SMU Continuing and Professional Education
SMU Continuing and Professional Education (SMU CAPE) is the continuing and professional education division of Southern Methodist University, a private research university in Dallas, Texas. It delivers non-degree professional development and lifelong learning programs to adult learners and working professionals, drawing on the resources of SMU's seven degree-granting schools. The division runs on Canvas LMS with IgniteAI-enabled features, uses Simple Syllabus for course publishing, and leverages Microsoft 365 plus ChatGPT and Copilot integrations for productivity. Its revenue model is tuition-based, with pricing not publicly disclosed, and it monetizes primarily through individual learner enrollment rather than enterprise contracts. SMU CAPE benefits from the parent university's brand recognition (top 20% in U.S. News 2026 rankings) and Dallas-Fort Worth location, the fourth-largest U.S. metro.
- Company typePrivate
- Founded1911
- HeadquartersDallas, United States
- Headcount1,001–5,000
- GTM typeB2C
- OfferingServices
SMU Continuing and Professional Education firmographics
Firmographics- Name
- SMU Continuing and Professional Education
- Legal name
- Southern Methodist University
- Website
- https://smu.edu
- Company type
- Private
- Founded year
- 1911
- Operating status
- Operating
- Headcount range
- 1,001–5,000 employees
- Short description
- SMU Continuing and Professional Education (SMU CAPE) is the continuing and professional education division of Southern Methodist University, a private research university in Dallas, Texas. It delivers non-degree professional development and lifelong learning programs to adult learners and working professionals, drawing on the resources of SMU's seven degree-granting schools. The division runs on Canvas LMS with IgniteAI-enabled features, uses Simple Syllabus for course publishing, and leverages Microsoft 365 plus ChatGPT and Copilot integrations for productivity. Its revenue model is tuition-based, with pricing not publicly disclosed, and it monetizes primarily through individual learner enrollment rather than enterprise contracts. SMU CAPE benefits from the parent university's brand recognition (top 20% in U.S. News 2026 rankings) and Dallas-Fort Worth location, the fourth-largest U.S. metro.
- Ownership category
- akta.pro rank
SMU Continuing and Professional Education industry classification
Industry- Product category
- Continuing and Professional Education
- NAICS
- Colleges, Universities, and Professional Schools (611310), Colleges, Universities, and Professional Schools (61131), Colleges, Universities, and Professional Schools (6113)
- SIC
- Services-Educational Services (8200)
- akta.pro primary industry
- Professional & Applied Skills Noncredit Certificates (Non-licensure) (EDAAAEAD)
- akta.pro secondary industry
- Project, Quality & Operations (PMP PDUs, Six Sigma, Quality CE) (EDAAALAM)
Keywords
Where SMU Continuing and Professional Education is headquartered
LocationHeadquarters
- HQ city
- Dallas
- HQ country
- United States
- HQ region
- North America
Offices3 records
Markets served
SMU Continuing and Professional Education business model
Business model- GTM type
- B2C
- Offering type
- Services
- Cost components
- Personnel, Operations, Infrastructure, Technology or R&D, Marketing or Sales, Others
Distribution channels3 records
Marketing channels4 records
SMU Continuing and Professional Education product offering
Product offeringCore offering
SMU Continuing and Professional Education (SMU CAPE) delivers non-degree continuing education, professional development, and executive education programs to adult learners and working professionals as a unit within Southern Methodist University. Programs are offered on-campus in Dallas, online, and through international exchange, leveraging SMU's broader academic resources across its seven degree-granting schools. The division operates alongside SMU's traditional undergraduate, graduate, and professional degree programs.
Product overview
SMU Continuing and Professional Education (SMU CAPE) offers professional education programs and continuing education courses as part of Southern Methodist University. The organization operates within the broader SMU academic ecosystem, providing educational services alongside other SMU schools including Cox School of Business, Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences, Dedman School of Law, Lyle School of Engineering, Meadows School of the Arts, Moody School of Graduate and Advanced Studies, Perkins School of Theology, Simmons School of Education and Human Development, and SMU Guildhall. The source data does not contain specific details about SMU CAPE's individual product offerings or technical infrastructure.
Differentiator
Problem solved
Functional benefit
Brands
- SMU CAPE: SMU Continuing and Professional Education division offering professional development and continuing education programs for adult learners and professionals.
Products and services
- SMU CAPE Continuing and Professional Education Programs A portfolio of non-degree continuing education and professional development programs offered to adult learners and working professionals as part of Southern Methodist University. Delivered on-campus in Dallas, online, and through international exchange, the programs leverage SMU's broader academic resources across its seven degree-granting schools.
- SMU Tech CxO Leadership Excellence Program
Companies that use SMU Continuing and Professional Education
Customer profileSegments3 records
Ideal customer profiles3 records
SMU Continuing and Professional Education technology and API
TechnologyTechnology focussed No
API detail
- Has API
- No
- API docs
- API detail
Core technology
AI maturity
App detail
Feature3 records
SMU Continuing and Professional Education partnerships and signals
Strategic signalScale indicators4 records
Recent moves4 records
Expansion highlights5 records
SMU Continuing and Professional Education competitors and assessment
Company assessmentEmerging players
- Coursera for Business: Enterprise online learning platform that partners with universities for certificate programs and competes for the same corporate upskilling budget that CAPE targets. Represents a structural alternative rather than a direct institution-to-institution competitor.
- Emeritus (Hero Vired / Emeritus): Edtech partner that delivers online professional certificate programs in collaboration with top universities (including SMU at times). Direct challenger in the online CE space where CAPE competes for working professionals.
Direct peers
- Rice University Glasscock School of Continuing Studies: Continuing and professional education unit of another top Texas private university, targeting adult learners and working professionals in Houston. Same operating model (CE arm of a top-tier private research university) within the same state.
- Duke Continuing Studies: Duke's continuing education division providing professional certificates, short courses, and online programs to adult learners. Peer institution with comparable prestige-driven CE positioning.
- USC Bovard College of Professional and Continuing Education: USC's continuing and professional education college offering degrees, certificates, and short programs to adults and international learners. Direct structural peer to SMU CAPE within a major private research university.
- NYU School of Professional Studies: NYU's dedicated continuing and professional education school serving working professionals with degrees, certificates, and short courses. Closest scale and model analog to SMU CAPE among branded private U.S. universities.
- University of Chicago Graham School of Continuing Liberal and Professional Studies: UChicago's continuing and professional studies school offering certificates and degree programs to working adults. Strong brand-driven competitor in the same elite private-university CE category.
- Northwestern University School of Professional Studies: Northwestern's CE school delivering master's degrees, certificates, and executive education to professionals. Comparable model and learner profile to SMU CAPE.
- Georgetown University School of Continuing Studies: Georgetown's continuing education school offering professional master's, certificates, and executive programs. Same branded-university CE model with strong corporate and professional learner base.
Broad incumbents
- Southern Methodist University (Cox School of Business): SMU's own business school offering continuing/executive education and graduate programs to professionals. Direct intra-institutional overlap with SMU CAPE for business-focused learners, sharing the SMU brand and DFW network.
Market position
Strengths4 records
Weaknesses4 records
Competitive moat4 records
Key risks7 records
Key highlights7 records
Customer concentration
SMU Continuing and Professional Education social profiles
Digital presenceSMU Continuing and Professional Education financial estimates
Financial estimateRevenue estimate
Valuation estimate
SMU Continuing and Professional Education leadership team
Management profileNumber of profiles
Profiles3 records
SMU Continuing and Professional Education subsidiaries and ownership
Company hierarchySubsidiaries11 records
SMU Continuing and Professional Education funding detail
Funding detailFunding overview
Funding rounds
Investors
Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →
SMU Continuing and Professional Education M&A and investment
M&A and investmentM&A
Investments
M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →
Frequently asked questions about SMU Continuing and Professional Education
What does SMU Continuing and Professional Education do?
SMU Continuing and Professional Education (SMU CAPE) delivers non-degree continuing education, professional development, and executive education programs to adult learners and working professionals as a unit within Southern Methodist University. Programs are offered on-campus in Dallas, online, and through international exchange, leveraging SMU's broader academic resources across its seven degree-granting schools. The division operates alongside SMU's traditional undergraduate, graduate, and professional degree programs.
Is SMU Continuing and Professional Education a public or private company?
SMU Continuing and Professional Education is a private company. It is classified as nonprofit foundation owned and is currently operating.
When was SMU Continuing and Professional Education founded?
SMU Continuing and Professional Education was founded in 1911. It employs 1,001 to 5,000 people.
Where is SMU Continuing and Professional Education based?
SMU Continuing and Professional Education is headquartered in Dallas, United States, in the North America region.
Who are SMU Continuing and Professional Education's main competitors?
Emerging players on record are Coursera for Business and Emeritus (Hero Vired / Emeritus). Direct peers are Rice University Glasscock School of Continuing Studies, Duke Continuing Studies, USC Bovard College of Professional and Continuing Education, NYU School of Professional Studies, University of Chicago Graham School of Continuing Liberal and Professional Studies, Northwestern University School of Professional Studies and Georgetown University School of Continuing Studies. Southern Methodist University (Cox School of Business) is listed as a broad incumbent.
Does SMU Continuing and Professional Education have an API?
No public API is recorded for SMU Continuing and Professional Education.
What industry is SMU Continuing and Professional Education in?
SMU Continuing and Professional Education's product category is Continuing and Professional Education. Its primary akta.pro industry code is EDAAAEAD, Professional & Applied Skills Noncredit Certificates (Non-licensure), with a secondary code of EDAAALAM, Project, Quality & Operations (PMP PDUs, Six Sigma, Quality CE). Its NAICS code is 611310 and its SIC code is 8200.