Developer docs
API playgroundTry for free, no card

Search company profiles

Buxton & Leek College

Full company profile

uuid003acwk

Namestring
Buxton & Leek College
Legal namestring
Buxton & Leek College
Websiteurl
blc.ac.uk
Company typeenum
Public
Founded yearint
2012
Descriptiontext

Buxton & Leek College, now operating as University of Derby, Buxton Campus (UOD - Buxton), is a UK further and higher education institution headquartered in Buxton, Derbyshire, with 251-500 employees. It was absorbed into the University of Derby and rebranded under the parent institution's name, while retaining its identity as a regional campus delivering vocational and academic courses. The institution serves four primary customer segments: school leavers aged 16-18 (full-time courses, T-Levels, GCSE resits), adults (online and part-time short courses, Maths & English, Access to HE), apprentices (workplace-based training across sectors), and employers (recruitment, upskilling, and workforce development). It also delivers university-level qualifications such as part-time degrees and professional courses through the University of Derby academic infrastructure.

The core product set spans full-time vocational courses, T-Levels, apprenticeships, adult short courses, and university-level qualifications, supported by industry-standard practical training facilities including Salon Inspire (a publicly accessible hair and beauty training salon), Harpurs Bistro (a student-run training restaurant), and a Football Academy in partnership with Buxton Football Club. Technology investment is minimal — the principal digital asset is a virtual campus tour of the Buxton facilities, with no proprietary AI, no API exposure, and no mobile app. Marketing is conducted through a dedicated website (buxton.derby.ac.uk), social media (Facebook, LinkedIn, Instagram), open events, taster days, schools liaison outreach, and a digital prospectus.

The business model is predominantly public-sector-subsidised further education: tuition and course fees are supplemented by government funding for 16-18 provision, apprenticeship levy income for the apprenticeship stream, Advanced Learner Loans for adult learners, and employer contracts for workforce training. Pricing varies by course type and is not publicly disclosed. The institution holds an Ofsted "Good" rating, a TES Award for Outstanding GCSE Resits provision, the Matrix Quality Standard for information, advice and guidance, and Investors in Diversity accreditation. As a campus of a public university, Buxton & Leek College operates under the University of Derby's governance and copyright, with no independent funding rounds, no M&A activity, and no disclosed revenue figures.

Short descriptiontext

Buxton & Leek College is a UK further and higher education institution, now operating as the University of Derby's Buxton Campus, serving school leavers, adults, apprentices, and regional employers through vocational courses, T-Levels, apprenticeships, and university-level qualifications.

Operating statusenum
Operating
Ownership categoryenum
Headcount rangeband
251–500
akta.pro rankint
HeadquartersBuxton, United Kingdom
HQ citystring
Buxton
HQ countrystring
United Kingdom
HQ regionstring
Europe
Markets served

Serves global market

Offices1 record

Each record includes

City, Country, Type, Description, Source

Keyword5 values
further education courses, vocational training programmes, apprenticeship schemes, adult learning courses, T-Level qualifications
Industry1 code
1Comprehensive Community Colleges (Transfer + Workforce)
CodeEDAHADAEPrimaryYes
NAICS code4 codes
  • Junior Colleges6112
  • Colleges, Universities, and Professional Schools6113
  • Other Technical and Trade Schools611519
  • Educational Services61
SIC code1 code
  • Services-Educational Services8200
Product category
Further Education
GTM motion2 records

Each record includes

Type, Description, Source

Revenue model1 record
1Tuition and Course Fees
TypeSubscription Recurring
Description

Revenue from full-time courses, part-time courses, apprenticeships, and university-level qualifications. Fee structures vary by program type with financial support options including bursaries, advanced learner loans, and free meals for eligible students.

buxton.derby.ac.uk
Marketing channels6 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Stage, Description, Source

Distribution channels3 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Scope, Target buyer, Description, Source

Cost components6 values
Personnel, Operations, Infrastructure, Technology or R&D, Marketing or Sales, Supply Chain
Pricing details1 tier
114-18 School Leaver Programs
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

Bursary application information available; financial support including free meals through PayMyStudent portal

buxton.derby.ac.uk
GTM typeB2C
B2C
Offering typeServices
Services
Core offering1 text field

Buxton & Leek College is a further and higher education college operating as the Buxton Campus of the University of Derby. It sells full-time and part-time courses, T-Levels, apprenticeships, adult short and online courses, Access to Higher Education diplomas and university-level qualifications to school leavers, adults, apprentices and employers in Derbyshire, England. Practical training is delivered in industry-standard facilities including a commercial training kitchen (Harpurs Bistro), a hair and beauty training salon (Salon Inspire), and a Football Academy at Buxton Football Club.

Differentiator
Functional benefit
Problem solved
Product overview1 text field

Buxton & Leek College (operating as University of Derby, Buxton Campus) is an educational institution providing a unified portfolio of further and higher education programmes. The core offerings span full-time courses for school leavers (including T-Levels), apprenticeships, adult education (short courses, part-time courses, Maths & English), and university-level qualifications delivered in partnership with University of Derby. Supporting services include industry placements, work experience, financial support/bursaries, and practical training facilities (Harpurs Bistro restaurant and Salon Inspire hair & beauty salon) where students gain real-world skills.

Product and service7 records
1Full-Time Courses for School Leavers
CategoryFurther Education Courses
Description

A wide range of full-time study programmes and courses for students aged 16-18, including vocational qualifications, T-Levels, study programmes, and GCSE resits, available across multiple subject areas.

2Apprenticeships
CategoryVocational Training / Apprenticeships
Description

Apprenticeship programmes combining on-the-job training with classroom study, offering vacancies across multiple sectors and accessible to any age, including higher apprenticeships.

3Adult Courses
CategoryAdult Education
Description

Courses for adult learners including online courses, adult short courses, part-time courses, and Maths & English qualifications to progress careers or learn new skills.

4University Level Courses
CategoryHigher Education
Description

Higher education qualifications including Access to Higher Education diplomas, part-time degrees, and professional courses, delivered as part of the University of Derby.

5T-Levels
CategoryTechnical Education / Vocational Qualification
Description

Technical education qualifications combining classroom learning with industry placements, designed for students aged 16-18 to develop occupation-specific skills.

6Harpurs Bistro
CategoryTraining Facilities / Hospitality Services
Description

Training restaurant operated by hospitality students providing real industry experience, with food and beverage service open to the public.

7Salon Inspire
CategoryTraining Facilities / Hair and Beauty Services
Description

Hair and beauty training salon where students gain practical experience, open to the public for hair and beauty treatments.

Scale indicator1 record

Each record includes

Type, Value, Description, Source

Partnership2 partners
Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Buxton & Leek College operates as the Buxton Campus of University of Derby. This partnership provides academic credibility, progression pathways for students, and institutional infrastructure. Students have access to University-level courses and can progress through further education into higher education.

Strategic tierMinorTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Partnership to host Football Academy at Buxton Football Club facilities. Students in football programs train and receive education at the club facilities, providing practical sports training experience.

Recent move5 records

Each record includes

Date, Type, Title, Description, Source

Expansion highlight4 records

Each record includes

Type, Description

Peers10 records
TypeDirect peer
Description

New College Nottingham (now part of Nottingham College) is an urban FE college delivering the same mix of vocational, apprenticeship and adult learning programs as UOD-Buxton, serving an overlapping East Midlands demographic.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

Activate Learning is a multi-campus FE college group operating across southern England with the same FE/apprenticeship/adult-learning portfolio; it represents a scaled, group-level incumbent in the UK further education sector.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Chesterfield College is a nearby East Midlands FE college serving a comparable demographic with school-leaver, adult, apprenticeship and T-Level provision, and overlaps with Buxton's recruitment catchment.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Reaseheath is a specialist land-based and vocational FE college offering apprenticeships, T-Levels and commercial training facilities (kitchens, salons, animal centres), directly comparable in facility-led model.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Burton and South Derbyshire College is a regional FE college in the same county, offering vocational and apprenticeship programs that directly compete with UOD-Buxton for school leavers and adult learners.

TypeRegional player
Description

Macclesfield College is a nearby Cheshire FE college with similar further education and apprenticeship offerings; it competes for the same North Staffordshire / Peak District catchment as Buxton.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

University of Derby is the parent institution and a broader incumbent UK university offering degree pathways that the Buxton campus feeds into; it sets the academic and governance framework within which UOD-Buxton operates.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Loughborough College is an East Midlands FE college offering further education, apprenticeships, Access to HE and university-level courses through partner universities — a near-identical operating model to UOD-Buxton.

TypeDirect peer
Description

NSCG is explicitly referenced in the company's data as a partner/connection for Leek-based courses, and operates the same FE/apprenticeship model across Staffordshire, making it a direct regional peer.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Derby College is the closest regional further education competitor, located in Derby and offering a similar portfolio of vocational courses, T-Levels, apprenticeships and adult learning for the same Derbyshire catchment.

Market position
Strengths4 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Weaknesses4 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Competitive moat4 records

Each record includes

Type, Details

Key risks5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Key highlights6 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Customer concentration

Classification, Details

Segment4 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Primary, Description, Pain point addressed, Use case, Source

Ideal customer profile3 records

Each record includes

Profile, Firmographic size, Sales motion, Sales cycle length, Buying structure, Purchase trigger, Buyer persona, Geography, Industry vertical, Primary use case, Description, Pain points, Evidence proof points, Target buyer

Technology focused
No
API detail
Has APIbool
No

Docs URL, Description

AI maturity
App detail

Has app

Feature1 record

Each record includes

Title, Differentiator, Description, Source

Core technology
Revenue estimate
Valuation estimate
Number of profiles
No data
Compliance3 records

Each record includes

Name, Class, Description

Funding overview

Funding stage, Last funding date, Total funding USD

Funding rounds

Each record includes

Round, Amount USD, Date, Pre money valuation, Total investors, Investors, News

Investors

Each record includes

Name, Type, Date of entry, Rounds participated, Website

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

M&A

Each record includes

Name, Acquisition type, Announced date, Completed date, Status, Website, News

Investment

Each record includes

Name, Round, Announced date, Lead investor, Website, News

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Buxton & Leek College

Further Educationblc.ac.uk

Buxton & Leek College is a UK further and higher education institution, now operating as the University of Derby's Buxton Campus, serving school leavers, adults, apprentices, and regional employers through vocational courses, T-Levels, apprenticeships, and university-level qualifications.

What Buxton & Leek College does

Buxton & Leek College, now operating as University of Derby, Buxton Campus (UOD - Buxton), is a UK further and higher education institution headquartered in Buxton, Derbyshire, with 251-500 employees. It was absorbed into the University of Derby and rebranded under the parent institution's name, while retaining its identity as a regional campus delivering vocational and academic courses. The institution serves four primary customer segments: school leavers aged 16-18 (full-time courses, T-Levels, GCSE resits), adults (online and part-time short courses, Maths & English, Access to HE), apprentices (workplace-based training across sectors), and employers (recruitment, upskilling, and workforce development). It also delivers university-level qualifications such as part-time degrees and professional courses through the University of Derby academic infrastructure.

The core product set spans full-time vocational courses, T-Levels, apprenticeships, adult short courses, and university-level qualifications, supported by industry-standard practical training facilities including Salon Inspire (a publicly accessible hair and beauty training salon), Harpurs Bistro (a student-run training restaurant), and a Football Academy in partnership with Buxton Football Club. Technology investment is minimal — the principal digital asset is a virtual campus tour of the Buxton facilities, with no proprietary AI, no API exposure, and no mobile app. Marketing is conducted through a dedicated website (buxton.derby.ac.uk), social media (Facebook, LinkedIn, Instagram), open events, taster days, schools liaison outreach, and a digital prospectus.

The business model is predominantly public-sector-subsidised further education: tuition and course fees are supplemented by government funding for 16-18 provision, apprenticeship levy income for the apprenticeship stream, Advanced Learner Loans for adult learners, and employer contracts for workforce training. Pricing varies by course type and is not publicly disclosed. The institution holds an Ofsted "Good" rating, a TES Award for Outstanding GCSE Resits provision, the Matrix Quality Standard for information, advice and guidance, and Investors in Diversity accreditation. As a campus of a public university, Buxton & Leek College operates under the University of Derby's governance and copyright, with no independent funding rounds, no M&A activity, and no disclosed revenue figures.

Buxton & Leek College firmographics

Firmographics
Name
Buxton & Leek College
Legal name
Buxton & Leek College
Website
https://blc.ac.uk
Company type
Public
Founded year
2012
Operating status
Operating
Headcount range
251–500 employees
Short description
Buxton & Leek College is a UK further and higher education institution, now operating as the University of Derby's Buxton Campus, serving school leavers, adults, apprentices, and regional employers through vocational courses, T-Levels, apprenticeships, and university-level qualifications.
Ownership category
akta.pro rank

Buxton & Leek College industry classification

Industry
Product category
Further Education
NAICS
Junior Colleges (6112), Colleges, Universities, and Professional Schools (6113), Other Technical and Trade Schools (611519), Educational Services (61)
SIC
Services-Educational Services (8200)
akta.pro primary industry
Comprehensive Community Colleges (Transfer + Workforce) (EDAHADAE)

Keywords

  • Further education courses
  • Vocational training programmes
  • Apprenticeship schemes
  • Adult learning courses
  • T-Level qualifications

Where Buxton & Leek College is headquartered

Location

Headquarters

HQ city
Buxton
HQ country
United Kingdom
HQ region
Europe

Offices1 record

Markets served

Buxton & Leek College business model

Business model
GTM type
B2C
Offering type
Services
Cost components
Personnel, Operations, Infrastructure, Technology or R&D, Marketing or Sales, Supply Chain

Revenue model

  1. Tuition and Course Fees: Revenue from full-time courses, part-time courses, apprenticeships, and university-level qualifications. Fee structures vary by program type with financial support options including bursaries, advanced learner loans, and free meals for eligible students.

Pricing tiers

ModelBillingPrice
SubscriptionAnnual14-18 School Leaver Programs

Go-to-market motion2 records

Distribution channels3 records

Marketing channels6 records

Buxton & Leek College product offering

Product offering

Core offering

Buxton & Leek College is a further and higher education college operating as the Buxton Campus of the University of Derby. It sells full-time and part-time courses, T-Levels, apprenticeships, adult short and online courses, Access to Higher Education diplomas and university-level qualifications to school leavers, adults, apprentices and employers in Derbyshire, England. Practical training is delivered in industry-standard facilities including a commercial training kitchen (Harpurs Bistro), a hair and beauty training salon (Salon Inspire), and a Football Academy at Buxton Football Club.

Product overview

Buxton & Leek College (operating as University of Derby, Buxton Campus) is an educational institution providing a unified portfolio of further and higher education programmes. The core offerings span full-time courses for school leavers (including T-Levels), apprenticeships, adult education (short courses, part-time courses, Maths & English), and university-level qualifications delivered in partnership with University of Derby. Supporting services include industry placements, work experience, financial support/bursaries, and practical training facilities (Harpurs Bistro restaurant and Salon Inspire hair & beauty salon) where students gain real-world skills.

Differentiator

Problem solved

Functional benefit

Products and services

  • Full-Time Courses for School Leavers A wide range of full-time study programmes and courses for students aged 16-18, including vocational qualifications, T-Levels, study programmes, and GCSE resits, available across multiple subject areas.
  • Apprenticeships Apprenticeship programmes combining on-the-job training with classroom study, offering vacancies across multiple sectors and accessible to any age, including higher apprenticeships.
  • Adult Courses Courses for adult learners including online courses, adult short courses, part-time courses, and Maths & English qualifications to progress careers or learn new skills.
  • University Level Courses Higher education qualifications including Access to Higher Education diplomas, part-time degrees, and professional courses, delivered as part of the University of Derby.
  • T-Levels Technical education qualifications combining classroom learning with industry placements, designed for students aged 16-18 to develop occupation-specific skills.
  • Harpurs Bistro Training restaurant operated by hospitality students providing real industry experience, with food and beverage service open to the public.
  • Salon Inspire Hair and beauty training salon where students gain practical experience, open to the public for hair and beauty treatments.

Companies that use Buxton & Leek College

Customer profile

Segments4 records

Ideal customer profiles3 records

Buxton & Leek College technology and API

Technology

Technology focussed No

API detail

Has API
No
API docs
API detail

Core technology

AI maturity

App detail

Feature1 record

Buxton & Leek College partnerships and signals

Strategic signal

Partnerships

Two partnerships are on record, tiered core and minor.

  • University of DerbycoreStrategic or Co-development PartnerBuxton & Leek College operates as the Buxton Campus of University of Derby. This partnership provides academic credibility, progression pathways for students, and institutional infrastructure. Students have access to University-level courses and can progress through further education into higher education.
  • Buxton Football ClubminorStrategic or Co-development PartnerPartnership to host Football Academy at Buxton Football Club facilities. Students in football programs train and receive education at the club facilities, providing practical sports training experience.

Scale indicators1 record

Recent moves5 records

Expansion highlights4 records

Buxton & Leek College competitors and assessment

Company assessment

Direct peers

  • New College Nottingham (ncn): New College Nottingham (now part of Nottingham College) is an urban FE college delivering the same mix of vocational, apprenticeship and adult learning programs as UOD-Buxton, serving an overlapping East Midlands demographic.
  • Chesterfield College: Chesterfield College is a nearby East Midlands FE college serving a comparable demographic with school-leaver, adult, apprenticeship and T-Level provision, and overlaps with Buxton's recruitment catchment.
  • Reaseheath College: Reaseheath is a specialist land-based and vocational FE college offering apprenticeships, T-Levels and commercial training facilities (kitchens, salons, animal centres), directly comparable in facility-led model.
  • Burton and South Derbyshire College: Burton and South Derbyshire College is a regional FE college in the same county, offering vocational and apprenticeship programs that directly compete with UOD-Buxton for school leavers and adult learners.
  • Loughborough College: Loughborough College is an East Midlands FE college offering further education, apprenticeships, Access to HE and university-level courses through partner universities — a near-identical operating model to UOD-Buxton.
  • North Staffordshire College Group (NSCG): NSCG is explicitly referenced in the company's data as a partner/connection for Leek-based courses, and operates the same FE/apprenticeship model across Staffordshire, making it a direct regional peer.
  • Derby College: Derby College is the closest regional further education competitor, located in Derby and offering a similar portfolio of vocational courses, T-Levels, apprenticeships and adult learning for the same Derbyshire catchment.

Broad incumbents

  • Activate Learning: Activate Learning is a multi-campus FE college group operating across southern England with the same FE/apprenticeship/adult-learning portfolio; it represents a scaled, group-level incumbent in the UK further education sector.
  • University of Derby: University of Derby is the parent institution and a broader incumbent UK university offering degree pathways that the Buxton campus feeds into; it sets the academic and governance framework within which UOD-Buxton operates.

Regional players

  • Macclesfield College: Macclesfield College is a nearby Cheshire FE college with similar further education and apprenticeship offerings; it competes for the same North Staffordshire / Peak District catchment as Buxton.

Market position

Strengths4 records

Weaknesses4 records

Competitive moat4 records

Key risks5 records

Key highlights6 records

Customer concentration

Buxton & Leek College social profiles

Digital presence

Buxton & Leek College compliance and trust

Trust signal

Compliance3 records

Buxton & Leek College financial estimates

Financial estimate

Revenue estimate

Valuation estimate

Buxton & Leek College leadership team

Management profile

Number of profiles

Buxton & Leek College funding detail

Funding detail

Funding overview

Funding rounds

Investors

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Buxton & Leek College M&A and investment

M&A and investment

M&A

Investments

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Frequently asked questions about Buxton & Leek College

What does Buxton & Leek College do?

Buxton & Leek College is a further and higher education college operating as the Buxton Campus of the University of Derby. It sells full-time and part-time courses, T-Levels, apprenticeships, adult short and online courses, Access to Higher Education diplomas and university-level qualifications to school leavers, adults, apprentices and employers in Derbyshire, England. Practical training is delivered in industry-standard facilities including a commercial training kitchen (Harpurs Bistro), a hair and beauty training salon (Salon Inspire), and a Football Academy at Buxton Football Club.

Is Buxton & Leek College a public or private company?

Buxton & Leek College is a public company. It is classified as state government owned and is currently operating.

When was Buxton & Leek College founded?

Buxton & Leek College was founded in 2012. It employs 251 to 500 people.

Where is Buxton & Leek College based?

Buxton & Leek College is headquartered in Buxton, United Kingdom, in the Europe region.

How does Buxton & Leek College make money?

One revenue line is on record: tuition and Course Fees.

Who are Buxton & Leek College's main competitors?

Direct peers on record are New College Nottingham (ncn), Chesterfield College, Reaseheath College, Burton and South Derbyshire College, Loughborough College, North Staffordshire College Group (NSCG) and Derby College. Broad incumbents are Activate Learning and University of Derby. Macclesfield College is listed as a regional player.

Does Buxton & Leek College have an API?

No public API is recorded for Buxton & Leek College.

What industry is Buxton & Leek College in?

Buxton & Leek College's product category is Further Education. Its primary akta.pro industry code is EDAHADAE, Comprehensive Community Colleges (Transfer + Workforce). Its NAICS code is 6112 and its SIC code is 8200.

Unlock the full company data

50 free credits on sign-up, no credit card required.

Contact sales