Developer docs
API playgroundTry for free, no card

Search company profiles

Clarke-Washington Electric Membership

Full company profile

uuid000rax8

Namestring
Clarke-Washington Electric Membership
Legal namestring
Clarke-Washington Electric Membership Corporation
Websiteurl
cwemc.com
Company typeenum
Private
Founded yearint
1936
Descriptiontext

Clarke-Washington Electric Membership Corporation (CWEMC, DBA Clarke-Washington EMC / CWEMC) is a not-for-profit, member-owned electric distribution cooperative headquartered at 9000 Highway 43 in Jackson, Alabama, with a branch office in Chatom. Organized on March 2, 1936, in Coffeeville, Alabama, the cooperative energized its first lines in July 1937, having received the first Rural Electrification Administration loan issued in the state ($65,000 on September 5, 1936). It serves approximately 20,007 meters across 4,152 miles of distribution line in Clarke and Washington counties and portions of Wilcox and Monroe counties in Alabama; wholesale power is procured through PowerSouth Energy Cooperative, a generation-and-transmission provider serving 20 distribution members.

The cooperative's core product is regulated electricity distribution to residential members (with commercial service also offered but not separately quantified), supplemented by member-facing services including E-Bill/Auto Pay, a mobile app, a CheckOut barcode payment network, levelized billing, solar-energy advisory consultations, home-energy calculator/adventure tools, and educational initiatives such as the Youth Tour, Safety City demonstrations, Kids Korner, scholarships, and the Alabama Living magazine. Technology is conventional utility infrastructure — state-of-the-art distribution equipment with extensive right-of-way and tree-trimming programs — paired with a digital member portal and mobile application; no AI/ML capabilities, patents, or proprietary platforms are evidenced in the input data.

CWEMC operates under a sales-led, community-driven go-to-market: new members pay a $5 membership fee, $5 application fee, and $40-$50 connection fee, after which they pay recurring monthly electricity charges. Credit/debit payments carry a $2.00 convenience fee and e-check payments a $1.00 fee (pass-throughs to the payment processor). As a cooperative, any annual margins after expenses are allocated back to members as capital credits rather than retained as profit; revenue is not publicly disclosed. Governance is by a nine-member elected board of directors representing geographic districts, with three-year terms.

Short descriptiontext

Clarke-Washington EMC is a not-for-profit, member-owned electric distribution cooperative that has served approximately 20,007 meters across 4,152 miles of line in rural Alabama (Clarke and Washington counties) since 1937, procuring wholesale power through PowerSouth Energy Cooperative.

Operating statusenum
Operating
Ownership categoryenum
Headcount rangeband
11–50
akta.pro rankint
HeadquartersJackson, United States
HQ citystring
Jackson
HQ countrystring
United States
HQ regionstring
North America
Markets served

Serves global market

Offices2 records

Each record includes

City, Country, Type, Description, Source

Keyword5 values
rural electric distribution, electric cooperative services, member-owned utility, electricity distribution network, energy billing services
Industry1 code
1Electric Cooperatives (Rural/Member-Owned Utilities)
CodeEUADABACPrimaryYes
NAICS code2 codes
  • Electric Power Distribution221122
  • Electric Power Generation, Transmission and Distribution2211
SIC code1 code
  • Electric Services4911
Product category
Rural Electric Distribution
GTM motion1 record

Each record includes

Type, Description, Source

Revenue model3 records
1Electric Distribution Service
TypeSubscription Recurring
Description

The cooperative generates revenue through monthly electricity distribution fees charged to its approximately 20,007 member-customers. As a not-for-profit cooperative, any remaining margins at year-end are allocated back to members in the form of capital credits based on their electricity usage.

cwemc.com
2Membership and Connection Fees
TypeOne Time License
Description

New members pay a $5 membership fee, $5 application fee, and a $50 connection fee (if service line not attached to house) or $40 connection fee (if service line is connected). Name change transfers cost $5.

cwemc.com
3Payment Processing Fees
TypeTransaction Fee
Description

Convenience fees charged for credit/debit card payments ($2.00 per transaction) and e-check payments ($1.00 per transaction). These are pass-through fees from the payment processing company.

cwemc.com
Marketing channels6 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Stage, Description, Source

Distribution channels6 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Scope, Target buyer, Description, Source

Cost components6 values
Operations, Infrastructure, Personnel, Technology or R&D, Marketing or Sales, Supply Chain
Pricing details1 tier
1Standard residential electricity service with various payment options
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceMonthly
Notes

$5 membership fee, $5 application fee, $40-$50 connection fee depending on service line status. Monthly billing with options for E-Bill, Auto Pay, Levelized Billing, Bank Draft, or Credit Card Draft.

cwemc.com
GTM typeB2C
B2C
Offering typeServices
Services
Core offering1 text field

Clarke-Washington EMC distributes electricity to approximately 20,007 residential and commercial member-owners across Clarke and Washington counties and portions of Wilcox and Monroe counties in Alabama through 4,152 miles of power lines. The cooperative sells electric service as its core product, charges a $5 membership fee plus connection fees for new accounts, and supports billing through an online portal, mobile app, barcode payments, and walk-in offices. As a not-for-profit cooperative, year-end margins are allocated back to members as capital credits rather than retained as profit.

Differentiator
Functional benefit
Problem solved
Quantifiable outcome1 value
  • One of the best outage records of any cooperative in the area despite heavily forested service territory
Product overview1 text field

Clarke-Washington Electric Membership Corporation operates as a not-for-profit electric cooperative providing core electricity distribution services to residential and commercial members across Clarke and Washington counties in Alabama. The cooperative offers a unified portfolio of electric service products supplemented by member-facing digital tools including E-Bill/Auto Pay, CheckOut barcode payments, a mobile app, and online calculators. Additional offerings include solar energy advisory services, scholarship programs, and safety education initiatives like Safety City. The cooperative was founded in 1937 and is headquartered in Jackson, Alabama.

Product and service1 record
1Electric Distribution Service
Scale indicator8 records

Each record includes

Type, Value, Description, Source

Partnership4 partners
Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

PowerSouth Energy Cooperative, headquartered in Andalusia, Alabama, is a generation and transmission (G&T) electric cooperative that serves the wholesale power needs of 20 distribution members, including 16 electric cooperatives and four municipal electric systems, in Alabama and northwest Florida. Clarke-Washington EMC receives its wholesale power supply through this partnership.

Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

AREA is a member-owned federation of rural electric cooperatives providing a wide range of services statewide. The 23 rural electric cooperatives that make up AREA's membership, including Clarke-Washington EMC, deliver power to more than 1 million people, representing one-fourth of Alabama's population.

Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

NRECA is a national service organization representing more than 900 rural electric systems in 47 states. NRECA works to empower electric cooperatives through advocacy in Washington D.C., professional development for employees, promotion of the cooperative model, legal and tax research, and community development initiatives.

Strategic tierMinorTypeGTM or Marketing Partner
Description

Touchstone Energy is a national cooperative brand used by Clarke-Washington EMC on their website, providing a unified identity for electric cooperatives and enabling marketing resources and tools.

Recent move6 records

Each record includes

Date, Type, Title, Description, Source

Expansion highlight4 records

Each record includes

Type, Description

Peers10 records
TypeBroad incumbent
Description

Generation-and-transmission electric cooperative headquartered in Andalusia, Alabama, that supplies Clarke-Washington EMC and 19 other distribution members across Alabama and NW Florida. Directly comparable as the wholesale supplier and as a fellow Alabama electric cooperative structure.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Alabama rural electric distribution cooperative serving members across northwest Alabama. Closely comparable member-owned EMC with similar not-for-profit distribution model, member governance, and rural residential customer base.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Member-owned electric distribution cooperative serving Cullman County and surrounding areas in north-central Alabama. Directly comparable as a Touchstone Energy-affiliated Alabama EMC with similar revenue model and member programs.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Alabama rural electric distribution cooperative serving parts of west Alabama. Comparable in scale, mission, and structure as a member-owned EMC operating in adjacent rural counties.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Member-owned electric cooperative serving parts of central and east-central Alabama. Closely comparable not-for-profit EMC structure, member programs, and rural distribution focus.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Alabama electric distribution cooperative serving rural Sand Mountain region in northeast Alabama. Comparable rural EMC with similar scale, governance, and Touchstone Energy affiliation.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Member-owned Alabama EMC serving portions of central Alabama. Directly comparable as a Touchstone Energy cooperative with similar not-for-profit distribution and member governance model.

8Baldwin County Electric Membership Corporation
TypeDirect peer
Description

Alabama EMC serving Baldwin County in south Alabama. Directly comparable member-owned electric cooperative with similar coastal-rural geography and member programs.

TypeOthers
Description

Federation representing Alabama's 23 rural electric cooperatives including Clarke-Washington EMC, collectively serving over 1 million Alabamians. Comparable as the state-level trade association governing the cooperative ecosystem in which Clarke-Washington operates.

TypeOthers
Description

National service organization for more than 900 rural electric systems across 47 states, providing advocacy, training, and cooperative brand support to Clarke-Washington EMC and other member systems.

Market position
Strengths5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Weaknesses5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Competitive moat4 records

Each record includes

Type, Details

Key risks6 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Key highlights7 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Customer concentration

Classification, Details

Named customers1 record

Each record includes

Name, Industry, Type, Use case, Source, UUID

Segment1 record

Each record includes

Title, Type, Primary, Description, Pain point addressed, Use case, Source

Ideal customer profile2 records

Each record includes

Profile, Firmographic size, Sales motion, Sales cycle length, Buying structure, Purchase trigger, Buyer persona, Geography, Industry vertical, Primary use case, Description, Pain points, Evidence proof points, Target buyer

Technology focused
No
API detail
Has APIbool
No

Docs URL, Description

AI maturity
App detail

Has app

Core technology
Revenue estimate
Valuation estimate
Number of profiles
Profiles19 records

Each record includes

Name, Designation, Designation category, Overview, Profile commentary, Source

No data
No data
Funding overview

Funding stage, Last funding date, Total funding USD

Funding rounds

Each record includes

Round, Amount USD, Date, Pre money valuation, Total investors, Investors, News

Investors

Each record includes

Name, Type, Date of entry, Rounds participated, Website

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

M&A

Each record includes

Name, Acquisition type, Announced date, Completed date, Status, Website, News

Investment

Each record includes

Name, Round, Announced date, Lead investor, Website, News

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Clarke-Washington Electric Membership

Rural Electric Distributioncwemc.com

Clarke-Washington EMC is a not-for-profit, member-owned electric distribution cooperative that has served approximately 20,007 meters across 4,152 miles of line in rural Alabama (Clarke and Washington counties) since 1937, procuring wholesale power through PowerSouth Energy Cooperative.

What Clarke-Washington Electric Membership does

Clarke-Washington Electric Membership Corporation (CWEMC, DBA Clarke-Washington EMC / CWEMC) is a not-for-profit, member-owned electric distribution cooperative headquartered at 9000 Highway 43 in Jackson, Alabama, with a branch office in Chatom. Organized on March 2, 1936, in Coffeeville, Alabama, the cooperative energized its first lines in July 1937, having received the first Rural Electrification Administration loan issued in the state ($65,000 on September 5, 1936). It serves approximately 20,007 meters across 4,152 miles of distribution line in Clarke and Washington counties and portions of Wilcox and Monroe counties in Alabama; wholesale power is procured through PowerSouth Energy Cooperative, a generation-and-transmission provider serving 20 distribution members.

The cooperative's core product is regulated electricity distribution to residential members (with commercial service also offered but not separately quantified), supplemented by member-facing services including E-Bill/Auto Pay, a mobile app, a CheckOut barcode payment network, levelized billing, solar-energy advisory consultations, home-energy calculator/adventure tools, and educational initiatives such as the Youth Tour, Safety City demonstrations, Kids Korner, scholarships, and the Alabama Living magazine. Technology is conventional utility infrastructure — state-of-the-art distribution equipment with extensive right-of-way and tree-trimming programs — paired with a digital member portal and mobile application; no AI/ML capabilities, patents, or proprietary platforms are evidenced in the input data.

CWEMC operates under a sales-led, community-driven go-to-market: new members pay a $5 membership fee, $5 application fee, and $40-$50 connection fee, after which they pay recurring monthly electricity charges. Credit/debit payments carry a $2.00 convenience fee and e-check payments a $1.00 fee (pass-throughs to the payment processor). As a cooperative, any annual margins after expenses are allocated back to members as capital credits rather than retained as profit; revenue is not publicly disclosed. Governance is by a nine-member elected board of directors representing geographic districts, with three-year terms.

Clarke-Washington Electric Membership firmographics

Firmographics
Name
Clarke-Washington Electric Membership
Legal name
Clarke-Washington Electric Membership Corporation
Website
https://cwemc.com
Company type
Private
Founded year
1936
Operating status
Operating
Headcount range
11–50 employees
Short description
Clarke-Washington EMC is a not-for-profit, member-owned electric distribution cooperative that has served approximately 20,007 meters across 4,152 miles of line in rural Alabama (Clarke and Washington counties) since 1937, procuring wholesale power through PowerSouth Energy Cooperative.
Ownership category
akta.pro rank

Clarke-Washington Electric Membership industry classification

Industry
Product category
Rural Electric Distribution
NAICS
Electric Power Distribution (221122), Electric Power Generation, Transmission and Distribution (2211)
SIC
Electric Services (4911)
akta.pro primary industry
Electric Cooperatives (Rural/Member-Owned Utilities) (EUADABAC)

Keywords

  • Rural electric distribution
  • Electric cooperative services
  • Member-owned utility
  • Electricity distribution network
  • Energy billing services

Where Clarke-Washington Electric Membership is headquartered

Location

Headquarters

HQ city
Jackson
HQ country
United States
HQ region
North America

Offices2 records

Markets served

Clarke-Washington Electric Membership business model

Business model
GTM type
B2C
Offering type
Services
Cost components
Operations, Infrastructure, Personnel, Technology or R&D, Marketing or Sales, Supply Chain

Revenue model

  1. Electric Distribution Service: The cooperative generates revenue through monthly electricity distribution fees charged to its approximately 20,007 member-customers. As a not-for-profit cooperative, any remaining margins at year-end are allocated back to members in the form of capital credits based on their electricity usage.
  2. Membership and Connection Fees: New members pay a $5 membership fee, $5 application fee, and a $50 connection fee (if service line not attached to house) or $40 connection fee (if service line is connected). Name change transfers cost $5.
  3. Payment Processing Fees: Convenience fees charged for credit/debit card payments ($2.00 per transaction) and e-check payments ($1.00 per transaction). These are pass-through fees from the payment processing company.

Pricing tiers

ModelBillingPrice
SubscriptionMonthlyStandard residential electricity service with various payment options

Go-to-market motion1 record

Distribution channels6 records

Marketing channels6 records

Clarke-Washington Electric Membership product offering

Product offering

Core offering

Clarke-Washington EMC distributes electricity to approximately 20,007 residential and commercial member-owners across Clarke and Washington counties and portions of Wilcox and Monroe counties in Alabama through 4,152 miles of power lines. The cooperative sells electric service as its core product, charges a $5 membership fee plus connection fees for new accounts, and supports billing through an online portal, mobile app, barcode payments, and walk-in offices. As a not-for-profit cooperative, year-end margins are allocated back to members as capital credits rather than retained as profit.

Product overview

Clarke-Washington Electric Membership Corporation operates as a not-for-profit electric cooperative providing core electricity distribution services to residential and commercial members across Clarke and Washington counties in Alabama. The cooperative offers a unified portfolio of electric service products supplemented by member-facing digital tools including E-Bill/Auto Pay, CheckOut barcode payments, a mobile app, and online calculators. Additional offerings include solar energy advisory services, scholarship programs, and safety education initiatives like Safety City. The cooperative was founded in 1937 and is headquartered in Jackson, Alabama.

Differentiator

Problem solved

Functional benefit

Products and services

  • Electric Distribution Service

Quantifiable outcome

  • One of the best outage records of any cooperative in the area despite heavily forested service territory

Companies that use Clarke-Washington Electric Membership

Customer profile

Named customers1 record

Segments1 record

Ideal customer profiles2 records

Clarke-Washington Electric Membership technology and API

Technology

Technology focussed No

API detail

Has API
No
API docs
API detail

Core technology

AI maturity

App detail

Clarke-Washington Electric Membership partnerships and signals

Strategic signal

Partnerships

Four partnerships are on record, tiered core and minor.

  • PowerSouth Energy CooperativecoreStrategic or Co-development PartnerPowerSouth Energy Cooperative, headquartered in Andalusia, Alabama, is a generation and transmission (G&T) electric cooperative that serves the wholesale power needs of 20 distribution members, including 16 electric cooperatives and four municipal electric systems, in Alabama and northwest Florida. Clarke-Washington EMC receives its wholesale power supply through this partnership.
  • Alabama Rural Electric Association (AREA)coreStrategic or Co-development PartnerAREA is a member-owned federation of rural electric cooperatives providing a wide range of services statewide. The 23 rural electric cooperatives that make up AREA's membership, including Clarke-Washington EMC, deliver power to more than 1 million people, representing one-fourth of Alabama's population.
  • National Rural Electric Cooperative Association (NRECA)coreStrategic or Co-development PartnerNRECA is a national service organization representing more than 900 rural electric systems in 47 states. NRECA works to empower electric cooperatives through advocacy in Washington D.C., professional development for employees, promotion of the cooperative model, legal and tax research, and community development initiatives.
  • Touchstone EnergyminorGTM or Marketing PartnerTouchstone Energy is a national cooperative brand used by Clarke-Washington EMC on their website, providing a unified identity for electric cooperatives and enabling marketing resources and tools.

Scale indicators8 records

Recent moves6 records

Expansion highlights4 records

Clarke-Washington Electric Membership competitors and assessment

Company assessment

Broad incumbents

  • PowerSouth Energy Cooperative: Generation-and-transmission electric cooperative headquartered in Andalusia, Alabama, that supplies Clarke-Washington EMC and 19 other distribution members across Alabama and NW Florida. Directly comparable as the wholesale supplier and as a fellow Alabama electric cooperative structure.

Direct peers

  • Joe Wheeler Electric Membership Corporation: Alabama rural electric distribution cooperative serving members across northwest Alabama. Closely comparable member-owned EMC with similar not-for-profit distribution model, member governance, and rural residential customer base.
  • Cullman Electric Cooperative: Member-owned electric distribution cooperative serving Cullman County and surrounding areas in north-central Alabama. Directly comparable as a Touchstone Energy-affiliated Alabama EMC with similar revenue model and member programs.
  • Tombigbee Electric Cooperative: Alabama rural electric distribution cooperative serving parts of west Alabama. Comparable in scale, mission, and structure as a member-owned EMC operating in adjacent rural counties.
  • Coosa Valley Electric Cooperative: Member-owned electric cooperative serving parts of central and east-central Alabama. Closely comparable not-for-profit EMC structure, member programs, and rural distribution focus.
  • Sand Mountain Electric Cooperative: Alabama electric distribution cooperative serving rural Sand Mountain region in northeast Alabama. Comparable rural EMC with similar scale, governance, and Touchstone Energy affiliation.
  • Central Alabama Electric Cooperative: Member-owned Alabama EMC serving portions of central Alabama. Directly comparable as a Touchstone Energy cooperative with similar not-for-profit distribution and member governance model.
  • Baldwin County Electric Membership Corporation: Alabama EMC serving Baldwin County in south Alabama. Directly comparable member-owned electric cooperative with similar coastal-rural geography and member programs.

Others

  • Alabama Rural Electric Association (AREA): Federation representing Alabama's 23 rural electric cooperatives including Clarke-Washington EMC, collectively serving over 1 million Alabamians. Comparable as the state-level trade association governing the cooperative ecosystem in which Clarke-Washington operates.
  • National Rural Electric Cooperative Association (NRECA): National service organization for more than 900 rural electric systems across 47 states, providing advocacy, training, and cooperative brand support to Clarke-Washington EMC and other member systems.

Market position

Strengths5 records

Weaknesses5 records

Competitive moat4 records

Key risks6 records

Key highlights7 records

Customer concentration

Clarke-Washington Electric Membership social profiles

Digital presence

Clarke-Washington Electric Membership financial estimates

Financial estimate

Revenue estimate

Valuation estimate

Clarke-Washington Electric Membership leadership team

Management profile

Number of profiles

Profiles19 records

Clarke-Washington Electric Membership funding detail

Funding detail

Funding overview

Funding rounds

Investors

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Clarke-Washington Electric Membership M&A and investment

M&A and investment

M&A

Investments

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Frequently asked questions about Clarke-Washington Electric Membership

What does Clarke-Washington Electric Membership do?

Clarke-Washington EMC distributes electricity to approximately 20,007 residential and commercial member-owners across Clarke and Washington counties and portions of Wilcox and Monroe counties in Alabama through 4,152 miles of power lines. The cooperative sells electric service as its core product, charges a $5 membership fee plus connection fees for new accounts, and supports billing through an online portal, mobile app, barcode payments, and walk-in offices. As a not-for-profit cooperative, year-end margins are allocated back to members as capital credits rather than retained as profit.

Is Clarke-Washington Electric Membership a public or private company?

Clarke-Washington Electric Membership is a private company. It is classified as nonprofit foundation owned and is currently operating.

When was Clarke-Washington Electric Membership founded?

Clarke-Washington Electric Membership was founded in 1936. It employs 11 to 50 people.

Where is Clarke-Washington Electric Membership based?

Clarke-Washington Electric Membership is headquartered in Jackson, United States, in the North America region.

How does Clarke-Washington Electric Membership make money?

Three revenue lines are on record. Electric Distribution Service is the primary driver. The others are membership and Connection Fees and payment Processing Fees.

Who are Clarke-Washington Electric Membership's main competitors?

PowerSouth Energy Cooperative is listed as a broad incumbent. Direct peers are Joe Wheeler Electric Membership Corporation, Cullman Electric Cooperative, Tombigbee Electric Cooperative, Coosa Valley Electric Cooperative, Sand Mountain Electric Cooperative, Central Alabama Electric Cooperative and Baldwin County Electric Membership Corporation. Others are Alabama Rural Electric Association (AREA) and National Rural Electric Cooperative Association (NRECA).

Does Clarke-Washington Electric Membership have an API?

No public API is recorded for Clarke-Washington Electric Membership.

What industry is Clarke-Washington Electric Membership in?

Clarke-Washington Electric Membership's product category is Rural Electric Distribution. Its primary akta.pro industry code is EUADABAC, Electric Cooperatives (Rural/Member-Owned Utilities). Its NAICS code is 221122 and its SIC code is 4911.

Unlock the full company data

50 free credits on sign-up, no credit card required.

Contact sales