Developer docs
API playgroundTry for free, no card

Search company profiles

uOttawa | Coop et carrières | CO-OP and Careers

Full company profile

uuid0046z7f

Namestring
uOttawa | Coop et carrières | CO-OP and Careers
Legal namestring
Université d'Ottawa | University of Ottawa
Websiteurl
coop.uottawa.ca
Company typeenum
Private
Founded yearint
1848
Descriptiontext

The University of Ottawa's Co-operative Education Programs (Co-op et carrières | CO-OP and Careers) is a university department delivering work-integrated learning services to undergraduate and master's students at Canada's largest bilingual public research university. Operating with 24 staff from the Desmarais Building in Ottawa, the program coordinates paid work placements across 90+ academic programs, partnering with 4,000+ employers that include federal, provincial, and municipal government departments, Crown corporations, private businesses, NGOs, educational institutions, and high-tech companies. Students complete approximately 16 months of paid work experience through four alternating work-study terms structured over a typical five-year undergraduate sequence, accessing placements via the CO-OP Navigator digital portal.

The program is accredited by Co-operative Education and Work-Integrated Learning (CEWIL) Canada and supports both domestic placements (across Canada) and international mobility placements (abroad). Revenue derives from co-op fees charged to participating students, which fund placement administration, employer outreach, student support, and accreditation maintenance; specific fee schedules are not publicly disclosed. Complementary services include mandatory co-op workshops, professional development webinars, academic coordinator support, work-term reporting, the Loh Entrepreneurship Experience Scholarship for entrepreneurship-track internships, and annual Co-op Student of the Year and Co-op Employer of the Year awards. Distribution runs through university student portals (uoZone, Brightspace, VirtuO), the CO-OP Portal/Navigator, employer information sessions, and the university's broader social media presence. The entity operates as a public-sector departmental unit within the University of Ottawa rather than a commercially independent company, with no disclosed funding rounds, M&A activity, or independent financial reporting.

Short descriptiontext

The University of Ottawa's Co-operative Education Programs office coordinates paid work-integrated learning placements across 90+ academic programs for undergraduate and master's students, partnering with 4,000+ employers across government, private, non-profit, and educational sectors under CEWIL Canada accreditation.

Operating statusenum
Operating
Ownership categoryenum
Headcount rangeband
11–50
akta.pro rankint
HeadquartersOttawa, Canada
HQ citystring
Ottawa
HQ countrystring
Canada
HQ regionstring
North America
Markets served

Serves global market

Offices1 record

Each record includes

City, Country, Type, Description, Source

Keyword5 values
cooperative education programs, work-integrated learning, student work placements, career experiential learning, higher education co-op
Industry2 codes
1Experiential Learning & Internships/Co-ops
CodeEDALABAGPrimaryYes
2University-Sponsored International Internships & Co-op Placements
CodeEDAIAFABPrimaryNo
NAICS code3 codes
  • Colleges, Universities, and Professional Schools6113
  • Educational Support Services6117
  • Educational Services611
SIC code2 codes
  • Services-Educational Services8200
  • Services-Employment Agencies7361
Product category
Cooperative Education Services
GTM motion1 record

Each record includes

Type, Description, Source

Revenue model1 record
1Co-op Program Fees
TypeProfessional Services
Description

Students enrolled in co-op programs pay co-op fees as part of their program costs. The University of Ottawa charges co-op fees for participation in the program, which funds the administration of placements, employer outreach, student support, and accreditation maintenance.

uottawa.ca
Marketing channels7 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Stage, Description, Source

Distribution channels3 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Scope, Target buyer, Description, Source

Cost components5 values
Personnel, Operations, Marketing or Sales, Technology or R&D, Infrastructure
GTM typeB2B and B2C
B2B and B2C
Offering typeServices
Services
Core offering1 text field

The University of Ottawa's Co-operative Education Programs (Co-op and Careers) office administers accredited cooperative education programs in which students alternate academic study with paid work terms, gaining approximately 16 months of practical experience across four work terms. The office operates across 90+ programs with 4,000+ employer partners in government, private sector, NGOs, Crown corporations, and educational institutions, and supports international and national mobility placements through the CO-OP Navigator digital portal.

Differentiator
Functional benefit
Problem solved
Quantifiable outcome1 of 3 values shown
  • Approximately 16 months of paid work experience gained per student completing the co-op program.
+2 more records
Product overview1 text field

The University of Ottawa's Co-op and Careers program is a comprehensive experiential learning ecosystem comprising the core Co-op Program (offering 90+ programs with 4,000+ employer partnerships), the CO-OP Navigator digital portal for student placement management, and a suite of complementary services including work term reporting, academic coordination, international and national mobility options, scholarships (notably the Loh Entrepreneurship Experience Scholarship), professional development webinars and workshops, and annual award programs recognizing outstanding students and employers. The program follows a structured alternating work-study sequence spanning four work terms over approximately 16 months, and is accredited by CEWIL Canada.

Product and service5 records
1Co-op Program (Co-operative Education Program)
CategoryCooperative Education
Description

A CEWIL Canada-accredited cooperative education program enabling University of Ottawa students to alternate academic study with four paid work terms, gaining approximately 16 months of practical experience in their field of study across 90+ programs and 4,000+ employer partners. Available to four-year undergraduate honours (specialization, double major, major with minor) and select master's programs.

2International Mobility Placement Service
CategoryCooperative Education - Mobility
Description

A co-op placement service enabling University of Ottawa students to undertake paid work terms abroad, gaining international professional experience and cross-cultural exposure as part of their co-op program.

3National Mobility Placement Service
CategoryCooperative Education - Mobility
Description

A co-op placement service enabling University of Ottawa students to undertake paid work terms in provinces across Canada, extending placement opportunities beyond the Ottawa region.

4Loh Entrepreneurship Experience Scholarship Program
CategoryCooperative Education - Entrepreneurship
Description

A scholarship program enabling University of Ottawa co-op students to develop entrepreneurial skills through entrepreneurship internships and co-op placements focused on business development and innovation.

5Co-op Employer Hiring Service (Hire a CO-OP Student)
CategoryEmployer Talent Services
Description

An employer-facing service enabling organizations to hire University of Ottawa co-op students for paid work-term placements, accessed via a dedicated employer services portal, key dates, FAQ pages, and information sessions/events.

Scale indicator3 records

Each record includes

Type, Value, Description, Source

Partnership1 partner
Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

The University of Ottawa’s co-op program holds accreditation from CEWIL Canada, the national professional body for co-operative education and work-integrated learning. CEWIL Canada sets standards for co-op program quality and provides a framework for best practices, ensuring that uOttawa’s program meets established benchmarks for student engagement, employer partnerships, and academic integration.

Recent move6 records

Each record includes

Date, Type, Title, Description, Source

Expansion highlight5 records

Each record includes

Type, Description

Peers10 records
TypeDirect peer
Description

SFU's co-op program is one of Canada's larger CEWIL-accredited programs with a similarly broad employer base, offering alternating paid work terms across many disciplines comparable to uOttawa's portfolio.

TypeDirect peer
Description

TMU's co-op program is a CEWIL-accredited large-scale Canadian university co-op, providing directly comparable paid alternating work-study experiences and competing with uOttawa for Ontario-based employer partners.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Dalhousie's co-op program operates the same CEWIL-accredited model with multi-term paid work placements at a Canadian research university, competing in Atlantic Canada but with structural overlap on portfolio and employer-base design.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

A large Canadian staffing firm that includes student and early-career placement services. While for-profit and much larger, it competes for the same employer demand for entry-level/student talent and is a comparable go-to-market counterweight.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Canada's largest and most established co-op program. Operates the same core function (CEWIL-accredited, employer-mediated paid work terms) at a similarly broad Canadian research university, and is the most direct comparable on scale, structure, and employer relationships.

TypeDirect peer
Description

McGill's co-op offerings at a major Canadian research university provide paid work-integrated learning across multiple disciplines under CEWIL-accredited frameworks, competing with uOttawa for high-caliber students and major employers.

TypeDirect peer
Description

UBC's co-op program is one of the largest in Western Canada, CEWIL-accredited, and offers alternating work-study terms with comparable four-term structures, serving as a leading national competitor for employer partnerships.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Concordia's co-op office delivers CEWIL-accredited paid work-integrated learning at a Montreal research university, overlapping with uOttawa on bilingual talent pipelines and shared private-sector employer relationships across Quebec and Ontario.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Queen's runs a CEWIL-accredited co-op program structured around multi-term paid work experiences in a research university setting — a near-identical model to uOttawa's, comparable in scale and employer-mix philosophy.

TypeDirect peer
Description

UofT's PEY Co-op is among Canada's flagship 12-16 month paid co-op programs and competes with uOttawa for large Canadian employers seeking STEM and business talent from a top-tier research university.

Market position
Strengths4 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Weaknesses4 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Competitive moat4 records

Each record includes

Type, Details

Key risks5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Key highlights7 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Customer concentration

Classification, Details

Named customers5 records

Each record includes

Name, Industry, Type, Use case, Source, UUID

Segment3 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Primary, Description, Pain point addressed, Use case, Source

Ideal customer profile2 records

Each record includes

Profile, Firmographic size, Sales motion, Sales cycle length, Buying structure, Purchase trigger, Buyer persona, Geography, Industry vertical, Primary use case, Description, Pain points, Evidence proof points, Target buyer

Technology focused
No
API detail
Has APIbool
No

Docs URL, Description

AI maturity
App detail

Has app

Core technology
Revenue estimate
Valuation estimate
Number of profiles
No data
Compliance1 record

Each record includes

Name, Class, Description

Funding overview

Funding stage, Last funding date, Total funding USD

Funding rounds

Each record includes

Round, Amount USD, Date, Pre money valuation, Total investors, Investors, News

Investors

Each record includes

Name, Type, Date of entry, Rounds participated, Website

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

M&A

Each record includes

Name, Acquisition type, Announced date, Completed date, Status, Website, News

Investment

Each record includes

Name, Round, Announced date, Lead investor, Website, News

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

uOttawa | Coop et carrières | CO-OP and Careers

Cooperative Education Servicescoop.uottawa.ca

The University of Ottawa's Co-operative Education Programs office coordinates paid work-integrated learning placements across 90+ academic programs for undergraduate and master's students, partnering with 4,000+ employers across government, private, non-profit, and educational sectors under CEWIL Canada accreditation.

What uOttawa | Coop et carrières | CO-OP and Careers does

The University of Ottawa's Co-operative Education Programs (Co-op et carrières | CO-OP and Careers) is a university department delivering work-integrated learning services to undergraduate and master's students at Canada's largest bilingual public research university. Operating with 24 staff from the Desmarais Building in Ottawa, the program coordinates paid work placements across 90+ academic programs, partnering with 4,000+ employers that include federal, provincial, and municipal government departments, Crown corporations, private businesses, NGOs, educational institutions, and high-tech companies. Students complete approximately 16 months of paid work experience through four alternating work-study terms structured over a typical five-year undergraduate sequence, accessing placements via the CO-OP Navigator digital portal.

The program is accredited by Co-operative Education and Work-Integrated Learning (CEWIL) Canada and supports both domestic placements (across Canada) and international mobility placements (abroad). Revenue derives from co-op fees charged to participating students, which fund placement administration, employer outreach, student support, and accreditation maintenance; specific fee schedules are not publicly disclosed. Complementary services include mandatory co-op workshops, professional development webinars, academic coordinator support, work-term reporting, the Loh Entrepreneurship Experience Scholarship for entrepreneurship-track internships, and annual Co-op Student of the Year and Co-op Employer of the Year awards. Distribution runs through university student portals (uoZone, Brightspace, VirtuO), the CO-OP Portal/Navigator, employer information sessions, and the university's broader social media presence. The entity operates as a public-sector departmental unit within the University of Ottawa rather than a commercially independent company, with no disclosed funding rounds, M&A activity, or independent financial reporting.

uOttawa | Coop et carrières | CO-OP and Careers firmographics

Firmographics
Name
uOttawa | Coop et carrières | CO-OP and Careers
Legal name
Université d'Ottawa | University of Ottawa
Website
https://coop.uottawa.ca
Company type
Private
Founded year
1848
Operating status
Operating
Headcount range
11–50 employees
Short description
The University of Ottawa's Co-operative Education Programs office coordinates paid work-integrated learning placements across 90+ academic programs for undergraduate and master's students, partnering with 4,000+ employers across government, private, non-profit, and educational sectors under CEWIL Canada accreditation.
Ownership category
akta.pro rank

uOttawa | Coop et carrières | CO-OP and Careers industry classification

Industry
Product category
Cooperative Education Services
NAICS
Colleges, Universities, and Professional Schools (6113), Educational Support Services (6117), Educational Services (611)
SIC
Services-Educational Services (8200), Services-Employment Agencies (7361)
akta.pro primary industry
Experiential Learning & Internships/Co-ops (EDALABAG)
akta.pro secondary industry
University-Sponsored International Internships & Co-op Placements (EDAIAFAB)

Keywords

  • Cooperative education programs
  • Work-integrated learning
  • Student work placements
  • Career experiential learning
  • Higher education co-op

Where uOttawa | Coop et carrières | CO-OP and Careers is headquartered

Location

Headquarters

HQ city
Ottawa
HQ country
Canada
HQ region
North America

Offices1 record

Markets served

uOttawa | Coop et carrières | CO-OP and Careers business model

Business model
GTM type
B2B and B2C
Offering type
Services
Cost components
Personnel, Operations, Marketing or Sales, Technology or R&D, Infrastructure

Revenue model

  1. Co-op Program Fees: Students enrolled in co-op programs pay co-op fees as part of their program costs. The University of Ottawa charges co-op fees for participation in the program, which funds the administration of placements, employer outreach, student support, and accreditation maintenance.

Go-to-market motion1 record

Distribution channels3 records

Marketing channels7 records

uOttawa | Coop et carrières | CO-OP and Careers product offering

Product offering

Core offering

The University of Ottawa's Co-operative Education Programs (Co-op and Careers) office administers accredited cooperative education programs in which students alternate academic study with paid work terms, gaining approximately 16 months of practical experience across four work terms. The office operates across 90+ programs with 4,000+ employer partners in government, private sector, NGOs, Crown corporations, and educational institutions, and supports international and national mobility placements through the CO-OP Navigator digital portal.

Product overview

The University of Ottawa's Co-op and Careers program is a comprehensive experiential learning ecosystem comprising the core Co-op Program (offering 90+ programs with 4,000+ employer partnerships), the CO-OP Navigator digital portal for student placement management, and a suite of complementary services including work term reporting, academic coordination, international and national mobility options, scholarships (notably the Loh Entrepreneurship Experience Scholarship), professional development webinars and workshops, and annual award programs recognizing outstanding students and employers. The program follows a structured alternating work-study sequence spanning four work terms over approximately 16 months, and is accredited by CEWIL Canada.

Differentiator

Problem solved

Functional benefit

Products and services

  • Co-op Program (Co-operative Education Program) A CEWIL Canada-accredited cooperative education program enabling University of Ottawa students to alternate academic study with four paid work terms, gaining approximately 16 months of practical experience in their field of study across 90+ programs and 4,000+ employer partners. Available to four-year undergraduate honours (specialization, double major, major with minor) and select master's programs.
  • International Mobility Placement Service A co-op placement service enabling University of Ottawa students to undertake paid work terms abroad, gaining international professional experience and cross-cultural exposure as part of their co-op program.
  • National Mobility Placement Service A co-op placement service enabling University of Ottawa students to undertake paid work terms in provinces across Canada, extending placement opportunities beyond the Ottawa region.
  • Loh Entrepreneurship Experience Scholarship Program A scholarship program enabling University of Ottawa co-op students to develop entrepreneurial skills through entrepreneurship internships and co-op placements focused on business development and innovation.
  • Co-op Employer Hiring Service (Hire a CO-OP Student) An employer-facing service enabling organizations to hire University of Ottawa co-op students for paid work-term placements, accessed via a dedicated employer services portal, key dates, FAQ pages, and information sessions/events.

Quantifiable outcome

  • Approximately 16 months of paid work experience gained per student completing the co-op program.
  • +2 more outcomes

Companies that use uOttawa | Coop et carrières | CO-OP and Careers

Customer profile

Named customers5 records

Segments3 records

Ideal customer profiles2 records

uOttawa | Coop et carrières | CO-OP and Careers technology and API

Technology

Technology focussed No

API detail

Has API
No
API docs
API detail

Core technology

AI maturity

App detail

uOttawa | Coop et carrières | CO-OP and Careers partnerships and signals

Strategic signal

Partnerships

One partnership is on record.

  • Co-operative Education and Work-Integrated Learning (CEWIL) CanadacoreStrategic or Co-development PartnerThe University of Ottawa’s co-op program holds accreditation from CEWIL Canada, the national professional body for co-operative education and work-integrated learning. CEWIL Canada sets standards for co-op program quality and provides a framework for best practices, ensuring that uOttawa’s program meets established benchmarks for student engagement, employer partnerships, and academic integration.

Scale indicators3 records

Recent moves6 records

Expansion highlights5 records

uOttawa | Coop et carrières | CO-OP and Careers competitors and assessment

Company assessment

Direct peers

  • Simon Fraser University Co-operative Education: SFU's co-op program is one of Canada's larger CEWIL-accredited programs with a similarly broad employer base, offering alternating paid work terms across many disciplines comparable to uOttawa's portfolio.
  • Toronto Metropolitan University (formerly Ryerson) Co-operative Education: TMU's co-op program is a CEWIL-accredited large-scale Canadian university co-op, providing directly comparable paid alternating work-study experiences and competing with uOttawa for Ontario-based employer partners.
  • Dalhousie University Co-operative Education: Dalhousie's co-op program operates the same CEWIL-accredited model with multi-term paid work placements at a Canadian research university, competing in Atlantic Canada but with structural overlap on portfolio and employer-base design.
  • University of Waterloo Co-operative and Experiential Education: Canada's largest and most established co-op program. Operates the same core function (CEWIL-accredited, employer-mediated paid work terms) at a similarly broad Canadian research university, and is the most direct comparable on scale, structure, and employer relationships.
  • McGill University Co-op Programs: McGill's co-op offerings at a major Canadian research university provide paid work-integrated learning across multiple disciplines under CEWIL-accredited frameworks, competing with uOttawa for high-caliber students and major employers.
  • University of British Columbia Co-op Program: UBC's co-op program is one of the largest in Western Canada, CEWIL-accredited, and offers alternating work-study terms with comparable four-term structures, serving as a leading national competitor for employer partnerships.
  • Concordia University Co-op Program: Concordia's co-op office delivers CEWIL-accredited paid work-integrated learning at a Montreal research university, overlapping with uOttawa on bilingual talent pipelines and shared private-sector employer relationships across Quebec and Ontario.
  • Queen's University Co-op and Career Services: Queen's runs a CEWIL-accredited co-op program structured around multi-term paid work experiences in a research university setting — a near-identical model to uOttawa's, comparable in scale and employer-mix philosophy.
  • University of Toronto PEY Co-op (Professional Experience Year): UofT's PEY Co-op is among Canada's flagship 12-16 month paid co-op programs and competes with uOttawa for large Canadian employers seeking STEM and business talent from a top-tier research university.

Broad incumbents

  • Randstad Canada (co-op/student placement arm): A large Canadian staffing firm that includes student and early-career placement services. While for-profit and much larger, it competes for the same employer demand for entry-level/student talent and is a comparable go-to-market counterweight.

Market position

Strengths4 records

Weaknesses4 records

Competitive moat4 records

Key risks5 records

Key highlights7 records

Customer concentration

uOttawa | Coop et carrières | CO-OP and Careers social profiles

Digital presence

uOttawa | Coop et carrières | CO-OP and Careers compliance and trust

Trust signal

Compliance1 record

uOttawa | Coop et carrières | CO-OP and Careers financial estimates

Financial estimate

Revenue estimate

Valuation estimate

uOttawa | Coop et carrières | CO-OP and Careers leadership team

Management profile

Number of profiles

uOttawa | Coop et carrières | CO-OP and Careers funding detail

Funding detail

Funding overview

Funding rounds

Investors

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

uOttawa | Coop et carrières | CO-OP and Careers M&A and investment

M&A and investment

M&A

Investments

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Frequently asked questions about uOttawa | Coop et carrières | CO-OP and Careers

What does uOttawa | Coop et carrières | CO-OP and Careers do?

The University of Ottawa's Co-operative Education Programs (Co-op and Careers) office administers accredited cooperative education programs in which students alternate academic study with paid work terms, gaining approximately 16 months of practical experience across four work terms. The office operates across 90+ programs with 4,000+ employer partners in government, private sector, NGOs, Crown corporations, and educational institutions, and supports international and national mobility placements through the CO-OP Navigator digital portal.

Is uOttawa | Coop et carrières | CO-OP and Careers a public or private company?

uOttawa | Coop et carrières | CO-OP and Careers is a private company. It is classified as state government owned and is currently operating.

When was uOttawa | Coop et carrières | CO-OP and Careers founded?

uOttawa | Coop et carrières | CO-OP and Careers was founded in 1848. It employs 11 to 50 people.

Where is uOttawa | Coop et carrières | CO-OP and Careers based?

uOttawa | Coop et carrières | CO-OP and Careers is headquartered in Ottawa, Canada, in the North America region.

How does uOttawa | Coop et carrières | CO-OP and Careers make money?

One revenue line is on record: co-op Program Fees.

Who are uOttawa | Coop et carrières | CO-OP and Careers's main competitors?

Direct peers on record are Simon Fraser University Co-operative Education, Toronto Metropolitan University (formerly Ryerson) Co-operative Education, Dalhousie University Co-operative Education, University of Waterloo Co-operative and Experiential Education, McGill University Co-op Programs, University of British Columbia Co-op Program, Concordia University Co-op Program, Queen's University Co-op and Career Services and University of Toronto PEY Co-op (Professional Experience Year). Randstad Canada (co-op/student placement arm) is listed as a broad incumbent.

Does uOttawa | Coop et carrières | CO-OP and Careers have an API?

No public API is recorded for uOttawa | Coop et carrières | CO-OP and Careers.

What industry is uOttawa | Coop et carrières | CO-OP and Careers in?

uOttawa | Coop et carrières | CO-OP and Careers's product category is Cooperative Education Services. Its primary akta.pro industry code is EDALABAG, Experiential Learning & Internships/Co-ops, with a secondary code of EDAIAFAB, University-Sponsored International Internships & Co-op Placements. Its NAICS code is 6113 and its SIC code is 8200.

Unlock the full company data

50 free credits on sign-up, no credit card required.

Contact sales