Developer docs
API playgroundTry for free, no card

Search company profiles

Alberta Indian Investment Corporation

Full company profile

uuid000ivq9

Namestring
Alberta Indian Investment Corporation
Legal namestring
Alberta Indian Investment Corporation
Company typeenum
Private
Founded yearint
1988
Descriptiontext

Alberta Indian Investment Corporation (AIIC) is a First Nation-owned, non-profit investment corporation headquartered in Enoch, Alberta, providing lending and business development services to Status First Nation entrepreneurs across the province since 1988. The organization operates two primary business lines: Financial Services (interest-bearing loans for business establishment, acquisition, diversification, or expansion, with terms up to 5 years, fixed or floating rates, and loans up to $50,000) and Business Services (counseling, mentoring, and workshops across pre-business, start-up, and operational stages). AIIC also administers a suite of structured programs including the Status Entrepreneur Assistance Program (SEAP, up to $99,999 with grant components), the Indigenous Youth Entrepreneurs (IYE) Program, the Indigenous Women Entrepreneurs (IWE) Program, and the Women's Entrepreneur Loan Fund (WELF), plus annual scholarships for post-secondary students.

The core technology stack is non-proprietary, consisting of an informational website (aiicbusiness.org) hosting online financial education calculators (breakeven analysis, cash flow, financial ratios, profit margin, working capital) and standard collaboration tools including Microsoft Teams and Calendly for virtual consultations. The organization has no proprietary software platforms, no AI/ML capabilities, and no disclosed integrations. Distribution is hybrid: direct in-person engagement through Business Services Officers at the Enoch office, virtual delivery via video conferencing, and community-based outreach through radio, social media (Facebook, Instagram), community worker referrals, and events such as the Deadly CEO Summit.

AIIC's revenue model combines interest income on its loan portfolio with program delivery fees and administrative funding from the National Aboriginal Capital Corporations Association (NACCA), under whose framework AIIC delivers the national IYE and IWE programs as a member of the Indigenous Financial Institution (IFI) network. Customer segments are tightly defined: Status First Nation individuals aged 18-39 (IYE), Status First Nation women entrepreneurs (IWE, WELF), and Status entrepreneurs more broadly (SEAP). The organization's competitive advantage is structural rather than technological — it is the only entity in Alberta with First Nation-owned status delivering Status-restricted lending combined with non-repayable grant components, alongside co-located partners like Winfire Business Services for aftercare. Headcount is 1-10 employees, the company is privately held with no external investors, and revenue is not publicly disclosed.

Short descriptiontext

Alberta Indian Investment Corporation (AIIC) is a First Nation-owned non-profit in Enoch, Alberta, providing interest-bearing loans, grants, counseling, and mentorship to Status First Nation entrepreneurs across Alberta since 1988, with programs including IYE, IWE, SEAP, and WELF.

Operating statusenum
Operating
Ownership categoryenum
Headcount rangeband
1–10
akta.pro rankint
HeadquartersEnchant, Canada
HQ citystring
Enchant
HQ countrystring
Canada
HQ regionstring
North America
Markets served

Serves global market

Offices1 record

Each record includes

City, Country, Type, Description, Source

Keyword5 values
indigenous business lending, first nation financing, small business loans, entrepreneur mentorship services, community development finance
NAICS code1 code
  • Credit Intermediation and Related Activities522
SIC code1 code
  • Short-Term Business Credit Institutions6153
Product category
Indigenous Community Development Finance
Social media profiles2 records
GTM motion3 records

Each record includes

Type, Description, Source

Revenue model2 records
1Interest-bearing loans
TypeTransaction Fee
Description

AIIC generates revenue through interest-bearing loans provided to First Nation entrepreneurs for establishing, acquiring, diversifying, or expanding businesses. Loans are generally for periods up to 5 years with competitive interest rates.

aiicbusiness.org
2Program delivery fees
TypeProfessional Services
Description

AIIC delivers national programs (IYE, IWE) developed by NACCA and receives funding/administrative support for program delivery. The organization operates as a social enterprise pursuing First Nations self-reliance through enterprise.

aiicbusiness.org
Marketing channels8 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Stage, Description, Source

Distribution channels3 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Scope, Target buyer, Description, Source

Cost components4 values
Personnel, Operations, Marketing or Sales, Others
Pricing details4 tiers
1IYE Program: Up to $25,000 combined financing
ModelHybridBilling cadenceMonthly
Notes

Minimum 50% loan financing, up to 45% non-repayable grant, 0-10% equity requirement. Loan term up to 60 months. Interest rates typically 4-8% based on risk assessment.

aiicbusiness.org
2IWE Program: Up to $25,000 combined financing
ModelHybridBilling cadenceMonthly
Notes

Loan financing minimum 50%, non-repayable grant up to 45%, equity 0-10%. Loan term up to 60 months (5 years).

aiicbusiness.org
3SEAP Grant: Up to $99,999
ModelOtherBilling cadenceMulti-year contract
Notes

Non-repayable grant covering 30% for expansions or 40% for start-ups. Requires 10% applicant cash equity and ~60% AIIC loan. Grant is not stand-alone; loan and equity required.

aiicbusiness.org
4WELF: Up to $50,000 per project
ModelHybridBilling cadenceMonthly
Notes

Special interest rates with flexible repayment terms designed for Indigenous women entrepreneurs.

aiicbusiness.org
GTM typeB2C
B2C
Offering typeServices
Services
Brand1 of 5 records shown
1AIIC
Description

Primary acronym brand for Alberta Indian Investment Corporation

aiicbusiness.org
+4 more records
Core offering1 text field

AIIC provides interest-bearing loans to Status First Nation entrepreneurs in Alberta for establishing, acquiring, diversifying, or expanding a business, with loan terms up to 60 months and competitive interest rates typically ranging 4-8% based on risk assessment. Alongside lending, AIIC delivers one-on-one business counselling and mentoring at all stages of business development and supplements financing with non-repayable grant components (up to 45% through IYE/IWE programs) plus financial education tools including online calculators.

Differentiator
Functional benefit
Problem solved
Quantifiable outcome1 of 3 values shown
  • $9.2 billion contributed to Alberta's economy in 2023 by Indigenous businesses
+2 more records
Product overview1 text field

Alberta Indian Investment Corporation (AIIC) is a First Nation-owned investment company providing a comprehensive suite of financial and business development services for First Nation entrepreneurs in Alberta since 1988. The core offerings include Financial Services (interest-bearing loans for business establishment, acquisition, diversification, or expansion) and Business Services (counseling and mentoring across all business stages). These are supported by Financial Education Tools including calculators for breakeven analysis, cash flow, financial ratios, profit margins, and working capital. AIIC also administers multiple grant and financing programs including SEAP (grants up to $99,999), the Indigenous Youth Entrepreneurs Program (IYE, up to $25,000), the Indigenous Women Entrepreneurs Program (IWE, up to $25,000), and the Women's Entrepreneur Loan Fund (WELF, up to $50,000). Additionally, AIIC offers scholarship programs for post-secondary students. The organization operates as a social enterprise with a relationship-first approach, combining repayable loans with non-repayable grants to reduce barriers for Indigenous entrepreneurs.

Product and service7 records
1Financial Services (Interest-Bearing Business Loans)
CategoryCore product — Developmental Lending
Description

Interest-bearing loans provided to Status First Nation entrepreneurs in Alberta for establishing, acquiring, diversifying, or expanding a business. Includes equipment loans, working capital loans, and equity financing with competitive interest rates (typically 4-8% based on risk assessment), flexible repayment terms up to 5 years, and fixed or floating rate options. Loan terms up to 60 months.

2Business Services (Counselling and Mentoring)
CategoryCore product — Business Advisory
Description

One-on-one counselling and mentoring services for Status First Nation entrepreneurs at all stages of business development, including pre-business planning, business start-up, and operational phases. Includes workshops on business planning, growing businesses, and basic accounting, delivered by Business Services Officers with aftercare support throughout the loan lifecycle.

3Indigenous Youth Entrepreneurs (IYE) Program
CategorySub-brand — Targeted Financing Program
Description

National program developed by NACCA and delivered by AIIC, providing Indigenous youth aged 18-39 with up to $25,000 in combined financing (minimum 50% loan plus up to 45% non-repayable grant plus 0-10% equity), one-on-one mentorship, business planning workshops, and network connections to launch, grow, or expand a business with 51%+ Indigenous ownership.

4Indigenous Women Entrepreneurs (IWE) Program
CategorySub-brand — Targeted Financing Program
Description

National program developed by NACCA and delivered by AIIC, supporting Status First Nation women entrepreneurs with up to $25,000 in micro-loans (50% loan financing plus up to 45% non-repayable grant plus 0-10% equity), one-on-one support, skills training, and credit building resources for launching, growing, or sustaining a business with 51%+ ownership.

5Status Entrepreneur Assistance Program (SEAP)
CategorySub-brand — Grant and Loan Program
Description

Grant-based program providing non-repayable equity support up to $99,999 to Status First Nation entrepreneurs in Alberta for launching, acquiring, or expanding a business. Combines non-repayable grant funding (30-40% of project costs) with applicant cash equity (10%) and an AIIC loan (~60%). Requires at least 12 months of relevant industry experience and is not available as a stand-alone grant.

6Women's Entrepreneur Loan Fund (WELF)
CategorySub-brand — Targeted Financing Program
Description

Loan program providing Indigenous women entrepreneurs in Alberta with up to $50,000 per project at special interest rates with flexible repayment terms. Includes access to business advisory services and tailored support designed specifically for Indigenous women business owners.

7Scholarship Programs (Sam Bull and Senator James Gladstone Memorial Scholarships)
CategorySub-brand — Educational Awards
Description

Annual scholarships for Status First Nation students including the Sam Bull Memorial Scholarship ($1,000 for law and political science studies) and the Senator James Gladstone Memorial Scholarship ($750-$1,000 for business, finance, or economics studies).

Scale indicator5 records

Each record includes

Type, Value, Description, Source

Partnership2 partners
Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

NACCA developed the national IYE and IWE programs that AIIC delivers as an Indigenous Financial Institution. This is a core partnership where NACCA provides program framework, funding support, and national coordination while AIIC delivers localized services to First Nation entrepreneurs in Alberta. The partnership enables access to national resources and the broader IFI network of over 50 Indigenous Financial Institutions.

Strategic tierCoreTypeImplementation/ SI/ Consulting Partner
Description

Winfire Business Services provides professional business planning services funded through SEAP grants. They also deliver aftercare services including mentorship, financial management support, and business advisory assistance. Located at the same Enoch address as AIIC, they are a key support partner in the SEAP program helping entrepreneurs prepare lender-ready business plans and cash flow projections.

Recent move6 records

Each record includes

Date, Type, Title, Description, Source

Expansion highlight5 records

Each record includes

Type, Description

Peers10 records
TypeDirect peer
Description

Canadian non-profit that provides loans, mentorship, and resources to young entrepreneurs ages 18–39, overlapping directly with AIIC's Indigenous Youth Entrepreneurs (IYE) program in target demographic, hybrid loan/grant financial structure, and mentorship-led model.

2Alberta Métis Capital Corporation
TypeDirect peer
Description

Alberta-based Métis-focused Indigenous Financial Institution offering non-repayable contributions and loans to Métis entrepreneurs; identical operating geography and nearly identical lending-plus-grant model to AIIC, but serving the parallel Métis segment.

3Saskatchewan Indian Equity Foundation (SIEF)
TypeDirect peer
Description

Saskatchewan-based Indigenous Financial Institution in the NACCA network providing business loans, advisory, and equity-style support to Status First Nations entrepreneurs — direct functional peer with the same NACCA program delivery mandate as AIIC in Alberta.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Saskatchewan-based Métis-led fund providing loans and non-repayable contributions to Métis entrepreneurs; matches AIIC's loan-plus-grant structure and community-first delivery, and operates as another node in the NACCA-affiliated IFI ecosystem.

5Manitoba Indian Capital Corporation
TypeDirect peer
Description

Manitoba-based IFI delivering NACCA-aligned programs of business loans, advisory, and non-repayable contributions to Status First Nations entrepreneurs — closest functional peer to AIIC outside Alberta.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Northern Ontario Indigenous development corporation providing business financing, advisory, and youth entrepreneur programs to First Nations communities; comparable mandate, target clientele, and hybrid financing approach to AIIC.

TypeDirect peer
Description

National network of 269+ community-based organizations providing business loans (typically ≤$150K), advisory, and training to rural Canadian entrepreneurs; shares AIIC's regional CDFI model and direct-lending-then-mentorship approach, but for the general population.

TypeDirect peer
Description

National umbrella and delivery network for women's business enterprise support, including Indigenous women; directly parallel to AIIC's IWE and WELF program portfolio of Indigenous women-focused lending and advisory.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

Canadian Crown corporation providing loans, advisory, and capital to Canadian SMBs, including Indigenous entrepreneurs; much broader portfolio and capital base, but overlapping on small-business lending, advisory, and Indigenous-targeted programming.

TypeEmerging player
Description

Canadian non-profit providing microloans (typically ≤$15K) and mentorship to skilled immigrants building businesses in Canada; similar micro-lending-plus-mentorship operating model to AIIC's IYE/IWE but focused on a different under-served segment.

Market position
Strengths5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Weaknesses5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Competitive moat4 records

Each record includes

Type, Details

Key risks6 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Key highlights6 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Customer concentration

Classification, Details

Named customers4 records

Each record includes

Name, Industry, Type, Use case, Source, UUID

Segment4 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Primary, Description, Pain point addressed, Use case, Source

Ideal customer profile4 records

Each record includes

Profile, Firmographic size, Sales motion, Sales cycle length, Buying structure, Purchase trigger, Buyer persona, Geography, Industry vertical, Primary use case, Description, Pain points, Evidence proof points, Target buyer

Technology focused
No
API detail
Has APIbool
No

Docs URL, Description

AI maturity
App detail

Has app

Core technology
Revenue estimate
Valuation estimate
Number of profiles
Profiles13 records

Each record includes

Name, Designation, Designation category, Overview, Profile commentary, Source

No data
No data
Funding overview

Funding stage, Last funding date, Total funding USD

Funding rounds

Each record includes

Round, Amount USD, Date, Pre money valuation, Total investors, Investors, News

Investors

Each record includes

Name, Type, Date of entry, Rounds participated, Website

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

M&A

Each record includes

Name, Acquisition type, Announced date, Completed date, Status, Website, News

Investment

Each record includes

Name, Round, Announced date, Lead investor, Website, News

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Alberta Indian Investment Corporation

Indigenous Community Development Financeaiicbusiness.org

Alberta Indian Investment Corporation (AIIC) is a First Nation-owned non-profit in Enoch, Alberta, providing interest-bearing loans, grants, counseling, and mentorship to Status First Nation entrepreneurs across Alberta since 1988, with programs including IYE, IWE, SEAP, and WELF.

What Alberta Indian Investment Corporation does

Alberta Indian Investment Corporation (AIIC) is a First Nation-owned, non-profit investment corporation headquartered in Enoch, Alberta, providing lending and business development services to Status First Nation entrepreneurs across the province since 1988. The organization operates two primary business lines: Financial Services (interest-bearing loans for business establishment, acquisition, diversification, or expansion, with terms up to 5 years, fixed or floating rates, and loans up to $50,000) and Business Services (counseling, mentoring, and workshops across pre-business, start-up, and operational stages). AIIC also administers a suite of structured programs including the Status Entrepreneur Assistance Program (SEAP, up to $99,999 with grant components), the Indigenous Youth Entrepreneurs (IYE) Program, the Indigenous Women Entrepreneurs (IWE) Program, and the Women's Entrepreneur Loan Fund (WELF), plus annual scholarships for post-secondary students.

The core technology stack is non-proprietary, consisting of an informational website (aiicbusiness.org) hosting online financial education calculators (breakeven analysis, cash flow, financial ratios, profit margin, working capital) and standard collaboration tools including Microsoft Teams and Calendly for virtual consultations. The organization has no proprietary software platforms, no AI/ML capabilities, and no disclosed integrations. Distribution is hybrid: direct in-person engagement through Business Services Officers at the Enoch office, virtual delivery via video conferencing, and community-based outreach through radio, social media (Facebook, Instagram), community worker referrals, and events such as the Deadly CEO Summit.

AIIC's revenue model combines interest income on its loan portfolio with program delivery fees and administrative funding from the National Aboriginal Capital Corporations Association (NACCA), under whose framework AIIC delivers the national IYE and IWE programs as a member of the Indigenous Financial Institution (IFI) network. Customer segments are tightly defined: Status First Nation individuals aged 18-39 (IYE), Status First Nation women entrepreneurs (IWE, WELF), and Status entrepreneurs more broadly (SEAP). The organization's competitive advantage is structural rather than technological — it is the only entity in Alberta with First Nation-owned status delivering Status-restricted lending combined with non-repayable grant components, alongside co-located partners like Winfire Business Services for aftercare. Headcount is 1-10 employees, the company is privately held with no external investors, and revenue is not publicly disclosed.

Alberta Indian Investment Corporation firmographics

Firmographics
Name
Alberta Indian Investment Corporation
Legal name
Alberta Indian Investment Corporation
Website
https://aiicbusiness.org
Company type
Private
Founded year
1988
Operating status
Operating
Headcount range
1–10 employees
Short description
Alberta Indian Investment Corporation (AIIC) is a First Nation-owned non-profit in Enoch, Alberta, providing interest-bearing loans, grants, counseling, and mentorship to Status First Nation entrepreneurs across Alberta since 1988, with programs including IYE, IWE, SEAP, and WELF.
Ownership category
akta.pro rank

Where Alberta Indian Investment Corporation is headquartered

Location

Headquarters

HQ city
Enchant
HQ country
Canada
HQ region
North America

Offices1 record

Markets served

Alberta Indian Investment Corporation business model

Business model
GTM type
B2C
Offering type
Services
Cost components
Personnel, Operations, Marketing or Sales, Others

Revenue model

  1. Interest-bearing loans: AIIC generates revenue through interest-bearing loans provided to First Nation entrepreneurs for establishing, acquiring, diversifying, or expanding businesses. Loans are generally for periods up to 5 years with competitive interest rates.
  2. Program delivery fees: AIIC delivers national programs (IYE, IWE) developed by NACCA and receives funding/administrative support for program delivery. The organization operates as a social enterprise pursuing First Nations self-reliance through enterprise.

Pricing tiers

ModelBillingPrice
HybridMonthlyIYE Program: Up to $25,000 combined financing
HybridMonthlyIWE Program: Up to $25,000 combined financing
OtherMulti-year contractSEAP Grant: Up to $99,999
HybridMonthlyWELF: Up to $50,000 per project

Go-to-market motion3 records

Distribution channels3 records

Marketing channels8 records

Alberta Indian Investment Corporation product offering

Product offering

Core offering

AIIC provides interest-bearing loans to Status First Nation entrepreneurs in Alberta for establishing, acquiring, diversifying, or expanding a business, with loan terms up to 60 months and competitive interest rates typically ranging 4-8% based on risk assessment. Alongside lending, AIIC delivers one-on-one business counselling and mentoring at all stages of business development and supplements financing with non-repayable grant components (up to 45% through IYE/IWE programs) plus financial education tools including online calculators.

Product overview

Alberta Indian Investment Corporation (AIIC) is a First Nation-owned investment company providing a comprehensive suite of financial and business development services for First Nation entrepreneurs in Alberta since 1988. The core offerings include Financial Services (interest-bearing loans for business establishment, acquisition, diversification, or expansion) and Business Services (counseling and mentoring across all business stages). These are supported by Financial Education Tools including calculators for breakeven analysis, cash flow, financial ratios, profit margins, and working capital. AIIC also administers multiple grant and financing programs including SEAP (grants up to $99,999), the Indigenous Youth Entrepreneurs Program (IYE, up to $25,000), the Indigenous Women Entrepreneurs Program (IWE, up to $25,000), and the Women's Entrepreneur Loan Fund (WELF, up to $50,000). Additionally, AIIC offers scholarship programs for post-secondary students. The organization operates as a social enterprise with a relationship-first approach, combining repayable loans with non-repayable grants to reduce barriers for Indigenous entrepreneurs.

Differentiator

Problem solved

Functional benefit

Brands

  • AIIC: Primary acronym brand for Alberta Indian Investment Corporation
  • Indigenous Women Entrepreneur (IWE) Program
  • Indigenous Youth Entrepreneur (IYE) Program
  • Status Entrepreneur Assistance Program (SEAP)
  • Women's Entrepreneur Loan Fund (WELF)

Products and services

  • Financial Services (Interest-Bearing Business Loans) Interest-bearing loans provided to Status First Nation entrepreneurs in Alberta for establishing, acquiring, diversifying, or expanding a business. Includes equipment loans, working capital loans, and equity financing with competitive interest rates (typically 4-8% based on risk assessment), flexible repayment terms up to 5 years, and fixed or floating rate options. Loan terms up to 60 months.
  • Business Services (Counselling and Mentoring) One-on-one counselling and mentoring services for Status First Nation entrepreneurs at all stages of business development, including pre-business planning, business start-up, and operational phases. Includes workshops on business planning, growing businesses, and basic accounting, delivered by Business Services Officers with aftercare support throughout the loan lifecycle.
  • Indigenous Youth Entrepreneurs (IYE) Program National program developed by NACCA and delivered by AIIC, providing Indigenous youth aged 18-39 with up to $25,000 in combined financing (minimum 50% loan plus up to 45% non-repayable grant plus 0-10% equity), one-on-one mentorship, business planning workshops, and network connections to launch, grow, or expand a business with 51%+ Indigenous ownership.
  • Indigenous Women Entrepreneurs (IWE) Program National program developed by NACCA and delivered by AIIC, supporting Status First Nation women entrepreneurs with up to $25,000 in micro-loans (50% loan financing plus up to 45% non-repayable grant plus 0-10% equity), one-on-one support, skills training, and credit building resources for launching, growing, or sustaining a business with 51%+ ownership.
  • Status Entrepreneur Assistance Program (SEAP) Grant-based program providing non-repayable equity support up to $99,999 to Status First Nation entrepreneurs in Alberta for launching, acquiring, or expanding a business. Combines non-repayable grant funding (30-40% of project costs) with applicant cash equity (10%) and an AIIC loan (~60%). Requires at least 12 months of relevant industry experience and is not available as a stand-alone grant.
  • Women's Entrepreneur Loan Fund (WELF) Loan program providing Indigenous women entrepreneurs in Alberta with up to $50,000 per project at special interest rates with flexible repayment terms. Includes access to business advisory services and tailored support designed specifically for Indigenous women business owners.
  • Scholarship Programs (Sam Bull and Senator James Gladstone Memorial Scholarships) Annual scholarships for Status First Nation students including the Sam Bull Memorial Scholarship ($1,000 for law and political science studies) and the Senator James Gladstone Memorial Scholarship ($750-$1,000 for business, finance, or economics studies).

Quantifiable outcome

  • $9.2 billion contributed to Alberta's economy in 2023 by Indigenous businesses
  • +2 more outcomes

Companies that use Alberta Indian Investment Corporation

Customer profile

Named customers4 records

Segments4 records

Ideal customer profiles4 records

Alberta Indian Investment Corporation technology and API

Technology

Technology focussed No

API detail

Has API
No
API docs
API detail

Core technology

AI maturity

App detail

Alberta Indian Investment Corporation partnerships and signals

Strategic signal

Partnerships

Two partnerships are on record, tiered core.

  • NACCA (National Aboriginal Capital Corporations Association)coreStrategic or Co-development PartnerNACCA developed the national IYE and IWE programs that AIIC delivers as an Indigenous Financial Institution. This is a core partnership where NACCA provides program framework, funding support, and national coordination while AIIC delivers localized services to First Nation entrepreneurs in Alberta. The partnership enables access to national resources and the broader IFI network of over 50 Indigenous Financial Institutions.
  • Winfire Business ServicescoreImplementation/ SI/ Consulting PartnerWinfire Business Services provides professional business planning services funded through SEAP grants. They also deliver aftercare services including mentorship, financial management support, and business advisory assistance. Located at the same Enoch address as AIIC, they are a key support partner in the SEAP program helping entrepreneurs prepare lender-ready business plans and cash flow projections.

Scale indicators5 records

Recent moves6 records

Expansion highlights5 records

Alberta Indian Investment Corporation competitors and assessment

Company assessment

Direct peers

  • Futurpreneur Canada: Canadian non-profit that provides loans, mentorship, and resources to young entrepreneurs ages 18–39, overlapping directly with AIIC's Indigenous Youth Entrepreneurs (IYE) program in target demographic, hybrid loan/grant financial structure, and mentorship-led model.
  • Alberta Métis Capital Corporation: Alberta-based Métis-focused Indigenous Financial Institution offering non-repayable contributions and loans to Métis entrepreneurs; identical operating geography and nearly identical lending-plus-grant model to AIIC, but serving the parallel Métis segment.
  • Saskatchewan Indian Equity Foundation (SIEF): Saskatchewan-based Indigenous Financial Institution in the NACCA network providing business loans, advisory, and equity-style support to Status First Nations entrepreneurs — direct functional peer with the same NACCA program delivery mandate as AIIC in Alberta.
  • Clarence Campeau Development Fund: Saskatchewan-based Métis-led fund providing loans and non-repayable contributions to Métis entrepreneurs; matches AIIC's loan-plus-grant structure and community-first delivery, and operates as another node in the NACCA-affiliated IFI ecosystem.
  • Manitoba Indian Capital Corporation: Manitoba-based IFI delivering NACCA-aligned programs of business loans, advisory, and non-repayable contributions to Status First Nations entrepreneurs — closest functional peer to AIIC outside Alberta.
  • Nishnawbe Aski Development Fund (NADF): Northern Ontario Indigenous development corporation providing business financing, advisory, and youth entrepreneur programs to First Nations communities; comparable mandate, target clientele, and hybrid financing approach to AIIC.
  • Community Futures Network of Canada: National network of 269+ community-based organizations providing business loans (typically ≤$150K), advisory, and training to rural Canadian entrepreneurs; shares AIIC's regional CDFI model and direct-lending-then-mentorship approach, but for the general population.
  • Women's Enterprise Organizations of Canada (WEOC): National umbrella and delivery network for women's business enterprise support, including Indigenous women; directly parallel to AIIC's IWE and WELF program portfolio of Indigenous women-focused lending and advisory.

Broad incumbents

  • Business Development Bank of Canada (BDC): Canadian Crown corporation providing loans, advisory, and capital to Canadian SMBs, including Indigenous entrepreneurs; much broader portfolio and capital base, but overlapping on small-business lending, advisory, and Indigenous-targeted programming.

Emerging players

  • Windmill Microlending: Canadian non-profit providing microloans (typically ≤$15K) and mentorship to skilled immigrants building businesses in Canada; similar micro-lending-plus-mentorship operating model to AIIC's IYE/IWE but focused on a different under-served segment.

Market position

Strengths5 records

Weaknesses5 records

Competitive moat4 records

Key risks6 records

Key highlights6 records

Customer concentration

Alberta Indian Investment Corporation social profiles

Digital presence

Alberta Indian Investment Corporation financial estimates

Financial estimate

Revenue estimate

Valuation estimate

Alberta Indian Investment Corporation leadership team

Management profile

Number of profiles

Profiles13 records

Alberta Indian Investment Corporation funding detail

Funding detail

Funding overview

Funding rounds

Investors

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Alberta Indian Investment Corporation M&A and investment

M&A and investment

M&A

Investments

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Frequently asked questions about Alberta Indian Investment Corporation

What does Alberta Indian Investment Corporation do?

AIIC provides interest-bearing loans to Status First Nation entrepreneurs in Alberta for establishing, acquiring, diversifying, or expanding a business, with loan terms up to 60 months and competitive interest rates typically ranging 4-8% based on risk assessment. Alongside lending, AIIC delivers one-on-one business counselling and mentoring at all stages of business development and supplements financing with non-repayable grant components (up to 45% through IYE/IWE programs) plus financial education tools including online calculators.

Is Alberta Indian Investment Corporation a public or private company?

Alberta Indian Investment Corporation is a private company. It is classified as nonprofit foundation owned and is currently operating.

When was Alberta Indian Investment Corporation founded?

Alberta Indian Investment Corporation was founded in 1988. It employs 1 to 10 people.

Where is Alberta Indian Investment Corporation based?

Alberta Indian Investment Corporation is headquartered in Enchant, Canada, in the North America region.

How does Alberta Indian Investment Corporation make money?

Two revenue lines are on record. Interest-bearing loans are the primary driver. The others are program delivery fees.

Who are Alberta Indian Investment Corporation's main competitors?

Direct peers on record are Futurpreneur Canada, Alberta Métis Capital Corporation, Saskatchewan Indian Equity Foundation (SIEF), Clarence Campeau Development Fund, Manitoba Indian Capital Corporation, Nishnawbe Aski Development Fund (NADF), Community Futures Network of Canada and Women's Enterprise Organizations of Canada (WEOC). Business Development Bank of Canada (BDC) is listed as a broad incumbent. Windmill Microlending is listed as an emerging player.

Does Alberta Indian Investment Corporation have an API?

No public API is recorded for Alberta Indian Investment Corporation.

Unlock the full company data

50 free credits on sign-up, no credit card required.

Contact sales