Developer docs
API playgroundTry for free, no card

Search company profiles

Kansas City Art Institute

Full company profile

uuid000oyni

Namestring
Kansas City Art Institute
Legal namestring
Kansas City Art Institute
Websiteurl
kcai.edu
Company typeenum
Private
Founded yearint
1885
Descriptiontext

Kansas City Art Institute (KCAI) is a private nonprofit college located at 4415 Warwick Blvd in Kansas City, Missouri, founded in 1885. It awards the Bachelor of Fine Arts degree across 13 studio majors (Animation, Art History, Ceramics, Creative Writing, Fiber, Filmmaking, Graphic Design, Illustration, Painting, Photography, Printmaking, Product Design, and Sculpture) to a student population that is 99% aided by institutional financial aid. The institution is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission and the National Association of Schools of Art and Design (NASAD), and is a member of the Association of Independent Colleges of Art and Design (AICAD), a consortium of 35 leading US art schools. Core technology is not disclosed; the institution operates standard admissions, e-commerce, and student portal infrastructure rather than proprietary platforms.

Revenue is generated through four primary streams: tuition and fees (recurring, dominant), donations and philanthropic giving from alumni and supporters, the KCAI Underground Art Store (both a 75-year-old campus retail location and a 2024-launched online storefront selling art supplies, KCAI merchandise, and printing/mailing services), and campus space rental for corporate events and conferences across venues such as Vanderslice Hall, Epperson Auditorium, and Paul & Linda DeBruce Hall. Customer segments include prospective college students (primary, segmented into first-year, transfer, and international), corporate clients (space rental), and alumni (donations and engagement). GTM is sales-led through admissions outreach, campus tours, open houses, and community partnerships with local cultural institutions.

Leadership includes James Harrington (CFO) and Allison Puff (Executive Vice President of Academic Affairs). The institution supports structured career development through the Professional Practice Center and maintains active social media presence across Instagram, Facebook, TikTok, LinkedIn, and YouTube. There is no parent company, no M&A history, no disclosed funding rounds (consistent with nonprofit status), and no public financial disclosures.

Short descriptiontext

Kansas City Art Institute is a private nonprofit college in Kansas City, Missouri, founded in 1885, awarding the Bachelor of Fine Arts across 13 studio majors to primarily domestic and international undergraduate students, with supplementary revenue from campus retail, facility rentals, and alumni donations.

Operating statusenum
Operating
Ownership categoryenum
Headcount rangeband
101–250
akta.pro rankint
HeadquartersKansas City, United States
HQ citystring
Kansas City
HQ countrystring
United States
HQ regionstring
North America
Markets served

Serves global market

Offices2 records

Each record includes

City, Country, Type, Description, Source

Keyword5 values
art and design education, fine arts college, studio art programs, bachelor of fine arts, art supply retail
Industry2 codes
1Fine Arts Colleges (Painting, Sculpture, Printmaking)
CodeEDAHAJAAPrimaryYes
2Arts Education Instruction (Visual/Performing)
CodeEDAJAFAKPrimaryNo
NAICS code2 codes
  • Fine Arts Schools61161
  • Other Performing Arts Companies71119
Product category
Art and Design Higher Education
GTM motion1 record

Each record includes

Type, Description, Source

Revenue model4 records
1Tuition and Fees
TypeSubscription Recurring
Description

Revenue from student tuition for Bachelor of Fine Arts degree programs. 99% of students receive some form of institutional financial aid.

kcai.edu
2Art Supply Store (The KCAI Underground)
TypeHardware Sales
Description

Campus-based and online art supply store selling materials, official KCAI merchandise, and specialty items. Supports KCAI programs and students.

artsupplies.kcai.edu
3Space Rental
TypeTransaction Fee
Description

Campus facilities including Vanderslice Hall, Epperson Auditorium, and conference rooms rented for corporate events, conferences, and professional gatherings.

kcai.edu
4Donations and Giving
TypeSubscription Recurring
Description

Philanthropic contributions from alumni and supporters to support student programs and institutional operations.

kcai.edu
Marketing channels6 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Stage, Description, Source

Distribution channels4 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Scope, Target buyer, Description, Source

Cost components5 values
Personnel, Operations, Marketing or Sales, Infrastructure, Others
Pricing details8 tiers
1Vanderslice Hall - Charlotte Reception Room
ModelUnit PricingBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

$150 per hour with $600 minimum. Capacity: 30 seated, 651 sq. ft.

kcai.edu
2Vanderslice Hall - Marburg Reception Room
ModelUnit PricingBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

$150 per hour with $600 minimum. Capacity: 30 seated, 495 sq. ft.

kcai.edu
3The Fernery (Vanderslice Hall Student Welcome Center)
ModelUnit PricingBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

$225 per hour with $900 minimum. Capacity: 47 seated, 700 sq. ft.

kcai.edu
4Epperson Auditorium
ModelUnit PricingBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

Capacity: 206 seated, 2,212 sq. ft. Rental rates not specified.

kcai.edu
5Paul & Linda DeBruce Hall - Swinney Room
ModelUnit PricingBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

$120 per hour with $480 minimum. Capacity: 44, 1022 sq. ft.

kcai.edu
6Paul & Linda DeBruce Hall - Room 117
ModelUnit PricingBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

$48 per hour with $192 minimum. Capacity: 16, 398 sq. ft.

kcai.edu
7Paul & Linda DeBruce Hall - Sosland Room
ModelUnit PricingBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

$60 per hour with $240 minimum. Capacity: 22, 535 sq. ft.

kcai.edu
8New Student Tuition Deposit
ModelOne time/ perpetual licenseBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

$250 non-refundable tuition deposit required to hold space and enroll in classes. Applied to total tuition.

kcai.edu
GTM typeB2C
B2C
Offering typeServices
Services
Brand1 record
1KCAI Underground Art Store
Description

Campus art supply store, print center, and mailroom serving the KCAI community with art supplies, official merchandise, printing services, and mailing/shipping services.

kcai.edu
Core offering1 text field

Kansas City Art Institute is a private nonprofit college that confers Bachelor of Fine Arts degrees in 13 studio majors (Animation, Art History, Ceramics, Creative Writing, Fiber, Filmmaking, Graphic Design, Illustration, Painting, Photography, Printmaking, Product Design, and Sculpture). Beyond academics, it sells art supplies and KCAI-branded merchandise through the KCAI Underground (physical and online store) and rents campus event spaces to corporate clients.

Differentiator
Functional benefit
Problem solved
Quantifiable outcome1 value
  • 99% of students receive institutional financial aid
Product overview1 text field

Kansas City Art Institute (KCAI) is an educational institution offering a BFA program in 13 studio majors. The primary product portfolio includes the KCAI Underground Art Store, an on-campus and online retail operation providing art supplies, official merchandise, mailing services (USPS, FedEx, UPS), and print center services including risograph printing. Secondary offerings include campus space rental venues (Vanderslice Hall, The Fernery, Epperson Auditorium, Paul & Linda DeBruce Hall Conference Rooms), Jannes Library resources, Professional Practice Center career services, and Sprung Formal student literary journal. The institution operates as a private college with accreditation from the Higher Learning Commission and NASAD.

Product and service3 records
1Bachelor of Fine Arts Degree Programs
CategoryHigher Education / Art and Design Degrees
Description

Four-year studio-based undergraduate degrees in 13 majors (Animation, Art History, Ceramics, Creative Writing, Fiber, Filmmaking, Graphic Design, Illustration, Painting, Photography, Printmaking, Product Design, Sculpture), delivered on the Kansas City campus with an award-winning faculty of practicing artists and supported by the Professional Practice Center for career preparation.

2KCAI Underground Art Store
CategoryRetail / Art Supplies
Description

Campus-based and online retail operation selling art supplies, official KCAI merchandise, and specialty items, with on-site mailing (USPS, FedEx, UPS) and print center services including risograph printing; serves students, faculty, staff, alumni, and the general public.

3Campus Space Rental
CategoryEvent Venue Rental
Description

Hourly rental of campus event venues including Vanderslice Hall reception rooms (Charlotte, Marburg), The Fernery at Vanderslice Hall, Epperson Auditorium (206 seats), and Paul & Linda DeBruce Hall conference rooms (Swinney Room, Room 117, Sosland Room) for corporate events, conferences, training sessions, and professional gatherings.

Scale indicator4 records

Each record includes

Type, Value, Description, Source

Partnership3 partners
Strategic tierCoreTypeOthers
Description

KCAI is a member of AICAD, a consortium of 35 leading art schools in the United States. This membership provides networking, resources, and collaboration opportunities with peer institutions in art and design education.

Strategic tierCoreTypeOthers
Description

Accredited by the Higher Learning Commission, a commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools. This accreditation is essential for federal financial aid eligibility and institutional credibility.

3National Association of Schools of Art and Design (NASAD)
Strategic tierCoreTypeOthers
Description

Accredited by NASAD, the primary accreditor for art and design institutions. This specialized accreditation validates the quality of KCAI's academic programs in art and design disciplines.

kcai.edu
Recent move5 records

Each record includes

Date, Type, Title, Description, Source

Expansion highlight5 records

Each record includes

Type, Description

Peers10 records
TypeDirect peer
Description

Small Pacific Northwest BFA-granting art school (now part of Willamette University) with a similar tuition-dependent, studio-major-driven portfolio to KCAI.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Chicago-based BFA-granting private art and design school and AICAD member offering studio majors across painting, sculpture, design, and film — the closest large-scale comparator to KCAI's institutional model and curriculum breadth.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Small, private, Midwest-based BFA-granting art school and AICAD member with a comparable program mix, scale, and tuition-discounting profile to KCAI.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Private Baltimore-based BFA-granting art and design college and AICAD member with overlapping studio majors (Graphic Design, Illustration, Painting, Photography) and similar career-services infrastructure.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Los Angeles-based private BFA-granting art and design school and AICAD member, directly comparable in program mix (Product Design, Digital Media, Toy Design) and tuition-aid model.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Small private Midwestern BFA-granting art college and AICAD member with a similar program footprint, scale, and reliance on tuition and philanthropic revenue.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Private Bay Area BFA-granting art and design college with comparable studio major breadth and a nonprofit tuition-discounting model.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Private Florida-based BFA-granting art and design college with strong studio program breadth and a comparable tuition-discount + donor-supported business model.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Larger private BFA/MFA-granting art and design university with overlapping studio majors and AICAD membership; SCAD serves as an upper-bound peer for scale and program diversification.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

Larger private art/design college and AICAD member with overlapping BFA majors (Graphic Design, Illustration, Photography) and an established brand in creative education — comparable on the art side, broader on portfolio (engineering, architecture).

Market position
Strengths5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Weaknesses5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Competitive moat5 records

Each record includes

Type, Details

Key risks6 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Key highlights7 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Customer concentration

Classification, Details

Segment5 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Primary, Description, Pain point addressed, Use case, Source

Ideal customer profile2 records

Each record includes

Profile, Firmographic size, Sales motion, Sales cycle length, Buying structure, Purchase trigger, Buyer persona, Geography, Industry vertical, Primary use case, Description, Pain points, Evidence proof points, Target buyer

Technology focused
No
API detail
Has APIbool
No

Docs URL, Description

AI maturity
App detail

Has app

Core technology
Revenue estimate
Valuation estimate
Number of profiles
Profiles2 records

Each record includes

Name, Designation, Designation category, Overview, Profile commentary, Source

Subsidiaries1 record

Each record includes

Name, Acquired on, Relationship type, Type, Business focus

No data
Funding overview

Funding stage, Last funding date, Total funding USD

Funding rounds

Each record includes

Round, Amount USD, Date, Pre money valuation, Total investors, Investors, News

Investors

Each record includes

Name, Type, Date of entry, Rounds participated, Website

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

M&A

Each record includes

Name, Acquisition type, Announced date, Completed date, Status, Website, News

Investment

Each record includes

Name, Round, Announced date, Lead investor, Website, News

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Kansas City Art Institute

Art and Design Higher Educationkcai.edu

Kansas City Art Institute is a private nonprofit college in Kansas City, Missouri, founded in 1885, awarding the Bachelor of Fine Arts across 13 studio majors to primarily domestic and international undergraduate students, with supplementary revenue from campus retail, facility rentals, and alumni donations.

What Kansas City Art Institute does

Kansas City Art Institute (KCAI) is a private nonprofit college located at 4415 Warwick Blvd in Kansas City, Missouri, founded in 1885. It awards the Bachelor of Fine Arts degree across 13 studio majors (Animation, Art History, Ceramics, Creative Writing, Fiber, Filmmaking, Graphic Design, Illustration, Painting, Photography, Printmaking, Product Design, and Sculpture) to a student population that is 99% aided by institutional financial aid. The institution is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission and the National Association of Schools of Art and Design (NASAD), and is a member of the Association of Independent Colleges of Art and Design (AICAD), a consortium of 35 leading US art schools. Core technology is not disclosed; the institution operates standard admissions, e-commerce, and student portal infrastructure rather than proprietary platforms.

Revenue is generated through four primary streams: tuition and fees (recurring, dominant), donations and philanthropic giving from alumni and supporters, the KCAI Underground Art Store (both a 75-year-old campus retail location and a 2024-launched online storefront selling art supplies, KCAI merchandise, and printing/mailing services), and campus space rental for corporate events and conferences across venues such as Vanderslice Hall, Epperson Auditorium, and Paul & Linda DeBruce Hall. Customer segments include prospective college students (primary, segmented into first-year, transfer, and international), corporate clients (space rental), and alumni (donations and engagement). GTM is sales-led through admissions outreach, campus tours, open houses, and community partnerships with local cultural institutions.

Leadership includes James Harrington (CFO) and Allison Puff (Executive Vice President of Academic Affairs). The institution supports structured career development through the Professional Practice Center and maintains active social media presence across Instagram, Facebook, TikTok, LinkedIn, and YouTube. There is no parent company, no M&A history, no disclosed funding rounds (consistent with nonprofit status), and no public financial disclosures.

Kansas City Art Institute firmographics

Firmographics
Name
Kansas City Art Institute
Legal name
Kansas City Art Institute
Website
https://kcai.edu
Company type
Private
Founded year
1885
Operating status
Operating
Headcount range
101–250 employees
Short description
Kansas City Art Institute is a private nonprofit college in Kansas City, Missouri, founded in 1885, awarding the Bachelor of Fine Arts across 13 studio majors to primarily domestic and international undergraduate students, with supplementary revenue from campus retail, facility rentals, and alumni donations.
Ownership category
akta.pro rank

Kansas City Art Institute industry classification

Industry
Product category
Art and Design Higher Education
NAICS
Fine Arts Schools (61161), Other Performing Arts Companies (71119)
akta.pro primary industry
Fine Arts Colleges (Painting, Sculpture, Printmaking) (EDAHAJAA)
akta.pro secondary industry
Arts Education Instruction (Visual/Performing) (EDAJAFAK)

Keywords

  • Art and design education
  • Fine arts college
  • Studio art programs
  • Bachelor of fine arts
  • Art supply retail

Where Kansas City Art Institute is headquartered

Location

Headquarters

HQ city
Kansas City
HQ country
United States
HQ region
North America

Offices2 records

Markets served

Kansas City Art Institute business model

Business model
GTM type
B2C
Offering type
Services
Cost components
Personnel, Operations, Marketing or Sales, Infrastructure, Others

Revenue model

  1. Tuition and Fees: Revenue from student tuition for Bachelor of Fine Arts degree programs. 99% of students receive some form of institutional financial aid.
  2. Art Supply Store (The KCAI Underground): Campus-based and online art supply store selling materials, official KCAI merchandise, and specialty items. Supports KCAI programs and students.
  3. Space Rental: Campus facilities including Vanderslice Hall, Epperson Auditorium, and conference rooms rented for corporate events, conferences, and professional gatherings.
  4. Donations and Giving: Philanthropic contributions from alumni and supporters to support student programs and institutional operations.

Pricing tiers

ModelBillingPrice
Unit PricingPay-as-you-goVanderslice Hall - Charlotte Reception Room
Unit PricingPay-as-you-goVanderslice Hall - Marburg Reception Room
Unit PricingPay-as-you-goThe Fernery (Vanderslice Hall Student Welcome Center)
Unit PricingPay-as-you-goEpperson Auditorium
Unit PricingPay-as-you-goPaul & Linda DeBruce Hall - Swinney Room
Unit PricingPay-as-you-goPaul & Linda DeBruce Hall - Room 117
Unit PricingPay-as-you-goPaul & Linda DeBruce Hall - Sosland Room
One time/ perpetual licensePay-as-you-goNew Student Tuition Deposit

Go-to-market motion1 record

Distribution channels4 records

Marketing channels6 records

Kansas City Art Institute product offering

Product offering

Core offering

Kansas City Art Institute is a private nonprofit college that confers Bachelor of Fine Arts degrees in 13 studio majors (Animation, Art History, Ceramics, Creative Writing, Fiber, Filmmaking, Graphic Design, Illustration, Painting, Photography, Printmaking, Product Design, and Sculpture). Beyond academics, it sells art supplies and KCAI-branded merchandise through the KCAI Underground (physical and online store) and rents campus event spaces to corporate clients.

Product overview

Kansas City Art Institute (KCAI) is an educational institution offering a BFA program in 13 studio majors. The primary product portfolio includes the KCAI Underground Art Store, an on-campus and online retail operation providing art supplies, official merchandise, mailing services (USPS, FedEx, UPS), and print center services including risograph printing. Secondary offerings include campus space rental venues (Vanderslice Hall, The Fernery, Epperson Auditorium, Paul & Linda DeBruce Hall Conference Rooms), Jannes Library resources, Professional Practice Center career services, and Sprung Formal student literary journal. The institution operates as a private college with accreditation from the Higher Learning Commission and NASAD.

Differentiator

Problem solved

Functional benefit

Brands

  • KCAI Underground Art Store: Campus art supply store, print center, and mailroom serving the KCAI community with art supplies, official merchandise, printing services, and mailing/shipping services.

Products and services

  • Bachelor of Fine Arts Degree Programs Four-year studio-based undergraduate degrees in 13 majors (Animation, Art History, Ceramics, Creative Writing, Fiber, Filmmaking, Graphic Design, Illustration, Painting, Photography, Printmaking, Product Design, Sculpture), delivered on the Kansas City campus with an award-winning faculty of practicing artists and supported by the Professional Practice Center for career preparation.
  • KCAI Underground Art Store Campus-based and online retail operation selling art supplies, official KCAI merchandise, and specialty items, with on-site mailing (USPS, FedEx, UPS) and print center services including risograph printing; serves students, faculty, staff, alumni, and the general public.
  • Campus Space Rental Hourly rental of campus event venues including Vanderslice Hall reception rooms (Charlotte, Marburg), The Fernery at Vanderslice Hall, Epperson Auditorium (206 seats), and Paul & Linda DeBruce Hall conference rooms (Swinney Room, Room 117, Sosland Room) for corporate events, conferences, training sessions, and professional gatherings.

Quantifiable outcome

  • 99% of students receive institutional financial aid

Companies that use Kansas City Art Institute

Customer profile

Segments5 records

Ideal customer profiles2 records

Kansas City Art Institute technology and API

Technology

Technology focussed No

API detail

Has API
No
API docs
API detail

Core technology

AI maturity

App detail

Kansas City Art Institute partnerships and signals

Strategic signal

Partnerships

Three partnerships are on record, tiered core.

  • Association of Independent Colleges of Art and Design (AICAD)coreOthersKCAI is a member of AICAD, a consortium of 35 leading art schools in the United States. This membership provides networking, resources, and collaboration opportunities with peer institutions in art and design education.
  • Higher Learning CommissioncoreOthersAccredited by the Higher Learning Commission, a commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools. This accreditation is essential for federal financial aid eligibility and institutional credibility.
  • National Association of Schools of Art and Design (NASAD)coreOthersAccredited by NASAD, the primary accreditor for art and design institutions. This specialized accreditation validates the quality of KCAI's academic programs in art and design disciplines.

Scale indicators4 records

Recent moves5 records

Expansion highlights5 records

Kansas City Art Institute competitors and assessment

Company assessment

Direct peers

  • Pacific Northwest College of Art (PNCA): Small Pacific Northwest BFA-granting art school (now part of Willamette University) with a similar tuition-dependent, studio-major-driven portfolio to KCAI.
  • School of the Art Institute of Chicago (SAIC): Chicago-based BFA-granting private art and design school and AICAD member offering studio majors across painting, sculpture, design, and film — the closest large-scale comparator to KCAI's institutional model and curriculum breadth.
  • Minneapolis College of Art and Design (MCAD): Small, private, Midwest-based BFA-granting art school and AICAD member with a comparable program mix, scale, and tuition-discounting profile to KCAI.
  • Maryland Institute College of Art (MICA): Private Baltimore-based BFA-granting art and design college and AICAD member with overlapping studio majors (Graphic Design, Illustration, Painting, Photography) and similar career-services infrastructure.
  • Otis College of Art and Design: Los Angeles-based private BFA-granting art and design school and AICAD member, directly comparable in program mix (Product Design, Digital Media, Toy Design) and tuition-aid model.
  • Columbus College of Art & Design (CCAD): Small private Midwestern BFA-granting art college and AICAD member with a similar program footprint, scale, and reliance on tuition and philanthropic revenue.
  • California College of the Arts (CCA): Private Bay Area BFA-granting art and design college with comparable studio major breadth and a nonprofit tuition-discounting model.
  • Ringling College of Art and Design: Private Florida-based BFA-granting art and design college with strong studio program breadth and a comparable tuition-discount + donor-supported business model.
  • Savannah College of Art and Design (SCAD): Larger private BFA/MFA-granting art and design university with overlapping studio majors and AICAD membership; SCAD serves as an upper-bound peer for scale and program diversification.

Broad incumbents

  • Pratt Institute: Larger private art/design college and AICAD member with overlapping BFA majors (Graphic Design, Illustration, Photography) and an established brand in creative education — comparable on the art side, broader on portfolio (engineering, architecture).

Market position

Strengths5 records

Weaknesses5 records

Competitive moat5 records

Key risks6 records

Key highlights7 records

Customer concentration

Kansas City Art Institute social profiles

Digital presence

Kansas City Art Institute financial estimates

Financial estimate

Revenue estimate

Valuation estimate

Kansas City Art Institute leadership team

Management profile

Number of profiles

Profiles2 records

Kansas City Art Institute subsidiaries and ownership

Company hierarchy

Subsidiaries1 record

Kansas City Art Institute funding detail

Funding detail

Funding overview

Funding rounds

Investors

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Kansas City Art Institute M&A and investment

M&A and investment

M&A

Investments

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Frequently asked questions about Kansas City Art Institute

What does Kansas City Art Institute do?

Kansas City Art Institute is a private nonprofit college that confers Bachelor of Fine Arts degrees in 13 studio majors (Animation, Art History, Ceramics, Creative Writing, Fiber, Filmmaking, Graphic Design, Illustration, Painting, Photography, Printmaking, Product Design, and Sculpture). Beyond academics, it sells art supplies and KCAI-branded merchandise through the KCAI Underground (physical and online store) and rents campus event spaces to corporate clients.

Is Kansas City Art Institute a public or private company?

Kansas City Art Institute is a private company. It is classified as nonprofit foundation owned and is currently operating.

When was Kansas City Art Institute founded?

Kansas City Art Institute was founded in 1885. It employs 101 to 250 people.

Where is Kansas City Art Institute based?

Kansas City Art Institute is headquartered in Kansas City, United States, in the North America region.

How does Kansas City Art Institute make money?

Four revenue lines are on record. Tuition and Fees are the primary driver. The others are art Supply Store (The KCAI Underground), space Rental and donations and Giving.

Who are Kansas City Art Institute's main competitors?

Direct peers on record are Pacific Northwest College of Art (PNCA), School of the Art Institute of Chicago (SAIC), Minneapolis College of Art and Design (MCAD), Maryland Institute College of Art (MICA), Otis College of Art and Design, Columbus College of Art & Design (CCAD), California College of the Arts (CCA), Ringling College of Art and Design and Savannah College of Art and Design (SCAD). Pratt Institute is listed as a broad incumbent.

Does Kansas City Art Institute have an API?

No public API is recorded for Kansas City Art Institute.

What industry is Kansas City Art Institute in?

Kansas City Art Institute's product category is Art and Design Higher Education. Its primary akta.pro industry code is EDAHAJAA, Fine Arts Colleges (Painting, Sculpture, Printmaking), with a secondary code of EDAJAFAK, Arts Education Instruction (Visual/Performing). Its NAICS code is 61161.

Unlock the full company data

50 free credits on sign-up, no credit card required.

Contact sales
Live signals
American City Business JournalsKC Art Institute buys historic mansion, saves it from demolitionThe Kansas City Art Institute acquired the George B. Richards mansion near its campus, saving it from demolition by the Vawter family. The school will stabilize the property, clean the site, and store historic artifacts, with plans for a cultural hub. The William T. Kemper Foundation provided financing.PR NewswireKansas City Art Institute Appoints Ruki Neuhold-Ravikumar to be the Next Nerman Family PresidentThe Kansas City Art Institute Board of Trustees unanimously appointed Ruki Neuhold-Ravikumar as its 25th President following a seven-month national search conducted by Isaacson Miller. Neuhold-Ravikumar, currently Acting Director of the Cooper Hewitt Smithsonian Museum of Design, will assume the role on July 1, 2022, succeeding Tony Jones who retires June 30, 2022. She brings experience managing over 100 employees and a collection of 215,000 design objects, with a background spanning higher education leadership and museum administration.GlobeNewswireKCAI Breaks Ground on Paul and Linda DeBruce HallKansas City Art Institute broke ground on Paul and Linda DeBruce Hall, an 18,000-square-foot building at 44th and Oak Streets. The facility will house Art History, Creative Writing, Entrepreneurial Studies, Liberal Arts, and Student Services, with construction starting in late spring.GlobeNewswireKCAI Breaks Ground on New Liberal Arts BuildingKansas City Art Institute will break ground on a new 18,000-square-foot Liberal Arts Hall on April 26, 2019. The building, designed by Hufft, will house art history, creative writing, and student services, with construction starting in late spring.GlobeNewswireKCAI Announces a New Minor in Entrepreneurial Studies in Art and Design in Partnership with The Regnier Institute for Entrepreneurship and InnovationKansas City Art Institute will offer a new minor in Entrepreneurial Studies in Art and Design starting fall 2019, in partnership with UMKC's Regnier Institute. The 16-credit minor provides business and management skills for artists and designers, with internship and venture-starting opportunities.GlobeNewswireKansas City Art Institute Introduces New Product Design MajorKansas City Art Institute will offer a Product Design major starting Fall 2020, its 14th program. The curriculum includes digital and hands-on techniques, mentorships with companies like Cerner and Garmin, and a collaboration with UMKC for entrepreneurship classes. The inaugural class enters the Foundation program in Fall 2019.GlobeNewswireKCAI Breaks Ground on Student Residence Hall and Dining CenterKansas City Art Institute will break ground on a new student residence hall and dining center on July 12. The 244-bed hall, designed by Helix Architecture, includes a student gallery and gaming center, and was made possible by a $10 million lead gift from an anonymous donor.PR NewswireKansas City Art Institute Showcased in Make48 DocumentaryKansas City Art Institute hosted Make48, a 48-hour product design competition last October featuring 17 teams of makers and inventors, which is chronicled in an eight-part documentary airing on 200 public television stations this fall. The documentary, filmed primarily on the KCAI campus, follows the competition, judging by QVC, and the winning team's journey through redesign, marketing, and product launch preparation. The series premiered on Kansas City Public Television on September 3, 2017.PR NewswireKansas City Art Institute Receives $10 Million DonationThe Kansas City Art Institute announced a $10 million donation from an anonymous donor, facilitated through the Greater Kansas City Community Foundation, to construct a new residence hall, dining facility, student services, and studios on campus. The gift, the largest since KCAI received a $25 million endowment in 2015, will replace the current residence hall built in 1963 and is intended to attract students globally while shaping campus culture.PR NewswireKCAI Receives $1.5m Donation And Breaks Ground On New Studio For Arts And TechnologyThe Kansas City Art Institute (KCAI) broke ground on the new David T. Beals III Studio for Arts & Technology, funded by a $1.5 million donation from the David T. Beals III Charitable Trust. The facility, designed by Gould Evans and constructed by McCownGordon, will provide 3,969 square feet of space equipped with digital laboratories for 3-D printing and rapid prototyping. Scheduled to open in summer 2016, the studio aims to expand curricula and serve students as well as the local creative community.