Developer docs
API playgroundTry for free, no card

Search company profiles

Hodge

Full company profile

uuid000fu1g

Namestring
Hodge
Legal namestring
Julian Hodge Bank Limited
Websiteurl
hodgebank.co.uk
Company typeenum
Private
Founded yearint
1965
Descriptiontext

Hodge Bank (legal entity Julian Hodge Bank Limited) is a Cardiff-headquartered UK specialist bank established in 1965, authorised by the Prudential Regulation Authority and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority under registration 204439. The bank operates three product pillars: retail savings (Easy Access accounts, Fixed Rate Bonds, and Cash ISAs with rates ranging from 4.01% to 4.71% AER and FSCS protection up to £120,000), specialist residential mortgages (Resi for complex-income borrowers up to 95% LTV, Resi Retire for retirement borrowers, Retirement Interest Only, and Holiday Let), and Real Estate Finance (development and investment finance for property professionals). All eligible deposits are FSCS-protected. The company transitioned to a fully online-only digital bank in 2024, discontinuing branch, phone, email and post account servicing while retaining telephone support and intermediary channels.

Technology is centred on an in-house online banking platform with two-factor authentication, account management, and maturity instruction submission. Payment processing is delivered through fintech partner Modulr, providing real-time Faster Payments, CHAPS and Confirmation of Payee services. Mortgage underwriting for complex cases is explicitly manual rather than automated, accepting self-employed, contractor, freelance, multi-source and non-contractual income streams that fail automated 'tick box' criteria at mainstream lenders. The bank is FCA- and PRA-regulated with documented Consumer Duty commitments.

Distribution is dual-channel: savings products are sold direct-to-consumer via the digital platform, while all mortgage products are sold exclusively through independent financial advisers and mortgage brokers via the 'Hodge for Intermediaries' portal, supported by a BDM team, criteria tools, calculators, case studies and documented SLAs. Real Estate Finance is distributed directly to property developers and through channel partnerships including FIBA (June 2023) and Brickflow's development finance marketplace (July 2025). Revenue is generated primarily through the net interest spread between deposit rates paid to savers and lending rates on specialist mortgages and real estate finance. For the year to September 2025, Hodge reported a £3.5m net operating loss and a £5.8m pre-tax loss, attributed to a multi-year modernisation programme and a challenging economic environment, alongside 8% loan book growth and over £380m in new lending across Specialist Mortgages, Real Estate Finance and Motor divisions. The bank serves tens of thousands of UK retail savers plus specialist borrower segments including complex-income earners, retirees aged 50+, holiday let operators, portfolio landlords, and mid-market property developers.

Short descriptiontext

Hodge Bank is a Cardiff-headquartered UK specialist bank (est. 1965) offering FSCS-protected retail savings, specialist residential mortgages for complex-income and retirement borrowers, and real estate finance for property developers and investors, distributed digitally and via intermediary brokers.

Operating statusenum
Operating
Ownership categoryenum
Headcount rangeband
251–500
akta.pro rankint
HeadquartersCardiff, United Kingdom
HQ citystring
Cardiff
HQ countrystring
United Kingdom
HQ regionstring
Europe
Markets served

Serves global market

Offices1 record

Each record includes

City, Country, Type, Description, Source

Keyword5 values
specialist mortgages, savings accounts, retirement lending, development finance, complex income underwriting
Industry4 codes
1Mutual Savings Banks & Mutual Thrifts
CodeFSABAEADPrimaryYes
2Balance-Sheet / Portfolio CRE Lending
CodeFSALADAGPrimaryNo
3Tax-Advantaged Investing & Wrappers (ISA, 529, Insurance Bonds, etc.)
CodeFSAAAAALPrimaryNo
4Direct Lending — Specialty Finance (Consumer/SME Lending Platforms)
CodeFSAHAJAFPrimaryNo
NAICS code2 codes
  • Depository Credit Intermediation5221
  • Finance and Insurance52
SIC code2 codes
  • Mortgage Bankers & Loan Correspondents6162
  • Personal Credit Institutions6141
Product category
Specialist Banking
GTM motion2 records

Each record includes

Type, Description, Source

Revenue model2 records
1Mortgage Lending Interest
TypeSubscription Recurring
Description

Hodge generates revenue by originating specialist mortgages including residential, retirement interest only (RIO), holiday let, and real estate finance loans. Interest income is earned on the loan portfolio across Specialist Mortgages, Real Estate Finance, and Motor lending divisions. The company reported over £380m in new lending across these divisions.

hodgebank.co.uk
2Retail Savings Deposits
TypeSubscription Recurring
Description

Hodge accepts retail customer deposits through savings accounts (Easy Access, Fixed Rate Bonds, Cash ISAs), using those deposits to fund its lending activities. The company pays competitive interest rates to savers (e.g., Easy Access at 4.01% AER variable, Fixed Rate Bonds from 4.60% to 4.71% AER, Cash ISAs from 4.55% to 4.66% AER) and earns the spread between lending rates and deposit rates.

hodgebank.co.uk
Marketing channels9 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Stage, Description, Source

Distribution channels4 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Scope, Target buyer, Description, Source

Cost components5 values
Personnel, Technology or R&D, Operations, Marketing or Sales, Infrastructure
Pricing details12 tiers
1Easy Access Savings Account - 4.01% AER variable rate
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

4.01% AER/Gross (variable). Minimum deposit £1, maximum balance £250,000. Unlimited deposits and withdrawals. Interest paid monthly, quarterly, or annually.

hodgebank.co.uk
21 Year Fixed Rate Bond - 4.60% AER fixed
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

4.60% AER/Gross (fixed) for 1-year term. Minimum deposit £1,000, maximum £1,000,000. No withdrawals during term. Interest paid annually or monthly.

hodgebank.co.uk
32 Year Fixed Rate Bond - 4.71% AER fixed
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

4.71% AER/Gross (fixed) for 2-year term. Minimum deposit £1,000, maximum £1,000,000. No withdrawals during term.

hodgebank.co.uk
43 Year Fixed Rate Bond - 4.61% AER fixed
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

4.61% AER/Gross (fixed) for 3-year term. Minimum deposit £1,000, maximum £1,000,000. No withdrawals during term.

hodgebank.co.uk
55 Year Fixed Rate Bond - 4.65% AER fixed
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

4.65% AER/Gross (fixed) for 5-year term. Minimum deposit £1,000, maximum £1,000,000. No withdrawals during term.

hodgebank.co.uk
61 Year Fixed Rate Cash ISA - 4.55% AER tax-free fixed
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

4.55% AER/Tax-free (fixed) for 1 year. Minimum deposit £1,000, maximum £20,000 per tax year. 14-day cancellation period. No ISA transfers accepted from other providers.

hodgebank.co.uk
72 Year Fixed Rate Cash ISA - 4.66% AER tax-free fixed
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

4.66% AER/Tax-free (fixed) for 2 years. Minimum deposit £1,000, maximum £20,000 per tax year.

hodgebank.co.uk
83 Year Fixed Rate Cash ISA - 4.61% AER tax-free fixed
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

4.61% AER/Tax-free (fixed) for 3 years. Minimum deposit £1,000, maximum £20,000 per tax year.

hodgebank.co.uk
95 Year Fixed Rate Cash ISA - 4.66% AER tax-free fixed
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

4.66% AER/Tax-free (fixed) for 5 years. Minimum deposit £1,000, maximum £20,000 per tax year.

hodgebank.co.uk
10Resi Mortgage - Complex income residential mortgage
ModelOtherBilling cadenceMonthly
Notes

Up to 95% LTV for capital and repayment (purchase only over 90% LTV). Up to 80% LTV for interest only with multiple repayment vehicles. Earned income accepted up to age 80. Mortgage products intermediated through financial advisers - specific rates not publicly disclosed on website.

hodgebank.co.uk
11Resi Retire Mortgage - Retirement residential mortgage
ModelOtherBilling cadenceMonthly
Notes

Up to 95% LTV for repayment, up to 80% LTV for interest only. Minimum loan £20,000, maximum £2m for interest only, £3m for repayment. Intermediated through financial advisers - rates not publicly disclosed.

hodgebank.co.uk
12Retirement Interest Only (RIO) Mortgage - Lifetime interest only
ModelOtherBilling cadenceMonthly
Notes

Up to 75% LTV. No end date - repaid when borrower moves into long-term care or passes away. Intermediated through financial advisers - specific rates not publicly disclosed.

hodgebank.co.uk
GTM typeB2B and B2C
B2B and B2C
Offering typeServices
Services
Core offering1 text field

Hodge is a UK specialist bank offering personal savings products (Easy Access accounts, Fixed Rate Bonds, Cash ISAs), specialist residential mortgages (Resi, Resi Retire, Retirement Interest Only, Holiday Let), and Real Estate Finance (Development Finance and Investment Finance) for property developers and investors. Savings products are sold direct-to-consumer through an online-only platform, while mortgages are distributed exclusively via independent financial advisers and mortgage brokers.

Differentiator
Functional benefit
Problem solved
Quantifiable outcome1 of 4 values shown
  • 8% loan book growth with over £380m in new lending across Specialist Mortgages, Real Estate Finance, and Motor divisions
+3 more records
Product overview1 text field

Hodge is a specialist UK bank offering a comprehensive suite of financial products through digital channels. The core offering comprises three main pillars: personal savings products (Easy Access accounts, Fixed Rate Bonds, and Cash ISAs), specialist mortgages (Resi for complex income borrowers, Resi Retire for retirement, RIO lifetime mortgages, and Holiday Let products), and Real Estate Finance (Development and Investment Finance). All products are managed through an online banking platform with digital account management capabilities. The bank operates exclusively as an online-only institution following its 2024 digital transition, with intermediary distribution for mortgage products.

Product and service10 records
1Savings Accounts
CategorySavings
Description

Personal savings accounts including Easy Access, Fixed Rate Bonds, and Cash ISAs with competitive interest rates and online account management. FSCS-protected up to £120,000 per depositor.

2Easy Access Savings Account
CategorySavings
Description

Flexible savings account with a variable interest rate of 4.01% AER, unlimited deposits and withdrawals, no fixed term, minimum deposit £1, maximum balance £250,000.

3Fixed Rate Bonds
CategorySavings
Description

Fixed interest rate savings accounts for terms of 1, 2, 3, or 5 years with rates from 4.60% to 4.71% AER. Minimum deposit £1,000, maximum £1,000,000, no withdrawals during the term.

4Cash ISAs
CategorySavings
Description

Tax-efficient individual savings accounts with fixed interest rates from 4.55% to 4.66% AER for 1 to 5 year terms. Annual allowance £20,000, new subscriptions only.

5Resi Mortgage
CategoryMortgages
Description

Specialist residential mortgage for borrowers with complex income streams including self-employed, contractors, freelancers, and those with multiple or non-contractual income. Available up to 95% LTV, distributed through mortgage brokers.

6Resi Retire Mortgage
CategoryMortgages
Description

Residential mortgage designed for retirement borrowers considering pension, rental, and investment income. Up to 95% LTV repayment or 80% LTV interest-only, distributed via mortgage brokers.

7Retirement Interest Only (RIO) Mortgage
CategoryMortgages
Description

Interest-only mortgage with no end date for borrowers aged over 50. Borrowing up to 75% LTV with interest payments until the borrower moves into long-term care or passes away.

8Holiday Let Mortgage
CategoryMortgages
Description

Specialist mortgage for purchasing or restructuring holiday let properties, available for portfolio landlords and property investors, with 2-year and 5-year fixed rate products.

9Development Finance
CategoryReal Estate Finance
Description

Financing solutions for professional property developers to fund new construction, residential and commercial development projects across the UK.

10Investment Finance
CategoryReal Estate Finance
Description

Financing solutions for property investors for commercial and residential investment properties, supporting portfolio expansion and acquisition.

Scale indicator4 records

Each record includes

Type, Value, Description, Source

Partnership4 partners
Strategic tierCoreTypeChannel Partner/ Reseller/ DistributorAnnounced on2023-06-21
Description

Hodge joined FIBA as a lender partner, providing its development finance and commercial lending products visibility through FIBA's network of commercial finance brokers. FIBA is the UK's leading trade body for commercial and asset finance brokers.

Strategic tierMinorTypeStrategic or Co-development PartnerAnnounced on2023-06-01
Description

Hodge partnered with Eco Approach to offer Hodge mortgage customers free access to GreenVal, a property retrofit platform providing energy efficiency reports with cost estimates and savings projections. Available to both new and remortgaging customers.

Strategic tierCoreTypeTechnology or IntegrationAnnounced on2022-03-31
Description

Hodge partnered with fintech Modulr to provide an enhanced payments experience for savings customers. Modulr provides payment infrastructure enabling Faster Payments, CHAPS, and Confirmation of Payee services. Hodge customers benefit from real-time balance visibility and payment tracking 24/7.

Strategic tierMinorTypeStrategic or Co-development PartnerAnnounced on2022-01-12
Description

Hodge made a major investment in Sero, a net zero technology company, alongside Legal & General. Sero provides technology to support home energy efficiency and retrofitting. Hodge made a further investment in Sero in May 2023.

Recent move6 records

Each record includes

Date, Type, Title, Description, Source

Expansion highlight6 records

Each record includes

Type, Description

Peers10 records
TypeDirect peer
Description

UK mutual savings and mortgage provider with regional roots and intermediary mortgage distribution. Comparable product set (residential, complex income, savings) and similar deposit-funded lending model.

TypeDirect peer
Description

UK challenger bank offering specialist buy-to-let, complex-income, and commercial real-estate lending funded by retail savings. Comparable specialist-niche strategy and intermediated mortgage distribution.

TypeDirect peer
Description

UK challenger bank specializing in specialist mortgages, business lending, and savings — the closest direct analogue to Hodge in product mix, intermediary distribution, and deposit-funded lending model.

TypeDirect peer
Description

UK specialist lender and savings bank focused on buy-to-let, bridging, and complex residential mortgages via intermediaries. Directly comparable business model combining specialist lending with retail deposit funding.

5Cambridge Building Society
TypeDirect peer
Description

UK mutual offering specialist residential mortgages, savings, and complex-income lending via intermediaries. Comparable focus on underserved borrower segments with flexible criteria.

TypeEmerging player
Description

UK digital-only challenger bank offering savings and residential mortgages. Comparable digital-first operating model following Hodge's 2024 transition, but with broader mass-market positioning.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Smaller UK mutual specialist in complex income, self-employed, and later-life mortgages. Comparable niche strategy targeting underserved borrowers with flexible underwriting.

TypeDirect peer
Description

UK specialist lender focused on buy-to-let, complex income, and later-life mortgages funded by retail savings. Highly comparable given its specialist mortgage origination and intermediary distribution strategy.

TypeEmerging player
Description

UK challenger bank focused on specialist residential, complex-income, and buy-to-let mortgages funded by retail savings. Comparable scale and specialist lending positioning, though with a more limited product range.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Welsh-headquartered mutual savings and mortgage provider with intermediary mortgage distribution. Regional peer with very similar product set (savings, residential, complex income) and UK mutual-savings structure.

Market position
Strengths5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Weaknesses5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Competitive moat5 records

Each record includes

Type, Details

Key risks6 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Key highlights7 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Customer concentration

Classification, Details

Named customers10 records

Each record includes

Name, Industry, Type, Use case, Source, UUID

Segment5 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Primary, Description, Pain point addressed, Use case, Source

Ideal customer profile5 records

Each record includes

Profile, Firmographic size, Sales motion, Sales cycle length, Buying structure, Purchase trigger, Buyer persona, Geography, Industry vertical, Primary use case, Description, Pain points, Evidence proof points, Target buyer

Technology focused
No
API detail
Has APIbool
No

Docs URL, Description

Integration2 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Description, Source

AI maturity
App detail

Has app

Feature3 records

Each record includes

Title, Differentiator, Description, Source

Core technology
Revenue estimate
Valuation estimate
Number of profiles
Profiles6 records

Each record includes

Name, Designation, Designation category, Overview, Profile commentary, Source

No data
Compliance4 records

Each record includes

Name, Class, Description

Funding overview

Funding stage, Last funding date, Total funding USD

Funding rounds

Each record includes

Round, Amount USD, Date, Pre money valuation, Total investors, Investors, News

Investors

Each record includes

Name, Type, Date of entry, Rounds participated, Website

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

M&A

Each record includes

Name, Acquisition type, Announced date, Completed date, Status, Website, News

Investment2 records

Each record includes

Name, Round, Announced date, Lead investor, Website, News

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Hodge

Specialist Bankinghodgebank.co.uk

Hodge Bank is a Cardiff-headquartered UK specialist bank (est. 1965) offering FSCS-protected retail savings, specialist residential mortgages for complex-income and retirement borrowers, and real estate finance for property developers and investors, distributed digitally and via intermediary brokers.

What Hodge does

Hodge Bank (legal entity Julian Hodge Bank Limited) is a Cardiff-headquartered UK specialist bank established in 1965, authorised by the Prudential Regulation Authority and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority under registration 204439. The bank operates three product pillars: retail savings (Easy Access accounts, Fixed Rate Bonds, and Cash ISAs with rates ranging from 4.01% to 4.71% AER and FSCS protection up to £120,000), specialist residential mortgages (Resi for complex-income borrowers up to 95% LTV, Resi Retire for retirement borrowers, Retirement Interest Only, and Holiday Let), and Real Estate Finance (development and investment finance for property professionals). All eligible deposits are FSCS-protected. The company transitioned to a fully online-only digital bank in 2024, discontinuing branch, phone, email and post account servicing while retaining telephone support and intermediary channels.

Technology is centred on an in-house online banking platform with two-factor authentication, account management, and maturity instruction submission. Payment processing is delivered through fintech partner Modulr, providing real-time Faster Payments, CHAPS and Confirmation of Payee services. Mortgage underwriting for complex cases is explicitly manual rather than automated, accepting self-employed, contractor, freelance, multi-source and non-contractual income streams that fail automated 'tick box' criteria at mainstream lenders. The bank is FCA- and PRA-regulated with documented Consumer Duty commitments.

Distribution is dual-channel: savings products are sold direct-to-consumer via the digital platform, while all mortgage products are sold exclusively through independent financial advisers and mortgage brokers via the 'Hodge for Intermediaries' portal, supported by a BDM team, criteria tools, calculators, case studies and documented SLAs. Real Estate Finance is distributed directly to property developers and through channel partnerships including FIBA (June 2023) and Brickflow's development finance marketplace (July 2025). Revenue is generated primarily through the net interest spread between deposit rates paid to savers and lending rates on specialist mortgages and real estate finance. For the year to September 2025, Hodge reported a £3.5m net operating loss and a £5.8m pre-tax loss, attributed to a multi-year modernisation programme and a challenging economic environment, alongside 8% loan book growth and over £380m in new lending across Specialist Mortgages, Real Estate Finance and Motor divisions. The bank serves tens of thousands of UK retail savers plus specialist borrower segments including complex-income earners, retirees aged 50+, holiday let operators, portfolio landlords, and mid-market property developers.

Hodge firmographics

Firmographics
Name
Hodge
Legal name
Julian Hodge Bank Limited
Website
https://hodgebank.co.uk
Company type
Private
Founded year
1965
Operating status
Operating
Headcount range
251–500 employees
Short description
Hodge Bank is a Cardiff-headquartered UK specialist bank (est. 1965) offering FSCS-protected retail savings, specialist residential mortgages for complex-income and retirement borrowers, and real estate finance for property developers and investors, distributed digitally and via intermediary brokers.
Ownership category
akta.pro rank

Hodge industry classification

Industry
Product category
Specialist Banking
NAICS
Depository Credit Intermediation (5221), Finance and Insurance (52)
SIC
Mortgage Bankers & Loan Correspondents (6162), Personal Credit Institutions (6141)
akta.pro primary industry
Mutual Savings Banks & Mutual Thrifts (FSABAEAD)
akta.pro secondary industries
Balance-Sheet / Portfolio CRE Lending (FSALADAG), Tax-Advantaged Investing & Wrappers (ISA, 529, Insurance Bonds, etc.) (FSAAAAAL), Direct Lending — Specialty Finance (Consumer/SME Lending Platforms) (FSAHAJAF)

Keywords

  • Specialist mortgages
  • Savings accounts
  • Retirement lending
  • Development finance
  • Complex income underwriting

Where Hodge is headquartered

Location

Headquarters

HQ city
Cardiff
HQ country
United Kingdom
HQ region
Europe

Offices1 record

Markets served

Hodge business model

Business model
GTM type
B2B and B2C
Offering type
Services
Cost components
Personnel, Technology or R&D, Operations, Marketing or Sales, Infrastructure

Revenue model

  1. Mortgage Lending Interest: Hodge generates revenue by originating specialist mortgages including residential, retirement interest only (RIO), holiday let, and real estate finance loans. Interest income is earned on the loan portfolio across Specialist Mortgages, Real Estate Finance, and Motor lending divisions. The company reported over £380m in new lending across these divisions.
  2. Retail Savings Deposits: Hodge accepts retail customer deposits through savings accounts (Easy Access, Fixed Rate Bonds, Cash ISAs), using those deposits to fund its lending activities. The company pays competitive interest rates to savers (e.g., Easy Access at 4.01% AER variable, Fixed Rate Bonds from 4.60% to 4.71% AER, Cash ISAs from 4.55% to 4.66% AER) and earns the spread between lending rates and deposit rates.

Pricing tiers

ModelBillingPrice
SubscriptionPay-as-you-goEasy Access Savings Account - 4.01% AER variable rate
SubscriptionAnnual1 Year Fixed Rate Bond - 4.60% AER fixed
SubscriptionAnnual2 Year Fixed Rate Bond - 4.71% AER fixed
SubscriptionAnnual3 Year Fixed Rate Bond - 4.61% AER fixed
SubscriptionAnnual5 Year Fixed Rate Bond - 4.65% AER fixed
SubscriptionAnnual1 Year Fixed Rate Cash ISA - 4.55% AER tax-free fixed
SubscriptionAnnual2 Year Fixed Rate Cash ISA - 4.66% AER tax-free fixed
SubscriptionAnnual3 Year Fixed Rate Cash ISA - 4.61% AER tax-free fixed
SubscriptionAnnual5 Year Fixed Rate Cash ISA - 4.66% AER tax-free fixed
OtherMonthlyResi Mortgage - Complex income residential mortgage
OtherMonthlyResi Retire Mortgage - Retirement residential mortgage
OtherMonthlyRetirement Interest Only (RIO) Mortgage - Lifetime interest only

Go-to-market motion2 records

Distribution channels4 records

Marketing channels9 records

Hodge product offering

Product offering

Core offering

Hodge is a UK specialist bank offering personal savings products (Easy Access accounts, Fixed Rate Bonds, Cash ISAs), specialist residential mortgages (Resi, Resi Retire, Retirement Interest Only, Holiday Let), and Real Estate Finance (Development Finance and Investment Finance) for property developers and investors. Savings products are sold direct-to-consumer through an online-only platform, while mortgages are distributed exclusively via independent financial advisers and mortgage brokers.

Product overview

Hodge is a specialist UK bank offering a comprehensive suite of financial products through digital channels. The core offering comprises three main pillars: personal savings products (Easy Access accounts, Fixed Rate Bonds, and Cash ISAs), specialist mortgages (Resi for complex income borrowers, Resi Retire for retirement, RIO lifetime mortgages, and Holiday Let products), and Real Estate Finance (Development and Investment Finance). All products are managed through an online banking platform with digital account management capabilities. The bank operates exclusively as an online-only institution following its 2024 digital transition, with intermediary distribution for mortgage products.

Differentiator

Problem solved

Functional benefit

Products and services

  • Savings Accounts Personal savings accounts including Easy Access, Fixed Rate Bonds, and Cash ISAs with competitive interest rates and online account management. FSCS-protected up to £120,000 per depositor.
  • Easy Access Savings Account Flexible savings account with a variable interest rate of 4.01% AER, unlimited deposits and withdrawals, no fixed term, minimum deposit £1, maximum balance £250,000.
  • Fixed Rate Bonds Fixed interest rate savings accounts for terms of 1, 2, 3, or 5 years with rates from 4.60% to 4.71% AER. Minimum deposit £1,000, maximum £1,000,000, no withdrawals during the term.
  • Cash ISAs Tax-efficient individual savings accounts with fixed interest rates from 4.55% to 4.66% AER for 1 to 5 year terms. Annual allowance £20,000, new subscriptions only.
  • Resi Mortgage Specialist residential mortgage for borrowers with complex income streams including self-employed, contractors, freelancers, and those with multiple or non-contractual income. Available up to 95% LTV, distributed through mortgage brokers.
  • Resi Retire Mortgage Residential mortgage designed for retirement borrowers considering pension, rental, and investment income. Up to 95% LTV repayment or 80% LTV interest-only, distributed via mortgage brokers.
  • Retirement Interest Only (RIO) Mortgage Interest-only mortgage with no end date for borrowers aged over 50. Borrowing up to 75% LTV with interest payments until the borrower moves into long-term care or passes away.
  • Holiday Let Mortgage Specialist mortgage for purchasing or restructuring holiday let properties, available for portfolio landlords and property investors, with 2-year and 5-year fixed rate products.
  • Development Finance Financing solutions for professional property developers to fund new construction, residential and commercial development projects across the UK.
  • Investment Finance Financing solutions for property investors for commercial and residential investment properties, supporting portfolio expansion and acquisition.

Quantifiable outcome

  • 8% loan book growth with over £380m in new lending across Specialist Mortgages, Real Estate Finance, and Motor divisions
  • +3 more outcomes

Companies that use Hodge

Customer profile

Named customers10 records

Segments5 records

Ideal customer profiles5 records

Hodge technology and API

Technology

Technology focussed No

API detail

Has API
No
API docs
API detail

Core technology

AI maturity

App detail

Integration2 records

Feature3 records

Hodge partnerships and signals

Strategic signal

Partnerships

Four partnerships are on record, tiered core and minor.

  • FIBA (Finance & Leasing Association)coreChannel Partner/ Reseller/ Distributor · 21 June 2023Hodge joined FIBA as a lender partner, providing its development finance and commercial lending products visibility through FIBA's network of commercial finance brokers. FIBA is the UK's leading trade body for commercial and asset finance brokers.
  • Eco Approach (formerly Propflo)minorStrategic or Co-development Partner · 1 June 2023Hodge partnered with Eco Approach to offer Hodge mortgage customers free access to GreenVal, a property retrofit platform providing energy efficiency reports with cost estimates and savings projections. Available to both new and remortgaging customers.
  • ModulrcoreTechnology or Integration · 31 March 2022Hodge partnered with fintech Modulr to provide an enhanced payments experience for savings customers. Modulr provides payment infrastructure enabling Faster Payments, CHAPS, and Confirmation of Payee services. Hodge customers benefit from real-time balance visibility and payment tracking 24/7.
  • SerominorStrategic or Co-development Partner · 12 January 2022Hodge made a major investment in Sero, a net zero technology company, alongside Legal & General. Sero provides technology to support home energy efficiency and retrofitting. Hodge made a further investment in Sero in May 2023.

Scale indicators4 records

Recent moves6 records

Expansion highlights6 records

Hodge competitors and assessment

Company assessment

Direct peers

  • Cumberland Building Society: UK mutual savings and mortgage provider with regional roots and intermediary mortgage distribution. Comparable product set (residential, complex income, savings) and similar deposit-funded lending model.
  • Shawbrook Bank: UK challenger bank offering specialist buy-to-let, complex-income, and commercial real-estate lending funded by retail savings. Comparable specialist-niche strategy and intermediated mortgage distribution.
  • Aldermore Bank: UK challenger bank specializing in specialist mortgages, business lending, and savings — the closest direct analogue to Hodge in product mix, intermediary distribution, and deposit-funded lending model.
  • OneSavings Bank (Kent Reliance): UK specialist lender and savings bank focused on buy-to-let, bridging, and complex residential mortgages via intermediaries. Directly comparable business model combining specialist lending with retail deposit funding.
  • Cambridge Building Society: UK mutual offering specialist residential mortgages, savings, and complex-income lending via intermediaries. Comparable focus on underserved borrower segments with flexible criteria.
  • Bath Building Society: Smaller UK mutual specialist in complex income, self-employed, and later-life mortgages. Comparable niche strategy targeting underserved borrowers with flexible underwriting.
  • Paragon Banking Group: UK specialist lender focused on buy-to-let, complex income, and later-life mortgages funded by retail savings. Highly comparable given its specialist mortgage origination and intermediary distribution strategy.
  • Principality Building Society: Welsh-headquartered mutual savings and mortgage provider with intermediary mortgage distribution. Regional peer with very similar product set (savings, residential, complex income) and UK mutual-savings structure.

Emerging players

  • Atom Bank: UK digital-only challenger bank offering savings and residential mortgages. Comparable digital-first operating model following Hodge's 2024 transition, but with broader mass-market positioning.
  • Cynergy Bank: UK challenger bank focused on specialist residential, complex-income, and buy-to-let mortgages funded by retail savings. Comparable scale and specialist lending positioning, though with a more limited product range.

Market position

Strengths5 records

Weaknesses5 records

Competitive moat5 records

Key risks6 records

Key highlights7 records

Customer concentration

Hodge social profiles

Digital presence

Hodge compliance and trust

Trust signal

Compliance4 records

Hodge financial estimates

Financial estimate

Revenue estimate

Valuation estimate

Hodge leadership team

Management profile

Number of profiles

Profiles6 records

Hodge funding detail

Funding detail

Funding overview

Funding rounds

Investors

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Hodge M&A and investment

M&A and investment

M&A

Investments2 records

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Frequently asked questions about Hodge

What does Hodge do?

Hodge is a UK specialist bank offering personal savings products (Easy Access accounts, Fixed Rate Bonds, Cash ISAs), specialist residential mortgages (Resi, Resi Retire, Retirement Interest Only, Holiday Let), and Real Estate Finance (Development Finance and Investment Finance) for property developers and investors. Savings products are sold direct-to-consumer through an online-only platform, while mortgages are distributed exclusively via independent financial advisers and mortgage brokers.

Is Hodge a public or private company?

Hodge is a private company. It is classified as family owned and is currently operating.

When was Hodge founded?

Hodge was founded in 1965. It employs 251 to 500 people.

Where is Hodge based?

Hodge is headquartered in Cardiff, United Kingdom, in the Europe region.

How does Hodge make money?

Two revenue lines are on record. Mortgage Lending Interest is the primary driver. The others are retail Savings Deposits.

Who are Hodge's main competitors?

Direct peers on record are Cumberland Building Society, Shawbrook Bank, Aldermore Bank, OneSavings Bank (Kent Reliance), Cambridge Building Society, Bath Building Society, Paragon Banking Group and Principality Building Society. Emerging players are Atom Bank and Cynergy Bank.

Does Hodge have an API?

No public API is recorded for Hodge.

What industry is Hodge in?

Hodge's product category is Specialist Banking. Its primary akta.pro industry code is FSABAEAD, Mutual Savings Banks & Mutual Thrifts, with a secondary code of FSALADAG, Balance-Sheet / Portfolio CRE Lending. Its NAICS code is 5221 and its SIC code is 6162.

Unlock the full company data

50 free credits on sign-up, no credit card required.

Contact sales
Live signals
InsidermediaCardiff’s Hodge Bank appoints experienced non-exec director to boardCardiff-based Hodge Bank has appointed Ilaria del Beato as a non-executive director, bringing expertise in real estate finance and specialist lending. Del Beato previously served as CEO (UK) at Frasers Property and held senior leadership positions at GE Capital UK Real Estate, while also serving on the board of Unite Group plc. The appointment is intended to strengthen Hodge Bank's board with property finance expertise and governance experience as the bank focuses on specialist lending and sustainable growth.InsidermediaNew CEO of Cardiff’s Hodge Bank has “real optimism for the way ahead” despite “disappointing” net operating lossHodge Bank, headquartered in Cardiff, reported a net operating loss of £3.5m for the year to September 2025, compared to a profit of £400,000 in 2024, alongside a pre-tax loss of £5.8m versus £2.1m the prior year. The bank attributed the loss to investments in modernization and a challenging economic environment. Despite the disappointing results, the newly appointed CEO Richard Saulet highlighted 8% loan book growth with over £380m in new lending across Specialist Mortgages, Real Estate Finance and Motor, and noted that the major transformation programme is now complete.LegalandgeneralHomes fit for a net zero futureLegal & General, in partnership with specialist lender Hodge Bank, has made a £5.5 million joint investment in Sero Technologies, a Welsh energy technology company that provides digital tools to help landlords, mortgage lenders and housebuilders decarbonise homes. Sero Technologies develops grid-zero new-build homes, building renovation passports and an AI-powered energy management system called 'The BEE' that optimises household energy use in real time. The investment will support Sero's next stage of growth and aligns with Legal & General's sustainable investing strategy and its commitment to achieving net-zero operational emissions across its residential portfolio by 2030.GlobeNewswireHodge Study Reveals the True Effects of the Cost of Living Crisis in the UKHodge published a report on the UK cost of living crisis based on a 2022 survey of 2,000 adults. The research found 83% of respondents are worried, 75% saved less this year, and 54% created an emergency pot. Hodge now offers financial support and an information hub.GlobeNewswireHodge Launches Online Resource To Help People Understand The Cost Of Living Crisis And How, As A Society, We Can Navigate ItHodge launched an online resource to help people understand the cost of living crisis and manage it. The bank's research found 83% of people are worried, with 75% expecting to save less this year. The resource aims to support customers and find effective solutions.GlobeNewswireHodge Releases Cost Of Living Report To Show Impact On The Everyday Lives Of British PeopleHodge released a cost-of-living report based on a survey of over 2,000 UK adults, finding 75% dipped into savings for everyday expenses and 54% created emergency funds. The report highlights concerns about rising interest rates and bank switching, with younger people and women more worried.GlobeNewswireHodge Publishes New Report About Saving in the Cost of Living CrisisHodge published a report on UK saving habits during the cost of living crisis, based on a 2022 survey of over 2,000 people. The findings show 75% expect to save less this year, 63% cut dining out, and 58% are concerned about rising interest rates.SeroLegal & General and Hodge announce multimillion investment into net zero enabler Sero technologies to reduce emissions within the residential housing sectorLegal & General and Hodge announced a multimillion investment in Cardiff-based Sero, a company that designs and delivers low-carbon retrofit solutions for UK homes. Sero has over 10,000 homes in its pipeline and will launch a Building Passport digital app later this spring. The investment supports Sero's growth and its aim to deliver net-zero financial products with institutional partners.