Developer docs
API playgroundTry for free, no card

Search company profiles

Centura College

Full company profile

uuid002sa42

Namestring
Centura College
Legal namestring
Cotulla AcquisitionCo LLC
Company typeenum
Private
Founded yearint
1969
Descriptiontext

Centura College is a proprietary vocational education institution headquartered in Virginia Beach, Virginia, operating three physical campuses in the Hampton Roads region (Chesapeake, Newport News, and Norfolk). Founded in 1969 and owned by Cotulla Education through its subsidiary Cotulla AcquisitionCo LLC, the institution delivers career-focused training in two divisions: Health Science (Professional Esthetician, Master Esthetician, Medical Assistant, Medical Assistant with Limited Scope Radiologic Technology, Associate of Occupational Science in Medical Assisting, and Bachelor of Science in Operations Management) and Skilled Trades (Combination Welding, Construction Electrician, HVAC, and Electrical Lineworker Certificate). Programs range from 15-week certificates to 19-month bachelor's degrees, with the Bachelor's program delivered fully online and most diploma programs combining classroom instruction with hands-on laboratory training on campus. The college holds ACCSC institutional accreditation, U.S. Department of Education Title IV certification, NC-SARA reciprocity, SEVP authorization to enroll F-1 international students, and approval to participate in the VA Yellow Ribbon Program.

Revenue is generated through tuition and ancillary fees ($25 application fee, $100 administrative fee, $12 library fee), with the majority of tuition funded via federal Title IV financial aid (Pell Grants, Stafford Loans, PLUS Loans), military education benefits (Post-9/11 GI Bill, Montgomery GI Bill, Military Tuition Assistance), and institutional scholarship programs. Additional revenue streams include textbook and tool kit sales to students. Pricing is not publicly disclosed at the per-program level. The go-to-market model is sales-led and admissions-driven, supported by a multi-channel marketing mix: SEO-optimized website with career readiness quizzes and blog content, active presence across YouTube/Facebook/Instagram/LinkedIn/TikTok, a formal referral program, employer-sponsored career fairs, and on-campus recruiting with regional healthcare and skilled trades employers (Sentara, LabCorp, Patient First, NAVFAC, Duke Health, and others). Distribution occurs primarily through the three Virginia campuses plus online inquiry forms and virtual campus tours.

Centura College employs 1,001-5,000 staff and is led by CEO Jason Pfaff, with campus-level Executive Directors and program coordinators overseeing academic delivery. In October 2025, parent company Cotulla Education executed its first geographic expansion by acquiring American Lineman College in Bakersfield, California, signaling an emerging roll-up strategy for the platform. The institution has remained privately held under Cotulla Education ownership with no disclosed external funding rounds or PE backing.

Short descriptiontext

Centura College is a privately held proprietary trade school operating three Virginia campuses, delivering career-focused diplomas and degrees in healthcare (medical assisting, esthetician) and skilled trades (welding, HVAC, electrical lineworker), funded primarily through federal Title IV aid and military GI Bill benefits.

Operating statusenum
Operating
Ownership categoryenum
Headcount rangeband
1,001–5,000
akta.pro rankint
HeadquartersVirginia Beach, United States
HQ citystring
Virginia Beach
HQ countrystring
United States
HQ regionstring
North America
Markets served

Serves global market

Offices4 records

Each record includes

City, Country, Type, Description, Source

Keyword5 values
vocational education, healthcare training, skilled trades training, technical diploma programs, career-focused training
Industry2 codes
1Technical Community Colleges (Applied/CTE-Focused)
CodeEDAHADADPrimaryYes
2Community/Tribal Two-Year Colleges (Associate Degree–Granting)
CodeEDAHANAAPrimaryNo
NAICS code3 codes
  • Technical and Trade Schools6115
  • Colleges, Universities, and Professional Schools6113
  • Other Technical and Trade Schools611519
SIC code1 code
  • Services-Educational Services8200
Product category
Vocational Education and Training
GTM motion1 record

Each record includes

Type, Description, Source

Revenue model4 records
1Tuition and Fees
TypeOne Time License
Description

Primary revenue from tuition charges for diploma, certificate, and degree programs. Additional fees include application fees ($25), administrative fees ($100), and library fees ($12). Textbooks and tool kits are sold separately to students.

centuracollege.edu
2Federal Student Financial Aid
TypeSubscription Recurring
Description

Revenue from federal grant and loan programs including Federal Pell Grants, Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grants, Federal Subsidized Stafford Loans, and PLUS Loans through the U.S. Department of Education.

centuracollege.edu
3Military Education Benefits
TypeSubscription Recurring
Description

Revenue from VA education benefits including Post-9/11 GI Bill, Montgomery GI Bill, Yellow Ribbon Program, and Military Tuition Assistance for active-duty personnel, veterans, and their dependents.

centuracollege.edu
4Scholarships
TypeSubscription Recurring
Description

Institutional scholarship programs including the Scholarship Match Program that matches outside scholarships dollar-for-dollar up to 10% of program cost. Also includes Segal AmeriCorps Education Award matching.

centuracollege.edu
Marketing channels10 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Stage, Description, Source

Distribution channels4 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Scope, Target buyer, Description, Source

Cost components5 values
Personnel, Infrastructure, Marketing or Sales, Operations, Technology or R&D
Pricing details8 tiers
1Application Fee
ModelUnit PricingBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

$25 application fee required to apply for all programs and courses. Not covered by financial aid.

centuracollege.edu
2Administrative Fee
ModelUnit PricingBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

$100 administrative fee.

centuracollege.edu
3Library Fee
ModelUnit PricingBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

$12 library fee.

centuracollege.edu
4Security Fee
ModelUnit PricingBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

$0 security fee.

centuracollege.edu
5Professional Esthetician Diploma - 7 months
ModelOne time/ perpetual licenseBilling cadenceMulti-year contract
Notes

Tuition varies by program; specific tuition amounts available in detailed tuition chart.

centuracollege.edu
6Medical Assistant Diploma - 12 months
ModelOne time/ perpetual licenseBilling cadenceMulti-year contract
Notes

Program length: 12 months; 36 credit hours through 12 courses.

centuracollege.edu
7Combination Welding Diploma - 8 months
ModelOne time/ perpetual licenseBilling cadenceMulti-year contract
Notes

Program length: 8 months; 24 credit hours through 6 courses.

centuracollege.edu
8Electrical Lineworker Certificate - 15 weeks
ModelOne time/ perpetual licenseBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

Program length: 15 weeks; 15 credits through 3 courses.

centuracollege.edu
GTM typeB2C
B2C
Offering typeServices
Services
Core offering1 text field

Centura College is a private, accredited vocational school offering career-focused diploma, certificate, and degree programs in healthcare (Medical Assistant, Medical Assistant with Limited Scope Radiologic Technology, Professional and Master Esthetician, Associate of Occupational Science in Medical Assisting, Bachelor of Science in Operations Management) and skilled trades (Combination Welding, Construction Electrician, HVAC, Electrical Lineworker). Programs are delivered through three Virginia campuses in Chesapeake, Newport News, and Norfolk, combining hands-on lab training, classroom instruction, and select online course components, with durations ranging from 15 weeks to 19 months.

Differentiator
Functional benefit
Problem solved
Quantifiable outcome1 of 5 values shown
  • 4,600 new healthcare openings projected in Hampton Roads region (2025-2030)
+4 more records
Product overview1 text field

Centura College is a technical and healthcare trade school offering career-focused vocational training programs across three Virginia campuses (Chesapeake, Newport News, and Norfolk). The institution's portfolio consists of two main divisions: Health Science Training programs (Professional Esthetician, Master Esthetician, Medical Assistant, Medical Assistant with Limited Scope Radiologic Technology, Associates in Medical Assisting, and Bachelor of Science in Operations Management) and Skilled Trades Training programs (Combination Welding, Construction Electrician, HVAC, and Electrical Lineworker). Programs range from short-term certificates (15 weeks) to bachelor's degrees (19 months), with most diploma programs lasting 7-15 months. The school emphasizes hands-on training, industry certifications, and career placement services. Centura College is owned by Cotulla Education and has operated career training programs since 1969, with recent expansion through the acquisition of American Lineman College in October 2025.

Product and service10 records
1Professional Esthetician Diploma
CategoryHealth Science Training
Description

A 7-month diploma program training students in fundamental skincare practices, treatments, and client communication, with preparation for the Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology licensing exam. Offered at the Chesapeake campus.

2Master Esthetician Diploma
CategoryHealth Science Training
Description

A 27-week (7-month) advanced diploma program building on Professional Esthetician training, covering advanced skin care, microdermabrasion, dermaplaning, chemical peels, lymphatic drainage, and preparation for master-level state licensing. Offered at the Chesapeake campus.

3Medical Assistant Diploma
CategoryHealth Science Training
Description

A 12-month diploma program (36 credit hours through 12 courses) preparing students for clinical and administrative medical assistant roles. Covers medical terminology, anatomy, phlebotomy, laboratory procedures, and certification exam preparation. Offered at Newport News, Norfolk, and Chesapeake campuses.

4Medical Assistant with Limited Scope Radiologic Technology Diploma
CategoryHealth Science Training
Description

A 15-month diploma program combining medical assisting training with X-ray techniques, preparing students for certification as medical assistants and eligibility for the ARRT Limited Scope of Practice in Radiography exam.

5Associate of Occupational Science in Medical Assisting
CategoryHealth Science Training
Description

A 15-month (65 weeks) associate degree program offering 60 credit hours through 17 courses, covering anatomy, physiology, medical terminology, pharmacology, and clinical procedures for medical assisting careers, with online course components for flexible learning.

6Bachelor of Science in Operations Management
CategoryHealth Science Training
Description

A 19-month (120 total credits) bachelor's degree with two concentrations: Allied Health Management (for healthcare leadership roles) and Operations Management (for general industry management positions). Fully online delivery with 60 transfer credits accepted.

7Combination Welding Diploma
CategorySkilled Trades Training
Description

An 8-month diploma program (33 weeks, 24 credit hours) covering welding techniques including SMAW, GMAW, FCAW, GTAW (TIG), blueprint reading, and AWS qualification preparation. Offered at the Newport News campus.

8Construction Electrician Diploma
CategorySkilled Trades Training
Description

A 12-month diploma program (48 weeks, 36 credit hours) covering electrical theory, wiring methods, blueprint reading, PLC programming, and OSHA 10-hour certification. Prepares students for entry-level roles in electrical contracting and construction. Offered at Norfolk and Newport News campuses.

9Heating, Ventilation, and Air Conditioning (HVAC) Diploma
CategorySkilled Trades Training
Description

A 12-month diploma program (48 weeks, 36 credit hours) providing training in mechanical, electrical, and airflow HVAC systems. Includes preparation for EPA Section 608 and OSHA certifications. Offered at the Newport News campus.

10Electrical Lineworker Certificate
CategorySkilled Trades Training
Description

A 15-week certificate program (15 credits) training students in electrical fundamentals, pole climbing, safety protocols, CPR, and field operations. Includes OSHA 10-Hour certification preparation. Offered at the Norfolk campus.

Scale indicator4 records

Each record includes

Type, Value, Description, Source

Partnership6 partners
Strategic tierMinorTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Workforce development partnership under the Workforce Investment Opportunity Act (WIOA) providing training support for eligible students.

2Peninsula Council of Workforce Development
Strategic tierMinorTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Workforce development partnership providing WIOA training support for eligible students at Newport News campus.

centuracollege.edu
Strategic tierMinorTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Regional workforce development council partnership supporting workforce training initiatives.

Strategic tierMinorTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Wind industry workforce development initiative partnership at Norfolk campus.

Strategic tierMinorTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

NCCER certification and training standards partnership at Norfolk campus for construction and skilled trades programs.

Strategic tierMinorTypeOthers
Description

SEVP-certified campus authorized to enroll international students on F-1 visas.

Recent move6 records

Each record includes

Date, Type, Title, Description, Source

Expansion highlight5 records

Each record includes

Type, Description

Peers10 records
TypeDirect peer
Description

Proprietary career college offering diploma and degree programs in healthcare, business, and trades across the southeastern U.S. Similar proprietary education model, Title IV reliance, and career-focused positioning.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Virginia-headquartered proprietary institution offering healthcare, technology, and trades programs across multiple campuses. Directly comparable as a for-profit career college serving similar Hampton Roads/Virginia market with overlapping healthcare and skilled trades offerings.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Proprietary institution offering associate, bachelor's, and certificate programs in healthcare, business, and information technology across multiple states. Comparable as a Title IV-funded, multi-campus career college with similar student demographics.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Publicly traded provider of technical training for the transportation and skilled trades industries, including welding, HVAC, and electrical. Comparable in proprietary status, Title IV reliance, and employer-aligned curriculum.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Proprietary institution operating in Tennessee, Georgia, North Carolina, and Virginia offering nursing, healthcare, and business programs. Comparable in proprietary status, regional multi-campus footprint, and healthcare-skewed program mix.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

Publicly traded parent of American InterContinental University and Colorado Technical University. Larger diversified for-profit education operator with exposure to healthcare, business, and IT programs; comparable business model and regulatory exposure.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Multi-campus proprietary institution owned by Education Affiliates, offering nursing, medical assisting, HVAC, welding, and electrical programs. Direct competitor in the same diploma-and-certificate vocational education category.

TypeRegional player
Description

Virginia public community college serving the Hampton Roads region with workforce credentials in healthcare, welding, HVAC, and electrical. Operates in the same geography as Centura but as a public, lower-cost alternative that competes directly on price.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Proprietary institution offering diploma and degree programs in healthcare, business, and technical fields across multiple states. Comparable in proprietary status, healthcare-skewed curriculum, and employer-aligned outcomes orientation.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Publicly traded operator of Lincoln Tech campuses, focused on skilled trades and allied health programs including welding, HVAC, electrical, and medical assisting. Closest publicly traded peer to Centura's program mix and employer-driven value proposition.

Market position
Strengths5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Weaknesses5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Competitive moat4 records

Each record includes

Type, Details

Key risks6 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Key highlights6 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Customer concentration

Classification, Details

Named customers13 records

Each record includes

Name, Industry, Type, Use case, Source, UUID

Segment4 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Primary, Description, Pain point addressed, Use case, Source

Ideal customer profile4 records

Each record includes

Profile, Firmographic size, Sales motion, Sales cycle length, Buying structure, Purchase trigger, Buyer persona, Geography, Industry vertical, Primary use case, Description, Pain points, Evidence proof points, Target buyer

Technology focused
No
API detail
Has APIbool
No

Docs URL, Description

AI maturity
App detail

Has app

Feature3 records

Each record includes

Title, Differentiator, Description, Source

Core technology
Revenue estimate
Valuation estimate
Number of profiles
Profiles11 records

Each record includes

Name, Designation, Designation category, Overview, Profile commentary, Source

No data
Compliance12 records

Each record includes

Name, Class, Description

Funding overview

Funding stage, Last funding date, Total funding USD

Funding rounds

Each record includes

Round, Amount USD, Date, Pre money valuation, Total investors, Investors, News

Investors

Each record includes

Name, Type, Date of entry, Rounds participated, Website

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

M&A

Each record includes

Name, Acquisition type, Announced date, Completed date, Status, Website, News

Investment

Each record includes

Name, Round, Announced date, Lead investor, Website, News

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Centura College

Vocational Education and Trainingcenturacollege.edu

Centura College is a privately held proprietary trade school operating three Virginia campuses, delivering career-focused diplomas and degrees in healthcare (medical assisting, esthetician) and skilled trades (welding, HVAC, electrical lineworker), funded primarily through federal Title IV aid and military GI Bill benefits.

What Centura College does

Centura College is a proprietary vocational education institution headquartered in Virginia Beach, Virginia, operating three physical campuses in the Hampton Roads region (Chesapeake, Newport News, and Norfolk). Founded in 1969 and owned by Cotulla Education through its subsidiary Cotulla AcquisitionCo LLC, the institution delivers career-focused training in two divisions: Health Science (Professional Esthetician, Master Esthetician, Medical Assistant, Medical Assistant with Limited Scope Radiologic Technology, Associate of Occupational Science in Medical Assisting, and Bachelor of Science in Operations Management) and Skilled Trades (Combination Welding, Construction Electrician, HVAC, and Electrical Lineworker Certificate). Programs range from 15-week certificates to 19-month bachelor's degrees, with the Bachelor's program delivered fully online and most diploma programs combining classroom instruction with hands-on laboratory training on campus. The college holds ACCSC institutional accreditation, U.S. Department of Education Title IV certification, NC-SARA reciprocity, SEVP authorization to enroll F-1 international students, and approval to participate in the VA Yellow Ribbon Program.

Revenue is generated through tuition and ancillary fees ($25 application fee, $100 administrative fee, $12 library fee), with the majority of tuition funded via federal Title IV financial aid (Pell Grants, Stafford Loans, PLUS Loans), military education benefits (Post-9/11 GI Bill, Montgomery GI Bill, Military Tuition Assistance), and institutional scholarship programs. Additional revenue streams include textbook and tool kit sales to students. Pricing is not publicly disclosed at the per-program level. The go-to-market model is sales-led and admissions-driven, supported by a multi-channel marketing mix: SEO-optimized website with career readiness quizzes and blog content, active presence across YouTube/Facebook/Instagram/LinkedIn/TikTok, a formal referral program, employer-sponsored career fairs, and on-campus recruiting with regional healthcare and skilled trades employers (Sentara, LabCorp, Patient First, NAVFAC, Duke Health, and others). Distribution occurs primarily through the three Virginia campuses plus online inquiry forms and virtual campus tours.

Centura College employs 1,001-5,000 staff and is led by CEO Jason Pfaff, with campus-level Executive Directors and program coordinators overseeing academic delivery. In October 2025, parent company Cotulla Education executed its first geographic expansion by acquiring American Lineman College in Bakersfield, California, signaling an emerging roll-up strategy for the platform. The institution has remained privately held under Cotulla Education ownership with no disclosed external funding rounds or PE backing.

Centura College firmographics

Firmographics
Name
Centura College
Legal name
Cotulla AcquisitionCo LLC
Website
https://centuracollege.edu
Company type
Private
Founded year
1969
Operating status
Operating
Headcount range
1,001–5,000 employees
Short description
Centura College is a privately held proprietary trade school operating three Virginia campuses, delivering career-focused diplomas and degrees in healthcare (medical assisting, esthetician) and skilled trades (welding, HVAC, electrical lineworker), funded primarily through federal Title IV aid and military GI Bill benefits.
Ownership category
akta.pro rank

Centura College industry classification

Industry
Product category
Vocational Education and Training
NAICS
Technical and Trade Schools (6115), Colleges, Universities, and Professional Schools (6113), Other Technical and Trade Schools (611519)
SIC
Services-Educational Services (8200)
akta.pro primary industry
Technical Community Colleges (Applied/CTE-Focused) (EDAHADAD)
akta.pro secondary industry
Community/Tribal Two-Year Colleges (Associate Degree–Granting) (EDAHANAA)

Keywords

  • Vocational education
  • Healthcare training
  • Skilled trades training
  • Technical diploma programs
  • Career-focused training

Where Centura College is headquartered

Location

Headquarters

HQ city
Virginia Beach
HQ country
United States
HQ region
North America

Offices4 records

Markets served

Centura College business model

Business model
GTM type
B2C
Offering type
Services
Cost components
Personnel, Infrastructure, Marketing or Sales, Operations, Technology or R&D

Revenue model

  1. Tuition and Fees: Primary revenue from tuition charges for diploma, certificate, and degree programs. Additional fees include application fees ($25), administrative fees ($100), and library fees ($12). Textbooks and tool kits are sold separately to students.
  2. Federal Student Financial Aid: Revenue from federal grant and loan programs including Federal Pell Grants, Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grants, Federal Subsidized Stafford Loans, and PLUS Loans through the U.S. Department of Education.
  3. Military Education Benefits: Revenue from VA education benefits including Post-9/11 GI Bill, Montgomery GI Bill, Yellow Ribbon Program, and Military Tuition Assistance for active-duty personnel, veterans, and their dependents.
  4. Scholarships: Institutional scholarship programs including the Scholarship Match Program that matches outside scholarships dollar-for-dollar up to 10% of program cost. Also includes Segal AmeriCorps Education Award matching.

Pricing tiers

ModelBillingPrice
Unit PricingPay-as-you-goApplication Fee
Unit PricingPay-as-you-goAdministrative Fee
Unit PricingPay-as-you-goLibrary Fee
Unit PricingPay-as-you-goSecurity Fee
One time/ perpetual licenseMulti-year contractProfessional Esthetician Diploma - 7 months
One time/ perpetual licenseMulti-year contractMedical Assistant Diploma - 12 months
One time/ perpetual licenseMulti-year contractCombination Welding Diploma - 8 months
One time/ perpetual licensePay-as-you-goElectrical Lineworker Certificate - 15 weeks

Go-to-market motion1 record

Distribution channels4 records

Marketing channels10 records

Centura College product offering

Product offering

Core offering

Centura College is a private, accredited vocational school offering career-focused diploma, certificate, and degree programs in healthcare (Medical Assistant, Medical Assistant with Limited Scope Radiologic Technology, Professional and Master Esthetician, Associate of Occupational Science in Medical Assisting, Bachelor of Science in Operations Management) and skilled trades (Combination Welding, Construction Electrician, HVAC, Electrical Lineworker). Programs are delivered through three Virginia campuses in Chesapeake, Newport News, and Norfolk, combining hands-on lab training, classroom instruction, and select online course components, with durations ranging from 15 weeks to 19 months.

Product overview

Centura College is a technical and healthcare trade school offering career-focused vocational training programs across three Virginia campuses (Chesapeake, Newport News, and Norfolk). The institution's portfolio consists of two main divisions: Health Science Training programs (Professional Esthetician, Master Esthetician, Medical Assistant, Medical Assistant with Limited Scope Radiologic Technology, Associates in Medical Assisting, and Bachelor of Science in Operations Management) and Skilled Trades Training programs (Combination Welding, Construction Electrician, HVAC, and Electrical Lineworker). Programs range from short-term certificates (15 weeks) to bachelor's degrees (19 months), with most diploma programs lasting 7-15 months. The school emphasizes hands-on training, industry certifications, and career placement services. Centura College is owned by Cotulla Education and has operated career training programs since 1969, with recent expansion through the acquisition of American Lineman College in October 2025.

Differentiator

Problem solved

Functional benefit

Products and services

  • Professional Esthetician Diploma A 7-month diploma program training students in fundamental skincare practices, treatments, and client communication, with preparation for the Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology licensing exam. Offered at the Chesapeake campus.
  • Master Esthetician Diploma A 27-week (7-month) advanced diploma program building on Professional Esthetician training, covering advanced skin care, microdermabrasion, dermaplaning, chemical peels, lymphatic drainage, and preparation for master-level state licensing. Offered at the Chesapeake campus.
  • Medical Assistant Diploma A 12-month diploma program (36 credit hours through 12 courses) preparing students for clinical and administrative medical assistant roles. Covers medical terminology, anatomy, phlebotomy, laboratory procedures, and certification exam preparation. Offered at Newport News, Norfolk, and Chesapeake campuses.
  • Medical Assistant with Limited Scope Radiologic Technology Diploma A 15-month diploma program combining medical assisting training with X-ray techniques, preparing students for certification as medical assistants and eligibility for the ARRT Limited Scope of Practice in Radiography exam.
  • Associate of Occupational Science in Medical Assisting A 15-month (65 weeks) associate degree program offering 60 credit hours through 17 courses, covering anatomy, physiology, medical terminology, pharmacology, and clinical procedures for medical assisting careers, with online course components for flexible learning.
  • Bachelor of Science in Operations Management A 19-month (120 total credits) bachelor's degree with two concentrations: Allied Health Management (for healthcare leadership roles) and Operations Management (for general industry management positions). Fully online delivery with 60 transfer credits accepted.
  • Combination Welding Diploma An 8-month diploma program (33 weeks, 24 credit hours) covering welding techniques including SMAW, GMAW, FCAW, GTAW (TIG), blueprint reading, and AWS qualification preparation. Offered at the Newport News campus.
  • Construction Electrician Diploma A 12-month diploma program (48 weeks, 36 credit hours) covering electrical theory, wiring methods, blueprint reading, PLC programming, and OSHA 10-hour certification. Prepares students for entry-level roles in electrical contracting and construction. Offered at Norfolk and Newport News campuses.
  • Heating, Ventilation, and Air Conditioning (HVAC) Diploma A 12-month diploma program (48 weeks, 36 credit hours) providing training in mechanical, electrical, and airflow HVAC systems. Includes preparation for EPA Section 608 and OSHA certifications. Offered at the Newport News campus.
  • Electrical Lineworker Certificate A 15-week certificate program (15 credits) training students in electrical fundamentals, pole climbing, safety protocols, CPR, and field operations. Includes OSHA 10-Hour certification preparation. Offered at the Norfolk campus.

Quantifiable outcome

  • 4,600 new healthcare openings projected in Hampton Roads region (2025-2030)
  • +4 more outcomes

Companies that use Centura College

Customer profile

Named customers13 records

Segments4 records

Ideal customer profiles4 records

Centura College technology and API

Technology

Technology focussed No

API detail

Has API
No
API docs
API detail

Core technology

AI maturity

App detail

Feature3 records

Centura College partnerships and signals

Strategic signal

Partnerships

Six partnerships are on record, tiered minor.

  • Virginia Career Works Hampton Roads RegionminorStrategic or Co-development PartnerWorkforce development partnership under the Workforce Investment Opportunity Act (WIOA) providing training support for eligible students.
  • Peninsula Council of Workforce DevelopmentminorStrategic or Co-development PartnerWorkforce development partnership providing WIOA training support for eligible students at Newport News campus.
  • Hampton Roads Workforce CouncilminorStrategic or Co-development PartnerRegional workforce development council partnership supporting workforce training initiatives.
  • WINDSdaysminorStrategic or Co-development PartnerWind industry workforce development initiative partnership at Norfolk campus.
  • National Center for Construction Education & Research (NCCER)minorStrategic or Co-development PartnerNCCER certification and training standards partnership at Norfolk campus for construction and skilled trades programs.
  • Student Exchange Visitor Program (SEVP)minorOthersSEVP-certified campus authorized to enroll international students on F-1 visas.

Scale indicators4 records

Recent moves6 records

Expansion highlights5 records

Centura College competitors and assessment

Company assessment

Direct peers

  • Miller-Motte College: Proprietary career college offering diploma and degree programs in healthcare, business, and trades across the southeastern U.S. Similar proprietary education model, Title IV reliance, and career-focused positioning.
  • ECPI University: Virginia-headquartered proprietary institution offering healthcare, technology, and trades programs across multiple campuses. Directly comparable as a for-profit career college serving similar Hampton Roads/Virginia market with overlapping healthcare and skilled trades offerings.
  • American National University: Proprietary institution offering associate, bachelor's, and certificate programs in healthcare, business, and information technology across multiple states. Comparable as a Title IV-funded, multi-campus career college with similar student demographics.
  • Universal Technical Institute: Publicly traded provider of technical training for the transportation and skilled trades industries, including welding, HVAC, and electrical. Comparable in proprietary status, Title IV reliance, and employer-aligned curriculum.
  • South College: Proprietary institution operating in Tennessee, Georgia, North Carolina, and Virginia offering nursing, healthcare, and business programs. Comparable in proprietary status, regional multi-campus footprint, and healthcare-skewed program mix.
  • Fortis College: Multi-campus proprietary institution owned by Education Affiliates, offering nursing, medical assisting, HVAC, welding, and electrical programs. Direct competitor in the same diploma-and-certificate vocational education category.
  • Platt College: Proprietary institution offering diploma and degree programs in healthcare, business, and technical fields across multiple states. Comparable in proprietary status, healthcare-skewed curriculum, and employer-aligned outcomes orientation.
  • Lincoln Educational Services: Publicly traded operator of Lincoln Tech campuses, focused on skilled trades and allied health programs including welding, HVAC, electrical, and medical assisting. Closest publicly traded peer to Centura's program mix and employer-driven value proposition.

Broad incumbents

  • Perdoceo Education Corporation: Publicly traded parent of American InterContinental University and Colorado Technical University. Larger diversified for-profit education operator with exposure to healthcare, business, and IT programs; comparable business model and regulatory exposure.

Regional players

  • Tidewater Community College: Virginia public community college serving the Hampton Roads region with workforce credentials in healthcare, welding, HVAC, and electrical. Operates in the same geography as Centura but as a public, lower-cost alternative that competes directly on price.

Market position

Strengths5 records

Weaknesses5 records

Competitive moat4 records

Key risks6 records

Key highlights6 records

Customer concentration

Centura College social profiles

Digital presence

Centura College compliance and trust

Trust signal

Compliance12 records

Centura College financial estimates

Financial estimate

Revenue estimate

Valuation estimate

Centura College leadership team

Management profile

Number of profiles

Profiles11 records

Centura College funding detail

Funding detail

Funding overview

Funding rounds

Investors

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Centura College M&A and investment

M&A and investment

M&A

Investments

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Frequently asked questions about Centura College

What does Centura College do?

Centura College is a private, accredited vocational school offering career-focused diploma, certificate, and degree programs in healthcare (Medical Assistant, Medical Assistant with Limited Scope Radiologic Technology, Professional and Master Esthetician, Associate of Occupational Science in Medical Assisting, Bachelor of Science in Operations Management) and skilled trades (Combination Welding, Construction Electrician, HVAC, Electrical Lineworker). Programs are delivered through three Virginia campuses in Chesapeake, Newport News, and Norfolk, combining hands-on lab training, classroom instruction, and select online course components, with durations ranging from 15 weeks to 19 months.

Is Centura College a public or private company?

Centura College is a private company. It is classified as corporate owned and is currently operating.

When was Centura College founded?

Centura College was founded in 1969. It employs 1,001 to 5,000 people.

Where is Centura College based?

Centura College is headquartered in Virginia Beach, United States, in the North America region.

How does Centura College make money?

Four revenue lines are on record. Tuition and Fees are the primary driver. The others are federal Student Financial Aid, military Education Benefits and scholarships.

Who are Centura College's main competitors?

Direct peers on record are Miller-Motte College, ECPI University, American National University, Universal Technical Institute, South College, Fortis College, Platt College and Lincoln Educational Services. Perdoceo Education Corporation is listed as a broad incumbent. Tidewater Community College is listed as a regional player.

Does Centura College have an API?

No public API is recorded for Centura College.

What industry is Centura College in?

Centura College's product category is Vocational Education and Training. Its primary akta.pro industry code is EDAHADAD, Technical Community Colleges (Applied/CTE-Focused), with a secondary code of EDAHANAA, Community/Tribal Two-Year Colleges (Associate Degree–Granting). Its NAICS code is 6115 and its SIC code is 8200.

Unlock the full company data

50 free credits on sign-up, no credit card required.

Contact sales