values
Personnel, Operations, Technology or R&D, Infrastructure, Marketing or Sales, Others
Pricing details7 tiers
1AAdvantage Platinum Mastercard - $199 annual fee, 1 AAdvantage mile per dollar spent, 3,000 bonus miles on signup
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

Annual fee: $199. Earn 1 Avios for every $1 spent on everyday purchases, 2 Avios for every $1 spent on British Airways purchases. Bonus: 3,000 Avios when you sign up.

butterfieldgroup.com
2AAdvantage Mastercard Black - $350 annual fee, 1.25 AAdvantage miles per dollar spent
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

Available by invitation only. Annual fee: $350. Earn 1.25 AAdvantage miles for every dollar spent. Premium travel benefits including MasterAssist Black, Luggage Protection, LoungeKey access.

butterfieldgroup.com
3Platinum Debit Mastercard - $65 annual fee
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

Annual fee: $65. Contactless payment, ATM cash advances, Luggage Protection, Trip Inconvenience, MasterAssist Plus, Purchase Protection.

butterfieldgroup.com
4Visa Classic - Standard card option
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

Convenient, affordable credit card option

butterfieldgroup.com
5Mastercard Standard - No annual fee
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

No Annual Fee. Basic credit card with Mastercard benefits.

butterfieldgroup.com
6Cayman Islands - Visa Platinum: $165 primary, $82.50 additional cards
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

Annual fee: $165 primary, $82.50 per additional card. One Visa Rewards point for every dollar spent. 3,000 bonus points on signup.

butterfieldgroup.com
7Cayman Islands - AAdvantage Miles Platinum Mastercard: $110 primary, $55 additional
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

Annual fee: $110 primary, $55 additional cards. Maximum credit limit: $5,000. Earn 1 AAdvantage mile per dollar spent.

butterfieldgroup.com
GTM typeB2B and B2C
B2B and B2C
Offering typeServices
Services
Brand1 of 4 records shown
1Butterfield Card Alerts
Description

Mobile app for monitoring debit and credit card activity from mobile devices

butterfieldgroup.com
+3 more records
Core offering1 text field

Butterfield provides personal, private, business, and corporate banking services, trust and fiduciary services, and investment management to clients in Bermuda, the Cayman Islands, the Channel Islands, Singapore, Switzerland, The Bahamas, and the United Kingdom. Its offerings include current and savings accounts, mortgages, credit and debit cards, foreign exchange, cash management, bespoke lending, wealth structuring, estate planning, and corporate administration, delivered through Banking Centres, Butterfield Online, mobile apps, and the Butterfield Card Alerts card-management platform.

Differentiator
Functional benefit
Problem solved
Quantifiable outcome1 of 4 values shown
  • $9 billion in assets under trusteeship added through single acquisition
+3 more records
Product overview1 text field

Butterfield is a leading independent bank and trust company offering a comprehensive suite of financial services including banking (personal, private, business, corporate), trust and fiduciary services, and investment management. The company operates across multiple jurisdictions including Bermuda, Cayman Islands, Guernsey, Jersey, The Bahamas, Singapore, Switzerland, and the UK. The product portfolio centers on three core divisions: Banking (encompassing lending, cash management, and transactional services), Trust (providing structures for asset growth, protection, and transfer), and Investments (portfolio development and planning). Key consumer products include a range of credit and debit cards featuring airline rewards partnerships (American Airlines AAdvantage, British Airways), travel benefits programs, and a digital banking ecosystem with online and mobile access via Butterfield Online and the Butterfield Card Alerts app. Butterfield also offers specialized mortgage solutions for UK properties and private banking services for high net worth clients.

Product and service15 records
1Banking Services
CategoryBanking
2Trust Services
CategoryTrust
3Investment Services
CategoryInvestments
4Mortgages
CategoryMortgages
5Butterfield Online
CategoryDigital Banking
6Butterfield Card Alerts App
CategoryDigital Banking
7Butterfield / AAdvantage Platinum Mastercard
CategoryCredit Cards
8Butterfield / AAdvantage Mastercard Black
CategoryCredit Cards
9British Airways Visa Platinum
CategoryCredit Cards
10Platinum Debit Mastercard
CategoryDebit Cards
11Visa Classic
CategoryCredit Cards
12Mastercard Standard
CategoryCredit Cards
13Butterfield Miles Platinum Mastercard
CategoryCredit Cards
14Butterfield / AAdvantage Standard Mastercard
CategoryCredit Cards
15Visa Platinum Card
CategoryCredit Cards
Scale indicator13 records

Each record includes

Type, Value, Description, Source

Partnership3 partners
Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development PartnerAnnounced on2026-04-15
Description

Acquisition completed April 15, 2026. Rawlinson & Hunter Guernsey is the local member firm of the Rawlinson & Hunter International Network, an independently owned trust and corporate service provider based in Guernsey. The acquisition adds approximately 50 employees, 71 client groups, and $9 billion in assets under trusteeship to Butterfield's private trust business in the Channel Islands. Expected annualized fee-income uplift of GBP 8-10 million. Transaction terms not disclosed.

Strategic tierMajorTypeStrategic or Co-development PartnerAnnounced on2026-02-19
Description

Butterfield announced agreement to acquire control of CIBC Caribbean in $1.8 billion transaction, subject to customary regulatory approvals. This represents a significant expansion of Butterfield's Caribbean banking presence.

Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Completed integration of Credit Suisse's trust business, which has been a positive contributor to client volume and fee income growth. This acquisition strengthened Butterfield's private trust operations.

Recent move7 records

Each record includes

Date, Type, Title, Description, Source

Expansion highlight5 records

Each record includes

Type, Description

Peers10 records
TypeBroad incumbent
Description

Global bank with substantial private banking, wealth management, and offshore banking presence across Asia, Middle East, and Channel Islands. Comparable as an international bank with offshore and emerging-market banking focus, though much larger and broader in product offering than Butterfield.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

Largest offshore-focused global bank with Private Bank and wealth management franchises in Bermuda, Cayman, Jersey, and Singapore. Comparable as the dominant international bank in many of the same IFCs Butterfield operates in, though at vastly greater scale.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Caribbean banking subsidiary being acquired by Butterfield for $1.8B. Directly comparable as a leading Caribbean retail, corporate, and wealth bank with overlapping Bermuda/Cayman/Bahamas operations; represents Butterfield's largest M&A target and most direct competitive peer in the region.

TypeRegional player
Description

Caribbean banking group headquartered in Trinidad and Tobago with operations across the Eastern Caribbean. Comparable as a regional Caribbean bank serving similar small-IFC markets, though with different geographic concentration.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

Subsidiary of Royal Bank of Canada operating across the Caribbean including Cayman and Bahamas. Comparable as an international bank providing retail, corporate, and wealth services in the same offshore jurisdictions as Butterfield.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Independent Cayman-based bank providing retail, commercial, and wealth management services. Closest direct competitor in the Cayman Islands market with similar niche IFC positioning and customer base to Butterfield.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

Swiss private bank and wealth manager with strong presence in Geneva and significant fiduciary/trust services. Comparable as an established private banking competitor in Switzerland and other IFCs serving HNWI clients.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

Swiss private bank with HNW/UHNW wealth management, trust, and fiduciary services across international financial centres. Comparable in private banking and trust services philosophy, particularly in the Swiss and Channel Islands markets.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

World's largest wealth manager post-Credit Suisse acquisition with significant HNWI/private banking franchise across all of Butterfield's geographies. Comparable as a global wealth and trust competitor, though at vastly different scale.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

Swiss-headquartered pure-play wealth manager serving HNWI and UHNW clients across international financial centres. Comparable in offshore wealth management and trust services, particularly in Channel Islands and Singapore.

Market position
Strengths5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Weaknesses5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Competitive moat4 records

Each record includes

Type, Details

Key risks6 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Key highlights7 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Customer concentration

Classification, Details

Named customers1 record

Each record includes

Name, Industry, Type, Use case, Source, UUID

Segment4 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Primary, Description, Pain point addressed, Use case, Source

Ideal customer profile4 records

Each record includes

Profile, Firmographic size, Sales motion, Sales cycle length, Buying structure, Purchase trigger, Buyer persona, Geography, Industry vertical, Primary use case, Description, Pain points, Evidence proof points, Target buyer

Technology focused
No
API detail
Has APIbool
No

Docs URL, Description

Integration3 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Description, Source

AI maturity
App detail

Has app

Feature3 records

Each record includes

Title, Differentiator, Description, Source

Core technology
Revenue estimate
Valuation estimate
Number of profiles
Profiles4 records

Each record includes

Name, Designation, Designation category, Overview, Profile commentary, Source

Subsidiaries17 records

Each record includes

Name, Acquired on, Relationship type, Type, Business focus

No data
Funding overview

Funding stage, Last funding date, Total funding USD

Funding rounds1 record

Each record includes

Round, Amount USD, Date, Pre money valuation, Total investors, Investors, News

Investors

Each record includes

Name, Type, Date of entry, Rounds participated, Website

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

M&A3 records

Each record includes

Name, Acquisition type, Announced date, Completed date, Status, Website, News

Investment1 record

Each record includes

Name, Round, Announced date, Lead investor, Website, News

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Butterfield

International Private Banking and Trust Servicesbutterfieldgroup.com

Butterfield is a publicly listed independent bank and trust company serving high-net-worth individuals, families, and businesses across eight international financial centres, providing banking, trust, fiduciary, and investment management services via relationship-led distribution.

What Butterfield does

Butterfield (The Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son Limited) is a publicly listed independent bank and trust company (Bermuda Stock Exchange: NTB.BH; NYSE: NTB) headquartered in Hamilton, Bermuda, founded in 1858/1859 with 1,001-5,000 employees. It provides personal banking, private banking, business and corporate banking, trust and fiduciary services, and investment management to high-net-worth individuals, families, and businesses in eight international financial centres: Bermuda, the Cayman Islands, Guernsey, Jersey, Singapore, Switzerland, The Bahamas, and the United Kingdom.

The core technology stack is a conventional digital banking platform: Butterfield Online (web banking) for account access and transactions; the Butterfield Card Alerts mobile app for real-time transaction monitoring, spend controls, and card activation/deactivation; EMV chip with contactless Tap & Go; and tokenised integrations with Apple Pay, Google Pay, and Garmin Pay. Product surface spans credit and debit cards (Standard, Platinum, AAdvantage Mastercard with American Airlines, British Airways Visa Platinum, Mastercard Black by invitation), mortgages (including a UK unit Butterfield Mortgages Limited, FCA-regulated), and travel rewards programmes. Trust services span private trust, corporate services, and asset management across regulated subsidiaries (e.g., Butterfield Trust (Asia) Limited, ranked among the top five private trust companies in its region).

Butterfield monetises through four streams: net interest income (Q1 2026 NIM 2.75% on mortgages, personal loans, and credit cards against deposits), trust and fiduciary fees (recurring, on $146B group assets under administration), banking and transaction fees, and asset management fees. Distribution is relationship-led via dedicated relationship managers and physical Banking Centres in each jurisdiction, complemented by self-serve digital channels. Q1 2026 revenue was $155.9M, full-year 2025 net income $231.9M, core ROATCE 24.1%. Recent M&A is the central growth lever: R&H Guernsey closed April 2026 adding $9B AUM, and the $1.8B CIBC Caribbean acquisition was announced May 2026, materially reshaping the bank's Caribbean footprint.

Butterfield firmographics

Firmographics
Name
Butterfield
Legal name
The Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son Limited
Website
https://butterfieldgroup.com
Company type
Public
Founded year
1859
Operating status
Operating
Headcount range
1,001–5,000 employees
Short description
Butterfield is a publicly listed independent bank and trust company serving high-net-worth individuals, families, and businesses across eight international financial centres, providing banking, trust, fiduciary, and investment management services via relationship-led distribution.
Ownership category
akta.pro rank

Butterfield industry classification

Industry
Product category
International Private Banking and Trust Services
NAICS
Depository Credit Intermediation (5221), Funds, Trusts, and Other Financial Vehicles (525), Portfolio Management and Investment Advice (523940)
SIC
Finance Services (6199)
akta.pro primary industry
Offshore & International Private Banking (FSAAABAB)
akta.pro secondary industries
Fund Depositary (UCITS/AIFMD & Trustee Oversight) (FSAAAOAC), Fund Custody & Depositary Services (UCITS/AIFMD & Mutual Funds) (FSAFAHAD), Transfer Agency & Shareholder Recordkeeping (FSAAAOAG)

Keywords

  • Private banking services
  • Trust and fiduciary services
  • Wealth management
  • Offshore banking
  • Investment management

Where Butterfield is headquartered

Location

Headquarters

HQ city
Hamilton
HQ country
Bermuda

Offices8 records

Markets served

Butterfield business model

Business model
GTM type
B2B and B2C
Offering type
Services
Cost components
Personnel, Operations, Technology or R&D, Infrastructure, Marketing or Sales, Others

Revenue model

  1. Net Interest Income: Interest income from lending activities (mortgages, personal loans, credit cards) minus interest paid on deposits. Net interest margin was 2.75% in Q1 2026, up 6 basis points sequentially.
  2. Trust and Fiduciary Services: Fee income from private trust business, corporate services, and assets under administration/trusteeship. The Singapore trust office ranks among top five private trust companies in the region. Rawlinson & Hunter Guernsey acquisition added $9 billion in assets under trusteeship with expected annualized fee-income uplift of GBP 8-10 million.
  3. Banking Fees: Fees from banking services including account maintenance, transactions, and foreign exchange activity
  4. Asset Management: Investment management fees from managing client portfolios and funds

Pricing tiers

ModelBillingPrice
SubscriptionAnnualAAdvantage Platinum Mastercard - $199 annual fee, 1 AAdvantage mile per dollar spent, 3,000 bonus miles on signup
SubscriptionAnnualAAdvantage Mastercard Black - $350 annual fee, 1.25 AAdvantage miles per dollar spent
SubscriptionAnnualPlatinum Debit Mastercard - $65 annual fee
SubscriptionAnnualVisa Classic - Standard card option
SubscriptionAnnualMastercard Standard - No annual fee
SubscriptionAnnualCayman Islands - Visa Platinum: $165 primary, $82.50 additional cards
SubscriptionAnnualCayman Islands - AAdvantage Miles Platinum Mastercard: $110 primary, $55 additional

Go-to-market motion1 record

Distribution channels6 records

Marketing channels6 records

Butterfield product offering

Product offering

Core offering

Butterfield provides personal, private, business, and corporate banking services, trust and fiduciary services, and investment management to clients in Bermuda, the Cayman Islands, the Channel Islands, Singapore, Switzerland, The Bahamas, and the United Kingdom. Its offerings include current and savings accounts, mortgages, credit and debit cards, foreign exchange, cash management, bespoke lending, wealth structuring, estate planning, and corporate administration, delivered through Banking Centres, Butterfield Online, mobile apps, and the Butterfield Card Alerts card-management platform.

Product overview

Butterfield is a leading independent bank and trust company offering a comprehensive suite of financial services including banking (personal, private, business, corporate), trust and fiduciary services, and investment management. The company operates across multiple jurisdictions including Bermuda, Cayman Islands, Guernsey, Jersey, The Bahamas, Singapore, Switzerland, and the UK. The product portfolio centers on three core divisions: Banking (encompassing lending, cash management, and transactional services), Trust (providing structures for asset growth, protection, and transfer), and Investments (portfolio development and planning). Key consumer products include a range of credit and debit cards featuring airline rewards partnerships (American Airlines AAdvantage, British Airways), travel benefits programs, and a digital banking ecosystem with online and mobile access via Butterfield Online and the Butterfield Card Alerts app. Butterfield also offers specialized mortgage solutions for UK properties and private banking services for high net worth clients.

Differentiator

Problem solved

Functional benefit

Brands

  • Butterfield Card Alerts: Mobile app for monitoring debit and credit card activity from mobile devices
  • Butterfield Online
  • Google Pay
  • Butterfield Place

Products and services

  • Banking Services
  • Trust Services
  • Investment Services
  • Mortgages
  • Butterfield Online
  • Butterfield Card Alerts App
  • Butterfield / AAdvantage Platinum Mastercard
  • Butterfield / AAdvantage Mastercard Black
  • British Airways Visa Platinum
  • Platinum Debit Mastercard
  • Visa Classic
  • Mastercard Standard
  • Butterfield Miles Platinum Mastercard
  • Butterfield / AAdvantage Standard Mastercard
  • Visa Platinum Card

Quantifiable outcome

  • $9 billion in assets under trusteeship added through single acquisition
  • +3 more outcomes

Companies that use Butterfield

Customer profile

Named customers1 record

Segments4 records

Ideal customer profiles4 records

Butterfield technology and API

Technology

Technology focussed No

API detail

Has API
No
API docs
API detail

Core technology

AI maturity

App detail

Integration3 records

Feature3 records

Butterfield partnerships and signals

Strategic signal

Partnerships

Three partnerships are on record, tiered core and major.

  • Rawlinson & Hunter GuernseycoreStrategic or Co-development Partner · 15 April 2026Acquisition completed April 15, 2026. Rawlinson & Hunter Guernsey is the local member firm of the Rawlinson & Hunter International Network, an independently owned trust and corporate service provider based in Guernsey. The acquisition adds approximately 50 employees, 71 client groups, and $9 billion in assets under trusteeship to Butterfield's private trust business in the Channel Islands. Expected annualized fee-income uplift of GBP 8-10 million. Transaction terms not disclosed.
  • CIBC CaribbeanmajorStrategic or Co-development Partner · 19 February 2026Butterfield announced agreement to acquire control of CIBC Caribbean in $1.8 billion transaction, subject to customary regulatory approvals. This represents a significant expansion of Butterfield's Caribbean banking presence.
  • Credit Suisse Trust BusinesscoreStrategic or Co-development PartnerCompleted integration of Credit Suisse's trust business, which has been a positive contributor to client volume and fee income growth. This acquisition strengthened Butterfield's private trust operations.

Scale indicators13 records

Recent moves7 records

Expansion highlights5 records

Butterfield competitors and assessment

Company assessment

Broad incumbents

  • Standard Chartered: Global bank with substantial private banking, wealth management, and offshore banking presence across Asia, Middle East, and Channel Islands. Comparable as an international bank with offshore and emerging-market banking focus, though much larger and broader in product offering than Butterfield.
  • HSBC Holdings: Largest offshore-focused global bank with Private Bank and wealth management franchises in Bermuda, Cayman, Jersey, and Singapore. Comparable as the dominant international bank in many of the same IFCs Butterfield operates in, though at vastly greater scale.
  • RBC Royal Bank Caribbean: Subsidiary of Royal Bank of Canada operating across the Caribbean including Cayman and Bahamas. Comparable as an international bank providing retail, corporate, and wealth services in the same offshore jurisdictions as Butterfield.
  • Pictet Group: Swiss private bank and wealth manager with strong presence in Geneva and significant fiduciary/trust services. Comparable as an established private banking competitor in Switzerland and other IFCs serving HNWI clients.
  • Lombard Odier: Swiss private bank with HNW/UHNW wealth management, trust, and fiduciary services across international financial centres. Comparable in private banking and trust services philosophy, particularly in the Swiss and Channel Islands markets.
  • UBS Wealth Management: World's largest wealth manager post-Credit Suisse acquisition with significant HNWI/private banking franchise across all of Butterfield's geographies. Comparable as a global wealth and trust competitor, though at vastly different scale.
  • Julius Baer: Swiss-headquartered pure-play wealth manager serving HNWI and UHNW clients across international financial centres. Comparable in offshore wealth management and trust services, particularly in Channel Islands and Singapore.

Direct peers

  • CIBC Caribbean (FirstCaribbean): Caribbean banking subsidiary being acquired by Butterfield for $1.8B. Directly comparable as a leading Caribbean retail, corporate, and wealth bank with overlapping Bermuda/Cayman/Bahamas operations; represents Butterfield's largest M&A target and most direct competitive peer in the region.
  • Cayman National Bank: Independent Cayman-based bank providing retail, commercial, and wealth management services. Closest direct competitor in the Cayman Islands market with similar niche IFC positioning and customer base to Butterfield.

Regional players

  • Republic Bank: Caribbean banking group headquartered in Trinidad and Tobago with operations across the Eastern Caribbean. Comparable as a regional Caribbean bank serving similar small-IFC markets, though with different geographic concentration.

Market position

Strengths5 records

Weaknesses5 records

Competitive moat4 records

Key risks6 records

Key highlights7 records

Customer concentration

Butterfield social profiles

Digital presence

Butterfield financial estimates

Financial estimate

Revenue estimate

Valuation estimate

Butterfield leadership team

Management profile

Number of profiles

Profiles4 records

Butterfield subsidiaries and ownership

Company hierarchy

Subsidiaries17 records

Butterfield funding detail

Funding detail

Funding overview

Funding rounds1 record

Investors

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Butterfield M&A and investment

M&A and investment

M&A3 records

Investments1 record

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Frequently asked questions about Butterfield

What does Butterfield do?

Butterfield provides personal, private, business, and corporate banking services, trust and fiduciary services, and investment management to clients in Bermuda, the Cayman Islands, the Channel Islands, Singapore, Switzerland, The Bahamas, and the United Kingdom. Its offerings include current and savings accounts, mortgages, credit and debit cards, foreign exchange, cash management, bespoke lending, wealth structuring, estate planning, and corporate administration, delivered through Banking Centres, Butterfield Online, mobile apps, and the Butterfield Card Alerts card-management platform.

Is Butterfield a public or private company?

Butterfield is a public company. It is classified as public and is currently operating.

When was Butterfield founded?

Butterfield was founded in 1859. It employs 1,001 to 5,000 people.

Where is Butterfield based?

Butterfield is headquartered in Hamilton, Bermuda.

How does Butterfield make money?

Four revenue lines are on record. Net Interest Income is the primary driver. The others are trust and Fiduciary Services, banking Fees and asset Management.

Who are Butterfield's main competitors?

Broad incumbents on record are Standard Chartered, HSBC Holdings, RBC Royal Bank Caribbean, Pictet Group, Lombard Odier, UBS Wealth Management and Julius Baer. Direct peers are CIBC Caribbean (FirstCaribbean) and Cayman National Bank. Republic Bank is listed as a regional player.

Does Butterfield have an API?

No public API is recorded for Butterfield.

What industry is Butterfield in?

Butterfield's product category is International Private Banking and Trust Services. Its primary akta.pro industry code is FSAAABAB, Offshore & International Private Banking, with a secondary code of FSAAAOAC, Fund Depositary (UCITS/AIFMD & Trustee Oversight). Its NAICS code is 5221 and its SIC code is 6199.

Unlock the full company data

50 free credits on sign-up, no credit card required.

Contact sales
Live signals
Simply Wall St3 Banking Stocks Built For Higher Cash Yields Right NowThree U.S.-listed financial stocks—USCB Financial Holdings, Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son, and Peapack-Gladstone Financial—are highlighted for their cash-yield focus. USCB generates $94M in revenue, Butterfield $625M, and Peapack $221M, with market caps of $428M, $2.4B, and $803M respectively. The analysis notes how deposit costs and client behavior could affect future margins.CaymancompassCIMPA Next GEN event inspires Cayman’s future marketing leadersThe Cayman Islands Marketing Professionals Association hosted its inaugural CIMPA Next GEN event on August 8, 2026, at Union restaurant in Camana Bay to mentor emerging marketing talent. The association awarded a US$10,000 scholarship to Aracely Matute-Trejo for her academic and leadership achievements, while Butterfield Cayman provided support for the initiative.Ticker ReportRenaissance Technologies LLC Increases Position in Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son Limited (The) $NTBRenaissance Technologies LLC increased its stake in Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son by 182.9% during the first quarter, adding 24,566 shares to reach a total holding of 38,000 shares. The bank also announced a quarterly dividend of $0.50 per share and reported earnings per share of $1.58 for the most recent quarter.Yahoo1 Russell 2000 Stock Worth Investigating and 2 We Brush OffThis article provides investment analysis on three Russell 2000 small-cap stocks, recommending Butterfield Bank as a stock to watch while cautioning against Itron and U.S. Physical Therapy. Itron is flagged for two consecutive years of annual sales declines, substandard operating margins, and below-average returns on capital. U.S. Physical Therapy is flagged for its relatively small $795.5 million revenue base compared to larger competitors, flat earnings per share despite revenue growth over five years, and diminishing returns on capital.Ticker ReportBank of N.T. Butterfield & Son (NYSE:NTB) Director Sells $297,500.00 in StockJohn Wright, a director of Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son Limited, sold 5,000 shares of the company's stock on August 4th at $59.50 per share, generating $297,500 and reducing his holdings by approximately 49.50%, leaving him with 5,102 shares. The bank, which has a market capitalization of $2.60 billion, reported quarterly earnings of $1.58 EPS on revenue of $159 million and recently declared a quarterly dividend of $0.50 per share. The article also details recent institutional trading activity, analyst ratings changes, and company financial metrics as context for the insider transaction.YahooIs Higher Net Interest Income And A New Dividend Altering The Investment Case For Butterfield (NTB)?Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son Limited reported Q2 2026 results with net interest income rising to US$95.61 million while quarterly net income eased to US$46.91 million. The bank also declared a US$0.50 per-share dividend payable on August 26, 2026, with six-month results showing higher net income and earnings per share, reflecting resilient performance. The article examines how the combination of growing net interest income, ongoing dividend payments and management's capital return strategy ties into the bank's catalyst for building more fee-based wealth management and trust revenue.YahooThe 5 Most Interesting Analyst Questions From Butterfield Bank’s Q2 Earnings CallThe article discusses notable analyst questions from Butterfield Bank's Q2 earnings call. However, no specific details regarding the questions or the financial performance of the bank are provided. There is no forward-looking information or broader context present in the article.FinancialContent Business PageThe 5 Most Interesting Analyst Questions From Butterfield Bank’s Q2 Earnings CallButterfield Bank reported Q2 revenue of $159 million, beating analyst estimates by 1.3% and delivering adjusted EPS of $1.58, a 4.9% beat, driven by growth in interest-earning assets and contributions from the recently acquired R&H Currency business. Analyst questions focused on deposit cost management, the integration of the pending CIBC Caribbean acquisition, and asset quality monitoring in the Channel Islands and UK markets. The market reaction was neutral, with share repurchases paused as capital is prioritized for pending acquisitions and organic growth initiatives.YahooNTB Q2 Deep Dive: Expansion Strategy and Integration Progress Shape OutlookButterfield Bank (NYSE:NTB) reported Q2 CY2026 results beating analyst expectations with revenue of $159 million (8.6% YoY growth) and adjusted EPS of $1.58 per share (4.9% above consensus). The performance was driven by growth in interest-earning assets, fee-based revenue, and successful integration of the recently acquired R&H Currency business. Looking ahead, the bank is prioritizing capital allocation toward its pending acquisition of CIBC Caribbean, which is expected to expand its regional footprint and enhance wealth and corporate banking capabilities across Caribbean markets.Seeking AlphaThe Bank of N.T. Butterfield & Son Limited (NTB) Q2 2026 Earnings Call TranscriptBank of N.T. Butterfield & Son Limited held its Q2 2026 earnings call on July 28, 2026, reporting EPS of $1.58 that exceeded estimates by $0.07, alongside revenue of $159.00 million representing 8.61% year-over-year growth that beat projections by $2.06 million.