Developer docs
API playgroundTry for free, no card

Search company profiles

University of Oregon College of Design

Full company profile

uuid003ikb7

Namestring
University of Oregon College of Design
Legal namestring
University of Oregon College of Design
Company typeenum
Public
Founded yearint
2017
Descriptiontext

The University of Oregon College of Design is a public state university college headquartered at Lawrence Hall on the Eugene, Oregon campus, operating as a constituent unit of the University of Oregon since its 2017 reorganization from the School of Architecture and Allied Arts (founded 1914). It comprises four academic units: the School of Architecture & Environment, the School of Art + Design, the School of Planning, Public Policy and Management, and the Department of the History of Art and Architecture, delivering approximately 15 graduate and 9 undergraduate degree programs plus certificates in Museum Studies and New Media and Culture. The college enrolls roughly 2,000 students with 163 faculty and 56 staff, and operates a Portland extended campus, study-abroad programs, and the annual Bruton Design Intensive workshop run in collaboration with ZGF Architects.

The college's underlying research and programmatic platform spans specialized facilities (design studios, fabrication labs, digital fabrication equipment) and four signature research entities: the TallWood Design Institute (mass timber and sustainable building, led by Judith Sheine), the Pacific Northwest Just Futures Institute for Racial and Climate Justice ($4.52M Mellon-funded, led by John Arroyo), the Design for Spatial Justice Initiative, and the Transpecies Design Initiative. The TallWood Design Institute is the design-side lead on the Oregon Mass Timber Innovation Engine, selected as an NSF Regional Innovation Engines semifinalist in 2024 with up to $160M of potential funding over 10 years.

Revenue is generated through tuition and fees from degree programs, state appropriations via the University of Oregon, externally funded research grants and contracts (notably NSF and Mellon Foundation), and philanthropic donations including deferred gift commitments. The college maintains a community-led and event-driven go-to-market, recruiting prospective students through campus visits, open houses, recruitment events, high school and community college partnerships, and a global study-abroad network, while leveraging an active alumni ecosystem for mentorship, internships, fundraising, and career placement.

Short descriptiontext

The University of Oregon College of Design is a public state university college enrolling ~2,000 students across four schools (Architecture & Environment, Art + Design, Planning/Public Policy/Management, and History of Art and Architecture), delivering accredited design degrees, applied research in mass timber and climate justice, and a Portland extended campus.

Operating statusenum
Operating
Ownership categoryenum
Headcount rangeband
251–500
akta.pro rankint
HeadquartersEugene, United States
HQ citystring
Eugene
HQ countrystring
United States
HQ regionstring
North America
Markets served

Serves global market

Offices2 records

Each record includes

City, Country, Type, Description, Source

Keyword5 values
design education, architecture programs, higher education, art history degrees, urban planning studies
Industry3 codes
PRIMARYEDAHAJAB
Design Colleges (Graphic, Industrial, UX/UI, Interior)
SECONDARYEDAHAJAG
Architecture Schools (within Arts & Design institutions)
SECONDARYEDAHAJAA
Fine Arts Colleges (Painting, Sculpture, Printmaking)
NAICS code2 codes
  • Colleges, Universities, and Professional Schools611310
  • Fine Arts Schools611610
SIC code1 code
  • Services-Educational Services8200
Product category
Higher Education / Design Education
GTM motion2 records

Each record includes

Type, Description, Source

Revenue model4 records
1Tuition and Fees
TypeSubscription Recurring
Description

Revenue from undergraduate and graduate degree programs including Architecture, Art + Design, Planning, Public Policy and Management, and History of Art and Architecture

design.uoregon.edu
2Research Grants and Contracts
TypeProfessional Services
Description

External research funding from federal agencies including NSF, Mellon Foundation, and other research sponsors

design.uoregon.edu
3Philanthropic Donations
TypeAffiliate Referral
Description

Strategic plan targets $10 million in new gifts and endowments to support strategic objectives

design.uoregon.edu
4Deferred Gift Commitments
TypeLicensing Royalties
Description

Major donor commitments such as the $5 million deferred gift from Larry and Janice Bruton for faculty recruitment and retention

design.uoregon.edu
Marketing channels6 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Stage, Description, Source

Distribution channels4 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Scope, Target buyer, Description, Source

Cost components5 values
Personnel, Operations, Infrastructure, Technology or R&D, Marketing or Sales
Pricing details3 tiers
1Graduate Degree Programs - 15 programs
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceQuarterly/Semester
Notes

Graduate tuition rates apply; specific amounts not publicly disclosed in source materials

design.uoregon.edu
2Undergraduate Degree Programs - 9 programs
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceQuarterly/Semester
Notes

Undergraduate tuition rates apply; specific amounts not publicly disclosed in source materials

design.uoregon.edu
3Scholarships and Financial Aid
ModelOtherBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

110+ scholarships available; merit and need-based financial aid offered to qualifying students

design.uoregon.edu
GTM typeB2C
B2C
Offering typeServices
Services
Core offering1 text field

The University of Oregon College of Design delivers higher education through four academic units: the School of Architecture & Environment, the School of Art + Design, the School of Planning, Public Policy and Management, and the Department of the History of Art and Architecture. It offers 15 graduate and 9 undergraduate degree programs in design-related disciplines, complemented by research institutes such as the TallWood Design Institute and the Just Futures Institute for Racial and Climate Justice. The college enrolls approximately 2,000 students supported by 163 faculty and 56 staff across its Eugene and Portland locations.

Differentiator
Functional benefit
Problem solved
Quantifiable outcome1 of 5 values shown
  • NSF Regional Innovation Engines semifinalist status with potential up to $160M in funding
+4 more records
Product overview1 text field

The University of Oregon College of Design is an academic institution composed of four main units: the School of Architecture & Environment, the School of Art + Design, the School of Planning, Public Policy and Management, and the Department of the History of Art and Architecture. The college offers 19 graduate degree programs and 10 undergraduate degree programs across these four schools, plus certificate programs in Museum Studies and New Media and Culture. Research is conducted through various institutes including the TallWood Design Institute, the Pacific Northwest Just Futures Institute for Racial and Climate Justice, and the Design for Spatial Justice Initiative. The college also operates the Bruton Design Intensive summer workshop program and maintains a presence in Portland. The institution enrolls approximately 2,000 students and employs 163 faculty across its programs.

Product and service14 records
1School of Architecture & Environment
CategoryAcademic School / Degree Programs
Description

Academic unit offering degree programs in architecture, landscape architecture, interior architecture, historic preservation, and environmental design. Focuses on sustainable building practices and environmental resilience research, serving undergraduate and graduate students.

2School of Art + Design
CategoryAcademic School / Degree Programs
Description

Academic unit offering undergraduate and graduate programs in art, product design, and digital arts. Emphasizes creative practice and interdisciplinary artistic exploration.

3School of Planning, Public Policy and Management
CategoryAcademic School / Degree Programs
Description

Academic unit offering degrees in urban planning, public policy, and arts management. Focuses on community development, policy analysis, and public service preparation.

4Department of the History of Art and Architecture
CategoryAcademic Department / Degree Programs
Description

Academic department offering BA, MA, and PhD degrees in art history, as well as an interdisciplinary museum studies certificate. Explores global history, culture, and society through art and architecture from antiquity to the present.

5Graduate Certificate in Museum Studies
CategoryCertificate Program
Description

Transdisciplinary certificate program open to UO graduate students pursuing museum or curation careers. Requires minimum 24 credits including ARH540 Museology and 120-hour internship through DSGN604.

6New Media and Culture Certificate
CategoryCertificate Program
Description

Innovative certificate blending scholarly research on new media topics with hands-on experience creating new media content and using digital research tools. Now managed by the School of Journalism and Communication.

7Master of Arts in History of Art and Architecture
CategoryGraduate Degree Program
Description

45-credit graduate program requiring minimum 36 graduate credits in research-based courses. Students complete either a thesis (30-50 pages) or terminal project (curatorial, archival, or scholarly writing). Includes foreign language requirement and distribution across four historic areas.

8PhD in Art History
CategoryDoctoral Degree Program
Description

Doctoral program in art history offered through the Department of the History of Art and Architecture, specializing in contemporary art and Asian art. PhD program was revived with first cohort admitted in recent years.

9Accelerated Master's Program
CategoryAccelerated Degree Program
Description

Combined BA/MA program allowing high-achieving art history majors and planning majors to earn both degrees within five years. New program option for students at the College of Design.

10TallWood Design Institute
CategoryResearch Institute
Description

Research institute focused on mass timber and sustainable building. Director Judith Sheine leads NSF Engine: Oregon Mass Timber Innovation Engine, selected as NSF semifinalist with potential $160 million funding.

11Pacific Northwest Just Futures Institute for Racial and Climate Justice
CategoryResearch Institute
Description

Research platform launched with $4.52 million grant from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. Directed by John Arroyo, focusing on racial and climate justice in the Pacific Northwest region.

12Bruton Design Intensive
CategorySummer Workshop Program
Description

Annual weeklong intensive workshop program for students, named in honor of Larry Bruton, BArch '67 and $5 million donor to the college. Run in collaboration with ZGF Architects.

13Portland Programs
CategoryRegional Campus / Extended Programs
Description

Academic programming offered in Portland, Oregon, providing students with urban design and professional development opportunities in a major metropolitan area.

14Study Abroad and Field Schools
CategoryInternational Education Programs
Description

Global education opportunities including study abroad programs and field schools, expanding learning beyond North American and Eurocentric frames of reference.

Scale indicator9 records

Each record includes

Type, Value, Description, Source

Partnership7 partners
Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Regional partner in the Just Futures Institute for Racial and Climate Justice, collaborating on equity research and community engagement in the Pacific Northwest.

Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Regional partner in the Just Futures Institute for Racial and Climate Justice, collaborating on equity research and community engagement in the Pacific Northwest.

Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

National partnership with Tulane School of Architecture, Harvard Graduate School of Design, Harvard Dumbarton Oaks Institute, University of New Mexico School of Architecture and Planning, Cornell College of Architecture Art and Planning, USC School of Architecture, University of Texas at Arlington College of Architecture Planning and Public Affairs, University of Virginia School of Architecture, and Yale School of Architecture. Includes cohort-based fellowship program for early career faculty supporting BIPOC and underrepresented scholars.

Strategic tierMinorTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Local Waldorf-based K-8 school in Eugene, Oregon partnered with College of Design students for the EPA Campus RainWorks Challenge project 'Rainy Days, Nature's Way' - co-designed stormwater management and nature play proposal.

Strategic tierMinorTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Community partner supporting the Village School RainWorks Challenge project through stormwater management planning and urban forestry programs.

Strategic tierMinorTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Community Assistance Forstry program partner supporting the Village School RainWorks project; Evan Elderbrock (PhD '23) from the department served as community partner.

Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Museum collaboration for student exhibitions, curatorial training, and research opportunities including the JSMA Laurel Curatorial Internship program and HAA Japanese print class exhibition partnerships.

Recent move7 records

Each record includes

Date, Type, Title, Description, Source

Expansion highlight6 records

Each record includes

Type, Description

Peers10 records
TypeDirect peer
Description

Pratt Institute is a leading design-focused college offering architecture, interior design, and industrial design programs. Comparable to UO College of Design's undergraduate and graduate program portfolio with strong industry placement focus.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

USC Architecture is a larger design school offering architecture, landscape, and design programs at a major private research university. Direct peer through the Deans' Equity and Inclusion Initiative with broader program scope.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

Yale's architecture school is a top-tier graduate program focused on architecture and its intersections with art, design, and urban studies. Direct peer through the Deans' Equity and Inclusion Initiative, with comparable architecture emphasis and faculty profile.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Tulane School of Architecture is a mid-sized architecture and design school with strong community engagement emphasis. Direct peer through the Deans' Equity and Inclusion Initiative partnership and comparable scale to UO's School of Architecture & Environment.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

Harvard GSD is a leading graduate design school offering architecture, landscape architecture, urban planning, and design programs. It is a direct peer through the Deans' Equity and Inclusion Initiative partnership and competes for top graduate design talent nationally.

TypeDirect peer
Description

RISD is a leading independent college of art and design offering architecture, fine arts, and design programs. Most direct competitor for design-focused undergraduate talent with comparable program portfolio and studio-based pedagogy.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Parsons is a leading design school offering programs in product design, interior design, graphic design, and architecture. Comparable to UO College of Design's interdisciplinary design portfolio and student demographic.

8University of Virginia School of Architecture
TypeDirect peer
Description

UVA's School of Architecture offers architecture, landscape architecture, urban and environmental planning, and architectural history. Direct peer through the Deans' Equity and Inclusion Initiative with similar scope and public university structure.

TypeDirect peer
Description

UNM SAAP combines architecture and planning programs at a public research university with regional emphasis. Direct peer through the Deans' Equity and Inclusion Initiative with comparable public-university mission and equity focus.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Cornell AAP combines architecture, art, and planning within a single college at a major research university - the closest structural analog to UO College of Design. Partner in the Deans' Equity and Inclusion Initiative with similar interdisciplinary scope.

Market position
Strengths5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Weaknesses5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Competitive moat5 records

Each record includes

Type, Details

Key risks5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Key highlights7 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Customer concentration

Classification, Details

Named customers6 records

Each record includes

Name, Industry, Type, Use case, Source, UUID

Segment1 record

Each record includes

Title, Type, Primary, Description, Pain point addressed, Use case, Source

Ideal customer profile3 records

Each record includes

Profile, Firmographic size, Sales motion, Sales cycle length, Buying structure, Purchase trigger, Buyer persona, Geography, Industry vertical, Primary use case, Description, Pain points, Evidence proof points, Target buyer

Technology focused
No
API detail
Has APIbool
No

Docs URL, Description

AI maturity
App detail

Has app

Feature4 records

Each record includes

Title, Differentiator, Description, Source

Core technology
Revenue estimate
Valuation estimate
Number of profiles
Profiles17 records

Each record includes

Name, Designation, Designation category, Overview, Profile commentary, Source

Subsidiaries4 records

Each record includes

Name, Acquired on, Relationship type, Type, Business focus

No data
Funding overview

Funding stage, Last funding date, Total funding USD

Funding rounds

Each record includes

Round, Amount USD, Date, Pre money valuation, Total investors, Investors, News

Investors

Each record includes

Name, Type, Date of entry, Rounds participated, Website

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

M&A

Each record includes

Name, Acquisition type, Announced date, Completed date, Status, Website, News

Investment

Each record includes

Name, Round, Announced date, Lead investor, Website, News

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

University of Oregon College of Design

Higher Education / Design Educationdesign.uoregon.edu

The University of Oregon College of Design is a public state university college enrolling ~2,000 students across four schools (Architecture & Environment, Art + Design, Planning/Public Policy/Management, and History of Art and Architecture), delivering accredited design degrees, applied research in mass timber and climate justice, and a Portland extended campus.

What University of Oregon College of Design does

The University of Oregon College of Design is a public state university college headquartered at Lawrence Hall on the Eugene, Oregon campus, operating as a constituent unit of the University of Oregon since its 2017 reorganization from the School of Architecture and Allied Arts (founded 1914). It comprises four academic units: the School of Architecture & Environment, the School of Art + Design, the School of Planning, Public Policy and Management, and the Department of the History of Art and Architecture, delivering approximately 15 graduate and 9 undergraduate degree programs plus certificates in Museum Studies and New Media and Culture. The college enrolls roughly 2,000 students with 163 faculty and 56 staff, and operates a Portland extended campus, study-abroad programs, and the annual Bruton Design Intensive workshop run in collaboration with ZGF Architects.

The college's underlying research and programmatic platform spans specialized facilities (design studios, fabrication labs, digital fabrication equipment) and four signature research entities: the TallWood Design Institute (mass timber and sustainable building, led by Judith Sheine), the Pacific Northwest Just Futures Institute for Racial and Climate Justice ($4.52M Mellon-funded, led by John Arroyo), the Design for Spatial Justice Initiative, and the Transpecies Design Initiative. The TallWood Design Institute is the design-side lead on the Oregon Mass Timber Innovation Engine, selected as an NSF Regional Innovation Engines semifinalist in 2024 with up to $160M of potential funding over 10 years.

Revenue is generated through tuition and fees from degree programs, state appropriations via the University of Oregon, externally funded research grants and contracts (notably NSF and Mellon Foundation), and philanthropic donations including deferred gift commitments. The college maintains a community-led and event-driven go-to-market, recruiting prospective students through campus visits, open houses, recruitment events, high school and community college partnerships, and a global study-abroad network, while leveraging an active alumni ecosystem for mentorship, internships, fundraising, and career placement.

University of Oregon College of Design firmographics

Firmographics
Name
University of Oregon College of Design
Legal name
University of Oregon College of Design
Website
https://design.uoregon.edu
Company type
Public
Founded year
2017
Operating status
Operating
Headcount range
251–500 employees
Short description
The University of Oregon College of Design is a public state university college enrolling ~2,000 students across four schools (Architecture & Environment, Art + Design, Planning/Public Policy/Management, and History of Art and Architecture), delivering accredited design degrees, applied research in mass timber and climate justice, and a Portland extended campus.
Ownership category
akta.pro rank

University of Oregon College of Design industry classification

Industry
Product category
Higher Education / Design Education
NAICS
Colleges, Universities, and Professional Schools (611310), Fine Arts Schools (611610)
SIC
Services-Educational Services (8200)
akta.pro industry
PRIMARYEDAHAJAB
Design Colleges (Graphic, Industrial, UX/UI, Interior)
SECONDARYEDAHAJAG
Architecture Schools (within Arts & Design institutions)
SECONDARYEDAHAJAA
Fine Arts Colleges (Painting, Sculpture, Printmaking)

Keywords

  • Design education
  • Architecture programs
  • Higher education
  • Art history degrees
  • Urban planning studies

Where University of Oregon College of Design is headquartered

Location

Headquarters

HQ city
Eugene
HQ country
United States
HQ region
North America

Offices2 records

Markets served

University of Oregon College of Design business model

Business model
GTM type
B2C
Offering type
Services
Cost components
Personnel, Operations, Infrastructure, Technology or R&D, Marketing or Sales

Revenue model

  1. Tuition and Fees: Revenue from undergraduate and graduate degree programs including Architecture, Art + Design, Planning, Public Policy and Management, and History of Art and Architecture
  2. Research Grants and Contracts: External research funding from federal agencies including NSF, Mellon Foundation, and other research sponsors
  3. Philanthropic Donations: Strategic plan targets $10 million in new gifts and endowments to support strategic objectives
  4. Deferred Gift Commitments: Major donor commitments such as the $5 million deferred gift from Larry and Janice Bruton for faculty recruitment and retention

Pricing tiers

ModelBillingPrice
SubscriptionQuarterly/SemesterGraduate Degree Programs - 15 programs
SubscriptionQuarterly/SemesterUndergraduate Degree Programs - 9 programs
OtherAnnualScholarships and Financial Aid

Go-to-market motion2 records

Distribution channels4 records

Marketing channels6 records

University of Oregon College of Design product offering

Product offering

Core offering

The University of Oregon College of Design delivers higher education through four academic units: the School of Architecture & Environment, the School of Art + Design, the School of Planning, Public Policy and Management, and the Department of the History of Art and Architecture. It offers 15 graduate and 9 undergraduate degree programs in design-related disciplines, complemented by research institutes such as the TallWood Design Institute and the Just Futures Institute for Racial and Climate Justice. The college enrolls approximately 2,000 students supported by 163 faculty and 56 staff across its Eugene and Portland locations.

Product overview

The University of Oregon College of Design is an academic institution composed of four main units: the School of Architecture & Environment, the School of Art + Design, the School of Planning, Public Policy and Management, and the Department of the History of Art and Architecture. The college offers 19 graduate degree programs and 10 undergraduate degree programs across these four schools, plus certificate programs in Museum Studies and New Media and Culture. Research is conducted through various institutes including the TallWood Design Institute, the Pacific Northwest Just Futures Institute for Racial and Climate Justice, and the Design for Spatial Justice Initiative. The college also operates the Bruton Design Intensive summer workshop program and maintains a presence in Portland. The institution enrolls approximately 2,000 students and employs 163 faculty across its programs.

Differentiator

Problem solved

Functional benefit

Products and services

  • School of Architecture & Environment Academic unit offering degree programs in architecture, landscape architecture, interior architecture, historic preservation, and environmental design. Focuses on sustainable building practices and environmental resilience research, serving undergraduate and graduate students.
  • School of Art + Design Academic unit offering undergraduate and graduate programs in art, product design, and digital arts. Emphasizes creative practice and interdisciplinary artistic exploration.
  • School of Planning, Public Policy and Management Academic unit offering degrees in urban planning, public policy, and arts management. Focuses on community development, policy analysis, and public service preparation.
  • Department of the History of Art and Architecture Academic department offering BA, MA, and PhD degrees in art history, as well as an interdisciplinary museum studies certificate. Explores global history, culture, and society through art and architecture from antiquity to the present.
  • Graduate Certificate in Museum Studies Transdisciplinary certificate program open to UO graduate students pursuing museum or curation careers. Requires minimum 24 credits including ARH540 Museology and 120-hour internship through DSGN604.
  • New Media and Culture Certificate Innovative certificate blending scholarly research on new media topics with hands-on experience creating new media content and using digital research tools. Now managed by the School of Journalism and Communication.
  • Master of Arts in History of Art and Architecture 45-credit graduate program requiring minimum 36 graduate credits in research-based courses. Students complete either a thesis (30-50 pages) or terminal project (curatorial, archival, or scholarly writing). Includes foreign language requirement and distribution across four historic areas.
  • PhD in Art History Doctoral program in art history offered through the Department of the History of Art and Architecture, specializing in contemporary art and Asian art. PhD program was revived with first cohort admitted in recent years.
  • Accelerated Master's Program Combined BA/MA program allowing high-achieving art history majors and planning majors to earn both degrees within five years. New program option for students at the College of Design.
  • TallWood Design Institute Research institute focused on mass timber and sustainable building. Director Judith Sheine leads NSF Engine: Oregon Mass Timber Innovation Engine, selected as NSF semifinalist with potential $160 million funding.
  • Pacific Northwest Just Futures Institute for Racial and Climate Justice Research platform launched with $4.52 million grant from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. Directed by John Arroyo, focusing on racial and climate justice in the Pacific Northwest region.
  • Bruton Design Intensive Annual weeklong intensive workshop program for students, named in honor of Larry Bruton, BArch '67 and $5 million donor to the college. Run in collaboration with ZGF Architects.
  • Portland Programs Academic programming offered in Portland, Oregon, providing students with urban design and professional development opportunities in a major metropolitan area.
  • Study Abroad and Field Schools Global education opportunities including study abroad programs and field schools, expanding learning beyond North American and Eurocentric frames of reference.

Quantifiable outcome

  • NSF Regional Innovation Engines semifinalist status with potential up to $160M in funding
  • +4 more outcomes

Companies that use University of Oregon College of Design

Customer profile

Named customers6 records

Segments1 record

Ideal customer profiles3 records

University of Oregon College of Design technology and API

Technology

Technology focussed No

API detail

Has API
No
API docs
API detail

Core technology

AI maturity

App detail

Feature4 records

University of Oregon College of Design partnerships and signals

Strategic signal

Partnerships

Seven partnerships are on record, tiered core and minor.

  • University of IdahocoreStrategic or Co-development PartnerRegional partner in the Just Futures Institute for Racial and Climate Justice, collaborating on equity research and community engagement in the Pacific Northwest.
  • Whitman CollegecoreStrategic or Co-development PartnerRegional partner in the Just Futures Institute for Racial and Climate Justice, collaborating on equity research and community engagement in the Pacific Northwest.
  • Deans' Equity and Inclusion Initiative PartnerscoreStrategic or Co-development PartnerNational partnership with Tulane School of Architecture, Harvard Graduate School of Design, Harvard Dumbarton Oaks Institute, University of New Mexico School of Architecture and Planning, Cornell College of Architecture Art and Planning, USC School of Architecture, University of Texas at Arlington College of Architecture Planning and Public Affairs, University of Virginia School of Architecture, and Yale School of Architecture. Includes cohort-based fellowship program for early career faculty supporting BIPOC and underrepresented scholars.
  • Village SchoolminorStrategic or Co-development PartnerLocal Waldorf-based K-8 school in Eugene, Oregon partnered with College of Design students for the EPA Campus RainWorks Challenge project 'Rainy Days, Nature's Way' - co-designed stormwater management and nature play proposal.
  • City of EugeneminorStrategic or Co-development PartnerCommunity partner supporting the Village School RainWorks Challenge project through stormwater management planning and urban forestry programs.
  • Oregon Department of ForestryminorStrategic or Co-development PartnerCommunity Assistance Forstry program partner supporting the Village School RainWorks project; Evan Elderbrock (PhD '23) from the department served as community partner.
  • Jordan Schnitzer Museum of Art (JSMA)coreStrategic or Co-development PartnerMuseum collaboration for student exhibitions, curatorial training, and research opportunities including the JSMA Laurel Curatorial Internship program and HAA Japanese print class exhibition partnerships.

Scale indicators9 records

Recent moves7 records

Expansion highlights6 records

University of Oregon College of Design competitors and assessment

Company assessment

Direct peers

  • Pratt Institute School of Architecture: Pratt Institute is a leading design-focused college offering architecture, interior design, and industrial design programs. Comparable to UO College of Design's undergraduate and graduate program portfolio with strong industry placement focus.
  • Tulane School of Architecture: Tulane School of Architecture is a mid-sized architecture and design school with strong community engagement emphasis. Direct peer through the Deans' Equity and Inclusion Initiative partnership and comparable scale to UO's School of Architecture & Environment.
  • Rhode Island School of Design (RISD): RISD is a leading independent college of art and design offering architecture, fine arts, and design programs. Most direct competitor for design-focused undergraduate talent with comparable program portfolio and studio-based pedagogy.
  • Parsons School of Design: Parsons is a leading design school offering programs in product design, interior design, graphic design, and architecture. Comparable to UO College of Design's interdisciplinary design portfolio and student demographic.
  • University of Virginia School of Architecture: UVA's School of Architecture offers architecture, landscape architecture, urban and environmental planning, and architectural history. Direct peer through the Deans' Equity and Inclusion Initiative with similar scope and public university structure.
  • University of New Mexico School of Architecture and Planning: UNM SAAP combines architecture and planning programs at a public research university with regional emphasis. Direct peer through the Deans' Equity and Inclusion Initiative with comparable public-university mission and equity focus.
  • Cornell College of Architecture, Art, and Planning: Cornell AAP combines architecture, art, and planning within a single college at a major research university - the closest structural analog to UO College of Design. Partner in the Deans' Equity and Inclusion Initiative with similar interdisciplinary scope.

Broad incumbents

  • USC School of Architecture: USC Architecture is a larger design school offering architecture, landscape, and design programs at a major private research university. Direct peer through the Deans' Equity and Inclusion Initiative with broader program scope.
  • Yale School of Architecture: Yale's architecture school is a top-tier graduate program focused on architecture and its intersections with art, design, and urban studies. Direct peer through the Deans' Equity and Inclusion Initiative, with comparable architecture emphasis and faculty profile.
  • Harvard Graduate School of Design: Harvard GSD is a leading graduate design school offering architecture, landscape architecture, urban planning, and design programs. It is a direct peer through the Deans' Equity and Inclusion Initiative partnership and competes for top graduate design talent nationally.

Market position

Strengths5 records

Weaknesses5 records

Competitive moat5 records

Key risks5 records

Key highlights7 records

Customer concentration

University of Oregon College of Design social profiles

Digital presence

University of Oregon College of Design financial estimates

Financial estimate

Revenue estimate

Valuation estimate

University of Oregon College of Design leadership team

Management profile

Number of profiles

Profiles17 records

University of Oregon College of Design subsidiaries and ownership

Company hierarchy

Subsidiaries4 records

University of Oregon College of Design funding detail

Funding detail

Funding overview

Funding rounds

Investors

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

University of Oregon College of Design M&A and investment

M&A and investment

M&A

Investments

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Frequently asked questions about University of Oregon College of Design

What does University of Oregon College of Design do?

The University of Oregon College of Design delivers higher education through four academic units: the School of Architecture & Environment, the School of Art + Design, the School of Planning, Public Policy and Management, and the Department of the History of Art and Architecture. It offers 15 graduate and 9 undergraduate degree programs in design-related disciplines, complemented by research institutes such as the TallWood Design Institute and the Just Futures Institute for Racial and Climate Justice. The college enrolls approximately 2,000 students supported by 163 faculty and 56 staff across its Eugene and Portland locations.

Is University of Oregon College of Design a public or private company?

University of Oregon College of Design is a public company. It is classified as state government owned and is currently operating.

When was University of Oregon College of Design founded?

University of Oregon College of Design was founded in 2017. It employs 251 to 500 people.

Where is University of Oregon College of Design based?

University of Oregon College of Design is headquartered in Eugene, United States, in the North America region.

How does University of Oregon College of Design make money?

Four revenue lines are on record. Tuition and Fees are the primary driver. The others are research Grants and Contracts, philanthropic Donations and deferred Gift Commitments.

Who are University of Oregon College of Design's main competitors?

Direct peers on record are Pratt Institute School of Architecture, Tulane School of Architecture, Rhode Island School of Design (RISD), Parsons School of Design, University of Virginia School of Architecture, University of New Mexico School of Architecture and Planning and Cornell College of Architecture, Art, and Planning. Broad incumbents are USC School of Architecture, Yale School of Architecture and Harvard Graduate School of Design.

Does University of Oregon College of Design have an API?

No public API is recorded for University of Oregon College of Design.

What industry is University of Oregon College of Design in?

University of Oregon College of Design's product category is Higher Education / Design Education. Its primary akta.pro industry code is EDAHAJAB, Design Colleges (Graphic, Industrial, UX/UI, Interior), with a secondary code of EDAHAJAG, Architecture Schools (within Arts & Design institutions). Its NAICS code is 611310 and its SIC code is 8200.

Unlock the full company data

50 free credits on sign-up, no credit card required.

Contact sales