Developer docs
API playgroundTry for free, no card

Search company profiles

CUPE 2626

Full company profile

uuid003rpfs

Namestring
CUPE 2626
Legal namestring
CANADIAN UNION OF PUBLIC EMPLOYEES, LOCAL 2626
Websiteurl
2626.ca
Company typeenum
Private
Founded yearint
1997
Descriptiontext

CUPE 2626 (Canadian Union of Public Employees, Local 2626) is a non-profit labour union local established in 1997, headquartered at the University of Ottawa campus at 85 University Private, Suite 303, Ottawa, Ontario. The union represents student workers at the University of Ottawa across three certified bargaining units: Academic Workers (2626-0) covering Teaching Assistants, Research Assistants, Markers, Tutors, Lab Monitors, Demonstrators, and Exam Proctors; Lifeguards (2626-1), added February 26, 2008; and Residence Life Workers (2626-3), added January 2, 2019. It is affiliated with CUPE National, Canada's largest union with approximately 680,000 members nationally, and participates in an on-campus Interunion Coalition with APUO, APTPUO, GSAED, UOSU, and SSUO.

The union's core products are collective bargaining agreements, grievance representation, workplace rights protection, and a portfolio of member financial support funds (Emergency, Conference up to $1,200 per conference zone, Health and Dental up to $750 per academic year, Essentials up to $200 per academic year, Grocery, Solidarity, and Financial Aid). It delivers services through elected stewards across academic departments, an Executive Board of approximately 11 elected positions, four paid coordinators (Financial and Administrative, Union, Legal Affairs, Communications), and bilingual (English/French) member channels including a website, monthly newsletter, and social media on Instagram, Facebook, and X. The organization uses standard workplace tools (Workday, uOzone, CyberImpact, the Dots platform) and does not develop or sell technology products.

CUPE 2626 is funded exclusively through mandatory membership dues deducted from members' paycheques under its collective agreements and the CUPE National constitution. Membership is automatic for student workers in the designated bargaining units and persists for up to 12 months after contract end while the member remains enrolled. Revenue, dues rates, and membership counts are not publicly disclosed; the union does not sell goods or services to external customers and operates as a member-controlled democratic organization with no external equity ownership.

Short descriptiontext

CUPE 2626 is a non-profit labour union local representing student workers (Teaching and Research Assistants, Lifeguards, and Residence Life staff) at the University of Ottawa, funded by member dues and affiliated with CUPE National. It provides collective bargaining, grievance representation, and financial support funds to its members.

Operating statusenum
Operating
Ownership categoryenum
Headcount rangeband
1–10
akta.pro rankint
HeadquartersOttawa, Canada
HQ citystring
Ottawa
HQ countrystring
Canada
HQ regionstring
North America
Markets served

Serves global market

Offices1 record

Each record includes

City, Country, Type, Description, Source

Keyword5 values
labour union representation, collective bargaining services, workplace rights advocacy, student worker union, union grievance handling
NAICS code1 code
  • Professional Organizations81392
SIC code1 code
  • Services-Membership Organizations8600
Product category
Labour Union Representation
Social media profiles2 records
GTM motion1 record

Each record includes

Type, Description, Source

Revenue model1 record
1Member Dues
TypeSubscription Recurring
Description

CUPE 2626 operates as a union funded through membership dues deducted from employee paycheques. Members maintain their union status and all associated rights and benefits for up to 12 months following the end of their last contract, provided they remain enrolled as students. The specific dues rate is governed by the collective agreements and CUPE National constitution.

2626.ca
Marketing channels7 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Stage, Description, Source

Distribution channels1 record

Each record includes

Title, Type, Scope, Target buyer, Description, Source

Cost components3 values
Personnel, Operations, Others
GTM typeB2C
B2C
Offering typeServices
Services
Core offering1 text field

CUPE 2626 is a labour union local that represents student workers at the University of Ottawa across three bargaining units: Academic Workers (2626-0), Lifeguards (2626-1), and Residence Life Workers (2626-3). It provides collective bargaining, grievance handling, workplace rights protection, and member financial support programs funded by membership dues. The union operates under CUPE National, Canada's largest union with approximately 680,000 members.

Differentiator
Functional benefit
Problem solved
Quantifiable outcome1 of 7 values shown
  • Graduate students with job security are guaranteed a minimum of 195 hours of work per year
+6 more records
Product overview1 text field

CUPE 2626 is a labor union (Canadian Union of Public Employees, Local 2626) representing student workers at the University of Ottawa. The union does not offer technology products or services. Its core functions include collective bargaining, member representation, grievance handling, workplace rights advocacy, and providing financial support programs (emergency funds, conference funds, grocery funds, essentials funds) to its members. The union operates under CUPE National and represents three bargaining units: Academic Workers (2626-0), Lifeguards (2626-1), and Residence Life Workers (2626-3).

Product and service1 record
1Collective Bargaining Representation - Academic Workers (2626-0)
Scale indicator3 records

Each record includes

Type, Value, Description, Source

Partnership12 partners
1OPIRG-GRIPO (Ottawa Public Interest Research Group)
Strategic tierMinorTypeOthers
Description

CUPE 2626 partners with OPIRG-GRIPO for the Grocery Fund initiative, which provides grocery gift cards and produce boxes to members facing food insecurity. This partnership enables the union to reduce financial barriers to accessing healthy food for student workers.

2626.ca
2IRIS — Institut de recherche et informations socioéconomiques
Strategic tierMinorTypeOthers
Description

CUPE 2626 makes annual donations to IRIS, which produces research on major socioeconomic issues with a focus on equality, public policy, and social justice. Located at 1710 Beaudry St, Suite 3.4, Montréal, QC.

2626.ca
3Centre canadien de politiques alternatives (CCPA)
Strategic tierMinorTypeOthers
Description

Annual donations to CCPA, an institute focused on social, economic, and environmental justice in Canada. Located at 141 Laurier Ave W, Suite 1000, Ottawa, ON K1P 5J3.

2626.ca
4ACORN Ottawa
Strategic tierMinorTypeOthers
Description

Annual donations to ACORN Ottawa, which achieves social and economic justice through a national network of community organizations. Located at 404 McArthur Ave (Heartwood House), Ottawa, ON.

2626.ca
5Banque alimentaire d'Ottawa (Ottawa Food Bank)
Strategic tierMinorTypeOthers
Description

Annual donations to the Ottawa Food Bank, which partners to create a healthier city by ensuring everyone has access to food. Located at 1317 Michael St, Ottawa, ON.

2626.ca
6Centre de crise du viol d'Ottawa (ORCC)
Strategic tierMinorTypeOthers
Description

Annual donations to ORCC, which provides support to survivors, offers public education, and advocates for systemic change to end sexual violence. Located at P.O. Box 20206, Ottawa, ON K1N 9P4.

2626.ca
7Planification familiale Ottawa
Strategic tierMinorTypeOthers
Description

Annual donations to Planification familiale Ottawa, which promotes sexual and reproductive health and rights through a pro-choice feminist lens. Located at 222 Somerset St W, Suite 404, Ottawa, ON K2P 2G3.

2626.ca
Strategic tierMinorTypeOthers
Description

Annual donations to Minwaashin Lodge, which provides support services to First Nations, Inuit, and Métis women and children survivors of violence. Located at 100-1155 Lola St, Ottawa, ON K1K 4C1.

9Horizon Ottawa
Strategic tierMinorTypeOthers
Description

Annual donations to Horizon Ottawa, which cultivates local solidarity around progressive social and economic priorities to build a prosperous city for all. Located at 202-1769 St Laurent Blvd, Ottawa, ON K1G 3V4.

2626.ca
Strategic tierMinorTypeOthers
Description

Annual donations to Save the Children Canada, which provides support to the most vulnerable children in nearly 120 countries including Canada. Canadian office at 4141 Yonge St, Suite 300, Toronto, ON M2P 2A8.

Strategic tierMinorTypeOthers
Description

Annual donations to the Ten Oaks Project, which engages and connects 2SLGBTQ+ children, youth, families, and communities through play-based programs. Located at 9004-400 Cooper St, Ottawa, ON K2P 2H8.

Strategic tierMinorTypeOthers
Description

Annual donations to the Ottawa Chapter of the Canadian Red Cross, which provides emergency assistance in Canada and worldwide and supports community resilience. Located at 400 Cooper St, Suite 8000, Ottawa, ON K2P 2H8.

Recent move8 records

Each record includes

Date, Type, Title, Description, Source

Expansion highlight3 records

Each record includes

Type, Description

Peers7 records
1AGSEM (Association of Graduate Students Employed at McGill)
TypeDirect peer
Description

AGSEM represents teaching assistants and invigilators employed at McGill University. It is a direct peer to CUPE 2626 in representing graduate student workers at a Canadian research university, operating as an independent union rather than a CUPE local.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

CUPE 416 represents municipal outside workers for the City of Toronto. Same CUPE family and similar service-delivery model to CUPE 2626, though serving a different employee constituency (municipal workers rather than student workers).

TypeDirect peer
Description

CUPE 3902 represents graduate student workers (TAs, RAs, course instructors) at the University of Toronto. Same CUPE family, same student worker constituency, and same collective bargaining business model as CUPE 2626, operating at a different major Canadian research university.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

CUPE National is the parent organization of CUPE 2626, representing approximately 680,000 members across Canada. It is the broad incumbent providing national infrastructure, collective bargaining resources, and political representation that CUPE 2626 leverages at the local level.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

PSAC is one of Canada's largest federal public sector unions with over 230,000 members. It operates in the same labour union space as CUPE 2626, providing member representation and collective bargaining functions, but at a much larger scale and across broader sectors.

TypeDirect peer
Description

CUPE 2544 represents teaching assistants at the University of Alberta. It is a direct CUPE peer with the same student worker focus and bargaining structure as CUPE 2626, providing collective bargaining and member support services at a Western Canadian university.

TypeDirect peer
Description

CUPE 2278 represents contract academic employees (TAs, RAs, course directors) at York University. Same CUPE family and student worker mandate as CUPE 2626, with comparable bargaining structure, member services, and operating geography (Ontario).

Market position
Strengths4 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Weaknesses4 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Competitive moat4 records

Each record includes

Type, Details

Key risks5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Key highlights5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Customer concentration

Classification, Details

Named customers1 record

Each record includes

Name, Industry, Type, Use case, Source, UUID

Segment3 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Primary, Description, Pain point addressed, Use case, Source

API detail
Has APIbool
No

Docs URL, Description

AI maturity
App detail

Has app

Core technology
Revenue estimate
Valuation estimate
Number of profiles
Subsidiaries3 records

Each record includes

Name, Acquired on, Relationship type, Type, Business focus

No data
Funding overview

Funding stage, Last funding date, Total funding USD

Funding rounds

Each record includes

Round, Amount USD, Date, Pre money valuation, Total investors, Investors, News

Investors

Each record includes

Name, Type, Date of entry, Rounds participated, Website

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

M&A

Each record includes

Name, Acquisition type, Announced date, Completed date, Status, Website, News

Investment

Each record includes

Name, Round, Announced date, Lead investor, Website, News

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

CUPE 2626

Labour Union Representation2626.ca

CUPE 2626 is a non-profit labour union local representing student workers (Teaching and Research Assistants, Lifeguards, and Residence Life staff) at the University of Ottawa, funded by member dues and affiliated with CUPE National. It provides collective bargaining, grievance representation, and financial support funds to its members.

What CUPE 2626 does

CUPE 2626 (Canadian Union of Public Employees, Local 2626) is a non-profit labour union local established in 1997, headquartered at the University of Ottawa campus at 85 University Private, Suite 303, Ottawa, Ontario. The union represents student workers at the University of Ottawa across three certified bargaining units: Academic Workers (2626-0) covering Teaching Assistants, Research Assistants, Markers, Tutors, Lab Monitors, Demonstrators, and Exam Proctors; Lifeguards (2626-1), added February 26, 2008; and Residence Life Workers (2626-3), added January 2, 2019. It is affiliated with CUPE National, Canada's largest union with approximately 680,000 members nationally, and participates in an on-campus Interunion Coalition with APUO, APTPUO, GSAED, UOSU, and SSUO.

The union's core products are collective bargaining agreements, grievance representation, workplace rights protection, and a portfolio of member financial support funds (Emergency, Conference up to $1,200 per conference zone, Health and Dental up to $750 per academic year, Essentials up to $200 per academic year, Grocery, Solidarity, and Financial Aid). It delivers services through elected stewards across academic departments, an Executive Board of approximately 11 elected positions, four paid coordinators (Financial and Administrative, Union, Legal Affairs, Communications), and bilingual (English/French) member channels including a website, monthly newsletter, and social media on Instagram, Facebook, and X. The organization uses standard workplace tools (Workday, uOzone, CyberImpact, the Dots platform) and does not develop or sell technology products.

CUPE 2626 is funded exclusively through mandatory membership dues deducted from members' paycheques under its collective agreements and the CUPE National constitution. Membership is automatic for student workers in the designated bargaining units and persists for up to 12 months after contract end while the member remains enrolled. Revenue, dues rates, and membership counts are not publicly disclosed; the union does not sell goods or services to external customers and operates as a member-controlled democratic organization with no external equity ownership.

CUPE 2626 firmographics

Firmographics
Name
CUPE 2626
Legal name
CANADIAN UNION OF PUBLIC EMPLOYEES, LOCAL 2626
Website
https://2626.ca
Company type
Private
Founded year
1997
Operating status
Operating
Headcount range
1–10 employees
Short description
CUPE 2626 is a non-profit labour union local representing student workers (Teaching and Research Assistants, Lifeguards, and Residence Life staff) at the University of Ottawa, funded by member dues and affiliated with CUPE National. It provides collective bargaining, grievance representation, and financial support funds to its members.
Ownership category
akta.pro rank

Where CUPE 2626 is headquartered

Location

Headquarters

HQ city
Ottawa
HQ country
Canada
HQ region
North America

Offices1 record

Markets served

CUPE 2626 business model

Business model
GTM type
B2C
Offering type
Services
Cost components
Personnel, Operations, Others

Revenue model

  1. Member Dues: CUPE 2626 operates as a union funded through membership dues deducted from employee paycheques. Members maintain their union status and all associated rights and benefits for up to 12 months following the end of their last contract, provided they remain enrolled as students. The specific dues rate is governed by the collective agreements and CUPE National constitution.

Go-to-market motion1 record

Distribution channels1 record

Marketing channels7 records

CUPE 2626 product offering

Product offering

Core offering

CUPE 2626 is a labour union local that represents student workers at the University of Ottawa across three bargaining units: Academic Workers (2626-0), Lifeguards (2626-1), and Residence Life Workers (2626-3). It provides collective bargaining, grievance handling, workplace rights protection, and member financial support programs funded by membership dues. The union operates under CUPE National, Canada's largest union with approximately 680,000 members.

Product overview

CUPE 2626 is a labor union (Canadian Union of Public Employees, Local 2626) representing student workers at the University of Ottawa. The union does not offer technology products or services. Its core functions include collective bargaining, member representation, grievance handling, workplace rights advocacy, and providing financial support programs (emergency funds, conference funds, grocery funds, essentials funds) to its members. The union operates under CUPE National and represents three bargaining units: Academic Workers (2626-0), Lifeguards (2626-1), and Residence Life Workers (2626-3).

Differentiator

Problem solved

Functional benefit

Products and services

  • Collective Bargaining Representation - Academic Workers (2626-0)

Quantifiable outcome

  • Graduate students with job security are guaranteed a minimum of 195 hours of work per year
  • +6 more outcomes

Companies that use CUPE 2626

Customer profile

Named customers1 record

Segments3 records

CUPE 2626 technology and API

Technology

API detail

Has API
No
API docs
API detail

Core technology

AI maturity

App detail

CUPE 2626 partnerships and signals

Strategic signal

Partnerships

Twelve partnerships are on record, tiered minor.

  • OPIRG-GRIPO (Ottawa Public Interest Research Group)minorOthersCUPE 2626 partners with OPIRG-GRIPO for the Grocery Fund initiative, which provides grocery gift cards and produce boxes to members facing food insecurity. This partnership enables the union to reduce financial barriers to accessing healthy food for student workers.
  • IRIS — Institut de recherche et informations socioéconomiquesminorOthersCUPE 2626 makes annual donations to IRIS, which produces research on major socioeconomic issues with a focus on equality, public policy, and social justice. Located at 1710 Beaudry St, Suite 3.4, Montréal, QC.
  • Centre canadien de politiques alternatives (CCPA)minorOthersAnnual donations to CCPA, an institute focused on social, economic, and environmental justice in Canada. Located at 141 Laurier Ave W, Suite 1000, Ottawa, ON K1P 5J3.
  • ACORN OttawaminorOthersAnnual donations to ACORN Ottawa, which achieves social and economic justice through a national network of community organizations. Located at 404 McArthur Ave (Heartwood House), Ottawa, ON.
  • Banque alimentaire d'Ottawa (Ottawa Food Bank)minorOthersAnnual donations to the Ottawa Food Bank, which partners to create a healthier city by ensuring everyone has access to food. Located at 1317 Michael St, Ottawa, ON.
  • Centre de crise du viol d'Ottawa (ORCC)minorOthersAnnual donations to ORCC, which provides support to survivors, offers public education, and advocates for systemic change to end sexual violence. Located at P.O. Box 20206, Ottawa, ON K1N 9P4.
  • Planification familiale OttawaminorOthersAnnual donations to Planification familiale Ottawa, which promotes sexual and reproductive health and rights through a pro-choice feminist lens. Located at 222 Somerset St W, Suite 404, Ottawa, ON K2P 2G3.
  • Minwaashin LodgeminorOthersAnnual donations to Minwaashin Lodge, which provides support services to First Nations, Inuit, and Métis women and children survivors of violence. Located at 100-1155 Lola St, Ottawa, ON K1K 4C1.
  • Horizon OttawaminorOthersAnnual donations to Horizon Ottawa, which cultivates local solidarity around progressive social and economic priorities to build a prosperous city for all. Located at 202-1769 St Laurent Blvd, Ottawa, ON K1G 3V4.
  • Save the Children Canada (Sauvez les enfants)minorOthersAnnual donations to Save the Children Canada, which provides support to the most vulnerable children in nearly 120 countries including Canada. Canadian office at 4141 Yonge St, Suite 300, Toronto, ON M2P 2A8.
  • Ten Oaks ProjectminorOthersAnnual donations to the Ten Oaks Project, which engages and connects 2SLGBTQ+ children, youth, families, and communities through play-based programs. Located at 9004-400 Cooper St, Ottawa, ON K2P 2H8.
  • Canadian Red Cross — Ottawa ChapterminorOthersAnnual donations to the Ottawa Chapter of the Canadian Red Cross, which provides emergency assistance in Canada and worldwide and supports community resilience. Located at 400 Cooper St, Suite 8000, Ottawa, ON K2P 2H8.

Scale indicators3 records

Recent moves8 records

Expansion highlights3 records

CUPE 2626 competitors and assessment

Company assessment

Direct peers

  • AGSEM (Association of Graduate Students Employed at McGill): AGSEM represents teaching assistants and invigilators employed at McGill University. It is a direct peer to CUPE 2626 in representing graduate student workers at a Canadian research university, operating as an independent union rather than a CUPE local.
  • CUPE 3902: CUPE 3902 represents graduate student workers (TAs, RAs, course instructors) at the University of Toronto. Same CUPE family, same student worker constituency, and same collective bargaining business model as CUPE 2626, operating at a different major Canadian research university.
  • CUPE 2544: CUPE 2544 represents teaching assistants at the University of Alberta. It is a direct CUPE peer with the same student worker focus and bargaining structure as CUPE 2626, providing collective bargaining and member support services at a Western Canadian university.
  • CUPE 2278: CUPE 2278 represents contract academic employees (TAs, RAs, course directors) at York University. Same CUPE family and student worker mandate as CUPE 2626, with comparable bargaining structure, member services, and operating geography (Ontario).

Broad incumbents

  • CUPE 416: CUPE 416 represents municipal outside workers for the City of Toronto. Same CUPE family and similar service-delivery model to CUPE 2626, though serving a different employee constituency (municipal workers rather than student workers).
  • CUPE National: CUPE National is the parent organization of CUPE 2626, representing approximately 680,000 members across Canada. It is the broad incumbent providing national infrastructure, collective bargaining resources, and political representation that CUPE 2626 leverages at the local level.
  • PSAC (Public Service Alliance of Canada): PSAC is one of Canada's largest federal public sector unions with over 230,000 members. It operates in the same labour union space as CUPE 2626, providing member representation and collective bargaining functions, but at a much larger scale and across broader sectors.

Market position

Strengths4 records

Weaknesses4 records

Competitive moat4 records

Key risks5 records

Key highlights5 records

Customer concentration

CUPE 2626 social profiles

Digital presence

CUPE 2626 financial estimates

Financial estimate

Revenue estimate

Valuation estimate

CUPE 2626 leadership team

Management profile

Number of profiles

CUPE 2626 subsidiaries and ownership

Company hierarchy

Subsidiaries3 records

CUPE 2626 funding detail

Funding detail

Funding overview

Funding rounds

Investors

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

CUPE 2626 M&A and investment

M&A and investment

M&A

Investments

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Frequently asked questions about CUPE 2626

What does CUPE 2626 do?

CUPE 2626 is a labour union local that represents student workers at the University of Ottawa across three bargaining units: Academic Workers (2626-0), Lifeguards (2626-1), and Residence Life Workers (2626-3). It provides collective bargaining, grievance handling, workplace rights protection, and member financial support programs funded by membership dues. The union operates under CUPE National, Canada's largest union with approximately 680,000 members.

Is CUPE 2626 a public or private company?

CUPE 2626 is a private company. It is currently operating.

When was CUPE 2626 founded?

CUPE 2626 was founded in 1997. It employs 1 to 10 people.

Where is CUPE 2626 based?

CUPE 2626 is headquartered in Ottawa, Canada, in the North America region.

How does CUPE 2626 make money?

One revenue line is on record: member Dues.

Who are CUPE 2626's main competitors?

Direct peers on record are AGSEM (Association of Graduate Students Employed at McGill), CUPE 3902, CUPE 2544 and CUPE 2278. Broad incumbents are CUPE 416, CUPE National and PSAC (Public Service Alliance of Canada).

Does CUPE 2626 have an API?

No public API is recorded for CUPE 2626.

Unlock the full company data

50 free credits on sign-up, no credit card required.

Contact sales