Developer docs
API playgroundTry for free, no card

Search company profiles

Rice University - Susanne M. Glasscock School of Continuing Studies

Full company profile

uuid0046v74

Namestring
Rice University - Susanne M. Glasscock School of Continuing Studies
Legal namestring
Susanne M. Glasscock School of Continuing Studies at Rice University
Company typeenum
Private
Founded yearint
1968
Descriptiontext

The Susanne M. Glasscock School of Continuing Studies is a continuing and professional education division of Rice University, established in 1968 to provide career-changers, professionals, educators, K-12 students, lifelong learners, and language learners with university-caliber educational programming. It operates from the 53,000-square-foot LEED Gold certified Anderson-Clarke Center on the Rice campus in Houston, Texas, with course management and online registration supported by continue.rice.edu. The school's portfolio spans graduate degree programs (Master of Arts in Teaching, Master of Interdisciplinary Studies, and Diploma in Liberal Studies), PreK-12 educator professional development (AP Summer Institutes, IB workshops, dual credit teacher credentialing, college access counseling certificate, early literacy leadership academy), corporate and cohort-based professional training, foreign language and ESL instruction, K-12 pre-college programs, and short non-credit courses for adult lifelong learners, delivered through centers including the Center for College Readiness, School Literacy and Culture, Center for Community Learning and Engagement, and Center for Philanthropy and Nonprofit Leadership.

The school's business model combines tuition-bearing graduate degrees (estimated $36,000-$45,000 per completer for MIS and DLS), per-course non-credit fees with Rice alumni and employee discounts, customized corporate training contracts, foreign language program registration across four annual sessions, and grant-funded programming (e.g., Houston Endowment, U.S. Department of Education, NSF, Chan Zuckerberg Initiative). It monetizes through a hybrid channel mix: direct online registration, in-person and phone enrollment, on-site corporate delivery, and school district partnerships across 13 Houston-area districts and nationally. Revenue is not publicly disclosed, with the school functioning as a self-supporting division subsidized by Rice University and external philanthropy rather than as a freestanding commercial entity.

The school's go-to-market is community- and partnership-led: long-tenured relationships with Houston-area school districts (Houston, Aldine, Alief, Fort Bend, Spring Branch ISDs), endorsements from the College Board and International Baccalaureate, and Rice University's brand and alumni network feed enrollment pipelines. Distinctive programmatic assets include the OWL (Oral and Written Language) Lab replication model, now operating 9 labs serving 3,500+ students, the Lifelong University initiative for retirees, and the Dual Credit Teacher Credentialing program with 600+ alumni. Cumulative impact metrics (75,000+ educators/students across 50 states and 53 countries via the Center for College Readiness, and 10,000+ IB teachers trained since 2005) suggest substantial reach despite a relatively small core staff (~50) anchored at the Anderson-Clarke Center.

Short descriptiontext

The Susanne M. Glasscock School of Continuing Studies is the continuing and professional education division of Rice University, offering graduate degrees, PreK-12 educator training, corporate programs, foreign language and ESL instruction, and lifelong learning courses to degree seekers, professionals, educators, K-12 students, and community learners.

Operating statusenum
Operating
Ownership categoryenum
Headcount rangeband
51–100
akta.pro rankint
HeadquartersHouston, United States
HQ citystring
Houston
HQ countrystring
United States
HQ regionstring
North America
Markets served

Serves global market

Offices2 records

Each record includes

City, Country, Type, Description, Source

Keyword5 values
continuing education, professional development, graduate degree programs, teacher certification, corporate training
Industry6 codes
1Workforce Development & Continuing Education Divisions (Noncredit)
CodeEDAHADAGPrimaryYes
2Secondary & Subject-Area Teacher Preparation Programs (STEM, Humanities, etc.)
CodeEDAHAFAHPrimaryNo
3Language & Communication Continuing Education
CodeEDAAAEAFPrimaryNo
4Early Childhood & Elementary Teacher Preparation Programs
CodeEDAHAFAGPrimaryNo
5University-Led Summer/Winter Schools (Credit/Non-Credit)
CodeEDAIAIAAPrimaryNo
6Subject-Specific Short Courses & Academies (e.g., STEM, Business, Arts)
CodeEDAIAIACPrimaryNo
NAICS code2 codes
  • Colleges, Universities, and Professional Schools6113
  • Educational Services61
SIC code1 code
  • Services-Educational Services8200
Product category
Continuing Education
Social media profiles1 record
GTM motion2 records

Each record includes

Type, Description, Source

Revenue model5 records
1Non-credit course fees
TypeOne Time License
Description

Short, non-credit courses in arts, humanities, sciences, social sciences, creative writing, photography, and studio art for adults. Taught by Rice faculty and community experts in day and evening formats, in person and online.

continue.rice.edu
2Graduate degree programs (MIS and DLS)
TypeSubscription Recurring
Description

Master of Interdisciplinary Studies (MIS) degree (~estimated $45,000 tuition and fees for 4-year completion) and Diploma in Liberal Studies (DLS) degree (~estimated $36,000 tuition and fees for 4-year completion), both taught in person on the Rice campus.

continue.rice.edu
3Professional and corporate development programs
TypeProfessional Services
Description

Customized corporate training and cohort-based professional development programs for organizations, including courses in communications, marketing, computer science, data science, financial services, healthcare, human resources, leadership, legal studies, management, and philanthropy.

continue.rice.edu
4Foreign Language Program
TypeOne Time License
Description

Language instruction in eight foreign languages (Spanish, French, Italian, Portuguese, Arabic, Russian, Japanese, Mandarin Chinese) offered year-round in four sessions per year, with registration fees and application process.

languages.rice.edu
5Charles Butt Scholarship ( Raise Your Hand Texas Foundation)
TypeProfessional Services
Description

$8,000 annual funding for up to four years awarded through the Raise Your Hand Texas Foundation for aspiring teachers enrolled in Rice's Master of Arts in Teaching or Teacher Certification programs.

Marketing channels8 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Stage, Description, Source

Distribution channels6 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Scope, Target buyer, Description, Source

Cost components5 values
Personnel, Infrastructure, Operations, Marketing or Sales, Others
Pricing details5 tiers
1Master of Interdisciplinary Studies (MIS) degree program
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceMulti-year contract
Notes

Estimated program cost of approximately $45,000 in tuition and fees for students completing within four years. Part-time students taking one course per semester can earn the degree in ~4 years; full-time students can complete in 2 years.

continue.rice.edu
2Diploma in Liberal Studies (DLS) degree program
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceMulti-year contract
Notes

Estimated program cost of approximately $36,000 in tuition and fees for students completing within four years.

continue.rice.edu
3Non-credit lifelong learning courses
ModelUnit PricingBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

Per-course fees; reduced fees indicated in course descriptions. 50% discount on non-limited enrollment courses for Rice University students, faculty, retirees, staff, and spouses/partners. 10% discount on limited enrollment courses for same group. No discounts for Language Programs or cooking classes.

continue.rice.edu
4Rice Alumni discount on non-credit courses
ModelUnit PricingBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

10% discount on select non-credit offerings for Rice University alumni. 15% discount on tuition for Master of Liberal Studies and Master of Arts in Teaching programs once admitted.

continue.rice.edu
5Charles Butt Scholarship for Aspiring Teachers
ModelOtherBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

$8,000 in annual funding for up to four years, plus ongoing training and development opportunities, mentorship from sitting public school educators, and participation in a statewide aspiring teachers network.

GTM typeB2B and B2C
B2B and B2C
Offering typeServices
Services
Core offering1 text field

The Glasscock School provides continuing education at Rice University, delivering graduate degrees (Master of Arts in Teaching, Master of Interdisciplinary Studies, Diploma in Liberal Studies), customized and cohort-based corporate training, PreK-12 educator certification and AP/IB professional development, foreign language and ESL instruction in eight languages, K-12 youth enrichment programs, and non-credit lifelong learning courses for adults. Programs are delivered on-campus at the Anderson-Clarke Center in Houston, online, and on-site at employer and school district locations.

Differentiator
Functional benefit
Problem solved
Quantifiable outcome1 of 4 values shown
  • Trained more than 75,000 educators and students from all 50 states and 53 countries
+3 more records
Product overview1 text field

The Susanne M. Glasscock School of Continuing Studies at Rice University operates as a comprehensive continuing education institution offering a multi-faceted portfolio of educational products and services. The school provides three graduate degree programs (Master of Arts in Teaching, Master of Interdisciplinary Studies, and Diploma in Liberal Studies) alongside numerous professional development tracks including corporate training, teacher certification, and educational workshops. Key programmatic centers include the Center for Community Learning and Engagement (non-credit lifelong learning), Center for College Readiness (AP/IB training), and School Literacy & Culture (early childhood education). Language instruction is delivered through dedicated ESL and Foreign Language programs. Youth programming encompasses pre-college experiences and summer camps. The institution also administers scholarship programs like the Charles Butt Scholarship and maintains specialized facilities including the LEED Gold-certified Anderson-Clarke Center.

Product and service19 records
1Master of Arts in Teaching (MAT)
CategoryDegree Program
2Master of Interdisciplinary Studies (MIS)
CategoryDegree Program
3Diploma in Liberal Studies (DLS)
CategoryDegree Program
4Corporate Programs (Custom and Cohort-Based)
CategoryProfessional Development
5Center for Community Learning and Engagement (Non-Credit Lifelong Learning Courses)
CategoryProgram/Center
6Center for College Readiness (CCR)
CategoryProgram/Center
7School Literacy & Culture (SLC)
CategoryProgram/Center
8English as a Second Language (ESL) Programs
CategoryLanguage Program
9Foreign Language Program
CategoryLanguage Program
10K-12 Student Programs (Aerospace Academy, Creative Writing Camp, NYLF Medicine & Health Care, Precollege Online)
CategoryYouth Program
11Alternative Teacher Certification
CategoryCertification Program
12Principal Certification
CategoryCertification Program
13Center for Philanthropy & Nonprofit Leadership (CPNL)
CategoryProgram/Center
14Dual Credit Teacher Credentialing
CategoryCertification Program
15Charles Butt Scholarship for Aspiring Teachers
CategoryScholarship Program
16College Access Counseling Certificate
CategoryCertificate Program
17Advanced Placement (AP) Programs
CategoryProfessional Development
18International Baccalaureate (IB) Programs
CategoryProfessional Development
19Lifelong University
CategoryAdult Education
Scale indicator10 records

Each record includes

Type, Value, Description, Source

Partnership8 partners
Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

The Charles Butt Scholarship for Aspiring Teachers is administered by the Raise Your Hand Texas Foundation, providing $8,000 annual funding for up to four years, ongoing training, mentorship, and participation in a statewide aspiring teachers network. Approximately 100 scholarships awarded annually through 10 partner universities.

2Association of Graduate Liberal Studies Programs (AGLSP)
Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Rice University hosts the national office and is a member institution of AGLSP. Rebecca Sharp serves as Treasurer on the AGLSP Executive Board. AGLSP provides a forum for exchange of information among graduate interdisciplinary liberal arts programs.

continue.rice.edu
Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

13 Houston-area school districts participate in the Houston Endowment-funded College Readiness Initiative to improve college readiness for students in consortium schools.

Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

The Glasscock School is endorsed by the College Board to offer Advanced Placement Summer Institutes for AP and Pre-AP teachers, operating since 1995.

Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

The Glasscock School has been endorsed by IB since 2005 to offer IB DP Workshop training for teachers and administrators, having trained close to 10,000 IB teachers from across the globe.

Strategic tierMajorTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Collaborative partner in the Houston area College Readiness Initiative funded by Houston Endowment.

Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Houston ISD hosts OWL Replication Labs at Fonwood Early Childhood Center and Ninfa Laurenzo Early Childhood Center, and is partner in Project Equip and the College Readiness Initiative.

Strategic tierMinorTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Baker Ripley Community Schools hosts OWL Replication Labs at Gulfton Campus and Ripley House Campus, serving diverse communities.

Recent move7 records

Each record includes

Date, Type, Title, Description, Source

Expansion highlight6 records

Each record includes

Type, Description

Peers10 records
TypeDirect peer
Description

Harvard's continuing and professional education division offering graduate degrees, certificates, and non-credit courses for adult learners; closely comparable in mission, university affiliation, and program mix to Glasscock at Rice.

TypeEmerging player
Description

Online learning platform partnering with universities for non-credit certificates, courses, and degree programs; competes with Glasscock's online non-credit and corporate training programs on price and reach.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Columbia's school offering graduate degrees, certificates, and professional programs for working adults; closely comparable in mission (graduate interdisciplinary/professional study for adult learners) to Glasscock's MIS and corporate programs.

TypeRegional player
Description

Southern Methodist University's continuing education division based in Dallas, offering certificates and corporate programs; comparable in mission but operating in the DFW metro rather than Houston.

TypeDirect peer
Description

UCLA's continuing education arm offering certificates, professional development, and degree-related programs; comparable in scale, university affiliation, and breadth of professional programs to Glasscock.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Northwestern's school offering graduate degrees and professional certificates for working professionals; aligns with Glasscock's MIS/DLS and Center for Philanthropy & Nonprofit Leadership programs in audience and mission.

TypeDirect peer
Description

MIT's professional and continuing education division delivering short courses, certificates, and custom corporate programs; comparable to Glasscock's corporate and professional development portfolio, anchored by elite university brand.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Duke's continuing education program offering non-credit courses, certificates, and youth programs; mirrors Glasscock's portfolio of lifelong learning, professional development, and pre-college offerings within a top-tier research university.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Stanford's lifelong learning program providing non-credit liberal arts and sciences courses for adults; mirrors Glasscock's Center for Community Learning & Engagement and Lifelong University offerings.

TypeRegional player
Description

Houston's primary public-university continuing education provider, serving overlapping Houston audiences with similar non-credit, language, and professional programs; the closest geographic direct competitor in the local market.

Market position
Strengths5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Weaknesses5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Competitive moat5 records

Each record includes

Type, Details

Key risks6 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Key highlights7 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Customer concentration

Classification, Details

Named customers8 records

Each record includes

Name, Industry, Type, Use case, Source, UUID

Segment7 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Primary, Description, Pain point addressed, Use case, Source

Ideal customer profile5 records

Each record includes

Profile, Firmographic size, Sales motion, Sales cycle length, Buying structure, Purchase trigger, Buyer persona, Geography, Industry vertical, Primary use case, Description, Pain points, Evidence proof points, Target buyer

Technology focused
No
API detail
Has APIbool
No

Docs URL, Description

AI maturity
App detail

Has app

Feature2 records

Each record includes

Title, Differentiator, Description, Source

Core technology
Revenue estimate
Valuation estimate
Number of profiles
Profiles10 records

Each record includes

Name, Designation, Designation category, Overview, Profile commentary, Source

Subsidiaries7 records

Each record includes

Name, Acquired on, Relationship type, Type, Business focus

Compliance1 record

Each record includes

Name, Class, Description

Funding overview

Funding stage, Last funding date, Total funding USD

Funding rounds

Each record includes

Round, Amount USD, Date, Pre money valuation, Total investors, Investors, News

Investors

Each record includes

Name, Type, Date of entry, Rounds participated, Website

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

M&A

Each record includes

Name, Acquisition type, Announced date, Completed date, Status, Website, News

Investment

Each record includes

Name, Round, Announced date, Lead investor, Website, News

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Rice University - Susanne M. Glasscock School of Continuing Studies

Continuing Educationcontinue.rice.edu

The Susanne M. Glasscock School of Continuing Studies is the continuing and professional education division of Rice University, offering graduate degrees, PreK-12 educator training, corporate programs, foreign language and ESL instruction, and lifelong learning courses to degree seekers, professionals, educators, K-12 students, and community learners.

What Rice University - Susanne M. Glasscock School of Continuing Studies does

The Susanne M. Glasscock School of Continuing Studies is a continuing and professional education division of Rice University, established in 1968 to provide career-changers, professionals, educators, K-12 students, lifelong learners, and language learners with university-caliber educational programming. It operates from the 53,000-square-foot LEED Gold certified Anderson-Clarke Center on the Rice campus in Houston, Texas, with course management and online registration supported by continue.rice.edu. The school's portfolio spans graduate degree programs (Master of Arts in Teaching, Master of Interdisciplinary Studies, and Diploma in Liberal Studies), PreK-12 educator professional development (AP Summer Institutes, IB workshops, dual credit teacher credentialing, college access counseling certificate, early literacy leadership academy), corporate and cohort-based professional training, foreign language and ESL instruction, K-12 pre-college programs, and short non-credit courses for adult lifelong learners, delivered through centers including the Center for College Readiness, School Literacy and Culture, Center for Community Learning and Engagement, and Center for Philanthropy and Nonprofit Leadership.

The school's business model combines tuition-bearing graduate degrees (estimated $36,000-$45,000 per completer for MIS and DLS), per-course non-credit fees with Rice alumni and employee discounts, customized corporate training contracts, foreign language program registration across four annual sessions, and grant-funded programming (e.g., Houston Endowment, U.S. Department of Education, NSF, Chan Zuckerberg Initiative). It monetizes through a hybrid channel mix: direct online registration, in-person and phone enrollment, on-site corporate delivery, and school district partnerships across 13 Houston-area districts and nationally. Revenue is not publicly disclosed, with the school functioning as a self-supporting division subsidized by Rice University and external philanthropy rather than as a freestanding commercial entity.

The school's go-to-market is community- and partnership-led: long-tenured relationships with Houston-area school districts (Houston, Aldine, Alief, Fort Bend, Spring Branch ISDs), endorsements from the College Board and International Baccalaureate, and Rice University's brand and alumni network feed enrollment pipelines. Distinctive programmatic assets include the OWL (Oral and Written Language) Lab replication model, now operating 9 labs serving 3,500+ students, the Lifelong University initiative for retirees, and the Dual Credit Teacher Credentialing program with 600+ alumni. Cumulative impact metrics (75,000+ educators/students across 50 states and 53 countries via the Center for College Readiness, and 10,000+ IB teachers trained since 2005) suggest substantial reach despite a relatively small core staff (~50) anchored at the Anderson-Clarke Center.

Rice University - Susanne M. Glasscock School of Continuing Studies firmographics

Firmographics
Name
Rice University - Susanne M. Glasscock School of Continuing Studies
Legal name
Susanne M. Glasscock School of Continuing Studies at Rice University
Website
https://continue.rice.edu
Company type
Private
Founded year
1968
Operating status
Operating
Headcount range
51–100 employees
Short description
The Susanne M. Glasscock School of Continuing Studies is the continuing and professional education division of Rice University, offering graduate degrees, PreK-12 educator training, corporate programs, foreign language and ESL instruction, and lifelong learning courses to degree seekers, professionals, educators, K-12 students, and community learners.
Ownership category
akta.pro rank

Rice University - Susanne M. Glasscock School of Continuing Studies industry classification

Industry
Product category
Continuing Education
NAICS
Colleges, Universities, and Professional Schools (6113), Educational Services (61)
SIC
Services-Educational Services (8200)
akta.pro primary industry
Workforce Development & Continuing Education Divisions (Noncredit) (EDAHADAG)
akta.pro secondary industries
Secondary & Subject-Area Teacher Preparation Programs (STEM, Humanities, etc.) (EDAHAFAH), Language & Communication Continuing Education (EDAAAEAF), Early Childhood & Elementary Teacher Preparation Programs (EDAHAFAG), University-Led Summer/Winter Schools (Credit/Non-Credit) (EDAIAIAA), Subject-Specific Short Courses & Academies (e.g., STEM, Business, Arts) (EDAIAIAC)

Keywords

  • Continuing education
  • Professional development
  • Graduate degree programs
  • Teacher certification
  • Corporate training

Where Rice University - Susanne M. Glasscock School of Continuing Studies is headquartered

Location

Headquarters

HQ city
Houston
HQ country
United States
HQ region
North America

Offices2 records

Markets served

Rice University - Susanne M. Glasscock School of Continuing Studies business model

Business model
GTM type
B2B and B2C
Offering type
Services
Cost components
Personnel, Infrastructure, Operations, Marketing or Sales, Others

Revenue model

  1. Non-credit course fees: Short, non-credit courses in arts, humanities, sciences, social sciences, creative writing, photography, and studio art for adults. Taught by Rice faculty and community experts in day and evening formats, in person and online.
  2. Graduate degree programs (MIS and DLS): Master of Interdisciplinary Studies (MIS) degree (~estimated $45,000 tuition and fees for 4-year completion) and Diploma in Liberal Studies (DLS) degree (~estimated $36,000 tuition and fees for 4-year completion), both taught in person on the Rice campus.
  3. Professional and corporate development programs: Customized corporate training and cohort-based professional development programs for organizations, including courses in communications, marketing, computer science, data science, financial services, healthcare, human resources, leadership, legal studies, management, and philanthropy.
  4. Foreign Language Program: Language instruction in eight foreign languages (Spanish, French, Italian, Portuguese, Arabic, Russian, Japanese, Mandarin Chinese) offered year-round in four sessions per year, with registration fees and application process.
  5. Charles Butt Scholarship ( Raise Your Hand Texas Foundation): $8,000 annual funding for up to four years awarded through the Raise Your Hand Texas Foundation for aspiring teachers enrolled in Rice's Master of Arts in Teaching or Teacher Certification programs.

Pricing tiers

ModelBillingPrice
SubscriptionMulti-year contractMaster of Interdisciplinary Studies (MIS) degree program
SubscriptionMulti-year contractDiploma in Liberal Studies (DLS) degree program
Unit PricingPay-as-you-goNon-credit lifelong learning courses
Unit PricingPay-as-you-goRice Alumni discount on non-credit courses
OtherAnnualCharles Butt Scholarship for Aspiring Teachers

Go-to-market motion2 records

Distribution channels6 records

Marketing channels8 records

Rice University - Susanne M. Glasscock School of Continuing Studies product offering

Product offering

Core offering

The Glasscock School provides continuing education at Rice University, delivering graduate degrees (Master of Arts in Teaching, Master of Interdisciplinary Studies, Diploma in Liberal Studies), customized and cohort-based corporate training, PreK-12 educator certification and AP/IB professional development, foreign language and ESL instruction in eight languages, K-12 youth enrichment programs, and non-credit lifelong learning courses for adults. Programs are delivered on-campus at the Anderson-Clarke Center in Houston, online, and on-site at employer and school district locations.

Product overview

The Susanne M. Glasscock School of Continuing Studies at Rice University operates as a comprehensive continuing education institution offering a multi-faceted portfolio of educational products and services. The school provides three graduate degree programs (Master of Arts in Teaching, Master of Interdisciplinary Studies, and Diploma in Liberal Studies) alongside numerous professional development tracks including corporate training, teacher certification, and educational workshops. Key programmatic centers include the Center for Community Learning and Engagement (non-credit lifelong learning), Center for College Readiness (AP/IB training), and School Literacy & Culture (early childhood education). Language instruction is delivered through dedicated ESL and Foreign Language programs. Youth programming encompasses pre-college experiences and summer camps. The institution also administers scholarship programs like the Charles Butt Scholarship and maintains specialized facilities including the LEED Gold-certified Anderson-Clarke Center.

Differentiator

Problem solved

Functional benefit

Products and services

  • Master of Arts in Teaching (MAT)
  • Master of Interdisciplinary Studies (MIS)
  • Diploma in Liberal Studies (DLS)
  • Corporate Programs (Custom and Cohort-Based)
  • Center for Community Learning and Engagement (Non-Credit Lifelong Learning Courses)
  • Center for College Readiness (CCR)
  • School Literacy & Culture (SLC)
  • English as a Second Language (ESL) Programs
  • Foreign Language Program
  • K-12 Student Programs (Aerospace Academy, Creative Writing Camp, NYLF Medicine & Health Care, Precollege Online)
  • Alternative Teacher Certification
  • Principal Certification
  • Center for Philanthropy & Nonprofit Leadership (CPNL)
  • Dual Credit Teacher Credentialing
  • Charles Butt Scholarship for Aspiring Teachers
  • College Access Counseling Certificate
  • Advanced Placement (AP) Programs
  • International Baccalaureate (IB) Programs
  • Lifelong University

Quantifiable outcome

  • Trained more than 75,000 educators and students from all 50 states and 53 countries
  • +3 more outcomes

Companies that use Rice University - Susanne M. Glasscock School of Continuing Studies

Customer profile

Named customers8 records

Segments7 records

Ideal customer profiles5 records

Rice University - Susanne M. Glasscock School of Continuing Studies technology and API

Technology

Technology focussed No

API detail

Has API
No
API docs
API detail

Core technology

AI maturity

App detail

Feature2 records

Rice University - Susanne M. Glasscock School of Continuing Studies partnerships and signals

Strategic signal

Partnerships

Eight partnerships are on record, tiered core, major and minor.

  • Raise Your Hand Texas FoundationcoreStrategic or Co-development PartnerThe Charles Butt Scholarship for Aspiring Teachers is administered by the Raise Your Hand Texas Foundation, providing $8,000 annual funding for up to four years, ongoing training, mentorship, and participation in a statewide aspiring teachers network. Approximately 100 scholarships awarded annually through 10 partner universities.
  • Association of Graduate Liberal Studies Programs (AGLSP)coreStrategic or Co-development PartnerRice University hosts the national office and is a member institution of AGLSP. Rebecca Sharp serves as Treasurer on the AGLSP Executive Board. AGLSP provides a forum for exchange of information among graduate interdisciplinary liberal arts programs.
  • Houston-Area School Districts (Alief, Alvin, Channelview, Deer Park, Dickinson, Fort Bend, Goose Creek, Houston, Humble, Klein, La Porte, Pasadena, Spring)coreStrategic or Co-development Partner13 Houston-area school districts participate in the Houston Endowment-funded College Readiness Initiative to improve college readiness for students in consortium schools.
  • College BoardcoreStrategic or Co-development PartnerThe Glasscock School is endorsed by the College Board to offer Advanced Placement Summer Institutes for AP and Pre-AP teachers, operating since 1995.
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)coreStrategic or Co-development PartnerThe Glasscock School has been endorsed by IB since 2005 to offer IB DP Workshop training for teachers and administrators, having trained close to 10,000 IB teachers from across the globe.
  • AVID CentermajorStrategic or Co-development PartnerCollaborative partner in the Houston area College Readiness Initiative funded by Houston Endowment.
  • Houston ISDcoreStrategic or Co-development PartnerHouston ISD hosts OWL Replication Labs at Fonwood Early Childhood Center and Ninfa Laurenzo Early Childhood Center, and is partner in Project Equip and the College Readiness Initiative.
  • Baker Ripley Community SchoolsminorStrategic or Co-development PartnerBaker Ripley Community Schools hosts OWL Replication Labs at Gulfton Campus and Ripley House Campus, serving diverse communities.

Scale indicators10 records

Recent moves7 records

Expansion highlights6 records

Rice University - Susanne M. Glasscock School of Continuing Studies competitors and assessment

Company assessment

Direct peers

  • Harvard Extension School: Harvard's continuing and professional education division offering graduate degrees, certificates, and non-credit courses for adult learners; closely comparable in mission, university affiliation, and program mix to Glasscock at Rice.
  • Columbia University School of Professional Studies: Columbia's school offering graduate degrees, certificates, and professional programs for working adults; closely comparable in mission (graduate interdisciplinary/professional study for adult learners) to Glasscock's MIS and corporate programs.
  • UCLA Extension: UCLA's continuing education arm offering certificates, professional development, and degree-related programs; comparable in scale, university affiliation, and breadth of professional programs to Glasscock.
  • Northwestern School of Professional Studies: Northwestern's school offering graduate degrees and professional certificates for working professionals; aligns with Glasscock's MIS/DLS and Center for Philanthropy & Nonprofit Leadership programs in audience and mission.
  • MIT Professional Education: MIT's professional and continuing education division delivering short courses, certificates, and custom corporate programs; comparable to Glasscock's corporate and professional development portfolio, anchored by elite university brand.
  • Duke Continuing Studies: Duke's continuing education program offering non-credit courses, certificates, and youth programs; mirrors Glasscock's portfolio of lifelong learning, professional development, and pre-college offerings within a top-tier research university.
  • Stanford Continuing Studies: Stanford's lifelong learning program providing non-credit liberal arts and sciences courses for adults; mirrors Glasscock's Center for Community Learning & Engagement and Lifelong University offerings.

Emerging players

  • Coursera: Online learning platform partnering with universities for non-credit certificates, courses, and degree programs; competes with Glasscock's online non-credit and corporate training programs on price and reach.

Regional players

  • SMU CAPE (Continuing and Professional Education): Southern Methodist University's continuing education division based in Dallas, offering certificates and corporate programs; comparable in mission but operating in the DFW metro rather than Houston.
  • University of Houston Continuing Education: Houston's primary public-university continuing education provider, serving overlapping Houston audiences with similar non-credit, language, and professional programs; the closest geographic direct competitor in the local market.

Market position

Strengths5 records

Weaknesses5 records

Competitive moat5 records

Key risks6 records

Key highlights7 records

Customer concentration

Rice University - Susanne M. Glasscock School of Continuing Studies social profiles

Digital presence

Rice University - Susanne M. Glasscock School of Continuing Studies compliance and trust

Trust signal

Compliance1 record

Rice University - Susanne M. Glasscock School of Continuing Studies financial estimates

Financial estimate

Revenue estimate

Valuation estimate

Rice University - Susanne M. Glasscock School of Continuing Studies leadership team

Management profile

Number of profiles

Profiles10 records

Rice University - Susanne M. Glasscock School of Continuing Studies subsidiaries and ownership

Company hierarchy

Subsidiaries7 records

Rice University - Susanne M. Glasscock School of Continuing Studies funding detail

Funding detail

Funding overview

Funding rounds

Investors

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Rice University - Susanne M. Glasscock School of Continuing Studies M&A and investment

M&A and investment

M&A

Investments

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Frequently asked questions about Rice University - Susanne M. Glasscock School of Continuing Studies

What does Rice University - Susanne M. Glasscock School of Continuing Studies do?

The Glasscock School provides continuing education at Rice University, delivering graduate degrees (Master of Arts in Teaching, Master of Interdisciplinary Studies, Diploma in Liberal Studies), customized and cohort-based corporate training, PreK-12 educator certification and AP/IB professional development, foreign language and ESL instruction in eight languages, K-12 youth enrichment programs, and non-credit lifelong learning courses for adults. Programs are delivered on-campus at the Anderson-Clarke Center in Houston, online, and on-site at employer and school district locations.

Is Rice University - Susanne M. Glasscock School of Continuing Studies a public or private company?

Rice University - Susanne M. Glasscock School of Continuing Studies is a private company. It is classified as nonprofit foundation owned and is currently operating.

When was Rice University - Susanne M. Glasscock School of Continuing Studies founded?

Rice University - Susanne M. Glasscock School of Continuing Studies was founded in 1968. It employs 51 to 100 people.

Where is Rice University - Susanne M. Glasscock School of Continuing Studies based?

Rice University - Susanne M. Glasscock School of Continuing Studies is headquartered in Houston, United States, in the North America region.

How does Rice University - Susanne M. Glasscock School of Continuing Studies make money?

Five revenue lines are on record. Non-credit course fees are the primary driver. The others are graduate degree programs (MIS and DLS), professional and corporate development programs, foreign Language Program and charles Butt Scholarship ( Raise Your Hand Texas Foundation).

Who are Rice University - Susanne M. Glasscock School of Continuing Studies's main competitors?

Direct peers on record are Harvard Extension School, Columbia University School of Professional Studies, UCLA Extension, Northwestern School of Professional Studies, MIT Professional Education, Duke Continuing Studies and Stanford Continuing Studies. Coursera is listed as an emerging player. Regional players are SMU CAPE (Continuing and Professional Education) and University of Houston Continuing Education.

Does Rice University - Susanne M. Glasscock School of Continuing Studies have an API?

No public API is recorded for Rice University - Susanne M. Glasscock School of Continuing Studies.

What industry is Rice University - Susanne M. Glasscock School of Continuing Studies in?

Rice University - Susanne M. Glasscock School of Continuing Studies's product category is Continuing Education. Its primary akta.pro industry code is EDAHADAG, Workforce Development & Continuing Education Divisions (Noncredit), with a secondary code of EDAHAFAH, Secondary & Subject-Area Teacher Preparation Programs (STEM, Humanities, etc.). Its NAICS code is 6113 and its SIC code is 8200.

Unlock the full company data

50 free credits on sign-up, no credit card required.

Contact sales
Live signals