Developer docs
API playgroundTry for free, no card

Search company profiles

Stafford Railway Building Society

Full company profile

uuid0029b9v

Namestring
Stafford Railway Building Society
Legal namestring
The Stafford Railway Building Society
Websiteurl
srbs.co.uk
Company typeenum
Private
Founded yearint
1877
Descriptiontext

The Stafford Railway Building Society is a UK mutual building society founded in 1877 and headquartered at 4 Market Square, Stafford, England. Authorised by the Prudential Regulation Authority and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority (Registered No. 206063), it is wholly owned by its members and operates as a not-for-profit mutual, reinvesting surpluses into products and services rather than distributing to external shareholders. Its operations are restricted to England and Wales, with a clear focus on Staffordshire and surrounding regions.

The Society's core activity is two-sided: it collects retail deposits through a broad savings product range (instant access, notice accounts from 35 to 180 days, fixed rate bonds, Cash ISAs, Junior ISAs, regular savers, and affinity accounts) and deploys those deposits as mortgage lending across residential, buy-to-let, holiday let, mixed-use, shared ownership, Joint Borrower Sole Proprietor (JBSP), and refurbishment products. Revenue is generated primarily through the net interest spread between mortgage rates (residential SVR 5.10%, BTL SVR 7.15% as of March 2026) and savings rates, supplemented by mortgage fees including £100 application fees and arrangement fees up to £11,565 for BTL products. Distribution combines a single physical branch in Stafford, the SRBS Online digital banking portal, the Intermediaries Hub for mortgage brokers, and an affinity savings programme donating 0.20% of balances to local charities including World Land Trust, Katharine House Hospice, Stafford Rangers FC, and Stafford Rugby Club.

The Society differentiates through manual underwriting and case-by-case affordability assessment rather than automated decisioning, accepting income multiples up to 6.23x, earned income to age 75, mixed-use properties with up to 60% commercial space, holiday let income assessed on a 30-week season, and complex cases (non-standard income, agricultural ties, performing arts professionals) that high-street lenders typically decline. It employs 101-250 staff and is led by incoming CEO Sean Humphreys, appointed in November 2025.

Short descriptiontext

The Stafford Railway Building Society is a UK mutual building society founded in 1877, offering residential, buy-to-let, holiday let, and specialist mortgages funded by retail savings products to individual members across England and Wales, with manual underwriting as its core differentiator for complex cases.

Operating statusenum
Operating
Ownership categoryenum
Headcount rangeband
101–250
akta.pro rankint
HeadquartersStafford, United Kingdom
HQ citystring
Stafford
HQ countrystring
United Kingdom
HQ regionstring
Europe
Markets served

Serves global market

Offices1 record

Each record includes

City, Country, Type, Description, Source

Keyword5 values
retail banking services, savings accounts, residential mortgages, building society, mutual financial services
Industry1 code
1Building Societies (Mutual Mortgage/Retail Banks)
CodeFSABAEAEPrimaryYes
SIC code2 codes
  • Mortgage Bankers & Loan Correspondents6162
  • Savings Institution, Federally Chartered6035
Product category
Mutual Building Society (Retail Banking)
GTM motion2 records

Each record includes

Type, Description, Source

Revenue model3 records
1Mortgage Lending Interest Margin
TypeSubscription Recurring
Description

The society generates revenue primarily through the interest rate spread between mortgage lending rates (including residential mortgages, buy-to-let mortgages, holiday let mortgages, and mixed-use property mortgages) and the savings rates paid to depositors. The Standard Variable Rate (SVR) for residential mortgages is 5.10% as of March 2026.

srbs.co.uk
2Savings Account Deposits
TypeSubscription Recurring
Description

The society collects deposits from savers through various savings accounts, ISAs, and notice accounts, which are then used to fund mortgage lending activities. Interest is paid to depositors, with revenue generated from the spread between lending and savings rates.

srbs.co.uk
3Mortgage Fees and Charges
TypeOne Time License
Description

Revenue is generated from mortgage-related fees including application fees (£100 for residential products), arrangement fees (up to £500 for residential, up to £11,565 for BTL products), valuation fees, and early repayment charges.

srbs.co.uk
Marketing channels7 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Stage, Description, Source

Distribution channels4 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Scope, Target buyer, Description, Source

Cost components5 values
Personnel, Operations, Infrastructure, Technology or R&D, Marketing or Sales
Pricing details24 tiers
1Pullman (Instant Access) - 1.90% AER/Gross Variable
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

Interest rate effective from 23/01/2026. Estimated balance £1,019.00 on £1,000 deposit after 12 months. Minimum balance £1. No notice required for withdrawals up to £500.

srbs.co.uk
2Pullman Monthly Interest - 1.90% AER/Gross Variable
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceMonthly
Notes

Interest paid monthly into nominated bank account. Minimum balance £1.

srbs.co.uk
3Triple Access Pullman - 2.35% AER/Gross Variable
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

Limited access with maximum 3 withdrawals per year. Estimated balance £1,023.50 on £1,000 deposit.

srbs.co.uk
4Notice 35 - 2.50% AER/Gross Variable
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

35 days notice required for withdrawals. Maximum 4 withdrawals per year. Minimum balance £5,000.

srbs.co.uk
5Notice 60 - 2.70% AER/Gross Variable
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

60 days notice required for withdrawals. Maximum 4 withdrawals per year.

srbs.co.uk
6Notice 90 - 3.55% AER/Gross Variable
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

90 days notice required for withdrawals. Maximum 4 withdrawals per year. Minimum balance £5,000.

srbs.co.uk
7Notice 120 - Variable rate (specific rate not disclosed)
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

120 days notice required. Maximum 3 withdrawals per year. Maximum balance £450,000.

srbs.co.uk
8Notice 180 - Variable rate (specific rate not disclosed)
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

180 days notice required. Maximum 2 withdrawals per year. Maximum balance £450,000.

srbs.co.uk
9Cash ISA - 2.25% AER/Tax-Free Variable
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

Easy access tax-free savings. ISA deposit limits apply (£20,000 annual allowance). Maximum balance £450,000.

srbs.co.uk
10Notice 45 Cash ISA - 3.15% AER/Tax-Free Variable
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

45 days notice required. Maximum 4 withdrawals per year.

srbs.co.uk
11Notice 60 Cash ISA - 4.00% AER/Tax-Free Variable
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

60 days notice required. Maximum 4 withdrawals per year. Minimum balance £100.

srbs.co.uk
12Cash ISA Double Access - 4.36% AER/Tax-Free Variable
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

Limited access with maximum 2 withdrawals per year. Account reverts to standard Cash ISA if third withdrawal made. Minimum £1,000.

srbs.co.uk
13Junior Cash ISA Issue 2 - 3.76% AER/Tax-Free Variable
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

For children under 18. Minimum deposit £1,000. No withdrawals until child's 18th birthday.

srbs.co.uk
14Junior Cash ISA Issue 1 - 3.75% AER/Tax-Free Variable
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

Closed Issue. Minimum deposit £1.

srbs.co.uk
15Fixed Rate Bond 30.06.27 - 4.60% AER/Gross Fixed
ModelOne time/ perpetual licenseBilling cadenceMulti-year contract
Notes

Fixed rate until 30 June 2027. No withdrawals after 14-day cooling off period. Minimum £1,000. Maximum £450,000.

srbs.co.uk
16Fixed Rate Cash ISA Issue 2 - 4.41% AER/Tax-Free Fixed
ModelOne time/ perpetual licenseBilling cadenceMulti-year contract
Notes

Fixed rate until 06.05.2027. Minimum £5,000. ISA deposit limits apply.

srbs.co.uk
17Regular Saver Issue 1 - 4.15% AER/Gross Variable
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceMonthly
Notes

Monthly deposits £25 to £1,000. Maximum 4 withdrawals per year. Maximum balance £100,000.

srbs.co.uk
18Notice 180 Monthly Interest - 4.26% AER/Gross Variable
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceMonthly
Notes

180 days notice. Monthly interest paid. Maximum 2 withdrawals per year.

srbs.co.uk
19Notice 120 Monthly Interest - 4.10% AER/Gross Variable
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceMonthly
Notes

120 days notice. Monthly interest paid. Maximum 3 withdrawals per year.

srbs.co.uk
20World Land Trust Affinity - 1.85% AER/Gross Variable
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

Easy access with 0.20% annual donation to World Land Trust. Minimum £100. Maximum £100,000.

srbs.co.uk
21Corporate Pullman - 1.80% AER/Gross Variable
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

For UK incorporated corporate bodies only. Maximum 6 withdrawals per day. Maximum £450,000.

srbs.co.uk
22First Track Children's Saver - Variable rate (not disclosed)
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

Easy access for children. Maximum age to open is 17. Matures on child's 21st birthday. Maximum £50,000.

srbs.co.uk
23Residential Mortgage Products
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceMonthly
Notes

Residential SVR: 5.10% (as of March 2026). Application fee £100. Arrangement fees vary by product. Early repayment charges apply (typically 2% in first 2 years).

srbs.co.uk
24Buy-to-Let Mortgage Products
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceMonthly
Notes

BTL SVR: 7.15% (as of March 2026). Arrangement fees up to £11,565. Application fee £100. Early repayment charges apply.

srbs.co.uk
GTM typeB2C
B2C
Offering typeServices
Services
Core offering1 text field

The Stafford Railway Building Society is a mutual building society that provides mortgage lending and retail savings products to its members. Its mortgage range covers residential, buy-to-let, holiday let, mixed-use, shared ownership, Joint Borrower Sole Proprietor (JBSP), and refurbishment mortgages, while its savings range spans instant access, notice (35-180 day), fixed rate bonds, regular savers, Cash ISAs, Junior Cash ISAs, and affinity accounts that donate to local charities. Distribution combines a single Stafford branch, an SRBS Online portal, postal channels, and a broker intermediary network.

Differentiator
Functional benefit
Problem solved
Quantifiable outcome1 of 5 values shown
  • Residential SVR of 5.10% - among the lowest in UK compared to 7.15% national average
+4 more records
Product overview1 text field

The Stafford Railway Building Society operates as a mutual building society in Staffordshire, offering a comprehensive suite of financial products centered around mortgage lending and savings services. The core product portfolio comprises residential and specialized mortgage products (including buy-to-let, holiday let, shared ownership, JBSP, mixed-use, and refurbishment mortgages) alongside diverse savings accounts (instant access, notice accounts ranging 35-180 days, fixed rate bonds, regular savers, and children's accounts). Tax-free Cash ISA products span standard, notice, and junior variants. The affinity savings program supports local charities including World Land Trust, Katharine House Hospice, Stafford Rangers FC, and Stafford Rugby Club. Digital services include the SRBS Online banking portal and an Intermediaries Hub for broker mortgage applications. The society emphasizes manual underwriting with flexible affordability assessments targeting complex mortgage cases underserved by mainstream lenders.

Product and service7 records
1Mortgages
CategoryMortgage Lending
Description

Residential and specialist mortgage lending products including standard residential, buy-to-let, holiday let, shared ownership, Joint Borrower Sole Proprietor (JBSP), mixed-use, and refurbishment mortgages. Features manual underwriting with flexible affordability assessments, income multiples up to 6.23x, earned income accepted up to age 75, and 90% LTV available on selected products. Distributed in England and Wales through mortgage intermediaries and brokers via the Intermediaries Hub.

2Savings Accounts
CategoryRetail Savings
Description

Retail savings accounts including instant access (Pullman), notice accounts (35, 60, 90, 120, and 180 day notice periods), fixed rate bonds, and regular saver accounts. Available to UK residents through the Stafford branch, SRBS Online portal, and postal applications, with varying interest rates and access restrictions.

3Cash ISA
CategoryTax-Free Savings (ISA)
Description

Tax-free Individual Savings Accounts (ISAs) including standard Cash ISA, Cash ISA Double Access (limited withdrawals), Notice Cash ISAs (45/60/90 day notice), Junior Cash ISA, and Fixed Rate Cash ISA. Subject to ISA annual allowance limits.

4Affinity Savings Accounts
CategoryRetail Savings (Community)
Description

Savings accounts that donate 0.20% of average balances annually to partnered charities and organisations including World Land Trust, Katharine House Hospice, Stafford Rangers Football Club, and Stafford Rugby Club, at no cost to the saver.

5Children's Savings Accounts
CategoryYouth Savings
Description

Savings accounts for children including the First Track Children's Saver (easy access, matures on child's 21st birthday) and Junior Cash ISA (for children under 18, no withdrawals until the child's 18th birthday).

6Intermediaries Hub
CategoryBroker Service Platform
Description

Broker portal providing online DIP (Decision in Principle) submissions, application processing, product transfer services, criteria guides, fair value assessments, and calculator tools for mortgage intermediaries introducing residential and specialist cases to the society.

7SRBS Online
CategoryDigital Banking Service
Description

Online banking portal enabling customers to open savings accounts, view balances, and manage their accounts digitally 24/7.

Scale indicator2 records

Each record includes

Type, Value, Description, Source

Partnership5 partners
Strategic tierMinorTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

The society partners with World Land Trust through an affinity savings account (World Land Trust Affinity). The society donates 0.20% of the average balance annually to World Land Trust at no cost to the saver. This partnership supports environmental conservation efforts.

Strategic tierMinorTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

The society supports Katharine House Hospice through affinity savings accounts (Katharine House Hospice Affinity and Support Staffordshire). A 0.20% annual donation of average balances is made to support hospice care in the local community.

Strategic tierMinorTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Partnership through the Black & White Affinity savings account. Account holders receive a free Stafford Rangers FC home match ticket upon account opening, and 0.20% of average balances is donated to the club annually.

4Stafford Rugby Club
Strategic tierMinorTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Partnership through the Black & Amber Affinity savings account. The society donates 0.20% of average balances annually to support local rugby club community initiatives.

srbs.co.uk
Strategic tierMinorTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Partnership with Support Staffordshire charity through affinity savings account. The society donates 0.20% of average balances to support local community causes.

Recent move6 records

Each record includes

Date, Type, Title, Description, Source

Expansion highlight5 records

Each record includes

Type, Description

Peers10 records
1Cambridge Building Society
TypeDirect peer
Description

Mid-size UK mutual building society providing diversified savings and mortgage products including specialist lending, with a similar member-owned structure and branch-plus-digital distribution model.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Welsh-based mutual building society of comparable scale offering savings, residential and BTL mortgages through branches, intermediaries and digital channels.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Small regional mutual building society offering savings and mortgage products with a comparable emphasis on personal service and members rather than external shareholders.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

Large UK mutual building society with an established complex-case and BTL lending franchise that competes directly for the same intermediary-placed non-standard cases as The Stafford.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Smaller UK mutual building society with comparable residential, BTL and savings product range and similar focus on personal service and intermediary distribution.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Regional mutual building society in the North East with a comparable savings and mortgage product set and member-owned distribution model.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

The UK's largest mutual building society and dominant savings and mortgage brand; sets the competitive benchmark for SVRs, product breadth and intermediary relationships across the building society sector.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

One of the UK's largest mutual building societies, offering a much broader savings and mortgage portfolio but operating the same member-owned, intermediary-distributed model.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Smaller mutual building society with comparable savings and residential mortgage offering and similar reliance on intermediary and direct channels.

TypeDirect peer
Description

UK mutual building society of broadly comparable size, offering residential, BTL and savings products with similar member-owned positioning and complex-case underwriting capability.

Market position
Strengths4 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Weaknesses4 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Competitive moat4 records

Each record includes

Type, Details

Key risks5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Key highlights6 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Customer concentration

Classification, Details

Named customers4 records

Each record includes

Name, Industry, Type, Use case, Source, UUID

Segment6 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Primary, Description, Pain point addressed, Use case, Source

Ideal customer profile4 records

Each record includes

Profile, Firmographic size, Sales motion, Sales cycle length, Buying structure, Purchase trigger, Buyer persona, Geography, Industry vertical, Primary use case, Description, Pain points, Evidence proof points, Target buyer

Technology focused
No
API detail
Has APIbool
No

Docs URL, Description

AI maturity
App detail

Has app

Core technology
Revenue estimate
Valuation estimate
Number of profiles
Profiles4 records

Each record includes

Name, Designation, Designation category, Overview, Profile commentary, Source

No data
Compliance4 records

Each record includes

Name, Class, Description

Funding overview

Funding stage, Last funding date, Total funding USD

Funding rounds

Each record includes

Round, Amount USD, Date, Pre money valuation, Total investors, Investors, News

Investors

Each record includes

Name, Type, Date of entry, Rounds participated, Website

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

M&A

Each record includes

Name, Acquisition type, Announced date, Completed date, Status, Website, News

Investment

Each record includes

Name, Round, Announced date, Lead investor, Website, News

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Stafford Railway Building Society

Mutual Building Society (Retail Banking)srbs.co.uk

The Stafford Railway Building Society is a UK mutual building society founded in 1877, offering residential, buy-to-let, holiday let, and specialist mortgages funded by retail savings products to individual members across England and Wales, with manual underwriting as its core differentiator for complex cases.

What Stafford Railway Building Society does

The Stafford Railway Building Society is a UK mutual building society founded in 1877 and headquartered at 4 Market Square, Stafford, England. Authorised by the Prudential Regulation Authority and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority (Registered No. 206063), it is wholly owned by its members and operates as a not-for-profit mutual, reinvesting surpluses into products and services rather than distributing to external shareholders. Its operations are restricted to England and Wales, with a clear focus on Staffordshire and surrounding regions.

The Society's core activity is two-sided: it collects retail deposits through a broad savings product range (instant access, notice accounts from 35 to 180 days, fixed rate bonds, Cash ISAs, Junior ISAs, regular savers, and affinity accounts) and deploys those deposits as mortgage lending across residential, buy-to-let, holiday let, mixed-use, shared ownership, Joint Borrower Sole Proprietor (JBSP), and refurbishment products. Revenue is generated primarily through the net interest spread between mortgage rates (residential SVR 5.10%, BTL SVR 7.15% as of March 2026) and savings rates, supplemented by mortgage fees including £100 application fees and arrangement fees up to £11,565 for BTL products. Distribution combines a single physical branch in Stafford, the SRBS Online digital banking portal, the Intermediaries Hub for mortgage brokers, and an affinity savings programme donating 0.20% of balances to local charities including World Land Trust, Katharine House Hospice, Stafford Rangers FC, and Stafford Rugby Club.

The Society differentiates through manual underwriting and case-by-case affordability assessment rather than automated decisioning, accepting income multiples up to 6.23x, earned income to age 75, mixed-use properties with up to 60% commercial space, holiday let income assessed on a 30-week season, and complex cases (non-standard income, agricultural ties, performing arts professionals) that high-street lenders typically decline. It employs 101-250 staff and is led by incoming CEO Sean Humphreys, appointed in November 2025.

Stafford Railway Building Society firmographics

Firmographics
Name
Stafford Railway Building Society
Legal name
The Stafford Railway Building Society
Website
https://srbs.co.uk
Company type
Private
Founded year
1877
Operating status
Operating
Headcount range
101–250 employees
Short description
The Stafford Railway Building Society is a UK mutual building society founded in 1877, offering residential, buy-to-let, holiday let, and specialist mortgages funded by retail savings products to individual members across England and Wales, with manual underwriting as its core differentiator for complex cases.
Ownership category
akta.pro rank

Stafford Railway Building Society industry classification

Industry
Product category
Mutual Building Society (Retail Banking)
SIC
Mortgage Bankers & Loan Correspondents (6162), Savings Institution, Federally Chartered (6035)
akta.pro primary industry
Building Societies (Mutual Mortgage/Retail Banks) (FSABAEAE)

Keywords

  • Retail banking services
  • Savings accounts
  • Residential mortgages
  • Building society
  • Mutual financial services

Where Stafford Railway Building Society is headquartered

Location

Headquarters

HQ city
Stafford
HQ country
United Kingdom
HQ region
Europe

Offices1 record

Markets served

Stafford Railway Building Society business model

Business model
GTM type
B2C
Offering type
Services
Cost components
Personnel, Operations, Infrastructure, Technology or R&D, Marketing or Sales

Revenue model

  1. Mortgage Lending Interest Margin: The society generates revenue primarily through the interest rate spread between mortgage lending rates (including residential mortgages, buy-to-let mortgages, holiday let mortgages, and mixed-use property mortgages) and the savings rates paid to depositors. The Standard Variable Rate (SVR) for residential mortgages is 5.10% as of March 2026.
  2. Savings Account Deposits: The society collects deposits from savers through various savings accounts, ISAs, and notice accounts, which are then used to fund mortgage lending activities. Interest is paid to depositors, with revenue generated from the spread between lending and savings rates.
  3. Mortgage Fees and Charges: Revenue is generated from mortgage-related fees including application fees (£100 for residential products), arrangement fees (up to £500 for residential, up to £11,565 for BTL products), valuation fees, and early repayment charges.

Pricing tiers

ModelBillingPrice
SubscriptionAnnualPullman (Instant Access) - 1.90% AER/Gross Variable
SubscriptionMonthlyPullman Monthly Interest - 1.90% AER/Gross Variable
SubscriptionAnnualTriple Access Pullman - 2.35% AER/Gross Variable
SubscriptionAnnualNotice 35 - 2.50% AER/Gross Variable
SubscriptionAnnualNotice 60 - 2.70% AER/Gross Variable
SubscriptionAnnualNotice 90 - 3.55% AER/Gross Variable
SubscriptionAnnualNotice 120 - Variable rate (specific rate not disclosed)
SubscriptionAnnualNotice 180 - Variable rate (specific rate not disclosed)
SubscriptionAnnualCash ISA - 2.25% AER/Tax-Free Variable
SubscriptionAnnualNotice 45 Cash ISA - 3.15% AER/Tax-Free Variable
SubscriptionAnnualNotice 60 Cash ISA - 4.00% AER/Tax-Free Variable
SubscriptionAnnualCash ISA Double Access - 4.36% AER/Tax-Free Variable
SubscriptionAnnualJunior Cash ISA Issue 2 - 3.76% AER/Tax-Free Variable
SubscriptionAnnualJunior Cash ISA Issue 1 - 3.75% AER/Tax-Free Variable
One time/ perpetual licenseMulti-year contractFixed Rate Bond 30.06.27 - 4.60% AER/Gross Fixed
One time/ perpetual licenseMulti-year contractFixed Rate Cash ISA Issue 2 - 4.41% AER/Tax-Free Fixed
SubscriptionMonthlyRegular Saver Issue 1 - 4.15% AER/Gross Variable
SubscriptionMonthlyNotice 180 Monthly Interest - 4.26% AER/Gross Variable
SubscriptionMonthlyNotice 120 Monthly Interest - 4.10% AER/Gross Variable
SubscriptionAnnualWorld Land Trust Affinity - 1.85% AER/Gross Variable
SubscriptionAnnualCorporate Pullman - 1.80% AER/Gross Variable
SubscriptionAnnualFirst Track Children's Saver - Variable rate (not disclosed)
SubscriptionMonthlyResidential Mortgage Products
SubscriptionMonthlyBuy-to-Let Mortgage Products

Go-to-market motion2 records

Distribution channels4 records

Marketing channels7 records

Stafford Railway Building Society product offering

Product offering

Core offering

The Stafford Railway Building Society is a mutual building society that provides mortgage lending and retail savings products to its members. Its mortgage range covers residential, buy-to-let, holiday let, mixed-use, shared ownership, Joint Borrower Sole Proprietor (JBSP), and refurbishment mortgages, while its savings range spans instant access, notice (35-180 day), fixed rate bonds, regular savers, Cash ISAs, Junior Cash ISAs, and affinity accounts that donate to local charities. Distribution combines a single Stafford branch, an SRBS Online portal, postal channels, and a broker intermediary network.

Product overview

The Stafford Railway Building Society operates as a mutual building society in Staffordshire, offering a comprehensive suite of financial products centered around mortgage lending and savings services. The core product portfolio comprises residential and specialized mortgage products (including buy-to-let, holiday let, shared ownership, JBSP, mixed-use, and refurbishment mortgages) alongside diverse savings accounts (instant access, notice accounts ranging 35-180 days, fixed rate bonds, regular savers, and children's accounts). Tax-free Cash ISA products span standard, notice, and junior variants. The affinity savings program supports local charities including World Land Trust, Katharine House Hospice, Stafford Rangers FC, and Stafford Rugby Club. Digital services include the SRBS Online banking portal and an Intermediaries Hub for broker mortgage applications. The society emphasizes manual underwriting with flexible affordability assessments targeting complex mortgage cases underserved by mainstream lenders.

Differentiator

Problem solved

Functional benefit

Products and services

  • Mortgages Residential and specialist mortgage lending products including standard residential, buy-to-let, holiday let, shared ownership, Joint Borrower Sole Proprietor (JBSP), mixed-use, and refurbishment mortgages. Features manual underwriting with flexible affordability assessments, income multiples up to 6.23x, earned income accepted up to age 75, and 90% LTV available on selected products. Distributed in England and Wales through mortgage intermediaries and brokers via the Intermediaries Hub.
  • Savings Accounts Retail savings accounts including instant access (Pullman), notice accounts (35, 60, 90, 120, and 180 day notice periods), fixed rate bonds, and regular saver accounts. Available to UK residents through the Stafford branch, SRBS Online portal, and postal applications, with varying interest rates and access restrictions.
  • Cash ISA Tax-free Individual Savings Accounts (ISAs) including standard Cash ISA, Cash ISA Double Access (limited withdrawals), Notice Cash ISAs (45/60/90 day notice), Junior Cash ISA, and Fixed Rate Cash ISA. Subject to ISA annual allowance limits.
  • Affinity Savings Accounts Savings accounts that donate 0.20% of average balances annually to partnered charities and organisations including World Land Trust, Katharine House Hospice, Stafford Rangers Football Club, and Stafford Rugby Club, at no cost to the saver.
  • Children's Savings Accounts Savings accounts for children including the First Track Children's Saver (easy access, matures on child's 21st birthday) and Junior Cash ISA (for children under 18, no withdrawals until the child's 18th birthday).
  • Intermediaries Hub Broker portal providing online DIP (Decision in Principle) submissions, application processing, product transfer services, criteria guides, fair value assessments, and calculator tools for mortgage intermediaries introducing residential and specialist cases to the society.
  • SRBS Online Online banking portal enabling customers to open savings accounts, view balances, and manage their accounts digitally 24/7.

Quantifiable outcome

  • Residential SVR of 5.10% - among the lowest in UK compared to 7.15% national average
  • +4 more outcomes

Companies that use Stafford Railway Building Society

Customer profile

Named customers4 records

Segments6 records

Ideal customer profiles4 records

Stafford Railway Building Society technology and API

Technology

Technology focussed No

API detail

Has API
No
API docs
API detail

Core technology

AI maturity

App detail

Stafford Railway Building Society partnerships and signals

Strategic signal

Partnerships

Five partnerships are on record, tiered minor.

  • World Land TrustminorStrategic or Co-development PartnerThe society partners with World Land Trust through an affinity savings account (World Land Trust Affinity). The society donates 0.20% of the average balance annually to World Land Trust at no cost to the saver. This partnership supports environmental conservation efforts.
  • Katharine House HospiceminorStrategic or Co-development PartnerThe society supports Katharine House Hospice through affinity savings accounts (Katharine House Hospice Affinity and Support Staffordshire). A 0.20% annual donation of average balances is made to support hospice care in the local community.
  • Stafford Rangers Football ClubminorStrategic or Co-development PartnerPartnership through the Black & White Affinity savings account. Account holders receive a free Stafford Rangers FC home match ticket upon account opening, and 0.20% of average balances is donated to the club annually.
  • Stafford Rugby ClubminorStrategic or Co-development PartnerPartnership through the Black & Amber Affinity savings account. The society donates 0.20% of average balances annually to support local rugby club community initiatives.
  • Support StaffordshireminorStrategic or Co-development PartnerPartnership with Support Staffordshire charity through affinity savings account. The society donates 0.20% of average balances to support local community causes.

Scale indicators2 records

Recent moves6 records

Expansion highlights5 records

Stafford Railway Building Society competitors and assessment

Company assessment

Direct peers

  • Cambridge Building Society: Mid-size UK mutual building society providing diversified savings and mortgage products including specialist lending, with a similar member-owned structure and branch-plus-digital distribution model.
  • Principality Building Society: Welsh-based mutual building society of comparable scale offering savings, residential and BTL mortgages through branches, intermediaries and digital channels.
  • Bath Building Society: Small regional mutual building society offering savings and mortgage products with a comparable emphasis on personal service and members rather than external shareholders.
  • Nottingham Building Society: Smaller UK mutual building society with comparable residential, BTL and savings product range and similar focus on personal service and intermediary distribution.
  • Newcastle Building Society: Regional mutual building society in the North East with a comparable savings and mortgage product set and member-owned distribution model.
  • Hinckley & Rugby Building Society: Smaller mutual building society with comparable savings and residential mortgage offering and similar reliance on intermediary and direct channels.
  • Leeds Building Society: UK mutual building society of broadly comparable size, offering residential, BTL and savings products with similar member-owned positioning and complex-case underwriting capability.

Broad incumbents

  • Skipton Building Society: Large UK mutual building society with an established complex-case and BTL lending franchise that competes directly for the same intermediary-placed non-standard cases as The Stafford.
  • Nationwide Building Society: The UK's largest mutual building society and dominant savings and mortgage brand; sets the competitive benchmark for SVRs, product breadth and intermediary relationships across the building society sector.
  • Yorkshire Building Society: One of the UK's largest mutual building societies, offering a much broader savings and mortgage portfolio but operating the same member-owned, intermediary-distributed model.

Market position

Strengths4 records

Weaknesses4 records

Competitive moat4 records

Key risks5 records

Key highlights6 records

Customer concentration

Stafford Railway Building Society social profiles

Digital presence

Stafford Railway Building Society compliance and trust

Trust signal

Compliance4 records

Stafford Railway Building Society financial estimates

Financial estimate

Revenue estimate

Valuation estimate

Stafford Railway Building Society leadership team

Management profile

Number of profiles

Profiles4 records

Stafford Railway Building Society funding detail

Funding detail

Funding overview

Funding rounds

Investors

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Stafford Railway Building Society M&A and investment

M&A and investment

M&A

Investments

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Frequently asked questions about Stafford Railway Building Society

What does Stafford Railway Building Society do?

The Stafford Railway Building Society is a mutual building society that provides mortgage lending and retail savings products to its members. Its mortgage range covers residential, buy-to-let, holiday let, mixed-use, shared ownership, Joint Borrower Sole Proprietor (JBSP), and refurbishment mortgages, while its savings range spans instant access, notice (35-180 day), fixed rate bonds, regular savers, Cash ISAs, Junior Cash ISAs, and affinity accounts that donate to local charities. Distribution combines a single Stafford branch, an SRBS Online portal, postal channels, and a broker intermediary network.

Is Stafford Railway Building Society a public or private company?

Stafford Railway Building Society is a private company. It is classified as management employee owned and is currently operating.

When was Stafford Railway Building Society founded?

Stafford Railway Building Society was founded in 1877. It employs 101 to 250 people.

Where is Stafford Railway Building Society based?

Stafford Railway Building Society is headquartered in Stafford, United Kingdom, in the Europe region.

How does Stafford Railway Building Society make money?

Three revenue lines are on record. Mortgage Lending Interest Margin is the primary driver. The others are savings Account Deposits and mortgage Fees and Charges.

Who are Stafford Railway Building Society's main competitors?

Direct peers on record are Cambridge Building Society, Principality Building Society, Bath Building Society, Nottingham Building Society, Newcastle Building Society, Hinckley & Rugby Building Society and Leeds Building Society. Broad incumbents are Skipton Building Society, Nationwide Building Society and Yorkshire Building Society.

Does Stafford Railway Building Society have an API?

No public API is recorded for Stafford Railway Building Society.

What industry is Stafford Railway Building Society in?

Stafford Railway Building Society's product category is Mutual Building Society (Retail Banking). Its primary akta.pro industry code is FSABAEAE, Building Societies (Mutual Mortgage/Retail Banks). Its SIC code is 6162.

Unlock the full company data

50 free credits on sign-up, no credit card required.

Contact sales