University of Dayton School of Law
University of Dayton School of Law is a nonprofit Catholic university law school in Dayton, Ohio that offers J.D., LL.M., and M.S.L. programs in residential, online hybrid, and fully online formats. It serves prospective attorneys, legal professionals, and government-contracting specialists, generating revenue through tuition and is newly expanding bar exam preparation via a Kaplan partnership starting Fall 2026.
- Company typePrivate
- Founded1922
- HeadquartersDayton, United States
- Headcount—
- GTM typeB2C
- OfferingServices
What University of Dayton School of Law does
University of Dayton School of Law (UDSL) is the law school of the University of Dayton, a private Catholic university, operating as a nonprofit educational institution headquartered at Keller Hall, 300 College Park, Dayton, Ohio. Founded in 1920 as Dayton Law School and integrated into the University of Dayton in 1922, it offers a portfolio of degree programs: a Residential J.D., an Online Hybrid J.D., an Accelerated J.D., Joint Degrees, an Online LL.M., an On Campus LL.M., a Government Contracting M.S.L., and a General M.S.L., along with a Leadership Honors Program and experiential offerings (Law Review, Mock Trial, Moot Court). It serves three primary student segments: prospective J.D. candidates, legal professionals seeking LL.M. specialization, and non-attorney professionals (e.g., government contractors) pursuing the M.S.L. The school markets itself on practical legal training, flexible degree pathways, and outcome-based prestige, highlighted by an approximately 90% first-time bar passage rate on the July 2025 Ohio Bar Exam, ranking tied for third among Ohio law schools.
UDSL's underlying technology stack is not disclosed because it is a traditional educational institution rather than a technology company. Program delivery uses live online classes, interactive coursework, and on-campus components (for the Online Hybrid J.D.), supported by standard academic infrastructure including the Zimmerman Law Library, faculty, and student support services. A forthcoming institutional partnership with Kaplan under the All Access License program, beginning Fall 2026, introduces integrated bar exam preparation curriculum tools, diagnostics, assessments, and bar-aligned practice from orientation through graduation, including post-graduation bar review access.
UDSL generates revenue primarily through recurring tuition and mandatory fees from J.D., LL.M., and M.S.L. enrollments; pricing is not publicly disclosed (contact: [email protected], 937-229-3555). Its go-to-market is a sales-led admissions process — applications, financial aid guidance, campus visits, virtual tours, and information sessions — supported by content marketing through the Dayton Docket Blog, organic social on Instagram/LinkedIn/YouTube/Facebook/X, alumni stories, and event promotion (e.g., the Online and Hybrid Learning Conference). Marketing channels operate across the funnel: blogs for top-of-funnel awareness, virtual tours for mid-funnel engagement, and detailed admissions pages for bottom-of-funnel conversion. No enterprise customer logos, headcount figures, or revenue figures are disclosed.
University of Dayton School of Law firmographics
Firmographics- Name
- University of Dayton School of Law
- Legal name
- University of Dayton School of Law
- Website
- https://law.udayton.edu
- Company type
- Private
- Founded year
- 1922
- Operating status
- Operating
- Short description
- University of Dayton School of Law is a nonprofit Catholic university law school in Dayton, Ohio that offers J.D., LL.M., and M.S.L. programs in residential, online hybrid, and fully online formats. It serves prospective attorneys, legal professionals, and government-contracting specialists, generating revenue through tuition and is newly expanding bar exam preparation via a Kaplan partnership starting Fall 2026.
- Ownership category
- akta.pro rank
University of Dayton School of Law industry classification
Industry- Product category
- Legal Education
- NAICS
- Colleges, Universities, and Professional Schools (6113)
- SIC
- Services-Educational Services (8200)
- akta.pro industry
- ABA-Accredited JD-Granting Law SchoolsLLM & Post-JD Graduate Law ProgramsLaw School Continuing Legal Education (CLE) & Executive Programs
Keywords
Where University of Dayton School of Law is headquartered
LocationHeadquarters
- HQ city
- Dayton
- HQ country
- United States
- HQ region
- North America
Offices1 record
Markets served
University of Dayton School of Law business model
Business model- GTM type
- B2C
- Offering type
- Services
- Cost components
- Personnel, Operations, Infrastructure, Marketing or Sales, Technology or R&D
Revenue model
- Tuition and Fees: The law school generates revenue through tuition and mandatory fees from J.D., LL.M., and M.S.L. programs. Revenue is recurring on a per-term basis from enrolled students.
Go-to-market motion1 record
Distribution channels3 records
Marketing channels4 records
University of Dayton School of Law product offering
Product offeringCore offering
The University of Dayton School of Law offers graduate-level legal education programs including the Juris Doctor (J.D.) in residential, online hybrid, and accelerated formats, the Master of Laws (LL.M.) in both online and on-campus formats, and the Master of Studies in Law (M.S.L.) in government contracting and general tracks. It also provides bar exam preparation support through a partnership with Kaplan starting Fall 2026.
Product overview
University of Dayton School of Law is a law school offering multiple degree programs including J.D. variants (Residential, Online Hybrid, Accelerated, Joint Degrees), LL.M. programs (Online and On Campus), and M.S.L. programs (Government Contracting and General). The school provides bar exam preparation services through a partnership with Kaplan, and maintains a Leadership Honors Program. Programs include academics, involvement opportunities (Law Review, Mock Trial, Moot Court), student support services, and career services.
Differentiator
Problem solved
Functional benefit
Products and services
- Juris Doctor (J.D.) Program Three-year professional law degree offered in residential, online hybrid, and accelerated formats, with joint degree options, designed for individuals seeking to practice law in the United States.
- Master of Laws (LL.M.) Advanced postgraduate law degree available in both online and on-campus formats for lawyers and legal professionals seeking specialization.
- Master of Studies in Law (M.S.L.) Non-lawyer graduate degree offered with concentrations in Government Contracting and General studies, designed for professionals working adjacent to the legal field.
- Bar Exam Preparation Program Bar exam preparation support service delivered through a partnership with Kaplan, designed to help J.D. graduates prepare for state bar examinations.
Quantifiable outcome
- Nearly 90 percent first-time pass rate for July 2025 graduates on bar exam
- +1 more outcomes
Companies that use University of Dayton School of Law
Customer profileSegments3 records
Ideal customer profiles3 records
University of Dayton School of Law technology and API
TechnologyTechnology focussed No
API detail
- Has API
- No
- API docs
- API detail
Core technology
AI maturity
App detail
University of Dayton School of Law partnerships and signals
Strategic signalPartnerships
One partnership is on record.
- KaplancoreThe University of Dayton School of Law partnered with Kaplan under their All Access License program to provide comprehensive bar exam preparation to all J.D. and LL.M. students starting Fall 2026. The partnership offers integrated curriculum tools, diagnostics, assessments, and bar-aligned practice from orientation through graduation, with post-graduation bar review access for graduates. UDSL cited Kaplan's strong first-time pass rate outcomes data and readiness for the NextGen UBE transition, with the goal of providing earlier, more affordable, and equitable bar preparation.
Scale indicators2 records
Recent moves6 records
Expansion highlights4 records
University of Dayton School of Law competitors and assessment
Company assessmentDirect peers
- University of Cincinnati College of Law: ABA-accredited JD-granting law school in Ohio with comparable J.D. and graduate programs. Direct competitor for Ohio-based applicants and on Ohio bar passage metrics.
- University of Akron School of Law: Public ABA-accredited Ohio law school with J.D. and LL.M. programs. Competes for the same in-state applicant pool and on bar exam passage metrics.
- University of Toledo College of Law: Public ABA-accredited Ohio law school offering J.D. and LL.M. programs. Direct Ohio-market competitor with overlapping program mix.
- Ohio State University Moritz College of Law: ABA-accredited JD-granting law school in Ohio. Direct competitor for the same in-state applicant pool, with similar J.D., LL.M., and joint-degree offerings and competing on bar passage rates.
- Ohio Northern University Claude W. Pettit College of Law: Private ABA-accredited law school in Ohio offering J.D. and graduate programs. Comparable in private-affiliation structure and direct Ohio-market competition.
- Capital University Law School: Private ABA-accredited law school in Columbus, Ohio. Closely comparable in scale, private-affiliation model, and JD/LLM offering mix, competing for similar Ohio applicants.
- Case Western Reserve University School of Law: Private ABA-accredited law school in Ohio offering J.D. and LL.M. programs. Competes with University of Dayton School of Law for Ohio applicants and on bar exam outcomes.
- Cleveland State University Cleveland-Marshall College of Law: Public ABA-accredited Ohio law school offering J.D. and LL.M. programs. Direct competitor in the Ohio bar passage rankings and applicant market.
Regional players
- Loyola University Chicago School of Law: Private Jesuit-affiliated ABA-accredited law school offering J.D., LL.M., and specialized graduate programs. Comparable in Catholic-affiliated positioning and program breadth, operating in a different regional market.
- Duquesne University Kline School of Law: Private Catholic-affiliated ABA-accredited law school in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Comparable in private, faith-based institutional profile and JD/LLM offering, though operating in an adjacent regional market.
Market position
Strengths5 records
Weaknesses5 records
Competitive moat3 records
Key risks5 records
Key highlights6 records
Customer concentration
University of Dayton School of Law social profiles
Digital presenceUniversity of Dayton School of Law financial estimates
Financial estimateRevenue estimate
Valuation estimate
University of Dayton School of Law leadership team
Management profileNumber of profiles
University of Dayton School of Law funding detail
Funding detailFunding overview
Funding rounds
Investors
Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →
University of Dayton School of Law M&A and investment
M&A and investmentM&A
Investments
M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →
Frequently asked questions about University of Dayton School of Law
What does University of Dayton School of Law do?
The University of Dayton School of Law offers graduate-level legal education programs including the Juris Doctor (J.D.) in residential, online hybrid, and accelerated formats, the Master of Laws (LL.M.) in both online and on-campus formats, and the Master of Studies in Law (M.S.L.) in government contracting and general tracks. It also provides bar exam preparation support through a partnership with Kaplan starting Fall 2026.
Is University of Dayton School of Law a public or private company?
University of Dayton School of Law is a private company. It is classified as nonprofit foundation owned and is currently operating.
When was University of Dayton School of Law founded?
University of Dayton School of Law was founded in 1922.
Where is University of Dayton School of Law based?
University of Dayton School of Law is headquartered in Dayton, United States, in the North America region.
How does University of Dayton School of Law make money?
One revenue line is on record: tuition and Fees.
Who are University of Dayton School of Law's main competitors?
Direct peers on record are University of Cincinnati College of Law, University of Akron School of Law, University of Toledo College of Law, Ohio State University Moritz College of Law, Ohio Northern University Claude W. Pettit College of Law, Capital University Law School, Case Western Reserve University School of Law and Cleveland State University Cleveland-Marshall College of Law. Regional players are Loyola University Chicago School of Law and Duquesne University Kline School of Law.
Does University of Dayton School of Law have an API?
No public API is recorded for University of Dayton School of Law.
What industry is University of Dayton School of Law in?
University of Dayton School of Law's product category is Legal Education. Its primary akta.pro industry code is EDAHAIAA, ABA-Accredited JD-Granting Law Schools, with a secondary code of EDAHAIAC, LLM & Post-JD Graduate Law Programs. Its NAICS code is 6113 and its SIC code is 8200.