Developer docs
API playgroundTry for free, no card

Search company profiles

Centre for Distance Education - Online School

Full company profile

uuid0032k1g

Namestring
Centre for Distance Education - Online School
Legal namestring
Eastern College Inc.
Websiteurl
cd-ed.com
Company typeenum
Private
Founded yearint
1996
Descriptiontext

Centre for Distance Education (CD-ED) is a Canadian private career college founded in 1996 and headquartered in Sydney, Nova Scotia, that delivers fully online diploma programs to adult learners across Canada and internationally. The institution operates under the Nova Scotia Private Career Colleges Act and was acquired by Eastern College in June 2022, making it part of the triOS Education Group; it continues to operate as an independent Private Career College location while leveraging the parent's resources. CD-ED's portfolio comprises eight online diploma programs spanning 29 to 73 weeks in healthcare administration (Medical Office Administration, Health Information Management), business operations (Accounting Technician, Accounting and Payroll Administrator, Office Administrator), creative services (Graphic Design), supply chain (Supply Chain Logistics), and digital marketing (Digital Marketing Specialist).

The underlying platform is a proprietary Learning Management System branded as the "Student Centre," providing 24/7 access to tests, video tutorials, file uploads, real-time live chat, student forums, personalized report cards, technical support, downloadable lessons, and career services resources. The technology stack includes bundled industry-standard software distributed with tuition — Adobe Creative Suite, Autodesk 3ds Max, Microsoft Office, QuickBooks, Sage, and Simply Accounting — and integrates with Certiport for Microsoft Office Specialist certification exams. Select programs (Health Information Management) include an 8-week practicum component, and several carry third-party credentialing pathways (CHIMA, CIFFA, National Payroll Institute).

CD-ED generates revenue exclusively through tuition fees, sold under an all-inclusive one-time/perpetual license model that bundles tuition, textbooks, supplies, software licenses, and shipping without federal or provincial taxes. Pricing is not publicly disclosed; funding options include provincial student loans, employer sponsorship, military/spousal funding, payment plans, and a C$1,000 New High School Graduate Bursary. Go-to-market combines inside sales via toll-free Education Specialists, online inquiry forms, a top-of-funnel Enrollment Readiness Assessment Quiz, content marketing (blog, testimonials, Trustpilot reviews), and a C$100-per-referral program. The customer base consists of career-focused adult learners, working parents balancing work and study, and landed immigrants seeking Canadian credentials, with continuous monthly intake and no waitlists.

Short descriptiontext

CD-ED is a Nova Scotia-licensed Canadian private career college that delivers fully online diploma programs in healthcare, business, design, and logistics to adult learners across Canada and internationally, operating within the triOS Education Group since its June 2022 acquisition by Eastern College.

Operating statusenum
Operating
Ownership categoryenum
Headcount rangeband
11–50
akta.pro rankint
HeadquartersSydney, Canada
HQ citystring
Sydney
HQ countrystring
Canada
HQ regionstring
North America
Markets served

Serves global market

Offices1 record

Each record includes

City, Country, Type, Description, Source

Keyword5 values
online diploma programs, distance education, career college training, professional certification prep, online career training
Industry2 codes
PRIMARYEDAFACAA
Core Digital Curriculum & Courseware (Full Programs & Units)
Education/Education Technology (EdTech) & Digital Learning/Digital Curriculum, Courseware & Interactive Learning Content
SECONDARYEDAGABAG
Medicine & Allied Health (Clinical)
Education/Educational Publishing & Learning Content/Higher Education Textbooks & Courseware
NAICS code2 codes
  • Technical and Trade Schools6115
  • Technical and Trade Schools61151
SIC code1 code
  • Services-Educational Services8200
Product category
Online Career Education
GTM motion1 record

Each record includes

Type, Description, Source

Revenue model1 record
1Tuition Fees - Diploma Programs
TypeOne Time License
Description

CD-ED generates revenue through tuition fees for online diploma programs. Programs are priced as all-inclusive with tuition, textbooks, supplies, and shipping costs covered. No federal or provincial taxes apply to programs. Students can access various funding options including provincial loans, payment plans, employer funding, and military/spousal funding.

Marketing channels7 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Stage, Description, Source

Distribution channels3 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Scope, Target buyer, Description, Source

Cost components5 values
Personnel, Operations, Marketing or Sales, Technology or R&D, Infrastructure
Pricing details2 tiers
1All-inclusive tuition model
ModelOne time/ perpetual licenseBilling cadenceMulti-year contract
Notes

All fees, tuition, textbooks, supplies, and shipping costs are included. No hidden fees. No federal or provincial taxes on programs.

cd-ed.com
2New High School Graduate Bursary
ModelOtherBilling cadenceOne time/ perpetual license
Notes

$1000 bursary available for qualifying high school graduates who start a diploma program within one year of graduating from high school. Applicable to diploma programs 52 weeks or longer.

cd-ed.com
GTM typeB2C
B2C
Offering typeServices
Services
Core offering1 text field

CD-ED is an online private career college that sells career-focused diploma programs delivered entirely online through a proprietary Learning Management System. Programs cover healthcare administration, graphic design, accounting and payroll, health information management, supply chain logistics, digital marketing, and office administration, with all tuition, textbooks, supplies, and industry-standard software bundled into one all-inclusive price. Students receive personalized instructor support, career services that continue after graduation, and preparation for industry certifications such as CHIM, Payroll Compliance Professional, and Microsoft Office Specialist.

Differentiator
Functional benefit
Problem solved
Quantifiable outcome1 of 4 values shown
  • Graduates receive nationally recognized diplomas under the Private Career Colleges Regulations Act of Canada
+3 more records
Product overview1 text field

Centre for Distance Education (CD-ED) offers a portfolio of online diploma programs designed for career-focused education. The core offerings include eight distinct diploma programs: Medical Office Administration (32 weeks), Graphic Design (52 weeks), Accounting and Payroll Administrator (33 weeks), Health Information Management (73 weeks), Supply Chain Logistics (33 weeks), Digital Marketing Specialist (29 weeks), Accounting Technician (52 weeks), and Office Administrator (52 weeks). Programs are delivered entirely online with flexible scheduling, monthly start dates, and no waitlists. All programs include career services support, exam prep for industry certifications (CHIM, Payroll Compliance Professional, Microsoft Office Specialist), and in some cases, practicum components. Software including Microsoft Office Suite, Adobe Creative Suite, QuickBooks, and Sage 50 is included with tuition.

Product and service8 records
1Medical Office Administration Diploma
CategoryOnline Diploma Program
Description

A 32-week online diploma program preparing students for careers in medical offices, clinics, hospitals, and healthcare environments. Covers medical office administration, scheduling, patient communication, medical terminology, anatomy, physiology, clinical procedures, medical billing, and Microsoft Office applications.

2Graphic Design Diploma
CategoryOnline Diploma Program
Description

A 52-week (1300 hours) online diploma program providing practical skills in digital design, illustration, and layout. Students gain expertise in Adobe Creative Suite and build a professional portfolio for roles in advertising, brand identity, and multimedia production.

3Accounting and Payroll Administrator Diploma
CategoryOnline Diploma Program
Description

A 33-week online diploma preparing students for careers in accounting, bookkeeping, and payroll administration. Covers financial accounting, payroll legislation and compliance, Microsoft Excel, QuickBooks, and Sage 50. Graduates may pursue the Payroll Compliance Professional designation through the National Payroll Institute.

4Health Information Management Diploma
CategoryOnline Diploma Program
Description

A comprehensive 73-week diploma program preparing students for careers in health information management. Covers health data management, clinical coding using ICD-10-CA and CCI systems, privacy practices, and electronic health records. Includes an 8-week practicum and prepares students for the CHIMA National Certification Exam to pursue the CHIM credential.

5Supply Chain Logistics Diploma
CategoryOnline Diploma Program
Description

A 33-week online diploma preparing students for careers in supply chain, logistics, transportation, and operations management. Covers logistics coordination, inventory management, purchasing, transportation processes, international trade, and freight forwarding. Graduates may be eligible for the Certificate in International Freight Forwarding through CIFFA.

6Digital Marketing Specialist Diploma
CategoryOnline Diploma Program
Description

A 29-week online diploma preparing students for careers in digital marketing, communications, and online brand management. Covers social media marketing, search engine optimization, email marketing, content creation, digital advertising, and analytics using industry-standard tools.

7Accounting Technician Diploma
CategoryOnline Diploma Program
Description

A 52-week (1040 hours) online program training students for careers in bookkeeping, payroll, and financial management. Covers business math, Microsoft Excel, manual accounting, and payroll processing with QuickBooks, Sage, and Simply Accounting.

8Office Administrator Diploma
CategoryOnline Diploma Program
Description

A 52-week (1080 hours) online program providing essential skills for administrative roles. Covers Microsoft Office Suite, business communication, office procedures, bookkeeping, and QuickBooks. Prepares students for Microsoft Office Specialist certification through Certiport with exam fees covered.

Scale indicator3 records

Each record includes

Type, Value, Description, Source

Partnership8 partners
1triOS Education Group
Strategic tierCoreTypeOthersAnnounced on2022-06-01
Description

CD-ED is a part of triOS Education Group, a leader in career education across Canada. Eastern College (which acquired CD-ED in June 2022) operates alongside triOS College as part of the triOS Education Group family of colleges serving Atlantic Canada, Ontario, and across Canada.

cd-ed.com
Strategic tierCoreTypeOthersAnnounced on2022-06-01
Description

Since June 2022, CD-ED has joined the Eastern College family. Eastern College is renowned for diverse online, on-campus, and hybrid programs. CD-ED continues to operate as an independent Private Career College location leveraging Eastern College resources to expand capacity for remote education across Canada. All current CD-ED employees joined Eastern College.

Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

CHIMA provides industry endorsement for CD-ED's Health Information Management program. Graduates who meet academic requirements are eligible to write the CHIMA National Certification Examination to pursue the Certified Health Information Management (CHIM) credential, which is a protected title and registered trademark.

Strategic tierMinorTypeOthers
Description

Professional membership organization demonstrating CD-ED's commitment to meeting highest regulatory standards. Membership holds institutions accountable and ensures educational offerings meet quality standards.

5Private Colleges Association of Nova Scotia
Strategic tierMinorTypeOthers
Description

Professional membership organization for private career colleges in Nova Scotia. Affiliation demonstrates CD-ED's commitment to regulatory compliance and educational quality.

cd-ed.com
Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Supply Chain Logistics graduates who meet program requirements may be eligible to pursue the Certificate in International Freight Forwarding through CIFFA, providing certification pathway for logistics careers.

7National Payroll Institute
Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Accounting and Payroll program graduates who meet academic requirements are eligible to pursue the Payroll Compliance Professional designation through the National Payroll Institute, subject to additional requirements.

cd-ed.com
Strategic tierMinorTypeOthers
Description

Third-party review platform used to publicly measure and display student satisfaction through verified reviews, ensuring transparency and continuous program improvement.

Recent move7 records

Each record includes

Date, Type, Title, Description, Source

Expansion highlight5 records

Each record includes

Type, Description

Peers10 records
TypeDirect peer
Description

One of Canada's largest private career college networks with 25+ campuses offering diploma programs in healthcare, business, and technology. Competes directly with CD-ED for adult learners seeking online or hybrid career training in Canada.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Private career college in Ontario offering diploma programs in healthcare, business, IT, and supply chain with online and in-person formats. Direct competitor for Canadian adult learners in overlapping program categories.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Sister brand within triOS Education Group offering career-focused diploma programs across Canada. Operates an online and on-campus delivery model directly comparable to CD-ED's portfolio, particularly in business, healthcare administration, and technology programs.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Canadian private career college with diploma programs in healthcare (e.g., Medical Office Assistant, Health Information Management), business, and technology, with online delivery options. Closely comparable on the HIM program offering.

TypeDirect peer
Description

National Canadian career college franchise offering career-focused diploma and certificate programs with both in-class and online delivery. Targets similar adult learner and career-changer segments as CD-ED.

6Brighton College
TypeDirect peer
Description

Canadian online career college offering diploma programs in healthcare administration, accounting, and business. Competes head-to-head with CD-ED on online delivery and adult learner segments across Canada.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Canadian private career college offering diploma and certificate programs in healthcare, technology, and business with both online and in-person delivery. Overlaps with CD-ED on programs like Medical Office Administration and IT training.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

Canada's leading online university offering degree and certificate programs, including health information management. A broader incumbent in Canadian online distance education that competes for the same working adult demographic, though at degree-level credentials.

TypeRegional player
Description

Private career college primarily serving British Columbia with diploma programs in healthcare, business, and trades. Regional overlap with CD-ED in program offerings but limited geographic overlap outside BC.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Acquired CD-ED in June 2022 and now operates it as an independent Private Career College location. Offers comparable online and on-campus diploma programs in healthcare, business, and technology across Atlantic Canada and beyond.

Market position
Strengths5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Weaknesses5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Competitive moat4 records

Each record includes

Type, Details

Key risks5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Key highlights7 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Customer concentration

Classification, Details

Named customers8 records

Each record includes

Name, Industry, Type, Use case, Source, UUID

Segment3 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Primary, Description, Pain point addressed, Use case, Source

Ideal customer profile3 records

Each record includes

Profile, Firmographic size, Sales motion, Sales cycle length, Buying structure, Purchase trigger, Buyer persona, Geography, Industry vertical, Primary use case, Description, Pain points, Evidence proof points, Target buyer

Technology focused
No
API detail
Has APIbool
No

Docs URL, Description

AI maturity
App detail

Has app

Feature3 records

Each record includes

Title, Differentiator, Description, Source

Core technology
Revenue estimate
Valuation estimate
Number of profiles
No data
No data
Funding overview

Funding stage, Last funding date, Total funding USD

Funding rounds

Each record includes

Round, Amount USD, Date, Pre money valuation, Total investors, Investors, News

Investors

Each record includes

Name, Type, Date of entry, Rounds participated, Website

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

M&A

Each record includes

Name, Acquisition type, Announced date, Completed date, Status, Website, News

Investment

Each record includes

Name, Round, Announced date, Lead investor, Website, News

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Centre for Distance Education - Online School

Online Career Educationcd-ed.com

CD-ED is a Nova Scotia-licensed Canadian private career college that delivers fully online diploma programs in healthcare, business, design, and logistics to adult learners across Canada and internationally, operating within the triOS Education Group since its June 2022 acquisition by Eastern College.

What Centre for Distance Education - Online School does

Centre for Distance Education (CD-ED) is a Canadian private career college founded in 1996 and headquartered in Sydney, Nova Scotia, that delivers fully online diploma programs to adult learners across Canada and internationally. The institution operates under the Nova Scotia Private Career Colleges Act and was acquired by Eastern College in June 2022, making it part of the triOS Education Group; it continues to operate as an independent Private Career College location while leveraging the parent's resources. CD-ED's portfolio comprises eight online diploma programs spanning 29 to 73 weeks in healthcare administration (Medical Office Administration, Health Information Management), business operations (Accounting Technician, Accounting and Payroll Administrator, Office Administrator), creative services (Graphic Design), supply chain (Supply Chain Logistics), and digital marketing (Digital Marketing Specialist).

The underlying platform is a proprietary Learning Management System branded as the "Student Centre," providing 24/7 access to tests, video tutorials, file uploads, real-time live chat, student forums, personalized report cards, technical support, downloadable lessons, and career services resources. The technology stack includes bundled industry-standard software distributed with tuition — Adobe Creative Suite, Autodesk 3ds Max, Microsoft Office, QuickBooks, Sage, and Simply Accounting — and integrates with Certiport for Microsoft Office Specialist certification exams. Select programs (Health Information Management) include an 8-week practicum component, and several carry third-party credentialing pathways (CHIMA, CIFFA, National Payroll Institute).

CD-ED generates revenue exclusively through tuition fees, sold under an all-inclusive one-time/perpetual license model that bundles tuition, textbooks, supplies, software licenses, and shipping without federal or provincial taxes. Pricing is not publicly disclosed; funding options include provincial student loans, employer sponsorship, military/spousal funding, payment plans, and a C$1,000 New High School Graduate Bursary. Go-to-market combines inside sales via toll-free Education Specialists, online inquiry forms, a top-of-funnel Enrollment Readiness Assessment Quiz, content marketing (blog, testimonials, Trustpilot reviews), and a C$100-per-referral program. The customer base consists of career-focused adult learners, working parents balancing work and study, and landed immigrants seeking Canadian credentials, with continuous monthly intake and no waitlists.

Centre for Distance Education - Online School firmographics

Firmographics
Name
Centre for Distance Education - Online School
Legal name
Eastern College Inc.
Website
https://cd-ed.com
Company type
Private
Founded year
1996
Operating status
Operating
Headcount range
11–50 employees
Short description
CD-ED is a Nova Scotia-licensed Canadian private career college that delivers fully online diploma programs in healthcare, business, design, and logistics to adult learners across Canada and internationally, operating within the triOS Education Group since its June 2022 acquisition by Eastern College.
Ownership category
akta.pro rank

Centre for Distance Education - Online School industry classification

Industry
Product category
Online Career Education
NAICS
Technical and Trade Schools (6115), Technical and Trade Schools (61151)
SIC
Services-Educational Services (8200)
akta.pro industry
PRIMARYEDAFACAA
Core Digital Curriculum & Courseware (Full Programs & Units)
Education/Education Technology (EdTech) & Digital Learning/Digital Curriculum, Courseware & Interactive Learning Content
SECONDARYEDAGABAG
Medicine & Allied Health (Clinical)
Education/Educational Publishing & Learning Content/Higher Education Textbooks & Courseware

Keywords

  • Online diploma programs
  • Distance education
  • Career college training
  • Professional certification prep
  • Online career training

Where Centre for Distance Education - Online School is headquartered

Location

Headquarters

HQ city
Sydney
HQ country
Canada
HQ region
North America

Offices1 record

Markets served

Centre for Distance Education - Online School business model

Business model
GTM type
B2C
Offering type
Services
Cost components
Personnel, Operations, Marketing or Sales, Technology or R&D, Infrastructure

Revenue model

  1. Tuition Fees - Diploma Programs: CD-ED generates revenue through tuition fees for online diploma programs. Programs are priced as all-inclusive with tuition, textbooks, supplies, and shipping costs covered. No federal or provincial taxes apply to programs. Students can access various funding options including provincial loans, payment plans, employer funding, and military/spousal funding.

Pricing tiers

ModelBillingPrice
One time/ perpetual licenseMulti-year contractAll-inclusive tuition model
OtherOne time/ perpetual licenseNew High School Graduate Bursary

Go-to-market motion1 record

Distribution channels3 records

Marketing channels7 records

Centre for Distance Education - Online School product offering

Product offering

Core offering

CD-ED is an online private career college that sells career-focused diploma programs delivered entirely online through a proprietary Learning Management System. Programs cover healthcare administration, graphic design, accounting and payroll, health information management, supply chain logistics, digital marketing, and office administration, with all tuition, textbooks, supplies, and industry-standard software bundled into one all-inclusive price. Students receive personalized instructor support, career services that continue after graduation, and preparation for industry certifications such as CHIM, Payroll Compliance Professional, and Microsoft Office Specialist.

Product overview

Centre for Distance Education (CD-ED) offers a portfolio of online diploma programs designed for career-focused education. The core offerings include eight distinct diploma programs: Medical Office Administration (32 weeks), Graphic Design (52 weeks), Accounting and Payroll Administrator (33 weeks), Health Information Management (73 weeks), Supply Chain Logistics (33 weeks), Digital Marketing Specialist (29 weeks), Accounting Technician (52 weeks), and Office Administrator (52 weeks). Programs are delivered entirely online with flexible scheduling, monthly start dates, and no waitlists. All programs include career services support, exam prep for industry certifications (CHIM, Payroll Compliance Professional, Microsoft Office Specialist), and in some cases, practicum components. Software including Microsoft Office Suite, Adobe Creative Suite, QuickBooks, and Sage 50 is included with tuition.

Differentiator

Problem solved

Functional benefit

Products and services

  • Medical Office Administration Diploma A 32-week online diploma program preparing students for careers in medical offices, clinics, hospitals, and healthcare environments. Covers medical office administration, scheduling, patient communication, medical terminology, anatomy, physiology, clinical procedures, medical billing, and Microsoft Office applications.
  • Graphic Design Diploma A 52-week (1300 hours) online diploma program providing practical skills in digital design, illustration, and layout. Students gain expertise in Adobe Creative Suite and build a professional portfolio for roles in advertising, brand identity, and multimedia production.
  • Accounting and Payroll Administrator Diploma A 33-week online diploma preparing students for careers in accounting, bookkeeping, and payroll administration. Covers financial accounting, payroll legislation and compliance, Microsoft Excel, QuickBooks, and Sage 50. Graduates may pursue the Payroll Compliance Professional designation through the National Payroll Institute.
  • Health Information Management Diploma A comprehensive 73-week diploma program preparing students for careers in health information management. Covers health data management, clinical coding using ICD-10-CA and CCI systems, privacy practices, and electronic health records. Includes an 8-week practicum and prepares students for the CHIMA National Certification Exam to pursue the CHIM credential.
  • Supply Chain Logistics Diploma A 33-week online diploma preparing students for careers in supply chain, logistics, transportation, and operations management. Covers logistics coordination, inventory management, purchasing, transportation processes, international trade, and freight forwarding. Graduates may be eligible for the Certificate in International Freight Forwarding through CIFFA.
  • Digital Marketing Specialist Diploma A 29-week online diploma preparing students for careers in digital marketing, communications, and online brand management. Covers social media marketing, search engine optimization, email marketing, content creation, digital advertising, and analytics using industry-standard tools.
  • Accounting Technician Diploma A 52-week (1040 hours) online program training students for careers in bookkeeping, payroll, and financial management. Covers business math, Microsoft Excel, manual accounting, and payroll processing with QuickBooks, Sage, and Simply Accounting.
  • Office Administrator Diploma A 52-week (1080 hours) online program providing essential skills for administrative roles. Covers Microsoft Office Suite, business communication, office procedures, bookkeeping, and QuickBooks. Prepares students for Microsoft Office Specialist certification through Certiport with exam fees covered.

Quantifiable outcome

  • Graduates receive nationally recognized diplomas under the Private Career Colleges Regulations Act of Canada
  • +3 more outcomes

Companies that use Centre for Distance Education - Online School

Customer profile

Named customers8 records

Segments3 records

Ideal customer profiles3 records

Centre for Distance Education - Online School technology and API

Technology

Technology focussed No

API detail

Has API
No
API docs
API detail

Core technology

AI maturity

App detail

Feature3 records

Centre for Distance Education - Online School partnerships and signals

Strategic signal

Partnerships

Eight partnerships are on record, tiered core and minor.

  • triOS Education GroupcoreOthers · 1 June 2022CD-ED is a part of triOS Education Group, a leader in career education across Canada. Eastern College (which acquired CD-ED in June 2022) operates alongside triOS College as part of the triOS Education Group family of colleges serving Atlantic Canada, Ontario, and across Canada.
  • Eastern CollegecoreOthers · 1 June 2022Since June 2022, CD-ED has joined the Eastern College family. Eastern College is renowned for diverse online, on-campus, and hybrid programs. CD-ED continues to operate as an independent Private Career College location leveraging Eastern College resources to expand capacity for remote education across Canada. All current CD-ED employees joined Eastern College.
  • Canadian Health Information Management Association (CHIMA)coreStrategic or Co-development PartnerCHIMA provides industry endorsement for CD-ED's Health Information Management program. Graduates who meet academic requirements are eligible to write the CHIMA National Certification Examination to pursue the Certified Health Information Management (CHIM) credential, which is a protected title and registered trademark.
  • National Association of Career CollegesminorOthersProfessional membership organization demonstrating CD-ED's commitment to meeting highest regulatory standards. Membership holds institutions accountable and ensures educational offerings meet quality standards.
  • Private Colleges Association of Nova ScotiaminorOthersProfessional membership organization for private career colleges in Nova Scotia. Affiliation demonstrates CD-ED's commitment to regulatory compliance and educational quality.
  • Canadian International Freight Forwarders Association (CIFFA)coreStrategic or Co-development PartnerSupply Chain Logistics graduates who meet program requirements may be eligible to pursue the Certificate in International Freight Forwarding through CIFFA, providing certification pathway for logistics careers.
  • National Payroll InstitutecoreStrategic or Co-development PartnerAccounting and Payroll program graduates who meet academic requirements are eligible to pursue the Payroll Compliance Professional designation through the National Payroll Institute, subject to additional requirements.
  • TrustpilotminorOthersThird-party review platform used to publicly measure and display student satisfaction through verified reviews, ensuring transparency and continuous program improvement.

Scale indicators3 records

Recent moves7 records

Expansion highlights5 records

Centre for Distance Education - Online School competitors and assessment

Company assessment

Direct peers

  • CDI College: One of Canada's largest private career college networks with 25+ campuses offering diploma programs in healthcare, business, and technology. Competes directly with CD-ED for adult learners seeking online or hybrid career training in Canada.
  • CIMT College: Private career college in Ontario offering diploma programs in healthcare, business, IT, and supply chain with online and in-person formats. Direct competitor for Canadian adult learners in overlapping program categories.
  • triOS College: Sister brand within triOS Education Group offering career-focused diploma programs across Canada. Operates an online and on-campus delivery model directly comparable to CD-ED's portfolio, particularly in business, healthcare administration, and technology programs.
  • Robertson College: Canadian private career college with diploma programs in healthcare (e.g., Medical Office Assistant, Health Information Management), business, and technology, with online delivery options. Closely comparable on the HIM program offering.
  • Academy of Learning: National Canadian career college franchise offering career-focused diploma and certificate programs with both in-class and online delivery. Targets similar adult learner and career-changer segments as CD-ED.
  • Brighton College: Canadian online career college offering diploma programs in healthcare administration, accounting, and business. Competes head-to-head with CD-ED on online delivery and adult learner segments across Canada.
  • Herzing College: Canadian private career college offering diploma and certificate programs in healthcare, technology, and business with both online and in-person delivery. Overlaps with CD-ED on programs like Medical Office Administration and IT training.
  • Eastern College: Acquired CD-ED in June 2022 and now operates it as an independent Private Career College location. Offers comparable online and on-campus diploma programs in healthcare, business, and technology across Atlantic Canada and beyond.

Broad incumbents

  • Athabasca University: Canada's leading online university offering degree and certificate programs, including health information management. A broader incumbent in Canadian online distance education that competes for the same working adult demographic, though at degree-level credentials.

Regional players

  • Vancouver Career College: Private career college primarily serving British Columbia with diploma programs in healthcare, business, and trades. Regional overlap with CD-ED in program offerings but limited geographic overlap outside BC.

Market position

Strengths5 records

Weaknesses5 records

Competitive moat4 records

Key risks5 records

Key highlights7 records

Customer concentration

Centre for Distance Education - Online School social profiles

Digital presence

Centre for Distance Education - Online School financial estimates

Financial estimate

Revenue estimate

Valuation estimate

Centre for Distance Education - Online School leadership team

Management profile

Number of profiles

Centre for Distance Education - Online School funding detail

Funding detail

Funding overview

Funding rounds

Investors

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Centre for Distance Education - Online School M&A and investment

M&A and investment

M&A

Investments

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Frequently asked questions about Centre for Distance Education - Online School

What does Centre for Distance Education - Online School do?

CD-ED is an online private career college that sells career-focused diploma programs delivered entirely online through a proprietary Learning Management System. Programs cover healthcare administration, graphic design, accounting and payroll, health information management, supply chain logistics, digital marketing, and office administration, with all tuition, textbooks, supplies, and industry-standard software bundled into one all-inclusive price. Students receive personalized instructor support, career services that continue after graduation, and preparation for industry certifications such as CHIM, Payroll Compliance Professional, and Microsoft Office Specialist.

Is Centre for Distance Education - Online School a public or private company?

Centre for Distance Education - Online School is a private company. It is classified as corporate owned and is currently operating.

When was Centre for Distance Education - Online School founded?

Centre for Distance Education - Online School was founded in 1996. It employs 11 to 50 people.

Where is Centre for Distance Education - Online School based?

Centre for Distance Education - Online School is headquartered in Sydney, Canada, in the North America region.

How does Centre for Distance Education - Online School make money?

One revenue line is on record: tuition Fees - Diploma Programs.

Who are Centre for Distance Education - Online School's main competitors?

Direct peers on record are CDI College, CIMT College, triOS College, Robertson College, Academy of Learning, Brighton College, Herzing College and Eastern College. Athabasca University is listed as a broad incumbent. Vancouver Career College is listed as a regional player.

Does Centre for Distance Education - Online School have an API?

No public API is recorded for Centre for Distance Education - Online School.

What industry is Centre for Distance Education - Online School in?

Centre for Distance Education - Online School's product category is Online Career Education. Its primary akta.pro industry code is EDAFACAA, Core Digital Curriculum & Courseware (Full Programs & Units), with a secondary code of EDAGABAG, Medicine & Allied Health (Clinical). Its NAICS code is 6115 and its SIC code is 8200.

Unlock the full company data

50 free credits on sign-up, no credit card required.

Contact sales