Developer docs
API playgroundTry for free, no card

Search company profiles

Rambert School

Full company profile

uuid0033ldb

Namestring
Rambert School
Legal namestring
Rambert School of Ballet and Contemporary Dance
Company typeenum
Private
Founded yearint
1920
Descriptiontext

Rambert School of Ballet and Contemporary Dance is a specialist performing-arts conservatoire based at Clifton Lodge in Twickenham, London, operating as a private limited company and registered charity (Charity #1098900). Its core product is the Foundation Degree / BA (Hons) in Ballet and Contemporary Dance, validated by the University of Kent, accepting approximately 50 students per year with more than 40% of the student body drawn from outside the United Kingdom across 21 countries. The school also delivers the MA in Dance Research for Professional Practitioners (a two-year part-time programme delivered primarily online) and a Young People's Courses division covering pre-vocational training (PRE|VOC ages 14–21, PRE|PARE ages 11–17), the free Boys|Aspire programme, summer schools, audition-prep intensives, international China Intensives, and the Aspire Schools Engagement outreach in south-west London.

The institution's underlying technology stack is modest: course materials, video and learning resources are served through Microsoft Teams, performances are streamed via social platforms (Facebook, Instagram, YouTube, X), and there is no proprietary software product. Notable physical and IP assets include the Anya Linden Studio Theatre (a purpose-built performance venue), an in-house Screening, Treatment & Rehabilitation Unit (STRU) with on-site osteopathy, a Pilates/conditioning room, live-music studio accompaniment, and Rambert Grades — a contemporary dance syllabus for young people co-developed with Rambert (Company) and launched in 2020, available separately via a dedicated website.

Rambert School generates revenue principally through annual tuition fees: UK undergraduate £9,790 (2026/27), international undergraduate £22,425, postgraduate £4,124, supplemented by short-course fees (£185–£380 per programme), a non-refundable £50 application fee, charitable donations, and hire of its facilities. Tuition fees are subject to annual increases; UK students can access government loans, hardship bursaries, and scholarships of approximately 10% of tuition. The school is governed by a board of trustees under Amanda Britton (Chief Executive, Principal and Artistic Director), with a degree-awarding partnership with the Royal College of Music announced for July 2025. Revenue is not publicly disclosed, but inferred scale from a ~150-strong undergraduate body, a small postgraduate cohort, and high-volume short-course activity places annual turnover in the low single-digit millions of pounds.

Short descriptiontext

Rambert School of Ballet and Contemporary Dance is a UK specialist dance conservatoire in Twickenham offering FD/BA, MA and pre-vocational programmes to aspiring and professional dancers aged 7 and above, validated by the University of Kent.

Operating statusenum
Operating
Ownership categoryenum
Headcount rangeband
11–50
akta.pro rankint
HeadquartersTwickenham, United Kingdom
HQ citystring
Twickenham
HQ countrystring
United Kingdom
HQ regionstring
Europe
Markets served

Serves global market

Offices1 record

Each record includes

City, Country, Type, Description, Source

Keyword5 values
dance conservatoire education, ballet training programs, contemporary dance instruction, performing arts education, vocational dance training
NAICS code5 codes
  • Fine Arts Schools611610
  • Fine Arts Schools61161
  • Educational Services61
  • Colleges, Universities, and Professional Schools61131
  • Educational Support Services61171
SIC code1 code
  • Services-Educational Services8200
Product category
Performing Arts Education
GTM motion2 records

Each record includes

Type, Description, Source

Revenue model4 records
1Undergraduate Tuition Fees
TypeSubscription Recurring
Description

Full-time Foundation Degree and BA (Hons) degree programs generate revenue through tuition fees. Home students pay £9,790 per year (2026/27), while International students pay £22,425 per year.

rambertschool.org.uk
2Postgraduate Tuition Fees
TypeSubscription Recurring
Description

MA in Dance Research for Professional Practitioners generates revenue at £4,124 per year (£8,248 total for two-year program) for all students regardless of UK/International status.

rambertschool.org.uk
3Short Course Fees
TypeOne Time License
Description

Revenue generated from young people's courses including Audition Prep Intensive (£195), Performance and Technique Summer School (£380), Primary Workshop Experience (£185), and PRE|VOC (£336 per term).

rambertschool.org.uk
4Donations and Charitable Support
TypeAffiliate Referral
Description

School accepts individual donations, operates Marie Rambert Bursary Fund, Rambert School Friends, and Please Take Your Seat program. Registered charity #1098900.

rambertschool.org.uk
Marketing channels6 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Stage, Description, Source

Distribution channels4 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Scope, Target buyer, Description, Source

Cost components5 values
Personnel, Operations, Marketing or Sales, Technology or R&D, Infrastructure
Pricing details9 tiers
1Home (UK) Undergraduate - Foundation Degree
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

£9,790 per year for UK/Home fee status students in 2026/27. Students can apply for UK Government tuition fee and maintenance loans.

rambertschool.org.uk
2International Undergraduate
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

£22,425 per year for international students (EU, EEA, Swiss, and International). Subject to increase in subsequent years.

rambertschool.org.uk
3MA Dance Research - All Students
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

£4,124 per year (£8,248 total for two-year part-time program). Same fee for UK and International students.

rambertschool.org.uk
4Audition Prep Intensive
ModelOne time/ perpetual licenseBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

£195 for 3-day intensive course. Bursaries covering 25-75% available for eligible UK residents.

rambertschool.org.uk
5Performance and Technique Summer School
ModelOne time/ perpetual licenseBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

£380 per week for Senior (ages 15-19) or Junior (ages 11-14) courses.

rambertschool.org.uk
6Primary Workshop Experience
ModelOne time/ perpetual licenseBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

£185 for 3-day course for ages 7-10.

rambertschool.org.uk
7PRE|VOC Year-long Program
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceMulti-year contract
Notes

£336 per term (3 terms per year), for ages 14-21. Saturday sessions from September to July.

rambertschool.org.uk
8PRE|PARE Year-long Program
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceMulti-year contract
Notes

£240 per term (3 terms per year), for ages 11-17. Saturday sessions from September to July.

rambertschool.org.uk
9Application Fee
ModelOne time/ perpetual licenseBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

£50 non-refundable application fee for all programs. Fee waivers available upon request.

rambertschool.org.uk
GTM typeB2C
B2C
Offering typeServices
Services
Core offering1 text field

Rambert School is a specialist dance conservatoire offering a portfolio of vocational training programmes across multiple entry levels. Core offerings include the FD/BA (Hons) in Ballet and Contemporary Dance (undergraduate) and MA in Dance Research for Professional Practitioners (postgraduate), both validated by the University of Kent. The school also operates an extensive Young People's Courses division with pre-vocational training (PRE|VOC, PRE|PARE), short courses, the Boys|Aspire programme, international intensives, and school outreach initiatives.

Differentiator
Functional benefit
Problem solved
Quantifiable outcome1 of 3 values shown
  • Alumni cast in major productions including The Red Shoes (nine alumni), performances with Ballet Black as Trainee Artist.
+2 more records
Product overview1 text field

Rambert School is a specialist dance conservatoire offering a portfolio of vocational training programmes across multiple entry levels. The core offerings include the FD/BA (Hons) in Ballet and Contemporary Dance (undergraduate) and MA in Dance Research for Professional Practitioners (postgraduate), both validated by the University of Kent. The school also operates an extensive Young People's Courses division encompassing pre-vocational training (PRE|VOC for ages 14-21, PRE|PARE for ages 11-17), short courses (Audition Prep Intensive, Easter Intensive, Summer School Performance and Technique Course, Primary Workshop Experience), the Boys|Aspire programme, international intensives, and the Aspire Schools Engagement outreach initiative. Together, these programmes form a comprehensive pathway from primary-age beginners through vocational training to postgraduate research.

Product and service1 record
1FD/BA (Hons) in Ballet and Contemporary Dance
Scale indicator4 records

Each record includes

Type, Value, Description, Source

Partnership5 partners
Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development PartnerAnnounced on2025-07-07
Description

New degree-awarding partnership announced for future programs. Rambert School announces new degree-awarding partnership with the Royal College of Music.

Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Degree validation partnership where FD and BA (Hons) Ballet and Contemporary Dance programs are validated by University of Kent. Academic regulations, credit framework and applicable general regulations of University of Kent apply to students.

3GUS China
Strategic tierRegionalTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Partnership for China Intensives - third consecutive year offering 2026 China Summer Course in Shanghai and Beijing. GUS handles local communications and logistics for international students from China.

rambertschool.org.uk
Strategic tierMinorTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Featured as partner logo on website. Organization supporting dance sector development.

Strategic tierMinorTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Featured as partner logo on website.

Recent move7 records

Each record includes

Date, Type, Title, Description, Source

Expansion highlight6 records

Each record includes

Type, Description

Peers10 records
1Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance
TypeDirect peer
Description

UK conservatoire offering HE-validated dance programmes alongside music. Direct peer in dance conservatoire space with shared audience of vocational dance students and validated degree pathways.

2Paris Opera Ballet School
TypeRegional player
Description

France's national ballet conservatoire offering elite pre-professional and vocational dance training. Comparable as a high-prestige specialist ballet institution, but serving a different primary geography and recruiting pipeline.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Sidcup-based performing arts conservatoire offering dance, musical theatre and performing arts programmes with degree validation. Direct peer for HE-validated vocational training in dance and adjacent performing arts.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Vocational ballet training school associated with English National Ballet. Direct peer in classical ballet conservatoire market, sharing the audition and pre-professional training model.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Birmingham-based specialist dance school offering ballet and contemporary training for ages 11–19 with pre-vocational and vocational pathways. Direct peer competing for similar UK and international student pipelines.

TypeDirect peer
Description

UK's flagship classical ballet conservatoire offering vocational and graduate training. Directly comparable as a specialist dance school serving aspiring professional dancers via audition-based entry and validated degree programmes.

TypeDirect peer
Description

UK performing arts college offering vocational dance and musical theatre training. Direct peer for the audition-based vocational training segment serving young aspiring performers.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Specialist contemporary dance conservatoire in London offering HE-validated undergraduate and postgraduate programmes. Direct peer given overlap in contemporary dance curriculum, audition-based entry, and degree validation model.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Leeds-based conservatoire focused on contemporary dance training. Direct peer offering audition-based undergraduate and postgraduate dance programmes with similar target student profile.

TypeDirect peer
Description

London-based ballet conservatoire offering vocational and degree-level training. Direct peer competing for the same aspiring professional ballet students via audition-based admission.

Market position
Strengths5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Weaknesses5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Competitive moat5 records

Each record includes

Type, Details

Key risks6 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Key highlights7 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Customer concentration

Classification, Details

Named customers2 records

Each record includes

Name, Industry, Type, Use case, Source, UUID

Segment3 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Primary, Description, Pain point addressed, Use case, Source

Ideal customer profile3 records

Each record includes

Profile, Firmographic size, Sales motion, Sales cycle length, Buying structure, Purchase trigger, Buyer persona, Geography, Industry vertical, Primary use case, Description, Pain points, Evidence proof points, Target buyer

Technology focused
No
API detail
Has APIbool
No

Docs URL, Description

AI maturity
App detail

Has app

Feature3 records

Each record includes

Title, Differentiator, Description, Source

Core technology
Revenue estimate
Valuation estimate
Number of profiles
Profiles12 records

Each record includes

Name, Designation, Designation category, Overview, Profile commentary, Source

No data
No data
Funding overview

Funding stage, Last funding date, Total funding USD

Funding rounds

Each record includes

Round, Amount USD, Date, Pre money valuation, Total investors, Investors, News

Investors

Each record includes

Name, Type, Date of entry, Rounds participated, Website

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

M&A

Each record includes

Name, Acquisition type, Announced date, Completed date, Status, Website, News

Investment

Each record includes

Name, Round, Announced date, Lead investor, Website, News

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Rambert School

Performing Arts Educationrambertschool.org.uk

Rambert School of Ballet and Contemporary Dance is a UK specialist dance conservatoire in Twickenham offering FD/BA, MA and pre-vocational programmes to aspiring and professional dancers aged 7 and above, validated by the University of Kent.

What Rambert School does

Rambert School of Ballet and Contemporary Dance is a specialist performing-arts conservatoire based at Clifton Lodge in Twickenham, London, operating as a private limited company and registered charity (Charity #1098900). Its core product is the Foundation Degree / BA (Hons) in Ballet and Contemporary Dance, validated by the University of Kent, accepting approximately 50 students per year with more than 40% of the student body drawn from outside the United Kingdom across 21 countries. The school also delivers the MA in Dance Research for Professional Practitioners (a two-year part-time programme delivered primarily online) and a Young People's Courses division covering pre-vocational training (PRE|VOC ages 14–21, PRE|PARE ages 11–17), the free Boys|Aspire programme, summer schools, audition-prep intensives, international China Intensives, and the Aspire Schools Engagement outreach in south-west London.

The institution's underlying technology stack is modest: course materials, video and learning resources are served through Microsoft Teams, performances are streamed via social platforms (Facebook, Instagram, YouTube, X), and there is no proprietary software product. Notable physical and IP assets include the Anya Linden Studio Theatre (a purpose-built performance venue), an in-house Screening, Treatment & Rehabilitation Unit (STRU) with on-site osteopathy, a Pilates/conditioning room, live-music studio accompaniment, and Rambert Grades — a contemporary dance syllabus for young people co-developed with Rambert (Company) and launched in 2020, available separately via a dedicated website.

Rambert School generates revenue principally through annual tuition fees: UK undergraduate £9,790 (2026/27), international undergraduate £22,425, postgraduate £4,124, supplemented by short-course fees (£185–£380 per programme), a non-refundable £50 application fee, charitable donations, and hire of its facilities. Tuition fees are subject to annual increases; UK students can access government loans, hardship bursaries, and scholarships of approximately 10% of tuition. The school is governed by a board of trustees under Amanda Britton (Chief Executive, Principal and Artistic Director), with a degree-awarding partnership with the Royal College of Music announced for July 2025. Revenue is not publicly disclosed, but inferred scale from a ~150-strong undergraduate body, a small postgraduate cohort, and high-volume short-course activity places annual turnover in the low single-digit millions of pounds.

Rambert School firmographics

Firmographics
Name
Rambert School
Legal name
Rambert School of Ballet and Contemporary Dance
Website
https://rambertschool.org.uk
Company type
Private
Founded year
1920
Operating status
Operating
Headcount range
11–50 employees
Short description
Rambert School of Ballet and Contemporary Dance is a UK specialist dance conservatoire in Twickenham offering FD/BA, MA and pre-vocational programmes to aspiring and professional dancers aged 7 and above, validated by the University of Kent.
Ownership category
akta.pro rank

Where Rambert School is headquartered

Location

Headquarters

HQ city
Twickenham
HQ country
United Kingdom
HQ region
Europe

Offices1 record

Markets served

Rambert School business model

Business model
GTM type
B2C
Offering type
Services
Cost components
Personnel, Operations, Marketing or Sales, Technology or R&D, Infrastructure

Revenue model

  1. Undergraduate Tuition Fees: Full-time Foundation Degree and BA (Hons) degree programs generate revenue through tuition fees. Home students pay £9,790 per year (2026/27), while International students pay £22,425 per year.
  2. Postgraduate Tuition Fees: MA in Dance Research for Professional Practitioners generates revenue at £4,124 per year (£8,248 total for two-year program) for all students regardless of UK/International status.
  3. Short Course Fees: Revenue generated from young people's courses including Audition Prep Intensive (£195), Performance and Technique Summer School (£380), Primary Workshop Experience (£185), and PRE|VOC (£336 per term).
  4. Donations and Charitable Support: School accepts individual donations, operates Marie Rambert Bursary Fund, Rambert School Friends, and Please Take Your Seat program. Registered charity #1098900.

Pricing tiers

ModelBillingPrice
SubscriptionAnnualHome (UK) Undergraduate - Foundation Degree
SubscriptionAnnualInternational Undergraduate
SubscriptionAnnualMA Dance Research - All Students
One time/ perpetual licensePay-as-you-goAudition Prep Intensive
One time/ perpetual licensePay-as-you-goPerformance and Technique Summer School
One time/ perpetual licensePay-as-you-goPrimary Workshop Experience
SubscriptionMulti-year contractPRE|VOC Year-long Program
SubscriptionMulti-year contractPRE|PARE Year-long Program
One time/ perpetual licensePay-as-you-goApplication Fee

Go-to-market motion2 records

Distribution channels4 records

Marketing channels6 records

Rambert School product offering

Product offering

Core offering

Rambert School is a specialist dance conservatoire offering a portfolio of vocational training programmes across multiple entry levels. Core offerings include the FD/BA (Hons) in Ballet and Contemporary Dance (undergraduate) and MA in Dance Research for Professional Practitioners (postgraduate), both validated by the University of Kent. The school also operates an extensive Young People's Courses division with pre-vocational training (PRE|VOC, PRE|PARE), short courses, the Boys|Aspire programme, international intensives, and school outreach initiatives.

Product overview

Rambert School is a specialist dance conservatoire offering a portfolio of vocational training programmes across multiple entry levels. The core offerings include the FD/BA (Hons) in Ballet and Contemporary Dance (undergraduate) and MA in Dance Research for Professional Practitioners (postgraduate), both validated by the University of Kent. The school also operates an extensive Young People's Courses division encompassing pre-vocational training (PRE|VOC for ages 14-21, PRE|PARE for ages 11-17), short courses (Audition Prep Intensive, Easter Intensive, Summer School Performance and Technique Course, Primary Workshop Experience), the Boys|Aspire programme, international intensives, and the Aspire Schools Engagement outreach initiative. Together, these programmes form a comprehensive pathway from primary-age beginners through vocational training to postgraduate research.

Differentiator

Problem solved

Functional benefit

Products and services

  • FD/BA (Hons) in Ballet and Contemporary Dance

Quantifiable outcome

  • Alumni cast in major productions including The Red Shoes (nine alumni), performances with Ballet Black as Trainee Artist.
  • +2 more outcomes

Companies that use Rambert School

Customer profile

Named customers2 records

Segments3 records

Ideal customer profiles3 records

Rambert School technology and API

Technology

Technology focussed No

API detail

Has API
No
API docs
API detail

Core technology

AI maturity

App detail

Feature3 records

Rambert School partnerships and signals

Strategic signal

Partnerships

Five partnerships are on record, tiered core, regional and minor.

  • Royal College of MusiccoreStrategic or Co-development Partner · 7 July 2025New degree-awarding partnership announced for future programs. Rambert School announces new degree-awarding partnership with the Royal College of Music.
  • University of KentcoreStrategic or Co-development PartnerDegree validation partnership where FD and BA (Hons) Ballet and Contemporary Dance programs are validated by University of Kent. Academic regulations, credit framework and applicable general regulations of University of Kent apply to students.
  • GUS ChinaregionalStrategic or Co-development PartnerPartnership for China Intensives - third consecutive year offering 2026 China Summer Course in Shanghai and Beijing. GUS handles local communications and logistics for international students from China.
  • OneDance UKminorStrategic or Co-development PartnerFeatured as partner logo on website. Organization supporting dance sector development.
  • Imperial College LondonminorStrategic or Co-development PartnerFeatured as partner logo on website.

Scale indicators4 records

Recent moves7 records

Expansion highlights6 records

Rambert School competitors and assessment

Company assessment

Direct peers

  • Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance: UK conservatoire offering HE-validated dance programmes alongside music. Direct peer in dance conservatoire space with shared audience of vocational dance students and validated degree pathways.
  • Bird College: Sidcup-based performing arts conservatoire offering dance, musical theatre and performing arts programmes with degree validation. Direct peer for HE-validated vocational training in dance and adjacent performing arts.
  • English National Ballet School: Vocational ballet training school associated with English National Ballet. Direct peer in classical ballet conservatoire market, sharing the audition and pre-professional training model.
  • Elmhurst Ballet School: Birmingham-based specialist dance school offering ballet and contemporary training for ages 11–19 with pre-vocational and vocational pathways. Direct peer competing for similar UK and international student pipelines.
  • Royal Ballet School: UK's flagship classical ballet conservatoire offering vocational and graduate training. Directly comparable as a specialist dance school serving aspiring professional dancers via audition-based entry and validated degree programmes.
  • Laine Theatre Arts: UK performing arts college offering vocational dance and musical theatre training. Direct peer for the audition-based vocational training segment serving young aspiring performers.
  • London Contemporary Dance School (LCDS at The Place): Specialist contemporary dance conservatoire in London offering HE-validated undergraduate and postgraduate programmes. Direct peer given overlap in contemporary dance curriculum, audition-based entry, and degree validation model.
  • Northern School of Contemporary Dance: Leeds-based conservatoire focused on contemporary dance training. Direct peer offering audition-based undergraduate and postgraduate dance programmes with similar target student profile.
  • Central School of Ballet: London-based ballet conservatoire offering vocational and degree-level training. Direct peer competing for the same aspiring professional ballet students via audition-based admission.

Regional players

  • Paris Opera Ballet School: France's national ballet conservatoire offering elite pre-professional and vocational dance training. Comparable as a high-prestige specialist ballet institution, but serving a different primary geography and recruiting pipeline.

Market position

Strengths5 records

Weaknesses5 records

Competitive moat5 records

Key risks6 records

Key highlights7 records

Customer concentration

Rambert School social profiles

Digital presence

Rambert School financial estimates

Financial estimate

Revenue estimate

Valuation estimate

Rambert School leadership team

Management profile

Number of profiles

Profiles12 records

Rambert School funding detail

Funding detail

Funding overview

Funding rounds

Investors

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Rambert School M&A and investment

M&A and investment

M&A

Investments

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Frequently asked questions about Rambert School

What does Rambert School do?

Rambert School is a specialist dance conservatoire offering a portfolio of vocational training programmes across multiple entry levels. Core offerings include the FD/BA (Hons) in Ballet and Contemporary Dance (undergraduate) and MA in Dance Research for Professional Practitioners (postgraduate), both validated by the University of Kent. The school also operates an extensive Young People's Courses division with pre-vocational training (PRE|VOC, PRE|PARE), short courses, the Boys|Aspire programme, international intensives, and school outreach initiatives.

Is Rambert School a public or private company?

Rambert School is a private company. It is classified as nonprofit foundation owned and is currently operating.

When was Rambert School founded?

Rambert School was founded in 1920. It employs 11 to 50 people.

Where is Rambert School based?

Rambert School is headquartered in Twickenham, United Kingdom, in the Europe region.

How does Rambert School make money?

Four revenue lines are on record. Undergraduate Tuition Fees are the primary driver. The others are postgraduate Tuition Fees, short Course Fees and donations and Charitable Support.

Who are Rambert School's main competitors?

Direct peers on record are Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance, Bird College, English National Ballet School, Elmhurst Ballet School, Royal Ballet School, Laine Theatre Arts, London Contemporary Dance School (LCDS at The Place), Northern School of Contemporary Dance and Central School of Ballet. Paris Opera Ballet School is listed as a regional player.

Does Rambert School have an API?

No public API is recorded for Rambert School.

Unlock the full company data

50 free credits on sign-up, no credit card required.

Contact sales