Mercer University - College of Pharmacy
Mercer University - College of Pharmacy is an ACPE-accredited private college founded in 1903, offering a four-year PharmD, MS and PhD in Pharmaceutical Sciences, and six combined-degree pathways to pharmacy students from its Atlanta campus, with tuition of $20,645 per semester and a regional experiential education footprint across Georgia.
- Company typePrivate
- Founded1903
- HeadquartersMacon, United States
- Headcount—
- GTM typeB2C
- OfferingServices
What Mercer University - College of Pharmacy does
Mercer University - College of Pharmacy is a private, ACPE-accredited college of pharmacy founded in 1903 and operating as a constituent college of Mercer University, with primary instruction delivered from the Atlanta campus at 3001 Mercer University Drive. It serves prospective and current pharmacy students, graduate researchers, and dual-degree seekers through a four-year Doctor of Pharmacy (PharmD) program (155 semester hours, 137 in residence, eight semesters minimum), Master of Science and PhD tracks in Pharmaceutical Sciences, and six combined-degree pathways (PharmD/MBA, PharmD/MPH, PharmD/PhD, PharmD/MS in Pharmaceutical Sciences, PharmD/MS in Health Informatics, PharmD/MS in Pharmacoeconomics and Health Outcomes). The college layers eight certificates of achievement and an Entrepreneurial-Focused Track on top of the core PharmD curriculum to differentiate within the regional private-school segment.
The business model is tuition-driven, charging $20,645 per PharmD semester plus a $150 facilities and technology fee per semester and course-specific fees ranging from $23.95 to $879, with 80% of students receiving some form of scholarship (priority consideration tied to the Priority Deadline). Go-to-market is sales-led recruitment via the centralized PharmCAS application, supplemented by on-campus visits, virtual viewbooks, and information sessions; multi-channel marketing (website, Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, YouTube, alumni newsletter) supports funnel activity, while experiential learning is distributed across APPE sites in metropolitan Atlanta, Chattanooga, Columbus, Macon, and Savannah, plus international placements. Ancillary revenue is generated through cross-college partnerships within Mercer (Stetson-Hatcher School of Business, College of Health Professions, College of Professional Advancement), alumni association programming, and continuing-education offerings.
The college's competitive position rests on a 20-consecutive-year #1 U.S. News & World Report ranking among private pharmacy schools in the Southeast, an active alumni association with structured engagement programs, and a wide experiential footprint. Revenue is not disclosed in the source data, but pricing and curriculum structure imply an institution of modest size by private-pharmacy-school standards. The underlying technology stack is not disclosed; the college's strategic investments are concentrated in curriculum diversification, accreditation maintenance, and alumni-driven admissions support rather than digital platform capabilities.
Mercer University - College of Pharmacy firmographics
Firmographics- Name
- Mercer University - College of Pharmacy
- Legal name
- Mercer University College of Pharmacy
- Website
- https://pharmacy.mercer.edu
- Company type
- Private
- Founded year
- 1903
- Operating status
- Operating
- Short description
- Mercer University - College of Pharmacy is an ACPE-accredited private college founded in 1903, offering a four-year PharmD, MS and PhD in Pharmaceutical Sciences, and six combined-degree pathways to pharmacy students from its Atlanta campus, with tuition of $20,645 per semester and a regional experiential education footprint across Georgia.
- Ownership category
- akta.pro rank
Mercer University - College of Pharmacy industry classification
Industry- Product category
- Pharmacy Education
- NAICS
- Colleges, Universities, and Professional Schools (6113)
- SIC
- Services-Educational Services (8200)
- akta.pro primary industry
- Schools of Pharmacy (EDAHAGAE)
- akta.pro secondary industries
- Healthcare Clinical Professions (CME/CE for Nurses, Allied Health, Pharmacy) (EDAAALAC), Healthcare & Medical Licensure Exam Prep (USMLE/COMLEX, NCLEX, Dentistry, Pharmacy, PA) (EDANAIAA), Pharmaceuticals & Biotechnology (EDABALAU)
Keywords
Where Mercer University - College of Pharmacy is headquartered
LocationHeadquarters
- HQ city
- Macon
- HQ country
- United States
- HQ region
- North America
Offices3 records
Markets served
Mercer University - College of Pharmacy business model
Business model- GTM type
- B2C
- Offering type
- Services
- Cost components
- Personnel, Operations, Marketing or Sales, Infrastructure, Technology or R&D, Others
Revenue model
- Tuition and Fees: The college generates revenue primarily through tuition charges of $20,645 per semester for the Doctor of Pharmacy program, plus facilities and technology fees of $150 per semester and variable course fees ranging from $23.95 to $879.
Pricing tiers
| Model | Billing | Price |
|---|---|---|
| Subscription | Annual | Doctor of Pharmacy (PharmD) per semester tuition |
Go-to-market motion1 record
Distribution channels3 records
Marketing channels8 records
Mercer University - College of Pharmacy product offering
Product offeringCore offering
The College of Pharmacy delivers professional and graduate-level pharmacy education, centered on a four-year Doctor of Pharmacy (PharmD) program complemented by MS and PhD degrees in Pharmaceutical Sciences and a portfolio of combined (dual) degrees and certificates of achievement. Coursework combines didactic instruction with extensive Introductory and Advanced Pharmacy Practice Experiences (IPPEs/APPEs) at hospitals and healthcare sites across the southeastern United States. Programs are accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE) and supported by a Professional Development Network.
Product overview
Mercer University College of Pharmacy offers a comprehensive portfolio of educational programs centered on its Doctor of Pharmacy (PharmD) as the core professional degree. The institution provides multiple graduate pathways including MS and PhD in Pharmaceutical Sciences, as well as combined degree options (PharmD/PhD, PharmD/MS, PharmD/MBA, PharmD/MPH, PharmD/MS in Health Informatics, PharmD/MS in Pharmacoeconomics) that allow students to earn dual credentials concurrently. Additionally, the college offers eight certificates of achievement in specialized practice areas (Academic Pharmacy, Community Pharmacy Ownership, Contemporary Compounding, Geriatric Pharmacy Practice, Leadership in Pharmacy Management, Pediatric Pharmacy Practice, Pharmacy Industry, and Research) and an Entrepreneurial-Focused Track for students seeking innovation and business skills. The portfolio spans undergraduate through doctoral education, combining didactic instruction with extensive experiential training through Introductory and Advanced Pharmacy Practice Experiences (IPPEs and APPEs).
Differentiator
Problem solved
Functional benefit
Products and services
- Doctor of Pharmacy (PharmD) The primary four-year professional degree program that prepares students for pharmacy practice through didactic coursework and experiential learning with a focus on patient-centered care. Requires 155 semester hours (137 in residence at the College of Pharmacy) and 8 semesters minimum.
- Master of Science in Pharmaceutical Sciences A 30-credit laboratory-based graduate degree offering thesis or non-thesis tracks, preparing students for careers in pharmaceutical industry, governmental agencies, or academia.
- PhD in Pharmaceutical Sciences Doctoral research degree program for students pursuing academic or research careers in pharmaceutical sciences with specializations in pharmacotherapeutics, medicinal chemistry, pharmaceutics, pharmacology, or toxicology.
- PharmD/PhD Combined Degree Concurrent PharmD and PhD program enabling qualified students to obtain both degrees in a shortened time, designed for those pursuing academic or research careers.
- PharmD/MS in Pharmaceutical Sciences Concurrent PharmD and MS in Pharmaceutical Sciences degree program offering thesis or non-thesis options for students with exceptional scholarly achievement.
- PharmD/MBA Concurrent PharmD and Master of Business Administration degrees through Mercer's Stetson-Hatcher School of Business, broadening career opportunities in community, industry, or institutional practice management.
- PharmD/MPH Concurrent PharmD and Master of Public Health degrees through the College of Health Professions, preparing students for public health challenges.
- PharmD/MS in Health Informatics Concurrent PharmD and MS in Health Informatics degrees through the College of Professional Advancement, preparing students for roles at the intersection of pharmaceutical expertise and healthcare information technology.
- PharmD/MS in Pharmacoeconomics and Health Outcomes Concurrent PharmD and MS in Pharmacoeconomics and Health Outcomes degrees providing competencies in health care delivery and policy.
- Entrepreneurial-Focused Track Specialized track within PharmD focusing on entrepreneurial innovation, including business courses from Stetson-Hatcher School of Business and community pharmacy ownership training.
- Academic Pharmacy Certificate Certificate of achievement requiring Introduction to Teaching elective and Academic Administration APPE for students interested in academic pharmacy careers.
- Community Pharmacy Ownership Certificate Certificate of achievement for students pursuing community pharmacy ownership, requiring Community Pharmacy Ownership elective and Advanced Community APPE.
- Contemporary Compounding Certificate Certificate of achievement requiring Contemporary Compounding elective and Compounding or Advanced Community APPE with compounding emphasis.
- Geriatric Pharmacy Practice Certificate Certificate of achievement requiring Geriatric Pharmacy elective and geriatrics-focused APPE for students interested in elder care pharmacy.
- Leadership in Pharmacy Management Certificate Certificate of achievement requiring Advanced Leadership elective and Leadership in Pharmacy Management APPE.
- Pediatric Pharmacy Practice Certificate Certificate of achievement requiring Pediatric Pharmacy elective and Pediatrics APPE for students interested in pediatric pharmacy care.
- Pharmacy Industry Certificate Certificate of achievement requiring Pharmaceutical Industry Medical Affairs elective and Industrial Pharmacy Medical and Professional Services APPE.
- Research Certificate Certificate of achievement requiring Introduction to Research elective and Research APPE for students pursuing research careers.
Quantifiable outcome
- 155 semester hours required for PharmD degree completion
- +2 more outcomes
Companies that use Mercer University - College of Pharmacy
Customer profileSegments3 records
Ideal customer profiles3 records
Mercer University - College of Pharmacy technology and API
TechnologyTechnology focussed No
API detail
- Has API
- No
- API docs
- API detail
Core technology
AI maturity
App detail
Mercer University - College of Pharmacy partnerships and signals
Strategic signalPartnerships
Five partnerships are on record, tiered core and minor.
- College of Professional Advancement (Mercer University)coreCollaborative partnership for the combined PharmD/MS in Health Informatics degree program. Students integrate knowledge from both health science and technology domains to address modern healthcare challenges.
- Stetson-Hatcher School of Business (Mercer University)coreCollaboration for the combined PharmD/MBA degree program. MBA courses are offered through the School of Business to complement pharmacy education for careers in community, industry, or institutional practice management.
- College of Health Professions (Mercer University)corePartnership for the combined PharmD/MPH (Master of Public Health) degree. Designed to transform students into public health professionals ready to tackle complex health issues including healthcare access, infectious diseases, and health equity.
- Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE)coreThe Doctor of Pharmacy Program is accredited by ACPE, located at 190 S. LaSalle Street, Suite 2850, Chicago, IL 60603.
- World Education Services (WES)minorPreferred professional evaluation service for evaluating international credentials for admissions purposes.
Scale indicators3 records
Recent moves6 records
Expansion highlights5 records
Mercer University - College of Pharmacy competitors and assessment
Company assessmentDirect peers
- Drake University College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences: Private Midwest pharmacy school offering PharmD and combined degrees. Comparable private-school pharmacy education model with similar tuition dependence and program structure to Mercer.
- South University School of Pharmacy: Private ACPE-accredited pharmacy school with a Savannah, GA campus overlapping Mercer's Southeast catchment area. Competes for similar Southeast applicants with comparable tuition and program structure.
- Samford University McWhorter School of Pharmacy: Private ACPE-accredited pharmacy school in Birmingham, AL, offering the PharmD and dual-degree pathways. Directly competes with Mercer for Southeast private-school applicants and shares the same accreditation and experiential-training structure.
- Palm Beach Atlantic University Gregory School of Pharmacy: Private Florida pharmacy school with ACPE-accredited PharmD. Competes for Southeast private-school applicants, particularly those seeking Florida experiential placements.
- Lipscomb University College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences: Private Nashville pharmacy school offering PharmD and dual-degree programs. Direct Southeast private peer competing for the same applicant pool as Mercer.
- St. John Fisher University Wegmans School of Pharmacy: Private Rochester, NY pharmacy school with ACPE-accredited PharmD. Comparable private-school peer for out-of-region applicants evaluating multiple private pharmacy programs.
- Creighton University School of Pharmacy and Health Professions: Jesuit private pharmacy school in Omaha, NE, with strong PharmD and dual-degree offerings. Out-of-region private peer competing for national applicants who consider multiple ACPE-accredited programs.
- Belmont University College of Pharmacy: Private Nashville-based pharmacy school with ACPE-accredited PharmD program. Competes head-to-head with Mercer for Southeast private pharmacy applicants and serves a similar student demographic.
Regional players
- University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy: Top-ranked public pharmacy school in Lexington, KY, drawing Southeast applicants willing to consider public alternatives. Regional benchmark for applicant diversion and program reputation.
- University of Georgia College of Pharmacy: Public flagship pharmacy school in Georgia (Athens). Competes with Mercer for Georgia-resident applicants but at a lower in-state tuition tier; relevant regional benchmark for in-state yield and applicant diversion.
Market position
Strengths5 records
Weaknesses5 records
Competitive moat5 records
Key risks6 records
Key highlights7 records
Customer concentration
Mercer University - College of Pharmacy social profiles
Digital presenceMercer University - College of Pharmacy compliance and trust
Trust signalCompliance1 record
Mercer University - College of Pharmacy financial estimates
Financial estimateRevenue estimate
Valuation estimate
Mercer University - College of Pharmacy leadership team
Management profileNumber of profiles
Profiles6 records
Mercer University - College of Pharmacy funding detail
Funding detailFunding overview
Funding rounds
Investors
Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →
Mercer University - College of Pharmacy M&A and investment
M&A and investmentM&A
Investments
M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →
Frequently asked questions about Mercer University - College of Pharmacy
What does Mercer University - College of Pharmacy do?
The College of Pharmacy delivers professional and graduate-level pharmacy education, centered on a four-year Doctor of Pharmacy (PharmD) program complemented by MS and PhD degrees in Pharmaceutical Sciences and a portfolio of combined (dual) degrees and certificates of achievement. Coursework combines didactic instruction with extensive Introductory and Advanced Pharmacy Practice Experiences (IPPEs/APPEs) at hospitals and healthcare sites across the southeastern United States. Programs are accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE) and supported by a Professional Development Network.
Is Mercer University - College of Pharmacy a public or private company?
Mercer University - College of Pharmacy is a private company. It is classified as nonprofit foundation owned and is currently operating.
When was Mercer University - College of Pharmacy founded?
Mercer University - College of Pharmacy was founded in 1903.
Where is Mercer University - College of Pharmacy based?
Mercer University - College of Pharmacy is headquartered in Macon, United States, in the North America region.
How does Mercer University - College of Pharmacy make money?
One revenue line is on record: tuition and Fees.
Who are Mercer University - College of Pharmacy's main competitors?
Direct peers on record are Drake University College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences, South University School of Pharmacy, Samford University McWhorter School of Pharmacy, Palm Beach Atlantic University Gregory School of Pharmacy, Lipscomb University College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences, St. John Fisher University Wegmans School of Pharmacy, Creighton University School of Pharmacy and Health Professions and Belmont University College of Pharmacy. Regional players are University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy and University of Georgia College of Pharmacy.
Does Mercer University - College of Pharmacy have an API?
No public API is recorded for Mercer University - College of Pharmacy.
What industry is Mercer University - College of Pharmacy in?
Mercer University - College of Pharmacy's product category is Pharmacy Education. Its primary akta.pro industry code is EDAHAGAE, Schools of Pharmacy, with a secondary code of EDAAALAC, Healthcare Clinical Professions (CME/CE for Nurses, Allied Health, Pharmacy). Its NAICS code is 6113 and its SIC code is 8200.