Developer docs
API playgroundTry for free, no card

Search company profiles

Social Right Interdisciplinary Clinic - Ottawa University

Full company profile

uuid004arqs

Namestring
Social Right Interdisciplinary Clinic - Ottawa University
Legal namestring
Université d'Ottawa / University of Ottawa
Company typeenum
Private
Founded yearint
1848
Descriptiontext

The Social Right Interdisciplinary Clinic, as represented in the input data, operates as an academic unit within the Civil Law Section (Section de droit civil) of the University of Ottawa's Faculty of Law, a public institution founded in 1848 and headquartered at 57 Louis-Pasteur Street, Fauteux Pavilion, Ottawa, Canada. The unit's documented portfolio centers on civil law education, anchored by the LL.L. (Licence en droit) degree recognized by the Barreau du Québec and the Chambre des notaires du Québec, and extends to the Programme de droit canadien (a three-year J.D./LL.L. double degree capped at 20 candidates), the Certificat en droit autochtone, the national J.D./LL.L. program, an LL.L./DVM in international development and globalization, a combined LL.L./MBA, a law minor, graduate studies (LL.M. and PhD), clinical legal education, and continuing professional development. Its stated customer segments are prospective law students, graduate students and researchers, and the broader legal community, with pain points centered on bilingual common-law/civil-law training and Indigenous legal education in Canada's capital region.

The business model is that of a public university faculty section rather than a commercial enterprise. Revenue is sourced from tuition and academic fees, federal and provincial government funding flowing through the University of Ottawa's institutional budget, and donations and alumni contributions (including directed campaigns such as "Donnez à votre Section de droit civil"). Distribution is direct via on-campus instruction in Ottawa, supplemented by an international student exchange network and digital self-serve channels (the VirtuO platform, online applications, virtual campus tours). Marketing is multi-channel — organic social (Facebook, X, Instagram, LinkedIn, YouTube), content marketing on the university website, faculty media appearances, and hosted events such as the Supreme Court Experience, Jurivision, and moot competitions. The unit has no proprietary technology stack, no AI/ML products, no patents or trademarks, and operates under the governance of the University of Ottawa with no independent ownership, venture capital, or private equity exposure.

The leadership profile shows a single documented senior figure: Sophie Thériault, named Dean of the Civil Law Section on June 22, 2026 after serving as interim dean since January 1, 2025. A documented financial partnership exists with the Ontario Law Foundation, and the section participates in research chairs, centers, laboratories, and the Revue générale de droit. Pricing is not publicly disclosed; the entity is non-listed, non-revenue-disclosing, and reports as a private (academic) entity under the University of Ottawa.

Short descriptiontext

The Social Right Interdisciplinary Clinic operates as an academic unit within the University of Ottawa's Civil Law Section, delivering accredited LL.L., J.D./LL.L., certificate, and graduate law programs to prospective students, researchers, and legal professionals in Canada's bilingual capital.

Operating statusenum
Operating
Ownership categoryenum
Headcount rangeband
1–10
akta.pro rankint
HeadquartersOttawa, Canada
HQ citystring
Ottawa
HQ countrystring
Canada
HQ regionstring
North America
Markets served

Serves global market

Offices1 record

Each record includes

City, Country, Type, Description, Source

Keyword5 values
legal education, civil law degree, graduate law programs, Indigenous law certificate, clinical legal education
Industry5 codes
1Clinical Legal Education & Legal Aid Clinics (Law School–Run)
CodeEDAHAIAGPrimaryYes
2ABA-Accredited JD-Granting Law Schools
CodeEDAHAIAAPrimaryNo
3LLM & Post-JD Graduate Law Programs
CodeEDAHAIACPrimaryNo
4Law & Legal Studies Research Universities
CodeEDAHABAFPrimaryNo
5Online / Hybrid Law Schools & Programs
CodeEDAHAIAEPrimaryNo
NAICS code2 codes
  • Colleges, Universities, and Professional Schools611310
  • Research and Development in the Social Sciences and Humanities54172
SIC code1 code
  • Services-Educational Services8200
Product category
Legal Education
Revenue model3 records
1Tuition and academic fees
TypeSubscription Recurring
Description

Revenue from student tuition for law programs including LL.L., J.D./LL.L. combined programs, certificates, and graduate studies (master's and doctorate in law)

uottawa.ca
2Government funding
TypeSubscription Recurring
Description

Public funding from federal and provincial government sources as part of University of Ottawa's institutional funding

uottawa.ca
3Donations and alumni contributions
TypeOthers
Description

Financial support from alumni, donors, and fundraising campaigns such as 'Donnez à votre Section de droit civil'

uottawa.ca
Marketing channels4 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Stage, Description, Source

Distribution channels3 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Scope, Target buyer, Description, Source

Cost components5 values
Personnel, Operations, Marketing or Sales, Technology or R&D, Infrastructure
GTM typeB2C
B2C
Offering typeServices
Services
Core offering1 text field

The Civil Law Section (Section de droit civil) at the University of Ottawa provides bilingual legal education programs, anchored by the LL.L. (Licence en droit) recognized by the Barreau du Québec and the Chambre des notaires du Québec. It also offers the double J.D./LL.L. Programme de droit canadien, the Certificat en droit autochtone, the Programme national J.D./LL.L., the LL.L./DVM in international development, graduate studies (LL.M. and PhD), clinical legal education, and continuing professional development.

Differentiator
Functional benefit
Problem solved
Product overview1 text field

The Section de droit civil at the University of Ottawa offers a comprehensive portfolio of legal education programs centered on civil law. The core offerings include the LL.L. (Licence en droit) degree program recognized by Quebec professional bodies, complemented by specialized programs including the Certificat en droit autochtone (Indigenous Law Certificate), the Programme de droit canadien (double J.D./LL.L. for 20 candidates), the Programme national J.D./LL.L., and the LL.L./DVM (International Development and Globalization) program. Additional offerings include graduate studies (LL.M. and PhD), clinical legal education, continuing education, and supplementary programs such as a law minor and LL.L./MBA combined degree. The portfolio is designed to serve both undergraduate and graduate students seeking civil law qualifications, with particular emphasis on Canadian context and international dimensions.

Product and service8 records
1LL.L. (Licence en droit)
CategoryUndergraduate law degree
Description

The Licence en droit (LL.L.) is a law degree program that trains complete jurists and is recognized by the Quebec Bar and the Quebec Chamber of Notaries, designed for prospective law students seeking civil law qualification in Quebec.

2Programme de droit canadien (Double J.D./LL.L.)
CategoryCombined law degree program
Description

A three-year double-degree program for 20 exceptional candidates leading to both a Licence en droit (LL.L.) and a Juris Doctor (J.D.), enabling graduates to practice in both civil law and common law jurisdictions in Canada.

3Certificat en droit autochtone (Indigenous Law Certificate)
CategoryCertificate program
Description

A unique certificate program that allows Indigenous learners to acquire basic skills to successfully complete a civil law degree, addressing Indigenous law education needs.

4Programme national J.D./LL.L.
CategoryCombined law degree program
Description

A national program allowing J.D. holders to obtain a Licence en droit (LL.L.) in one year and vice versa, enabling cross-jurisdictional qualification between common law and civil law.

5LL.L./DVM (Développement international et mondialisation)
CategorySpecialized law degree program
Description

A program that trains jurists capable of understanding international development and globalization issues, combining legal training with international development expertise.

6Études supérieures (LL.M. et Doctorat)
CategoryGraduate law degree
Description

Graduate and doctoral programs in law, including master's (LL.M.) and PhD degrees, designed for graduate students and researchers pursuing advanced legal scholarship.

7Enseignement clinique (Clinical Legal Education)
CategoryClinical legal education
Description

Clinical legal education programs providing hands-on legal experience to students, including the Social Right Interdisciplinary Clinic.

8Formation continue (Continuing Legal Education)
CategoryContinuing professional development
Description

Continuing professional development and education programs for legal professionals, supporting their ongoing professional development and CLE requirements.

Recent move5 records

Each record includes

Date, Type, Title, Description, Source

Expansion highlight5 records

Each record includes

Type, Description

Market position
Competitive moat4 records

Each record includes

Type, Details

Key highlights7 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Customer concentration

Classification, Details

Segment3 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Primary, Description, Pain point addressed, Use case, Source

Ideal customer profile3 records

Each record includes

Profile, Firmographic size, Sales motion, Sales cycle length, Buying structure, Purchase trigger, Buyer persona, Geography, Industry vertical, Primary use case, Description, Pain points, Evidence proof points, Target buyer

Technology focused
No
API detail
Has APIbool
No

Docs URL, Description

AI maturity
App detail

Has app

Core technology
Revenue estimate
Valuation estimate
Number of profiles
Profiles1 record

Each record includes

Name, Designation, Designation category, Overview, Profile commentary, Source

No data
No data
Funding overview

Funding stage, Last funding date, Total funding USD

Funding rounds

Each record includes

Round, Amount USD, Date, Pre money valuation, Total investors, Investors, News

Investors

Each record includes

Name, Type, Date of entry, Rounds participated, Website

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

M&A

Each record includes

Name, Acquisition type, Announced date, Completed date, Status, Website, News

Investment

Each record includes

Name, Round, Announced date, Lead investor, Website, News

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Social Right Interdisciplinary Clinic - Ottawa University

Legal Educationdroitcivil.uottawa.ca

The Social Right Interdisciplinary Clinic operates as an academic unit within the University of Ottawa's Civil Law Section, delivering accredited LL.L., J.D./LL.L., certificate, and graduate law programs to prospective students, researchers, and legal professionals in Canada's bilingual capital.

What Social Right Interdisciplinary Clinic - Ottawa University does

The Social Right Interdisciplinary Clinic, as represented in the input data, operates as an academic unit within the Civil Law Section (Section de droit civil) of the University of Ottawa's Faculty of Law, a public institution founded in 1848 and headquartered at 57 Louis-Pasteur Street, Fauteux Pavilion, Ottawa, Canada. The unit's documented portfolio centers on civil law education, anchored by the LL.L. (Licence en droit) degree recognized by the Barreau du Québec and the Chambre des notaires du Québec, and extends to the Programme de droit canadien (a three-year J.D./LL.L. double degree capped at 20 candidates), the Certificat en droit autochtone, the national J.D./LL.L. program, an LL.L./DVM in international development and globalization, a combined LL.L./MBA, a law minor, graduate studies (LL.M. and PhD), clinical legal education, and continuing professional development. Its stated customer segments are prospective law students, graduate students and researchers, and the broader legal community, with pain points centered on bilingual common-law/civil-law training and Indigenous legal education in Canada's capital region.

The business model is that of a public university faculty section rather than a commercial enterprise. Revenue is sourced from tuition and academic fees, federal and provincial government funding flowing through the University of Ottawa's institutional budget, and donations and alumni contributions (including directed campaigns such as "Donnez à votre Section de droit civil"). Distribution is direct via on-campus instruction in Ottawa, supplemented by an international student exchange network and digital self-serve channels (the VirtuO platform, online applications, virtual campus tours). Marketing is multi-channel — organic social (Facebook, X, Instagram, LinkedIn, YouTube), content marketing on the university website, faculty media appearances, and hosted events such as the Supreme Court Experience, Jurivision, and moot competitions. The unit has no proprietary technology stack, no AI/ML products, no patents or trademarks, and operates under the governance of the University of Ottawa with no independent ownership, venture capital, or private equity exposure.

The leadership profile shows a single documented senior figure: Sophie Thériault, named Dean of the Civil Law Section on June 22, 2026 after serving as interim dean since January 1, 2025. A documented financial partnership exists with the Ontario Law Foundation, and the section participates in research chairs, centers, laboratories, and the Revue générale de droit. Pricing is not publicly disclosed; the entity is non-listed, non-revenue-disclosing, and reports as a private (academic) entity under the University of Ottawa.

Social Right Interdisciplinary Clinic - Ottawa University firmographics

Firmographics
Name
Social Right Interdisciplinary Clinic - Ottawa University
Legal name
Université d'Ottawa / University of Ottawa
Website
https://droitcivil.uottawa.ca
Company type
Private
Founded year
1848
Operating status
Operating
Headcount range
1–10 employees
Short description
The Social Right Interdisciplinary Clinic operates as an academic unit within the University of Ottawa's Civil Law Section, delivering accredited LL.L., J.D./LL.L., certificate, and graduate law programs to prospective students, researchers, and legal professionals in Canada's bilingual capital.
Ownership category
akta.pro rank

Social Right Interdisciplinary Clinic - Ottawa University industry classification

Industry
Product category
Legal Education
NAICS
Colleges, Universities, and Professional Schools (611310), Research and Development in the Social Sciences and Humanities (54172)
SIC
Services-Educational Services (8200)
akta.pro primary industry
Clinical Legal Education & Legal Aid Clinics (Law School–Run) (EDAHAIAG)
akta.pro secondary industries
ABA-Accredited JD-Granting Law Schools (EDAHAIAA), LLM & Post-JD Graduate Law Programs (EDAHAIAC), Law & Legal Studies Research Universities (EDAHABAF), Online / Hybrid Law Schools & Programs (EDAHAIAE)

Keywords

  • Legal education
  • Civil law degree
  • Graduate law programs
  • Indigenous law certificate
  • Clinical legal education

Where Social Right Interdisciplinary Clinic - Ottawa University is headquartered

Location

Headquarters

HQ city
Ottawa
HQ country
Canada
HQ region
North America

Offices1 record

Markets served

Social Right Interdisciplinary Clinic - Ottawa University business model

Business model
GTM type
B2C
Offering type
Services
Cost components
Personnel, Operations, Marketing or Sales, Technology or R&D, Infrastructure

Revenue model

  1. Tuition and academic fees: Revenue from student tuition for law programs including LL.L., J.D./LL.L. combined programs, certificates, and graduate studies (master's and doctorate in law)
  2. Government funding: Public funding from federal and provincial government sources as part of University of Ottawa's institutional funding
  3. Donations and alumni contributions: Financial support from alumni, donors, and fundraising campaigns such as 'Donnez à votre Section de droit civil'

Distribution channels3 records

Marketing channels4 records

Social Right Interdisciplinary Clinic - Ottawa University product offering

Product offering

Core offering

The Civil Law Section (Section de droit civil) at the University of Ottawa provides bilingual legal education programs, anchored by the LL.L. (Licence en droit) recognized by the Barreau du Québec and the Chambre des notaires du Québec. It also offers the double J.D./LL.L. Programme de droit canadien, the Certificat en droit autochtone, the Programme national J.D./LL.L., the LL.L./DVM in international development, graduate studies (LL.M. and PhD), clinical legal education, and continuing professional development.

Product overview

The Section de droit civil at the University of Ottawa offers a comprehensive portfolio of legal education programs centered on civil law. The core offerings include the LL.L. (Licence en droit) degree program recognized by Quebec professional bodies, complemented by specialized programs including the Certificat en droit autochtone (Indigenous Law Certificate), the Programme de droit canadien (double J.D./LL.L. for 20 candidates), the Programme national J.D./LL.L., and the LL.L./DVM (International Development and Globalization) program. Additional offerings include graduate studies (LL.M. and PhD), clinical legal education, continuing education, and supplementary programs such as a law minor and LL.L./MBA combined degree. The portfolio is designed to serve both undergraduate and graduate students seeking civil law qualifications, with particular emphasis on Canadian context and international dimensions.

Differentiator

Problem solved

Functional benefit

Products and services

  • LL.L. (Licence en droit) The Licence en droit (LL.L.) is a law degree program that trains complete jurists and is recognized by the Quebec Bar and the Quebec Chamber of Notaries, designed for prospective law students seeking civil law qualification in Quebec.
  • Programme de droit canadien (Double J.D./LL.L.) A three-year double-degree program for 20 exceptional candidates leading to both a Licence en droit (LL.L.) and a Juris Doctor (J.D.), enabling graduates to practice in both civil law and common law jurisdictions in Canada.
  • Certificat en droit autochtone (Indigenous Law Certificate) A unique certificate program that allows Indigenous learners to acquire basic skills to successfully complete a civil law degree, addressing Indigenous law education needs.
  • Programme national J.D./LL.L. A national program allowing J.D. holders to obtain a Licence en droit (LL.L.) in one year and vice versa, enabling cross-jurisdictional qualification between common law and civil law.
  • LL.L./DVM (Développement international et mondialisation) A program that trains jurists capable of understanding international development and globalization issues, combining legal training with international development expertise.
  • Études supérieures (LL.M. et Doctorat) Graduate and doctoral programs in law, including master's (LL.M.) and PhD degrees, designed for graduate students and researchers pursuing advanced legal scholarship.
  • Enseignement clinique (Clinical Legal Education) Clinical legal education programs providing hands-on legal experience to students, including the Social Right Interdisciplinary Clinic.
  • Formation continue (Continuing Legal Education) Continuing professional development and education programs for legal professionals, supporting their ongoing professional development and CLE requirements.

Companies that use Social Right Interdisciplinary Clinic - Ottawa University

Customer profile

Segments3 records

Ideal customer profiles3 records

Social Right Interdisciplinary Clinic - Ottawa University technology and API

Technology

Technology focussed No

API detail

Has API
No
API docs
API detail

Core technology

AI maturity

App detail

Social Right Interdisciplinary Clinic - Ottawa University partnerships and signals

Strategic signal

Recent moves5 records

Expansion highlights5 records

Social Right Interdisciplinary Clinic - Ottawa University competitors and assessment

Company assessment

Market position

Competitive moat4 records

Key highlights7 records

Customer concentration

Social Right Interdisciplinary Clinic - Ottawa University social profiles

Digital presence

Social Right Interdisciplinary Clinic - Ottawa University financial estimates

Financial estimate

Revenue estimate

Valuation estimate

Social Right Interdisciplinary Clinic - Ottawa University leadership team

Management profile

Number of profiles

Profiles1 record

Social Right Interdisciplinary Clinic - Ottawa University funding detail

Funding detail

Funding overview

Funding rounds

Investors

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Social Right Interdisciplinary Clinic - Ottawa University M&A and investment

M&A and investment

M&A

Investments

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Frequently asked questions about Social Right Interdisciplinary Clinic - Ottawa University

What does Social Right Interdisciplinary Clinic - Ottawa University do?

The Civil Law Section (Section de droit civil) at the University of Ottawa provides bilingual legal education programs, anchored by the LL.L. (Licence en droit) recognized by the Barreau du Québec and the Chambre des notaires du Québec. It also offers the double J.D./LL.L. Programme de droit canadien, the Certificat en droit autochtone, the Programme national J.D./LL.L., the LL.L./DVM in international development, graduate studies (LL.M. and PhD), clinical legal education, and continuing professional development.

Is Social Right Interdisciplinary Clinic - Ottawa University a public or private company?

Social Right Interdisciplinary Clinic - Ottawa University is a private company. It is classified as state government owned and is currently operating.

When was Social Right Interdisciplinary Clinic - Ottawa University founded?

Social Right Interdisciplinary Clinic - Ottawa University was founded in 1848. It employs 1 to 10 people.

Where is Social Right Interdisciplinary Clinic - Ottawa University based?

Social Right Interdisciplinary Clinic - Ottawa University is headquartered in Ottawa, Canada, in the North America region.

How does Social Right Interdisciplinary Clinic - Ottawa University make money?

Three revenue lines are on record. Tuition and academic fees are the primary driver. The others are government funding and donations and alumni contributions.

Does Social Right Interdisciplinary Clinic - Ottawa University have an API?

No public API is recorded for Social Right Interdisciplinary Clinic - Ottawa University.

What industry is Social Right Interdisciplinary Clinic - Ottawa University in?

Social Right Interdisciplinary Clinic - Ottawa University's product category is Legal Education. Its primary akta.pro industry code is EDAHAIAG, Clinical Legal Education & Legal Aid Clinics (Law School–Run), with a secondary code of EDAHAIAA, ABA-Accredited JD-Granting Law Schools. Its NAICS code is 611310 and its SIC code is 8200.

Unlock the full company data

50 free credits on sign-up, no credit card required.

Contact sales