Developer docs
API playgroundTry for free, no card

Search company profiles

City and Guilds Art School

Full company profile

uuid002s4qt

Namestring
City and Guilds Art School
Legal namestring
City & Guilds of London Art School
Company typeenum
Private
Founded yearint
1879
Descriptiontext

City & Guilds of London Art School is a not-for-profit specialist higher education institution and registered charity (no. 1144708) founded in 1879 in Kennington, London, providing studio-based education in Fine Art, Conservation, and Carving — the only UK provider offering full-time BA (Hons) degrees in Architectural Stone Carving and Woodcarving & Gilding at this level. Its curriculum spans a Level 4 Foundation Diploma (validated by the University of the Arts London Awarding Body), BA (Hons) degrees, MA programmes, Graduate Diplomas, short courses, and a youth-access pathway through the National Saturday Club and related programmes, with a total student community of approximately 290. Teaching is delivered by active practising professionals in purpose-built studios — including a Print & Engraving Room re-established by Norman Ackroyd in 1998 and specialist woodwork, glass-working, and bronze-casting facilities — and is supported by partnerships with major London heritage and cultural institutions (V&A, British Museum, Natural History Museum, Royal Collection Trust, Westminster Abbey, Palace of Westminster).

Revenue derives principally from tuition fees charged to UK and international students across Foundation, undergraduate, postgraduate, and short-course programmes, supplemented by philanthropy in the form of bursaries, scholarships, and project funding from individuals, livery companies, and foundations such as Freelands and QEST. Short-course pricing is selective-published (e.g., a £560 5-day Marbling course in July 2024), while main-programme tuition is not publicly disclosed. Distribution is direct-to-consumer: prospective students apply through the school's own admissions process with portfolio submission, interviews, and offers, supplemented by Open Days, Student Virtual Chats, public Degree Shows, and an active social presence on Instagram, TikTok, Facebook, and LinkedIn. International recruitment includes CAS visa support and a £350 visa-processing fee.

Current strategic posture emphasises programmatic expansion: a new Graduate School was launched in March 2025 consolidating MA Carving, MA Conservation, and MA Fine Art, with MA Conservation: Collection Care & Management and the UK's only higher-education-level Graduate Diploma Arts: Mosaics scheduled for 2026/27. Governance was reinforced by appointing a new Vice Principal, a new Head of BA Fine Art from Glasgow School of Art, and several new trustees during 2024–2025, alongside broader international recruitment activity.

Short descriptiontext

City & Guilds of London Art School is a not-for-profit London higher education institution and charity offering specialist Foundation, BA, MA, and Graduate Diploma programmes in Fine Art, Conservation, and Carving — the UK's only provider of full-time degrees in architectural stone and woodcarving/gilding — for roughly 290 students annually.

Operating statusenum
Operating
Ownership categoryenum
Headcount rangeband
1–10
akta.pro rankint
HeadquartersLondon, United Kingdom
HQ citystring
London
HQ countrystring
United Kingdom
HQ regionstring
Europe
Markets served

Serves global market

Offices3 records

Each record includes

City, Country, Type, Description, Source

Keyword5 values
higher education, art school, fine art courses, conservation studies, specialist craft education
Industry2 codes
1Arts Education & Community Arts Programs
CodeBPAGAHACPrimaryNo
2Visual Arts Instruction (Drawing, Painting, Sculpture)
CodeEDAMAAAAPrimaryNo
NAICS code2 codes
  • Fine Arts Schools611610
  • Colleges, Universities, and Professional Schools6113
Product category
Art and Design Higher Education
GTM motion2 records

Each record includes

Type, Description, Source

Revenue model3 records
1Tuition Fees
TypeSubscription Recurring
Description

Fee income from Foundation, BA (Hons), MA, Graduate Diploma and Short Courses programmes for UK and international students

cityandguildsartschool.ac.uk
2Philanthropy and Donations
TypeProfessional Services
Description

Bursaries, scholarships, funded projects and collaborations supported by broad range of individuals and institutions

cityandguildsartschool.ac.uk
3Charitable Status
TypeManaged Services
Description

Registered charity (no. 1144708) providing not-for-profit education model

cityandguildsartschool.ac.uk
Marketing channels8 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Stage, Description, Source

Distribution channels3 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Scope, Target buyer, Description, Source

Cost components5 values
Personnel, Operations, Infrastructure, Marketing or Sales, Technology or R&D
Pricing details3 tiers
1Marbling Short Course (15-19 July 2024)
ModelOne time/ perpetual licenseBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

£560 for 5-day course, 10% discount for students, alumni and staff

cityandguildsartschool.ac.uk
2International Student Visa Processing
ModelTransaction based/ take rateBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

£350 application processing fee

cityandguildsartschool.ac.uk
3Student Visa Living Expenses (London)
ModelUnit PricingBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

£1,334 per month (£12,006 for 9 months)

cityandguildsartschool.ac.uk
GTM typeB2C
B2C
Offering typeServices
Services
Core offering1 text field

City & Guilds of London Art School is a not-for-profit higher education institution offering specialist studio-based programmes in Fine Art, Conservation, Carving (Architectural Stone and Woodcarving & Gilding), and Mosaics. It delivers Foundation Diploma, BA (Hons), MA, and Graduate Diploma qualifications, alongside short courses and youth access programmes, taught from a single London campus by active practising professionals.

Differentiator
Functional benefit
Problem solved
Quantifiable outcome1 of 2 values shown
  • Majority of Foundation Diploma students progress to first choice course
+1 more record
Product overview1 text field

City & Guilds of London Art School is a not-for-profit Higher Education institution offering a portfolio of specialist art, craft, and conservation courses. The institution operates a single-location campus model with programs at Foundation (Level 4 Diploma), Undergraduate (BA Hons degrees), and Postgraduate (MA degrees and Graduate Diplomas) levels. Core offerings include Fine Art, Conservation (with specializations in Stone/Wood/Decorative Surfaces and Books & Paper), and Carving (Architectural Stone and Woodcarving & Gilding). New additions include an MA Conservation: Collection Care & Management and Graduate Diploma Arts: Mosaics launching 2026/27. The school also offers short courses through Summer School and Evening Programs, and runs a Youth Access program with the National Saturday Club. All courses emphasize studio-based practice with high contact teaching time from active professionals.

Product and service1 record
1Foundation Diploma in Art & Design
Scale indicator7 records

Each record includes

Type, Value, Description, Source

Partnership20 partners
Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Collaboration in conservation education and practice, providing work placement and project opportunities for students

Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Partnership in collection management and conservation education

Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Historic carving and conservation collaborations for heritage preservation

4The Palace of Westminster
Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Heritage conservation projects and industry connections for carving students

cityandguildsartschool.ac.uk
Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Conservation practice collaborations and professional networks

Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Collection care and conservation education partnerships

Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Cultural heritage conservation and professional development opportunities

Strategic tierMinorTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Exhibition and artistic collaboration

Strategic tierMinorTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Heritage conservation and educational partnerships

Strategic tierMinorTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Jointly offering 'Introduction to Global Conservation' Commonwealth Summer School programme

Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Validates Foundation Diploma in Art & Design at Level 4, approved centre for UAL Awarding Body

Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Collaboration in developing Graduate Diploma Arts: Mosaics, bringing mosaic expertise to the art school

13Worshipful Company of Joiners and Ceilers
Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Livery company providing prizes, scholarships and industry connections for carving students

cityandguildsartschool.ac.uk
Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Livery company supporting stone carving students with prizes and professional networks

Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Provides Decorative Surfaces Fellowship for MA Fine Art students including studio and specialist training

Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Provides ACS City & Guilds of London Art School Studio Prize for graduating MA Fine Art students

Strategic tierMinorTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Livery company providing travel scholarships and menu cover design prizes

Strategic tierMinorTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Livery company providing travel prizes and engraving prizes for students

Strategic tierMinorTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Livery company connection through trustee Edward Campbell-Johnston as Fourth Warden

Strategic tierMinorTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Established by Lee Alexander McQueen, provides artist residencies for graduates including Jo Grogan

Recent move9 records

Each record includes

Date, Type, Title, Description, Source

Expansion highlight5 records

Each record includes

Type, Description

Market position
Strengths5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Weaknesses5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Competitive moat5 records

Each record includes

Type, Details

Key highlights7 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Customer concentration

Classification, Details

Named customers3 records

Each record includes

Name, Industry, Type, Use case, Source, UUID

Segment5 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Primary, Description, Pain point addressed, Use case, Source

Ideal customer profile5 records

Each record includes

Profile, Firmographic size, Sales motion, Sales cycle length, Buying structure, Purchase trigger, Buyer persona, Geography, Industry vertical, Primary use case, Description, Pain points, Evidence proof points, Target buyer

Technology focused
No
API detail
Has APIbool
No

Docs URL, Description

AI maturity
App detail

Has app

Feature4 records

Each record includes

Title, Differentiator, Description, Source

Core technology
Revenue estimate
Valuation estimate
Number of profiles
Profiles12 records

Each record includes

Name, Designation, Designation category, Overview, Profile commentary, Source

No data
No data
Funding overview

Funding stage, Last funding date, Total funding USD

Funding rounds

Each record includes

Round, Amount USD, Date, Pre money valuation, Total investors, Investors, News

Investors

Each record includes

Name, Type, Date of entry, Rounds participated, Website

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

M&A

Each record includes

Name, Acquisition type, Announced date, Completed date, Status, Website, News

Investment

Each record includes

Name, Round, Announced date, Lead investor, Website, News

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

City and Guilds Art School

Art and Design Higher Educationcityandguildsartschool.ac.uk

City & Guilds of London Art School is a not-for-profit London higher education institution and charity offering specialist Foundation, BA, MA, and Graduate Diploma programmes in Fine Art, Conservation, and Carving — the UK's only provider of full-time degrees in architectural stone and woodcarving/gilding — for roughly 290 students annually.

What City and Guilds Art School does

City & Guilds of London Art School is a not-for-profit specialist higher education institution and registered charity (no. 1144708) founded in 1879 in Kennington, London, providing studio-based education in Fine Art, Conservation, and Carving — the only UK provider offering full-time BA (Hons) degrees in Architectural Stone Carving and Woodcarving & Gilding at this level. Its curriculum spans a Level 4 Foundation Diploma (validated by the University of the Arts London Awarding Body), BA (Hons) degrees, MA programmes, Graduate Diplomas, short courses, and a youth-access pathway through the National Saturday Club and related programmes, with a total student community of approximately 290. Teaching is delivered by active practising professionals in purpose-built studios — including a Print & Engraving Room re-established by Norman Ackroyd in 1998 and specialist woodwork, glass-working, and bronze-casting facilities — and is supported by partnerships with major London heritage and cultural institutions (V&A, British Museum, Natural History Museum, Royal Collection Trust, Westminster Abbey, Palace of Westminster).

Revenue derives principally from tuition fees charged to UK and international students across Foundation, undergraduate, postgraduate, and short-course programmes, supplemented by philanthropy in the form of bursaries, scholarships, and project funding from individuals, livery companies, and foundations such as Freelands and QEST. Short-course pricing is selective-published (e.g., a £560 5-day Marbling course in July 2024), while main-programme tuition is not publicly disclosed. Distribution is direct-to-consumer: prospective students apply through the school's own admissions process with portfolio submission, interviews, and offers, supplemented by Open Days, Student Virtual Chats, public Degree Shows, and an active social presence on Instagram, TikTok, Facebook, and LinkedIn. International recruitment includes CAS visa support and a £350 visa-processing fee.

Current strategic posture emphasises programmatic expansion: a new Graduate School was launched in March 2025 consolidating MA Carving, MA Conservation, and MA Fine Art, with MA Conservation: Collection Care & Management and the UK's only higher-education-level Graduate Diploma Arts: Mosaics scheduled for 2026/27. Governance was reinforced by appointing a new Vice Principal, a new Head of BA Fine Art from Glasgow School of Art, and several new trustees during 2024–2025, alongside broader international recruitment activity.

City and Guilds Art School firmographics

Firmographics
Name
City and Guilds Art School
Legal name
City & Guilds of London Art School
Website
https://cityandguildsartschool.ac.uk
Company type
Private
Founded year
1879
Operating status
Operating
Headcount range
1–10 employees
Short description
City & Guilds of London Art School is a not-for-profit London higher education institution and charity offering specialist Foundation, BA, MA, and Graduate Diploma programmes in Fine Art, Conservation, and Carving — the UK's only provider of full-time degrees in architectural stone and woodcarving/gilding — for roughly 290 students annually.
Ownership category
akta.pro rank

Where City and Guilds Art School is headquartered

Location

Headquarters

HQ city
London
HQ country
United Kingdom
HQ region
Europe

Offices3 records

Markets served

City and Guilds Art School business model

Business model
GTM type
B2C
Offering type
Services
Cost components
Personnel, Operations, Infrastructure, Marketing or Sales, Technology or R&D

Revenue model

  1. Tuition Fees: Fee income from Foundation, BA (Hons), MA, Graduate Diploma and Short Courses programmes for UK and international students
  2. Philanthropy and Donations: Bursaries, scholarships, funded projects and collaborations supported by broad range of individuals and institutions
  3. Charitable Status: Registered charity (no. 1144708) providing not-for-profit education model

Pricing tiers

ModelBillingPrice
One time/ perpetual licensePay-as-you-goMarbling Short Course (15-19 July 2024)
Transaction based/ take ratePay-as-you-goInternational Student Visa Processing
Unit PricingPay-as-you-goStudent Visa Living Expenses (London)

Go-to-market motion2 records

Distribution channels3 records

Marketing channels8 records

City and Guilds Art School product offering

Product offering

Core offering

City & Guilds of London Art School is a not-for-profit higher education institution offering specialist studio-based programmes in Fine Art, Conservation, Carving (Architectural Stone and Woodcarving & Gilding), and Mosaics. It delivers Foundation Diploma, BA (Hons), MA, and Graduate Diploma qualifications, alongside short courses and youth access programmes, taught from a single London campus by active practising professionals.

Product overview

City & Guilds of London Art School is a not-for-profit Higher Education institution offering a portfolio of specialist art, craft, and conservation courses. The institution operates a single-location campus model with programs at Foundation (Level 4 Diploma), Undergraduate (BA Hons degrees), and Postgraduate (MA degrees and Graduate Diplomas) levels. Core offerings include Fine Art, Conservation (with specializations in Stone/Wood/Decorative Surfaces and Books & Paper), and Carving (Architectural Stone and Woodcarving & Gilding). New additions include an MA Conservation: Collection Care & Management and Graduate Diploma Arts: Mosaics launching 2026/27. The school also offers short courses through Summer School and Evening Programs, and runs a Youth Access program with the National Saturday Club. All courses emphasize studio-based practice with high contact teaching time from active professionals.

Differentiator

Problem solved

Functional benefit

Products and services

  • Foundation Diploma in Art & Design

Quantifiable outcome

  • Majority of Foundation Diploma students progress to first choice course
  • +1 more outcomes

Companies that use City and Guilds Art School

Customer profile

Named customers3 records

Segments5 records

Ideal customer profiles5 records

City and Guilds Art School technology and API

Technology

Technology focussed No

API detail

Has API
No
API docs
API detail

Core technology

AI maturity

App detail

Feature4 records

City and Guilds Art School partnerships and signals

Strategic signal

Partnerships

20 partnerships are on record, tiered core and minor.

  • Victoria and Albert MuseumcoreStrategic or Co-development PartnerCollaboration in conservation education and practice, providing work placement and project opportunities for students
  • Museum of LondoncoreStrategic or Co-development PartnerPartnership in collection management and conservation education
  • Westminster AbbeycoreStrategic or Co-development PartnerHistoric carving and conservation collaborations for heritage preservation
  • The Palace of WestminstercoreStrategic or Co-development PartnerHeritage conservation projects and industry connections for carving students
  • British MuseumcoreStrategic or Co-development PartnerConservation practice collaborations and professional networks
  • Natural History MuseumcoreStrategic or Co-development PartnerCollection care and conservation education partnerships
  • Royal Collections TrustcoreStrategic or Co-development PartnerCultural heritage conservation and professional development opportunities
  • Watt's GalleryminorStrategic or Co-development PartnerExhibition and artistic collaboration
  • Sir John Soane's MuseumminorStrategic or Co-development PartnerHeritage conservation and educational partnerships
  • Commonwealth Heritage ForumminorStrategic or Co-development PartnerJointly offering 'Introduction to Global Conservation' Commonwealth Summer School programme
  • University of the Arts London (UAL) Awarding BodycoreStrategic or Co-development PartnerValidates Foundation Diploma in Art & Design at Level 4, approved centre for UAL Awarding Body
  • London School of MosaiccoreStrategic or Co-development PartnerCollaboration in developing Graduate Diploma Arts: Mosaics, bringing mosaic expertise to the art school
  • Worshipful Company of Joiners and CeilerscoreStrategic or Co-development PartnerLivery company providing prizes, scholarships and industry connections for carving students
  • Worshipful Company of MasonscoreStrategic or Co-development PartnerLivery company supporting stone carving students with prizes and professional networks
  • Worshipful Company of Painter-StainerscoreStrategic or Co-development PartnerProvides Decorative Surfaces Fellowship for MA Fine Art students including studio and specialist training
  • Artists' Collecting SocietycoreStrategic or Co-development PartnerProvides ACS City & Guilds of London Art School Studio Prize for graduating MA Fine Art students
  • Fishmongers' CompanyminorStrategic or Co-development PartnerLivery company providing travel scholarships and menu cover design prizes
  • Skinners' CompanyminorStrategic or Co-development PartnerLivery company providing travel prizes and engraving prizes for students
  • Grocers' CompanyminorStrategic or Co-development PartnerLivery company connection through trustee Edward Campbell-Johnston as Fourth Warden
  • Sarabande FoundationminorStrategic or Co-development PartnerEstablished by Lee Alexander McQueen, provides artist residencies for graduates including Jo Grogan

Scale indicators7 records

Recent moves9 records

Expansion highlights5 records

City and Guilds Art School competitors and assessment

Company assessment

Market position

Strengths5 records

Weaknesses5 records

Competitive moat5 records

Key highlights7 records

Customer concentration

City and Guilds Art School social profiles

Digital presence

City and Guilds Art School financial estimates

Financial estimate

Revenue estimate

Valuation estimate

City and Guilds Art School leadership team

Management profile

Number of profiles

Profiles12 records

City and Guilds Art School funding detail

Funding detail

Funding overview

Funding rounds

Investors

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

City and Guilds Art School M&A and investment

M&A and investment

M&A

Investments

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Frequently asked questions about City and Guilds Art School

What does City and Guilds Art School do?

City & Guilds of London Art School is a not-for-profit higher education institution offering specialist studio-based programmes in Fine Art, Conservation, Carving (Architectural Stone and Woodcarving & Gilding), and Mosaics. It delivers Foundation Diploma, BA (Hons), MA, and Graduate Diploma qualifications, alongside short courses and youth access programmes, taught from a single London campus by active practising professionals.

Is City and Guilds Art School a public or private company?

City and Guilds Art School is a private company. It is classified as nonprofit foundation owned and is currently operating.

When was City and Guilds Art School founded?

City and Guilds Art School was founded in 1879. It employs 1 to 10 people.

Where is City and Guilds Art School based?

City and Guilds Art School is headquartered in London, United Kingdom, in the Europe region.

How does City and Guilds Art School make money?

Three revenue lines are on record. Tuition Fees are the primary driver. The others are philanthropy and Donations and charitable Status.

Does City and Guilds Art School have an API?

No public API is recorded for City and Guilds Art School.

Unlock the full company data

50 free credits on sign-up, no credit card required.

Contact sales