Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE)
ACOE is the U.S.- and Canada-recognized accrediting body for optometric education, certifying Professional Optometric Degree, Residency, and Technician programs through a standards-based review process overseen by the American Optometric Association.
- Company typePrivate
- Founded-
- HeadquartersNot specified, United States
- Headcount1–10
- GTM typeB2B
- OfferingServices
What Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE) does
The Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE) is a private, non-profit accrediting body founded in 1934 and headquartered in St. Louis, Missouri. It is the recognized accrediting authority for three categories of optometric education programs in the United States and Canada: Professional Optometric Degree (O.D.) programs, postdoctoral Optometric Residency programs, and Optometric Technician programs. ACOE holds dual recognition from the U.S. Department of Education (USDE) and the Council on Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA), which confers federal student aid eligibility on its accredited programs and establishes ACOE as the de facto monopoly provider of optometric education accreditation in North America.
ACOE's core product is the accreditation service itself, delivered through a structured process of self-study submission, on-site evaluation visits, and Council review at tri-annual business meetings (February, June, October). Supporting resources include the Policy and Procedure Manual, the ACOE Glossary, and program-specific self-study templates aligned with the 2025 Standards. The organization also maintains public directories of accredited programs and operates a complaint filing and third-party comment system. Standards products were refreshed in 2025 for both OD programs (effective January 1, 2025) and residency programs (effective July 1, 2025).
The business model is fee-based across three revenue streams: one-time application fees ($27,500 per OD program; $2,750 per residency/technician program), recurring annual accreditation fees ($8,145 per OD program; $2,019 per residency/technician program in 2026, with a 3% annual escalator), and site visit cost reimbursements. Governance is exercised through a 13-member Council, of which 11 seats are held by American Optometric Association (AOA) members and 2 by public members, with nominees from ASCO and ARBO. Operations are lean, supported by approximately 5 staff and a single named director.
Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE) firmographics
Firmographics- Name
- Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE)
- Legal name
- Accreditation Council on Optometric Education
- Website
- https://theacoe.org
- Company type
- Private
- Operating status
- Operating
- Headcount range
- 1–10 employees
- Short description
- ACOE is the U.S.- and Canada-recognized accrediting body for optometric education, certifying Professional Optometric Degree, Residency, and Technician programs through a standards-based review process overseen by the American Optometric Association.
- Ownership category
- akta.pro rank
Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE) industry classification
Industry- Product category
- Professional Education Accreditation Services
- NAICS
- Educational Services (611)
- SIC
- Services-Educational Services (8200)
- akta.pro primary industry
- National/Institutional Accreditors (Career, Faith-Based, Distance, etc.) (EDADACAB)
- akta.pro secondary industry
- Accreditation Coordination, Recognition & Meta-Accreditation Bodies (EDADACAH)
Keywords
Where Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE) is headquartered
LocationHeadquarters
- HQ city
- Not specified
- HQ country
- United States
- HQ region
- North America
Markets served
Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE) business model
Business model- GTM type
- B2B
- Offering type
- Services
- Cost components
- Personnel, Operations, Technology or R&D, Marketing or Sales, Others
Revenue model
- Accreditation Application Fees: One-time application fees charged to programs seeking accreditation or preaccreditation. Professional Optometric Degree programs: $27,500; Optometric Residency and Technician programs: $2,750 per program. These fees are effective January 1, 2022.
- Annual Accreditation Fees: Recurring annual fees charged to all programs holding accreditation status. Professional Optometric Degree programs: $8,145; Optometric Residency and Technician programs: $2,019 per program. Annual fees include a 3% annual increase.
- Site Visit Costs: On-site evaluation visit expenses billed to programs. Programs pay for evaluation team members and Council staff expenses following the visit.
Pricing tiers
| Model | Billing | Price |
|---|---|---|
| One time/ perpetual license | Pay-as-you-go | Professional Optometric Degree Programs - Application Fee |
| Subscription | Annual | Professional Optometric Degree Programs - Annual Fee |
| One time/ perpetual license | Pay-as-you-go | Optometric Residency Programs - Application Fee |
| Subscription | Annual | Optometric Residency Programs - Annual Fee |
| One time/ perpetual license | Pay-as-you-go | Optometric Technician Programs - Application Fee |
| Subscription | Annual | Optometric Technician Programs - Annual Fee |
Go-to-market motion1 record
Distribution channels1 record
Marketing channels3 records
Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE) product offering
Product offeringCore offering
The Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE) is the recognized accrediting body for professional optometric degree (O.D.) programs, optometric residency programs, and optometric technician programs in the United States and Canada. It evaluates programs against published Standards through self-study submissions and on-site evaluation visits, grants accreditation or preaccreditation status (Stage One, Stage Two, Preliminary Approval), and publishes directories of accredited programs. Educational institutions pay application fees, recurring annual accreditation fees, and site visit expenses to obtain and maintain ACOE accreditation, which is recognized by the U.S. Department of Education and the Council on Higher Education Accreditation.
Product overview
The Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE) is an accrediting body, not a technology company. ACOE offers accreditation services across three core program types: Professional Optometric Degree (O.D.) programs, Optometric Residency programs, and Optometric Technician programs. The accreditation process involves preaccreditation pathways (Stage One, Stage Two designation, and Preliminary Approval) for proposed programs, and ongoing accreditation for operational programs. ACOE provides supporting resources including the Policy and Procedure Manual, Glossary, self-study templates, and maintains directories of accredited programs. ACOE also offers complaint filing and third-party comment submission services for public oversight. The organization is recognized by the U.S. Department of Education and the Council on Higher Education Accreditation.
Differentiator
Problem solved
Functional benefit
Products and services
- Professional Optometric Degree Program Accreditation Accreditation services for courses of study leading to a doctor of optometry (O.D.) degree. Programs undergo self-study, on-site evaluation visits, and Council review against published Standards (e.g., 2025 Professional Optometric Degree Program Standards effective January 1, 2025). Intended for schools and colleges of optometry seeking USDE- and CHEA-recognized accreditation.
- Optometric Residency Program Accreditation Accreditation services for postdoctoral optometric clinical education residency programs designed to advance the optometric graduate's preparation for patient care services beyond entry-level practice. Programs are evaluated against the 2025 Optometric Residency Program Standards effective July 1, 2025.
- Optometric Technician Program Accreditation Accreditation services for programs (minimum one academic year) that prepare students to work as optometric technicians with a working knowledge of procedures within the current scope of optometric practice. Programs are evaluated against the Optometric Technician Standards effective January 1, 2019.
- Stage One Designation Process Preaccreditation pathway for proposed professional optometric degree programs, requiring a formal letter of intent, needs assessment, feasibility study, and risk assessment. Application fee of $27,500 (Professional Optometric Degree) is submitted in conjunction with the Stage One application.
- Stage Two Designation Process Second-stage preaccreditation pathway for proposed professional optometric degree programs following Stage One eligibility confirmation, involving self-study submission and Council review.
- Preliminary Approval Status Preaccreditation classification granted to professional optometric degree programs demonstrating development in accordance with Council standards, granting approval to begin student recruitment and admissions.
- Complaint Filing Service Service for filing complaints against programs related to ACOE Standards, Policies, and/or Procedures via online complaint form and email. Available to students, the public, and program stakeholders.
- Third-Party Comments Submission Service Process for submission and consideration of third-party comments concerning program qualifications for accreditation status or Preliminary Approval.
- Accredited OD Programs Directory Published directory listing all accredited professional optometric degree (OD) programs at schools and colleges of optometry.
- Accredited Optometric Residency Programs Directory Published directory listing all accredited optometric residency programs.
- Accredited Optometric Technician Programs Directory Published directory listing all accredited optometric technician programs.
- 2025 Professional Optometric Degree Program Standards Standards document establishing the requirements that professional optometric degree programs must meet to be accredited or preaccredited by ACOE. Effective January 1, 2025.
- 2025 Optometric Residency Program Standards Standards document establishing the requirements for optometric residency programs to be accredited by ACOE. Effective July 1, 2025.
Companies that use Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE)
Customer profileSegments3 records
Ideal customer profiles3 records
Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE) technology and API
TechnologyTechnology focussed No
API detail
- Has API
- No
- API docs
- API detail
Core technology
AI maturity
App detail
Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE) partnerships and signals
Strategic signalPartnerships
Five partnerships are on record, tiered core.
- American Optometric Association (AOA)coreAOA is the primary affiliated professional association. ACOE has 11 AOA members on its 13-member Council, indicating a close relationship with the optometric profession's main organizational body.
- Association of Schools and Colleges of Optometry (ASCO)coreASCO nominates 2 doctors of optometry affiliated with optometric education institutions and 2 residency educators to the ACOE Council. ASCO publishes data and additional information regarding schools and colleges of optometry.
- Association of Regulatory Boards of Optometry (ARBO)coreARBO nominates 2 doctors of optometry who are state board members to serve on the ACOE Council, connecting accreditation standards with state regulatory requirements.
- U.S. Department of Education (USDE)coreUSDE formally recognizes ACOE as an accrediting body for optometric education programs through periodic reviews. This recognition is essential for federal student aid eligibility.
- Council on Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA)coreCHEA recognizes ACOE as a reliable authority concerning the quality of education of the programs the Council accredits. ACOE demonstrates compliance with CHEA criteria through periodic reviews.
Scale indicators1 record
Recent moves4 records
Expansion highlights3 records
Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE) competitors and assessment
Company assessmentDirect peers
- Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education (CAPTE): Recognized accreditor for physical therapist education programs (DPT and PTA). Operates a USDE-recognized programmatic accreditation model with similar fee, site-visit, and Council-based governance as ACOE.
- Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA): ADA-affiliated programmatic accreditor for dental education programs, including DDS/DMD programs and dental hygiene/technician programs. Operates the same USDE-recognized programmatic accreditation model as ACOE, with similar fee structures and Council-based governance.
- Council on Accreditation of Nurse Anesthesia Educational Programs (COA): Programmatic accreditor for nurse anesthesia programs, recognized by USDE. Operates a fee-based, Council-governed accreditation model structurally identical to ACOE but for a different healthcare profession.
- Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE): USDE-recognized programmatic accreditor for professional pharmacy (PharmD) degree programs. Uses the same Council governance structure, application/annual fees, and site-visit evaluation process as ACOE for a parallel healthcare profession.
- Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME): Programmatic accreditor for MD-granting medical schools in the US and Canada, recognized by USDE and operating a near-identical fee-based, council-governed accreditation model for professional health-professions degree programs. Closest functional analog to ACOE.
- Accreditation Review Commission on Education for the Physician Assistant (ARC-PA): USDE-recognized programmatic accreditor for PA degree programs. Comparable structure: small staff, professional-association governance, fee-based revenue from accredited programs, and disciplined accreditation/withdrawal process.
- Council on Education for Public Health (CEPH): USDE-recognized programmatic accreditor for schools of public health and public health programs. Comparable model to ACOE in scope (graduate professional health degrees), governance, and recognition status.
- American Osteopathic Association (AOA) — COCA accreditor: The AOA Commission on College Accreditation (COCA) accredits osteopathic medical (DO) degree programs under a structure very similar to ACOE: professional-association-sponsored, USDE-recognized, fee-based, with comparable Council governance and a captive program base.
Others
- National Board of Examiners in Optometry (NBEO): Provides optometric licensure examinations rather than program accreditation, but operates as a closely related optometry-governance organization that consumes ACOE's directory outputs and serves the same professional community.
- Council on Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA): Meta-recognizer that reviews and recognizes accrediting bodies such as ACOE. Not a peer in the competitive sense, but an essential ecosystem participant that determines ACOE's eligibility to operate.
Market position
Strengths4 records
Weaknesses4 records
Competitive moat4 records
Key risks6 records
Key highlights6 records
Customer concentration
Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE) social profiles
Digital presenceAccreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE) financial estimates
Financial estimateRevenue estimate
Valuation estimate
Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE) leadership team
Management profileNumber of profiles
Profiles14 records
Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE) funding detail
Funding detailFunding overview
Funding rounds
Investors
Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →
Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE) M&A and investment
M&A and investmentM&A
Investments
M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →
Frequently asked questions about Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE)
What does Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE) do?
The Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE) is the recognized accrediting body for professional optometric degree (O.D.) programs, optometric residency programs, and optometric technician programs in the United States and Canada. It evaluates programs against published Standards through self-study submissions and on-site evaluation visits, grants accreditation or preaccreditation status (Stage One, Stage Two, Preliminary Approval), and publishes directories of accredited programs. Educational institutions pay application fees, recurring annual accreditation fees, and site visit expenses to obtain and maintain ACOE accreditation, which is recognized by the U.S. Department of Education and the Council on Higher Education Accreditation.
Is Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE) a public or private company?
Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE) is a private company. It is classified as nonprofit foundation owned and is currently operating.
When was Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE) founded?
Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE) was founded in -1. It employs 1 to 10 people.
Where is Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE) based?
Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE) is headquartered in Not specified, United States, in the North America region.
How does Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE) make money?
Three revenue lines are on record. Accreditation Application Fees are the primary driver. The others are annual Accreditation Fees and site Visit Costs.
Who are Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE)'s main competitors?
Direct peers on record are Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education (CAPTE), Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA), Council on Accreditation of Nurse Anesthesia Educational Programs (COA), Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE), Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME), Accreditation Review Commission on Education for the Physician Assistant (ARC-PA), Council on Education for Public Health (CEPH) and American Osteopathic Association (AOA) — COCA accreditor. Others are National Board of Examiners in Optometry (NBEO) and Council on Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA).
Does Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE) have an API?
No public API is recorded for Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE).
What industry is Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE) in?
Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE)'s product category is Professional Education Accreditation Services. Its primary akta.pro industry code is EDADACAB, National/Institutional Accreditors (Career, Faith-Based, Distance, etc.), with a secondary code of EDADACAH, Accreditation Coordination, Recognition & Meta-Accreditation Bodies. Its NAICS code is 611 and its SIC code is 8200.