Developer docs
API playgroundTry for free, no card

Search company profiles

Curtis Banks

Full company profile

uuid003cvgp

Namestring
Curtis Banks
Legal namestring
Curtis Banks
Company typeenum
Private
Founded yearint
2009
Descriptiontext

Curtis Banks is a UK-based specialist retirement platform brand operating within the Nucleus Financial group, providing Self Invested Personal Pensions (SIPPs) and Small Self-Administered Schemes (SSASs). It is positioned as one of the largest UK providers of these products, serving both financial advisers and their underlying individual clients who seek flexible, self-directed pension and retirement planning solutions. The platform is built on retirement platform technology provided through the Nucleus Financial group infrastructure and is one of seven group brands — alongside Nucleus Platform, Nucleus Wrap, James Hay, Talbot and Muir, Third Financial, and Dunstan Thomas — collectively administering £110bn in assets across 251k customers and approximately 5,200 UK advice firms.

The company's go-to-market is sales-led, with financial advisers directing clients to Curtis Banks for SIPP and SSAS products as part of broader retirement planning advice. Pricing is not publicly disclosed and is structured through adviser relationships rather than direct consumer channels. Marketing and distribution operate via the Nucleus Financial group website, which provides separate adviser and customer pathways, alongside direct adviser referral channels. The firm is headquartered in Bristol, UK, with group operations centred at Nucleus HQ in Salisbury, and is FCA-regulated.

Historically, Curtis Banks pursued an acquisition-led growth strategy between 2011 and 2016, completing three documented acquisitions (Montpelier Pension Administration Services, Pointon York SIPP Solutions, and Suffolk Life) to consolidate the UK SIPP administration market. The company is now presented as an operating platform brand within Nucleus Financial Platforms Limited, indicating that it has been integrated into the wider group structure. Revenue model details and Curtis Banks-specific financials are not disclosed in the available material, but historical operating data prior to integration suggests an established, profitable platform business serving the UK retirement advice market.

Short descriptiontext

Curtis Banks is a UK specialist retirement platform brand within the Nucleus Financial group, providing Self Invested Personal Pensions and Small Self-Administered Schemes to financial advisers and their individual clients as one of the largest SIPP/SSAS providers in the UK.

Operating statusenum
Operating
Ownership categoryenum
Headcount rangeband
501–1,000
akta.pro rankint
HeadquartersBristol, United Kingdom
HQ citystring
Bristol
HQ countrystring
United Kingdom
HQ regionstring
Europe
Markets served

Serves global market

Keyword5 values
self invested pensions, pension administration, retirement planning, financial advisory, wealth management
Industry2 codes
1Retirement & Pension Wealth (401(k)/IRA/SIPP/Superannuation Retail)
CodeFSAAAAAJPrimaryYes
2Retirement & Distribution Planning RIAs (401(k)/IRA/Pension Rollovers)
CodeFSAAACAEPrimaryNo
NAICS code2 codes
  • Pension Funds525110
  • Pension Funds52511
SIC code1 code
  • Investment Advice6282
Product category
Retirement Pensions
Social media profiles1 record
GTM motion1 record

Each record includes

Type, Description, Source

Marketing channels2 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Stage, Description, Source

Distribution channels1 record

Each record includes

Title, Type, Scope, Target buyer, Description, Source

Cost components5 values
Personnel, Operations, Technology or R&D, Marketing or Sales, Infrastructure
GTM typeB2B
B2B
Offering typeServices
Services
Core offering1 text field

Curtis Banks provides Self Invested Personal Pensions (SIPPs) and Small Self-Administered Schemes (SSAS) as one of the UK's largest specialist pension administration platforms. Its products offer flexible retirement options covering diverse investment strategies and commercial property holdings, delivered through the Nucleus Financial group's platform infrastructure and accessed via financial advisers and their clients.

Differentiator
Functional benefit
Problem solved
Product overview1 text field

Curtis Banks operates as a standalone platform brand under the Nucleus Financial group. It provides Self Invested Personal Pensions (SIPPs) and Small Self-Administered Schemes (SSASs) as its core product offerings, serving both advisers and customers. The platform forms part of Nucleus Financial's comprehensive range of retirement-focused platform solutions alongside other group brands including Nucleus Platform, Nucleus Wrap, James Hay, Talbot and Muir, Third Financial, and Dunstan Thomas.

Product and service1 record
1Self Invested Personal Pensions (SIPP)
Scale indicator3 records

Each record includes

Type, Value, Description, Source

Recent move4 records

Each record includes

Date, Type, Title, Description, Source

Expansion highlight4 records

Each record includes

Type, Description

Peers10 records
TypeBroad incumbent
Description

Major UK investment platform offering SIPP, SSAS, and ISA products to advisers and direct customers. Comparable platform-based retirement proposition with overlapping adviser-distribution focus.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Fellow Nucleus Financial group platform brand and one of the original UK SIPP providers; offers Partnership SIPP and IPS SIPP products. Direct competitor in the same SIPP/SSAS wrapper market, now operating alongside Curtis Banks within the same group.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

The UKs largest direct-to-consumer investment platform offering SIPPs within a broader multi-asset wrap. A broad incumbent competing with Curtis Banks on SIPP functionality, with significantly larger scale and brand recognition.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

Large UK pension provider offering SIPP and workplace pension solutions. A broad incumbent with substantial scale and brand that competes for the same advised SIPP customers.

TypeEmerging player
Description

UK direct-to-consumer pension consolidator offering a digital SIPP. An emerging challenger that competes for end-customers seeking simpler, self-directed pension solutions, particularly relevant to Curtis Banks' individual customer segment.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

One of the UK's largest life and pensions providers, offering SIPP and personal pension products through both advised and direct channels. A broad incumbent whose SIPP offerings compete in the same customer-adjacent space.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Fellow Nucleus Financial group platform specialising in Small Self-Administered Schemes with commercial property expertise. A direct peer operating within the same group, focused on the SSAS sub-segment where Curtis Banks is also a leading provider.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

UK investment platform offering SIPP and ISA products through adviser and direct channels. Comparable platform-based retirement proposition competing for adviser-driven SIPP flows.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

Major UK pension and investment platform provider offering SIPP and personal pension products via advisers. Comparable adviser-led retirement platform proposition with significant AUA scale.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

UK pensions and investment provider offering SIPP and personal pension products, primarily through adviser channels. A broad incumbent with comparable advised retirement proposition.

Market position
Strengths5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Weaknesses5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Competitive moat5 records

Each record includes

Type, Details

Key risks6 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Key highlights5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Customer concentration

Classification, Details

Segment2 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Primary, Description, Pain point addressed, Use case, Source

Ideal customer profile2 records

Each record includes

Profile, Firmographic size, Sales motion, Sales cycle length, Buying structure, Purchase trigger, Buyer persona, Geography, Industry vertical, Primary use case, Description, Pain points, Evidence proof points, Target buyer

Technology focused
No
API detail
Has APIbool
No

Docs URL, Description

AI maturity
App detail

Has app

Core technology
Revenue estimate
Valuation estimate
Number of profiles
Profiles2 records

Each record includes

Name, Designation, Designation category, Overview, Profile commentary, Source

No data
No data
Funding overview

Funding stage, Last funding date, Total funding USD

Funding rounds

Each record includes

Round, Amount USD, Date, Pre money valuation, Total investors, Investors, News

Investors

Each record includes

Name, Type, Date of entry, Rounds participated, Website

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

M&A3 records

Each record includes

Name, Acquisition type, Announced date, Completed date, Status, Website, News

Investment

Each record includes

Name, Round, Announced date, Lead investor, Website, News

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Curtis Banks

Retirement Pensionscurtisbanks.co.uk

Curtis Banks is a UK specialist retirement platform brand within the Nucleus Financial group, providing Self Invested Personal Pensions and Small Self-Administered Schemes to financial advisers and their individual clients as one of the largest SIPP/SSAS providers in the UK.

What Curtis Banks does

Curtis Banks is a UK-based specialist retirement platform brand operating within the Nucleus Financial group, providing Self Invested Personal Pensions (SIPPs) and Small Self-Administered Schemes (SSASs). It is positioned as one of the largest UK providers of these products, serving both financial advisers and their underlying individual clients who seek flexible, self-directed pension and retirement planning solutions. The platform is built on retirement platform technology provided through the Nucleus Financial group infrastructure and is one of seven group brands — alongside Nucleus Platform, Nucleus Wrap, James Hay, Talbot and Muir, Third Financial, and Dunstan Thomas — collectively administering £110bn in assets across 251k customers and approximately 5,200 UK advice firms.

The company's go-to-market is sales-led, with financial advisers directing clients to Curtis Banks for SIPP and SSAS products as part of broader retirement planning advice. Pricing is not publicly disclosed and is structured through adviser relationships rather than direct consumer channels. Marketing and distribution operate via the Nucleus Financial group website, which provides separate adviser and customer pathways, alongside direct adviser referral channels. The firm is headquartered in Bristol, UK, with group operations centred at Nucleus HQ in Salisbury, and is FCA-regulated.

Historically, Curtis Banks pursued an acquisition-led growth strategy between 2011 and 2016, completing three documented acquisitions (Montpelier Pension Administration Services, Pointon York SIPP Solutions, and Suffolk Life) to consolidate the UK SIPP administration market. The company is now presented as an operating platform brand within Nucleus Financial Platforms Limited, indicating that it has been integrated into the wider group structure. Revenue model details and Curtis Banks-specific financials are not disclosed in the available material, but historical operating data prior to integration suggests an established, profitable platform business serving the UK retirement advice market.

Curtis Banks firmographics

Firmographics
Name
Curtis Banks
Legal name
Curtis Banks
Website
https://curtisbanks.co.uk
Company type
Private
Founded year
2009
Operating status
Operating
Headcount range
501–1,000 employees
Short description
Curtis Banks is a UK specialist retirement platform brand within the Nucleus Financial group, providing Self Invested Personal Pensions and Small Self-Administered Schemes to financial advisers and their individual clients as one of the largest SIPP/SSAS providers in the UK.
Ownership category
akta.pro rank

Curtis Banks industry classification

Industry
Product category
Retirement Pensions
NAICS
Pension Funds (525110), Pension Funds (52511)
SIC
Investment Advice (6282)
akta.pro primary industry
Retirement & Pension Wealth (401(k)/IRA/SIPP/Superannuation Retail) (FSAAAAAJ)
akta.pro secondary industry
Retirement & Distribution Planning RIAs (401(k)/IRA/Pension Rollovers) (FSAAACAE)

Keywords

  • Self invested pensions
  • Pension administration
  • Retirement planning
  • Financial advisory
  • Wealth management

Where Curtis Banks is headquartered

Location

Headquarters

HQ city
Bristol
HQ country
United Kingdom
HQ region
Europe

Markets served

Curtis Banks business model

Business model
GTM type
B2B
Offering type
Services
Cost components
Personnel, Operations, Technology or R&D, Marketing or Sales, Infrastructure

Go-to-market motion1 record

Distribution channels1 record

Marketing channels2 records

Curtis Banks product offering

Product offering

Core offering

Curtis Banks provides Self Invested Personal Pensions (SIPPs) and Small Self-Administered Schemes (SSAS) as one of the UK's largest specialist pension administration platforms. Its products offer flexible retirement options covering diverse investment strategies and commercial property holdings, delivered through the Nucleus Financial group's platform infrastructure and accessed via financial advisers and their clients.

Product overview

Curtis Banks operates as a standalone platform brand under the Nucleus Financial group. It provides Self Invested Personal Pensions (SIPPs) and Small Self-Administered Schemes (SSASs) as its core product offerings, serving both advisers and customers. The platform forms part of Nucleus Financial's comprehensive range of retirement-focused platform solutions alongside other group brands including Nucleus Platform, Nucleus Wrap, James Hay, Talbot and Muir, Third Financial, and Dunstan Thomas.

Differentiator

Problem solved

Functional benefit

Products and services

  • Self Invested Personal Pensions (SIPP)

Companies that use Curtis Banks

Customer profile

Segments2 records

Ideal customer profiles2 records

Curtis Banks technology and API

Technology

Technology focussed No

API detail

Has API
No
API docs
API detail

Core technology

AI maturity

App detail

Curtis Banks partnerships and signals

Strategic signal

Scale indicators3 records

Recent moves4 records

Expansion highlights4 records

Curtis Banks competitors and assessment

Company assessment

Broad incumbents

  • AJ Bell: Major UK investment platform offering SIPP, SSAS, and ISA products to advisers and direct customers. Comparable platform-based retirement proposition with overlapping adviser-distribution focus.
  • Hargreaves Lansdown: The UKs largest direct-to-consumer investment platform offering SIPPs within a broader multi-asset wrap. A broad incumbent competing with Curtis Banks on SIPP functionality, with significantly larger scale and brand recognition.
  • Legal & General: Large UK pension provider offering SIPP and workplace pension solutions. A broad incumbent with substantial scale and brand that competes for the same advised SIPP customers.
  • Aviva: One of the UK's largest life and pensions providers, offering SIPP and personal pension products through both advised and direct channels. A broad incumbent whose SIPP offerings compete in the same customer-adjacent space.
  • Fidelity International (UK): UK investment platform offering SIPP and ISA products through adviser and direct channels. Comparable platform-based retirement proposition competing for adviser-driven SIPP flows.
  • Standard Life (Phoenix Group): Major UK pension and investment platform provider offering SIPP and personal pension products via advisers. Comparable adviser-led retirement platform proposition with significant AUA scale.
  • Scottish Widows: UK pensions and investment provider offering SIPP and personal pension products, primarily through adviser channels. A broad incumbent with comparable advised retirement proposition.

Direct peers

  • James Hay: Fellow Nucleus Financial group platform brand and one of the original UK SIPP providers; offers Partnership SIPP and IPS SIPP products. Direct competitor in the same SIPP/SSAS wrapper market, now operating alongside Curtis Banks within the same group.
  • Talbot and Muir: Fellow Nucleus Financial group platform specialising in Small Self-Administered Schemes with commercial property expertise. A direct peer operating within the same group, focused on the SSAS sub-segment where Curtis Banks is also a leading provider.

Emerging players

  • PensionBee: UK direct-to-consumer pension consolidator offering a digital SIPP. An emerging challenger that competes for end-customers seeking simpler, self-directed pension solutions, particularly relevant to Curtis Banks' individual customer segment.

Market position

Strengths5 records

Weaknesses5 records

Competitive moat5 records

Key risks6 records

Key highlights5 records

Customer concentration

Curtis Banks social profiles

Digital presence

Curtis Banks financial estimates

Financial estimate

Revenue estimate

Valuation estimate

Curtis Banks leadership team

Management profile

Number of profiles

Profiles2 records

Curtis Banks funding detail

Funding detail

Funding overview

Funding rounds

Investors

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Curtis Banks M&A and investment

M&A and investment

M&A3 records

Investments

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Frequently asked questions about Curtis Banks

What does Curtis Banks do?

Curtis Banks provides Self Invested Personal Pensions (SIPPs) and Small Self-Administered Schemes (SSAS) as one of the UK's largest specialist pension administration platforms. Its products offer flexible retirement options covering diverse investment strategies and commercial property holdings, delivered through the Nucleus Financial group's platform infrastructure and accessed via financial advisers and their clients.

Is Curtis Banks a public or private company?

Curtis Banks is a private company. It is classified as corporate owned and is currently operating.

When was Curtis Banks founded?

Curtis Banks was founded in 2009. It employs 501 to 1,000 people.

Where is Curtis Banks based?

Curtis Banks is headquartered in Bristol, United Kingdom, in the Europe region.

Who are Curtis Banks's main competitors?

Broad incumbents on record are AJ Bell, Hargreaves Lansdown, Legal & General, Aviva, Fidelity International (UK), Standard Life (Phoenix Group) and Scottish Widows. Direct peers are James Hay and Talbot and Muir. PensionBee is listed as an emerging player.

Does Curtis Banks have an API?

No public API is recorded for Curtis Banks.

What industry is Curtis Banks in?

Curtis Banks's product category is Retirement Pensions. Its primary akta.pro industry code is FSAAAAAJ, Retirement & Pension Wealth (401(k)/IRA/SIPP/Superannuation Retail), with a secondary code of FSAAACAE, Retirement & Distribution Planning RIAs (401(k)/IRA/Pension Rollovers). Its NAICS code is 525110 and its SIC code is 6282.

Unlock the full company data

50 free credits on sign-up, no credit card required.

Contact sales
Live signals
GlobeNewswireForm 8.3 - [Curtis Banks Group Ltd - 14 09 2023] - (CGAML)Canaccord Genuity Asset Management Limited disclosed a 1.9438% stake in Curtis Banks Group Ltd, holding 1.3 million ordinary shares. The disclosure also recorded a sale of 2 million shares at 347.5p per share on 14 September 2023.GlobeNewswireForm 8.3 - Octopus Investments - Curtis Banks Group plcOctopus Investments disclosed a 0.40% stake in Curtis Banks Group plc, holding 265,077 ordinary shares. The company sold 3,598,198 shares at £3.37 each and 140 shares at the same price. The disclosure was made on 07/02/2023.GlobeNewswireForm 8.3 - Octopus Investments - Curtis Banks Group plcOctopus Investments disclosed a 7.58% stake in Curtis Banks Group plc, holding 5,067,618 ordinary shares. The disclosure, dated 30/01/2023, also recorded sales of 435 and 50 shares at £3.383 and £3.39 respectively.GlobeNewswireForm 8.3 - Octopus Investments - Curtis Banks Group plcOctopus Investments disclosed a 7.59% stake in Curtis Banks Group plc, holding 5,072,918 ordinary shares. The disclosure was made on 26 January 2023, with no dealings recorded.GlobeNewswireForm 8.3 - Octopus Investments - Curtis Banks Group plcOctopus Investments disclosed a 7.59% stake in Curtis Banks Group plc, holding 5,076,888 ordinary shares. The disclosure was made on 23 January 2023, with no dealings recorded.GlobeNewswireForm 8.3 - Octopus Investments - Curtis Banks Group plcOctopus Investments disclosed a 7.6% stake in Curtis Banks Group plc, holding 5,082,288 ordinary shares. The company also sold 118,390 shares at £3.39 each. The disclosure was made on 20 January 2023.GlobeNewswireForm 8.3 - Octopus Investments - Curtis Banks Group plcOctopus Investments disclosed a 7.78% stake in Curtis Banks Group plc, holding 5,200,678 ordinary shares. The disclosure, dated 19 January 2023, also recorded sales of 8,832 and 1,512,740 shares at £3.38 each.GlobeNewswireForm 8.3 - Octopus Investments - Curtis Banks Group plcOctopus Investments disclosed a 10.05% stake in Curtis Banks Group plc, holding 6,722,250 ordinary shares. The disclosure was made on 18 January 2023, with no dealings recorded.GlobeNewswireForm 8.3 - Octopus Investments - Curtis Banks Group plcOctopus Investments disclosed a 10.35% stake in Curtis Banks Group plc, holding 6,922,250 ordinary shares. The disclosure, dated 17 January 2023, also recorded a sale of 2,420 shares at £3.391 per unit.GlobeNewswireForm 8.3 - Octopus Investments - Curtis Banks Group plcOctopus Investments disclosed a 10.35% stake in Curtis Banks Group plc, holding 6,924,670 ordinary shares. The disclosure, dated 13 January 2023, also recorded sales of 1,171,100 shares at £3.41 each.