Developer docs
API playgroundTry for free, no card

Search company profiles

Technical College of the Rockies

Full company profile

uuid025dopt

Namestring
Technical College of the Rockies
Legal namestring
Technical College of the Rockies
Websiteurl
https://tcr.edu
Company typeenum
Private
Founded yearint
1964
Descriptiontext

Technical College of the Rockies (TCR) is a public postsecondary career and technical education institution headquartered in Delta, Colorado, and governed by the Delta County Joint School District #50J Board of Education. Founded in 1974, TCR serves Western Colorado across six primary counties (Delta, Gunnison, Hinsdale, Montrose, Ouray, San Miguel) plus Mesa County high school students through concurrent enrollment partnerships covering 7 counties total. The institution is nationally accredited by the Commission of the Council on Occupational Education (COE) and offers certificate and diploma programs across nine categories: Health Sciences (Diagnostic Medical Sonography, Surgical Technologist, Medical Assistant, Patient Care Technician, Nurse Aide, Phlebotomy), Emergency Services (Law Enforcement Academy est. 1973, EMT, Advanced EMT), Technical Drafting (Basic, Architectural, and Mechanical CADD), Personal Care Services (Barbering, Cosmetology, Esthetician, Nail Technician), Automotive Technology (Maintenance & Light Repair and Automotive Service Technician), Information Technology (Cyber Technician), Construction (Carpentry), Animal Science (Veterinary Assistant), and community courses (Welding, Electrician Apprentice, CPR). Select programs hold additional specialized accreditation such as CAAHEP for Diagnostic Medical Sonography and American Heart Association certification for CPR training.

TCR operates a hybrid delivery model combining on-campus instruction at its Delta main campus with online coursework, hybrid formats, and high school concurrent enrollment channels. Its technology stack includes Canvas (LMS), Populi (student information system), Milady CIMA (digital curriculum for cosmetology/barbering), PowerSchool, and Parchment for transcripts. The institution maintains a website meeting WCAG 2.1 Level AA, Section 508, and Colorado C.R.S. 24-85-101 to 24-85-104 accessibility standards, and deploys a third-party AI chatbot branded "ROX" for student inquiries. Operating on an open-door admissions model with no SAT/ACT requirement, TCR employs 101-250 staff and serves a distributed base of high school concurrent enrollees, adult learners, veterans utilizing GI Bill benefits, and working healthcare professionals pursuing continuing education (IV Therapy for MAs and EMTs).

The institution generates revenue through tuition (programs priced $1,708 to over $17,000 per program), federal/state/local appropriations, federal financial aid administration (Pell Grants, SEOG, Federal Work Study — though it ceased federal student loan participation in 2023), and supplementary revenue from the student-run TCR Salon & Barber Shop and TCR Esthetician Clinic. Multiple external scholarship partnerships (COSI, Colorado DVR, Region 10 Workforce Center, Black Canyon Classic Car Club, Delta Health Foundation, DMEA, Western Colorado Community Foundation, Montrose Community Foundation, BPI Charity) supplement student funding. A Career Board connects graduates with regional Western Slope employers including Mountain West Dermatology and Affordable Appliance.

Short descriptiontext

Technical College of the Rockies is a public postsecondary career and technical education institution in Delta, Colorado, offering accredited certificate programs in healthcare, emergency services, automotive, IT, drafting, and trades across seven Western Colorado counties.

Operating statusenum
Operating
Ownership categoryenum
Headcount rangeband
101–250
akta.pro rankint
HeadquartersAtlanta, United States
HQ citystring
Atlanta
HQ countrystring
United States
HQ regionstring
North America
Markets served

Serves global market

Offices1 record

Each record includes

City, Country, Type, Description, Source

Keyword5 values
career technical education, vocational training programs, workforce credentialing, professional certification courses, postsecondary technical college
Industry2 codes
1Technical Community Colleges (Applied/CTE-Focused)
CodeEDAHADADPrimaryYes
2Workforce Development & Continuing Education Divisions (Noncredit)
CodeEDAHADAGPrimaryNo
NAICS code3 codes
  • Technical and Trade Schools6115
  • Other Technical and Trade Schools611519
  • Professional and Management Development Training611430
SIC code1 code
  • Services-Educational Services8200
Product category
Career and Technical Education
Social media profiles1 record
GTM motion2 records

Each record includes

Type, Description, Source

Revenue model3 records
1Tuition and Fees
TypeSubscription Recurring
Description

TCR generates revenue primarily through tuition and fees charged to students for career and technical education programs. Programs vary in total cost from approximately $1,708 (Phlebotomy) to over $17,000 (Diagnostic Medical Sonography). Tuition is charged per semester with additional fees for programs, courses, testing, and materials.

tcr.edu
2Federal, State, and Local Funding
TypeSubscription Recurring
Description

As a public institution, TCR receives funding through a combination of federal, state, and local sources. Programs are funded through these governmental sources in addition to student tuition. The institution also participates in federal financial aid programs including Pell Grants, SEOG, and Federal Work Study.

tcr.edu
3Salon and Spa Services
TypeTransaction Fee
Description

Student-performed salon and spa services (haircuts, coloring, facials, nail services, etc.) generate revenue while providing hands-on training. Services are priced affordably ($12 haircuts, $30 facials) to make self-care accessible while supporting student learning.

tcr.edu
Marketing channels6 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Stage, Description, Source

Distribution channels5 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Scope, Target buyer, Description, Source

Cost components6 values
Personnel, Operations, Infrastructure, Marketing or Sales, Technology or R&D, Others
Pricing details24 tiers
1Carpentry - High School Only
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

Total: $4,581.64. Does NOT qualify for Federal Financial Aid. Grant and scholarship opportunities may be available.

tcr.edu
2Diagnostic Medical Sonography - 62 credits, 72 weeks, 4 semesters
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

Year 1: $9,977.68 (Sem 1: $5,930, Sem 2: $4,047.68); Year 2: $7,204.95 (Sem 3: $3,135.76, Sem 4: $4,069.19); Total Direct Costs: $17,182.63. Qualifies for Federal Financial Aid (Pell, SEOG, Work Study).

tcr.edu
3Surgical Technologist - 43 credits, 990 hours, 2 semesters
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

Semester 1: $5,344.63; Semester 2: $4,997.80; Total Direct: $10,342.43. Qualifies for Federal Financial Aid.

tcr.edu
4Patient Care Technician - 13.5 credits, 281 hours, 18 weeks
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

Total: $3,569.66. Does NOT qualify for Federal Financial Aid. Grant and scholarship opportunities available.

tcr.edu
5Medical Assistant - 33 credits, 630 hours, 2 semesters
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

Total Direct: $6,229.76. Qualifies for Federal Financial Aid (Pell, SEOG, Work Study).

tcr.edu
6Nurse Aide (CNA) - 6.5 credits, 127 hours
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

Hybrid: $1,906.37. Does NOT qualify for Federal Financial Aid. Grant and scholarship opportunities available.

tcr.edu
7Phlebotomy - 5 credits, 116 hours, 8 weeks
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

Total: $1,708.60. Does NOT qualify for Federal Financial Aid.

tcr.edu
8Law Enforcement Academy - 39 credits, 724 hours, 18 weeks
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

Total Direct: $12,760.42. Qualifies for Federal Financial Aid. Est. 1973 - cornerstone of law enforcement education in Western Colorado.

tcr.edu
9Advanced EMT - 14 credits, 292 hours, 18 weeks
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

Total: $2,882.17. Does NOT qualify for Federal Financial Aid.

tcr.edu
10EMT - 16.5 credits, 337 hours, 18 weeks
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

Total: $3,395.95. Does NOT qualify for Federal Financial Aid. Grant and scholarship opportunities may be available.

tcr.edu
11Basic CADD - 29 credits, 600 hours, 2 semesters
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

Total: $4,825.86. Qualifies for Federal Financial Aid.

tcr.edu
12Architectural CADD - 28 credits, 607 hours, 2 semesters
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

Total: $4,631.21. Qualifies for Federal Financial Aid.

tcr.edu
13Mechanical CADD - 29 credits, 607 hours, 2 semesters
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

Total: $4,837.83. Qualifies for Federal Financial Aid.

tcr.edu
14Barbering - 50 credits, 1,297 hours, 2 semesters
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

Total: $9,740.86. Includes student kit ($1,525). Does not specify Federal Financial Aid eligibility.

tcr.edu
15Cosmetology - 50 credits, 1,211 hours, 2 semesters
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

Total: $10,095.99. Includes student kit ($1,850). Does not specify Federal Financial Aid eligibility.

tcr.edu
16Esthetician - 23 credits, 611 hours, 18 weeks
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

Total: $5,306.09. Includes student kit ($1,190).

tcr.edu
17Nail Technician - 611 hours, 18 weeks
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

Total: $5,342.90. Qualifies for Federal Financial Aid.

tcr.edu
18Maintenance & Light Repair (Year 1 Auto) - 28 credits, 630 hours, 2 semesters
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

Total: $4,985.91. Qualifies for Federal Financial Aid.

tcr.edu
19Automotive Service Technician (Year 2) - 30 credits, 675 hours, 2 semesters
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

Total: $4,943.15. Prerequisite: MLR completion required. Qualifies for Federal Financial Aid.

tcr.edu
20Cyber Technician - 32 credits, 615 hours, 2 semesters
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

Total: $5,710.83. Includes CompTIA A+ ($492) and Network+ ($358) exam fees. Qualifies for Federal Financial Aid.

tcr.edu
21Veterinary Assistant - 31 credits, 611 hours, 2 semesters
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

Total: $5,065.21. Qualifies for Federal Financial Aid (Pell, SEOG, Work Study).

tcr.edu
22Welding (Community Course) - 36 hours
ModelOne time/ perpetual licenseBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

$900 all-inclusive. Max 6 students per session. Does NOT qualify for Federal Financial Aid.

tcr.edu
23Electrician Apprentice - 2 years, 4 semesters
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceMulti-year contract
Notes

Total: $5,451.38 (Sem 1: $1,502.63, Sem 2-4: $1,316.25 each). Evening schedule for working students. Does NOT qualify for Federal Financial Aid.

tcr.edu
24CPR Training - American Heart Association certification
ModelOne time/ perpetual licenseBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

BLS Class: $70; BLS Skills Session: $55 (requires online HeartCode BLS); Heartsaver Class: $90; Heartsaver Skills: $65 (requires online course). 2-year certification. No age restrictions.

tcr.edu
GTM typeB2C
B2C
Offering typeServices
Services
Brand1 of 3 records shown
1TCR Salon & Barber Shop
Description

Professional salon and barber services performed by students under licensed instructor supervision.

tcr.edu
+2 more records
Core offering1 text field

Technical College of the Rockies is a public postsecondary career and technical education institution that delivers hands-on certificate programs spanning healthcare (Diagnostic Medical Sonography, Medical Assistant, Nursing Aide, Phlebotomy), emergency services (Law Enforcement Academy, EMT), skilled trades (Welding, Carpentry, Electrician Apprentice), personal care (Cosmetology, Barbering, Esthetician), automotive technology, cybersecurity, and animal science. Programs combine classroom instruction, professional lab work, and clinical/field internships, preparing students for industry certifications (ARDMS, NRST, RMA, POST, ASE, CompTIA, NCCER, Colorado State Board licensure). The college is accredited by the Council on Occupational Education and governed by the Delta County Joint School District #50J.

Differentiator
Functional benefit
Problem solved
Quantifiable outcome1 value
  • Debt-free education messaging - TCR emphasizes education without student debt burden.
Product overview1 text field

Technical College of the Rockies is a public postsecondary career and technical education institution offering a diverse portfolio of certificate programs and community courses. The college operates as a single unified institution organized around career pathways rather than a platform-plus-modules architecture. Programs span nine major categories: Health Sciences (Diagnostic Medical Sonography, Surgical Technologist, Patient Care Technician, Medical Assistant, Nurse Aide, Phlebotomy), Emergency Services (Law Enforcement Academy, Advanced EMT, EMT), Technical Drafting (Basic CADD, Architectural CADD, Mechanical CADD), Personal Care Services (Barbering, Cosmetology, Esthetician, Nail Technician), Automotive Technology (Maintenance & Light Repair, Automotive Service Technician), Information Technology (Cyber Technician), Construction (Carpentry), Animal Science (Veterinary Assistant), and Community Courses (Welding, Electrician Apprentice). The college also operates two student-run service clinics (TCR Salon & Barber Shop and TCR Esthetician Clinic/Spa) and offers CPR/First Aid certification courses. Programs are accredited through the Colorado Community College System and Council on Occupational Education, with select programs holding additional specialized accreditation.

Product and service19 records
1Diagnostic Medical Sonography (DMS)
CategoryHealth Sciences
Description

A CAAHEP-accredited two-year program preparing students to perform medical ultrasound procedures including abdominal and obstetrics/gynecology sonography, leading to ARDMS board certification. Delivered in 62 credits over 72 weeks across 4 semesters with total direct costs of $17,182.63.

2Surgical Technologist
CategoryHealth Sciences
Description

A two-semester program training students to maintain sterile fields and assist surgical teams through preoperative, intraoperative, and postoperative procedures, preparing graduates for NRST certification. Total direct cost is $10,342.43 across 990 hours.

3Patient Care Technician (PCT)
CategoryHealth Sciences
Description

An 18-week advanced clinical program building on CNA fundamentals with specialized skills in phlebotomy, EKGs, wound care, and rehabilitation support, earning four stackable credentials (CNA, BLS, Phlebotomy, EKG). Total cost is $3,569.66 and does not qualify for Federal Financial Aid.

4Medical Assistant
CategoryHealth Sciences
Description

A two-semester program preparing students for clinical and administrative healthcare roles covering phlebotomy, EKG, sterile technique, medication administration, emergency response, billing, and coding, leading to RMA certification. Total direct cost is $6,229.76.

5Nurse Aide (CNA)
CategoryHealth Sciences
Description

A 6.5-credit program providing 127 hours of training in patient care, mobility assistance, and daily living activities in hybrid or in-seat formats, preparing students for Colorado State Board CNA examination. Total cost is $1,906.37 and does not qualify for Federal Financial Aid.

6Phlebotomy
CategoryHealth Sciences
Description

A hybrid 8-week program providing 116 hours of training in venipuncture, skin puncture, specimen handling, and blood physiology, preparing students for national phlebotomy certification exams. Total cost is $1,708.60.

7Law Enforcement Academy
CategoryEmergency Services
Description

An 18-week full-immersion academy established in 1973 preparing students for the Colorado POST exam, covering 52 academic topics and 3 skills-based areas for careers in law enforcement. Total direct cost is $12,760.42.

8Advanced Emergency Medical Technician (AEMT)
CategoryEmergency Services
Description

A 14-credit, one-semester program building on EMT knowledge with advanced pre-hospital care skills, expanded pharmacology, and IV therapy, preparing students for the National Registry AEMT Exam. Total cost is $2,882.17.

9Emergency Medical Technician (EMT)
CategoryEmergency Services
Description

An 18-week flexible-schedule program following DOT standards, preparing students for the National Registry Certification Exam and Colorado State Board licensing. Total cost is $3,395.95.

10Basic Computer-Aided Drafting & Design (CADD)
CategoryTechnical Drafting
Description

A two-semester program covering 600 hours of instruction in technical drawing, design principles, and both manual and computer-aided drafting techniques using AutoCAD. Total cost is $4,825.86.

11Architectural Computer-Aided Drafting & Design (CADD)
CategoryTechnical Drafting
Description

A two-semester program developing drafting fundamentals, AutoCAD skills, and architectural software knowledge from schematic design through construction documentation. Total cost is $4,631.21.

12Mechanical Computer-Aided Drafting & Design (CADD)
CategoryTechnical Drafting
Description

A two-semester program teaching foundational drafting techniques, deep AutoCAD proficiency, and industry-standard software for mechanical and technical design environments. Total cost is $4,837.83.

13Barbering
CategoryPersonal Care Services
Description

A two-semester hybrid program covering 1,297 hours of hands-on training in cutting, styling, shaving, skincare, and salon management, preparing students for Colorado State Board licensure exam. Total cost is $9,740.86, including a $1,525 student kit.

14Cosmetology
CategoryPersonal Care Services
Description

A two-semester hybrid program spanning 1,211 hours providing comprehensive training in hairstyling, esthetics, and nail care through lecture and hands-on practice in the on-campus salon. Total cost is $10,095.99, including a $1,850 student kit.

15Esthetician & Skin Care Specialist
CategoryPersonal Care Services
Description

An 18-week program covering skin analysis, facials, exfoliation, makeup, waxing, and hair removal, preparing students for Colorado State Board examination for licensure. Total cost is $5,306.09, including a $1,190 student kit.

16Nail Technician
CategoryPersonal Care Services
Description

An 18-week program providing hands-on training in manicures, pedicures, and artificial nail application, preparing graduates for Colorado State Board nail technician licensure exam. Total cost is $5,342.90.

17Maintenance & Light Repair (MLR)
CategoryAutomotive Technology
Description

Year 1 of the automotive pathway covering 630 hours of foundational automotive skills in brakes, electrical systems, ignition, and steering, leading to G1 ASE certification. Total cost is $4,985.91.

18Automotive Service Technician (AST)
CategoryAutomotive Technology
Description

Year 2 of the automotive pathway building on MLR foundation with 675 hours of training in engines, transmissions, electrical diagnostics, brakes, and HVAC, earning ASE Entry-Level Certifications. Total cost is $4,943.15 and requires MLR completion as a prerequisite.

19Cyber Technician
Scale indicator3 records

Each record includes

Type, Value, Description, Source

Partnership4 partners
1American Heart Association
Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

TCR is an AHA-certified training site offering Basic Life Support (BLS) and Heartsaver CPR AED First Aid courses. Certifications are valid for 2 years and meet AHA Guidelines for CPR and ECC.

tcr.edu
2CAAHEP (Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs)
Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Diagnostic Medical Sonography program is CAAHEP-accredited, confirming program meets nationally recognized standards for curriculum, clinical training, faculty qualifications, and student outcomes.

tcr.edu
39.95 Uniforms
Strategic tierMinorTypeChannel Partner/ Reseller/ Distributor
Description

Uniform partner providing TCR-custom scrubs at discounted, tax-free pricing for healthcare program students. Additional scrubs available through this partnership.

tcr.edu
4Sideline BSNSports (TCR Gear Store)
Strategic tierMinorTypeChannel Partner/ Reseller/ Distributor
Description

Online merchandise store for TCR-branded apparel and gear. Students and community can purchase TCR pride merchandise.

tcr.edu
Recent move6 records

Each record includes

Date, Type, Title, Description, Source

Expansion highlight6 records

Each record includes

Type, Description

Market position
Competitive moat5 records

Each record includes

Type, Details

Key risks5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Key highlights7 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Customer concentration

Classification, Details

Named customers3 records

Each record includes

Name, Industry, Type, Use case, Source, UUID

Segment5 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Primary, Description, Pain point addressed, Use case, Source

Ideal customer profile3 records

Each record includes

Profile, Firmographic size, Sales motion, Sales cycle length, Buying structure, Purchase trigger, Buyer persona, Geography, Industry vertical, Primary use case, Description, Pain points, Evidence proof points, Target buyer

Technology focused
No
API detail
Has APIbool
No

Docs URL, Description

Integration21 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Description, Source

AI maturity
App detail

Has app

Feature3 records

Each record includes

Title, Differentiator, Description, Source

Core technology
Revenue estimate
Valuation estimate
Number of profiles
Profiles7 records

Each record includes

Name, Designation, Designation category, Overview, Profile commentary, Source

No data
Compliance12 records

Each record includes

Name, Class, Description

Funding overview

Funding stage, Last funding date, Total funding USD

Funding rounds

Each record includes

Round, Amount USD, Date, Pre money valuation, Total investors, Investors, News

Investors

Each record includes

Name, Type, Date of entry, Rounds participated, Website

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

M&A

Each record includes

Name, Acquisition type, Announced date, Completed date, Status, Website, News

Investment

Each record includes

Name, Round, Announced date, Lead investor, Website, News

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Technical College of the Rockies

Career and Technical Educationtcr.edu

Technical College of the Rockies is a public postsecondary career and technical education institution in Delta, Colorado, offering accredited certificate programs in healthcare, emergency services, automotive, IT, drafting, and trades across seven Western Colorado counties.

What Technical College of the Rockies does

Technical College of the Rockies (TCR) is a public postsecondary career and technical education institution headquartered in Delta, Colorado, and governed by the Delta County Joint School District #50J Board of Education. Founded in 1974, TCR serves Western Colorado across six primary counties (Delta, Gunnison, Hinsdale, Montrose, Ouray, San Miguel) plus Mesa County high school students through concurrent enrollment partnerships covering 7 counties total. The institution is nationally accredited by the Commission of the Council on Occupational Education (COE) and offers certificate and diploma programs across nine categories: Health Sciences (Diagnostic Medical Sonography, Surgical Technologist, Medical Assistant, Patient Care Technician, Nurse Aide, Phlebotomy), Emergency Services (Law Enforcement Academy est. 1973, EMT, Advanced EMT), Technical Drafting (Basic, Architectural, and Mechanical CADD), Personal Care Services (Barbering, Cosmetology, Esthetician, Nail Technician), Automotive Technology (Maintenance & Light Repair and Automotive Service Technician), Information Technology (Cyber Technician), Construction (Carpentry), Animal Science (Veterinary Assistant), and community courses (Welding, Electrician Apprentice, CPR). Select programs hold additional specialized accreditation such as CAAHEP for Diagnostic Medical Sonography and American Heart Association certification for CPR training.

TCR operates a hybrid delivery model combining on-campus instruction at its Delta main campus with online coursework, hybrid formats, and high school concurrent enrollment channels. Its technology stack includes Canvas (LMS), Populi (student information system), Milady CIMA (digital curriculum for cosmetology/barbering), PowerSchool, and Parchment for transcripts. The institution maintains a website meeting WCAG 2.1 Level AA, Section 508, and Colorado C.R.S. 24-85-101 to 24-85-104 accessibility standards, and deploys a third-party AI chatbot branded "ROX" for student inquiries. Operating on an open-door admissions model with no SAT/ACT requirement, TCR employs 101-250 staff and serves a distributed base of high school concurrent enrollees, adult learners, veterans utilizing GI Bill benefits, and working healthcare professionals pursuing continuing education (IV Therapy for MAs and EMTs).

The institution generates revenue through tuition (programs priced $1,708 to over $17,000 per program), federal/state/local appropriations, federal financial aid administration (Pell Grants, SEOG, Federal Work Study — though it ceased federal student loan participation in 2023), and supplementary revenue from the student-run TCR Salon & Barber Shop and TCR Esthetician Clinic. Multiple external scholarship partnerships (COSI, Colorado DVR, Region 10 Workforce Center, Black Canyon Classic Car Club, Delta Health Foundation, DMEA, Western Colorado Community Foundation, Montrose Community Foundation, BPI Charity) supplement student funding. A Career Board connects graduates with regional Western Slope employers including Mountain West Dermatology and Affordable Appliance.

Technical College of the Rockies firmographics

Firmographics
Name
Technical College of the Rockies
Legal name
Technical College of the Rockies
Website
https://tcr.edu
Company type
Private
Founded year
1964
Operating status
Operating
Headcount range
101–250 employees
Short description
Technical College of the Rockies is a public postsecondary career and technical education institution in Delta, Colorado, offering accredited certificate programs in healthcare, emergency services, automotive, IT, drafting, and trades across seven Western Colorado counties.
Ownership category
akta.pro rank

Technical College of the Rockies industry classification

Industry
Product category
Career and Technical Education
NAICS
Technical and Trade Schools (6115), Other Technical and Trade Schools (611519), Professional and Management Development Training (611430)
SIC
Services-Educational Services (8200)
akta.pro primary industry
Technical Community Colleges (Applied/CTE-Focused) (EDAHADAD)
akta.pro secondary industry
Workforce Development & Continuing Education Divisions (Noncredit) (EDAHADAG)

Keywords

  • Career technical education
  • Vocational training programs
  • Workforce credentialing
  • Professional certification courses
  • Postsecondary technical college

Where Technical College of the Rockies is headquartered

Location

Headquarters

HQ city
Atlanta
HQ country
United States
HQ region
North America

Offices1 record

Markets served

Technical College of the Rockies business model

Business model
GTM type
B2C
Offering type
Services
Cost components
Personnel, Operations, Infrastructure, Marketing or Sales, Technology or R&D, Others

Revenue model

  1. Tuition and Fees: TCR generates revenue primarily through tuition and fees charged to students for career and technical education programs. Programs vary in total cost from approximately $1,708 (Phlebotomy) to over $17,000 (Diagnostic Medical Sonography). Tuition is charged per semester with additional fees for programs, courses, testing, and materials.
  2. Federal, State, and Local Funding: As a public institution, TCR receives funding through a combination of federal, state, and local sources. Programs are funded through these governmental sources in addition to student tuition. The institution also participates in federal financial aid programs including Pell Grants, SEOG, and Federal Work Study.
  3. Salon and Spa Services: Student-performed salon and spa services (haircuts, coloring, facials, nail services, etc.) generate revenue while providing hands-on training. Services are priced affordably ($12 haircuts, $30 facials) to make self-care accessible while supporting student learning.

Pricing tiers

ModelBillingPrice
SubscriptionAnnualCarpentry - High School Only
SubscriptionAnnualDiagnostic Medical Sonography - 62 credits, 72 weeks, 4 semesters
SubscriptionAnnualSurgical Technologist - 43 credits, 990 hours, 2 semesters
SubscriptionAnnualPatient Care Technician - 13.5 credits, 281 hours, 18 weeks
SubscriptionAnnualMedical Assistant - 33 credits, 630 hours, 2 semesters
SubscriptionAnnualNurse Aide (CNA) - 6.5 credits, 127 hours
SubscriptionAnnualPhlebotomy - 5 credits, 116 hours, 8 weeks
SubscriptionAnnualLaw Enforcement Academy - 39 credits, 724 hours, 18 weeks
SubscriptionAnnualAdvanced EMT - 14 credits, 292 hours, 18 weeks
SubscriptionAnnualEMT - 16.5 credits, 337 hours, 18 weeks
SubscriptionAnnualBasic CADD - 29 credits, 600 hours, 2 semesters
SubscriptionAnnualArchitectural CADD - 28 credits, 607 hours, 2 semesters
SubscriptionAnnualMechanical CADD - 29 credits, 607 hours, 2 semesters
SubscriptionAnnualBarbering - 50 credits, 1,297 hours, 2 semesters
SubscriptionAnnualCosmetology - 50 credits, 1,211 hours, 2 semesters
SubscriptionAnnualEsthetician - 23 credits, 611 hours, 18 weeks
SubscriptionAnnualNail Technician - 611 hours, 18 weeks
SubscriptionAnnualMaintenance & Light Repair (Year 1 Auto) - 28 credits, 630 hours, 2 semesters
SubscriptionAnnualAutomotive Service Technician (Year 2) - 30 credits, 675 hours, 2 semesters
SubscriptionAnnualCyber Technician - 32 credits, 615 hours, 2 semesters
SubscriptionAnnualVeterinary Assistant - 31 credits, 611 hours, 2 semesters
One time/ perpetual licensePay-as-you-goWelding (Community Course) - 36 hours
SubscriptionMulti-year contractElectrician Apprentice - 2 years, 4 semesters
One time/ perpetual licensePay-as-you-goCPR Training - American Heart Association certification

Go-to-market motion2 records

Distribution channels5 records

Marketing channels6 records

Technical College of the Rockies product offering

Product offering

Core offering

Technical College of the Rockies is a public postsecondary career and technical education institution that delivers hands-on certificate programs spanning healthcare (Diagnostic Medical Sonography, Medical Assistant, Nursing Aide, Phlebotomy), emergency services (Law Enforcement Academy, EMT), skilled trades (Welding, Carpentry, Electrician Apprentice), personal care (Cosmetology, Barbering, Esthetician), automotive technology, cybersecurity, and animal science. Programs combine classroom instruction, professional lab work, and clinical/field internships, preparing students for industry certifications (ARDMS, NRST, RMA, POST, ASE, CompTIA, NCCER, Colorado State Board licensure). The college is accredited by the Council on Occupational Education and governed by the Delta County Joint School District #50J.

Product overview

Technical College of the Rockies is a public postsecondary career and technical education institution offering a diverse portfolio of certificate programs and community courses. The college operates as a single unified institution organized around career pathways rather than a platform-plus-modules architecture. Programs span nine major categories: Health Sciences (Diagnostic Medical Sonography, Surgical Technologist, Patient Care Technician, Medical Assistant, Nurse Aide, Phlebotomy), Emergency Services (Law Enforcement Academy, Advanced EMT, EMT), Technical Drafting (Basic CADD, Architectural CADD, Mechanical CADD), Personal Care Services (Barbering, Cosmetology, Esthetician, Nail Technician), Automotive Technology (Maintenance & Light Repair, Automotive Service Technician), Information Technology (Cyber Technician), Construction (Carpentry), Animal Science (Veterinary Assistant), and Community Courses (Welding, Electrician Apprentice). The college also operates two student-run service clinics (TCR Salon & Barber Shop and TCR Esthetician Clinic/Spa) and offers CPR/First Aid certification courses. Programs are accredited through the Colorado Community College System and Council on Occupational Education, with select programs holding additional specialized accreditation.

Differentiator

Problem solved

Functional benefit

Brands

  • TCR Salon & Barber Shop: Professional salon and barber services performed by students under licensed instructor supervision.
  • TCR Esthetician Clinic
  • ROX

Products and services

  • Diagnostic Medical Sonography (DMS) A CAAHEP-accredited two-year program preparing students to perform medical ultrasound procedures including abdominal and obstetrics/gynecology sonography, leading to ARDMS board certification. Delivered in 62 credits over 72 weeks across 4 semesters with total direct costs of $17,182.63.
  • Surgical Technologist A two-semester program training students to maintain sterile fields and assist surgical teams through preoperative, intraoperative, and postoperative procedures, preparing graduates for NRST certification. Total direct cost is $10,342.43 across 990 hours.
  • Patient Care Technician (PCT) An 18-week advanced clinical program building on CNA fundamentals with specialized skills in phlebotomy, EKGs, wound care, and rehabilitation support, earning four stackable credentials (CNA, BLS, Phlebotomy, EKG). Total cost is $3,569.66 and does not qualify for Federal Financial Aid.
  • Medical Assistant A two-semester program preparing students for clinical and administrative healthcare roles covering phlebotomy, EKG, sterile technique, medication administration, emergency response, billing, and coding, leading to RMA certification. Total direct cost is $6,229.76.
  • Nurse Aide (CNA) A 6.5-credit program providing 127 hours of training in patient care, mobility assistance, and daily living activities in hybrid or in-seat formats, preparing students for Colorado State Board CNA examination. Total cost is $1,906.37 and does not qualify for Federal Financial Aid.
  • Phlebotomy A hybrid 8-week program providing 116 hours of training in venipuncture, skin puncture, specimen handling, and blood physiology, preparing students for national phlebotomy certification exams. Total cost is $1,708.60.
  • Law Enforcement Academy An 18-week full-immersion academy established in 1973 preparing students for the Colorado POST exam, covering 52 academic topics and 3 skills-based areas for careers in law enforcement. Total direct cost is $12,760.42.
  • Advanced Emergency Medical Technician (AEMT) A 14-credit, one-semester program building on EMT knowledge with advanced pre-hospital care skills, expanded pharmacology, and IV therapy, preparing students for the National Registry AEMT Exam. Total cost is $2,882.17.
  • Emergency Medical Technician (EMT) An 18-week flexible-schedule program following DOT standards, preparing students for the National Registry Certification Exam and Colorado State Board licensing. Total cost is $3,395.95.
  • Basic Computer-Aided Drafting & Design (CADD) A two-semester program covering 600 hours of instruction in technical drawing, design principles, and both manual and computer-aided drafting techniques using AutoCAD. Total cost is $4,825.86.
  • Architectural Computer-Aided Drafting & Design (CADD) A two-semester program developing drafting fundamentals, AutoCAD skills, and architectural software knowledge from schematic design through construction documentation. Total cost is $4,631.21.
  • Mechanical Computer-Aided Drafting & Design (CADD) A two-semester program teaching foundational drafting techniques, deep AutoCAD proficiency, and industry-standard software for mechanical and technical design environments. Total cost is $4,837.83.
  • Barbering A two-semester hybrid program covering 1,297 hours of hands-on training in cutting, styling, shaving, skincare, and salon management, preparing students for Colorado State Board licensure exam. Total cost is $9,740.86, including a $1,525 student kit.
  • Cosmetology A two-semester hybrid program spanning 1,211 hours providing comprehensive training in hairstyling, esthetics, and nail care through lecture and hands-on practice in the on-campus salon. Total cost is $10,095.99, including a $1,850 student kit.
  • Esthetician & Skin Care Specialist An 18-week program covering skin analysis, facials, exfoliation, makeup, waxing, and hair removal, preparing students for Colorado State Board examination for licensure. Total cost is $5,306.09, including a $1,190 student kit.
  • Nail Technician An 18-week program providing hands-on training in manicures, pedicures, and artificial nail application, preparing graduates for Colorado State Board nail technician licensure exam. Total cost is $5,342.90.
  • Maintenance & Light Repair (MLR) Year 1 of the automotive pathway covering 630 hours of foundational automotive skills in brakes, electrical systems, ignition, and steering, leading to G1 ASE certification. Total cost is $4,985.91.
  • Automotive Service Technician (AST) Year 2 of the automotive pathway building on MLR foundation with 675 hours of training in engines, transmissions, electrical diagnostics, brakes, and HVAC, earning ASE Entry-Level Certifications. Total cost is $4,943.15 and requires MLR completion as a prerequisite.
  • Cyber Technician

Quantifiable outcome

  • Debt-free education messaging - TCR emphasizes education without student debt burden.

Companies that use Technical College of the Rockies

Customer profile

Named customers3 records

Segments5 records

Ideal customer profiles3 records

Technical College of the Rockies technology and API

Technology

Technology focussed No

API detail

Has API
No
API docs
API detail

Core technology

AI maturity

App detail

Integration21 records

Feature3 records

Technical College of the Rockies partnerships and signals

Strategic signal

Partnerships

Four partnerships are on record, tiered core and minor.

  • American Heart AssociationcoreStrategic or Co-development PartnerTCR is an AHA-certified training site offering Basic Life Support (BLS) and Heartsaver CPR AED First Aid courses. Certifications are valid for 2 years and meet AHA Guidelines for CPR and ECC.
  • CAAHEP (Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs)coreStrategic or Co-development PartnerDiagnostic Medical Sonography program is CAAHEP-accredited, confirming program meets nationally recognized standards for curriculum, clinical training, faculty qualifications, and student outcomes.
  • 9.95 UniformsminorChannel Partner/ Reseller/ DistributorUniform partner providing TCR-custom scrubs at discounted, tax-free pricing for healthcare program students. Additional scrubs available through this partnership.
  • Sideline BSNSports (TCR Gear Store)minorChannel Partner/ Reseller/ DistributorOnline merchandise store for TCR-branded apparel and gear. Students and community can purchase TCR pride merchandise.

Scale indicators3 records

Recent moves6 records

Expansion highlights6 records

Technical College of the Rockies competitors and assessment

Company assessment

Market position

Competitive moat5 records

Key risks5 records

Key highlights7 records

Customer concentration

Technical College of the Rockies social profiles

Digital presence

Technical College of the Rockies compliance and trust

Trust signal

Compliance12 records

Technical College of the Rockies financial estimates

Financial estimate

Revenue estimate

Valuation estimate

Technical College of the Rockies leadership team

Management profile

Number of profiles

Profiles7 records

Technical College of the Rockies funding detail

Funding detail

Funding overview

Funding rounds

Investors

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Technical College of the Rockies M&A and investment

M&A and investment

M&A

Investments

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Frequently asked questions about Technical College of the Rockies

What does Technical College of the Rockies do?

Technical College of the Rockies is a public postsecondary career and technical education institution that delivers hands-on certificate programs spanning healthcare (Diagnostic Medical Sonography, Medical Assistant, Nursing Aide, Phlebotomy), emergency services (Law Enforcement Academy, EMT), skilled trades (Welding, Carpentry, Electrician Apprentice), personal care (Cosmetology, Barbering, Esthetician), automotive technology, cybersecurity, and animal science. Programs combine classroom instruction, professional lab work, and clinical/field internships, preparing students for industry certifications (ARDMS, NRST, RMA, POST, ASE, CompTIA, NCCER, Colorado State Board licensure). The college is accredited by the Council on Occupational Education and governed by the Delta County Joint School District #50J.

Is Technical College of the Rockies a public or private company?

Technical College of the Rockies is a private company. It is classified as state government owned and is currently operating.

When was Technical College of the Rockies founded?

Technical College of the Rockies was founded in 1964. It employs 101 to 250 people.

Where is Technical College of the Rockies based?

Technical College of the Rockies is headquartered in Atlanta, United States, in the North America region.

How does Technical College of the Rockies make money?

Three revenue lines are on record. Tuition and Fees are the primary driver. The others are federal, State, and Local Funding and salon and Spa Services.

Does Technical College of the Rockies have an API?

No public API is recorded for Technical College of the Rockies.

What industry is Technical College of the Rockies in?

Technical College of the Rockies's product category is Career and Technical Education. Its primary akta.pro industry code is EDAHADAD, Technical Community Colleges (Applied/CTE-Focused), with a secondary code of EDAHADAG, Workforce Development & Continuing Education Divisions (Noncredit). Its NAICS code is 6115 and its SIC code is 8200.

Unlock the full company data

50 free credits on sign-up, no credit card required.

Contact sales