Developer docs
API playgroundTry for free, no card

Search company profiles

Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation

Full company profile

uuid000ty26

Namestring
Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation
Legal namestring
Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation
Websiteurl
caepnet.org
Company typeenum
Private
Founded yearint
2013
Descriptiontext

The Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP) is the sole nationally recognized accrediting body for educator preparation providers (EPPs) in the United States. Formed in 2013 through the merger of the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE) and the Teacher Education Accreditation Council (TEAC), CAEP evaluates colleges, universities, and other institutions that prepare P-12 educators against rigorous 2022 Initial-Level and Advanced-Level standards covering content and pedagogical knowledge, clinical partnerships, candidate quality, program impact, and Title IV compliance. The organization serves 544 accredited providers spanning 43 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and five Middle Eastern countries (Bahrain, Jordan, Oman, Qatar, UAE), and has established formal partnership agreements with more than 31 state education agencies to align national accreditation with state program approval.

CAEP's core technology is AIMS 2.0 (Accreditation Information Management System), a proprietary data collection and management platform that supports self-study reports, annual accreditation reports, program reviews, and accreditation decision workflows. AIMS 2.0 aggregates standardized data on eight measures including student learning, teacher effectiveness, employer satisfaction, and consumer information. The CAEP Learning Center, built on the LearnUpon LMS, hosts professional learning resources including the free Family Engagement Course launched in 2025 in partnership with the W.K. Kellogg Foundation, NAFSCE, and BranchED. CAEP also operates the annual CAEPCon conference series (Fall in-person and Spring virtual) and the CAEP Voices multimedia content program.

CAEP is a nonprofit organization governed by an 18-member Board of Directors and is funded through annual fees invoiced to EPPs based on the number of program completers, plus multi-year accreditation review fees and travel reimbursement for peer reviewer site visits. Pricing is opaque but tiered to institutional size. The go-to-market motion is enterprise field sales-style engagement with EPP leadership and state education agencies, supplemented by digital self-serve access via AIMS 2.0 and the public Provider Search database. No venture capital or private equity backing is indicated, and revenue figures are not publicly disclosed. The organization operates with 11–50 employees from a single Washington, DC headquarters and benefits from approximately $4 million annually in donated volunteer services from peer reviewers and governance participants.

Short descriptiontext

CAEP is the sole nationally recognized accrediting body for U.S. educator preparation providers, evaluating colleges and universities against rigorous 2022 standards. It serves 544 accredited institutions across 43 states and five international markets, operating the AIMS 2.0 data platform and Learning Center.

Operating statusenum
Operating
Ownership categoryenum
Headcount rangeband
11–50
akta.pro rankint
HeadquartersWashington, United States
HQ citystring
Washington
HQ countrystring
United States
HQ regionstring
North America
Markets served

Serves global market

Offices1 record

Each record includes

City, Country, Type, Description, Source

Keyword5 values
educator preparation accreditation, teacher preparation standards, education quality assurance, program accreditation services, educator certification review
Industry3 codes
1Programmatic Accreditors (Discipline/Profession-Specific)
CodeEDADACACPrimaryYes
2Educator Preparation Program (EPP) Approval & Oversight
CodeEDADAJADPrimaryNo
3Education Professionals (Teacher/Administrator CE, CPD)
CodeEDAAALAEPrimaryNo
NAICS code2 codes
  • Educational Services611
  • Educational Support Services611710
SIC code1 code
  • Services-Educational Services8200
Product category
Educator Preparation Accreditation
GTM motion1 record

Each record includes

Type, Description, Source

Revenue model3 records
1Annual EPP Fees
TypeSubscription Recurring
Description

Annual fees invoiced late spring/early summer to all educator preparation providers (both candidacy and accredited) based on the number of completers. Covers costs of maintaining accreditation status and administrative operations.

caepnet.org
2Accreditation Review Fees
TypeSubscription Recurring
Description

Fees covering CAEP administrative support for the accreditation review process, including panel of expert peer reviewers.

caepnet.org
3Review Expenses
TypeProfessional Services
Description

Travel costs for review teams conducting site visits to evaluate educator preparation providers.

caepnet.org
Marketing channels6 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Stage, Description, Source

Distribution channels4 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Scope, Target buyer, Description, Source

Cost components5 values
Personnel, Operations, Technology or R&D, Marketing or Sales, Others
Pricing details4 tiers
1Annual EPP Fees based on completer count
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

Annual fees vary based on number of program completers. Invoiced late spring/early summer.

caepnet.org
2Accreditation Review Fees and Travel Expenses
ModelOtherBilling cadenceMulti-year contract
Notes

Fees cover CAEP administrative support and reviewer travel expenses for peer-review accreditation process.

caepnet.org
3CAEPCon Conference Registration
ModelOtherBilling cadenceMulti-year contract
Notes

Main Conference Only: $650; Pre-Conference Workshop: $100; Post-Conference Workshop #1: $200; Post-Conference Workshop #2: $200; Bundle and Save (Main + Post 1 & 2): $950

caepnet.org
4CAEP Family Engagement Course
ModelFreemiumBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

Free professional learning resource for teacher candidates. No cost to access modules.

caepnet.org
GTM typeB2B
B2B
Offering typeServices
Services
Core offering1 text field

CAEP is the sole nationally recognized accrediting body for educator preparation providers (EPPs) in the United States. It evaluates colleges, universities, and other institutions that prepare P-12 educators against rigorous 2022 Initial-Level and Advanced-Level Standards through a peer-review process involving self-studies, formative reviews, site visits, and ongoing annual reporting. The AIMS 2.0 platform supports data collection and accreditation workflows for 544 accredited providers across 43 states, DC, Puerto Rico, and international locations.

Differentiator
Functional benefit
Problem solved
Quantifiable outcome1 of 3 values shown
  • 36 providers from 22 states earned accreditation in Fall 2025, bringing total to 544 CAEP-accredited providers
+2 more records
Product overview1 text field

CAEP offers a unified accreditation ecosystem for educator preparation providers (EPPs). The core offering is CAEP Accreditation, which evaluates EPPs against rigorous 2022 Standards (Initial-Level and Advanced-Level). This is supported by AIMS 2.0, the accreditation management platform for self-studies and annual reports. CAEP provides the free CAEP Family Engagement Course through its CAEP Learning Center (built on LearnUpon), hosts CAEPCon conferences, and publishes comprehensive accreditation resources. The portfolio works together to advance educator preparation quality through evidence-based accreditation and continuous improvement.

Product and service2 records
1CAEP Accreditation
CategoryAccreditation Services
Description

The core accreditation service evaluating educator preparation providers (EPPs) against CAEP Standards. Providers demonstrate evidence of meeting rigorous benchmarks for initial and advanced-level teacher preparation through a multi-stage process including self-study, formative review, and site visits. For colleges, universities, and other institutions offering P-12 educator preparation programs.

2AIMS 2.0
Scale indicator5 records

Each record includes

Type, Value, Description, Source

Partnership7 partners
Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

National partner in development of CAEP Family Engagement Course. Contributed expertise on professional competencies for family engagement and collaborated on course content and alignment with best practices.

2Branch Alliance for Educational Diversity (BranchED)
Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Partner in development of CAEP Family Engagement Course, contributing to preparation of teacher candidates and administrators in working effectively with families and communities.

caepnet.org
Strategic tierMinorTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

CAEP partnership with CBEN and AACTE to create tools and resources for EPPs to design high quality competency-based programs and provide robust data for accreditation.

Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

State partnership agreement providing State Review, CAEP Evidence Review of Standard R1/RA1, and SPA Program Review options. CAEP-state partnerships align national standards with state requirements.

5Mississippi State Department of Education
Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

State partnership agreement with State Review, CAEP Evidence Review, and SPA options. Mississippi requires all educator preparation providers to be CAEP accredited.

caepnet.org
Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

State partnership agreement providing State Program Review option for California EPPs.

731 Additional State Education Agencies
Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Partnership agreements with Alaska, Arizona, Connecticut, Delaware, DC, Hawaii, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia.

caepnet.org
Recent move6 records

Each record includes

Date, Type, Title, Description, Source

Expansion highlight5 records

Each record includes

Type, Description

Peers10 records
TypeDirect peer
Description

ABET is a programmatic accreditor for STEM (engineering, computing, etc.) programs — structurally the closest analog to CAEP in the programmatic accreditation category. Comparable in business model (programmatic standards, peer review, fee-based) and not in subject matter.

TypeDirect peer
Description

AACSB accredits business and accounting programs and shares CAEP's programmatic accreditation model, fee structure, and global higher-education customer base.

TypeDirect peer
Description

AAQEP is the most direct competitor to CAEP — a recognized accreditor specifically for educator preparation providers. It competes head-to-head with CAEP for state program approval pathways and EPP accreditation contracts.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

SACSCOC is a regional accreditor covering institutions in the southern US, where a large share of CAEP-accredited providers operate. Comparable as a peer accreditor in the same institutional quality-assurance market.

5Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA)
TypeBroad incumbent
Description

CHEA is the US meta-recognizer that recognizes accrediting organizations, including CAEP itself. It is comparable as the higher-level gatekeeper in the same accreditation ecosystem CAEP operates in.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

HLC is a large regional accreditor of degree-granting institutions; many CAEP-accredited EPPs (universities) are also HLC-accredited. Operates in the same institutional accreditation ecosystem that CAEP sits within.

TypeDirect peer
Description

The ABA is the recognized accreditor of US law schools, comparable to CAEP as a programmatic accreditor with a single nationally recognized position over a professional preparation pathway.

8Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE)
TypeDirect peer
Description

CCNE is an autonomous programmatic accreditor for nursing programs, structurally similar to CAEP — programmatic, fee-based, standards-driven accreditation of professional preparation programs at US higher-education institutions.

TypeDirect peer
Description

LCME is the nationally recognized programmatic accreditor for MD-granting medical schools — a structural twin to CAEP in how it serves as the single recognized accreditor in a specific profession's preparation pipeline.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

WSCUC is a regional accreditor for western US universities, many of which host CAEP-accredited EPPs. Comparable as a peer institutional accreditor serving overlapping higher-education customers.

Market position
Strengths5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Weaknesses5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Competitive moat5 records

Each record includes

Type, Details

Key risks6 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Key highlights7 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Customer concentration

Classification, Details

Named customers9 records

Each record includes

Name, Industry, Type, Use case, Source, UUID

Segment4 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Primary, Description, Pain point addressed, Use case, Source

Ideal customer profile3 records

Each record includes

Profile, Firmographic size, Sales motion, Sales cycle length, Buying structure, Purchase trigger, Buyer persona, Geography, Industry vertical, Primary use case, Description, Pain points, Evidence proof points, Target buyer

Technology focused
No
API detail
Has APIbool
No

Docs URL, Description

Integration1 record

Each record includes

Title, Type, Description, Source

AI maturity
App detail

Has app

Feature3 records

Each record includes

Title, Differentiator, Description, Source

Core technology
Revenue estimate
Valuation estimate
Number of profiles
Profiles1 record

Each record includes

Name, Designation, Designation category, Overview, Profile commentary, Source

No data
No data
Funding overview

Funding stage, Last funding date, Total funding USD

Funding rounds

Each record includes

Round, Amount USD, Date, Pre money valuation, Total investors, Investors, News

Investors

Each record includes

Name, Type, Date of entry, Rounds participated, Website

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

M&A

Each record includes

Name, Acquisition type, Announced date, Completed date, Status, Website, News

Investment

Each record includes

Name, Round, Announced date, Lead investor, Website, News

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation

Educator Preparation Accreditationcaepnet.org

CAEP is the sole nationally recognized accrediting body for U.S. educator preparation providers, evaluating colleges and universities against rigorous 2022 standards. It serves 544 accredited institutions across 43 states and five international markets, operating the AIMS 2.0 data platform and Learning Center.

What Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation does

The Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP) is the sole nationally recognized accrediting body for educator preparation providers (EPPs) in the United States. Formed in 2013 through the merger of the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE) and the Teacher Education Accreditation Council (TEAC), CAEP evaluates colleges, universities, and other institutions that prepare P-12 educators against rigorous 2022 Initial-Level and Advanced-Level standards covering content and pedagogical knowledge, clinical partnerships, candidate quality, program impact, and Title IV compliance. The organization serves 544 accredited providers spanning 43 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and five Middle Eastern countries (Bahrain, Jordan, Oman, Qatar, UAE), and has established formal partnership agreements with more than 31 state education agencies to align national accreditation with state program approval.

CAEP's core technology is AIMS 2.0 (Accreditation Information Management System), a proprietary data collection and management platform that supports self-study reports, annual accreditation reports, program reviews, and accreditation decision workflows. AIMS 2.0 aggregates standardized data on eight measures including student learning, teacher effectiveness, employer satisfaction, and consumer information. The CAEP Learning Center, built on the LearnUpon LMS, hosts professional learning resources including the free Family Engagement Course launched in 2025 in partnership with the W.K. Kellogg Foundation, NAFSCE, and BranchED. CAEP also operates the annual CAEPCon conference series (Fall in-person and Spring virtual) and the CAEP Voices multimedia content program.

CAEP is a nonprofit organization governed by an 18-member Board of Directors and is funded through annual fees invoiced to EPPs based on the number of program completers, plus multi-year accreditation review fees and travel reimbursement for peer reviewer site visits. Pricing is opaque but tiered to institutional size. The go-to-market motion is enterprise field sales-style engagement with EPP leadership and state education agencies, supplemented by digital self-serve access via AIMS 2.0 and the public Provider Search database. No venture capital or private equity backing is indicated, and revenue figures are not publicly disclosed. The organization operates with 11–50 employees from a single Washington, DC headquarters and benefits from approximately $4 million annually in donated volunteer services from peer reviewers and governance participants.

Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation firmographics

Firmographics
Name
Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation
Legal name
Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation
Website
https://caepnet.org
Company type
Private
Founded year
2013
Operating status
Operating
Headcount range
11–50 employees
Short description
CAEP is the sole nationally recognized accrediting body for U.S. educator preparation providers, evaluating colleges and universities against rigorous 2022 standards. It serves 544 accredited institutions across 43 states and five international markets, operating the AIMS 2.0 data platform and Learning Center.
Ownership category
akta.pro rank

Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation industry classification

Industry
Product category
Educator Preparation Accreditation
NAICS
Educational Services (611), Educational Support Services (611710)
SIC
Services-Educational Services (8200)
akta.pro primary industry
Programmatic Accreditors (Discipline/Profession-Specific) (EDADACAC)
akta.pro secondary industries
Educator Preparation Program (EPP) Approval & Oversight (EDADAJAD), Education Professionals (Teacher/Administrator CE, CPD) (EDAAALAE)

Keywords

  • Educator preparation accreditation
  • Teacher preparation standards
  • Education quality assurance
  • Program accreditation services
  • Educator certification review

Where Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation is headquartered

Location

Headquarters

HQ city
Washington
HQ country
United States
HQ region
North America

Offices1 record

Markets served

Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation business model

Business model
GTM type
B2B
Offering type
Services
Cost components
Personnel, Operations, Technology or R&D, Marketing or Sales, Others

Revenue model

  1. Annual EPP Fees: Annual fees invoiced late spring/early summer to all educator preparation providers (both candidacy and accredited) based on the number of completers. Covers costs of maintaining accreditation status and administrative operations.
  2. Accreditation Review Fees: Fees covering CAEP administrative support for the accreditation review process, including panel of expert peer reviewers.
  3. Review Expenses: Travel costs for review teams conducting site visits to evaluate educator preparation providers.

Pricing tiers

ModelBillingPrice
SubscriptionAnnualAnnual EPP Fees based on completer count
OtherMulti-year contractAccreditation Review Fees and Travel Expenses
OtherMulti-year contractCAEPCon Conference Registration
FreemiumPay-as-you-goCAEP Family Engagement Course

Go-to-market motion1 record

Distribution channels4 records

Marketing channels6 records

Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation product offering

Product offering

Core offering

CAEP is the sole nationally recognized accrediting body for educator preparation providers (EPPs) in the United States. It evaluates colleges, universities, and other institutions that prepare P-12 educators against rigorous 2022 Initial-Level and Advanced-Level Standards through a peer-review process involving self-studies, formative reviews, site visits, and ongoing annual reporting. The AIMS 2.0 platform supports data collection and accreditation workflows for 544 accredited providers across 43 states, DC, Puerto Rico, and international locations.

Product overview

CAEP offers a unified accreditation ecosystem for educator preparation providers (EPPs). The core offering is CAEP Accreditation, which evaluates EPPs against rigorous 2022 Standards (Initial-Level and Advanced-Level). This is supported by AIMS 2.0, the accreditation management platform for self-studies and annual reports. CAEP provides the free CAEP Family Engagement Course through its CAEP Learning Center (built on LearnUpon), hosts CAEPCon conferences, and publishes comprehensive accreditation resources. The portfolio works together to advance educator preparation quality through evidence-based accreditation and continuous improvement.

Differentiator

Problem solved

Functional benefit

Products and services

  • CAEP Accreditation The core accreditation service evaluating educator preparation providers (EPPs) against CAEP Standards. Providers demonstrate evidence of meeting rigorous benchmarks for initial and advanced-level teacher preparation through a multi-stage process including self-study, formative review, and site visits. For colleges, universities, and other institutions offering P-12 educator preparation programs.
  • AIMS 2.0

Quantifiable outcome

  • 36 providers from 22 states earned accreditation in Fall 2025, bringing total to 544 CAEP-accredited providers
  • +2 more outcomes

Companies that use Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation

Customer profile

Named customers9 records

Segments4 records

Ideal customer profiles3 records

Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation technology and API

Technology

Technology focussed No

API detail

Has API
No
API docs
API detail

Core technology

AI maturity

App detail

Integration1 record

Feature3 records

Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation partnerships and signals

Strategic signal

Partnerships

Seven partnerships are on record, tiered core and minor.

  • National Association for Family, School and Community Engagement (NAFSCE)coreStrategic or Co-development PartnerNational partner in development of CAEP Family Engagement Course. Contributed expertise on professional competencies for family engagement and collaborated on course content and alignment with best practices.
  • Branch Alliance for Educational Diversity (BranchED)coreStrategic or Co-development PartnerPartner in development of CAEP Family Engagement Course, contributing to preparation of teacher candidates and administrators in working effectively with families and communities.
  • Competency Based Education Network (CBEN)minorStrategic or Co-development PartnerCAEP partnership with CBEN and AACTE to create tools and resources for EPPs to design high quality competency-based programs and provide robust data for accreditation.
  • Alabama State Department of EducationcoreStrategic or Co-development PartnerState partnership agreement providing State Review, CAEP Evidence Review of Standard R1/RA1, and SPA Program Review options. CAEP-state partnerships align national standards with state requirements.
  • Mississippi State Department of EducationcoreStrategic or Co-development PartnerState partnership agreement with State Review, CAEP Evidence Review, and SPA options. Mississippi requires all educator preparation providers to be CAEP accredited.
  • California Commission on Teacher CredentialingcoreStrategic or Co-development PartnerState partnership agreement providing State Program Review option for California EPPs.
  • 31 Additional State Education AgenciescoreStrategic or Co-development PartnerPartnership agreements with Alaska, Arizona, Connecticut, Delaware, DC, Hawaii, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia.

Scale indicators5 records

Recent moves6 records

Expansion highlights5 records

Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation competitors and assessment

Company assessment

Direct peers

  • ABET: ABET is a programmatic accreditor for STEM (engineering, computing, etc.) programs — structurally the closest analog to CAEP in the programmatic accreditation category. Comparable in business model (programmatic standards, peer review, fee-based) and not in subject matter.
  • AACSB International: AACSB accredits business and accounting programs and shares CAEP's programmatic accreditation model, fee structure, and global higher-education customer base.
  • Association for Advancing Quality in Educator Preparation (AAQEP): AAQEP is the most direct competitor to CAEP — a recognized accreditor specifically for educator preparation providers. It competes head-to-head with CAEP for state program approval pathways and EPP accreditation contracts.
  • American Bar Association (ABA) Section of Legal Education: The ABA is the recognized accreditor of US law schools, comparable to CAEP as a programmatic accreditor with a single nationally recognized position over a professional preparation pathway.
  • Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE): CCNE is an autonomous programmatic accreditor for nursing programs, structurally similar to CAEP — programmatic, fee-based, standards-driven accreditation of professional preparation programs at US higher-education institutions.
  • Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME): LCME is the nationally recognized programmatic accreditor for MD-granting medical schools — a structural twin to CAEP in how it serves as the single recognized accreditor in a specific profession's preparation pipeline.

Broad incumbents

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC): SACSCOC is a regional accreditor covering institutions in the southern US, where a large share of CAEP-accredited providers operate. Comparable as a peer accreditor in the same institutional quality-assurance market.
  • Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA): CHEA is the US meta-recognizer that recognizes accrediting organizations, including CAEP itself. It is comparable as the higher-level gatekeeper in the same accreditation ecosystem CAEP operates in.
  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC): HLC is a large regional accreditor of degree-granting institutions; many CAEP-accredited EPPs (universities) are also HLC-accredited. Operates in the same institutional accreditation ecosystem that CAEP sits within.
  • WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC): WSCUC is a regional accreditor for western US universities, many of which host CAEP-accredited EPPs. Comparable as a peer institutional accreditor serving overlapping higher-education customers.

Market position

Strengths5 records

Weaknesses5 records

Competitive moat5 records

Key risks6 records

Key highlights7 records

Customer concentration

Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation social profiles

Digital presence

Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation financial estimates

Financial estimate

Revenue estimate

Valuation estimate

Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation leadership team

Management profile

Number of profiles

Profiles1 record

Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation funding detail

Funding detail

Funding overview

Funding rounds

Investors

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation M&A and investment

M&A and investment

M&A

Investments

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Frequently asked questions about Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation

What does Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation do?

CAEP is the sole nationally recognized accrediting body for educator preparation providers (EPPs) in the United States. It evaluates colleges, universities, and other institutions that prepare P-12 educators against rigorous 2022 Initial-Level and Advanced-Level Standards through a peer-review process involving self-studies, formative reviews, site visits, and ongoing annual reporting. The AIMS 2.0 platform supports data collection and accreditation workflows for 544 accredited providers across 43 states, DC, Puerto Rico, and international locations.

Is Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation a public or private company?

Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation is a private company. It is classified as nonprofit foundation owned and is currently operating.

When was Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation founded?

Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation was founded in 2013. It employs 11 to 50 people.

Where is Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation based?

Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation is headquartered in Washington, United States, in the North America region.

How does Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation make money?

Three revenue lines are on record. Annual EPP Fees are the primary driver. The others are accreditation Review Fees and review Expenses.

Who are Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation's main competitors?

Direct peers on record are ABET, AACSB International, Association for Advancing Quality in Educator Preparation (AAQEP), American Bar Association (ABA) Section of Legal Education, Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE) and Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME). Broad incumbents are Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC), Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA), Higher Learning Commission (HLC) and WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC).

Does Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation have an API?

No public API is recorded for Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation.

What industry is Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation in?

Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation's product category is Educator Preparation Accreditation. Its primary akta.pro industry code is EDADACAC, Programmatic Accreditors (Discipline/Profession-Specific), with a secondary code of EDADAJAD, Educator Preparation Program (EPP) Approval & Oversight. Its NAICS code is 611 and its SIC code is 8200.

Unlock the full company data

50 free credits on sign-up, no credit card required.

Contact sales
Live signals
PR NewswireWGU's Teachers College Earns CAEP AccreditationThe Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP) granted accreditation to Western Governors University's teacher preparation programs, including those at WGU Indiana. This recognition validates the university's competency-based model and extends through 2025, reinforcing its status among a select group of nationally accredited institutions. The accreditation addresses critical needs in educator supply, particularly in STEM fields where WGU is a top producer.PR NewswireWGU's Teachers College Earns CAEP AccreditationThe Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP) announced that Western Governors University (WGU) has earned accreditation for its teacher preparation programs, joining only 196 institutions nationwide to achieve this status. WGU's Teachers College, which has prepared more than 33,000 graduates and is recognized as a leader in STEM education, is now accredited by CAEP through 2025. The accreditation validates WGU's online, competency-based teacher preparation approach against rigorous national standards set by CAEP.PR NewswireCAEP Recognizes Praxis Core for Accreditation PurposesThe Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation determined that the Praxis Core Academic Skills for Educators tests provide sufficient evidence that educator preparation programs are admitting qualified candidates. CAEP reached this conclusion after examining research evidence from Educational Testing Service, finding the assessment to be appropriate, reliable, fair, and free from bias. During the 2016-17 academic year, 32,667 students took the Praxis Core assessment and sent their scores to approximately 862 educator preparation programs across 44 states and 5 U.S. territories.