Developer docs
API playgroundTry for free, no card

Search company profiles

Investec

Full company profile

uuid0033b2z

Namestring
Investec
Legal namestring
Investec Bank plc
Websiteurl
invest.ec
Company typeenum
Public
Founded yearstring
-
Descriptiontext

Investec is presented in the firmographic record as a Corporate & Institutional Bank operating through its UK-listed entity, Investec Bank plc, a public limited company domiciled in the United Kingdom. The substantive evidence in the input relates to Investec Bank plc's capital-markets and broker-dealer function: the entity is described as an exempt principal trader with recognised intermediary status and serves as Joint Broker to public companies, handling regulatory disclosures and securities dealings under the UK Takeover Code (specifically Rule 8.5). The only documented commercial activity in the source material is a Rule 8.5 disclosure filed on June 1, 2026, reporting dealings in 118,756 ordinary shares of Gamma Communications Plc at prices ranging from 953.25 to 972.5.

The underlying technology, proprietary systems, platform architecture, pricing model, go-to-market mechanics, and customer segmentation are not disclosed in the provided source data. The provided website URL (invest.ec/2IR9Xhz) resolves to a Bitly custom-domain landing page with no Investec-specific content, and no product details, API/integration footprint, certifications, headcount, office locations, or management team information are present. Consequently, the business model can only be characterised at the level of: a regulated UK bank providing corporate broking, principal trading, and intermediary services to public companies under the Takeover Code regime. All other dimensions of the operating model are data gaps in the supplied input.

The investment-relevant signal from the input is narrow but specific: Investec Bank plc is an active participant in UK M&A-related securities dealings, and its operating status is confirmed by ongoing regulatory filings. No funding rounds, M&A, leadership changes, geographic expansion, or product launches are documented in the supplied data, which materially limits forward-looking inference.

Short descriptiontext

Investec Bank plc is a UK public limited company operating as a Corporate & Institutional Bank, providing exempt principal trading, recognised intermediary, and Joint Broker services to public companies subject to UK Takeover Code Rule 8.5 disclosure obligations.

Operating statusenum
Operating
Ownership categoryenum
akta.pro rankint
Markets served

Serves global market

Keyword5 values
corporate banking, institutional banking, investment banking, securities brokerage, principal trading
Industry2 codes
1Institutional Brokerage & Agency Execution
CodeFSAEACACPrimaryYes
2Equity Prime Brokerage (Custody, Financing & Services)
CodeFSACAFABPrimaryNo
NAICS code2 codes
  • Investment Banking and Securities Intermediation52315
  • Securities and Commodity Contracts Intermediation and Brokerage5231
SIC code1 code
  • Security Brokers, Dealers & Flotation Companies6211
Product category
Corporate & Institutional Banking
Social media profiles1 record
Cost components4 values
Personnel, Operations, Technology or R&D, Marketing or Sales
GTM typeB2B
B2B
Offering typeServices
Services
Core offering1 text field

Investec Bank plc operates as an exempt principal trader with recognised intermediary status and serves as Joint Broker to public companies. It handles regulatory disclosures and securities dealings under the UK Takeover Code, including dealing in ordinary shares of listed entities on behalf of clients and counterparties.

Differentiator
Functional benefit
Problem solved
Product and service2 records
1Joint Broker Services
CategoryInvestment Banking / Brokerage
Description

Acting as Joint Broker to public companies (e.g., Gamma Communications Plc), with responsibility for regulatory disclosures and securities execution under the UK Takeover Code. Targeted at UK-listed public companies requiring regulated intermediary representation during takeover and M&A activity.

2Exempt Principal Trading
CategorySecurities Trading
Description

Securities dealing activity conducted under recognised intermediary status, including disclosed dealings in ordinary shares of UK-listed public companies (e.g., 118,756 shares of Gamma Communications Plc at prices between 953.25 and 972.5 on June 1, 2026). Targeted at institutional counterparties and the broader UK takeover market.

Expansion highlight1 record

Each record includes

Type, Description

Peers10 records
TypeDirect peer
Description

UK corporate broker and adviser serving smaller-cap listed companies with broking, research and corporate-finance services. Directly comparable in Joint Broker and NOMAD-style mandate competition against Investec for UK small-cap clients.

TypeDirect peer
Description

UK small-cap broker and advisory firm with a corporate-broking, equity-research, and capital-markets franchise targeting UK-listed growth companies. Directly comparable in Joint Broker / NOMAD-style mandate scope for smaller-cap UK issuers.

TypeDirect peer
Description

London-based broker and adviser focused on UK growth companies, particularly on AIM. Provides corporate broking, equity research and capital-markets services overlapping with the Joint Broker mandate scope evidenced for Investec.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Leading UK mid- and small-cap broker and corporate financier providing research, broking, and capital-markets services to UK-listed companies. Closely comparable in product set (UK equity brokerage, advisory, equity capital markets) and client type (UK small/mid-cap corporate issuers).

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

Africa-focused banking and capital-markets group with shared historical lineage and institutional-banking positioning alongside Investec. Comparable as a broad-incumbent corporate & institutional bank competing for UK and international mid-cap corporate mandates.

TypeDirect peer
Description

UK small/mid-cap broker formed by the merger of Panmure Gordon and Liberum, focused on UK equity research, corporate broking and capital-markets mandates for AIM- and main-market-listed companies. Directly comparable to Investec's evidenced Joint Broker role for UK small-cap clients such as Gamma Communications.

TypeDirect peer
Description

UK arm of Canaccord Genuity Group offering equity research, sales, trading and corporate finance for UK mid- and small-cap companies. Highly comparable Joint Broker and equity-capital-markets competitor to Investec's evidenced role.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

UK merchant banking group offering securities, corporate finance and banking services with a small/mid-cap broking franchise (Winterflood). Comparable as a bank-chartered UK intermediary with capital-markets activities servicing corporate clients, overlapping with Investec's 'Corporate & Institutional Bank' positioning.

TypeDirect peer
Description

UK small-cap corporate broker and adviser following the merger of Cavendish Securities with Dowgate Capital. Provides the kind of Joint Broker, NOMAD and corporate-finance services that directly overlap with the type of mandate evidenced for Investec on Gamma Communications.

TypeDirect peer
Description

German private bank's UK securities franchise providing UK small/mid-cap research, corporate broking and capital-markets services. Comparable in regulated broker + bank-charter combination and in serving UK mid-cap issuers with advisory mandates.

Market position
Strengths4 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Weaknesses5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Competitive moat2 records

Each record includes

Type, Details

Key risks5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Key highlights4 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Customer concentration

Classification, Details

Ideal customer profile1 record

Each record includes

Profile, Firmographic size, Sales motion, Sales cycle length, Buying structure, Purchase trigger, Buyer persona, Geography, Industry vertical, Primary use case, Description, Pain points, Evidence proof points, Target buyer

Technology focused
No
API detail
Has APIbool
No

Docs URL, Description

AI maturity
App detail

Has app

Core technology
Revenue estimate
Valuation estimate
Number of profiles
No data
No data
Funding overview

Funding stage, Last funding date, Total funding USD

Funding rounds

Each record includes

Round, Amount USD, Date, Pre money valuation, Total investors, Investors, News

Investors

Each record includes

Name, Type, Date of entry, Rounds participated, Website

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

M&A

Each record includes

Name, Acquisition type, Announced date, Completed date, Status, Website, News

Investment

Each record includes

Name, Round, Announced date, Lead investor, Website, News

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Investec

Corporate & Institutional Bankinginvest.ec

Investec Bank plc is a UK public limited company operating as a Corporate & Institutional Bank, providing exempt principal trading, recognised intermediary, and Joint Broker services to public companies subject to UK Takeover Code Rule 8.5 disclosure obligations.

What Investec does

Investec is presented in the firmographic record as a Corporate & Institutional Bank operating through its UK-listed entity, Investec Bank plc, a public limited company domiciled in the United Kingdom. The substantive evidence in the input relates to Investec Bank plc's capital-markets and broker-dealer function: the entity is described as an exempt principal trader with recognised intermediary status and serves as Joint Broker to public companies, handling regulatory disclosures and securities dealings under the UK Takeover Code (specifically Rule 8.5). The only documented commercial activity in the source material is a Rule 8.5 disclosure filed on June 1, 2026, reporting dealings in 118,756 ordinary shares of Gamma Communications Plc at prices ranging from 953.25 to 972.5.

The underlying technology, proprietary systems, platform architecture, pricing model, go-to-market mechanics, and customer segmentation are not disclosed in the provided source data. The provided website URL (invest.ec/2IR9Xhz) resolves to a Bitly custom-domain landing page with no Investec-specific content, and no product details, API/integration footprint, certifications, headcount, office locations, or management team information are present. Consequently, the business model can only be characterised at the level of: a regulated UK bank providing corporate broking, principal trading, and intermediary services to public companies under the Takeover Code regime. All other dimensions of the operating model are data gaps in the supplied input.

The investment-relevant signal from the input is narrow but specific: Investec Bank plc is an active participant in UK M&A-related securities dealings, and its operating status is confirmed by ongoing regulatory filings. No funding rounds, M&A, leadership changes, geographic expansion, or product launches are documented in the supplied data, which materially limits forward-looking inference.

Investec firmographics

Firmographics
Name
Investec
Legal name
Investec Bank plc
Website
https://invest.ec
Company type
Public
Operating status
Operating
Short description
Investec Bank plc is a UK public limited company operating as a Corporate & Institutional Bank, providing exempt principal trading, recognised intermediary, and Joint Broker services to public companies subject to UK Takeover Code Rule 8.5 disclosure obligations.
Ownership category
akta.pro rank

Investec industry classification

Industry
Product category
Corporate & Institutional Banking
NAICS
Investment Banking and Securities Intermediation (52315), Securities and Commodity Contracts Intermediation and Brokerage (5231)
SIC
Security Brokers, Dealers & Flotation Companies (6211)
akta.pro primary industry
Institutional Brokerage & Agency Execution (FSAEACAC)
akta.pro secondary industry
Equity Prime Brokerage (Custody, Financing & Services) (FSACAFAB)

Keywords

  • Corporate banking
  • Institutional banking
  • Investment banking
  • Securities brokerage
  • Principal trading

Investec business model

Business model
GTM type
B2B
Offering type
Services
Cost components
Personnel, Operations, Technology or R&D, Marketing or Sales

Investec product offering

Product offering

Core offering

Investec Bank plc operates as an exempt principal trader with recognised intermediary status and serves as Joint Broker to public companies. It handles regulatory disclosures and securities dealings under the UK Takeover Code, including dealing in ordinary shares of listed entities on behalf of clients and counterparties.

Differentiator

Problem solved

Functional benefit

Products and services

  • Joint Broker Services Acting as Joint Broker to public companies (e.g., Gamma Communications Plc), with responsibility for regulatory disclosures and securities execution under the UK Takeover Code. Targeted at UK-listed public companies requiring regulated intermediary representation during takeover and M&A activity.
  • Exempt Principal Trading Securities dealing activity conducted under recognised intermediary status, including disclosed dealings in ordinary shares of UK-listed public companies (e.g., 118,756 shares of Gamma Communications Plc at prices between 953.25 and 972.5 on June 1, 2026). Targeted at institutional counterparties and the broader UK takeover market.

Companies that use Investec

Customer profile

Ideal customer profiles1 record

Investec technology and API

Technology

Technology focussed No

API detail

Has API
No
API docs
API detail

Core technology

AI maturity

App detail

Investec partnerships and signals

Strategic signal

Expansion highlights1 record

Investec competitors and assessment

Company assessment

Direct peers

  • Arden Partners: UK corporate broker and adviser serving smaller-cap listed companies with broking, research and corporate-finance services. Directly comparable in Joint Broker and NOMAD-style mandate competition against Investec for UK small-cap clients.
  • Singer Capital Markets: UK small-cap broker and advisory firm with a corporate-broking, equity-research, and capital-markets franchise targeting UK-listed growth companies. Directly comparable in Joint Broker / NOMAD-style mandate scope for smaller-cap UK issuers.
  • finnCap: London-based broker and adviser focused on UK growth companies, particularly on AIM. Provides corporate broking, equity research and capital-markets services overlapping with the Joint Broker mandate scope evidenced for Investec.
  • Peel Hunt: Leading UK mid- and small-cap broker and corporate financier providing research, broking, and capital-markets services to UK-listed companies. Closely comparable in product set (UK equity brokerage, advisory, equity capital markets) and client type (UK small/mid-cap corporate issuers).
  • Panmure Liberum: UK small/mid-cap broker formed by the merger of Panmure Gordon and Liberum, focused on UK equity research, corporate broking and capital-markets mandates for AIM- and main-market-listed companies. Directly comparable to Investec's evidenced Joint Broker role for UK small-cap clients such as Gamma Communications.
  • Canaccord Genuity (UK): UK arm of Canaccord Genuity Group offering equity research, sales, trading and corporate finance for UK mid- and small-cap companies. Highly comparable Joint Broker and equity-capital-markets competitor to Investec's evidenced role.
  • Cavendish (Dowgate): UK small-cap corporate broker and adviser following the merger of Cavendish Securities with Dowgate Capital. Provides the kind of Joint Broker, NOMAD and corporate-finance services that directly overlap with the type of mandate evidenced for Investec on Gamma Communications.
  • Berenberg (UK Equity Capital Markets): German private bank's UK securities franchise providing UK small/mid-cap research, corporate broking and capital-markets services. Comparable in regulated broker + bank-charter combination and in serving UK mid-cap issuers with advisory mandates.

Broad incumbents

  • Standard Bank Group: Africa-focused banking and capital-markets group with shared historical lineage and institutional-banking positioning alongside Investec. Comparable as a broad-incumbent corporate & institutional bank competing for UK and international mid-cap corporate mandates.
  • Close Brothers Group: UK merchant banking group offering securities, corporate finance and banking services with a small/mid-cap broking franchise (Winterflood). Comparable as a bank-chartered UK intermediary with capital-markets activities servicing corporate clients, overlapping with Investec's 'Corporate & Institutional Bank' positioning.

Market position

Strengths4 records

Weaknesses5 records

Competitive moat2 records

Key risks5 records

Key highlights4 records

Customer concentration

Investec social profiles

Digital presence

Investec financial estimates

Financial estimate

Revenue estimate

Valuation estimate

Investec leadership team

Management profile

Number of profiles

Investec funding detail

Funding detail

Funding overview

Funding rounds

Investors

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Investec M&A and investment

M&A and investment

M&A

Investments

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Frequently asked questions about Investec

What does Investec do?

Investec Bank plc operates as an exempt principal trader with recognised intermediary status and serves as Joint Broker to public companies. It handles regulatory disclosures and securities dealings under the UK Takeover Code, including dealing in ordinary shares of listed entities on behalf of clients and counterparties.

Is Investec a public or private company?

Investec is a public company. It is classified as public and is currently operating.

When was Investec founded?

Investec was founded in -1.

Who are Investec's main competitors?

Direct peers on record are Arden Partners, Singer Capital Markets, finnCap, Peel Hunt, Panmure Liberum, Canaccord Genuity (UK), Cavendish (Dowgate) and Berenberg (UK Equity Capital Markets). Broad incumbents are Standard Bank Group and Close Brothers Group.

Does Investec have an API?

No public API is recorded for Investec.

What industry is Investec in?

Investec's product category is Corporate & Institutional Banking. Its primary akta.pro industry code is FSAEACAC, Institutional Brokerage & Agency Execution, with a secondary code of FSACAFAB, Equity Prime Brokerage (Custody, Financing & Services). Its NAICS code is 52315 and its SIC code is 6211.

Unlock the full company data

50 free credits on sign-up, no credit card required.

Contact sales
Live signals