Developer docs
API playgroundTry for free, no card

Search company profiles

Kandiyohi Power Cooperative

Full company profile

uuid002w832

Namestring
Kandiyohi Power Cooperative
Legal namestring
Kandiyohi Power Cooperative
Websiteurl
kpcoop.com
Company typeenum
Private
Founded yearint
1935
Descriptiontext

Kandiyohi Power Cooperative (KPC) is a member-owned electric distribution cooperative founded in 1935 and headquartered in Spicer, Minnesota, that delivers electricity to approximately 9,038 member-owners across four counties in west central Minnesota (Kandiyohi, Chippewa, Stearns, and Swift). It operates 1,627 miles of distribution line, 10 substations, and serves 9,019 active meters with a staff of 25 full-time employees. As a regulated distribution utility under an exclusive service-territory franchise, KPC's core function is last-mile electricity delivery, with members receiving both energy supply and democratic governance rights.

KPC's technology base comprises conventional electric distribution assets (power lines, poles, transformers, substations, and smart metering) plus a member-facing digital layer built around the SmartHub online and mobile platform for bill payment, outage reporting, energy-usage viewing, and account management. Around this core, KPC has assembled a portfolio of member programs: a 62 kW Community Solar array (160 TenKSolar panels, contracts running through 2039), the Wellspring Wind Energy program sourcing from multiple wind farms via Great River Energy, EV off-peak and time-of-use rates, Air Source Heat Pump rebates ($550-$1,000), distributed generation interconnection through the NOVA Power Portal, the Together We Save energy conservation program, and Inflation Reduction Act educational resources. KPC also co-owns Heartland Security, a home and business security provider jointly controlled with 12 other rural electric cooperatives.

KPC's business model is a classic cost-of-service cooperative model. Revenue is generated primarily through a fixed monthly Access Charge ($61.04/month for Standard Residential in 2026, up from $49.59) plus variable per-kWh energy charges, with revenue decoupled from sales to ensure fixed-cost recovery regardless of consumption fluctuations. KPC purchases wholesale power from Great River Energy, a not-for-profit generation and transmission cooperative serving 1.7 million people through 27 member-owner cooperatives, and benefits from Great River Energy's portfolio including the 200 MW Emmons-Logan wind farm. Margins are returned to members through capital credits rather than external shareholders. Members are acquired through geographic location within the exclusive service territory, with engagement driven by annual meetings, board elections, the Kilowatt newsletter, community events (Youth Tour, Trunk or Treat, Watt's Up), and the Touchstone Energy national brand.

Short descriptiontext

Kandiyohi Power Cooperative is a member-owned electric distribution cooperative serving approximately 9,038 member-owners across four counties in west central Minnesota via 1,627 miles of line, 10 substations, and 25 employees.

Operating statusenum
Operating
Ownership categoryenum
Headcount rangeband
11–50
akta.pro rankint
HeadquartersSpicer, United States
HQ citystring
Spicer
HQ countrystring
United States
HQ regionstring
North America
Markets served

Serves global market

Offices1 record

Each record includes

City, Country, Type, Description, Source

Keyword5 values
rural electric distribution, member-owned cooperative, community solar programs, wind energy programs, energy efficiency rebates
Industry4 codes
1Electric Cooperatives (Rural/Member-Owned Utilities)
CodeEUADABACPrimaryYes
2Community Solar Development & Subscription Management
CodeEUAMAJAAPrimaryNo
3Distributed Generation (DG) Solar & Small Wind
CodeEUAMAJADPrimaryNo
4Community Microgrids & Shared Distributed Generation
CodeEUACALACPrimaryNo
NAICS code2 codes
  • Electric Power Distribution221122
  • Electric Power Transmission, Control, and Distribution22112
SIC code1 code
  • Electric Services4911
Product category
Rural Electric Distribution
Social media profiles1 record
GTM motion2 records

Each record includes

Type, Description, Source

Revenue model4 records
1Electric Service Revenue
TypeSubscription Recurring
Description

Revenue from providing electricity to approximately 9,000 member-owners across four counties. The revenue structure includes a fixed monthly Access Charge and variable per-kWh (energy usage) charges. Revenue is decoupled from sales to ensure fixed cost recovery regardless of consumption fluctuations. Revenue increased approximately 5.07% year-over-year effective 2026.

kpcoop.com
2Fixed Access Charge
TypeSubscription Recurring
Description

Monthly fixed fee charged to all members to recover essential non-energy-related costs of delivering power (poles, wires, transformers, meters, substations, fleet, administrative support). The 2026 Standard Residential Access Charge is $61.04/month, up from $49.59.

kpcoop.com
3Heartland Security
TypeManaged Services
Description

Kandiyohi Power Cooperative is one of 13 rural electric cooperative owners of Heartland Security, a home and business security systems provider. Revenue contribution not disclosed.

kpcoop.com
4Minnesota e-Bike Rebate Program Administration
TypeTransaction Fee
Description

The cooperative facilitates the state's e-bike rebate program which provides up to $1,500 discounts on qualifying e-bikes. Total program limited to $2 million per year in 2024-2025.

kpcoop.com
Marketing channels9 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Stage, Description, Source

Distribution channels5 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Scope, Target buyer, Description, Source

Cost components5 values
Infrastructure, Operations, Personnel, Supply Chain, Technology or R&D
Pricing details7 tiers
1Standard Residential Access Charge 2026
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceMonthly
Notes

Access Charge increases from $49.59 to $61.04 per month for Standard Residential class. kWh and demand charges remain unchanged. Larger service classes (commercial) pay higher Access Charges proportional to their cost to serve.

kpcoop.com
2Average Residential Bill Impact (1,100 kWh/month)
ModelUsage-basedBilling cadenceMonthly
Notes

Average member using 1,100 kWh/month sees 6.7% total bill increase. Member using 2,000 kWh/month sees 4.2% increase. Impact varies by usage level.

kpcoop.com
3ASHP Rebate - Ducted Air Source Heat Pump
ModelOtherBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

High Efficiency ducted ASHP rebate: $750. Premium Efficiency ducted ASHP rebate: $1,000. Equipment must be purchased and installed in May, June, July, or August 2026. Quality Installation required. ≤5 ton capacity.

kpcoop.com
4ASHP Rebate - Ductless Air Source Heat Pump
ModelOtherBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

Ductless ASHP rebate for members whose Primary Heat Source is Delivered Fuels: $550. Primary Heat Source is Electric Heat: $700. Requirements: >1 ton & ≥14.3 SEER2 & ≥7.5 HSPF2. Limited funds awarded on first-come, first-served basis.

kpcoop.com
5Wellspring Wind Energy Program
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceMonthly
Notes

Members purchase wind energy in blocks of 100 kWh each month at a premium rate of $0.45 per block. Minimum one-year commitment. Members can purchase one block or enough to cover average monthly usage.

kpcoop.com
6Minnesota e-Bike Rebate
ModelOtherBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

Rebate of 50-75% of qualifying e-bike purchase price, up to $1,500 maximum. Income-dependent discount levels. Total program limited to $2 million per year in 2024 and 2025. Rebate cannot exceed the price of the e-bike.

kpcoop.com
7Community Solar Program
ModelUnit PricingBilling cadenceMonthly
Notes

Members license output of individual solar panels. Members may purchase multiple panels up to their 12-month average usage. Contract term through fall 2039. Estimated annual output ~480 kWh per panel. Members must be KPC members to participate. Contact KPC for pricing.

kpcoop.com
GTM typeB2C
B2C
Offering typeServices
Services
Brand1 of 2 records shown
1Heartland Security
Description

A security systems provider owned by 13 rural electric cooperatives including Kandiyohi Power Cooperative. Offers custom home and business security systems, protecting over 8,000 families and businesses in the Midwest.

kpcoop.com
+1 more record
Core offering1 text field

Kandiyohi Power Cooperative is a member-owned electric distribution cooperative that delivers electricity to approximately 9,038 member-owners across four West Central Minnesota counties through 1,627 miles of distribution line. The cooperative offers fixed monthly Access Charges plus usage-based billing, renewable energy programs (Community Solar, Wellspring Wind Energy), distributed generation interconnection, electric vehicle programs, energy efficiency rebates, and security services through the Heartland Security partnership, all managed via the SmartHub digital platform.

Differentiator
Functional benefit
Problem solved
Quantifiable outcome1 of 4 values shown
  • 5.07% effective year-over-year total electric revenue increase in 2026
+3 more records
Product overview1 text field

Kandiyohi Power Cooperative is a member-owned electric distribution utility serving approximately 8,900 members across four Minnesota counties. The cooperative offers a unified portfolio of energy services centered on electricity distribution, supplemented by renewable energy programs (Community Solar, Wellspring Wind Energy), energy efficiency initiatives (Together We Save, ASHP rebates), distributed generation interconnection, and an Electric Vehicle program. SmartHub serves as the member-facing digital portal for account management, bill payment, and service requests. Additional services include Heartland Security (home and business security systems) and educational programs like Youth Tour. The cooperative's offerings function as integrated services within a single-member cooperative model rather than a platform-plus-modules software architecture.

Product and service2 records
1Electric Distribution Service
CategoryElectric Distribution
Description

Core regulated electricity distribution service delivering power to approximately 9,038 member-owners across Kandiyohi, Chippewa, Stearns, and Swift counties in West Central Minnesota through 1,627 miles of line and 10 substations. Members are billed via fixed monthly Access Charges plus variable per-kWh usage charges.

2SmartHub Member Digital Platform
Description

Online and mobile self-service platform enabling members to pay bills, view energy usage, report outages, manage accounts, and contact the cooperative. Accessible via web and mobile apps.

Scale indicator9 records

Each record includes

Type, Value, Description, Source

Partnership5 partners
Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Great River Energy is the wholesale power provider for Kandiyohi Power Cooperative. As a not-for-profit wholesale electric power cooperative, Great River Energy provides electricity to approximately 1.7 million people through 27 member-owner cooperatives. KPC receives power from Great River Energy's diverse portfolio including wind farms (Emmons-Logan, Trimont Area, Prairie Star, Elm Creek, Ashtabula II, Endeavor I), and Great River Energy is supporting KPC's power supply transition to more than 80% renewable energy by 2025.

Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

KPC and Great River Energy partnered with Ridgewater College's Automotive Service Technology program to expand EV service training. KPC contributed $73,408 in unclaimed capital credits and Great River Energy contributed $12,000 for a total of $85,408 to fund an EV training simulator, software development, instructor training, battery packs, controllers, and electric motors. Ridgewater created a new one-credit EV maintenance course launching February 2025. KPC CEO Ryan Nelson described this as workforce development supporting the EV transition for member-owners.

Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Heartland Security is owned by 13 rural electric cooperatives including Kandiyohi Power Cooperative. The company designs and installs custom home and business security systems, serving over 8,000 families and businesses in central/western Minnesota and northern Iowa. Contact: Nate Ellis, Regional Sales Manager at [email protected].

4Emmons-Logan Wind Farm
Strategic tierCoreTypeTechnology or Integration
Description

The Emmons-Logan wind farm began producing electricity January 2023 as the largest renewable resource serving KPC's wholesale provider Great River Energy. The 200-megawatt project features more than 80 wind turbines capable of powering 80,000 homes and will provide carbon-free electricity under a 25-year agreement. This project was a key component of Great River Energy's strategy to exceed Minnesota's Renewable Energy Standard by 2017 (eight years ahead of schedule).

kpcoop.com
Strategic tierCoreTypeGTM or Marketing Partner
Description

MREA coordinates the annual Rural Electric Cooperative Youth Tour to Washington D.C. (June 15-20, 2026 for 2026 cohort). Each year, 40 high school students are selected to represent Minnesota on this national program, with over 1,900 student delegates from across the country participating annually. KPC sponsors eligible member students for this program.

Recent move6 records

Each record includes

Date, Type, Title, Description, Source

Expansion highlight5 records

Each record includes

Type, Description

Peers10 records
TypeBroad incumbent
Description

Large investor-owned utility serving most of Minnesota including areas adjacent to KPC's territory. Broader incumbent with overlapping electric distribution capability and renewable programs, but a for-profit IOU rather than a member-owned cooperative.

TypeOthers
Description

Wholesale power supplier to KPC and 26 other member-owner cooperatives. Comparable in cooperative governance model but operates as a generation-and-transmission utility rather than retail distribution.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Minnesota rural electric distribution cooperative operating in west-central Minnesota. Comparable size and member-owned structure with similar community solar and rebate programs.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Minnesota member-owned electric distribution cooperative. Most direct comparable in business model, governance, and service offerings (distribution co-op serving residential, commercial, and agricultural members with community solar and EV programs).

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

Large Midwest utility holding company with regulated electric distribution across Minnesota, Iowa, and Wisconsin. Overlaps in distribution services and renewable programs but at vastly larger scale.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Minnesota Touchstone Energy cooperative distributing electricity in Stearns and surrounding counties. Direct peer in scale, governance model, and rural service territory overlap with KPC's four-county footprint.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Minnesota Touchstone Energy cooperative serving rural west-central Minnesota. Comparable scale, member-owned governance, and similar program offerings.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Minnesota member-owned electric cooperative serving rural and suburban areas south of the Twin Cities. Similar Touchstone Energy branding, governance, and program mix (rebates, EV, community solar).

TypeDirect peer
Description

Minnesota distribution cooperative serving rural east-central Minnesota. Comparable in scale and product set, and a fellow Touchstone Energy partner.

TypeOthers
Description

Home and business security systems provider jointly owned by 13 rural electric cooperatives including KPC. Adjacent service offering distributed through KPC and its peer cooperatives.

Market position
Strengths4 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Weaknesses5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Competitive moat4 records

Each record includes

Type, Details

Key risks5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Key highlights6 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Customer concentration

Classification, Details

Named customers1 record

Each record includes

Name, Industry, Type, Use case, Source, UUID

Segment4 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Primary, Description, Pain point addressed, Use case, Source

Ideal customer profile2 records

Each record includes

Profile, Firmographic size, Sales motion, Sales cycle length, Buying structure, Purchase trigger, Buyer persona, Geography, Industry vertical, Primary use case, Description, Pain points, Evidence proof points, Target buyer

Technology focused
No
API detail
Has APIbool
No

Docs URL, Description

Integration2 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Description, Source

AI maturity
App detail

Has app

Feature5 records

Each record includes

Title, Differentiator, Description, Source

Core technology
Revenue estimate
Valuation estimate
Number of profiles
Profiles4 records

Each record includes

Name, Designation, Designation category, Overview, Profile commentary, Source

Subsidiaries1 record

Each record includes

Name, Acquired on, Relationship type, Type, Business focus

No data
Funding overview

Funding stage, Last funding date, Total funding USD

Funding rounds

Each record includes

Round, Amount USD, Date, Pre money valuation, Total investors, Investors, News

Investors

Each record includes

Name, Type, Date of entry, Rounds participated, Website

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

M&A

Each record includes

Name, Acquisition type, Announced date, Completed date, Status, Website, News

Investment

Each record includes

Name, Round, Announced date, Lead investor, Website, News

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Kandiyohi Power Cooperative

Rural Electric Distributionkpcoop.com

Kandiyohi Power Cooperative is a member-owned electric distribution cooperative serving approximately 9,038 member-owners across four counties in west central Minnesota via 1,627 miles of line, 10 substations, and 25 employees.

What Kandiyohi Power Cooperative does

Kandiyohi Power Cooperative (KPC) is a member-owned electric distribution cooperative founded in 1935 and headquartered in Spicer, Minnesota, that delivers electricity to approximately 9,038 member-owners across four counties in west central Minnesota (Kandiyohi, Chippewa, Stearns, and Swift). It operates 1,627 miles of distribution line, 10 substations, and serves 9,019 active meters with a staff of 25 full-time employees. As a regulated distribution utility under an exclusive service-territory franchise, KPC's core function is last-mile electricity delivery, with members receiving both energy supply and democratic governance rights.

KPC's technology base comprises conventional electric distribution assets (power lines, poles, transformers, substations, and smart metering) plus a member-facing digital layer built around the SmartHub online and mobile platform for bill payment, outage reporting, energy-usage viewing, and account management. Around this core, KPC has assembled a portfolio of member programs: a 62 kW Community Solar array (160 TenKSolar panels, contracts running through 2039), the Wellspring Wind Energy program sourcing from multiple wind farms via Great River Energy, EV off-peak and time-of-use rates, Air Source Heat Pump rebates ($550-$1,000), distributed generation interconnection through the NOVA Power Portal, the Together We Save energy conservation program, and Inflation Reduction Act educational resources. KPC also co-owns Heartland Security, a home and business security provider jointly controlled with 12 other rural electric cooperatives.

KPC's business model is a classic cost-of-service cooperative model. Revenue is generated primarily through a fixed monthly Access Charge ($61.04/month for Standard Residential in 2026, up from $49.59) plus variable per-kWh energy charges, with revenue decoupled from sales to ensure fixed-cost recovery regardless of consumption fluctuations. KPC purchases wholesale power from Great River Energy, a not-for-profit generation and transmission cooperative serving 1.7 million people through 27 member-owner cooperatives, and benefits from Great River Energy's portfolio including the 200 MW Emmons-Logan wind farm. Margins are returned to members through capital credits rather than external shareholders. Members are acquired through geographic location within the exclusive service territory, with engagement driven by annual meetings, board elections, the Kilowatt newsletter, community events (Youth Tour, Trunk or Treat, Watt's Up), and the Touchstone Energy national brand.

Kandiyohi Power Cooperative firmographics

Firmographics
Name
Kandiyohi Power Cooperative
Legal name
Kandiyohi Power Cooperative
Website
https://kpcoop.com
Company type
Private
Founded year
1935
Operating status
Operating
Headcount range
11–50 employees
Short description
Kandiyohi Power Cooperative is a member-owned electric distribution cooperative serving approximately 9,038 member-owners across four counties in west central Minnesota via 1,627 miles of line, 10 substations, and 25 employees.
Ownership category
akta.pro rank

Kandiyohi Power Cooperative industry classification

Industry
Product category
Rural Electric Distribution
NAICS
Electric Power Distribution (221122), Electric Power Transmission, Control, and Distribution (22112)
SIC
Electric Services (4911)
akta.pro primary industry
Electric Cooperatives (Rural/Member-Owned Utilities) (EUADABAC)
akta.pro secondary industries
Community Solar Development & Subscription Management (EUAMAJAA), Distributed Generation (DG) Solar & Small Wind (EUAMAJAD), Community Microgrids & Shared Distributed Generation (EUACALAC)

Keywords

  • Rural electric distribution
  • Member-owned cooperative
  • Community solar programs
  • Wind energy programs
  • Energy efficiency rebates

Where Kandiyohi Power Cooperative is headquartered

Location

Headquarters

HQ city
Spicer
HQ country
United States
HQ region
North America

Offices1 record

Markets served

Kandiyohi Power Cooperative business model

Business model
GTM type
B2C
Offering type
Services
Cost components
Infrastructure, Operations, Personnel, Supply Chain, Technology or R&D

Revenue model

  1. Electric Service Revenue: Revenue from providing electricity to approximately 9,000 member-owners across four counties. The revenue structure includes a fixed monthly Access Charge and variable per-kWh (energy usage) charges. Revenue is decoupled from sales to ensure fixed cost recovery regardless of consumption fluctuations. Revenue increased approximately 5.07% year-over-year effective 2026.
  2. Fixed Access Charge: Monthly fixed fee charged to all members to recover essential non-energy-related costs of delivering power (poles, wires, transformers, meters, substations, fleet, administrative support). The 2026 Standard Residential Access Charge is $61.04/month, up from $49.59.
  3. Heartland Security: Kandiyohi Power Cooperative is one of 13 rural electric cooperative owners of Heartland Security, a home and business security systems provider. Revenue contribution not disclosed.
  4. Minnesota e-Bike Rebate Program Administration: The cooperative facilitates the state's e-bike rebate program which provides up to $1,500 discounts on qualifying e-bikes. Total program limited to $2 million per year in 2024-2025.

Pricing tiers

ModelBillingPrice
SubscriptionMonthlyStandard Residential Access Charge 2026
Usage-basedMonthlyAverage Residential Bill Impact (1,100 kWh/month)
OtherPay-as-you-goASHP Rebate - Ducted Air Source Heat Pump
OtherPay-as-you-goASHP Rebate - Ductless Air Source Heat Pump
SubscriptionMonthlyWellspring Wind Energy Program
OtherPay-as-you-goMinnesota e-Bike Rebate
Unit PricingMonthlyCommunity Solar Program

Go-to-market motion2 records

Distribution channels5 records

Marketing channels9 records

Kandiyohi Power Cooperative product offering

Product offering

Core offering

Kandiyohi Power Cooperative is a member-owned electric distribution cooperative that delivers electricity to approximately 9,038 member-owners across four West Central Minnesota counties through 1,627 miles of distribution line. The cooperative offers fixed monthly Access Charges plus usage-based billing, renewable energy programs (Community Solar, Wellspring Wind Energy), distributed generation interconnection, electric vehicle programs, energy efficiency rebates, and security services through the Heartland Security partnership, all managed via the SmartHub digital platform.

Product overview

Kandiyohi Power Cooperative is a member-owned electric distribution utility serving approximately 8,900 members across four Minnesota counties. The cooperative offers a unified portfolio of energy services centered on electricity distribution, supplemented by renewable energy programs (Community Solar, Wellspring Wind Energy), energy efficiency initiatives (Together We Save, ASHP rebates), distributed generation interconnection, and an Electric Vehicle program. SmartHub serves as the member-facing digital portal for account management, bill payment, and service requests. Additional services include Heartland Security (home and business security systems) and educational programs like Youth Tour. The cooperative's offerings function as integrated services within a single-member cooperative model rather than a platform-plus-modules software architecture.

Differentiator

Problem solved

Functional benefit

Brands

  • Heartland Security: A security systems provider owned by 13 rural electric cooperatives including Kandiyohi Power Cooperative. Offers custom home and business security systems, protecting over 8,000 families and businesses in the Midwest.
  • SmartHub

Products and services

  • Electric Distribution Service Core regulated electricity distribution service delivering power to approximately 9,038 member-owners across Kandiyohi, Chippewa, Stearns, and Swift counties in West Central Minnesota through 1,627 miles of line and 10 substations. Members are billed via fixed monthly Access Charges plus variable per-kWh usage charges.
  • SmartHub Member Digital Platform Online and mobile self-service platform enabling members to pay bills, view energy usage, report outages, manage accounts, and contact the cooperative. Accessible via web and mobile apps.

Quantifiable outcome

  • 5.07% effective year-over-year total electric revenue increase in 2026
  • +3 more outcomes

Companies that use Kandiyohi Power Cooperative

Customer profile

Named customers1 record

Segments4 records

Ideal customer profiles2 records

Kandiyohi Power Cooperative technology and API

Technology

Technology focussed No

API detail

Has API
No
API docs
API detail

Core technology

AI maturity

App detail

Integration2 records

Feature5 records

Kandiyohi Power Cooperative partnerships and signals

Strategic signal

Partnerships

Five partnerships are on record, tiered core.

  • Great River EnergycoreStrategic or Co-development PartnerGreat River Energy is the wholesale power provider for Kandiyohi Power Cooperative. As a not-for-profit wholesale electric power cooperative, Great River Energy provides electricity to approximately 1.7 million people through 27 member-owner cooperatives. KPC receives power from Great River Energy's diverse portfolio including wind farms (Emmons-Logan, Trimont Area, Prairie Star, Elm Creek, Ashtabula II, Endeavor I), and Great River Energy is supporting KPC's power supply transition to more than 80% renewable energy by 2025.
  • Ridgewater CollegecoreStrategic or Co-development PartnerKPC and Great River Energy partnered with Ridgewater College's Automotive Service Technology program to expand EV service training. KPC contributed $73,408 in unclaimed capital credits and Great River Energy contributed $12,000 for a total of $85,408 to fund an EV training simulator, software development, instructor training, battery packs, controllers, and electric motors. Ridgewater created a new one-credit EV maintenance course launching February 2025. KPC CEO Ryan Nelson described this as workforce development supporting the EV transition for member-owners.
  • Heartland SecuritycoreStrategic or Co-development PartnerHeartland Security is owned by 13 rural electric cooperatives including Kandiyohi Power Cooperative. The company designs and installs custom home and business security systems, serving over 8,000 families and businesses in central/western Minnesota and northern Iowa. Contact: Nate Ellis, Regional Sales Manager at [email protected].
  • Emmons-Logan Wind FarmcoreTechnology or IntegrationThe Emmons-Logan wind farm began producing electricity January 2023 as the largest renewable resource serving KPC's wholesale provider Great River Energy. The 200-megawatt project features more than 80 wind turbines capable of powering 80,000 homes and will provide carbon-free electricity under a 25-year agreement. This project was a key component of Great River Energy's strategy to exceed Minnesota's Renewable Energy Standard by 2017 (eight years ahead of schedule).
  • Minnesota Rural Electric Association (MREA)coreGTM or Marketing PartnerMREA coordinates the annual Rural Electric Cooperative Youth Tour to Washington D.C. (June 15-20, 2026 for 2026 cohort). Each year, 40 high school students are selected to represent Minnesota on this national program, with over 1,900 student delegates from across the country participating annually. KPC sponsors eligible member students for this program.

Scale indicators9 records

Recent moves6 records

Expansion highlights5 records

Kandiyohi Power Cooperative competitors and assessment

Company assessment

Broad incumbents

  • Xcel Energy: Large investor-owned utility serving most of Minnesota including areas adjacent to KPC's territory. Broader incumbent with overlapping electric distribution capability and renewable programs, but a for-profit IOU rather than a member-owned cooperative.
  • Alliant Energy: Large Midwest utility holding company with regulated electric distribution across Minnesota, Iowa, and Wisconsin. Overlaps in distribution services and renewable programs but at vastly larger scale.

Others

  • Great River Energy: Wholesale power supplier to KPC and 26 other member-owner cooperatives. Comparable in cooperative governance model but operates as a generation-and-transmission utility rather than retail distribution.
  • Heartland Security: Home and business security systems provider jointly owned by 13 rural electric cooperatives including KPC. Adjacent service offering distributed through KPC and its peer cooperatives.

Direct peers

  • Runestone Electric Association: Minnesota rural electric distribution cooperative operating in west-central Minnesota. Comparable size and member-owned structure with similar community solar and rebate programs.
  • Connexus Energy: Minnesota member-owned electric distribution cooperative. Most direct comparable in business model, governance, and service offerings (distribution co-op serving residential, commercial, and agricultural members with community solar and EV programs).
  • Stearns Electric Association: Minnesota Touchstone Energy cooperative distributing electricity in Stearns and surrounding counties. Direct peer in scale, governance model, and rural service territory overlap with KPC's four-county footprint.
  • Lake Region Electric Cooperative: Minnesota Touchstone Energy cooperative serving rural west-central Minnesota. Comparable scale, member-owned governance, and similar program offerings.
  • Dakota Electric Association: Minnesota member-owned electric cooperative serving rural and suburban areas south of the Twin Cities. Similar Touchstone Energy branding, governance, and program mix (rebates, EV, community solar).
  • East Central Energy: Minnesota distribution cooperative serving rural east-central Minnesota. Comparable in scale and product set, and a fellow Touchstone Energy partner.

Market position

Strengths4 records

Weaknesses5 records

Competitive moat4 records

Key risks5 records

Key highlights6 records

Customer concentration

Kandiyohi Power Cooperative social profiles

Digital presence

Kandiyohi Power Cooperative financial estimates

Financial estimate

Revenue estimate

Valuation estimate

Kandiyohi Power Cooperative leadership team

Management profile

Number of profiles

Profiles4 records

Kandiyohi Power Cooperative subsidiaries and ownership

Company hierarchy

Subsidiaries1 record

Kandiyohi Power Cooperative funding detail

Funding detail

Funding overview

Funding rounds

Investors

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Kandiyohi Power Cooperative M&A and investment

M&A and investment

M&A

Investments

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Frequently asked questions about Kandiyohi Power Cooperative

What does Kandiyohi Power Cooperative do?

Kandiyohi Power Cooperative is a member-owned electric distribution cooperative that delivers electricity to approximately 9,038 member-owners across four West Central Minnesota counties through 1,627 miles of distribution line. The cooperative offers fixed monthly Access Charges plus usage-based billing, renewable energy programs (Community Solar, Wellspring Wind Energy), distributed generation interconnection, electric vehicle programs, energy efficiency rebates, and security services through the Heartland Security partnership, all managed via the SmartHub digital platform.

Is Kandiyohi Power Cooperative a public or private company?

Kandiyohi Power Cooperative is a private company. It is classified as unknown and is currently operating.

When was Kandiyohi Power Cooperative founded?

Kandiyohi Power Cooperative was founded in 1935. It employs 11 to 50 people.

Where is Kandiyohi Power Cooperative based?

Kandiyohi Power Cooperative is headquartered in Spicer, United States, in the North America region.

How does Kandiyohi Power Cooperative make money?

Four revenue lines are on record. Electric Service Revenue is the primary driver. The others are fixed Access Charge, heartland Security and minnesota e-Bike Rebate Program Administration.

Who are Kandiyohi Power Cooperative's main competitors?

Broad incumbents on record are Xcel Energy and Alliant Energy. Others are Great River Energy and Heartland Security. Direct peers are Runestone Electric Association, Connexus Energy, Stearns Electric Association, Lake Region Electric Cooperative, Dakota Electric Association and East Central Energy.

Does Kandiyohi Power Cooperative have an API?

No public API is recorded for Kandiyohi Power Cooperative.

What industry is Kandiyohi Power Cooperative in?

Kandiyohi Power Cooperative's product category is Rural Electric Distribution. Its primary akta.pro industry code is EUADABAC, Electric Cooperatives (Rural/Member-Owned Utilities), with a secondary code of EUAMAJAA, Community Solar Development & Subscription Management. Its NAICS code is 221122 and its SIC code is 4911.

Unlock the full company data

50 free credits on sign-up, no credit card required.

Contact sales