MTI Community College
MTI Community College is a Vancouver-based private career college operating as Sprott Shaw College across 15 BC campuses, delivering accelerated diploma and certificate programs in healthcare, business, trades, and ECE to Canadian and international students since 1903.
- Company typePrivate
- Founded1903
- HeadquartersVancouver (International Office), Canada
- Headcount51–100
- GTM typeB2C
- OfferingServices
What MTI Community College does
MTI Community College operates as a brand and domain reference for Sprott Shaw College (legal name), a privately held, family-owned Canadian career college founded in 1903 and headquartered in Vancouver, British Columbia. The institution runs 15 government-designated campuses across BC (Vancouver, Burnaby, Surrey, Richmond, New Westminster, Maple Ridge, Victoria, Nanaimo, Kelowna, Kamloops, Abbotsford, Chilliwack, Penticton, Salmon Arm, and Osoyoos) and delivers six program faculties: Administration/Legal/Hospitality, Business/Marketing/Cybersecurity, Early Childhood Education & Support, Healthcare/Nursing/Dental, Online Delivery, and Trades & Design. Programs are accelerated (completion under two years) with monthly start dates and no waitlists, accompanied by practicum placements at hospitals (Vancouver General, Surrey Memorial, Kelowna General, Victoria General, Chilliwack General), dental/pharmacy practices, hotels (Renaissance, Sheraton Wall Centre, L'Hermitage, Best Western), and government employers (Government of Canada, Canada Post).
Revenue is generated almost exclusively through tuition, offered under an all-inclusive pricing model in which registration, assessment, tuition, textbooks, supplies, course materials, uniforms, certificates, graduation fees, and practicum fees are bundled into a single advertised price; specific price points are not publicly disclosed. The college maintains a direct-to-consumer go-to-market (online applications, phone/text/chat, campus tours) supplemented by an event-driven international student recruitment motion via a dedicated Vancouver International Office, authorized agent program, ESL pathway via sister institution Sprott Shaw Language College, and inbound/outbound webinars. Delivery is multimodal — 15 physical campuses plus online/distance education — with no proprietary technology stack beyond standard EdTech infrastructure: a G2 Learning LMS, Vitalsource digital textbooks, Microsoft email and 2FA, and an alumni job board. Operational headcount of 58 is reported for the MTI Community College entity, suggesting a lean core administrative organization that relies significantly on contracted instructors across the multi-campus footprint.
The business is regulated under BC's Private Training Institutions Branch (PTIB) and carries Education Quality Assurance (EQA), Skilled Trades BC, Red Seal, BCCOHP, and BC Care Aide Registry designations, which are mandatory for credentialed healthcare, ECE, and trades programs. Lifetime employment services and free refresher courses for graduates create post-graduation retention, with pathway partnerships to Acsenda School of Management enabling credit transfer toward further business education. Revenue figures are not publicly disclosed, and the institution is privately held with no venture capital, private equity, or public shareholders indicated.
MTI Community College firmographics
Firmographics- Name
- MTI Community College
- Legal name
- Sprott Shaw College
- Website
- https://mticc.com
- Company type
- Private
- Founded year
- 1903
- Operating status
- Operating
- Headcount range
- 51–100 employees
- Short description
- MTI Community College is a Vancouver-based private career college operating as Sprott Shaw College across 15 BC campuses, delivering accelerated diploma and certificate programs in healthcare, business, trades, and ECE to Canadian and international students since 1903.
- Ownership category
- akta.pro rank
MTI Community College industry classification
Industry- Product category
- Career and Vocational Education
- NAICS
- Educational Services (61), Junior Colleges (611210), Educational Support Services (611710)
- SIC
- Services-Educational Services (8200)
- akta.pro primary industry
- Technical Community Colleges (Applied/CTE-Focused) (EDAHADAD)
- akta.pro secondary industries
- Private/Independent Community & Junior Colleges (EDAHADAB), University/College Continuing Education (Extension) Programs (EDAAAEAA), Credentialing, Academic Credit, Assessment & Transcript Services (EDAIAFAO)
Keywords
Where MTI Community College is headquartered
LocationHeadquarters
- HQ city
- Vancouver (International Office)
- HQ country
- Canada
- HQ region
- North America
Offices18 records
Markets served
MTI Community College business model
Business model- GTM type
- B2C
- Offering type
- Services
- Cost components
- Personnel, Operations, Marketing or Sales, Technology or R&D, Infrastructure, Others
Revenue model
- Tuition Revenue: Revenue generated from tuition fees for certificate and diploma programs in healthcare, business, early childhood education, trades, and administration. Programs are described as having all-inclusive costs covering registration, assessment, tuition, textbooks, supplies, materials, uniforms, certificates, graduation fees, and practicum fees.
Go-to-market motion2 records
Distribution channels4 records
Marketing channels5 records
MTI Community College product offering
Product offeringCore offering
MTI Community College (operating as Sprott Shaw College) provides accelerated diploma and certificate programs in healthcare, business, trades, early childhood education, administration, legal, and hospitality fields. Programs are delivered in-person across 15 BC campuses and online, with monthly start dates, practicum placements at local employers, and lifetime job placement assistance for graduates. All-inclusive tuition bundles registration, assessment, tuition, textbooks, supplies, uniforms, certificates, graduation fees, and practicum fees.
Product overview
MTI Community College (operated as Sprott Shaw College) offers accelerated college diploma and certificate programs delivered in-person at 15+ BC campuses and online. The institution provides six program faculties: Administration/Legal/Hospitality, Business/Marketing/Cybersecurity, Early Childhood Education/Child Family Support, Healthcare/Nursing/Dental, Online Delivery Options, and Trades & Design. Programs are accelerated to complete in under two years with monthly start dates, practicum placements, and lifetime job placement assistance.
Differentiator
Problem solved
Functional benefit
Products and services
- Administration, Legal & Hospitality Programs Program faculty covering Tourism & Hospitality Management, Veterinary Assistant, Paralegal, and Legal Assistant programs providing career-focused training in administrative, legal, and hospitality fields.
- Business, Marketing & Cybersecurity Programs Business programs including Cybersecurity, Global Marketing Management, Business Administration, Digital Marketing, and Business Fundamentals with co-op and practicum options.
- Early Childhood, Education & Support Programs Early Childhood Education programs including Basic, Infant Toddler, Children with Exceptionalities, Education Assistant, Community Support Worker, and Mental Health and Addictions Care Worker.
- Healthcare, Paramedic, Dental & Nursing Programs Healthcare programs including Practical Nursing, Health Care Assistant, Dental Assistant, Pharmacy Assistant, Medical Office Administrator, and Primary Care Paramedic.
- Trades & Design Programs Trade and design-focused programs delivered at the School of Trades Campus in Burnaby, BC.
- Online Delivery Program Options Online programs offering distance education options for students who prefer remote learning with flexible delivery methods, including asynchronous distance education where students progress at their own pace.
- Business Fundamentals with Co-op Certificate program providing essential office environment skills including MS Office, accounting, customer service, and communication over 640 hours (32 weeks) with co-op placement.
- Health Care Assistant Upgrade Certificate program preparing individuals with previous HCA education for practice in BC, including theory review, lab skills testing, and supervised practice experience. 255 hours, 12 weeks full-time.
Quantifiable outcome
- Programs can be completed in under 2 years
- +2 more outcomes
Companies that use MTI Community College
Customer profileNamed customers23 records
Segments6 records
Ideal customer profiles2 records
MTI Community College technology and API
TechnologyTechnology focussed No
API detail
- Has API
- No
- API docs
- API detail
Core technology
AI maturity
App detail
MTI Community College partnerships and signals
Strategic signalPartnerships
Nine partnerships are on record, tiered core and minor.
- BC-EQA (Education Quality Assurance)coreGovernment certification ensuring educational quality standards for BC post-secondary institutions.
- PTIB (Private Training Institutions Branch)coreBC government regulatory body for private training institutions providing designation and oversight.
- Skilled Trades BCcoreProvincial skills training authority designating Sprott Shaw as an authorized trainer for skilled trades programs.
- Red Seal ProgramcoreInterprovincial standards program allowing tradespeople to work anywhere in Canada with standardized certification.
- BCCOHP (BC College of Oral Health Professionals)coreRegulatory body for oral health professionals ensuring Dental Assistant program meets professional standards.
- BC Care Aide & Community Health Worker RegistrycoreRegistry for healthcare assistants ensuring HCA programs meet provincial standards for registration.
- National Payroll InstituteminorNational organization supporting payroll education and certification programs.
- Acsenda School of ManagementminorUniversity pathway partner allowing students to transfer credits toward further business education.
- Sprott Shaw Language College (SSLC)coreRelated institution providing English language pathway programs (EPE) for international students to meet language proficiency requirements.
Scale indicators4 records
Recent moves6 records
Expansion highlights6 records
MTI Community College competitors and assessment
Company assessmentBroad incumbents
- Yorkville University: Canadian private university with degree-granting authority across business, interior design, and education — overlaps with Sprott Shaw's Acsenda pathway relationships on the higher-education end. Operates at a wider portfolio level but competes for working-adult learners in BC.
- University of the Fraser Valley: Public BC post-secondary institution with campuses across the Fraser Valley including Chilliwack and Abbotsford — overlapping with Sprott Shaw's geographic footprint. Public funding creates significant price competition for the same career-track student.
Direct peers
- CDI College: One of Canada's largest private career college networks offering certificate and diploma programs in healthcare, business, technology, and trades across multiple provinces. Closest direct comparable to Sprott Shaw given overlapping program mix, multi-campus footprint, and direct-to-consumer enrollment model.
- Herzing College: Canadian private institution offering career-focused diploma and certificate programs in healthcare, business, and technology with campuses in multiple provinces. Direct overlap in healthcare pathways (nursing, dental, pharmacy support) and direct-to-consumer admissions.
- Vancouver Career College: BC-based private career college operating multiple campuses in the Greater Vancouver area with trade, healthcare, business, and ESL offerings. Operates in the same regulatory regime (PTIB/EQA) and serves overlapping healthcare and trades student segments.
- Brighton College: BC-based private vocational college with healthcare, business, and trades programs across multiple Lower Mainland campuses. Most comparable single-province private career college competitor to Sprott Shaw within British Columbia.
- triOS College Business Technology Healthcare: Canadian private career college operating multiple campuses across Ontario and beyond with diploma and certificate programs in healthcare, business, technology, and law. Comparable business model, program mix, and career-services-led value proposition.
- Canadian Business College: Ontario-based private career college delivering diploma programs in business, healthcare, and technology. Comparable direct-to-consumer admissions model and career-services-led value proposition.
- Academy of Learning Career College: National Canadian franchise network of private career colleges delivering accelerated career and vocational programs with monthly intakes and individualized learning. Shared GTM pillars (monthly start dates, accelerated completion, career outcomes focus).
Emerging players
- Sprott Shaw Language College (SSLC): Affiliated ESL provider feeding international students into Sprott Shaw's vocational programs as part of the EPE pathway. Owned ecosystem partner that, even as a related entity, competes for the international ESL buck against independent providers.
Market position
Strengths5 records
Weaknesses5 records
Competitive moat5 records
Key risks6 records
Key highlights7 records
Customer concentration
MTI Community College social profiles
Digital presenceMTI Community College financial estimates
Financial estimateRevenue estimate
Valuation estimate
MTI Community College leadership team
Management profileNumber of profiles
Profiles1 record
MTI Community College funding detail
Funding detailFunding overview
Funding rounds
Investors
Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →
MTI Community College M&A and investment
M&A and investmentM&A
Investments
M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →
Frequently asked questions about MTI Community College
What does MTI Community College do?
MTI Community College (operating as Sprott Shaw College) provides accelerated diploma and certificate programs in healthcare, business, trades, early childhood education, administration, legal, and hospitality fields. Programs are delivered in-person across 15 BC campuses and online, with monthly start dates, practicum placements at local employers, and lifetime job placement assistance for graduates. All-inclusive tuition bundles registration, assessment, tuition, textbooks, supplies, uniforms, certificates, graduation fees, and practicum fees.
Is MTI Community College a public or private company?
MTI Community College is a private company. It is classified as family owned and is currently operating.
When was MTI Community College founded?
MTI Community College was founded in 1903. It employs 51 to 100 people.
Where is MTI Community College based?
MTI Community College is headquartered in Vancouver (International Office), Canada, in the North America region.
How does MTI Community College make money?
One revenue line is on record: tuition Revenue.
Who are MTI Community College's main competitors?
Broad incumbents on record are Yorkville University and University of the Fraser Valley. Direct peers are CDI College, Herzing College, Vancouver Career College, Brighton College, triOS College Business Technology Healthcare, Canadian Business College and Academy of Learning Career College. Sprott Shaw Language College (SSLC) is listed as an emerging player.
Does MTI Community College have an API?
No public API is recorded for MTI Community College.
What industry is MTI Community College in?
MTI Community College's product category is Career and Vocational Education. Its primary akta.pro industry code is EDAHADAD, Technical Community Colleges (Applied/CTE-Focused), with a secondary code of EDAHADAB, Private/Independent Community & Junior Colleges. Its NAICS code is 61 and its SIC code is 8200.