Developer docs
API playgroundTry for free, no card

Search company profiles

Blanchardstown & District Credit Union

Full company profile

uuid000b1vk

Namestring
Blanchardstown & District Credit Union
Legal namestring
Community Credit Union Ltd
Company typeenum
Private
Founded yearint
1970
Descriptiontext

Blanchardstown & District Credit Union was a member-owned cooperative financial institution founded in 1970 and headquartered in Blanchardstown, Dublin, Ireland. Operating as a credit union regulated by the Central Bank of Ireland under Registration No. 175CU, BDCU provided retail financial services to community members including car loans, home improvement loans, personal loans, education loans, covered loans, and mortgages, alongside savings accounts, current accounts, deposit accounts, and insurance products. Member benefits included a Community Fund, Members Draw prize-linked savings, Member Death Benefit Indemnity, and the George Farrell Bursary Award. Currency exchange was offered through a FEXCO partnership and insurance through Peopl. Insurance.

On 4 July 2025, BDCU transferred all assets and liabilities to Community Credit Union Limited via a merger, creating a combined entity with assets exceeding €280 million and over 70,000 members across a wider Dublin catchment area. The combined entity serves members through a branch network, a web-based online banking platform at live.cuonline-ebanking.com, and the Community Credit Union mobile app. SEPA Instant Payments capability launched on 1 September 2025 and Enhanced Life Benefit Insurance is scheduled for 1 July 2026.

The revenue model is anchored in net interest income from lending against member deposits, supplemented by fee-based services including insurance distribution, currency exchange, and account services. Pricing is not publicly disclosed; rates are quote-based on application. Distribution relies on direct channels (branches, mobile app, online banking) complemented by reseller partnerships for non-core financial products.

Operating statusenum
Acquired
Ownership categoryenum
Headcount rangeband
11–50
akta.pro rankint
HeadquartersBlanchardstown, Ireland
HQ citystring
Blanchardstown
HQ countrystring
Ireland
HQ regionstring
Europe
Markets served

Serves global market

Offices1 record

Each record includes

City, Country, Type, Description, Source

Keyword5 values
credit union services, personal lending products, member savings accounts, community banking, cooperative financial services
Industry2 codes
1Community Credit Unions (Retail/Consumer Focus)
CodeFSABAEAAPrimaryYes
2Bank & Credit Union Personal Loans (Unsecured Installment)
CodeFSAKAAALPrimaryNo
NAICS code2 codes
  • Credit Unions52213
  • Credit Unions522130
SIC code1 code
  • Functions Related To Depository Banking, Nec6099
Product category
Retail Banking
No data
GTM motion1 record

Each record includes

Type, Description, Source

Revenue model3 records
1Loan Interest Income
TypeSubscription Recurring
Description

Interest income from various loan products including car loans, home improvement loans, personal loans, education loans, covered loans, and mortgages. This represents the primary revenue stream for the credit union.

communitycu.ie
2Savings and Deposit Interest
TypeTransaction Fee
Description

Interest earned on member deposits and savings accounts. Members earn returns on their savings while the credit union utilizes these funds for lending.

communitycu.ie
3Fee-based Services
TypeTransaction Fee
Description

Revenue from various fee-based services including account services, currency exchange through FEXCO, insurance products through Peopl. Insurance, and other financial services.

communitycu.ie
Marketing channels4 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Stage, Description, Source

Distribution channels4 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Scope, Target buyer, Description, Source

Pricing details2 tiers
1Loan Products
ModelOtherBilling cadenceMonthly
Notes

Interest rates vary by loan type (car, home improvement, personal, education, covered loan, mortgage). Not publicly disclosed - quote-based pricing available upon application.

communitycu.ie
2Savings and Deposit Accounts
ModelOtherBilling cadenceMonthly
Notes

Interest rates on savings and deposit accounts not publicly disclosed. Rates available upon account opening or inquiry.

communitycu.ie
GTM typeB2C
B2C
Offering typeServices
Services
Core offering1 text field

Blanchardstown & District Credit Union is a member-owned financial cooperative offering personal loans (car, home improvement, personal, education, covered, and mortgages), savings and current accounts, deposit accounts, insurance products, member death benefit indemnity, and currency exchange services. On 4 July 2025 it merged into Community Credit Union Ltd, serving 70,000+ members with combined assets of over €280 million across the wider Blanchardstown/Dublin catchment.

Differentiator
Functional benefit
Problem solved
Product overview1 text field

Blanchardstown & District Credit Union (merged into Community Credit Union as of July 2025) operates as a financial services cooperative offering a comprehensive suite of products including loan facilities (car loans, home improvement loans, personal loans, education loans, covered loans, and mortgages), deposit and savings accounts, current accounts, insurance products, and digital banking services. The credit union also provides member benefits including a Community Fund, Members Draw prize-linked savings, Member Death Benefit Indemnity, and educational bursaries. Additional services include currency exchange via FEXCO partnership and SEPA instant payment capabilities.

Product and service8 records
1Loans
CategoryLending
2Current Account
CategoryTransactional Banking
3Savings and Deposit Accounts
CategorySavings
4Insurance
CategoryInsurance
5Online Banking
CategoryDigital Banking
6FEXCO Currency Exchange
CategoryCurrency Exchange
7SEPA Instant Payments
CategoryPayment Services
8Member Death Benefit Indemnity
CategoryInsurance
Scale indicator2 records

Each record includes

Type, Value, Description, Source

Partnership1 partner
Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development PartnerAnnounced on2025-07-04
Description

Merger completed on 4th July 2025 where Blanchardstown & District Credit Union transferred all assets and liabilities to Community Credit Union Ltd. This merger creates a stronger and more efficient credit union serving the combined membership across the wider catchment area with assets of over €280 million and over 70,000 members.

Recent move5 records

Each record includes

Date, Type, Title, Description, Source

Expansion highlight4 records

Each record includes

Type, Description

Peers10 records
TypeEmerging player
Description

Digital-first challenger bank widely adopted in Ireland offering multi-currency accounts, instant payments, and savings pots — competes for younger members' primary banking relationships and threatens traditional deposit and FX revenue.

TypeEmerging player
Description

Irish state-backed postal financial services offering current accounts, savings, and FX via the post office and app — an emerging alternative for Dublin consumers choosing between credit unions and banks.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

Irish retail bank focused on current accounts, mortgages, and savings with strong personal-customer orientation — directly overlaps with the credit union's deposit and mortgage product lines in Dublin.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

Major Irish retail bank with extensive branch network, mortgage origination, personal lending, and digital banking platform — competing broadly in the same Dublin catchment as BDCU/Community Credit Union.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Irish community credit union offering similar personal banking, loans, savings, and current accounts; operates in adjacent Dublin-area catchments and competes directly for retail members and household lending.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

One of Ireland's dominant retail and commercial banks offering full-service current accounts, mortgages, personal loans, savings, and insurance — sets the competitive benchmark on product breadth, digital experience, and pricing transparency.

TypeRegional player
Description

UK mutual building society operating on a member-owned cooperative model with similar loan, savings, and mortgage products — relevant comparability for governance structure and member-value proposition, though UK-only.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Dublin-based community credit union providing personal loans, savings, mortgages, and current accounts to a defined community membership — directly comparable in product mix and member-driven operating model.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Acquiring entity in the 4 July 2025 merger; now the legal continuation of BDCU under a combined €280M+ balance sheet serving 70,000+ members. Most directly comparable peer as it is the surviving combined institution.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Irish credit union serving members across multiple communities with a comparable range of lending, savings, and current account products; competes in overlapping Dublin-area member segments.

Market position
Strengths5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Weaknesses5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Competitive moat3 records

Each record includes

Type, Details

Key risks6 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Key highlights6 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Customer concentration

Classification, Details

Segment1 record

Each record includes

Title, Type, Primary, Description, Pain point addressed, Use case, Source

Technology focused
No
API detail
Has APIbool
No

Docs URL, Description

AI maturity
App detail

Has app

Feature3 records

Each record includes

Title, Differentiator, Description, Source

Core technology
Revenue estimate
Valuation estimate
Number of profiles
No data
No data
Funding overview

Funding stage, Last funding date, Total funding USD

Funding rounds

Each record includes

Round, Amount USD, Date, Pre money valuation, Total investors, Investors, News

Investors

Each record includes

Name, Type, Date of entry, Rounds participated, Website

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

M&A

Each record includes

Name, Acquisition type, Announced date, Completed date, Status, Website, News

Investment

Each record includes

Name, Round, Announced date, Lead investor, Website, News

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Blanchardstown & District Credit Union

Retail Bankingblanchardstowncu.ie

What Blanchardstown & District Credit Union does

Blanchardstown & District Credit Union was a member-owned cooperative financial institution founded in 1970 and headquartered in Blanchardstown, Dublin, Ireland. Operating as a credit union regulated by the Central Bank of Ireland under Registration No. 175CU, BDCU provided retail financial services to community members including car loans, home improvement loans, personal loans, education loans, covered loans, and mortgages, alongside savings accounts, current accounts, deposit accounts, and insurance products. Member benefits included a Community Fund, Members Draw prize-linked savings, Member Death Benefit Indemnity, and the George Farrell Bursary Award. Currency exchange was offered through a FEXCO partnership and insurance through Peopl. Insurance.

On 4 July 2025, BDCU transferred all assets and liabilities to Community Credit Union Limited via a merger, creating a combined entity with assets exceeding €280 million and over 70,000 members across a wider Dublin catchment area. The combined entity serves members through a branch network, a web-based online banking platform at live.cuonline-ebanking.com, and the Community Credit Union mobile app. SEPA Instant Payments capability launched on 1 September 2025 and Enhanced Life Benefit Insurance is scheduled for 1 July 2026.

The revenue model is anchored in net interest income from lending against member deposits, supplemented by fee-based services including insurance distribution, currency exchange, and account services. Pricing is not publicly disclosed; rates are quote-based on application. Distribution relies on direct channels (branches, mobile app, online banking) complemented by reseller partnerships for non-core financial products.

Blanchardstown & District Credit Union firmographics

Firmographics
Name
Blanchardstown & District Credit Union
Legal name
Community Credit Union Ltd
Website
https://blanchardstowncu.ie
Company type
Private
Founded year
1970
Operating status
Acquired
Headcount range
11–50 employees
Ownership category
akta.pro rank

Blanchardstown & District Credit Union industry classification

Industry
Product category
Retail Banking
NAICS
Credit Unions (52213), Credit Unions (522130)
SIC
Functions Related To Depository Banking, Nec (6099)
akta.pro primary industry
Community Credit Unions (Retail/Consumer Focus) (FSABAEAA)
akta.pro secondary industry
Bank & Credit Union Personal Loans (Unsecured Installment) (FSAKAAAL)

Keywords

  • Credit union services
  • Personal lending products
  • Member savings accounts
  • Community banking
  • Cooperative financial services

Where Blanchardstown & District Credit Union is headquartered

Location

Headquarters

HQ city
Blanchardstown
HQ country
Ireland
HQ region
Europe

Offices1 record

Markets served

Blanchardstown & District Credit Union business model

Business model
GTM type
B2C
Offering type
Services

Revenue model

  1. Loan Interest Income: Interest income from various loan products including car loans, home improvement loans, personal loans, education loans, covered loans, and mortgages. This represents the primary revenue stream for the credit union.
  2. Savings and Deposit Interest: Interest earned on member deposits and savings accounts. Members earn returns on their savings while the credit union utilizes these funds for lending.
  3. Fee-based Services: Revenue from various fee-based services including account services, currency exchange through FEXCO, insurance products through Peopl. Insurance, and other financial services.

Pricing tiers

ModelBillingPrice
OtherMonthlyLoan Products
OtherMonthlySavings and Deposit Accounts

Go-to-market motion1 record

Distribution channels4 records

Marketing channels4 records

Blanchardstown & District Credit Union product offering

Product offering

Core offering

Blanchardstown & District Credit Union is a member-owned financial cooperative offering personal loans (car, home improvement, personal, education, covered, and mortgages), savings and current accounts, deposit accounts, insurance products, member death benefit indemnity, and currency exchange services. On 4 July 2025 it merged into Community Credit Union Ltd, serving 70,000+ members with combined assets of over €280 million across the wider Blanchardstown/Dublin catchment.

Product overview

Blanchardstown & District Credit Union (merged into Community Credit Union as of July 2025) operates as a financial services cooperative offering a comprehensive suite of products including loan facilities (car loans, home improvement loans, personal loans, education loans, covered loans, and mortgages), deposit and savings accounts, current accounts, insurance products, and digital banking services. The credit union also provides member benefits including a Community Fund, Members Draw prize-linked savings, Member Death Benefit Indemnity, and educational bursaries. Additional services include currency exchange via FEXCO partnership and SEPA instant payment capabilities.

Differentiator

Problem solved

Functional benefit

Products and services

  • Loans
  • Current Account
  • Savings and Deposit Accounts
  • Insurance
  • Online Banking
  • FEXCO Currency Exchange
  • SEPA Instant Payments
  • Member Death Benefit Indemnity

Companies that use Blanchardstown & District Credit Union

Customer profile

Segments1 record

Blanchardstown & District Credit Union technology and API

Technology

Technology focussed No

API detail

Has API
No
API docs
API detail

Core technology

AI maturity

App detail

Feature3 records

Blanchardstown & District Credit Union partnerships and signals

Strategic signal

Partnerships

One partnership is on record.

  • Community Credit Union LtdcoreStrategic or Co-development Partner · 4 July 2025Merger completed on 4th July 2025 where Blanchardstown & District Credit Union transferred all assets and liabilities to Community Credit Union Ltd. This merger creates a stronger and more efficient credit union serving the combined membership across the wider catchment area with assets of over €280 million and over 70,000 members.

Scale indicators2 records

Recent moves5 records

Expansion highlights4 records

Blanchardstown & District Credit Union competitors and assessment

Company assessment

Emerging players

  • Revolut Ireland: Digital-first challenger bank widely adopted in Ireland offering multi-currency accounts, instant payments, and savings pots — competes for younger members' primary banking relationships and threatens traditional deposit and FX revenue.
  • An Post Money: Irish state-backed postal financial services offering current accounts, savings, and FX via the post office and app — an emerging alternative for Dublin consumers choosing between credit unions and banks.

Broad incumbents

  • Permanent TSB: Irish retail bank focused on current accounts, mortgages, and savings with strong personal-customer orientation — directly overlaps with the credit union's deposit and mortgage product lines in Dublin.
  • Bank of Ireland: Major Irish retail bank with extensive branch network, mortgage origination, personal lending, and digital banking platform — competing broadly in the same Dublin catchment as BDCU/Community Credit Union.
  • Allied Irish Banks (AIB): One of Ireland's dominant retail and commercial banks offering full-service current accounts, mortgages, personal loans, savings, and insurance — sets the competitive benchmark on product breadth, digital experience, and pricing transparency.

Direct peers

  • First Credit Union: Irish community credit union offering similar personal banking, loans, savings, and current accounts; operates in adjacent Dublin-area catchments and competes directly for retail members and household lending.
  • St Raphael's Credit Union: Dublin-based community credit union providing personal loans, savings, mortgages, and current accounts to a defined community membership — directly comparable in product mix and member-driven operating model.
  • Community Credit Union Ltd: Acquiring entity in the 4 July 2025 merger; now the legal continuation of BDCU under a combined €280M+ balance sheet serving 70,000+ members. Most directly comparable peer as it is the surviving combined institution.
  • Core Credit Union (formerly EBS): Irish credit union serving members across multiple communities with a comparable range of lending, savings, and current account products; competes in overlapping Dublin-area member segments.

Regional players

  • Nationwide Building Society: UK mutual building society operating on a member-owned cooperative model with similar loan, savings, and mortgage products — relevant comparability for governance structure and member-value proposition, though UK-only.

Market position

Strengths5 records

Weaknesses5 records

Competitive moat3 records

Key risks6 records

Key highlights6 records

Customer concentration

Blanchardstown & District Credit Union financial estimates

Financial estimate

Revenue estimate

Valuation estimate

Blanchardstown & District Credit Union leadership team

Management profile

Number of profiles

Blanchardstown & District Credit Union funding detail

Funding detail

Funding overview

Funding rounds

Investors

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Blanchardstown & District Credit Union M&A and investment

M&A and investment

M&A

Investments

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Frequently asked questions about Blanchardstown & District Credit Union

What does Blanchardstown & District Credit Union do?

Blanchardstown & District Credit Union is a member-owned financial cooperative offering personal loans (car, home improvement, personal, education, covered, and mortgages), savings and current accounts, deposit accounts, insurance products, member death benefit indemnity, and currency exchange services. On 4 July 2025 it merged into Community Credit Union Ltd, serving 70,000+ members with combined assets of over €280 million across the wider Blanchardstown/Dublin catchment.

Is Blanchardstown & District Credit Union a public or private company?

Blanchardstown & District Credit Union is a private company. It is classified as nonprofit foundation owned and is currently acquired.

When was Blanchardstown & District Credit Union founded?

Blanchardstown & District Credit Union was founded in 1970. It employs 11 to 50 people.

Where is Blanchardstown & District Credit Union based?

Blanchardstown & District Credit Union is headquartered in Blanchardstown, Ireland, in the Europe region.

How does Blanchardstown & District Credit Union make money?

Three revenue lines are on record. Loan Interest Income is the primary driver. The others are savings and Deposit Interest and fee-based Services.

Who are Blanchardstown & District Credit Union's main competitors?

Emerging players on record are Revolut Ireland and An Post Money. Broad incumbents are Permanent TSB, Bank of Ireland and Allied Irish Banks (AIB). Direct peers are First Credit Union, St Raphael's Credit Union, Community Credit Union Ltd and Core Credit Union (formerly EBS). Nationwide Building Society is listed as a regional player.

Does Blanchardstown & District Credit Union have an API?

No public API is recorded for Blanchardstown & District Credit Union.

What industry is Blanchardstown & District Credit Union in?

Blanchardstown & District Credit Union's product category is Retail Banking. Its primary akta.pro industry code is FSABAEAA, Community Credit Unions (Retail/Consumer Focus), with a secondary code of FSAKAAAL, Bank & Credit Union Personal Loans (Unsecured Installment). Its NAICS code is 52213 and its SIC code is 6099.

Unlock the full company data

50 free credits on sign-up, no credit card required.

Contact sales