Developer docs
API playgroundTry for free, no card

Search company profiles

Owensboro Public Schools

Full company profile

uuid0022wpw

Namestring
Owensboro Public Schools
Legal namestring
Owensboro Public Schools
Company typeenum
Public
Founded yearint
1871
Descriptiontext

Owensboro Public Schools is an independent public school district located in Owensboro, Kentucky, the state's fourth-largest city. Founded in 1871, the district operates 12 educational campuses spanning preschool through 12th grade: 5 elementary schools (Newton Parrish, Cravens, Estes, Foust, Sutton), 2 middle schools (Owensboro Middle School and iMiddle School), 1 high school (Owensboro High School), 1 innovation-focused academy (Owensboro Innovation Academy), 1 alternative academy (Emerson Academy), and 1 preschool (Hager Preschool). Its single customer segment is K-12 students enrolled in the district, with the core problem solved being the provision of free public education to children in the Owensboro community, with particular emphasis on academic achievement in reading and mathematics.

The district's product surface is anchored by a unified digital platform at owensboro.kyschools.us that bundles online student registration, a School Report Card system (linking to Kentucky state accountability data), traceable parent communication, and supplementary tools including School Cash Online for fee collection and Parchment for transcript requests. Individual school websites sit beneath the district umbrella, each publishing site-specific academic performance metrics. Core technology is not custom-developed; it relies on the Apptegy content management platform for web presence and on third-party vendors for payments, communications, and transcript services. Academic outcomes reported for 2024-25 show district reading proficiency of 33% (elementary), 25% (middle), and 24% (high), with math proficiency of 35%, 24%, and 24% respectively — figures that materially trail typical state benchmarks.

As a government state entity under the Kentucky Department of Education, the district does not operate as a commercial enterprise. It is funded through a combination of state appropriations, local property taxes, and federal grants (including ARP ESSER), and education is provided free of charge. The district has no parent company, no private shareholders, and no funding rounds. Revenue is not publicly disclosed. Its strategic posture is governed by state and federal accountability requirements, and its differentiation rests on codified core pillars of Tradition, Innovation, and Excellence communicated through branding and alternative-program offerings.

Short descriptiontext

Owensboro Public Schools is a Kentucky public school district operating 12 preschool-through-12th-grade campuses in Owensboro, serving K-12 students with free public education funded by state appropriations, local property taxes, and federal grants.

Operating statusenum
Operating
Ownership categoryenum
Headcount rangeband
251–500
akta.pro rankint
HeadquartersOwensboro, United States
HQ citystring
Owensboro
HQ countrystring
United States
HQ regionstring
North America
Markets served

Serves global market

Offices12 records

Each record includes

City, Country, Type, Description, Source

Keyword5 values
public K-12 education, school district operations, primary secondary education, educational institution services, government funded education
Industry1 code
1Public K–12 Combined Schools
CodeEDAJAAAEPrimaryYes
NAICS code2 codes
  • Elementary and Secondary Schools61111
  • Elementary and Secondary Schools6111
SIC code1 code
  • Services-Educational Services8200
Product category
Public K-12 Education
Social media profiles2 records
Marketing channels2 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Stage, Description, Source

Distribution channels1 record

Each record includes

Title, Type, Scope, Target buyer, Description, Source

Cost components6 values
Personnel, Operations, Infrastructure, Technology or R&D, Marketing or Sales, Others
GTM typeB2C
B2C
Offering typeServices
Services
Brand1 of 3 records shown
1CORE PILLARS - Tradition
Description

One of three core pillars representing the district's foundational values

owensboro.kyschools.us
+2 more records
Core offering1 text field

Owensboro Public Schools is a public K-12 school district operating 12 schools from preschool through high school in Owensboro, Kentucky, providing free public education to families within its service area. The district runs traditional elementary, middle, and high schools alongside specialized programs including the Owensboro Innovation Academy, iMiddle School, and Emerson Academy alternative school.

Differentiator
Functional benefit
Problem solved
Product overview1 text field

Owensboro Public Schools is a public school district operating 12 educational institutions: 7 elementary schools (Newton Parrish, Cravens, Estes, Foust, Sutton), 2 middle schools (iMiddle, Owensboro Middle School), 1 high school (Owensboro High School), 1 innovation academy, 1 alternative academy (Emerson), and 1 preschool (Hager). The district website serves as a unified platform offering online registration, school report cards, and traceable communication services. Individual school pages provide specific academic performance metrics and contact information. Additional services include School Cash Online for fee payments and Parchment for transcript requests.

Product and service11 records
1Newton Parrish Elementary School
CategoryElementary Education
Description

Elementary school in the Owensboro Public Schools district, serving K-5 students at 510 Byers Avenue in Owensboro, Kentucky. Reported academic outcomes include 40% reading proficient and 42% math proficient rates.

2Owensboro High School
CategoryHigh School Education
Description

High school in the Owensboro Public Schools district, located at 1800 Frederica Street in Owensboro, Kentucky. Reported academic outcomes include 25% reading proficient, 27% math proficient, 14% distinguished reading, and 8% distinguished math rates.

3Owensboro Innovation Academy
CategoryAlternative Education
Description

Innovation-focused academy at 2631 South Griffith Avenue in Owensboro, Kentucky, offering alternative educational programs within the Owensboro Public Schools district.

4iMiddle School
CategoryMiddle School Education
Description

Application-based middle school in the Owensboro Public Schools district, requiring online application for enrollment. Reported academic outcomes include 34% reading proficient, 30% distinguished reading, and 12% distinguished math rates.

5Owensboro Middle School
CategoryMiddle School Education
Description

Middle school in the Owensboro Public Schools district, located at 1300 Booth Avenue in Owensboro, Kentucky. Features an orchestra program. Reported academic outcomes include 22% reading proficient rate.

6Cravens Elementary School
CategoryElementary Education
Description

Elementary school at 2741 Cravens Avenue in Owensboro, Kentucky, with a mission to nurture life-long learning. Reported academic outcomes include 24% reading proficient and 7% math proficient rates.

7Emerson Academy
CategoryAlternative Education
Description

Alternative school at 1335 West 11th Street in Owensboro, Kentucky, serving Owensboro area students through a non-traditional educational pathway within the district.

8Estes Elementary School
CategoryElementary Education
Description

Elementary school at 1675 Leitchfield Road in Owensboro, Kentucky. Reported academic outcomes include 29% reading proficient and 5% math proficient rates.

9Foust Elementary School
CategoryElementary Education
Description

Elementary school at 601 Foust Avenue in Owensboro, Kentucky. Reported academic outcomes include 37% reading proficient and 11% math proficient rates.

10Sutton Elementary School
CategoryElementary Education
Description

Elementary school at 2060 Lewis Lane in Owensboro, Kentucky. Reported academic outcomes include 32% reading proficient and 23% math proficient rates.

11Hager Preschool
CategoryEarly Childhood Education
Description

Preschool program at 1701 West 7th Street in Owensboro, Kentucky, serving early childhood education needs within the Owensboro Public Schools district.

Scale indicator4 records

Each record includes

Type, Value, Description, Source

Recent move5 records

Each record includes

Date, Type, Title, Description, Source

Expansion highlight4 records

Each record includes

Type, Description

Peers10 records
TypeOthers
Description

Ed-tech vendor whose platform powers Owensboro's district website, online registration, and parent communication tools. Adjacent as a key technology partner enabling the district's digital infrastructure rather than a direct instructional competitor.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Western Kentucky public school district with comparable enrollment size and a multi-school campus structure. Comparable on state accountability, academic programming, and operational scale.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

Largest public school district in Kentucky, operating a broad portfolio of K-12 schools plus magnet and alternative programs under the same state regulatory framework. Comparable on governance and instructional model but materially larger in scale and resources.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

National online K-12 education provider and operator of virtual schools, including Stride Career Prep pathways. Comparable as a K-12 instructional provider but delivers learning entirely online versus Owensboro's physical-campus model.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Adjacent Kentucky public school district serving the same Owensboro metropolitan area with similar grade-level offerings and demographics. Directly comparable on funding model, scale, and academic reporting framework.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Western Kentucky public school district of comparable size operating K-12 schools under the same state funding and report-card framework. Comparable on instructional offerings, district size, and rural-Kentucky demographic profile.

7KIPP Kentucky Schools
TypeEmerging player
Description

Charter school operator running public K-12 schools in Kentucky with a college-prep focus. Comparable as a K-12 public school option in the same state and represents a non-traditional alternative to traditional district schooling.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Neighboring Kentucky public school district with multiple elementary, middle, and high school campuses. Comparable in district size, governance structure, and reliance on state per-pupil funding.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Kentucky independent public school district serving Bowling Green with a similar K-12 campus footprint. Comparable in mission, funding model, and Kentucky Department of Education oversight.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

Large urban Kentucky public school district operating a wide range of elementary, middle, and high schools with magnet and specialty programs. Overlaps with Owensboro on core K-12 instructional offerings but is significantly larger and more diverse.

Market position
Strengths4 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Weaknesses4 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Competitive moat4 records

Each record includes

Type, Details

Key risks5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Key highlights5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Customer concentration

Classification, Details

Segment1 record

Each record includes

Title, Type, Primary, Description, Pain point addressed, Use case, Source

Ideal customer profile1 record

Each record includes

Profile, Firmographic size, Sales motion, Sales cycle length, Buying structure, Purchase trigger, Buyer persona, Geography, Industry vertical, Primary use case, Description, Pain points, Evidence proof points, Target buyer

Technology focused
No
API detail
Has APIbool
No

Docs URL, Description

AI maturity
App detail

Has app

Core technology
Revenue estimate
Valuation estimate
Number of profiles
Subsidiaries11 records

Each record includes

Name, Acquired on, Relationship type, Type, Business focus

No data
Funding overview

Funding stage, Last funding date, Total funding USD

Funding rounds

Each record includes

Round, Amount USD, Date, Pre money valuation, Total investors, Investors, News

Investors

Each record includes

Name, Type, Date of entry, Rounds participated, Website

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

M&A

Each record includes

Name, Acquisition type, Announced date, Completed date, Status, Website, News

Investment

Each record includes

Name, Round, Announced date, Lead investor, Website, News

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Owensboro Public Schools

Public K-12 Educationowensboro.kyschools.us

Owensboro Public Schools is a Kentucky public school district operating 12 preschool-through-12th-grade campuses in Owensboro, serving K-12 students with free public education funded by state appropriations, local property taxes, and federal grants.

What Owensboro Public Schools does

Owensboro Public Schools is an independent public school district located in Owensboro, Kentucky, the state's fourth-largest city. Founded in 1871, the district operates 12 educational campuses spanning preschool through 12th grade: 5 elementary schools (Newton Parrish, Cravens, Estes, Foust, Sutton), 2 middle schools (Owensboro Middle School and iMiddle School), 1 high school (Owensboro High School), 1 innovation-focused academy (Owensboro Innovation Academy), 1 alternative academy (Emerson Academy), and 1 preschool (Hager Preschool). Its single customer segment is K-12 students enrolled in the district, with the core problem solved being the provision of free public education to children in the Owensboro community, with particular emphasis on academic achievement in reading and mathematics.

The district's product surface is anchored by a unified digital platform at owensboro.kyschools.us that bundles online student registration, a School Report Card system (linking to Kentucky state accountability data), traceable parent communication, and supplementary tools including School Cash Online for fee collection and Parchment for transcript requests. Individual school websites sit beneath the district umbrella, each publishing site-specific academic performance metrics. Core technology is not custom-developed; it relies on the Apptegy content management platform for web presence and on third-party vendors for payments, communications, and transcript services. Academic outcomes reported for 2024-25 show district reading proficiency of 33% (elementary), 25% (middle), and 24% (high), with math proficiency of 35%, 24%, and 24% respectively — figures that materially trail typical state benchmarks.

As a government state entity under the Kentucky Department of Education, the district does not operate as a commercial enterprise. It is funded through a combination of state appropriations, local property taxes, and federal grants (including ARP ESSER), and education is provided free of charge. The district has no parent company, no private shareholders, and no funding rounds. Revenue is not publicly disclosed. Its strategic posture is governed by state and federal accountability requirements, and its differentiation rests on codified core pillars of Tradition, Innovation, and Excellence communicated through branding and alternative-program offerings.

Owensboro Public Schools firmographics

Firmographics
Name
Owensboro Public Schools
Legal name
Owensboro Public Schools
Website
https://owensboro.kyschools.us
Company type
Public
Founded year
1871
Operating status
Operating
Headcount range
251–500 employees
Short description
Owensboro Public Schools is a Kentucky public school district operating 12 preschool-through-12th-grade campuses in Owensboro, serving K-12 students with free public education funded by state appropriations, local property taxes, and federal grants.
Ownership category
akta.pro rank

Owensboro Public Schools industry classification

Industry
Product category
Public K-12 Education
NAICS
Elementary and Secondary Schools (61111), Elementary and Secondary Schools (6111)
SIC
Services-Educational Services (8200)
akta.pro primary industry
Public K–12 Combined Schools (EDAJAAAE)

Keywords

  • Public K-12 education
  • School district operations
  • Primary secondary education
  • Educational institution services
  • Government funded education

Where Owensboro Public Schools is headquartered

Location

Headquarters

HQ city
Owensboro
HQ country
United States
HQ region
North America

Offices12 records

Markets served

Owensboro Public Schools business model

Business model
GTM type
B2C
Offering type
Services
Cost components
Personnel, Operations, Infrastructure, Technology or R&D, Marketing or Sales, Others

Distribution channels1 record

Marketing channels2 records

Owensboro Public Schools product offering

Product offering

Core offering

Owensboro Public Schools is a public K-12 school district operating 12 schools from preschool through high school in Owensboro, Kentucky, providing free public education to families within its service area. The district runs traditional elementary, middle, and high schools alongside specialized programs including the Owensboro Innovation Academy, iMiddle School, and Emerson Academy alternative school.

Product overview

Owensboro Public Schools is a public school district operating 12 educational institutions: 7 elementary schools (Newton Parrish, Cravens, Estes, Foust, Sutton), 2 middle schools (iMiddle, Owensboro Middle School), 1 high school (Owensboro High School), 1 innovation academy, 1 alternative academy (Emerson), and 1 preschool (Hager). The district website serves as a unified platform offering online registration, school report cards, and traceable communication services. Individual school pages provide specific academic performance metrics and contact information. Additional services include School Cash Online for fee payments and Parchment for transcript requests.

Differentiator

Problem solved

Functional benefit

Brands

  • CORE PILLARS - Tradition: One of three core pillars representing the district's foundational values
  • CORE PILLARS - Innovation
  • CORE PILLARS - Excellence

Products and services

  • Newton Parrish Elementary School Elementary school in the Owensboro Public Schools district, serving K-5 students at 510 Byers Avenue in Owensboro, Kentucky. Reported academic outcomes include 40% reading proficient and 42% math proficient rates.
  • Owensboro High School High school in the Owensboro Public Schools district, located at 1800 Frederica Street in Owensboro, Kentucky. Reported academic outcomes include 25% reading proficient, 27% math proficient, 14% distinguished reading, and 8% distinguished math rates.
  • Owensboro Innovation Academy Innovation-focused academy at 2631 South Griffith Avenue in Owensboro, Kentucky, offering alternative educational programs within the Owensboro Public Schools district.
  • iMiddle School Application-based middle school in the Owensboro Public Schools district, requiring online application for enrollment. Reported academic outcomes include 34% reading proficient, 30% distinguished reading, and 12% distinguished math rates.
  • Owensboro Middle School Middle school in the Owensboro Public Schools district, located at 1300 Booth Avenue in Owensboro, Kentucky. Features an orchestra program. Reported academic outcomes include 22% reading proficient rate.
  • Cravens Elementary School Elementary school at 2741 Cravens Avenue in Owensboro, Kentucky, with a mission to nurture life-long learning. Reported academic outcomes include 24% reading proficient and 7% math proficient rates.
  • Emerson Academy Alternative school at 1335 West 11th Street in Owensboro, Kentucky, serving Owensboro area students through a non-traditional educational pathway within the district.
  • Estes Elementary School Elementary school at 1675 Leitchfield Road in Owensboro, Kentucky. Reported academic outcomes include 29% reading proficient and 5% math proficient rates.
  • Foust Elementary School Elementary school at 601 Foust Avenue in Owensboro, Kentucky. Reported academic outcomes include 37% reading proficient and 11% math proficient rates.
  • Sutton Elementary School Elementary school at 2060 Lewis Lane in Owensboro, Kentucky. Reported academic outcomes include 32% reading proficient and 23% math proficient rates.
  • Hager Preschool Preschool program at 1701 West 7th Street in Owensboro, Kentucky, serving early childhood education needs within the Owensboro Public Schools district.

Companies that use Owensboro Public Schools

Customer profile

Segments1 record

Ideal customer profiles1 record

Owensboro Public Schools technology and API

Technology

Technology focussed No

API detail

Has API
No
API docs
API detail

Core technology

AI maturity

App detail

Owensboro Public Schools partnerships and signals

Strategic signal

Scale indicators4 records

Recent moves5 records

Expansion highlights4 records

Owensboro Public Schools competitors and assessment

Company assessment

Others

  • Apptegy: Ed-tech vendor whose platform powers Owensboro's district website, online registration, and parent communication tools. Adjacent as a key technology partner enabling the district's digital infrastructure rather than a direct instructional competitor.

Direct peers

  • Christian County Public Schools: Western Kentucky public school district with comparable enrollment size and a multi-school campus structure. Comparable on state accountability, academic programming, and operational scale.
  • Daviess County Public Schools: Adjacent Kentucky public school district serving the same Owensboro metropolitan area with similar grade-level offerings and demographics. Directly comparable on funding model, scale, and academic reporting framework.
  • Henderson County Schools: Western Kentucky public school district of comparable size operating K-12 schools under the same state funding and report-card framework. Comparable on instructional offerings, district size, and rural-Kentucky demographic profile.
  • Hopkins County Schools: Neighboring Kentucky public school district with multiple elementary, middle, and high school campuses. Comparable in district size, governance structure, and reliance on state per-pupil funding.
  • Bowling Green Independent Schools: Kentucky independent public school district serving Bowling Green with a similar K-12 campus footprint. Comparable in mission, funding model, and Kentucky Department of Education oversight.

Broad incumbents

  • Jefferson County Public Schools (Louisville): Largest public school district in Kentucky, operating a broad portfolio of K-12 schools plus magnet and alternative programs under the same state regulatory framework. Comparable on governance and instructional model but materially larger in scale and resources.
  • Stride Learning (formerly K12 Inc): National online K-12 education provider and operator of virtual schools, including Stride Career Prep pathways. Comparable as a K-12 instructional provider but delivers learning entirely online versus Owensboro's physical-campus model.
  • Fayette County Public Schools (Lexington): Large urban Kentucky public school district operating a wide range of elementary, middle, and high schools with magnet and specialty programs. Overlaps with Owensboro on core K-12 instructional offerings but is significantly larger and more diverse.

Emerging players

  • KIPP Kentucky Schools: Charter school operator running public K-12 schools in Kentucky with a college-prep focus. Comparable as a K-12 public school option in the same state and represents a non-traditional alternative to traditional district schooling.

Market position

Strengths4 records

Weaknesses4 records

Competitive moat4 records

Key risks5 records

Key highlights5 records

Customer concentration

Owensboro Public Schools social profiles

Digital presence

Owensboro Public Schools financial estimates

Financial estimate

Revenue estimate

Valuation estimate

Owensboro Public Schools leadership team

Management profile

Number of profiles

Owensboro Public Schools subsidiaries and ownership

Company hierarchy

Subsidiaries11 records

Owensboro Public Schools funding detail

Funding detail

Funding overview

Funding rounds

Investors

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Owensboro Public Schools M&A and investment

M&A and investment

M&A

Investments

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Frequently asked questions about Owensboro Public Schools

What does Owensboro Public Schools do?

Owensboro Public Schools is a public K-12 school district operating 12 schools from preschool through high school in Owensboro, Kentucky, providing free public education to families within its service area. The district runs traditional elementary, middle, and high schools alongside specialized programs including the Owensboro Innovation Academy, iMiddle School, and Emerson Academy alternative school.

Is Owensboro Public Schools a public or private company?

Owensboro Public Schools is a public company. It is classified as state government owned and is currently operating.

When was Owensboro Public Schools founded?

Owensboro Public Schools was founded in 1871. It employs 251 to 500 people.

Where is Owensboro Public Schools based?

Owensboro Public Schools is headquartered in Owensboro, United States, in the North America region.

Who are Owensboro Public Schools's main competitors?

Apptegy is listed as an others. Direct peers are Christian County Public Schools, Daviess County Public Schools, Henderson County Schools, Hopkins County Schools and Bowling Green Independent Schools. Broad incumbents are Jefferson County Public Schools (Louisville), Stride Learning (formerly K12 Inc) and Fayette County Public Schools (Lexington). KIPP Kentucky Schools is listed as an emerging player.

Does Owensboro Public Schools have an API?

No public API is recorded for Owensboro Public Schools.

What industry is Owensboro Public Schools in?

Owensboro Public Schools's product category is Public K-12 Education. Its primary akta.pro industry code is EDAJAAAE, Public K–12 Combined Schools. Its NAICS code is 61111 and its SIC code is 8200.

Unlock the full company data

50 free credits on sign-up, no credit card required.

Contact sales