Developer docs
API playgroundTry for free, no card

Search company profiles

First Peoples Community Federal Credit Union

Full company profile

uuid000rc1f

Namestring
First Peoples Community Federal Credit Union
Legal namestring
First Peoples Community Federal Credit Union
Company typeenum
Private
Founded yearint
1960
Descriptiontext

First Peoples Community Federal Credit Union is a federally chartered, member-owned cooperative credit union headquartered in Cumberland, Maryland. Founded in 1960 as Amcelle Employees Federal Credit Union, it was rechartered over time into a community chartered institution serving residents and workers across 9 counties spanning Maryland (Allegany, Garrett, Washington), Pennsylvania (Somerset, Bedford, Fulton), and West Virginia (Mineral, Hampshire, Morgan). Membership is opened via a $5 share account and entitles each member to pro-rata ownership; there are no outside shareholders. The credit union operates 21 branch and TAP (Teller Access Point) sites, supported by Interactive Teller Machines (video-enabled ATMs), a Call Access Teller phone channel, and online/mobile banking with mobile deposit.

The product platform spans personal and commercial banking: eFirst Checking, Regular Share Savings, Money Market, Certificates (including IRAs), auto, home equity, home, personal/signature, RV/ATV/motorcycle loans, and Visa credit cards (Emerald and Platinum). Beyond core banking, the institution distributes wealth management through an LPL Financial partnership (First Peoples Wealth Management Services, advised by VP Aaron Strawderman), offers merchant services via Helcim, and runs community-engagement programs including SwipeBoost (debit-card-linked donations to 25+ schools and organizations, totaling over $207,000 historically) and Banzai-sponsored financial literacy curriculum in 39+ schools. In August 2025, the credit union added a Greenlight partnership providing family-facing money management and a kids' debit card.

Revenue is generated through interest income on the loan portfolio, the deposit interest spread characteristic of cooperative mutuals (with profits returned to members via better rates and lower fees), an itemized fee schedule (overdraft $40, ATM foreign withdrawal $1, wires $15–$57, research $30 per half-hour, membership maintenance $5), and a $5 share-account entry. Revenue figures are not publicly disclosed; pricing details visible on disclosures include auto loans as low as 2.99% APR, a Freedom Loan Promo at 2.50% APR, 9-month CDs up to 3.85% APY, and 30-year fixed mortgages as low as 6.375% APR. The institution is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors chaired by Chris Carpenter, with Randy Olsen as President & CEO, Kelly Brown as EVP & COO, and Alison Sweitzer as SVP & CFO.

Short descriptiontext

First Peoples Community Federal Credit Union is a federally chartered, member-owned community credit union serving 9 counties across Maryland, Pennsylvania, and West Virginia via 21 branches, ITMs, and digital banking, offering personal/business loans, deposits, wealth, and merchant services to retail, business, and community organization members.

Operating statusenum
Operating
Ownership categoryenum
Headcount rangeband
11–50
akta.pro rankint
HeadquartersCumberland, United States
HQ citystring
Cumberland
HQ countrystring
United States
HQ regionstring
North America
Markets served

Serves global market

Offices20 records

Each record includes

City, Country, Type, Description, Source

Keyword5 values
community credit union, personal banking services, consumer lending products, business banking solutions, digital banking platform
Industry2 codes
1Community Credit Unions (Retail/Consumer Focus)
CodeFSABAEAAPrimaryYes
2Cooperative Banks (Member-Owned Commercial/Retail)
CodeFSABAEAFPrimaryNo
NAICS code3 codes
  • Credit Unions52213
  • Credit Unions522130
  • Credit Card Issuing522210
SIC code1 code
  • Personal Credit Institutions6141
Product category
Community Banking
GTM motion2 records

Each record includes

Type, Description, Source

Revenue model4 records
1Interest Income on Loans
TypeTransaction Fee
Description

Primary revenue stream from interest charged on various loan products including mortgages, auto loans, personal loans, credit cards, home equity loans, and recreational vehicle loans

firstpeoples.com
2Service Fees
TypeTransaction Fee
Description

Various fees including ATM fees, overdraft fees, wire transfer fees, account maintenance fees, stop payment fees, research fees, and other banking service charges

firstpeoples.com
3Membership Fees
TypeSubscription Recurring
Description

$5 share account required for membership; membership maintenance fee of $5

firstpeoples.com
4Deposit Interest Spread
TypeTransaction Fee
Description

Not-for-profit financial institution where profits are allocated to members through improvements, dividends, low loan rates, and high deposit rates

firstpeoples.com
Marketing channels5 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Stage, Description, Source

Distribution channels5 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Scope, Target buyer, Description, Source

Cost components6 values
Personnel, Operations, Infrastructure, Technology or R&D, Marketing or Sales, Others
Pricing details8 tiers
1Auto Loans
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceMonthly
Notes

2023 & newer: 0-36 months as low as 3.25%; 37-48 months as low as 3.49%; 49-60 months as low as 3.99%; 61-72 months as low as 4.49%; 73-84 months as low as 4.99%

firstpeoples.com
2Freedom Loan Promo
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceMonthly
Notes

Borrow up to $2,500 for as low as 2.50% for up to 12 months. $500 minimum, $500 maximum. Credit score minimum 625. Available 07/01/2026 through 07/31/2026

firstpeoples.com
330-Year Fixed Rate Mortgage
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceMonthly
Notes

As low as 6.375% APR for 30-year fixed rate mortgage

firstpeoples.com
49-Month Share Certificate Special
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

Earn up to 3.85% APY. $500 minimum deposit and early withdrawal penalty applies

firstpeoples.com
5Service Fee Schedule
ModelTransaction based/ take rateBilling cadenceMonthly
Notes

ATM Foreign Withdrawal: $1.00; ATM/ACH Overdraft: $40.00; Wire Transfer-Incoming: $15.00; Wire Transfer-Outgoing: $20.00; Wire Transfer-Outgoing International: $57.00; Membership Maintenance Fee: $5.00; Research: $30.00 per 1/2 hour

firstpeoples.com
6Membership Share Account
ModelOne time/ perpetual licenseBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

$5 minimum deposit required to open share account and become a member

firstpeoples.com
7eFirst Checking
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceMonthly
Notes

Up to $25,000: 2.00% APY; Balance in excess of $25,000: 0.10% APY

firstpeoples.com
8Visa Credit Cards
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceMonthly
Notes

Visa Emerald (Classic): 11.50% APR; Visa Platinum: 8.99% APR

firstpeoples.com
GTM typeB2C
B2C
Offering typeServices
Services
Core offering1 text field

First Peoples Community Federal Credit Union is a federally chartered, member-owned cooperative credit union providing retail and commercial banking products including checking, savings, certificates, IRAs, mortgages, auto loans, personal loans, home equity loans, credit cards, and recreational vehicle loans. The credit union serves members across 21 branch locations spanning nine counties in Maryland, Pennsylvania, and West Virginia, complemented by interactive teller machines (ITMs), online banking, mobile banking, and a member connection center. Supplementary offerings include merchant services, wealth management through an LPL Financial partnership, and the Greenlight family finance app partnership.

Differentiator
Functional benefit
Problem solved
Quantifiable outcome1 of 3 values shown
  • Over $207,000 donated to schools and organizations through SwipeBoost program
+2 more records
Product overview1 text field

First Peoples Community Federal Credit Union offers a traditional credit union banking platform with personal and business banking products including checking, savings, certificates, and various loan products. The credit union provides digital banking services through online and mobile platforms, interactive teller machines, and phone-based teller services. Supplementary services include wealth management partnerships, merchant services for businesses, financial wellness education through Banzai, and a Greenlight partnership for family banking solutions.

Product and service16 records
1eFirst Checking
CategoryPersonal Checking
Description

Electronic checking account with digital banking features and tiered interest rates for personal banking members.

2Regular Share Savings
CategoryPersonal Savings
Description

Basic savings account offering competitive rates for personal members, opened with a $5 minimum deposit that establishes membership.

3Business Checking
CategoryBusiness Banking
Description

Commercial checking account designed for business members with tailored features for local business operations.

4Non-Profit Checking
CategoryBusiness Banking
Description

Checking account designed for non-profit organizations with features tailored to their specific banking needs.

5Money Market
CategoryPersonal Savings
Description

Money market savings account offering higher interest rates with tiered rate options.

6Certificates (CDs)
CategoryPersonal Savings
Description

Certificate of Deposit accounts with various term lengths for savings growth, including a 9-month share certificate special earning up to 3.85% APY.

7IRA Certificates
CategoryRetirement Savings
Description

Individual Retirement Account certificates for retirement savings.

8Auto Loans
CategoryConsumer Lending
Description

Vehicle financing for personal automobiles with various term options, with rates as low as 2.99% APR for 2023 and newer vehicles.

9Home Equity Loans and Lines of Credit
CategoryConsumer Lending
Description

Home equity loans and lines of credit allowing members to borrow against their home's equity.

10Personal/Signature Loans
CategoryConsumer Lending
Description

Unsecured personal loans for various financial needs, including a Freedom Loan Promo offering up to $2,500 at 2.50% APR for up to 12 months.

11RV/ATV/Motorcycle Loans
CategoryConsumer Lending
Description

Recreational vehicle financing for RVs, ATVs, and motorcycles.

12Visa Credit Cards (Emerald and Platinum)
CategoryConsumer Lending
Description

Credit card products including Visa Emerald (Classic) at 11.50% APR and Visa Platinum at 8.99% APR.

13Home Loans (Mortgages)
CategoryConsumer Lending
Description

Residential mortgage products including a 30-year fixed rate mortgage as low as 6.375% APR.

14Business Lending
CategoryBusiness Lending
Description

Portfolio of low-cost business lending services designed for local businesses, with local decision-making.

15Merchant Services
CategoryBusiness Services
Description

Payment processing services for business members using Helcim for Visa card transactions.

16FP Wealth Management
CategoryWealth Management
Description

Wealth management and investment advisory services provided in partnership with LPL Financial for personal and business members.

Scale indicator7 records

Each record includes

Type, Value, Description, Source

Partnership4 partners
Strategic tierCoreTypeGTM or Marketing PartnerAnnounced on2025-08-01
Description

Partnership with Greenlight to offer family finance and safety app with debit card for kids. First Peoples members receive free Greenlight Select subscription. Exclusive discounts on premium plans (Infinity Select $9.99/mo, Family Shield Select $18.99/mo). Greenlight provides money management, chores/allowance, savings goals, and financial literacy for 6+ million families.

Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Award-winning interactive financial literacy curriculum partnership. First Peoples sponsors Banzai learning in dozens of high schools in MD, WV, and PA communities. FREE to students, teachers, and members. Topics include saving for college, using credit cards, buying a house. Sponsoring over 39 schools in charter area.

Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Wealth management partnership through First Peoples Wealth Management Services. LPL provides investment advisory and brokerage services. Aaron Strawderman is LPL Investment Advisor Representative. Referrals generated through agreement allowing LPL to pay for referrals.

Strategic tierMinorTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Merged with BEDCO FCU in January 2025, expanding credit union's member base and service area.

Recent move7 records

Each record includes

Date, Type, Title, Description, Source

Expansion highlight6 records

Each record includes

Type, Description

Peers10 records
TypeDirect peer
Description

Community-chartered federal credit union serving central Pennsylvania with a similar product set (checking, savings, loans, digital banking). Direct comparable in size, structure, and rural tri-county footprint in PA counties overlapping First Peoples' service area.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Pennsylvania-headquartered community credit union with branch network and full retail/business banking services. Comparable as a community FCU operating across multiple PA counties with similar digital and branch delivery model.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Community-chartered federal credit union based in western Pennsylvania serving multiple counties with retail and business banking. Direct comparable on charter type, geographic region, and product mix.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Community credit union operating in south-central Pennsylvania with retail and small-business banking. Direct comparable on community charter, mid-sized branch network, and member-owned cooperative model.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

Large regional bank with significant branch presence across Maryland, Pennsylvania, and West Virginia - the same tri-state footprint as First Peoples. Overlaps directly in retail deposits, mortgages, and small-business banking, and represents the dominant incumbent competitive threat.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

Regional bank holding company with branches across Pennsylvania, Maryland, and West Virginia. Competes with First Peoples on consumer deposits, mortgages, and small-business banking in overlapping rural Pennsylvania and western Maryland markets.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

Top-five U.S. bank with extensive retail and small-business presence across Pennsylvania, Maryland, and West Virginia. Competes on deposit products, mortgages, and digital banking, and is a major incumbent in Cumberland/Hagerstown-adjacent markets.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

Large national bank with retail and wealth presence in Maryland, Pennsylvania, and West Virginia. Competitor for retail deposits, mortgages, and small-business banking in the broader tri-state region.

TypeEmerging player
Description

Digital-first bank and lender offering deposit accounts, personal loans, auto loans, credit cards, and wealth management without a branch network. Represents the digital-native competitive threat to credit unions on rates, convenience, and member acquisition.

TypeEmerging player
Description

Direct-to-consumer credit card issuer and digital bank offering deposit and personal loan products. Comparable to First Peoples' Visa credit card and consumer lending offerings as a non-branch-based competitor for balances and card spend.

Market position
Strengths4 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Weaknesses4 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Competitive moat5 records

Each record includes

Type, Details

Key risks6 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Key highlights6 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Customer concentration

Classification, Details

Named customers4 records

Each record includes

Name, Industry, Type, Use case, Source, UUID

Segment3 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Primary, Description, Pain point addressed, Use case, Source

Ideal customer profile3 records

Each record includes

Profile, Firmographic size, Sales motion, Sales cycle length, Buying structure, Purchase trigger, Buyer persona, Geography, Industry vertical, Primary use case, Description, Pain points, Evidence proof points, Target buyer

Technology focused
No
API detail
Has APIbool
No

Docs URL, Description

AI maturity
App detail

Has app

Feature4 records

Each record includes

Title, Differentiator, Description, Source

Core technology
Revenue estimate
Valuation estimate
Number of profiles
Profiles15 records

Each record includes

Name, Designation, Designation category, Overview, Profile commentary, Source

No data
No data
Funding overview

Funding stage, Last funding date, Total funding USD

Funding rounds

Each record includes

Round, Amount USD, Date, Pre money valuation, Total investors, Investors, News

Investors

Each record includes

Name, Type, Date of entry, Rounds participated, Website

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

M&A

Each record includes

Name, Acquisition type, Announced date, Completed date, Status, Website, News

Investment

Each record includes

Name, Round, Announced date, Lead investor, Website, News

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

First Peoples Community Federal Credit Union

Community Bankingfirstpeoples.com

First Peoples Community Federal Credit Union is a federally chartered, member-owned community credit union serving 9 counties across Maryland, Pennsylvania, and West Virginia via 21 branches, ITMs, and digital banking, offering personal/business loans, deposits, wealth, and merchant services to retail, business, and community organization members.

What First Peoples Community Federal Credit Union does

First Peoples Community Federal Credit Union is a federally chartered, member-owned cooperative credit union headquartered in Cumberland, Maryland. Founded in 1960 as Amcelle Employees Federal Credit Union, it was rechartered over time into a community chartered institution serving residents and workers across 9 counties spanning Maryland (Allegany, Garrett, Washington), Pennsylvania (Somerset, Bedford, Fulton), and West Virginia (Mineral, Hampshire, Morgan). Membership is opened via a $5 share account and entitles each member to pro-rata ownership; there are no outside shareholders. The credit union operates 21 branch and TAP (Teller Access Point) sites, supported by Interactive Teller Machines (video-enabled ATMs), a Call Access Teller phone channel, and online/mobile banking with mobile deposit.

The product platform spans personal and commercial banking: eFirst Checking, Regular Share Savings, Money Market, Certificates (including IRAs), auto, home equity, home, personal/signature, RV/ATV/motorcycle loans, and Visa credit cards (Emerald and Platinum). Beyond core banking, the institution distributes wealth management through an LPL Financial partnership (First Peoples Wealth Management Services, advised by VP Aaron Strawderman), offers merchant services via Helcim, and runs community-engagement programs including SwipeBoost (debit-card-linked donations to 25+ schools and organizations, totaling over $207,000 historically) and Banzai-sponsored financial literacy curriculum in 39+ schools. In August 2025, the credit union added a Greenlight partnership providing family-facing money management and a kids' debit card.

Revenue is generated through interest income on the loan portfolio, the deposit interest spread characteristic of cooperative mutuals (with profits returned to members via better rates and lower fees), an itemized fee schedule (overdraft $40, ATM foreign withdrawal $1, wires $15–$57, research $30 per half-hour, membership maintenance $5), and a $5 share-account entry. Revenue figures are not publicly disclosed; pricing details visible on disclosures include auto loans as low as 2.99% APR, a Freedom Loan Promo at 2.50% APR, 9-month CDs up to 3.85% APY, and 30-year fixed mortgages as low as 6.375% APR. The institution is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors chaired by Chris Carpenter, with Randy Olsen as President & CEO, Kelly Brown as EVP & COO, and Alison Sweitzer as SVP & CFO.

First Peoples Community Federal Credit Union firmographics

Firmographics
Name
First Peoples Community Federal Credit Union
Legal name
First Peoples Community Federal Credit Union
Website
https://firstpeoples.com
Company type
Private
Founded year
1960
Operating status
Operating
Headcount range
11–50 employees
Short description
First Peoples Community Federal Credit Union is a federally chartered, member-owned community credit union serving 9 counties across Maryland, Pennsylvania, and West Virginia via 21 branches, ITMs, and digital banking, offering personal/business loans, deposits, wealth, and merchant services to retail, business, and community organization members.
Ownership category
akta.pro rank

First Peoples Community Federal Credit Union industry classification

Industry
Product category
Community Banking
NAICS
Credit Unions (52213), Credit Unions (522130), Credit Card Issuing (522210)
SIC
Personal Credit Institutions (6141)
akta.pro primary industry
Community Credit Unions (Retail/Consumer Focus) (FSABAEAA)
akta.pro secondary industry
Cooperative Banks (Member-Owned Commercial/Retail) (FSABAEAF)

Keywords

  • Community credit union
  • Personal banking services
  • Consumer lending products
  • Business banking solutions
  • Digital banking platform

Where First Peoples Community Federal Credit Union is headquartered

Location

Headquarters

HQ city
Cumberland
HQ country
United States
HQ region
North America

Offices20 records

Markets served

First Peoples Community Federal Credit Union business model

Business model
GTM type
B2C
Offering type
Services
Cost components
Personnel, Operations, Infrastructure, Technology or R&D, Marketing or Sales, Others

Revenue model

  1. Interest Income on Loans: Primary revenue stream from interest charged on various loan products including mortgages, auto loans, personal loans, credit cards, home equity loans, and recreational vehicle loans
  2. Service Fees: Various fees including ATM fees, overdraft fees, wire transfer fees, account maintenance fees, stop payment fees, research fees, and other banking service charges
  3. Membership Fees: $5 share account required for membership; membership maintenance fee of $5
  4. Deposit Interest Spread: Not-for-profit financial institution where profits are allocated to members through improvements, dividends, low loan rates, and high deposit rates

Pricing tiers

ModelBillingPrice
SubscriptionMonthlyAuto Loans
SubscriptionMonthlyFreedom Loan Promo
SubscriptionMonthly30-Year Fixed Rate Mortgage
SubscriptionPay-as-you-go9-Month Share Certificate Special
Transaction based/ take rateMonthlyService Fee Schedule
One time/ perpetual licensePay-as-you-goMembership Share Account
SubscriptionMonthlyeFirst Checking
SubscriptionMonthlyVisa Credit Cards

Go-to-market motion2 records

Distribution channels5 records

Marketing channels5 records

First Peoples Community Federal Credit Union product offering

Product offering

Core offering

First Peoples Community Federal Credit Union is a federally chartered, member-owned cooperative credit union providing retail and commercial banking products including checking, savings, certificates, IRAs, mortgages, auto loans, personal loans, home equity loans, credit cards, and recreational vehicle loans. The credit union serves members across 21 branch locations spanning nine counties in Maryland, Pennsylvania, and West Virginia, complemented by interactive teller machines (ITMs), online banking, mobile banking, and a member connection center. Supplementary offerings include merchant services, wealth management through an LPL Financial partnership, and the Greenlight family finance app partnership.

Product overview

First Peoples Community Federal Credit Union offers a traditional credit union banking platform with personal and business banking products including checking, savings, certificates, and various loan products. The credit union provides digital banking services through online and mobile platforms, interactive teller machines, and phone-based teller services. Supplementary services include wealth management partnerships, merchant services for businesses, financial wellness education through Banzai, and a Greenlight partnership for family banking solutions.

Differentiator

Problem solved

Functional benefit

Products and services

  • eFirst Checking Electronic checking account with digital banking features and tiered interest rates for personal banking members.
  • Regular Share Savings Basic savings account offering competitive rates for personal members, opened with a $5 minimum deposit that establishes membership.
  • Business Checking Commercial checking account designed for business members with tailored features for local business operations.
  • Non-Profit Checking Checking account designed for non-profit organizations with features tailored to their specific banking needs.
  • Money Market Money market savings account offering higher interest rates with tiered rate options.
  • Certificates (CDs) Certificate of Deposit accounts with various term lengths for savings growth, including a 9-month share certificate special earning up to 3.85% APY.
  • IRA Certificates Individual Retirement Account certificates for retirement savings.
  • Auto Loans Vehicle financing for personal automobiles with various term options, with rates as low as 2.99% APR for 2023 and newer vehicles.
  • Home Equity Loans and Lines of Credit Home equity loans and lines of credit allowing members to borrow against their home's equity.
  • Personal/Signature Loans Unsecured personal loans for various financial needs, including a Freedom Loan Promo offering up to $2,500 at 2.50% APR for up to 12 months.
  • RV/ATV/Motorcycle Loans Recreational vehicle financing for RVs, ATVs, and motorcycles.
  • Visa Credit Cards (Emerald and Platinum) Credit card products including Visa Emerald (Classic) at 11.50% APR and Visa Platinum at 8.99% APR.
  • Home Loans (Mortgages) Residential mortgage products including a 30-year fixed rate mortgage as low as 6.375% APR.
  • Business Lending Portfolio of low-cost business lending services designed for local businesses, with local decision-making.
  • Merchant Services Payment processing services for business members using Helcim for Visa card transactions.
  • FP Wealth Management Wealth management and investment advisory services provided in partnership with LPL Financial for personal and business members.

Quantifiable outcome

  • Over $207,000 donated to schools and organizations through SwipeBoost program
  • +2 more outcomes

Companies that use First Peoples Community Federal Credit Union

Customer profile

Named customers4 records

Segments3 records

Ideal customer profiles3 records

First Peoples Community Federal Credit Union technology and API

Technology

Technology focussed No

API detail

Has API
No
API docs
API detail

Core technology

AI maturity

App detail

Feature4 records

First Peoples Community Federal Credit Union partnerships and signals

Strategic signal

Partnerships

Four partnerships are on record, tiered core and minor.

  • GreenlightcoreGTM or Marketing Partner · 1 August 2025Partnership with Greenlight to offer family finance and safety app with debit card for kids. First Peoples members receive free Greenlight Select subscription. Exclusive discounts on premium plans (Infinity Select $9.99/mo, Family Shield Select $18.99/mo). Greenlight provides money management, chores/allowance, savings goals, and financial literacy for 6+ million families.
  • BanzaicoreStrategic or Co-development PartnerAward-winning interactive financial literacy curriculum partnership. First Peoples sponsors Banzai learning in dozens of high schools in MD, WV, and PA communities. FREE to students, teachers, and members. Topics include saving for college, using credit cards, buying a house. Sponsoring over 39 schools in charter area.
  • LPL FinancialcoreStrategic or Co-development PartnerWealth management partnership through First Peoples Wealth Management Services. LPL provides investment advisory and brokerage services. Aaron Strawderman is LPL Investment Advisor Representative. Referrals generated through agreement allowing LPL to pay for referrals.
  • BEDCO FCUminorStrategic or Co-development PartnerMerged with BEDCO FCU in January 2025, expanding credit union's member base and service area.

Scale indicators7 records

Recent moves7 records

Expansion highlights6 records

First Peoples Community Federal Credit Union competitors and assessment

Company assessment

Direct peers

  • PA Central Federal Credit Union: Community-chartered federal credit union serving central Pennsylvania with a similar product set (checking, savings, loans, digital banking). Direct comparable in size, structure, and rural tri-county footprint in PA counties overlapping First Peoples' service area.
  • Members 1st Federal Credit Union: Pennsylvania-headquartered community credit union with branch network and full retail/business banking services. Comparable as a community FCU operating across multiple PA counties with similar digital and branch delivery model.
  • Clearview Federal Credit Union: Community-chartered federal credit union based in western Pennsylvania serving multiple counties with retail and business banking. Direct comparable on charter type, geographic region, and product mix.
  • Belco Community Credit Union: Community credit union operating in south-central Pennsylvania with retail and small-business banking. Direct comparable on community charter, mid-sized branch network, and member-owned cooperative model.

Broad incumbents

  • M&T Bank: Large regional bank with significant branch presence across Maryland, Pennsylvania, and West Virginia - the same tri-state footprint as First Peoples. Overlaps directly in retail deposits, mortgages, and small-business banking, and represents the dominant incumbent competitive threat.
  • F.N.B. Corporation (First National Bank): Regional bank holding company with branches across Pennsylvania, Maryland, and West Virginia. Competes with First Peoples on consumer deposits, mortgages, and small-business banking in overlapping rural Pennsylvania and western Maryland markets.
  • PNC Financial Services: Top-five U.S. bank with extensive retail and small-business presence across Pennsylvania, Maryland, and West Virginia. Competes on deposit products, mortgages, and digital banking, and is a major incumbent in Cumberland/Hagerstown-adjacent markets.
  • Truist Financial: Large national bank with retail and wealth presence in Maryland, Pennsylvania, and West Virginia. Competitor for retail deposits, mortgages, and small-business banking in the broader tri-state region.

Emerging players

  • SoFi: Digital-first bank and lender offering deposit accounts, personal loans, auto loans, credit cards, and wealth management without a branch network. Represents the digital-native competitive threat to credit unions on rates, convenience, and member acquisition.
  • Discover Financial Services: Direct-to-consumer credit card issuer and digital bank offering deposit and personal loan products. Comparable to First Peoples' Visa credit card and consumer lending offerings as a non-branch-based competitor for balances and card spend.

Market position

Strengths4 records

Weaknesses4 records

Competitive moat5 records

Key risks6 records

Key highlights6 records

Customer concentration

First Peoples Community Federal Credit Union social profiles

Digital presence

First Peoples Community Federal Credit Union financial estimates

Financial estimate

Revenue estimate

Valuation estimate

First Peoples Community Federal Credit Union leadership team

Management profile

Number of profiles

Profiles15 records

First Peoples Community Federal Credit Union funding detail

Funding detail

Funding overview

Funding rounds

Investors

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

First Peoples Community Federal Credit Union M&A and investment

M&A and investment

M&A

Investments

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Frequently asked questions about First Peoples Community Federal Credit Union

What does First Peoples Community Federal Credit Union do?

First Peoples Community Federal Credit Union is a federally chartered, member-owned cooperative credit union providing retail and commercial banking products including checking, savings, certificates, IRAs, mortgages, auto loans, personal loans, home equity loans, credit cards, and recreational vehicle loans. The credit union serves members across 21 branch locations spanning nine counties in Maryland, Pennsylvania, and West Virginia, complemented by interactive teller machines (ITMs), online banking, mobile banking, and a member connection center. Supplementary offerings include merchant services, wealth management through an LPL Financial partnership, and the Greenlight family finance app partnership.

Is First Peoples Community Federal Credit Union a public or private company?

First Peoples Community Federal Credit Union is a private company. It is classified as nonprofit foundation owned and is currently operating.

When was First Peoples Community Federal Credit Union founded?

First Peoples Community Federal Credit Union was founded in 1960. It employs 11 to 50 people.

Where is First Peoples Community Federal Credit Union based?

First Peoples Community Federal Credit Union is headquartered in Cumberland, United States, in the North America region.

How does First Peoples Community Federal Credit Union make money?

Four revenue lines are on record. Interest Income on Loans are the primary driver. The others are service Fees, membership Fees and deposit Interest Spread.

Who are First Peoples Community Federal Credit Union's main competitors?

Direct peers on record are PA Central Federal Credit Union, Members 1st Federal Credit Union, Clearview Federal Credit Union and Belco Community Credit Union. Broad incumbents are M&T Bank, F.N.B. Corporation (First National Bank), PNC Financial Services and Truist Financial. Emerging players are SoFi and Discover Financial Services.

Does First Peoples Community Federal Credit Union have an API?

No public API is recorded for First Peoples Community Federal Credit Union.

What industry is First Peoples Community Federal Credit Union in?

First Peoples Community Federal Credit Union's product category is Community Banking. Its primary akta.pro industry code is FSABAEAA, Community Credit Unions (Retail/Consumer Focus), with a secondary code of FSABAEAF, Cooperative Banks (Member-Owned Commercial/Retail). Its NAICS code is 52213 and its SIC code is 6141.

Unlock the full company data

50 free credits on sign-up, no credit card required.

Contact sales