Developer docs
API playgroundTry for free, no card

Search company profiles

Lighthouse Preschool

Full company profile

uuid004skuc

Namestring
Lighthouse Preschool
Legal namestring
Lighthouse Preschool
Company typeenum
Private
Founded yearint
2018
Descriptiontext

Lighthouse Preschool is a single-site early childhood education centre located in Howick, Auckland, New Zealand, licensed by the Ministry of Education for up to 55 children including up to 15 under the age of two. The centre occupies a building originally constructed as a church in the 1970s, converted into a preschool environment with a central high-studded atrium and an outdoor playground, and delivers two age-segmented programmes: Tuis for infants and toddlers aged 6 months to 2.5 years, and Keas for children aged 2.5 to 5 years. Both programmes operate under New Zealand's national Te Whaariki early childhood curriculum, supplemented by an in-house Ready for School Programme for four-year-olds that delivers structured numeracy and literacy preparation and is recognised by local feeder primary schools (Owairoa, Bucklands Beach, and Macleans). The centre employs approximately 20 staff, with a high proportion of qualified and registered Early Childhood teachers maintaining low child-to-teacher ratios (1:4 in the Tui under-2 room).

Revenue is generated through weekly subscription-based tuition fees priced on a per-day basis by age band and 20 Hours ECE subsidy status, ranging from NZD $162.75 to NZD $322.00 per week per child after subsidy application, with the centre additionally receiving the 20 Hours ECE government reimbursement directly for eligible children. Ancillary revenue sources include late-pickup fees, sibling discounts, WINZ childcare subsidies, and half-price holiday top-ups. The centre operates 7:30am-5:30pm Monday-Friday, with a seven-week summer break. Enrolment is conducted directly with families via phone, email, and in-person visits, supported by a WordPress-based website and Facebook presence, with demand generation anchored by community word-of-mouth and referrals from the three named local primary schools.

The technology footprint is minimal: a third-party WordPress website, a Facebook page, and the Storypark online learning portfolio platform for parent-teacher communication and child development documentation. No AI, automation, or proprietary technology is deployed. Ownership and corporate structure are not publicly disclosed; the centre operates as an independent private early childhood education provider with no parent company, subsidiaries, institutional investors, M&A activity, or external funding rounds identified in available sources.

Short descriptiontext

Lighthouse Preschool is a single-site early childhood education centre in Howick, Auckland, licensed for up to 55 children aged 6 months to 5 years. It delivers age-segmented Tuis and Keas programmes under New Zealand's Te Whaariki curriculum via weekly subscription fees and direct family enrolment.

Operating statusenum
Operating
Ownership categoryenum
Headcount rangeband
11–50
akta.pro rankint
HeadquartersHowick, Auckland, New Zealand
HQ citystring
Howick, Auckland
HQ countrystring
New Zealand
HQ regionstring
Oceania
Markets served

Serves global market

Offices1 record

Each record includes

City, Country, Type, Description, Source

Keyword5 values
early childhood education, preschool childcare, infant toddler care, pre-school education, daycare services
Industry3 codes
1General Preschools (Play-Based)
CodeEDACABAAPrimaryYes
2Full-Day Nursery Programs
CodeEDACACADPrimaryNo
3Extended Day Programs at Preschools & Childcare Centers
CodeEDACAHABPrimaryNo
NAICS code2 codes
  • Child Care Services62441
  • Child Care Services6244
SIC code2 codes
  • Services-Child Day Care Services8351
  • Services-Educational Services8200
Product category
Early Childhood Education & Childcare Services
GTM motion1 record

Each record includes

Type, Description, Source

Revenue model1 record
1Weekly Tuition/Fees
TypeSubscription Recurring
Description

Fees are charged on a weekly basis based on the number of days enrolled (minimum 3 days per week, minimum 6.5 hours per day). Fees vary by age group and whether 20 hours ECE subsidy is utilized. Additional revenue from late pickup fees and optional services.

lighthousepreschool.co.nz
Marketing channels3 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Stage, Description, Source

Distribution channels1 record

Each record includes

Title, Type, Scope, Target buyer, Description, Source

Cost components5 values
Personnel, Operations, Infrastructure, Marketing or Sales, Others
Pricing details3 tiers
1Under 3 years (9:00am – 3:30pm)
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceWeekly
Notes

3 days – $217.50; 4 days – $250.50; 5 days – $289.00 per week

lighthousepreschool.co.nz
2Under 3 years OR Over 3 years NOT taking 20 hours ECE – Full days (7:30am – 5:30pm)
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceWeekly
Notes

3 days – $241.50; 4 days – $278.25; 5 days – $322.00 per week

lighthousepreschool.co.nz
33 years and over AND taking up 20 hours ECE – Full days
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceWeekly
Notes

3 days – $162.75; 4 days – $187.50; 5 days – $217.00 per week (after 20 hours ECE subsidy)

lighthousepreschool.co.nz
GTM typeB2C
B2C
Offering typeServices
Services
Brand1 of 2 records shown
1Tuis
Description

Programme for children aged 6 months to 2.5 years, focusing on nurturing, intimate and respectful environment for babies and toddlers.

lighthousepreschool.co.nz
+1 more record
Core offering1 text field

Lighthouse Preschool is a single-site early childhood education and childcare centre in Howick, Auckland, delivering full-day care for children aged 6 months to 5 years under the Te Whaariki national curriculum. The centre runs two age-segmented programmes (Tuis for under 2.5 years and Keas for 2.5 to 5 years) plus a Ready for School extension for four-year-olds, with nutritious meals, online learning portfolios via Storypark, and 20 Hours ECE government-subsidised hours bundled into weekly tuition.

Differentiator
Functional benefit
Problem solved
Product overview1 text field

Lighthouse Preschool operates as an early childhood education centre offering a unified programme for children from 6 months to 5 years. The centre is divided into two age-appropriate environments: the Tuis Programme for infants and toddlers (6 months to 2.5 years) and the Keas Programme for older children (2.5 to 5 years). Within Keas, a dedicated Ready for School Programme extends numeracy and literacy for four-year-olds. All enrolment includes nutritious meals and snacks as a bundled service. The centre also offers the government-funded 20 Hours ECE subsidy programme. The Tuis and Keas programmes operate as integrated parts of the single centre environment, with sibling visits between rooms and shared outdoor playground access.

Product and service5 records
1Tuis Programme
CategoryInfant and Toddler Childcare Programme
Description

Early childhood programme for infants and toddlers from 6 months to 2.5 years, providing a nurturing, intimate, and respectful environment with child-initiated learning through play and structured sensory experiences. Maintains a 1:4 child-to-teacher ratio.

2Keas Programme
CategoryPreschool Education Programme
Description

Early childhood programme for children aged 2.5 to 5 years following an emergent curriculum where children's interests are observed and learning experiences are extended through various play and learning activities. Includes the Ready for School extension for four-year-olds.

3Ready for School Programme
CategorySchool Readiness Programme
Description

Extension programme for four-year-olds to assist transition into primary school, focusing on early literacy, numeracy, and self-help skills including a 15-minute daily 'research time' and individual/group exercises. Recognised by local primary schools.

4Meals and Nutrition Service
CategoryMeals and Nutrition (bundled with childcare)
Description

Nutritious food service included with enrolment, providing a balanced cooked meal, morning/afternoon tea, late snack, and fresh baking weekly. Special dietary needs are catered for.

520 Hours ECE Subsidised Care
CategoryGovernment Subsidised Childcare
Description

Government-subsidised early childhood education programme offering 20 hours of free or reduced-cost care for eligible 3 and 4-year-old children, applied as a fee reduction at Lighthouse Preschool.

Scale indicator1 record

Each record includes

Type, Value, Description, Source

Recent move4 records

Each record includes

Date, Type, Title, Description, Source

Expansion highlight2 records

Each record includes

Type, Description

Peers10 records
TypeDirect peer
Description

NZ chain of early childhood centres offering play-based learning, similar Te Whaariki-aligned programmes, and full-day care for infants through preschoolers. Direct peer in service model and target families.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

Established NZ centre-based ECE provider operating multiple preschool and daycare locations. Comparable on curriculum, age range, and full-day offering, with broader geographic footprint.

3Plunket
TypeOthers
Description

New Zealand's largest provider of well-child health services (referenced via Lighthouse's website links). Not a competitor but a complementary service provider in the early-years ecosystem that families use alongside ECE.

TypeOthers
Description

Online learning portfolio and parent-engagement platform used by Lighthouse Preschool. Adjacent ecosystem participant rather than a competitor — its product enables Lighthouse's differentiated parent communication workflow.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

Largest private ECE provider in New Zealand with hundreds of centres nationwide. Directly comparable as a multi-site preschool/daycare operator offering similar Te Whaariki-based programmes, but materially larger than Lighthouse's single-site model.

TypeDirect peer
Description

New Zealand ECE provider offering in-home and small-group early childhood education and care programmes for ages 0–5. Comparable to Lighthouse in target age range and NZ ECE curriculum, but differs in delivery model (home-based vs centre-based).

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

NZX-listed operator of ECE centres across New Zealand (including Lollipops, Little Pukeko, Porse-adjacent brands). Comparable in core offering — licensed early childhood education and care — but operates at national scale across multiple brands.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Multi-site NZ ECE brand operating under Evolve Education, offering full-day preschool and daycare programmes similar to Lighthouse's Tuis and Keas structure. Closest direct peer in terms of service model and curriculum.

TypeRegional player
Description

Auckland-based chain of ECE centres offering full-day care with similar age segmentation (infants, toddlers, preschoolers). Comparable to Lighthouse as a regional Auckland competitor serving working families.

TypeRegional player
Description

New Zealand ECE provider with multiple centres offering preschool and daycare programmes. Comparable in core service, with a regional focus that may overlap with Auckland suburbs.

Market position
Strengths4 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Weaknesses4 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Competitive moat3 records

Each record includes

Type, Details

Key risks6 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Key highlights6 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Customer concentration

Classification, Details

Segment1 record

Each record includes

Title, Type, Primary, Description, Pain point addressed, Use case, Source

Ideal customer profile1 record

Each record includes

Profile, Firmographic size, Sales motion, Sales cycle length, Buying structure, Purchase trigger, Buyer persona, Geography, Industry vertical, Primary use case, Description, Pain points, Evidence proof points, Target buyer

Technology focused
No
API detail
Has APIbool
No

Docs URL, Description

Integration1 record

Each record includes

Title, Type, Description, Source

AI maturity
App detail

Has app

Core technology
Revenue estimate
Valuation estimate
Number of profiles
No data
No data
Funding overview

Funding stage, Last funding date, Total funding USD

Funding rounds

Each record includes

Round, Amount USD, Date, Pre money valuation, Total investors, Investors, News

Investors

Each record includes

Name, Type, Date of entry, Rounds participated, Website

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

M&A

Each record includes

Name, Acquisition type, Announced date, Completed date, Status, Website, News

Investment

Each record includes

Name, Round, Announced date, Lead investor, Website, News

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Lighthouse Preschool

Early Childhood Education & Childcare Serviceslighthousepreschool.co.nz

Lighthouse Preschool is a single-site early childhood education centre in Howick, Auckland, licensed for up to 55 children aged 6 months to 5 years. It delivers age-segmented Tuis and Keas programmes under New Zealand's Te Whaariki curriculum via weekly subscription fees and direct family enrolment.

What Lighthouse Preschool does

Lighthouse Preschool is a single-site early childhood education centre located in Howick, Auckland, New Zealand, licensed by the Ministry of Education for up to 55 children including up to 15 under the age of two. The centre occupies a building originally constructed as a church in the 1970s, converted into a preschool environment with a central high-studded atrium and an outdoor playground, and delivers two age-segmented programmes: Tuis for infants and toddlers aged 6 months to 2.5 years, and Keas for children aged 2.5 to 5 years. Both programmes operate under New Zealand's national Te Whaariki early childhood curriculum, supplemented by an in-house Ready for School Programme for four-year-olds that delivers structured numeracy and literacy preparation and is recognised by local feeder primary schools (Owairoa, Bucklands Beach, and Macleans). The centre employs approximately 20 staff, with a high proportion of qualified and registered Early Childhood teachers maintaining low child-to-teacher ratios (1:4 in the Tui under-2 room).

Revenue is generated through weekly subscription-based tuition fees priced on a per-day basis by age band and 20 Hours ECE subsidy status, ranging from NZD $162.75 to NZD $322.00 per week per child after subsidy application, with the centre additionally receiving the 20 Hours ECE government reimbursement directly for eligible children. Ancillary revenue sources include late-pickup fees, sibling discounts, WINZ childcare subsidies, and half-price holiday top-ups. The centre operates 7:30am-5:30pm Monday-Friday, with a seven-week summer break. Enrolment is conducted directly with families via phone, email, and in-person visits, supported by a WordPress-based website and Facebook presence, with demand generation anchored by community word-of-mouth and referrals from the three named local primary schools.

The technology footprint is minimal: a third-party WordPress website, a Facebook page, and the Storypark online learning portfolio platform for parent-teacher communication and child development documentation. No AI, automation, or proprietary technology is deployed. Ownership and corporate structure are not publicly disclosed; the centre operates as an independent private early childhood education provider with no parent company, subsidiaries, institutional investors, M&A activity, or external funding rounds identified in available sources.

Lighthouse Preschool firmographics

Firmographics
Name
Lighthouse Preschool
Legal name
Lighthouse Preschool
Website
https://lighthousepreschool.co.nz
Company type
Private
Founded year
2018
Operating status
Operating
Headcount range
11–50 employees
Short description
Lighthouse Preschool is a single-site early childhood education centre in Howick, Auckland, licensed for up to 55 children aged 6 months to 5 years. It delivers age-segmented Tuis and Keas programmes under New Zealand's Te Whaariki curriculum via weekly subscription fees and direct family enrolment.
Ownership category
akta.pro rank

Lighthouse Preschool industry classification

Industry
Product category
Early Childhood Education & Childcare Services
NAICS
Child Care Services (62441), Child Care Services (6244)
SIC
Services-Child Day Care Services (8351), Services-Educational Services (8200)
akta.pro primary industry
General Preschools (Play-Based) (EDACABAA)
akta.pro secondary industries
Full-Day Nursery Programs (EDACACAD), Extended Day Programs at Preschools & Childcare Centers (EDACAHAB)

Keywords

  • Early childhood education
  • Preschool childcare
  • Infant toddler care
  • Pre-school education
  • Daycare services

Where Lighthouse Preschool is headquartered

Location

Headquarters

HQ city
Howick, Auckland
HQ country
New Zealand
HQ region
Oceania

Offices1 record

Markets served

Lighthouse Preschool business model

Business model
GTM type
B2C
Offering type
Services
Cost components
Personnel, Operations, Infrastructure, Marketing or Sales, Others

Revenue model

  1. Weekly Tuition/Fees: Fees are charged on a weekly basis based on the number of days enrolled (minimum 3 days per week, minimum 6.5 hours per day). Fees vary by age group and whether 20 hours ECE subsidy is utilized. Additional revenue from late pickup fees and optional services.

Pricing tiers

ModelBillingPrice
SubscriptionWeeklyUnder 3 years (9:00am – 3:30pm)
SubscriptionWeeklyUnder 3 years OR Over 3 years NOT taking 20 hours ECE – Full days (7:30am – 5:30pm)
SubscriptionWeekly3 years and over AND taking up 20 hours ECE – Full days

Go-to-market motion1 record

Distribution channels1 record

Marketing channels3 records

Lighthouse Preschool product offering

Product offering

Core offering

Lighthouse Preschool is a single-site early childhood education and childcare centre in Howick, Auckland, delivering full-day care for children aged 6 months to 5 years under the Te Whaariki national curriculum. The centre runs two age-segmented programmes (Tuis for under 2.5 years and Keas for 2.5 to 5 years) plus a Ready for School extension for four-year-olds, with nutritious meals, online learning portfolios via Storypark, and 20 Hours ECE government-subsidised hours bundled into weekly tuition.

Product overview

Lighthouse Preschool operates as an early childhood education centre offering a unified programme for children from 6 months to 5 years. The centre is divided into two age-appropriate environments: the Tuis Programme for infants and toddlers (6 months to 2.5 years) and the Keas Programme for older children (2.5 to 5 years). Within Keas, a dedicated Ready for School Programme extends numeracy and literacy for four-year-olds. All enrolment includes nutritious meals and snacks as a bundled service. The centre also offers the government-funded 20 Hours ECE subsidy programme. The Tuis and Keas programmes operate as integrated parts of the single centre environment, with sibling visits between rooms and shared outdoor playground access.

Differentiator

Problem solved

Functional benefit

Brands

  • Tuis: Programme for children aged 6 months to 2.5 years, focusing on nurturing, intimate and respectful environment for babies and toddlers.
  • Keas

Products and services

  • Tuis Programme Early childhood programme for infants and toddlers from 6 months to 2.5 years, providing a nurturing, intimate, and respectful environment with child-initiated learning through play and structured sensory experiences. Maintains a 1:4 child-to-teacher ratio.
  • Keas Programme Early childhood programme for children aged 2.5 to 5 years following an emergent curriculum where children's interests are observed and learning experiences are extended through various play and learning activities. Includes the Ready for School extension for four-year-olds.
  • Ready for School Programme Extension programme for four-year-olds to assist transition into primary school, focusing on early literacy, numeracy, and self-help skills including a 15-minute daily 'research time' and individual/group exercises. Recognised by local primary schools.
  • Meals and Nutrition Service Nutritious food service included with enrolment, providing a balanced cooked meal, morning/afternoon tea, late snack, and fresh baking weekly. Special dietary needs are catered for.
  • 20 Hours ECE Subsidised Care Government-subsidised early childhood education programme offering 20 hours of free or reduced-cost care for eligible 3 and 4-year-old children, applied as a fee reduction at Lighthouse Preschool.

Companies that use Lighthouse Preschool

Customer profile

Segments1 record

Ideal customer profiles1 record

Lighthouse Preschool technology and API

Technology

Technology focussed No

API detail

Has API
No
API docs
API detail

Core technology

AI maturity

App detail

Integration1 record

Lighthouse Preschool partnerships and signals

Strategic signal

Scale indicators1 record

Recent moves4 records

Expansion highlights2 records

Lighthouse Preschool competitors and assessment

Company assessment

Direct peers

  • Active Explorers: NZ chain of early childhood centres offering play-based learning, similar Te Whaariki-aligned programmes, and full-day care for infants through preschoolers. Direct peer in service model and target families.
  • PORSE: New Zealand ECE provider offering in-home and small-group early childhood education and care programmes for ages 0–5. Comparable to Lighthouse in target age range and NZ ECE curriculum, but differs in delivery model (home-based vs centre-based).
  • Lollipops Educare: Multi-site NZ ECE brand operating under Evolve Education, offering full-day preschool and daycare programmes similar to Lighthouse's Tuis and Keas structure. Closest direct peer in terms of service model and curriculum.

Broad incumbents

  • Kindercare: Established NZ centre-based ECE provider operating multiple preschool and daycare locations. Comparable on curriculum, age range, and full-day offering, with broader geographic footprint.
  • BestStart: Largest private ECE provider in New Zealand with hundreds of centres nationwide. Directly comparable as a multi-site preschool/daycare operator offering similar Te Whaariki-based programmes, but materially larger than Lighthouse's single-site model.
  • Evolve Education Group: NZX-listed operator of ECE centres across New Zealand (including Lollipops, Little Pukeko, Porse-adjacent brands). Comparable in core offering — licensed early childhood education and care — but operates at national scale across multiple brands.

Others

  • Plunket: New Zealand's largest provider of well-child health services (referenced via Lighthouse's website links). Not a competitor but a complementary service provider in the early-years ecosystem that families use alongside ECE.
  • Storypark: Online learning portfolio and parent-engagement platform used by Lighthouse Preschool. Adjacent ecosystem participant rather than a competitor — its product enables Lighthouse's differentiated parent communication workflow.

Regional players

  • Kids Count: Auckland-based chain of ECE centres offering full-day care with similar age segmentation (infants, toddlers, preschoolers). Comparable to Lighthouse as a regional Auckland competitor serving working families.
  • Kiddie Land: New Zealand ECE provider with multiple centres offering preschool and daycare programmes. Comparable in core service, with a regional focus that may overlap with Auckland suburbs.

Market position

Strengths4 records

Weaknesses4 records

Competitive moat3 records

Key risks6 records

Key highlights6 records

Customer concentration

Lighthouse Preschool social profiles

Digital presence

Lighthouse Preschool financial estimates

Financial estimate

Revenue estimate

Valuation estimate

Lighthouse Preschool leadership team

Management profile

Number of profiles

Lighthouse Preschool funding detail

Funding detail

Funding overview

Funding rounds

Investors

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Lighthouse Preschool M&A and investment

M&A and investment

M&A

Investments

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Frequently asked questions about Lighthouse Preschool

What does Lighthouse Preschool do?

Lighthouse Preschool is a single-site early childhood education and childcare centre in Howick, Auckland, delivering full-day care for children aged 6 months to 5 years under the Te Whaariki national curriculum. The centre runs two age-segmented programmes (Tuis for under 2.5 years and Keas for 2.5 to 5 years) plus a Ready for School extension for four-year-olds, with nutritious meals, online learning portfolios via Storypark, and 20 Hours ECE government-subsidised hours bundled into weekly tuition.

Is Lighthouse Preschool a public or private company?

Lighthouse Preschool is a private company. It is classified as unknown and is currently operating.

When was Lighthouse Preschool founded?

Lighthouse Preschool was founded in 2018. It employs 11 to 50 people.

Where is Lighthouse Preschool based?

Lighthouse Preschool is headquartered in Howick, Auckland, New Zealand, in the Oceania region.

How does Lighthouse Preschool make money?

One revenue line is on record: weekly Tuition/Fees.

Who are Lighthouse Preschool's main competitors?

Direct peers on record are Active Explorers, PORSE and Lollipops Educare. Broad incumbents are Kindercare, BestStart and Evolve Education Group. Others are Plunket and Storypark. Regional players are Kids Count and Kiddie Land.

Does Lighthouse Preschool have an API?

No public API is recorded for Lighthouse Preschool.

What industry is Lighthouse Preschool in?

Lighthouse Preschool's product category is Early Childhood Education & Childcare Services. Its primary akta.pro industry code is EDACABAA, General Preschools (Play-Based), with a secondary code of EDACACAD, Full-Day Nursery Programs. Its NAICS code is 62441 and its SIC code is 8351.

Unlock the full company data

50 free credits on sign-up, no credit card required.

Contact sales