Developer docs
API playgroundTry for free, no card

Search company profiles

UMSL College of Optometry

Full company profile

uuid0051tn3

Namestring
UMSL College of Optometry
Legal namestring
University of Missouri-St. Louis College of Optometry
Company typeenum
Public
Founded yearstring
-
Descriptiontext

The UMSL College of Optometry is a constituent college of the University of Missouri-St. Louis, a public state university governed by The Curators of the University of Missouri. It is one of only 23 institutions in the United States holding accreditation from the Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE), and the only optometry school in the state of Missouri. Its core academic offering is a four-year professional program leading to the Doctor of Optometry (O.D.) degree, with an average class size of 48 students and an 8:1 student-to-faculty ratio. The college supplements classroom instruction with a clinical training network of more than 70 externship sites and three UMSL Eye Care clinic locations that serve both patients and students.

The business model is a tuition-based academic revenue model combined with patient service revenue from the three UMSL Eye Care clinic locations. Additional revenue streams include postgraduate Residency Programs (for example, low-vision care specialization) and Continuing Education courses for licensed optometrists. Customer segments split between prospective optometry students seeking a professional O.D. credential and consumer/patient walk-ins seeking eye care services. Pricing is not publicly disclosed and follows standard public university tuition and clinical fee structures. Marketing and student recruitment are conducted through social media (Facebook, Twitter/X, Instagram, LinkedIn), the EyeWire optometry blog, alumni events, and university-wide channels.

The college is currently investing in physical capacity expansion via a relocation to North Campus with new classrooms and lab spaces, and is actively recruiting additional faculty. Notable alumni outcomes include a graduate named NASA's first aerospace optometry fellow, indicating the program's clinical training reputation extends into specialized federal and research domains. As a public, state-governed institution, the college has no private shareholders, venture backing, or external fundraising rounds; growth and investment are funded through state appropriations, tuition, and philanthropic giving channels.

Short descriptiontext

UMSL College of Optometry is the only ACOE-accredited optometry school in Missouri and one of 23 in the U.S., offering a four-year O.D. degree program, postgraduate residencies, continuing education, and patient care through three UMSL Eye Care clinics.

Operating statusenum
Operating
Ownership categoryenum
Headcount rangeband
1–10
akta.pro rankint
HeadquartersSt. Louis, United States
HQ citystring
St. Louis
HQ countrystring
United States
HQ regionstring
North America
Markets served

Serves global market

Offices1 record

Each record includes

City, Country, Type, Description, Source

Keyword5 values
optometric education, doctor of optometry, clinical optometry training, eye care services, optometry residency programs
Industry4 codes
1Schools of Optometry
CodeEDAHAGANPrimaryYes
2Optometry Clinics (Primary Eye Care)
CodeHLAKAKABPrimaryNo
3Comprehensive Eye Exams & Vision Care
CodeHLAKAKAAPrimaryNo
4Healthcare & Medical Licensure Exam Prep (USMLE/COMLEX, NCLEX, Dentistry, Pharmacy, PA)
CodeEDANAIAAPrimaryNo
NAICS code3 codes
  • Colleges, Universities, and Professional Schools6113
  • Colleges, Universities, and Professional Schools611310
  • Offices of Optometrists621320
SIC code3 codes
  • Services-Educational Services8200
  • Services-Offices & Clinics Of Doctors Of Medicine8011
  • Services-Health Services8000
Product category
Optometric Education and Clinical Eye Care
Marketing channels4 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Stage, Description, Source

Distribution channels1 record

Each record includes

Title, Type, Scope, Target buyer, Description, Source

Cost components4 values
Personnel, Operations, Infrastructure, Marketing or Sales
GTM typeB2C
B2C
Offering typeServices
Services
Brand1 record
1EyeWire
Description

Optometry Blog maintained by the College of Optometry

optometry.umsl.edu
Core offering1 text field

The UMSL College of Optometry offers a four-year professional Doctor of Optometry (O.D.) degree program accredited by the Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE), making it the only optometry school in Missouri and one of only 23 in the United States. The educational portfolio is supported by three UMSL Eye Care clinic locations that deliver patient eye care services while providing hands-on clinical training for students, along with postgraduate Residency Programs and Continuing Education courses for alumni and practicing optometrists.

Differentiator
Functional benefit
Problem solved
Product overview1 text field

UMSL College of Optometry offers a single integrated educational portfolio centered on its four-year Doctor of Optometry (O.D.) degree program, which is the only accredited optometry program in Missouri. The program is supported by UMSL Eye Care, a patient care service operating at three locations that provides clinical training for students. Additional offerings include Continuing Education courses for alumni and practicing professionals, and Residency Programs for postgraduate specialization. The portfolio functions as a unified educational and clinical ecosystem where the O.D. program serves as the core offering, with Eye Care providing hands-on training and CE/residency programs enabling advanced professional development.

Product and service4 records
1Doctor of Optometry (O.D.) Degree Program
CategoryProfessional Degree Program
Description

A four-year professional program leading to the Doctor of Optometry (O.D.) degree, accredited by the Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE). It prepares students to become licensed optometrists and vision researchers, supported by classroom instruction and 70+ externship sites.

2UMSL Eye Care
3Continuing Education (CE) Courses
4Residency Programs
Scale indicator5 records

Each record includes

Type, Value, Description, Source

Partnership1 partner
Strategic tierCoreTypeOthers
Description

The College of Optometry is accredited by the Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE). The accreditation covers the four-year professional program leading to the Doctor of Optometry (O.D.) degree. ACOE is located at 243 N. Lindbergh Blvd., Suite 301, St. Louis, MO 63141.

Recent move7 records

Each record includes

Date, Type, Title, Description, Source

Expansion highlight4 records

Each record includes

Type, Description

Peers10 records
TypeDirect peer
Description

An ACOE-accredited four-year optometry program offering the O.D. degree with affiliated clinical training; comparable as a standalone optometry institution with an integrated care model.

TypeDirect peer
Description

A public ACOE-accredited optometry college within the State University of New York system offering the O.D. degree and an on-site eye center; directly comparable as a public, dedicated optometry institution.

3UC Berkeley School of Optometry
TypeDirect peer
Description

A public ACOE-accredited optometry program at a major research university offering the O.D. degree and clinical services; comparable as a public university-based optometry school.

TypeDirect peer
Description

An ACOE-accredited four-year optometry program conferring the O.D. degree, with an affiliated clinical care operation — directly comparable to UMSL in mission, structure, and product offering.

TypeDirect peer
Description

An ACOE-accredited optometry program offering the O.D. degree plus residency and CE pathways; comparable in offering breadth and accreditation profile to UMSL.

TypeDirect peer
Description

An ACOE-accredited four-year optometry program focused on the O.D. degree with its own clinical facilities; comparable as a single-purpose optometry institution with embedded patient care.

TypeDirect peer
Description

A public ACOE-accredited optometry school within a major Big Ten university system offering the O.D. degree; directly comparable as a similarly structured public optometry program with a Midwest footprint.

TypeDirect peer
Description

A leading public optometry school within a Big Ten university offering the four-year O.D. program and clinical services; closely comparable in scale, accreditation status, and integrated clinical model.

TypeDirect peer
Description

An ACOE-accredited optometry program within a private university offering the O.D. degree and clinical services; comparable as a dedicated optometry college with a multi-site clinical footprint.

TypeDirect peer
Description

A public ACOE-accredited optometry school conferring the O.D. degree with integrated clinical operations; comparable in structure and mission as a state-affiliated optometry college.

Market position
Strengths4 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Weaknesses4 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Competitive moat4 records

Each record includes

Type, Details

Key risks5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Key highlights6 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Customer concentration

Classification, Details

Segment1 record

Each record includes

Title, Type, Primary, Description, Pain point addressed, Use case, Source

Ideal customer profile3 records

Each record includes

Profile, Firmographic size, Sales motion, Sales cycle length, Buying structure, Purchase trigger, Buyer persona, Geography, Industry vertical, Primary use case, Description, Pain points, Evidence proof points, Target buyer

Technology focused
No
API detail
Has APIbool
No

Docs URL, Description

AI maturity
App detail

Has app

Core technology
Revenue estimate
Valuation estimate
Number of profiles
Profiles1 record

Each record includes

Name, Designation, Designation category, Overview, Profile commentary, Source

Subsidiaries1 record

Each record includes

Name, Acquired on, Relationship type, Type, Business focus

Compliance1 record

Each record includes

Name, Class, Description

Funding overview

Funding stage, Last funding date, Total funding USD

Funding rounds

Each record includes

Round, Amount USD, Date, Pre money valuation, Total investors, Investors, News

Investors

Each record includes

Name, Type, Date of entry, Rounds participated, Website

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

M&A

Each record includes

Name, Acquisition type, Announced date, Completed date, Status, Website, News

Investment

Each record includes

Name, Round, Announced date, Lead investor, Website, News

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

UMSL College of Optometry

Optometric Education and Clinical Eye Careoptometry.umsl.edu

UMSL College of Optometry is the only ACOE-accredited optometry school in Missouri and one of 23 in the U.S., offering a four-year O.D. degree program, postgraduate residencies, continuing education, and patient care through three UMSL Eye Care clinics.

What UMSL College of Optometry does

The UMSL College of Optometry is a constituent college of the University of Missouri-St. Louis, a public state university governed by The Curators of the University of Missouri. It is one of only 23 institutions in the United States holding accreditation from the Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE), and the only optometry school in the state of Missouri. Its core academic offering is a four-year professional program leading to the Doctor of Optometry (O.D.) degree, with an average class size of 48 students and an 8:1 student-to-faculty ratio. The college supplements classroom instruction with a clinical training network of more than 70 externship sites and three UMSL Eye Care clinic locations that serve both patients and students.

The business model is a tuition-based academic revenue model combined with patient service revenue from the three UMSL Eye Care clinic locations. Additional revenue streams include postgraduate Residency Programs (for example, low-vision care specialization) and Continuing Education courses for licensed optometrists. Customer segments split between prospective optometry students seeking a professional O.D. credential and consumer/patient walk-ins seeking eye care services. Pricing is not publicly disclosed and follows standard public university tuition and clinical fee structures. Marketing and student recruitment are conducted through social media (Facebook, Twitter/X, Instagram, LinkedIn), the EyeWire optometry blog, alumni events, and university-wide channels.

The college is currently investing in physical capacity expansion via a relocation to North Campus with new classrooms and lab spaces, and is actively recruiting additional faculty. Notable alumni outcomes include a graduate named NASA's first aerospace optometry fellow, indicating the program's clinical training reputation extends into specialized federal and research domains. As a public, state-governed institution, the college has no private shareholders, venture backing, or external fundraising rounds; growth and investment are funded through state appropriations, tuition, and philanthropic giving channels.

UMSL College of Optometry firmographics

Firmographics
Name
UMSL College of Optometry
Legal name
University of Missouri-St. Louis College of Optometry
Website
https://optometry.umsl.edu
Company type
Public
Operating status
Operating
Headcount range
1–10 employees
Short description
UMSL College of Optometry is the only ACOE-accredited optometry school in Missouri and one of 23 in the U.S., offering a four-year O.D. degree program, postgraduate residencies, continuing education, and patient care through three UMSL Eye Care clinics.
Ownership category
akta.pro rank

UMSL College of Optometry industry classification

Industry
Product category
Optometric Education and Clinical Eye Care
NAICS
Colleges, Universities, and Professional Schools (6113), Colleges, Universities, and Professional Schools (611310), Offices of Optometrists (621320)
SIC
Services-Educational Services (8200), Services-Offices & Clinics Of Doctors Of Medicine (8011), Services-Health Services (8000)
akta.pro primary industry
Schools of Optometry (EDAHAGAN)
akta.pro secondary industries
Optometry Clinics (Primary Eye Care) (HLAKAKAB), Comprehensive Eye Exams & Vision Care (HLAKAKAA), Healthcare & Medical Licensure Exam Prep (USMLE/COMLEX, NCLEX, Dentistry, Pharmacy, PA) (EDANAIAA)

Keywords

  • Optometric education
  • Doctor of optometry
  • Clinical optometry training
  • Eye care services
  • Optometry residency programs

Where UMSL College of Optometry is headquartered

Location

Headquarters

HQ city
St. Louis
HQ country
United States
HQ region
North America

Offices1 record

Markets served

UMSL College of Optometry business model

Business model
GTM type
B2C
Offering type
Services
Cost components
Personnel, Operations, Infrastructure, Marketing or Sales

Distribution channels1 record

Marketing channels4 records

UMSL College of Optometry product offering

Product offering

Core offering

The UMSL College of Optometry offers a four-year professional Doctor of Optometry (O.D.) degree program accredited by the Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE), making it the only optometry school in Missouri and one of only 23 in the United States. The educational portfolio is supported by three UMSL Eye Care clinic locations that deliver patient eye care services while providing hands-on clinical training for students, along with postgraduate Residency Programs and Continuing Education courses for alumni and practicing optometrists.

Product overview

UMSL College of Optometry offers a single integrated educational portfolio centered on its four-year Doctor of Optometry (O.D.) degree program, which is the only accredited optometry program in Missouri. The program is supported by UMSL Eye Care, a patient care service operating at three locations that provides clinical training for students. Additional offerings include Continuing Education courses for alumni and practicing professionals, and Residency Programs for postgraduate specialization. The portfolio functions as a unified educational and clinical ecosystem where the O.D. program serves as the core offering, with Eye Care providing hands-on training and CE/residency programs enabling advanced professional development.

Differentiator

Problem solved

Functional benefit

Brands

  • EyeWire: Optometry Blog maintained by the College of Optometry

Products and services

  • Doctor of Optometry (O.D.) Degree Program A four-year professional program leading to the Doctor of Optometry (O.D.) degree, accredited by the Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE). It prepares students to become licensed optometrists and vision researchers, supported by classroom instruction and 70+ externship sites.
  • UMSL Eye Care
  • Continuing Education (CE) Courses
  • Residency Programs

Companies that use UMSL College of Optometry

Customer profile

Segments1 record

Ideal customer profiles3 records

UMSL College of Optometry technology and API

Technology

Technology focussed No

API detail

Has API
No
API docs
API detail

Core technology

AI maturity

App detail

UMSL College of Optometry partnerships and signals

Strategic signal

Partnerships

One partnership is on record.

  • Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE)coreOthersThe College of Optometry is accredited by the Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE). The accreditation covers the four-year professional program leading to the Doctor of Optometry (O.D.) degree. ACOE is located at 243 N. Lindbergh Blvd., Suite 301, St. Louis, MO 63141.

Scale indicators5 records

Recent moves7 records

Expansion highlights4 records

UMSL College of Optometry competitors and assessment

Company assessment

Direct peers

  • New England College of Optometry: An ACOE-accredited four-year optometry program offering the O.D. degree with affiliated clinical training; comparable as a standalone optometry institution with an integrated care model.
  • SUNY College of Optometry: A public ACOE-accredited optometry college within the State University of New York system offering the O.D. degree and an on-site eye center; directly comparable as a public, dedicated optometry institution.
  • UC Berkeley School of Optometry: A public ACOE-accredited optometry program at a major research university offering the O.D. degree and clinical services; comparable as a public university-based optometry school.
  • Illinois College of Optometry: An ACOE-accredited four-year optometry program conferring the O.D. degree, with an affiliated clinical care operation — directly comparable to UMSL in mission, structure, and product offering.
  • Salus University Pennsylvania College of Optometry: An ACOE-accredited optometry program offering the O.D. degree plus residency and CE pathways; comparable in offering breadth and accreditation profile to UMSL.
  • Southern College of Optometry: An ACOE-accredited four-year optometry program focused on the O.D. degree with its own clinical facilities; comparable as a single-purpose optometry institution with embedded patient care.
  • Indiana University School of Optometry: A public ACOE-accredited optometry school within a major Big Ten university system offering the O.D. degree; directly comparable as a similarly structured public optometry program with a Midwest footprint.
  • Ohio State University College of Optometry: A leading public optometry school within a Big Ten university offering the four-year O.D. program and clinical services; closely comparable in scale, accreditation status, and integrated clinical model.
  • Nova Southeastern University College of Optometry: An ACOE-accredited optometry program within a private university offering the O.D. degree and clinical services; comparable as a dedicated optometry college with a multi-site clinical footprint.
  • University of Houston College of Optometry: A public ACOE-accredited optometry school conferring the O.D. degree with integrated clinical operations; comparable in structure and mission as a state-affiliated optometry college.

Market position

Strengths4 records

Weaknesses4 records

Competitive moat4 records

Key risks5 records

Key highlights6 records

Customer concentration

UMSL College of Optometry social profiles

Digital presence

UMSL College of Optometry compliance and trust

Trust signal

Compliance1 record

UMSL College of Optometry financial estimates

Financial estimate

Revenue estimate

Valuation estimate

UMSL College of Optometry leadership team

Management profile

Number of profiles

Profiles1 record

UMSL College of Optometry subsidiaries and ownership

Company hierarchy

Subsidiaries1 record

UMSL College of Optometry funding detail

Funding detail

Funding overview

Funding rounds

Investors

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

UMSL College of Optometry M&A and investment

M&A and investment

M&A

Investments

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Frequently asked questions about UMSL College of Optometry

What does UMSL College of Optometry do?

The UMSL College of Optometry offers a four-year professional Doctor of Optometry (O.D.) degree program accredited by the Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE), making it the only optometry school in Missouri and one of only 23 in the United States. The educational portfolio is supported by three UMSL Eye Care clinic locations that deliver patient eye care services while providing hands-on clinical training for students, along with postgraduate Residency Programs and Continuing Education courses for alumni and practicing optometrists.

Is UMSL College of Optometry a public or private company?

UMSL College of Optometry is a public company. It is classified as state government owned and is currently operating.

When was UMSL College of Optometry founded?

UMSL College of Optometry was founded in -1. It employs 1 to 10 people.

Where is UMSL College of Optometry based?

UMSL College of Optometry is headquartered in St. Louis, United States, in the North America region.

Who are UMSL College of Optometry's main competitors?

Direct peers on record are New England College of Optometry, SUNY College of Optometry, UC Berkeley School of Optometry, Illinois College of Optometry, Salus University Pennsylvania College of Optometry, Southern College of Optometry, Indiana University School of Optometry, Ohio State University College of Optometry, Nova Southeastern University College of Optometry and University of Houston College of Optometry.

Does UMSL College of Optometry have an API?

No public API is recorded for UMSL College of Optometry.

What industry is UMSL College of Optometry in?

UMSL College of Optometry's product category is Optometric Education and Clinical Eye Care. Its primary akta.pro industry code is EDAHAGAN, Schools of Optometry, with a secondary code of HLAKAKAB, Optometry Clinics (Primary Eye Care). Its NAICS code is 6113 and its SIC code is 8200.

Unlock the full company data

50 free credits on sign-up, no credit card required.

Contact sales