Idaho College of Osteopathic Medicine
Idaho College of Osteopathic Medicine is Idaho's first and only osteopathic medical school, offering a four-year DO program plus concurrent MHA and MPH degrees to approximately 880 enrolled students, with clinical training delivered through 275 Mountain West hospital affiliations and a 100% residency placement rate.
- Company typePrivate
- Founded2018
- HeadquartersMeridian, United States
- Headcount101–250
- GTM typeB2C
- OfferingServices
What Idaho College of Osteopathic Medicine does
Idaho College of Osteopathic Medicine (ICOM) is a private nonprofit osteopathic medical school founded in 2018 and headquartered in Meridian, Idaho. It is Idaho's first and only osteopathic medical school and operates as one of 42 accredited colleges of osteopathic medicine in the United States. The institution's core product is a four-year Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine (DO) program, structured as two preclinical years delivered on the Meridian campus — utilizing an OMM Lab, Anatomy Lab, Research Lab, and Clinical Simulations Center — followed by two clinical years delivered through a network of 275 affiliated hospitals and health systems across the Mountain West region under the supervision of 875+ preceptor faculty. ICOM also offers two concurrent degree tracks, DO + MHA and DO + MPH, for students seeking dual credentials in healthcare administration or public health.
ICOM's business model is tuition-based recurring revenue tied to a 220-student per-class enrollment, generating approximately 880 active enrolled students at steady state across the four-year program. Specific tuition pricing is not publicly disclosed. The institution markets to prospective medical students primarily through its website, virtual admissions sessions, student and faculty testimonials, and AACOMAS-mediated admissions, with a stated mission to train physicians for rural and underserved Mountain West communities. The technology stack is described as a 100% Apple-based campus, supporting standardized delivery of educational content including a proprietary OMM Video Library. Student outcomes are a primary value proposition: 588 cumulative graduates, a 100% residency placement rate, 25+ chief residents, and 15+ fellowship matches.
Capital and governance structure: ICOM received a strategic investment in February 2022 from The Rise Fund (an EQT Future impact investment fund), accompanied by the launch of the Center for Health Education and Access, a platform designed to expand osteopathic education in underserved communities. The institution is governed by a Board of Trustees with no parent company, and is currently scheduled for a Comprehensive Evaluation by its regional accreditor, the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU), in 2026. Revenue is not publicly disclosed, and headcount is reported in the 101–250 range.
Idaho College of Osteopathic Medicine firmographics
Firmographics- Name
- Idaho College of Osteopathic Medicine
- Legal name
- Idaho College of Osteopathic Medicine
- Website
- https://idahocom.org
- Company type
- Private
- Founded year
- 2018
- Operating status
- Operating
- Headcount range
- 101–250 employees
- Short description
- Idaho College of Osteopathic Medicine is Idaho's first and only osteopathic medical school, offering a four-year DO program plus concurrent MHA and MPH degrees to approximately 880 enrolled students, with clinical training delivered through 275 Mountain West hospital affiliations and a 100% residency placement rate.
- Ownership category
- akta.pro rank
Where Idaho College of Osteopathic Medicine is headquartered
LocationHeadquarters
- HQ city
- Meridian
- HQ country
- United States
- HQ region
- North America
Offices1 record
Markets served
Idaho College of Osteopathic Medicine business model
Business model- GTM type
- B2C
- Offering type
- Services
- Cost components
- Personnel, Operations, Infrastructure, Technology or R&D, Marketing or Sales
Revenue model
- Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine (DO) Program Tuition: ICOM generates revenue primarily through tuition fees for its four-year Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine program. Students pay for medical education including preclinical instruction (years 1-2 on campus) and clinical training (years 3-4 in hospitals and health systems). Financial aid, scholarships, and student loans are available to support enrollment.
- Concurrent Degree Programs: ICOM offers combined degree programs (DO + MHA, DO + MPH) which generate additional tuition revenue from students pursuing dual credentials in healthcare administration or public health alongside their medical degree.
Go-to-market motion2 records
Distribution channels4 records
Marketing channels5 records
Idaho College of Osteopathic Medicine product offering
Product offeringCore offering
ICOM is Idaho's first and only osteopathic medical school, offering a four-year Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine (DO) program that delivers two preclinical years on its Meridian, Idaho campus and two clinical years at affiliated hospitals and health systems. It also offers concurrent combined-degree programs (DO + MHA and DO + MPH) that pair the medical degree with healthcare administration or public health credentials. Teaching is anchored in dedicated Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine, Anatomy, Research, and Clinical Simulations laboratories supported by a digital OMT/OMM video library.
Product overview
Idaho College of Osteopathic Medicine (ICOM) is Idaho's first and only osteopathic medical school, offering a single-core Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine (DO) program as its primary educational product, with two concurrent degree options (DO+MHA and DO+MPH) that build upon the core program. The institution operates specialized on-campus facilities including the OMM Lab, Anatomy Lab, Research Lab, and Clinical Simulations lab, alongside the OMT Video Library for osteopathic manipulative treatment instruction. The four-year DO program provides on-campus instruction for the first two years followed by two years of integrated clinical rotations at affiliated hospitals and health systems.
Differentiator
Problem solved
Functional benefit
Products and services
- Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine (DO) Program A four-year osteopathic medical program in which students complete the first two preclinical years on ICOM's Meridian, Idaho campus and the final two clinical years in rotations at hospitals and health systems, leading to eligibility to practice as Doctors of Osteopathic Medicine.
- DO + Master of Health Administration (MHA) Program Concurrent degree program pairing the Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine with a Master of Health Administration, designed for students who want to combine clinical training with healthcare administration leadership credentials.
- DO + Master of Public Health (MPH) Program Concurrent degree program pairing the Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine with a Master of Public Health, designed for students pursuing population health, preventive medicine, and community medicine roles alongside their clinical training.
Quantifiable outcome
- 100% Residency Placement Rate
- +6 more outcomes
Companies that use Idaho College of Osteopathic Medicine
Customer profileSegments3 records
Ideal customer profiles1 record
Idaho College of Osteopathic Medicine technology and API
TechnologyTechnology focussed No
API detail
- Has API
- No
- API docs
- API detail
Core technology
AI maturity
App detail
Feature4 records
Idaho College of Osteopathic Medicine partnerships and signals
Strategic signalPartnerships
One partnership is on record.
- 275 Hospitals and Health Systems (Clinical Affiliates)coreICOM has established clinical training affiliations with 275 hospitals and health systems across the Mountain West region. These partnerships provide clinical rotation sites for third and fourth year medical students, offering hands-on training experiences under the supervision of 875+ preceptor faculty members.
Scale indicators8 records
Recent moves5 records
Expansion highlights4 records
Idaho College of Osteopathic Medicine competitors and assessment
Company assessmentDirect peers
- Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine (VCOM): Private osteopathic medical school with multi-campus model in the Southeast and Mid-Atlantic. Directly comparable in osteopathic training, clinical affiliation structure, and rural/underserved mission focus.
- Burrell College of Osteopathic Medicine: Las Cruces, NM-based osteopathic medical school that received a paired Rise Fund investment alongside ICOM in 2022. Most directly comparable peer because of shared ownership, similar founding era, comparable size, and shared mission focus on underserved communities.
- Kansas City University College of Osteopathic Medicine: One of the larger private osteopathic medical schools with a long operating history. Comparable core offering (DO program), clinical training model, and nonprofit governance structure.
- Des Moines University College of Osteopathic Medicine: Private health sciences university offering a DO program alongside other health professions programs. Comparable in DO program structure, single-state geographic concentration, and osteopathic training delivery.
- Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine (LECOM): Large private osteopathic medical school with the largest US DO enrollment and multiple campuses. Comparable in DO education delivery model and clinical training network approach.
- Rocky Vista University College of Osteopathic Medicine: Private osteopathic medical school founded in 2006 with multiple campuses serving similar student profiles. Comparable in business model, scale, and osteopathic medicine focus, though more established and larger.
Broad incumbents
- A.T. Still University - Kirksville College of Osteopathic Medicine: The founding college of osteopathic medicine (1892), now part of a broader health sciences university with multiple colleges. Serves as the established incumbent in osteopathic medical education against which newer schools like ICOM compete.
- Touro University California College of Osteopathic Medicine: Part of the Touro University system with multiple health professions programs including osteopathic medicine. Comparable in DO training delivery and broader healthcare education portfolio.
- Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine: One of the oldest and largest osteopathic medical schools in the US, with dual campuses. Established incumbent that sets the bar for clinical training depth and residency placement metrics.
Regional players
- Pacific Northwest University of Health Sciences: Yakima, WA-based health sciences university operating COMP-Northwest. The only other osteopathic medical program in the Pacific Northwest, creating direct regional overlap with ICOM for clinical training sites, applicant pool, and graduate placement in the Mountain West.
Market position
Strengths5 records
Weaknesses5 records
Competitive moat4 records
Key risks6 records
Key highlights6 records
Customer concentration
Idaho College of Osteopathic Medicine social profiles
Digital presenceIdaho College of Osteopathic Medicine compliance and trust
Trust signalCompliance1 record
Idaho College of Osteopathic Medicine financial estimates
Financial estimateRevenue estimate
Valuation estimate
Idaho College of Osteopathic Medicine leadership team
Management profileNumber of profiles
Profiles5 records
Idaho College of Osteopathic Medicine funding detail
Funding detailFunding overview
Funding rounds1 record
Investors2 records
Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →
Idaho College of Osteopathic Medicine M&A and investment
M&A and investmentM&A
Investments
M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →
Frequently asked questions about Idaho College of Osteopathic Medicine
What does Idaho College of Osteopathic Medicine do?
ICOM is Idaho's first and only osteopathic medical school, offering a four-year Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine (DO) program that delivers two preclinical years on its Meridian, Idaho campus and two clinical years at affiliated hospitals and health systems. It also offers concurrent combined-degree programs (DO + MHA and DO + MPH) that pair the medical degree with healthcare administration or public health credentials. Teaching is anchored in dedicated Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine, Anatomy, Research, and Clinical Simulations laboratories supported by a digital OMT/OMM video library.
Is Idaho College of Osteopathic Medicine a public or private company?
Idaho College of Osteopathic Medicine is a private company. It is classified as venture growth investor backed and is currently operating.
When was Idaho College of Osteopathic Medicine founded?
Idaho College of Osteopathic Medicine was founded in 2018. It employs 101 to 250 people.
Where is Idaho College of Osteopathic Medicine based?
Idaho College of Osteopathic Medicine is headquartered in Meridian, United States, in the North America region.
How does Idaho College of Osteopathic Medicine make money?
Two revenue lines are on record. Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine (DO) Program Tuition is the primary driver. The others are concurrent Degree Programs.
Who are Idaho College of Osteopathic Medicine's main competitors?
Direct peers on record are Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine (VCOM), Burrell College of Osteopathic Medicine, Kansas City University College of Osteopathic Medicine, Des Moines University College of Osteopathic Medicine, Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine (LECOM) and Rocky Vista University College of Osteopathic Medicine. Broad incumbents are A.T. Still University - Kirksville College of Osteopathic Medicine, Touro University California College of Osteopathic Medicine and Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine. Pacific Northwest University of Health Sciences is listed as a regional player.
Does Idaho College of Osteopathic Medicine have an API?
No public API is recorded for Idaho College of Osteopathic Medicine.