Developer docs
API playgroundTry for free, no card

Search company profiles

University of Tennessee College of Law

Full company profile

uuid002iqnp

Namestring
University of Tennessee College of Law
Legal namestring
University of Tennessee Winston College of Law
Websiteurl
law.utk.edu
Company typeenum
Private
Founded yearint
1890
Descriptiontext

The University of Tennessee Winston College of Law is the flagship law school of the public University of Tennessee system, located at 1505 Cumberland Avenue in Knoxville, Tennessee. Founded in 1890 and renamed in 2023 following transformative gifts from Frank Winston and Bill Gatton, the college is ABA-accredited and offers a Juris Doctor program as its core offering, supplemented by a Master of Legal Studies, dual-degree programs, and graduate certificates in Health Policy and Law & Social Welfare. The institution operates multiple specialized centers — the Appalachian Justice Research Center, the Center for Advocacy and Dispute Resolution, the Clayton Center for Entrepreneurial Law, and the Reeves Institute for Professional Leadership — along with a Legal Clinic, the Frank Winston Fellows public interest fellowship, the Joel A. Katz Law Library, and a Career Center.

The college serves three primary customer segments: prospective JD students seeking bar admission and legal careers, graduate students pursuing specialized legal credentials without becoming attorneys, and practicing attorneys consuming Continuing Legal Education programming. Revenue is generated primarily through recurring tuition and fees for the JD, MLS, and dual-degree programs, with secondary streams from CLE programs and alumni/donor contributions. Distribution is concentrated on the Knoxville campus via direct admissions processes, the Apply portal, campus visits, and Financial Aid counseling, with a geographic footprint limited to the Southeast United States.

The school's primary differentiators include its flagship-campus status, ABA accreditation, a public-service identity embodied in the "Volunteer Spirit" ethos, a #13 U.S. News national ranking (2025) with top-ranked Legal Clinic, Business Law, and graduate employment outcomes, and an extensive alumni and donor network that funds named fellowships and institutes. Pricing is not publicly disclosed; prospective applicants are routed to Financial Aid and admissions offices.

Short descriptiontext

The University of Tennessee Winston College of Law is the ABA-accredited flagship law school of the University of Tennessee system in Knoxville, offering a JD program, Master of Legal Studies, and graduate certificates to prospective law students and working professionals across the Southeast United States.

Operating statusenum
Operating
Ownership categoryenum
Headcount rangeband
501–1,000
akta.pro rankint
HeadquartersChicago, United States
HQ citystring
Chicago
HQ countrystring
United States
HQ regionstring
North America
Markets served

Serves global market

Offices1 record

Each record includes

City, Country, Type, Description, Source

Keyword5 values
legal education, JD program, graduate certificates, continuing legal education, clinical legal training
Industry4 codes
1EDAHAIAA
CodeEDAHAIAAPrimaryYes
2EDAHAIAH
CodeEDAHAIAHPrimaryNo
3EDAHAIAG
CodeEDAHAIAGPrimaryNo
4EDAHAIAC
CodeEDAHAIACPrimaryNo
NAICS code2 codes
  • 6113
  • 61131
SIC code1 code
  • 8200
Product category
Legal Education
GTM motion1 record

Each record includes

Type, Description, Source

Revenue model3 records
1Tuition and Fees
TypeSubscription Recurring
Description

Revenue from JD program tuition, Master of Legal Studies programs, dual degree programs, and associated academic fees. Financial Aid office manages scholarship programs including Frank Winston Fellows.

winston.utk.edu
2Continuing Legal Education (CLE)
TypeProfessional Services
Description

Revenue from CLE programs for practicing attorneys requiring ongoing professional education credits.

winston.utk.edu
3Alumni and Donor Contributions
TypeLicensing Royalties
Description

Giving programs including Frank Winston Fellows, direct donations, and alumni engagement initiatives.

winston.utk.edu
Marketing channels4 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Stage, Description, Source

Distribution channels3 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Scope, Target buyer, Description, Source

Cost components5 values
Personnel, Operations, Infrastructure, Technology or R&D, Marketing or Sales
GTM typeB2C
B2C
Offering typeServices
Services
Brand1 of 4 records shown
1Appalachian Justice Research Center
Description

Research center focused on justice issues in the Appalachian region.

winston.utk.edu
+3 more records
Core offering1 text field

The University of Tennessee Winston College of Law is a public law school that delivers legal education primarily through its Juris Doctor (JD) program, supported by Master of Legal Studies degrees, graduate certificates (Advocacy & Dispute Resolution, Business Transactions, Health Policy, Law & Social Welfare), and dual degree programs. It also provides clinical legal training through the Legal Clinic, professional leadership development via the Reeves Institute, and Continuing Legal Education (CLE) for practicing attorneys.

Differentiator
Functional benefit
Problem solved
Product overview1 text field

University of Tennessee Winston College of Law is a law school offering a unified portfolio of legal education programs and services. The core offering is the JD Program, supplemented by Master of Legal Studies and certificate programs. The school operates several specialized academic centers including the Appalachian Justice Research Center, Center for Advocacy and Dispute Resolution, Clayton Center for Entrepreneurial Law, and Reeves Institute for Professional Leadership. Clinical education is delivered through the Legal Clinic, while the Frank Winston Fellows Program supports public interest career paths. Supporting services include the Joel A. Katz Law Library and Career Center.

Product and service1 record
1JD Program
Scale indicator4 records

Each record includes

Type, Value, Description, Source

Recent move6 records

Each record includes

Date, Type, Title, Description, Source

Expansion highlight4 records

Each record includes

Type, Description

Peers10 records
TypeDirect peer
Description

Nashville-based peer law school and primary in-state competitor for Tennessee legal talent and employer placement, offering JD, LLM, and graduate programs with stronger national rankings.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Atlanta-based peer law school serving the same Southeast employer market with comparable JD, graduate, and clinical programs at a private institution.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Highly ranked regional peer law school drawing from the same Southeast applicant pool with strong business law and trial advocacy programs, posing direct competition for top candidates.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Public regional peer law school competing for the same Southeastern applicant base with comparable ABA-accredited JD and graduate programs.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

Elite T-14 law school drawing top applicants from across the U.S., including Tennessee residents, and serving as an upper-bound competitor for the most credentialed students.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

Top-ranked public law school and T-14 incumbent that draws the highest-quality applicants from the same Southeast region, setting the upper benchmark for public law school prestige and employer placement.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Public regional peer law school serving a similar Appalachian-adjacent applicant pool, competing for students from Tennessee, Kentucky, and surrounding states with comparable public-university funding model.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Peer public flagship Southeastern law school with comparable JD, graduate, and clinical programs, competing directly for regional applicants and employer recruiting.

TypeRegional player
Description

Public regional peer law school with overlapping applicant geography and similar public-university funding model, competing for students from adjacent Southern states.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Public flagship Southeastern law school with similar size, scope, and JD/graduate program mix, and overlapping applicant geography across the Southeast.

Market position
Strengths4 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Weaknesses4 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Competitive moat4 records

Each record includes

Type, Details

Key risks3 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Key highlights6 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Customer concentration

Classification, Details

Segment3 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Primary, Description, Pain point addressed, Use case, Source

Ideal customer profile3 records

Each record includes

Profile, Firmographic size, Sales motion, Sales cycle length, Buying structure, Purchase trigger, Buyer persona, Geography, Industry vertical, Primary use case, Description, Pain points, Evidence proof points, Target buyer

Technology focused
No
API detail
Has APIbool
No

Docs URL, Description

AI maturity
App detail

Has app

Core technology
Revenue estimate
Valuation estimate
Number of profiles
Profiles1 record

Each record includes

Name, Designation, Designation category, Overview, Profile commentary, Source

No data
No data
Funding overview

Funding stage, Last funding date, Total funding USD

Funding rounds

Each record includes

Round, Amount USD, Date, Pre money valuation, Total investors, Investors, News

Investors

Each record includes

Name, Type, Date of entry, Rounds participated, Website

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

M&A

Each record includes

Name, Acquisition type, Announced date, Completed date, Status, Website, News

Investment

Each record includes

Name, Round, Announced date, Lead investor, Website, News

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

University of Tennessee College of Law

Legal Educationlaw.utk.edu

The University of Tennessee Winston College of Law is the ABA-accredited flagship law school of the University of Tennessee system in Knoxville, offering a JD program, Master of Legal Studies, and graduate certificates to prospective law students and working professionals across the Southeast United States.

What University of Tennessee College of Law does

The University of Tennessee Winston College of Law is the flagship law school of the public University of Tennessee system, located at 1505 Cumberland Avenue in Knoxville, Tennessee. Founded in 1890 and renamed in 2023 following transformative gifts from Frank Winston and Bill Gatton, the college is ABA-accredited and offers a Juris Doctor program as its core offering, supplemented by a Master of Legal Studies, dual-degree programs, and graduate certificates in Health Policy and Law & Social Welfare. The institution operates multiple specialized centers — the Appalachian Justice Research Center, the Center for Advocacy and Dispute Resolution, the Clayton Center for Entrepreneurial Law, and the Reeves Institute for Professional Leadership — along with a Legal Clinic, the Frank Winston Fellows public interest fellowship, the Joel A. Katz Law Library, and a Career Center.

The college serves three primary customer segments: prospective JD students seeking bar admission and legal careers, graduate students pursuing specialized legal credentials without becoming attorneys, and practicing attorneys consuming Continuing Legal Education programming. Revenue is generated primarily through recurring tuition and fees for the JD, MLS, and dual-degree programs, with secondary streams from CLE programs and alumni/donor contributions. Distribution is concentrated on the Knoxville campus via direct admissions processes, the Apply portal, campus visits, and Financial Aid counseling, with a geographic footprint limited to the Southeast United States.

The school's primary differentiators include its flagship-campus status, ABA accreditation, a public-service identity embodied in the "Volunteer Spirit" ethos, a #13 U.S. News national ranking (2025) with top-ranked Legal Clinic, Business Law, and graduate employment outcomes, and an extensive alumni and donor network that funds named fellowships and institutes. Pricing is not publicly disclosed; prospective applicants are routed to Financial Aid and admissions offices.

University of Tennessee College of Law firmographics

Firmographics
Name
University of Tennessee College of Law
Legal name
University of Tennessee Winston College of Law
Website
https://law.utk.edu
Company type
Private
Founded year
1890
Operating status
Operating
Headcount range
501–1,000 employees
Short description
The University of Tennessee Winston College of Law is the ABA-accredited flagship law school of the University of Tennessee system in Knoxville, offering a JD program, Master of Legal Studies, and graduate certificates to prospective law students and working professionals across the Southeast United States.
Ownership category
akta.pro rank

Where University of Tennessee College of Law is headquartered

Location

Headquarters

HQ city
Chicago
HQ country
United States
HQ region
North America

Offices1 record

Markets served

University of Tennessee College of Law business model

Business model
GTM type
B2C
Offering type
Services
Cost components
Personnel, Operations, Infrastructure, Technology or R&D, Marketing or Sales

Revenue model

  1. Tuition and Fees: Revenue from JD program tuition, Master of Legal Studies programs, dual degree programs, and associated academic fees. Financial Aid office manages scholarship programs including Frank Winston Fellows.
  2. Continuing Legal Education (CLE): Revenue from CLE programs for practicing attorneys requiring ongoing professional education credits.
  3. Alumni and Donor Contributions: Giving programs including Frank Winston Fellows, direct donations, and alumni engagement initiatives.

Go-to-market motion1 record

Distribution channels3 records

Marketing channels4 records

University of Tennessee College of Law product offering

Product offering

Core offering

The University of Tennessee Winston College of Law is a public law school that delivers legal education primarily through its Juris Doctor (JD) program, supported by Master of Legal Studies degrees, graduate certificates (Advocacy & Dispute Resolution, Business Transactions, Health Policy, Law & Social Welfare), and dual degree programs. It also provides clinical legal training through the Legal Clinic, professional leadership development via the Reeves Institute, and Continuing Legal Education (CLE) for practicing attorneys.

Product overview

University of Tennessee Winston College of Law is a law school offering a unified portfolio of legal education programs and services. The core offering is the JD Program, supplemented by Master of Legal Studies and certificate programs. The school operates several specialized academic centers including the Appalachian Justice Research Center, Center for Advocacy and Dispute Resolution, Clayton Center for Entrepreneurial Law, and Reeves Institute for Professional Leadership. Clinical education is delivered through the Legal Clinic, while the Frank Winston Fellows Program supports public interest career paths. Supporting services include the Joel A. Katz Law Library and Career Center.

Differentiator

Problem solved

Functional benefit

Brands

  • Appalachian Justice Research Center: Research center focused on justice issues in the Appalachian region.
  • Center for Advocacy and Dispute Resolution
  • Clayton Center for Entrepreneurial Law
  • Reeves Institute for Professional Leadership

Products and services

  • JD Program

Companies that use University of Tennessee College of Law

Customer profile

Segments3 records

Ideal customer profiles3 records

University of Tennessee College of Law technology and API

Technology

Technology focussed No

API detail

Has API
No
API docs
API detail

Core technology

AI maturity

App detail

University of Tennessee College of Law partnerships and signals

Strategic signal

Scale indicators4 records

Recent moves6 records

Expansion highlights4 records

University of Tennessee College of Law competitors and assessment

Company assessment

Direct peers

  • Vanderbilt University Law School: Nashville-based peer law school and primary in-state competitor for Tennessee legal talent and employer placement, offering JD, LLM, and graduate programs with stronger national rankings.
  • Emory University School of Law: Atlanta-based peer law school serving the same Southeast employer market with comparable JD, graduate, and clinical programs at a private institution.
  • Washington and Lee University School of Law: Highly ranked regional peer law school drawing from the same Southeast applicant pool with strong business law and trial advocacy programs, posing direct competition for top candidates.
  • University of Alabama School of Law: Public regional peer law school competing for the same Southeastern applicant base with comparable ABA-accredited JD and graduate programs.
  • University of Kentucky J. David Rosenberg College of Law: Public regional peer law school serving a similar Appalachian-adjacent applicant pool, competing for students from Tennessee, Kentucky, and surrounding states with comparable public-university funding model.
  • University of Georgia School of Law: Peer public flagship Southeastern law school with comparable JD, graduate, and clinical programs, competing directly for regional applicants and employer recruiting.
  • University of Florida Levin College of Law: Public flagship Southeastern law school with similar size, scope, and JD/graduate program mix, and overlapping applicant geography across the Southeast.

Broad incumbents

  • Duke University School of Law: Elite T-14 law school drawing top applicants from across the U.S., including Tennessee residents, and serving as an upper-bound competitor for the most credentialed students.
  • University of Virginia School of Law: Top-ranked public law school and T-14 incumbent that draws the highest-quality applicants from the same Southeast region, setting the upper benchmark for public law school prestige and employer placement.

Regional players

  • University of Mississippi School of Law: Public regional peer law school with overlapping applicant geography and similar public-university funding model, competing for students from adjacent Southern states.

Market position

Strengths4 records

Weaknesses4 records

Competitive moat4 records

Key risks3 records

Key highlights6 records

Customer concentration

University of Tennessee College of Law social profiles

Digital presence

University of Tennessee College of Law financial estimates

Financial estimate

Revenue estimate

Valuation estimate

University of Tennessee College of Law leadership team

Management profile

Number of profiles

Profiles1 record

University of Tennessee College of Law funding detail

Funding detail

Funding overview

Funding rounds

Investors

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

University of Tennessee College of Law M&A and investment

M&A and investment

M&A

Investments

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Frequently asked questions about University of Tennessee College of Law

What does University of Tennessee College of Law do?

The University of Tennessee Winston College of Law is a public law school that delivers legal education primarily through its Juris Doctor (JD) program, supported by Master of Legal Studies degrees, graduate certificates (Advocacy & Dispute Resolution, Business Transactions, Health Policy, Law & Social Welfare), and dual degree programs. It also provides clinical legal training through the Legal Clinic, professional leadership development via the Reeves Institute, and Continuing Legal Education (CLE) for practicing attorneys.

Is University of Tennessee College of Law a public or private company?

University of Tennessee College of Law is a private company. It is classified as state government owned and is currently operating.

When was University of Tennessee College of Law founded?

University of Tennessee College of Law was founded in 1890. It employs 501 to 1,000 people.

Where is University of Tennessee College of Law based?

University of Tennessee College of Law is headquartered in Chicago, United States, in the North America region.

How does University of Tennessee College of Law make money?

Three revenue lines are on record. Tuition and Fees are the primary driver. The others are continuing Legal Education (CLE) and alumni and Donor Contributions.

Who are University of Tennessee College of Law's main competitors?

Direct peers on record are Vanderbilt University Law School, Emory University School of Law, Washington and Lee University School of Law, University of Alabama School of Law, University of Kentucky J. David Rosenberg College of Law, University of Georgia School of Law and University of Florida Levin College of Law. Broad incumbents are Duke University School of Law and University of Virginia School of Law. University of Mississippi School of Law is listed as a regional player.

Does University of Tennessee College of Law have an API?

No public API is recorded for University of Tennessee College of Law.

Unlock the full company data

50 free credits on sign-up, no credit card required.

Contact sales