Developer docs
API playgroundTry for free, no card

Search company profiles

Elon University School of Law

Full company profile

uuid004rrmy

Namestring
Elon University School of Law
Legal namestring
Elon University
Websiteurl
law.elon.edu
Company typeenum
Private
Founded yearint
2006
Descriptiontext

Elon University School of Law (Elon Law) is a private, ABA-accredited law school founded in 2006 and operating as a component of Elon University, a private non-profit research university headquartered in Greensboro, North Carolina. The school delivers a Juris Doctor program built on a distinctive 2.5-year accelerated curriculum integrated with full-time, faculty-directed residencies, an approach it implemented as the first U.S. law school to do so for all students. It operates a primary campus in Greensboro and a satellite campus in Charlotte offering both full-time and part-time JD tracks, supported by a 10:1 student-faculty ratio with the majority of classes under 25 students. The faculty headcount is 184, drawn from a roster of teachers, scholars, and mentors that underpins the signature Residency-in-Practice Program and experiential learning labs from the first year of study.

Elon Law's core products are its full-time and part-time JD programs, the Residency-in-Practice Program, the Experiential Learning curriculum, the Elon Law Library, and supporting scholarships and financial aid offerings. The business model is tuition-driven within a non-profit university structure: revenue mechanics are not publicly disclosed but follow the standard U.S. private law school template of tuition, fees, scholarship discounting, and institutional/endowment cross-subsidy from Elon University. Go-to-market relies on the university website, an online application portal, campus visits and admissions events, and the Elon University brand and alumni network. Customer segments are individual prospective law students (a single horizontal persona segment) seeking accredited legal education with practical training and bar preparation.

The school's competitive positioning rests on three signals of national recognition: the American Bar Association's #1 ranking in Professionalism Education, PreLaw Magazine's A+ ranking for Practical Training, and its first-mover design of the 2.5-year residency-embedded curriculum. The institution is ABA-accredited, actively enrolling students, and operating under the governance of Elon University's board and administration; no private equity, venture, or public market ownership is indicated. Geographic operations are concentrated in North Carolina (Greensboro and Charlotte), with no disclosed international footprint or regulatory restrictions in the source material.

Short descriptiontext

Elon University School of Law is a private, ABA-accredited law school in Greensboro, NC, founded in 2006 as part of Elon University. It offers a 2.5-year accelerated JD program with faculty-directed residencies, serving prospective law students at its Greensboro and Charlotte campuses.

Operating statusenum
Operating
Ownership categoryenum
Headcount rangeband
101–250
akta.pro rankint
HeadquartersGreensboro, United States
HQ citystring
Greensboro
HQ countrystring
United States
HQ regionstring
North America
Markets served

Serves global market

Offices2 records

Each record includes

City, Country, Type, Description, Source

Keyword5 values
legal education services, juris doctor program, experiential legal training, law school admissions, bar exam preparation
Industry2 codes
1ABA-Accredited JD-Granting Law Schools
CodeEDAHAIAAPrimaryYes
2Law School Continuing Legal Education (CLE) & Executive Programs
CodeEDAHAIAHPrimaryNo
NAICS code2 codes
  • Colleges, Universities, and Professional Schools6113
  • Educational Services611
SIC code1 code
  • Services-Educational Services8200
Product category
Legal Education
Social media profiles1 record
Marketing channels4 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Stage, Description, Source

Distribution channels3 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Scope, Target buyer, Description, Source

Cost components5 values
Personnel, Operations, Infrastructure, Technology or R&D, Marketing or Sales
GTM typeB2C
B2C
Offering typeServices
Services
Core offering1 text field

Elon University School of Law delivers an ABA-accredited Juris Doctor (JD) degree through a 2.5-year accelerated curriculum featuring mandatory full-time, faculty-directed residencies in legal workplaces. Programs are offered full-time at the Greensboro campus and both full-time and part-time at the Charlotte campus, supported by experiential learning labs, scholarship offerings, an on-site law library, and career services for bar preparation and legal employment.

Differentiator
Functional benefit
Problem solved
Product overview1 text field

Elon University School of Law offers a unified law school educational program centered on a 2.5-year accelerated JD curriculum with integrated experiential learning components. The portfolio consists of full-time and part-time law programs (the latter offered in Charlotte), complemented by a signature Residency-in-Practice Program that provides all students with faculty-directed practical training placements. Supporting services include scholarship offerings and access to the Elon Law Library. The school's value proposition emphasizes accelerated completion time, low cost of living, scholarship support, and national recognition for practical training quality.

Product and service3 records
1Full-Time Juris Doctor Program
CategoryLegal Education
Description

Primary JD degree program delivered at the Greensboro campus, offering a 2.5-year accelerated curriculum with full-time, faculty-directed residencies for admitted law students.

2Part-Time Juris Doctor Program (Charlotte)
CategoryLegal Education
Description

Part-time evening/weekend JD program available at the Charlotte campus, allowing students to complete their legal education while maintaining other professional or personal commitments.

3Residency-in-Practice Program
CategoryExperiential Legal Training
Description

Elon Law's signature full-time, faculty-directed residency program that places every JD student in a real legal workplace for practical, hands-on experience as part of the degree.

Scale indicator4 records

Each record includes

Type, Value, Description, Source

Recent move4 records

Each record includes

Date, Type, Title, Description, Source

Expansion highlight3 records

Each record includes

Type, Description

Peers8 records
TypeDirect peer
Description

Public ABA-accredited law school in Durham, NC, with historic HBCU mission and strong emphasis on public service and bar passage. Competes for applicants seeking practical training and affordable legal education in NC.

TypeDirect peer
Description

ABA-accredited private law school in Connecticut founded in 1995, with a similar 'newer-school' positioning and emphasis on experiential learning and bar passage outcomes. Comparable size, growth profile, and practical-training focus.

TypeDirect peer
Description

ABA-accredited private law school in North Carolina offering a JD program with similar 3-year structure and emphasis on practical skills. Most direct in-state competitor for applicants and placement in the NC legal market.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

Parent private university of Elon Law, providing shared brand, infrastructure, faculty governance, and student services. Relevant as the broader operating context and primary financial backer of the law school.

5Campbell University School of Law
TypeDirect peer
Description

ABA-accredited private law school also based in North Carolina (Raleigh), with a similar practical-training and smaller-cohort positioning. Comparable in scale, tuition model, and applicant overlap with Elon Law.

TypeDirect peer
Description

ABA-accredited private law school in Virginia with a similar small-cohort, personalized-instruction positioning and emphasis on practical training. Comparable scale, tuition profile, and applicant mix to Elon Law.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Public ABA-accredited law school in Chapel Hill, NC, and the flagship public option for in-state JD applicants. Direct competitor for admissions, employer placement, and alumni network development.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Top-tier ABA-accredited private law school in Durham, NC, with elite national brand. Sets the prestige ceiling Elon Law must differentiate beneath in the same North Carolina applicant pool.

Market position
Strengths5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Weaknesses4 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Competitive moat3 records

Each record includes

Type, Details

Key risks5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Key highlights7 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Customer concentration

Classification, Details

Segment1 record

Each record includes

Title, Type, Primary, Description, Pain point addressed, Use case, Source

Ideal customer profile1 record

Each record includes

Profile, Firmographic size, Sales motion, Sales cycle length, Buying structure, Purchase trigger, Buyer persona, Geography, Industry vertical, Primary use case, Description, Pain points, Evidence proof points, Target buyer

Technology focused
No
API detail
Has APIbool
No

Docs URL, Description

AI maturity
App detail

Has app

Core technology
Revenue estimate
Valuation estimate
Number of profiles
No data
Compliance1 record

Each record includes

Name, Class, Description

Funding overview

Funding stage, Last funding date, Total funding USD

Funding rounds

Each record includes

Round, Amount USD, Date, Pre money valuation, Total investors, Investors, News

Investors

Each record includes

Name, Type, Date of entry, Rounds participated, Website

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

M&A

Each record includes

Name, Acquisition type, Announced date, Completed date, Status, Website, News

Investment

Each record includes

Name, Round, Announced date, Lead investor, Website, News

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Elon University School of Law

Legal Educationlaw.elon.edu

Elon University School of Law is a private, ABA-accredited law school in Greensboro, NC, founded in 2006 as part of Elon University. It offers a 2.5-year accelerated JD program with faculty-directed residencies, serving prospective law students at its Greensboro and Charlotte campuses.

What Elon University School of Law does

Elon University School of Law (Elon Law) is a private, ABA-accredited law school founded in 2006 and operating as a component of Elon University, a private non-profit research university headquartered in Greensboro, North Carolina. The school delivers a Juris Doctor program built on a distinctive 2.5-year accelerated curriculum integrated with full-time, faculty-directed residencies, an approach it implemented as the first U.S. law school to do so for all students. It operates a primary campus in Greensboro and a satellite campus in Charlotte offering both full-time and part-time JD tracks, supported by a 10:1 student-faculty ratio with the majority of classes under 25 students. The faculty headcount is 184, drawn from a roster of teachers, scholars, and mentors that underpins the signature Residency-in-Practice Program and experiential learning labs from the first year of study.

Elon Law's core products are its full-time and part-time JD programs, the Residency-in-Practice Program, the Experiential Learning curriculum, the Elon Law Library, and supporting scholarships and financial aid offerings. The business model is tuition-driven within a non-profit university structure: revenue mechanics are not publicly disclosed but follow the standard U.S. private law school template of tuition, fees, scholarship discounting, and institutional/endowment cross-subsidy from Elon University. Go-to-market relies on the university website, an online application portal, campus visits and admissions events, and the Elon University brand and alumni network. Customer segments are individual prospective law students (a single horizontal persona segment) seeking accredited legal education with practical training and bar preparation.

The school's competitive positioning rests on three signals of national recognition: the American Bar Association's #1 ranking in Professionalism Education, PreLaw Magazine's A+ ranking for Practical Training, and its first-mover design of the 2.5-year residency-embedded curriculum. The institution is ABA-accredited, actively enrolling students, and operating under the governance of Elon University's board and administration; no private equity, venture, or public market ownership is indicated. Geographic operations are concentrated in North Carolina (Greensboro and Charlotte), with no disclosed international footprint or regulatory restrictions in the source material.

Elon University School of Law firmographics

Firmographics
Name
Elon University School of Law
Legal name
Elon University
Website
https://law.elon.edu
Company type
Private
Founded year
2006
Operating status
Operating
Headcount range
101–250 employees
Short description
Elon University School of Law is a private, ABA-accredited law school in Greensboro, NC, founded in 2006 as part of Elon University. It offers a 2.5-year accelerated JD program with faculty-directed residencies, serving prospective law students at its Greensboro and Charlotte campuses.
Ownership category
akta.pro rank

Elon University School of Law industry classification

Industry
Product category
Legal Education
NAICS
Colleges, Universities, and Professional Schools (6113), Educational Services (611)
SIC
Services-Educational Services (8200)
akta.pro primary industry
ABA-Accredited JD-Granting Law Schools (EDAHAIAA)
akta.pro secondary industry
Law School Continuing Legal Education (CLE) & Executive Programs (EDAHAIAH)

Keywords

  • Legal education services
  • Juris doctor program
  • Experiential legal training
  • Law school admissions
  • Bar exam preparation

Where Elon University School of Law is headquartered

Location

Headquarters

HQ city
Greensboro
HQ country
United States
HQ region
North America

Offices2 records

Markets served

Elon University School of Law business model

Business model
GTM type
B2C
Offering type
Services
Cost components
Personnel, Operations, Infrastructure, Technology or R&D, Marketing or Sales

Distribution channels3 records

Marketing channels4 records

Elon University School of Law product offering

Product offering

Core offering

Elon University School of Law delivers an ABA-accredited Juris Doctor (JD) degree through a 2.5-year accelerated curriculum featuring mandatory full-time, faculty-directed residencies in legal workplaces. Programs are offered full-time at the Greensboro campus and both full-time and part-time at the Charlotte campus, supported by experiential learning labs, scholarship offerings, an on-site law library, and career services for bar preparation and legal employment.

Product overview

Elon University School of Law offers a unified law school educational program centered on a 2.5-year accelerated JD curriculum with integrated experiential learning components. The portfolio consists of full-time and part-time law programs (the latter offered in Charlotte), complemented by a signature Residency-in-Practice Program that provides all students with faculty-directed practical training placements. Supporting services include scholarship offerings and access to the Elon Law Library. The school's value proposition emphasizes accelerated completion time, low cost of living, scholarship support, and national recognition for practical training quality.

Differentiator

Problem solved

Functional benefit

Products and services

  • Full-Time Juris Doctor Program Primary JD degree program delivered at the Greensboro campus, offering a 2.5-year accelerated curriculum with full-time, faculty-directed residencies for admitted law students.
  • Part-Time Juris Doctor Program (Charlotte) Part-time evening/weekend JD program available at the Charlotte campus, allowing students to complete their legal education while maintaining other professional or personal commitments.
  • Residency-in-Practice Program Elon Law's signature full-time, faculty-directed residency program that places every JD student in a real legal workplace for practical, hands-on experience as part of the degree.

Companies that use Elon University School of Law

Customer profile

Segments1 record

Ideal customer profiles1 record

Elon University School of Law technology and API

Technology

Technology focussed No

API detail

Has API
No
API docs
API detail

Core technology

AI maturity

App detail

Elon University School of Law partnerships and signals

Strategic signal

Scale indicators4 records

Recent moves4 records

Expansion highlights3 records

Elon University School of Law competitors and assessment

Company assessment

Direct peers

  • North Carolina Central University School of Law: Public ABA-accredited law school in Durham, NC, with historic HBCU mission and strong emphasis on public service and bar passage. Competes for applicants seeking practical training and affordable legal education in NC.
  • Quinnipiac University School of Law: ABA-accredited private law school in Connecticut founded in 1995, with a similar 'newer-school' positioning and emphasis on experiential learning and bar passage outcomes. Comparable size, growth profile, and practical-training focus.
  • Wake Forest University School of Law: ABA-accredited private law school in North Carolina offering a JD program with similar 3-year structure and emphasis on practical skills. Most direct in-state competitor for applicants and placement in the NC legal market.
  • Campbell University School of Law: ABA-accredited private law school also based in North Carolina (Raleigh), with a similar practical-training and smaller-cohort positioning. Comparable in scale, tuition model, and applicant overlap with Elon Law.
  • University of Richmond School of Law: ABA-accredited private law school in Virginia with a similar small-cohort, personalized-instruction positioning and emphasis on practical training. Comparable scale, tuition profile, and applicant mix to Elon Law.
  • University of North Carolina School of Law: Public ABA-accredited law school in Chapel Hill, NC, and the flagship public option for in-state JD applicants. Direct competitor for admissions, employer placement, and alumni network development.
  • Duke University School of Law: Top-tier ABA-accredited private law school in Durham, NC, with elite national brand. Sets the prestige ceiling Elon Law must differentiate beneath in the same North Carolina applicant pool.

Broad incumbents

  • Elon University: Parent private university of Elon Law, providing shared brand, infrastructure, faculty governance, and student services. Relevant as the broader operating context and primary financial backer of the law school.

Market position

Strengths5 records

Weaknesses4 records

Competitive moat3 records

Key risks5 records

Key highlights7 records

Customer concentration

Elon University School of Law social profiles

Digital presence

Elon University School of Law compliance and trust

Trust signal

Compliance1 record

Elon University School of Law financial estimates

Financial estimate

Revenue estimate

Valuation estimate

Elon University School of Law leadership team

Management profile

Number of profiles

Elon University School of Law funding detail

Funding detail

Funding overview

Funding rounds

Investors

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Elon University School of Law M&A and investment

M&A and investment

M&A

Investments

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Frequently asked questions about Elon University School of Law

What does Elon University School of Law do?

Elon University School of Law delivers an ABA-accredited Juris Doctor (JD) degree through a 2.5-year accelerated curriculum featuring mandatory full-time, faculty-directed residencies in legal workplaces. Programs are offered full-time at the Greensboro campus and both full-time and part-time at the Charlotte campus, supported by experiential learning labs, scholarship offerings, an on-site law library, and career services for bar preparation and legal employment.

Is Elon University School of Law a public or private company?

Elon University School of Law is a private company. It is classified as nonprofit foundation owned and is currently operating.

When was Elon University School of Law founded?

Elon University School of Law was founded in 2006. It employs 101 to 250 people.

Where is Elon University School of Law based?

Elon University School of Law is headquartered in Greensboro, United States, in the North America region.

Who are Elon University School of Law's main competitors?

Direct peers on record are North Carolina Central University School of Law, Quinnipiac University School of Law, Wake Forest University School of Law, Campbell University School of Law, University of Richmond School of Law, University of North Carolina School of Law and Duke University School of Law. Elon University is listed as a broad incumbent.

Does Elon University School of Law have an API?

No public API is recorded for Elon University School of Law.

What industry is Elon University School of Law in?

Elon University School of Law's product category is Legal Education. Its primary akta.pro industry code is EDAHAIAA, ABA-Accredited JD-Granting Law Schools, with a secondary code of EDAHAIAH, Law School Continuing Legal Education (CLE) & Executive Programs. Its NAICS code is 6113 and its SIC code is 8200.

Unlock the full company data

50 free credits on sign-up, no credit card required.

Contact sales
Live signals