Developer docs
API playgroundTry for free, no card

Search company profiles

USD 308

Full company profile

uuid000pemm

Namestring
USD 308
Legal namestring
Hutchinson Public Schools
Websiteurl
usd308.com
Company typeenum
Private
Founded yearint
1966
Descriptiontext

Hutchinson Public Schools (USD 308) is a unified public school district organized under Kansas state law, headquartered at 1520 North Plum, Hutchinson, Kansas. The district serves 4,130 students across pre-kindergarten through 12th grade, including post-high school programs, operating from 21 facilities across a 14-square-mile service area: two early learning centers, six elementary schools (Faris, Graber, Lincoln-McCandless, Midtown, Morgan, Wiley), two middle schools (Hutchinson MS 7 and 8), and Hutchinson High School, which includes the Hutchinson Career & Technical Education Academy (HCTEA) offering 22 career pathways. Specialized programs include the Allen STEM Magnet School (KidWind, Project Lead The Way, Engineering is Elementary, Leader In Me), the International Baccalaureate Career-related Programme at the high school, and the Hutchinson Virtual School for remote learners. The district is fully accredited by the Kansas State Department of Education.

USD 308 is funded primarily through local property taxes, state education aid, and federal education programs, with revenue-neutral rate policies governing local tax levies; revenue is not publicly disclosed. The operating model is government-funded and non-commercial: enrollment is determined by residential address within district boundaries, with no tuition charged for K-12 instruction. Meal services operate on a partially subsidized basis (universal free breakfast for K-12; lunch priced at $2.95 elementary, $3.10 middle, $3.30 high school for 2026-27, up $0.20 year-over-year). Core technology consists of Skyward (student information), Google Workspace for Education, Follett Destiny (library), and various administrative platforms; the district offers no public APIs or proprietary software products. Outreach runs through the district website (www.usd308.com), iOS and Android apps, Facebook, X, Instagram, and YouTube, plus ParentSquare alerts, with community events and athletics as the primary in-person engagement channels. The district employs 950+ staff, is governed by an elected Board of Education, and is pursuing a $36M bond paired with $30M capital-outlay funding to address facility modernization needs after the failure of a 2025 bond campaign.

Short descriptiontext

Hutchinson Public Schools (USD 308) is a Kansas public school district serving 4,130 PK-12 students across 21 facilities in a 14-square-mile area, funded by property taxes and state aid, and offering K-12 academics plus CTE, IB, STEM magnet, virtual, and early childhood programs.

Operating statusenum
Operating
Ownership categoryenum
Headcount rangeband
11–50
akta.pro rankint
HeadquartersHutchinson, United States
HQ citystring
Hutchinson
HQ countrystring
United States
HQ regionstring
North America
Markets served

Serves global market

Offices1 record

Each record includes

City, Country, Type, Description, Source

Keyword5 values
public K-12 education, career technical education, early childhood learning, STEM magnet programs, virtual schooling
Industry4 codes
1Public K–12 Combined Schools
CodeEDAJAAAEPrimaryYes
2Public School Districts (K–12)
CodeEDADABAAPrimaryNo
3Head Start & Public Pre-K Programs
CodeEDACABAKPrimaryNo
4Online Credit Recovery & Alternative Pathways (Virtual)
CodeEDAJADAFPrimaryNo
NAICS code3 codes
  • Elementary and Secondary Schools611110
  • Elementary and Secondary Schools61111
  • Educational Support Services611710
SIC code1 code
  • Services-Educational Services8200
Product category
Public K-12 Education
GTM motion1 record

Each record includes

Type, Description, Source

Revenue model1 record
1Public Education Funding
TypeGrants Donations
Description

District funded primarily through local property taxes, state education funding, and federal education programs. Revenue neutral rate policies govern local tax levies.

usd308.com
Marketing channels5 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Stage, Description, Source

Distribution channels1 record

Each record includes

Title, Type, Scope, Target buyer, Description, Source

Cost components5 values
Personnel, Operations, Infrastructure, Others, Supply Chain
Pricing details1 tier
1Universal free breakfast for all K-12 students
ModelOtherBilling cadenceOthers
Notes

Breakfast is provided at no cost to all students. This is a universal program available regardless of family income.

usd308.com
GTM typeB2C
B2C
Offering typeServices
Services
Brand1 of 3 records shown
1Hutchinson Career & Technical Education Academy (HCTEA)
Description

A state-of-the-art career and technical education academy offering 22 career pathways including health sciences, engineering, business management, programming, and family and consumer sciences.

usd308.com
+2 more records
Core offering1 text field

USD 308 (Hutchinson Public Schools) is a unified public school district providing comprehensive K-12 educational services to over 4,000 students from pre-kindergarten through post-high school across 21 facilities in Hutchinson, Kansas. Core offerings include core academic instruction, Career & Technical Education with 22 pathways, the International Baccalaureate Programme, STEM magnet education, virtual schooling, early childhood programs, athletics, and nutrition services including free breakfast for all students.

Differentiator
Functional benefit
Problem solved
Quantifiable outcome1 of 3 values shown
  • Best third-grade state English/language arts assessment scores of the past decade in 2025-26, with below-level percentage declining from 55% in 2021-22 to 40% in 2025-26
+2 more records
Product overview1 text field

USD 308 operates as a unified public school district offering comprehensive educational services across a platform of 21 facilities including two early learning centers, six elementary schools, two middle schools, and one high school. The district's product portfolio includes core academic programs (K-12), specialized magnet programs (Allen STEM Magnet), career and technical education (CTEA with 22 career pathways), the International Baccalaureate Programme, virtual schooling options, and early childhood development programs. The district serves over 4,000 students pre-kindergarten through post-high school, providing a complete educational continuum from early childhood through secondary education with supporting athletic facilities and community programs.

Product and service8 records
1Career & Technical Education Academy (CTEA)
CategoryCareer and Technical Education
2International Baccalaureate (IB) Programme
CategoryAcademic Programs
3Allen STEM Magnet School
CategorySTEM Education
4Hutchinson Virtual School
CategoryVirtual Education
5Hutchinson Early Childhood Program
CategoryEarly Childhood Education
6Hutchinson High School
CategorySecondary Education
7Hutchinson Middle School 7 & 8
CategoryMiddle School Education
8Elementary Schools (Faris, Graber, Lincoln-McCandless, Morgan, Wiley)
Scale indicator6 records

Each record includes

Type, Value, Description, Source

Partnership3 partners
Strategic tierCoreTypeOthersAnnounced on2026-01-01
Description

The Rudd Foundation awards full-ride, four-year scholarships to Kansas students demonstrating grit, determination, and strong work ethic. The scholarship covers tuition, room and board, books, and supplies. Scholars also receive mentoring and professional development. The foundation has invested over $10 million in Kansas students since inception.

Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development PartnerAnnounced on2025-01-01
Description

Partnership with Hutchinson Community College for the building trades program at HCTEA. Students build homes that are then marketed and sold by the college, with proceeds rolling back into the program. Provides students with real-world construction experience while addressing community housing needs.

Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development PartnerAnnounced on2025-01-01
Description

Partnership with Interfaith Housing for building trades projects. With support from a $708,965 Fostering Residential Advancement through Mentoring and Education (FRAME) grant, the partners built a duplex and single-family home. Future projects may include development of the former St. Elizabeth's Hospital site with multiple housing units.

Recent move7 records

Each record includes

Date, Type, Title, Description, Source

Expansion highlight6 records

Each record includes

Type, Description

Peers10 records
TypeDirect peer
Description

Largest Kansas public school district, operating a similar K-12 model with CTE, magnet programs, and IB offerings across a multi-school urban footprint. Most directly comparable Kansas district for benchmarking scale, program breadth, and academic outcomes.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Mid-sized Kansas public district of comparable student population size to USD 308. Similar regional Kansas context, comparable CTE and vocational offerings, and analogous funding profile — a tight size and mission match.

TypeDirect peer
Description

High-performing Kansas public district with similar comprehensive program portfolio (IB, CTE, magnet programs). Comparable in operating model but consistently outperforms on academic metrics, making it a useful aspirational benchmark.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Mid-sized Kansas public school district with similar enrollment scale, program offerings, and funding structure. Closely comparable in operating model and student demographics.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Kansas public school district operating IB, magnet, and CTE programs across a similar multi-school footprint. Comparable in scope of academic programming and governance model.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Kansas public district serving a similar mid-sized city with comparable IB, CTE, and magnet offerings. Directly comparable in program mix and governance accountability.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Mid-sized Kansas public school district with comparable enrollment and similar regional demography. Useful peer for benchmarking free-meal programs and CTE pathways in a comparable Kansas operating context.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

Larger, higher-resourced Kansas district with extensive IB, magnet, and STEM programming. Provides a benchmark for premium program offerings and the upper bound of what Kansas public districts can deliver.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Kansas public district of comparable size operating similar K-12 programming including CTE pathways. Closely matched on enrollment scale and operating model.

TypeRegional player
Description

Adjacent regional public district across the Kansas-Missouri state line. Operates a similar urban K-12 model with magnet, IB, and CTE programs, providing a regional performance and program comparison.

Market position
Strengths5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Weaknesses5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Competitive moat4 records

Each record includes

Type, Details

Key risks6 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Key highlights7 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Customer concentration

Classification, Details

Named customers1 record

Each record includes

Name, Industry, Type, Use case, Source, UUID

Segment3 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Primary, Description, Pain point addressed, Use case, Source

Ideal customer profile2 records

Each record includes

Profile, Firmographic size, Sales motion, Sales cycle length, Buying structure, Purchase trigger, Buyer persona, Geography, Industry vertical, Primary use case, Description, Pain points, Evidence proof points, Target buyer

Technology focused
No
API detail
Has APIbool
No

Docs URL, Description

AI maturity
App detail

Has app

Core technology
Revenue estimate
Valuation estimate
Number of profiles
Profiles13 records

Each record includes

Name, Designation, Designation category, Overview, Profile commentary, Source

No data
No data
Funding overview

Funding stage, Last funding date, Total funding USD

Funding rounds

Each record includes

Round, Amount USD, Date, Pre money valuation, Total investors, Investors, News

Investors

Each record includes

Name, Type, Date of entry, Rounds participated, Website

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

M&A

Each record includes

Name, Acquisition type, Announced date, Completed date, Status, Website, News

Investment

Each record includes

Name, Round, Announced date, Lead investor, Website, News

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

USD 308

Public K-12 Educationusd308.com

Hutchinson Public Schools (USD 308) is a Kansas public school district serving 4,130 PK-12 students across 21 facilities in a 14-square-mile area, funded by property taxes and state aid, and offering K-12 academics plus CTE, IB, STEM magnet, virtual, and early childhood programs.

What USD 308 does

Hutchinson Public Schools (USD 308) is a unified public school district organized under Kansas state law, headquartered at 1520 North Plum, Hutchinson, Kansas. The district serves 4,130 students across pre-kindergarten through 12th grade, including post-high school programs, operating from 21 facilities across a 14-square-mile service area: two early learning centers, six elementary schools (Faris, Graber, Lincoln-McCandless, Midtown, Morgan, Wiley), two middle schools (Hutchinson MS 7 and 8), and Hutchinson High School, which includes the Hutchinson Career & Technical Education Academy (HCTEA) offering 22 career pathways. Specialized programs include the Allen STEM Magnet School (KidWind, Project Lead The Way, Engineering is Elementary, Leader In Me), the International Baccalaureate Career-related Programme at the high school, and the Hutchinson Virtual School for remote learners. The district is fully accredited by the Kansas State Department of Education.

USD 308 is funded primarily through local property taxes, state education aid, and federal education programs, with revenue-neutral rate policies governing local tax levies; revenue is not publicly disclosed. The operating model is government-funded and non-commercial: enrollment is determined by residential address within district boundaries, with no tuition charged for K-12 instruction. Meal services operate on a partially subsidized basis (universal free breakfast for K-12; lunch priced at $2.95 elementary, $3.10 middle, $3.30 high school for 2026-27, up $0.20 year-over-year). Core technology consists of Skyward (student information), Google Workspace for Education, Follett Destiny (library), and various administrative platforms; the district offers no public APIs or proprietary software products. Outreach runs through the district website (www.usd308.com), iOS and Android apps, Facebook, X, Instagram, and YouTube, plus ParentSquare alerts, with community events and athletics as the primary in-person engagement channels. The district employs 950+ staff, is governed by an elected Board of Education, and is pursuing a $36M bond paired with $30M capital-outlay funding to address facility modernization needs after the failure of a 2025 bond campaign.

USD 308 firmographics

Firmographics
Name
USD 308
Legal name
Hutchinson Public Schools
Website
https://usd308.com
Company type
Private
Founded year
1966
Operating status
Operating
Headcount range
11–50 employees
Short description
Hutchinson Public Schools (USD 308) is a Kansas public school district serving 4,130 PK-12 students across 21 facilities in a 14-square-mile area, funded by property taxes and state aid, and offering K-12 academics plus CTE, IB, STEM magnet, virtual, and early childhood programs.
Ownership category
akta.pro rank

USD 308 industry classification

Industry
Product category
Public K-12 Education
NAICS
Elementary and Secondary Schools (611110), Elementary and Secondary Schools (61111), Educational Support Services (611710)
SIC
Services-Educational Services (8200)
akta.pro primary industry
Public K–12 Combined Schools (EDAJAAAE)
akta.pro secondary industries
Public School Districts (K–12) (EDADABAA), Head Start & Public Pre-K Programs (EDACABAK), Online Credit Recovery & Alternative Pathways (Virtual) (EDAJADAF)

Keywords

  • Public K-12 education
  • Career technical education
  • Early childhood learning
  • STEM magnet programs
  • Virtual schooling

Where USD 308 is headquartered

Location

Headquarters

HQ city
Hutchinson
HQ country
United States
HQ region
North America

Offices1 record

Markets served

USD 308 business model

Business model
GTM type
B2C
Offering type
Services
Cost components
Personnel, Operations, Infrastructure, Others, Supply Chain

Revenue model

  1. Public Education Funding: District funded primarily through local property taxes, state education funding, and federal education programs. Revenue neutral rate policies govern local tax levies.

Pricing tiers

ModelBillingPrice
OtherOthersUniversal free breakfast for all K-12 students

Go-to-market motion1 record

Distribution channels1 record

Marketing channels5 records

USD 308 product offering

Product offering

Core offering

USD 308 (Hutchinson Public Schools) is a unified public school district providing comprehensive K-12 educational services to over 4,000 students from pre-kindergarten through post-high school across 21 facilities in Hutchinson, Kansas. Core offerings include core academic instruction, Career & Technical Education with 22 pathways, the International Baccalaureate Programme, STEM magnet education, virtual schooling, early childhood programs, athletics, and nutrition services including free breakfast for all students.

Product overview

USD 308 operates as a unified public school district offering comprehensive educational services across a platform of 21 facilities including two early learning centers, six elementary schools, two middle schools, and one high school. The district's product portfolio includes core academic programs (K-12), specialized magnet programs (Allen STEM Magnet), career and technical education (CTEA with 22 career pathways), the International Baccalaureate Programme, virtual schooling options, and early childhood development programs. The district serves over 4,000 students pre-kindergarten through post-high school, providing a complete educational continuum from early childhood through secondary education with supporting athletic facilities and community programs.

Differentiator

Problem solved

Functional benefit

Brands

  • Hutchinson Career & Technical Education Academy (HCTEA): A state-of-the-art career and technical education academy offering 22 career pathways including health sciences, engineering, business management, programming, and family and consumer sciences.
  • Allen STEM Magnet
  • Hutchinson Virtual School

Products and services

  • Career & Technical Education Academy (CTEA)
  • International Baccalaureate (IB) Programme
  • Allen STEM Magnet School
  • Hutchinson Virtual School
  • Hutchinson Early Childhood Program
  • Hutchinson High School
  • Hutchinson Middle School 7 & 8
  • Elementary Schools (Faris, Graber, Lincoln-McCandless, Morgan, Wiley)

Quantifiable outcome

  • Best third-grade state English/language arts assessment scores of the past decade in 2025-26, with below-level percentage declining from 55% in 2021-22 to 40% in 2025-26
  • +2 more outcomes

Companies that use USD 308

Customer profile

Named customers1 record

Segments3 records

Ideal customer profiles2 records

USD 308 technology and API

Technology

Technology focussed No

API detail

Has API
No
API docs
API detail

Core technology

AI maturity

App detail

USD 308 partnerships and signals

Strategic signal

Partnerships

Three partnerships are on record, tiered core.

  • Rudd FoundationcoreOthers · 1 January 2026The Rudd Foundation awards full-ride, four-year scholarships to Kansas students demonstrating grit, determination, and strong work ethic. The scholarship covers tuition, room and board, books, and supplies. Scholars also receive mentoring and professional development. The foundation has invested over $10 million in Kansas students since inception.
  • Hutchinson Community CollegecoreStrategic or Co-development Partner · 1 January 2025Partnership with Hutchinson Community College for the building trades program at HCTEA. Students build homes that are then marketed and sold by the college, with proceeds rolling back into the program. Provides students with real-world construction experience while addressing community housing needs.
  • Interfaith HousingcoreStrategic or Co-development Partner · 1 January 2025Partnership with Interfaith Housing for building trades projects. With support from a $708,965 Fostering Residential Advancement through Mentoring and Education (FRAME) grant, the partners built a duplex and single-family home. Future projects may include development of the former St. Elizabeth's Hospital site with multiple housing units.

Scale indicators6 records

Recent moves7 records

Expansion highlights6 records

USD 308 competitors and assessment

Company assessment

Direct peers

  • Wichita Public Schools (USD 259): Largest Kansas public school district, operating a similar K-12 model with CTE, magnet programs, and IB offerings across a multi-school urban footprint. Most directly comparable Kansas district for benchmarking scale, program breadth, and academic outcomes.
  • Salina Public Schools (USD 305): Mid-sized Kansas public district of comparable student population size to USD 308. Similar regional Kansas context, comparable CTE and vocational offerings, and analogous funding profile — a tight size and mission match.
  • Olathe Public Schools (USD 233): High-performing Kansas public district with similar comprehensive program portfolio (IB, CTE, magnet programs). Comparable in operating model but consistently outperforms on academic metrics, making it a useful aspirational benchmark.
  • Derby Public Schools (USD 260): Mid-sized Kansas public school district with similar enrollment scale, program offerings, and funding structure. Closely comparable in operating model and student demographics.
  • Shawnee Mission School District (USD 512): Kansas public school district operating IB, magnet, and CTE programs across a similar multi-school footprint. Comparable in scope of academic programming and governance model.
  • Lawrence Public Schools (USD 497): Kansas public district serving a similar mid-sized city with comparable IB, CTE, and magnet offerings. Directly comparable in program mix and governance accountability.
  • Garden City Public Schools (USD 457): Mid-sized Kansas public school district with comparable enrollment and similar regional demography. Useful peer for benchmarking free-meal programs and CTE pathways in a comparable Kansas operating context.
  • Emporia Public Schools (USD 253): Kansas public district of comparable size operating similar K-12 programming including CTE pathways. Closely matched on enrollment scale and operating model.

Broad incumbents

  • Blue Valley School District (USD 229): Larger, higher-resourced Kansas district with extensive IB, magnet, and STEM programming. Provides a benchmark for premium program offerings and the upper bound of what Kansas public districts can deliver.

Regional players

  • Kansas City Public Schools (KCMO): Adjacent regional public district across the Kansas-Missouri state line. Operates a similar urban K-12 model with magnet, IB, and CTE programs, providing a regional performance and program comparison.

Market position

Strengths5 records

Weaknesses5 records

Competitive moat4 records

Key risks6 records

Key highlights7 records

Customer concentration

USD 308 social profiles

Digital presence

USD 308 financial estimates

Financial estimate

Revenue estimate

Valuation estimate

USD 308 leadership team

Management profile

Number of profiles

Profiles13 records

USD 308 funding detail

Funding detail

Funding overview

Funding rounds

Investors

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

USD 308 M&A and investment

M&A and investment

M&A

Investments

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Frequently asked questions about USD 308

What does USD 308 do?

USD 308 (Hutchinson Public Schools) is a unified public school district providing comprehensive K-12 educational services to over 4,000 students from pre-kindergarten through post-high school across 21 facilities in Hutchinson, Kansas. Core offerings include core academic instruction, Career & Technical Education with 22 pathways, the International Baccalaureate Programme, STEM magnet education, virtual schooling, early childhood programs, athletics, and nutrition services including free breakfast for all students.

Is USD 308 a public or private company?

USD 308 is a private company. It is classified as state government owned and is currently operating.

When was USD 308 founded?

USD 308 was founded in 1966. It employs 11 to 50 people.

Where is USD 308 based?

USD 308 is headquartered in Hutchinson, United States, in the North America region.

How does USD 308 make money?

One revenue line is on record: public Education Funding.

Who are USD 308's main competitors?

Direct peers on record are Wichita Public Schools (USD 259), Salina Public Schools (USD 305), Olathe Public Schools (USD 233), Derby Public Schools (USD 260), Shawnee Mission School District (USD 512), Lawrence Public Schools (USD 497), Garden City Public Schools (USD 457) and Emporia Public Schools (USD 253). Blue Valley School District (USD 229) is listed as a broad incumbent. Kansas City Public Schools (KCMO) is listed as a regional player.

Does USD 308 have an API?

No public API is recorded for USD 308.

What industry is USD 308 in?

USD 308's product category is Public K-12 Education. Its primary akta.pro industry code is EDAJAAAE, Public K–12 Combined Schools, with a secondary code of EDADABAA, Public School Districts (K–12). Its NAICS code is 611110 and its SIC code is 8200.

Unlock the full company data

50 free credits on sign-up, no credit card required.

Contact sales