Developer docs
API playgroundTry for free, no card

Search company profiles

Crawfordsville Electric Light & Power

Full company profile

uuid000s7z9

Namestring
Crawfordsville Electric Light & Power
Legal namestring
Crawfordsville Electric, Light & Power
Websiteurl
celp.com
Company typeenum
Private
Founded yearint
1890
Descriptiontext

Crawfordsville Electric Light & Power (CEL&P) is a municipally owned electric distribution utility founded in 1890, making it the oldest municipally owned electric company in Indiana. The utility is wholly owned by the City of Crawfordsville and governed by a five-member Utility Service Board appointed by the Mayor and City Council. CEL&P distributes electricity to 6,500+ residential, commercial, and industrial customers within an exclusive franchise service territory in Crawfordsville, Indiana, and operates a 138 kV transmission loop, 13,800-volt distribution system fed by substations, a SCADA system for 24-hour grid monitoring, and Tantalus smart meters with Advanced Metering Infrastructure. The utility divested its 16.5-acre power plant to Sterling Energy in 2013 and now sources wholesale power through the Indiana Municipal Power Agency (IMPA), a joint action agency it co-founded in 1980.

CEL&P generates revenue through regulated rate charges billed monthly to residential, commercial, and industrial customers, with rates set by the Utility Service Board and the Indiana Office of Utility Consumers Counselor. The product portfolio includes core electricity distribution, outdoor security and area lighting, primary power off-peak service, and an Economic Development Rider offering limited-term billing demand reductions to attract new industrial customers. Distribution is direct-to-consumer via the physical grid, supported by an in-person office, drive-thru, 24-hour phone service, and an online bill payment portal (ebiz.celp.com). The utility's branded market position emphasizes rates 10%–20% lower than surrounding towns, a 25–30 minute average outage response time, and an active role in community economic development — including supporting the landing of Tempur Sealy and investing in dedicated feeder lines for industrial customers. CEL&P has historically made annual contributions exceeding $275,000 to the City of Crawfordsville's general fund and continues to expand renewable energy through IMPA solar park development targeting approximately 30 MW of community solar capacity.

Short descriptiontext

Crawfordsville Electric Light & Power is a municipally owned electric distribution utility founded in 1890, serving 6,500+ residential, commercial, and industrial customers in Crawfordsville, Indiana with rates 10%–20% below surrounding towns.

Operating statusenum
Operating
Ownership categoryenum
Headcount rangeband
11–50
akta.pro rankint
HeadquartersCrawfordsville, United States
HQ citystring
Crawfordsville
HQ countrystring
United States
HQ regionstring
North America
Markets served

Serves global market

Offices2 records

Each record includes

City, Country, Type, Description, Source

Keyword5 values
municipal electric utility, electric power distribution, residential electricity service, industrial power services, outdoor lighting services
Industry2 codes
1Electric Cooperatives (Rural/Member-Owned Utilities)
CodeEUADABACPrimaryYes
2Renewable Distributed Generation (Rooftop/Onsite Solar, Small Wind, Small Hydro)
CodeEUACALAJPrimaryNo
NAICS code3 codes
  • Electric Power Transmission, Control, and Distribution22112
  • Electric Power Generation, Transmission and Distribution2211
  • Solar Electric Power Generation221114
SIC code1 code
  • Electric Services4911
Product category
Electric Utility Services
GTM motion1 record

Each record includes

Type, Description, Source

Revenue model4 records
1Electricity Distribution Service
TypeSubscription Recurring
Description

Core revenue stream from supplying electrical power to residential, commercial, and industrial customers within Crawfordsville's service territory. Billed monthly based on rate schedules approved by the Utility Service Board and Indiana regulatory authorities. Includes residential, commercial, and industrial power rate classes.

celp.com
2Outdoor Lighting Service
TypeSubscription Recurring
Description

Revenue from outdoor security lights for residential/commercial use and wide-beam lighting fixtures for industrial applications in parking lots or recreational areas.

celp.com
3Primary Power Off-Peak Service
TypeUsage Based
Description

Off-peak electricity rates offered to help customers reduce energy costs during designated low-demand hours.

celp.com
4Economic Development Rider
TypeSubscription Recurring
Description

Limited-term reductions in billing demands offered to qualifying businesses to attract new industry to the community.

celp.com
Marketing channels5 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Stage, Description, Source

Distribution channels4 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Scope, Target buyer, Description, Source

Cost components5 values
Supply Chain, Operations, Infrastructure, Personnel, Technology or R&D
Pricing details4 tiers
1Residential electricity rates — standard service for individual households.
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceMonthly
Notes

Standard residential rate schedule; average residential customer pays approximately $12.93 more per month following the 2021 rate increase. Specific tier rates not publicly disclosed on website.

celp.com
2Industrial Power Service — electrical service for industrial companies at reasonable rates.
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceMonthly
Notes

Industrial power rates offered at competitive/reasonable pricing; specific rates not publicly disclosed on website.

celp.com
3Economic Development Rider — limited-term billing demand reductions for qualifying new businesses.
ModelOtherBilling cadenceMulti-year contract
Notes

Limited-term rate reductions offered to attract new businesses; eligibility determined on a case-by-case basis.

celp.com
4Primary Power Off-Peak Service — reduced rates during off-peak hours.
ModelUsage-basedBilling cadenceMonthly
Notes

Off-peak hour rates designed to help customers save on energy bills; specific rate differentials not publicly disclosed on website.

celp.com
GTM typeB2C
B2C
Offering typeServices
Services
Brand1 record
1Accelplus
Description

Fiber-to-the-home division providing high-speed internet and digital video services (sold to Metronet in 2014)

celp.com
Core offering1 text field

Crawfordsville Electric Light & Power is a municipally owned electric utility that distributes electrical power to residential, commercial, and industrial customers in Crawfordsville, Indiana. Core offerings include electric power distribution, outdoor security and area lighting, industrial power services, off-peak primary power programs, and economic development rate incentives for new businesses.

Differentiator
Functional benefit
Problem solved
Quantifiable outcome1 of 5 values shown
  • Rates 10%-20% lower than surrounding towns
+4 more records
Product overview1 text field

Crawfordsville Electric Light & Power operates as a single unified municipal electric utility offering core electrical power distribution services. The company's product portfolio centers on electricity delivery to residential, commercial, and industrial customers, complemented by outdoor lighting services, industrial power options, and off-peak pricing programs. Additional services include an online bill payment portal and mobile metering technology for automated meter reading. The utility previously operated Accelplus, a fiber-to-home division providing internet and video services, but sold this business to Metronet in 2014. All services are coordinated through the Indiana Municipal Power Agency for wholesale power supply.

Product and service2 records
1Electric Power Distribution Service
CategoryElectric utility distribution
Description

Core electrical power distribution service providing electricity to residential, commercial, and industrial customers in Crawfordsville, Indiana, via substations, power lines, and metering systems.

2Outdoor Lighting Service
CategoryOutdoor area and security lighting
Description

Outdoor security lights for residential or commercial security and wide-beam lighting fixtures for industrial applications in parking lots or recreational areas.

Scale indicator10 records

Each record includes

Type, Value, Description, Source

Partnership3 partners
Strategic tierMinorTypeStrategic or Co-development PartnerAnnounced on2014-04-05
Description

Metronet purchased Accelplus, CEL&P's cable TV and internet division, from CEL&P for $5.2 million on April 5, 2014. Accelplus had been a $16.6 million fiber-to-the-home project launched in 2007.

Strategic tierMinorTypeOthersAnnounced on2013-12-31
Description

Sterling Energy purchased the Crawfordsville Power Plant (16.5 acres) from CEL&P for $155,000 on December 31, 2013. Eleven CEL&P employees transitioned to become full-time Sterling Energy employees.

Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development PartnerAnnounced on1980-01-01
Description

CEL&P is a member of the Indiana Municipal Power Agency (IMPA), a joint action agency formed in February 1980 with 11 participating Indiana communities. IMPA owns a stake in the PSI Gibson 5 power station and has expanded into renewable energy. CEL&P receives wholesale power from IMPA and collaborates on solar park development, with parks producing approximately 30 megawatts once fully completed.

Recent move8 records

Each record includes

Date, Type, Title, Description, Source

Expansion highlight10 records

Each record includes

Type, Description

Peers8 records
TypeDirect peer
Description

Municipal electric utility serving Richmond, Indiana. Direct structural peer: municipal ownership, IMPA member, comparable customer scale, and similar rate-regulation framework — making operational and economic comparability very high.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Municipal electric utility in Anderson, Indiana. Direct peer — community-owned electric distribution utility of similar size serving a single Indiana city, also part of the Indiana Municipal Power Agency consortium.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Municipal electric utility serving Tell City, Indiana. Highly comparable small-municipal peer operating under similar regulatory and structural conditions to CEL&P, including IMPA-style wholesale arrangements.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Municipal utility in Peru, Indiana. Comparable small-municipality electric distribution operation with similar customer-base size and regulatory framework.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Municipal utility serving Lebanon, Indiana. Direct peer in size, structure, and Indiana municipal-electric operating context; comparable IMPA membership economics.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

Investor-owned electric utility serving Indiana and Michigan, part of American Electric Power. Comparable electric distribution franchise in Indiana but operates at much larger scale under state utility commission (not municipal) regulation — providing a reference benchmark for IOUs competing in adjacent Indiana territories.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

Investor-owned electric utility serving Indianapolis and surrounding central Indiana. Same broad industry (Indiana electric distribution) but operates at substantially larger scale as an IOU, not a municipal — a useful benchmark for retail rate and operational comparisons.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

Large investor-owned electric utility serving most of Indiana outside the Indianapolis metro. Provides a competitive benchmark on rates, reliability, and renewable offerings that CEL&P must position against in economic-development deals.

Market position
Strengths4 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Weaknesses4 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Competitive moat5 records

Each record includes

Type, Details

Key risks6 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Key highlights7 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Customer concentration

Classification, Details

Named customers6 records

Each record includes

Name, Industry, Type, Use case, Source, UUID

Segment3 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Primary, Description, Pain point addressed, Use case, Source

Ideal customer profile3 records

Each record includes

Profile, Firmographic size, Sales motion, Sales cycle length, Buying structure, Purchase trigger, Buyer persona, Geography, Industry vertical, Primary use case, Description, Pain points, Evidence proof points, Target buyer

Technology focused
No
API detail
Has APIbool
No

Docs URL, Description

AI maturity
App detail

Has app

Feature3 records

Each record includes

Title, Differentiator, Description, Source

Core technology
Revenue estimate
Valuation estimate
Number of profiles
Profiles9 records

Each record includes

Name, Designation, Designation category, Overview, Profile commentary, Source

Subsidiaries2 records

Each record includes

Name, Acquired on, Relationship type, Type, Business focus

No data
Funding overview

Funding stage, Last funding date, Total funding USD

Funding rounds

Each record includes

Round, Amount USD, Date, Pre money valuation, Total investors, Investors, News

Investors

Each record includes

Name, Type, Date of entry, Rounds participated, Website

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

M&A

Each record includes

Name, Acquisition type, Announced date, Completed date, Status, Website, News

Investment

Each record includes

Name, Round, Announced date, Lead investor, Website, News

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Crawfordsville Electric Light & Power

Electric Utility Servicescelp.com

Crawfordsville Electric Light & Power is a municipally owned electric distribution utility founded in 1890, serving 6,500+ residential, commercial, and industrial customers in Crawfordsville, Indiana with rates 10%–20% below surrounding towns.

What Crawfordsville Electric Light & Power does

Crawfordsville Electric Light & Power (CEL&P) is a municipally owned electric distribution utility founded in 1890, making it the oldest municipally owned electric company in Indiana. The utility is wholly owned by the City of Crawfordsville and governed by a five-member Utility Service Board appointed by the Mayor and City Council. CEL&P distributes electricity to 6,500+ residential, commercial, and industrial customers within an exclusive franchise service territory in Crawfordsville, Indiana, and operates a 138 kV transmission loop, 13,800-volt distribution system fed by substations, a SCADA system for 24-hour grid monitoring, and Tantalus smart meters with Advanced Metering Infrastructure. The utility divested its 16.5-acre power plant to Sterling Energy in 2013 and now sources wholesale power through the Indiana Municipal Power Agency (IMPA), a joint action agency it co-founded in 1980.

CEL&P generates revenue through regulated rate charges billed monthly to residential, commercial, and industrial customers, with rates set by the Utility Service Board and the Indiana Office of Utility Consumers Counselor. The product portfolio includes core electricity distribution, outdoor security and area lighting, primary power off-peak service, and an Economic Development Rider offering limited-term billing demand reductions to attract new industrial customers. Distribution is direct-to-consumer via the physical grid, supported by an in-person office, drive-thru, 24-hour phone service, and an online bill payment portal (ebiz.celp.com). The utility's branded market position emphasizes rates 10%–20% lower than surrounding towns, a 25–30 minute average outage response time, and an active role in community economic development — including supporting the landing of Tempur Sealy and investing in dedicated feeder lines for industrial customers. CEL&P has historically made annual contributions exceeding $275,000 to the City of Crawfordsville's general fund and continues to expand renewable energy through IMPA solar park development targeting approximately 30 MW of community solar capacity.

Crawfordsville Electric Light & Power firmographics

Firmographics
Name
Crawfordsville Electric Light & Power
Legal name
Crawfordsville Electric, Light & Power
Website
https://celp.com
Company type
Private
Founded year
1890
Operating status
Operating
Headcount range
11–50 employees
Short description
Crawfordsville Electric Light & Power is a municipally owned electric distribution utility founded in 1890, serving 6,500+ residential, commercial, and industrial customers in Crawfordsville, Indiana with rates 10%–20% below surrounding towns.
Ownership category
akta.pro rank

Crawfordsville Electric Light & Power industry classification

Industry
Product category
Electric Utility Services
NAICS
Electric Power Transmission, Control, and Distribution (22112), Electric Power Generation, Transmission and Distribution (2211), Solar Electric Power Generation (221114)
SIC
Electric Services (4911)
akta.pro primary industry
Electric Cooperatives (Rural/Member-Owned Utilities) (EUADABAC)
akta.pro secondary industry
Renewable Distributed Generation (Rooftop/Onsite Solar, Small Wind, Small Hydro) (EUACALAJ)

Keywords

  • Municipal electric utility
  • Electric power distribution
  • Residential electricity service
  • Industrial power services
  • Outdoor lighting services

Where Crawfordsville Electric Light & Power is headquartered

Location

Headquarters

HQ city
Crawfordsville
HQ country
United States
HQ region
North America

Offices2 records

Markets served

Crawfordsville Electric Light & Power business model

Business model
GTM type
B2C
Offering type
Services
Cost components
Supply Chain, Operations, Infrastructure, Personnel, Technology or R&D

Revenue model

  1. Electricity Distribution Service: Core revenue stream from supplying electrical power to residential, commercial, and industrial customers within Crawfordsville's service territory. Billed monthly based on rate schedules approved by the Utility Service Board and Indiana regulatory authorities. Includes residential, commercial, and industrial power rate classes.
  2. Outdoor Lighting Service: Revenue from outdoor security lights for residential/commercial use and wide-beam lighting fixtures for industrial applications in parking lots or recreational areas.
  3. Primary Power Off-Peak Service: Off-peak electricity rates offered to help customers reduce energy costs during designated low-demand hours.
  4. Economic Development Rider: Limited-term reductions in billing demands offered to qualifying businesses to attract new industry to the community.

Pricing tiers

ModelBillingPrice
SubscriptionMonthlyResidential electricity rates — standard service for individual households.
SubscriptionMonthlyIndustrial Power Service — electrical service for industrial companies at reasonable rates.
OtherMulti-year contractEconomic Development Rider — limited-term billing demand reductions for qualifying new businesses.
Usage-basedMonthlyPrimary Power Off-Peak Service — reduced rates during off-peak hours.

Go-to-market motion1 record

Distribution channels4 records

Marketing channels5 records

Crawfordsville Electric Light & Power product offering

Product offering

Core offering

Crawfordsville Electric Light & Power is a municipally owned electric utility that distributes electrical power to residential, commercial, and industrial customers in Crawfordsville, Indiana. Core offerings include electric power distribution, outdoor security and area lighting, industrial power services, off-peak primary power programs, and economic development rate incentives for new businesses.

Product overview

Crawfordsville Electric Light & Power operates as a single unified municipal electric utility offering core electrical power distribution services. The company's product portfolio centers on electricity delivery to residential, commercial, and industrial customers, complemented by outdoor lighting services, industrial power options, and off-peak pricing programs. Additional services include an online bill payment portal and mobile metering technology for automated meter reading. The utility previously operated Accelplus, a fiber-to-home division providing internet and video services, but sold this business to Metronet in 2014. All services are coordinated through the Indiana Municipal Power Agency for wholesale power supply.

Differentiator

Problem solved

Functional benefit

Brands

  • Accelplus: Fiber-to-the-home division providing high-speed internet and digital video services (sold to Metronet in 2014)

Products and services

  • Electric Power Distribution Service Core electrical power distribution service providing electricity to residential, commercial, and industrial customers in Crawfordsville, Indiana, via substations, power lines, and metering systems.
  • Outdoor Lighting Service Outdoor security lights for residential or commercial security and wide-beam lighting fixtures for industrial applications in parking lots or recreational areas.

Quantifiable outcome

  • Rates 10%-20% lower than surrounding towns
  • +4 more outcomes

Companies that use Crawfordsville Electric Light & Power

Customer profile

Named customers6 records

Segments3 records

Ideal customer profiles3 records

Crawfordsville Electric Light & Power technology and API

Technology

Technology focussed No

API detail

Has API
No
API docs
API detail

Core technology

AI maturity

App detail

Feature3 records

Crawfordsville Electric Light & Power partnerships and signals

Strategic signal

Partnerships

Three partnerships are on record, tiered minor and core.

  • MetronetminorStrategic or Co-development Partner · 5 April 2014Metronet purchased Accelplus, CEL&P's cable TV and internet division, from CEL&P for $5.2 million on April 5, 2014. Accelplus had been a $16.6 million fiber-to-the-home project launched in 2007.
  • Sterling EnergyminorOthers · 31 December 2013Sterling Energy purchased the Crawfordsville Power Plant (16.5 acres) from CEL&P for $155,000 on December 31, 2013. Eleven CEL&P employees transitioned to become full-time Sterling Energy employees.
  • Indiana Municipal Power Agency (IMPA)coreStrategic or Co-development Partner · 1 January 1980CEL&P is a member of the Indiana Municipal Power Agency (IMPA), a joint action agency formed in February 1980 with 11 participating Indiana communities. IMPA owns a stake in the PSI Gibson 5 power station and has expanded into renewable energy. CEL&P receives wholesale power from IMPA and collaborates on solar park development, with parks producing approximately 30 megawatts once fully completed.

Scale indicators10 records

Recent moves8 records

Expansion highlights10 records

Crawfordsville Electric Light & Power competitors and assessment

Company assessment

Direct peers

  • Richmond Power & Light: Municipal electric utility serving Richmond, Indiana. Direct structural peer: municipal ownership, IMPA member, comparable customer scale, and similar rate-regulation framework — making operational and economic comparability very high.
  • Anderson Municipal Light & Power: Municipal electric utility in Anderson, Indiana. Direct peer — community-owned electric distribution utility of similar size serving a single Indiana city, also part of the Indiana Municipal Power Agency consortium.
  • Tell City Electric Department: Municipal electric utility serving Tell City, Indiana. Highly comparable small-municipal peer operating under similar regulatory and structural conditions to CEL&P, including IMPA-style wholesale arrangements.
  • Peru Utilities: Municipal utility in Peru, Indiana. Comparable small-municipality electric distribution operation with similar customer-base size and regulatory framework.
  • Lebanon Utilities: Municipal utility serving Lebanon, Indiana. Direct peer in size, structure, and Indiana municipal-electric operating context; comparable IMPA membership economics.

Broad incumbents

  • Indiana Michigan Power (AEP): Investor-owned electric utility serving Indiana and Michigan, part of American Electric Power. Comparable electric distribution franchise in Indiana but operates at much larger scale under state utility commission (not municipal) regulation — providing a reference benchmark for IOUs competing in adjacent Indiana territories.
  • AES Indiana (formerly Indianapolis Power & Light): Investor-owned electric utility serving Indianapolis and surrounding central Indiana. Same broad industry (Indiana electric distribution) but operates at substantially larger scale as an IOU, not a municipal — a useful benchmark for retail rate and operational comparisons.
  • Duke Energy Indiana: Large investor-owned electric utility serving most of Indiana outside the Indianapolis metro. Provides a competitive benchmark on rates, reliability, and renewable offerings that CEL&P must position against in economic-development deals.

Market position

Strengths4 records

Weaknesses4 records

Competitive moat5 records

Key risks6 records

Key highlights7 records

Customer concentration

Crawfordsville Electric Light & Power social profiles

Digital presence

Crawfordsville Electric Light & Power financial estimates

Financial estimate

Revenue estimate

Valuation estimate

Crawfordsville Electric Light & Power leadership team

Management profile

Number of profiles

Profiles9 records

Crawfordsville Electric Light & Power subsidiaries and ownership

Company hierarchy

Subsidiaries2 records

Crawfordsville Electric Light & Power funding detail

Funding detail

Funding overview

Funding rounds

Investors

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Crawfordsville Electric Light & Power M&A and investment

M&A and investment

M&A

Investments

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Frequently asked questions about Crawfordsville Electric Light & Power

What does Crawfordsville Electric Light & Power do?

Crawfordsville Electric Light & Power is a municipally owned electric utility that distributes electrical power to residential, commercial, and industrial customers in Crawfordsville, Indiana. Core offerings include electric power distribution, outdoor security and area lighting, industrial power services, off-peak primary power programs, and economic development rate incentives for new businesses.

Is Crawfordsville Electric Light & Power a public or private company?

Crawfordsville Electric Light & Power is a private company. It is classified as state government owned and is currently operating.

When was Crawfordsville Electric Light & Power founded?

Crawfordsville Electric Light & Power was founded in 1890. It employs 11 to 50 people.

Where is Crawfordsville Electric Light & Power based?

Crawfordsville Electric Light & Power is headquartered in Crawfordsville, United States, in the North America region.

How does Crawfordsville Electric Light & Power make money?

Four revenue lines are on record. Electricity Distribution Service is the primary driver. The others are outdoor Lighting Service, primary Power Off-Peak Service and economic Development Rider.

Who are Crawfordsville Electric Light & Power's main competitors?

Direct peers on record are Richmond Power & Light, Anderson Municipal Light & Power, Tell City Electric Department, Peru Utilities and Lebanon Utilities. Broad incumbents are Indiana Michigan Power (AEP), AES Indiana (formerly Indianapolis Power & Light) and Duke Energy Indiana.

Does Crawfordsville Electric Light & Power have an API?

No public API is recorded for Crawfordsville Electric Light & Power.

What industry is Crawfordsville Electric Light & Power in?

Crawfordsville Electric Light & Power's product category is Electric Utility Services. Its primary akta.pro industry code is EUADABAC, Electric Cooperatives (Rural/Member-Owned Utilities), with a secondary code of EUACALAJ, Renewable Distributed Generation (Rooftop/Onsite Solar, Small Wind, Small Hydro). Its NAICS code is 22112 and its SIC code is 4911.

Unlock the full company data

50 free credits on sign-up, no credit card required.

Contact sales