Developer docs
API playgroundTry for free, no card

Search company profiles

Exam Centre

Full company profile

uuid004e1l6

Namestring
Exam Centre
Legal namestring
Exam Centre
Company typeenum
Private
Founded yearstring
-
Descriptiontext

Exam Centre is a UK-based, direct-to-consumer test administration business headquartered in Sheffield, England, operating under the Learn for Life Enterprise umbrella. It administers two categories of government-recognised exams: OCR-accredited Functional Skills qualifications in English, Maths, and IT (Entry Level through Level 2, accepted as GCSE equivalents for further and higher education), and Trinity College London GESE (Graded Examinations in Spoken English) exams approved by the UK Home Office for immigration-related English language testing. The customer base consists of individuals pursuing three core use cases: UK citizenship and naturalisation (B1 speaking and listening plus Life in the UK test), spouse/partner visa applications and extensions (A1/A2 English), and further/higher education entry (Functional Skills as GCSE equivalents).

The company's product offering combines exam administration with a layer of paid preparation courses and study materials. Preparation courses are priced between £40 and £125 per learner (B1/A1 prep basic at £40, an extended 4-session B1/A1 prep at £125 including workshops and practice exam, A2 prep for spouse visa extensions, and a 6-session Life in the UK prep at £120), and an online Exam Preparation Guide Shop sells GESE, B1, A1, and Life in the UK study guides. Exam administration fees are not publicly disclosed. Operationally the business promises exam scheduling within 14 days of booking, results within 15 days, and certificates within 20 days.

Technology infrastructure is lightweight: a 24/7 online booking system accessible through examcentres.co.uk, telephone booking support (0114 255 9080), an RSS feed for updates, and a small library of GESE preparation videos. Distribution is built around nine physical test centre locations across Northern England and the Midlands — Sheffield & South Yorkshire, Derbyshire, Midlands, North England, Leeds/Bradford & West Yorkshire, Hull & East Yorkshire, Lincolnshire, Nottinghamshire, and York & North Yorkshire — paired with the online booking layer. The business carries no external venture or institutional investment, no documented acquisitions, and no senior leadership team disclosure in the available data.

Short descriptiontext

Exam Centre is a Sheffield-based, OCR- and Trinity College London-accredited test centre administering Functional Skills and GESE English exams across nine Northern England and Midlands locations, serving UK citizenship and visa applicants as well as further-education students with accompanying paid preparation courses.

Operating statusenum
Operating
Ownership categoryenum
Headcount rangeband
1–10
akta.pro rankint
HeadquartersSheffield, United Kingdom
HQ citystring
Sheffield
HQ countrystring
United Kingdom
HQ regionstring
Europe
Markets served

Serves global market

Offices9 records

Each record includes

City, Country, Type, Description, Source

Keyword5 values
functional skills exams, ESOL test centre, citizenship test preparation, B1 English test, GCSE equivalent exams
Industry3 codes
1Certification & Licensing Exam Management Platforms
CodeEDAFADAGPrimaryYes
2Language Proficiency Exam Prep (CEFR, TOEFL, IELTS, Duolingo English Test, PTE)
CodeEDANACADPrimaryNo
3Online Exam Delivery & Test Administration Platforms
CodeEDAFADAAPrimaryNo
NAICS code1 code
  • Exam Preparation and Tutoring611691
SIC code1 code
  • Services-Educational Services8200
Product category
Language Testing and Exam Services
Social media profiles1 record
GTM motion1 record

Each record includes

Type, Description, Source

Revenue model2 records
1Exam Administration Fees
TypeTransaction Fee
Description

Fees charged for administering OCR accredited Functional Skills exams and Trinity College London ESOL/GESE exams to candidates

examcentres.co.uk
2Preparation Courses
TypeOne Time License
Description

One-time fees for B1/A1 test preparation courses and Life in the UK preparation courses

examcentres.co.uk
Marketing channels3 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Stage, Description, Source

Distribution channels2 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Scope, Target buyer, Description, Source

Cost components5 values
Personnel, Operations, Marketing or Sales, Infrastructure, Technology or R&D
Pricing details3 tiers
1B1/A1 Test Preparation - £40
ModelOne time/ perpetual licenseBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

Basic B1/A1 exam preparation course for UK citizenship

examcentres.co.uk
2B1/A1 Test Preparation Course - £125
ModelOne time/ perpetual licenseBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

4 x 2 hour sessions over two weeks, including workshops, practice exam and revision material

examcentres.co.uk
3Life in the UK Preparation Course - £120
ModelOne time/ perpetual licenseBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

6 x 2 hour sessions over 3 weeks

examcentres.co.uk
GTM typeB2C
B2C
Offering typeServices
Services
Core offering1 text field

Exam Centre administers OCR-accredited Functional Skills Exams in English, Maths, and IT at Entry Level, Level 1, and Level 2, accepted as GCSE equivalents for further and higher education entry. It also serves as an authorised Trinity College London GESE (ESOL) test centre delivering B1, A1, and A2 speaking and listening exams for UK citizenship, ILR, and spouse/partner visa applications. The business is complemented by paid preparation courses (B1/A1, Life in the UK, A2 spouse visa) and an online shop selling study guides.

Differentiator
Functional benefit
Problem solved
Product overview1 text field

Exam Centre is a unified service offering providing official OCR and Trinity College London accredited exam and preparation services. The core portfolio consists of Functional Skills Exams (English, Maths, IT at multiple levels) and Trinity College London ESOL/GESE exams, supplemented by structured preparation courses including B1/A1 citizenship test prep, Life in the UK test prep, and A2 spouse visa test prep. The company operates multiple regional test centres across England (Sheffield, Derbyshire, Midlands, North England, Leeds/Bradford, Hull, Lincolnshire, Nottinghamshire, York) and maintains an Exam Preparation Guide Shop for study materials.

Product and service1 record
1Functional Skills Exams
Scale indicator4 records

Each record includes

Type, Value, Description, Source

Partnership3 partners
Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Parent organisation operating the Exam Centre network. Learn for Life Enterprise provides the venue at 241-243 London Road, Sheffield and delivers Functional Skills and ESOL exams as well as preparation courses including B1/A1 test preparation and Life in the UK preparation.

Strategic tierCoreTypeTechnology or Integration
Description

Official accreditation body for Functional Skills exams. The Exam Centre is OCR accredited to administer Functional Skills English, Maths, and IT exams at Entry Level, Level 1, and Level 2. These qualifications are nationally recognised and accepted as GCSE equivalents by colleges and universities.

Strategic tierCoreTypeTechnology or Integration
Description

Official authorised test centre for Trinity College London GESE (Graded Examinations in Spoken English) exams. Provides B1 speaking and listening tests approved by the UK Border Agency/Home Office for citizenship, ILR, and visa applications. GESE Grade 5 is equivalent to B1 CEFR level.

Recent move6 records

Each record includes

Date, Type, Title, Description, Source

Expansion highlight5 records

Each record includes

Type, Description

Peers10 records
TypeDirect peer
Description

UK provider of Functional Skills English, Maths and IT qualifications and prep courses. Competes with Exam Centre's OCR Functional Skills exam and prep-course offering, especially for FE students needing GCSE equivalents.

2Pass Functional Skills
TypeDirect peer
Description

Online Functional Skills exam and preparation provider approved by awarding bodies. Targets the same FE-student segment as Exam Centre with a more digital, lower-cost delivery model.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Ofqual-regulated awarding organisation offering Home Office-approved SELT exams (LanguageCert International ESOL). Directly competes with Exam Centre's GESE-based SELT offering across the same UK immigration pathways.

TypeEmerging player
Description

UK course marketplace aggregating Functional Skills and ESOL prep offerings. Acts as an alternative acquisition channel for the same candidates Exam Centre targets, and a potential partnership/distrubution outlet for the centre's prep courses.

TypeRegional player
Description

UK-based Functional Skills and GCSE-equivalent exam and tuition provider with overlapping offerings to Exam Centre, focused on similar Further Education entry candidate needs across multiple UK regions.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

Major UK awarding body offering Functional Skills, ESOL and other vocational qualifications. Competes indirectly with Exam Centre by accrediting alternative centres and digital providers for the same candidate needs.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

Ofqual-recognised awarding organisation offering Functional Skills and other regulated qualifications. Sits upstream of Exam Centre as an alternative accreditation route and competes via its own network of approved centres.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Awarding body whose GESE exams Exam Centre administers. Operates its own network of authorised SELT test centres across the UK and globally, competing for the same B1/A1/A2 citizenship and visa candidates while also partnering with Exam Centre.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Home Office-approved Secure English Language Test provider for UK visa and citizenship applications. Directly competes with Exam Centre's Trinity GESE offering for the same B1/A1/A2 candidate pool via its own authorised test centre network.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Home Office-approved SELT provider offering PTE Academic UKVI for UK immigration routes. Competes with Exam Centre for the same visa and citizenship test-takers via Pearson's own UK venue and online channels.

Market position
Strengths5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Weaknesses5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Competitive moat3 records

Each record includes

Type, Details

Key risks5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Key highlights6 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Customer concentration

Classification, Details

Segment4 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Primary, Description, Pain point addressed, Use case, Source

Ideal customer profile3 records

Each record includes

Profile, Firmographic size, Sales motion, Sales cycle length, Buying structure, Purchase trigger, Buyer persona, Geography, Industry vertical, Primary use case, Description, Pain points, Evidence proof points, Target buyer

Technology focused
No
API detail
Has APIbool
No

Docs URL, Description

AI maturity
App detail

Has app

Feature1 record

Each record includes

Title, Differentiator, Description, Source

Core technology
Revenue estimate
Valuation estimate
Number of profiles
No data
Compliance3 records

Each record includes

Name, Class, Description

Funding overview

Funding stage, Last funding date, Total funding USD

Funding rounds

Each record includes

Round, Amount USD, Date, Pre money valuation, Total investors, Investors, News

Investors

Each record includes

Name, Type, Date of entry, Rounds participated, Website

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

M&A

Each record includes

Name, Acquisition type, Announced date, Completed date, Status, Website, News

Investment

Each record includes

Name, Round, Announced date, Lead investor, Website, News

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Exam Centre

Language Testing and Exam Servicesexamcentres.co.uk

Exam Centre is a Sheffield-based, OCR- and Trinity College London-accredited test centre administering Functional Skills and GESE English exams across nine Northern England and Midlands locations, serving UK citizenship and visa applicants as well as further-education students with accompanying paid preparation courses.

What Exam Centre does

Exam Centre is a UK-based, direct-to-consumer test administration business headquartered in Sheffield, England, operating under the Learn for Life Enterprise umbrella. It administers two categories of government-recognised exams: OCR-accredited Functional Skills qualifications in English, Maths, and IT (Entry Level through Level 2, accepted as GCSE equivalents for further and higher education), and Trinity College London GESE (Graded Examinations in Spoken English) exams approved by the UK Home Office for immigration-related English language testing. The customer base consists of individuals pursuing three core use cases: UK citizenship and naturalisation (B1 speaking and listening plus Life in the UK test), spouse/partner visa applications and extensions (A1/A2 English), and further/higher education entry (Functional Skills as GCSE equivalents).

The company's product offering combines exam administration with a layer of paid preparation courses and study materials. Preparation courses are priced between £40 and £125 per learner (B1/A1 prep basic at £40, an extended 4-session B1/A1 prep at £125 including workshops and practice exam, A2 prep for spouse visa extensions, and a 6-session Life in the UK prep at £120), and an online Exam Preparation Guide Shop sells GESE, B1, A1, and Life in the UK study guides. Exam administration fees are not publicly disclosed. Operationally the business promises exam scheduling within 14 days of booking, results within 15 days, and certificates within 20 days.

Technology infrastructure is lightweight: a 24/7 online booking system accessible through examcentres.co.uk, telephone booking support (0114 255 9080), an RSS feed for updates, and a small library of GESE preparation videos. Distribution is built around nine physical test centre locations across Northern England and the Midlands — Sheffield & South Yorkshire, Derbyshire, Midlands, North England, Leeds/Bradford & West Yorkshire, Hull & East Yorkshire, Lincolnshire, Nottinghamshire, and York & North Yorkshire — paired with the online booking layer. The business carries no external venture or institutional investment, no documented acquisitions, and no senior leadership team disclosure in the available data.

Exam Centre firmographics

Firmographics
Name
Exam Centre
Legal name
Exam Centre
Website
https://examcentres.co.uk
Company type
Private
Operating status
Operating
Headcount range
1–10 employees
Short description
Exam Centre is a Sheffield-based, OCR- and Trinity College London-accredited test centre administering Functional Skills and GESE English exams across nine Northern England and Midlands locations, serving UK citizenship and visa applicants as well as further-education students with accompanying paid preparation courses.
Ownership category
akta.pro rank

Exam Centre industry classification

Industry
Product category
Language Testing and Exam Services
NAICS
Exam Preparation and Tutoring (611691)
SIC
Services-Educational Services (8200)
akta.pro primary industry
Certification & Licensing Exam Management Platforms (EDAFADAG)
akta.pro secondary industries
Language Proficiency Exam Prep (CEFR, TOEFL, IELTS, Duolingo English Test, PTE) (EDANACAD), Online Exam Delivery & Test Administration Platforms (EDAFADAA)

Keywords

  • Functional skills exams
  • ESOL test centre
  • Citizenship test preparation
  • B1 English test
  • GCSE equivalent exams

Where Exam Centre is headquartered

Location

Headquarters

HQ city
Sheffield
HQ country
United Kingdom
HQ region
Europe

Offices9 records

Markets served

Exam Centre business model

Business model
GTM type
B2C
Offering type
Services
Cost components
Personnel, Operations, Marketing or Sales, Infrastructure, Technology or R&D

Revenue model

  1. Exam Administration Fees: Fees charged for administering OCR accredited Functional Skills exams and Trinity College London ESOL/GESE exams to candidates
  2. Preparation Courses: One-time fees for B1/A1 test preparation courses and Life in the UK preparation courses

Pricing tiers

ModelBillingPrice
One time/ perpetual licensePay-as-you-goB1/A1 Test Preparation - £40
One time/ perpetual licensePay-as-you-goB1/A1 Test Preparation Course - £125
One time/ perpetual licensePay-as-you-goLife in the UK Preparation Course - £120

Go-to-market motion1 record

Distribution channels2 records

Marketing channels3 records

Exam Centre product offering

Product offering

Core offering

Exam Centre administers OCR-accredited Functional Skills Exams in English, Maths, and IT at Entry Level, Level 1, and Level 2, accepted as GCSE equivalents for further and higher education entry. It also serves as an authorised Trinity College London GESE (ESOL) test centre delivering B1, A1, and A2 speaking and listening exams for UK citizenship, ILR, and spouse/partner visa applications. The business is complemented by paid preparation courses (B1/A1, Life in the UK, A2 spouse visa) and an online shop selling study guides.

Product overview

Exam Centre is a unified service offering providing official OCR and Trinity College London accredited exam and preparation services. The core portfolio consists of Functional Skills Exams (English, Maths, IT at multiple levels) and Trinity College London ESOL/GESE exams, supplemented by structured preparation courses including B1/A1 citizenship test prep, Life in the UK test prep, and A2 spouse visa test prep. The company operates multiple regional test centres across England (Sheffield, Derbyshire, Midlands, North England, Leeds/Bradford, Hull, Lincolnshire, Nottinghamshire, York) and maintains an Exam Preparation Guide Shop for study materials.

Differentiator

Problem solved

Functional benefit

Products and services

  • Functional Skills Exams

Companies that use Exam Centre

Customer profile

Segments4 records

Ideal customer profiles3 records

Exam Centre technology and API

Technology

Technology focussed No

API detail

Has API
No
API docs
API detail

Core technology

AI maturity

App detail

Feature1 record

Exam Centre partnerships and signals

Strategic signal

Partnerships

Three partnerships are on record, tiered core.

  • Learn for Life EnterprisecoreStrategic or Co-development PartnerParent organisation operating the Exam Centre network. Learn for Life Enterprise provides the venue at 241-243 London Road, Sheffield and delivers Functional Skills and ESOL exams as well as preparation courses including B1/A1 test preparation and Life in the UK preparation.
  • OCR (Oxford Cambridge and RSA)coreTechnology or IntegrationOfficial accreditation body for Functional Skills exams. The Exam Centre is OCR accredited to administer Functional Skills English, Maths, and IT exams at Entry Level, Level 1, and Level 2. These qualifications are nationally recognised and accepted as GCSE equivalents by colleges and universities.
  • Trinity College LondoncoreTechnology or IntegrationOfficial authorised test centre for Trinity College London GESE (Graded Examinations in Spoken English) exams. Provides B1 speaking and listening tests approved by the UK Border Agency/Home Office for citizenship, ILR, and visa applications. GESE Grade 5 is equivalent to B1 CEFR level.

Scale indicators4 records

Recent moves6 records

Expansion highlights5 records

Exam Centre competitors and assessment

Company assessment

Direct peers

  • Learn Direct: UK provider of Functional Skills English, Maths and IT qualifications and prep courses. Competes with Exam Centre's OCR Functional Skills exam and prep-course offering, especially for FE students needing GCSE equivalents.
  • Pass Functional Skills: Online Functional Skills exam and preparation provider approved by awarding bodies. Targets the same FE-student segment as Exam Centre with a more digital, lower-cost delivery model.
  • LanguageCert: Ofqual-regulated awarding organisation offering Home Office-approved SELT exams (LanguageCert International ESOL). Directly competes with Exam Centre's GESE-based SELT offering across the same UK immigration pathways.
  • Trinity College London: Awarding body whose GESE exams Exam Centre administers. Operates its own network of authorised SELT test centres across the UK and globally, competing for the same B1/A1/A2 citizenship and visa candidates while also partnering with Exam Centre.
  • IELTS SELT Consortium: Home Office-approved Secure English Language Test provider for UK visa and citizenship applications. Directly competes with Exam Centre's Trinity GESE offering for the same B1/A1/A2 candidate pool via its own authorised test centre network.
  • Pearson PTE Academic UKVI: Home Office-approved SELT provider offering PTE Academic UKVI for UK immigration routes. Competes with Exam Centre for the same visa and citizenship test-takers via Pearson's own UK venue and online channels.

Emerging players

  • Reed Courses: UK course marketplace aggregating Functional Skills and ESOL prep offerings. Acts as an alternative acquisition channel for the same candidates Exam Centre targets, and a potential partnership/distrubution outlet for the centre's prep courses.

Regional players

  • MTC (Maths Tuition Centre): UK-based Functional Skills and GCSE-equivalent exam and tuition provider with overlapping offerings to Exam Centre, focused on similar Further Education entry candidate needs across multiple UK regions.

Broad incumbents

  • City & Guilds: Major UK awarding body offering Functional Skills, ESOL and other vocational qualifications. Competes indirectly with Exam Centre by accrediting alternative centres and digital providers for the same candidate needs.
  • Training Qualifications UK (TQUK): Ofqual-recognised awarding organisation offering Functional Skills and other regulated qualifications. Sits upstream of Exam Centre as an alternative accreditation route and competes via its own network of approved centres.

Market position

Strengths5 records

Weaknesses5 records

Competitive moat3 records

Key risks5 records

Key highlights6 records

Customer concentration

Exam Centre social profiles

Digital presence

Exam Centre compliance and trust

Trust signal

Compliance3 records

Exam Centre financial estimates

Financial estimate

Revenue estimate

Valuation estimate

Exam Centre leadership team

Management profile

Number of profiles

Exam Centre funding detail

Funding detail

Funding overview

Funding rounds

Investors

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Exam Centre M&A and investment

M&A and investment

M&A

Investments

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Frequently asked questions about Exam Centre

What does Exam Centre do?

Exam Centre administers OCR-accredited Functional Skills Exams in English, Maths, and IT at Entry Level, Level 1, and Level 2, accepted as GCSE equivalents for further and higher education entry. It also serves as an authorised Trinity College London GESE (ESOL) test centre delivering B1, A1, and A2 speaking and listening exams for UK citizenship, ILR, and spouse/partner visa applications. The business is complemented by paid preparation courses (B1/A1, Life in the UK, A2 spouse visa) and an online shop selling study guides.

Is Exam Centre a public or private company?

Exam Centre is a private company. It is classified as founder individual operated bootstrapped and is currently operating.

When was Exam Centre founded?

Exam Centre was founded in -1. It employs 1 to 10 people.

Where is Exam Centre based?

Exam Centre is headquartered in Sheffield, United Kingdom, in the Europe region.

How does Exam Centre make money?

Two revenue lines are on record. Exam Administration Fees are the primary driver. The others are preparation Courses.

Who are Exam Centre's main competitors?

Direct peers on record are Learn Direct, Pass Functional Skills, LanguageCert, Trinity College London, IELTS SELT Consortium and Pearson PTE Academic UKVI. Reed Courses is listed as an emerging player. MTC (Maths Tuition Centre) is listed as a regional player. Broad incumbents are City & Guilds and Training Qualifications UK (TQUK).

Does Exam Centre have an API?

No public API is recorded for Exam Centre.

What industry is Exam Centre in?

Exam Centre's product category is Language Testing and Exam Services. Its primary akta.pro industry code is EDAFADAG, Certification & Licensing Exam Management Platforms, with a secondary code of EDANACAD, Language Proficiency Exam Prep (CEFR, TOEFL, IELTS, Duolingo English Test, PTE). Its NAICS code is 611691 and its SIC code is 8200.

Unlock the full company data

50 free credits on sign-up, no credit card required.

Contact sales