Developer docs
API playgroundTry for free, no card

Search company profiles

Universal Spa Training Academy

Full company profile

uuid005cugr

Namestring
Universal Spa Training Academy
Legal namestring
Universal Spa Training Academy
Company typeenum
Private
Founded yearint
2006
Descriptiontext

Universal Spa Training Academy (USTA) is a privately held, NACCAS-accredited career school founded in 2006 and operating from a single campus at 340 Burlington Ave in Downers Grove, Illinois. It serves the greater Chicagoland area with five core training programs — Aesthetics (750 hours), Medical Aesthetics Certification (included with aesthetics), Cosmetology (1,500 hours), Massage Therapy (650 hours), and Instructor Training (500-1,000 hours) — plus Continuing Education for licensed professionals. The school is licensed by the Illinois Board of Higher Education and the Illinois Department of Financial & Professional Regulation, and is approved for Title IV federal student aid, GI Bill, and MyCAA funding.

USTA's curriculum integrates hands-on clinical instruction with a student clinic where enrollees perform supervised client services in massage, skin care, waxing, brow and lash, and advanced modalities. Every program includes free business and entrepreneurship classes, and a Multi-License Program offers 10-20% stacked tuition discounts to retain students across disciplines. The owner-operator model is led by Mr. and Mrs. Tyler, with Mrs. Tyler bringing experience as a licensed aesthetician, massage therapist, instructor, and former founder of the Celebrated Woman day spa. Exclusive training partnerships with Aesthetics Exposed Education (laser certification) and Deesignz Artistry (brow and lash) differentiate the curriculum.

Revenue is generated primarily through individual student tuition across the five programs, supplemented by continuing education fees ($90-$104 per CEU course), a $50 registration fee, and student clinic service revenue. The GTM motion is direct-to-consumer via online inquiry, campus tours, and a structured in-person admissions interview. Tuition pricing is not publicly disclosed. Since inception, USTA has produced over 2,000 graduates and reported an 87% graduation rate and 83% placement rate for 2022 per NACCAS. No external funding, M&A activity, or multi-campus expansion is indicated.

Short descriptiontext

Universal Spa Training Academy is a privately held, NACCAS-accredited career school in Downers Grove, Illinois, founded in 2006, offering aesthetics, cosmetology, massage therapy, instructor, and medical aesthetics training programs to aspiring beauty and wellness professionals in the Chicagoland area.

Operating statusenum
Operating
Ownership categoryenum
Headcount rangeband
11–50
akta.pro rankint
HeadquartersDowners Grove, United States
HQ citystring
Downers Grove
HQ countrystring
United States
HQ regionstring
North America
Markets served

Serves global market

Offices2 records

Each record includes

City, Country, Type, Description, Source

Keyword5 values
aesthetics training programs, cosmetology education, massage therapy training, medical aesthetics certification, continuing education courses
Industry3 codes
1Massage Therapy & Bodywork
CodeEDAOALAHPrimaryYes
2Massage Therapy Schools & Certification Programs
CodeHSALANAJPrimaryNo
3Spa & Body Treatment Training (Body Wraps/Scrubs/Hydrotherapy)
CodeHSALANAIPrimaryNo
NAICS code2 codes
  • Technical and Trade Schools6115
  • All Other Schools and Instruction61169
SIC code1 code
  • Services-Educational Services8200
Product category
Beauty and Wellness Career Education
Social media profiles1 record
GTM motion2 records

Each record includes

Type, Description, Source

Revenue model6 records
1Tuition - Aesthetics Program
TypeSubscription Recurring
Description

750-hour aesthetics program with tuition that includes all training materials, student kit, and laser certification course. Financial aid available to qualifying students through federal Pell Grants and Direct Loans.

spatrainingacademy.edu
2Tuition - Cosmetology Program
TypeSubscription Recurring
Description

1500-hour cosmetology program with tuition covering theory and practical instruction, premium styling tools, and business courses. Multiple schedule options available with varying program durations.

spatrainingacademy.edu
3Tuition - Massage Therapy Program
TypeSubscription Recurring
Description

650-hour massage therapy program including massage table with tuition. Covers Swedish, sports, deep tissue, hot stone massage, reflexology, CPR certification, and pregnancy/prenatal training.

spatrainingacademy.edu
4Instructor Training Programs
TypeSubscription Recurring
Description

500-1000 hour cosmetology instructor and 750 hour aesthetics instructor programs for licensed professionals seeking to become educators.

spatrainingacademy.edu
5Continuing Education
TypeOne Time License
Description

CEU courses for licensed massage therapists (24 hours including ethics), aestheticians (10 hours biennial), and cosmetologists (14 hours biennial). Classes like Aromatherapy offered at $90-104 per course.

spatrainingacademy.edu
6Student Services Revenue
TypeOne Time License
Description

Revenue from $50 registration fee for enrolled students. Additional services include transcript requests.

spatrainingacademy.edu
Marketing channels6 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Stage, Description, Source

Distribution channels1 record

Each record includes

Title, Type, Scope, Target buyer, Description, Source

Cost components4 values
Personnel, Operations, Marketing or Sales, Others
Pricing details2 tiers
1Massage CEU - Aromatherapy Course
ModelUnit PricingBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

Alumni Price $90, Non-Alumni Price $104 for 5 CE hours. Course includes theory, in-house demonstration, and hands-on training in aromatherapy and therapeutic benefits of various oils.

spatrainingacademy.edu
2Registration Fee
ModelUnit PricingBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

$50.00 registration fee required upon acceptance into any program. Spot in program is not held until signed enrollment agreement and fee are received.

spatrainingacademy.edu
GTM typeB2C
B2C
Offering typeServices
Services
Core offering1 text field

Universal Spa Training Academy (USTA) is a private career school that delivers state-approved programs in aesthetics (750 hours), cosmetology (1,500 hours), massage therapy (650 hours), medical aesthetics, instructor training (500–1,000 hours), and continuing education. Instruction combines classroom theory with hands-on clinical practice delivered through a student-run spa clinic serving paying clients.

Differentiator
Functional benefit
Problem solved
Quantifiable outcome1 of 4 values shown
  • 87% graduation rate (2022)
+3 more records
Product overview1 text field

Universal Spa Training Academy is a multi-program educational institution offering spa and beauty training in the Chicagoland area since 2006. The institution operates as a single unified academy offering five core training programs: Aesthetics (750-hour), Medical Aesthetics Certification (included with aesthetics), Cosmetology (1500-hour), Massage Therapy (650-hour), and Instructor Training (500-1000 hour). The institution also operates a Student Clinic where enrolled students perform actual client services under supervision, offering massage, skin care, waxing, and advanced spa treatments. The programs are integrated through a Multi-License Program that allows students to stack credentials with tuition discounts. All programs include free Business Class training covering entrepreneurship and career preparation. The institution's product portfolio also includes Continuing Education for licensed professionals seeking to maintain or advance their credentials.

Product and service1 record
1Aesthetics Program
Scale indicator8 records

Each record includes

Type, Value, Description, Source

Partnership13 partners
1Aesthetics Exposed Education
Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Exclusive partnership with Aesthetics Exposed Education, led by Terri Wojak with 25+ years of industry experience, to provide hands-on laser certification course included at no extra cost to enrolled aesthetic students. Training includes IPL, Nano Pen, Laser Physics, and hands-on certification. Internships at Aesthetics Exposed may be available for top-performing students.

spatrainingacademy.edu
Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Exclusive partnership for brow and lash training. Deesignz Artistry is licensed by the Illinois Department of Health and certified with CPCP and AAMP. Provides skilled technicians for training, hands-on instruction, and certificates upon completion. USTA students eligible for externships.

Strategic tierSupportingTypeTechnology or Integration
Description

Designated as a Redken Partner School. Students receive training using Redken professional hair care products. Redken provides iconic formulas and hands-on education, with message of 'Powered by Science. Prescribed by Pros.'

Strategic tierSupportingTypeTechnology or Integration
Description

Designated as a PCA Partnership School. Students use PCA Skin products for facials, microdermabrasions, and chemical peels. PCA formulates products improving skin health with formulations free of synthetic dyes, fragrances, mineral oil, petrolatum, lanolin and phthalates.

Strategic tierSupportingTypeTechnology or Integration
Description

Medical aesthetics program utilizes Environ skincare products, developed with vitamin A as their cornerstone life ingredient. Products focus on healthy, beautiful skin through vitamin-based formulations.

Strategic tierSupportingTypeTechnology or Integration
Description

Medical aesthetics program utilizes Alastin Skincare products for daily regimens and post-procedure care. Products are cruelty, paraben, and gluten free, promoting fortified, healthy skin.

Strategic tierSupportingTypeChannel Partner/ Reseller/ Distributor
Description

Industry partner and employer of USTA graduates. Franchise spa chain providing employment opportunities for graduates across their locations in the Chicagoland area.

Strategic tierSupportingTypeGTM or Marketing Partner
Description

ABMP member school status. Students receive ABMP Exam Coach 1 Year Membership included in massage student kit. ABMP provides student resources, insurance discounts, and professional network access.

Strategic tierSupportingTypeTechnology or Integration
Description

Cosmetology and aesthetics students use MUD makeup products. MUD creates honest makeup products with quality education, offering long-lasting wearability and flawless application.

Strategic tierSupportingTypeTechnology or Integration
Description

Aesthetics and cosmetology programs use Skin Script clinical skincare products containing retinols, glycolics, lactics, salicylics and natural lighteners. Products allow customization for client skin conditions.

Strategic tierSupportingTypeTechnology or Integration
Description

Cosmetology program includes Mizani product knowledge training for textured hair services. Partnership addresses the 65% of US population with textured hair through holistic education on hair color, haircare, and styling.

12OPI
Strategic tierSupportingTypeTechnology or Integration
Description

Cosmetology program includes OPI nail product training. As the #1 nail salon brand worldwide, OPI provides unlimited shades and highest quality products for nail care education.

spatrainingacademy.edu
Strategic tierSupportingTypeTechnology or Integration
Description

Cosmetology students receive Keratin Complex training as an advanced service and revenue generator. Training covers professional installation techniques for smoothing treatments that can eliminate frizz and last 6 weeks to 5 months.

Recent move6 records

Each record includes

Date, Type, Title, Description, Source

Expansion highlight5 records

Each record includes

Type, Description

Peers10 records
TypeDirect peer
Description

Chicago-based beauty and cosmetology school offering aesthetics, cosmetology, and instructor programs. Closest geographic direct peer with similar program mix and employer outcomes focus.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Chicago-area cosmetology and aesthetics school operated by the Aveda network. Directly comparable multi-program beauty school serving the same Chicagoland student base with similar product mix (cosmetology, aesthetics, massage-adjacent).

TypeDirect peer
Description

Specializes in medical aesthetics and laser certification training, which USTA bundles within its aesthetics program. Directly comparable in the laser/medical aesthetics segment of the curriculum.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Illinois-based cosmetology and aesthetics school offering multi-program beauty training. Comparable in program structure, regulatory profile, and Chicagoland student base to USTA.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Specialized aesthetics and skin care school on the West Coast offering comparable aesthetics curriculum. Comparable in program focus but operates in a different regional market.

TypeRegional player
Description

Oregon-based cosmetology, aesthetics, and massage therapy school with comparable program mix. Comparable in multi-discipline beauty/bodywork training but in a different geographic market than USTA's Chicagoland focus.

TypeRegional player
Description

Multi-location beauty and wellness school offering cosmetology, aesthetics, and massage therapy with a comparable multi-program structure, though operating primarily on the West Coast rather than in the Midwest.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

One of the largest cosmetology school chains in the U.S. with national footprint. Competes broadly with USTA in cosmetology/aesthetics training, but at much larger scale and without USTA's massage therapy or laser certification depth.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Multi-state massage therapy and aesthetics school offering comparable 600+ hour massage curricula and aesthetics programs. Direct peer for USTA's massage therapy program.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

Nationwide chain of cosmetology and barbering schools operating under the Paul Mitchell brand. Overlaps with USTA's cosmetology program at scale; not present in massage therapy.

Market position
Strengths5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Weaknesses5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Competitive moat5 records

Each record includes

Type, Details

Key risks5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Key highlights7 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Customer concentration

Classification, Details

Named customers25 records

Each record includes

Name, Industry, Type, Use case, Source, UUID

Segment5 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Primary, Description, Pain point addressed, Use case, Source

Ideal customer profile1 record

Each record includes

Profile, Firmographic size, Sales motion, Sales cycle length, Buying structure, Purchase trigger, Buyer persona, Geography, Industry vertical, Primary use case, Description, Pain points, Evidence proof points, Target buyer

Technology focused
No
API detail
Has APIbool
No

Docs URL, Description

AI maturity
App detail

Has app

Core technology
Revenue estimate
Valuation estimate
Number of profiles
No data
Compliance7 records

Each record includes

Name, Class, Description

Funding overview

Funding stage, Last funding date, Total funding USD

Funding rounds

Each record includes

Round, Amount USD, Date, Pre money valuation, Total investors, Investors, News

Investors

Each record includes

Name, Type, Date of entry, Rounds participated, Website

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

M&A

Each record includes

Name, Acquisition type, Announced date, Completed date, Status, Website, News

Investment

Each record includes

Name, Round, Announced date, Lead investor, Website, News

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Universal Spa Training Academy

Beauty and Wellness Career Educationspatrainingacademy.com

Universal Spa Training Academy is a privately held, NACCAS-accredited career school in Downers Grove, Illinois, founded in 2006, offering aesthetics, cosmetology, massage therapy, instructor, and medical aesthetics training programs to aspiring beauty and wellness professionals in the Chicagoland area.

What Universal Spa Training Academy does

Universal Spa Training Academy (USTA) is a privately held, NACCAS-accredited career school founded in 2006 and operating from a single campus at 340 Burlington Ave in Downers Grove, Illinois. It serves the greater Chicagoland area with five core training programs — Aesthetics (750 hours), Medical Aesthetics Certification (included with aesthetics), Cosmetology (1,500 hours), Massage Therapy (650 hours), and Instructor Training (500-1,000 hours) — plus Continuing Education for licensed professionals. The school is licensed by the Illinois Board of Higher Education and the Illinois Department of Financial & Professional Regulation, and is approved for Title IV federal student aid, GI Bill, and MyCAA funding.

USTA's curriculum integrates hands-on clinical instruction with a student clinic where enrollees perform supervised client services in massage, skin care, waxing, brow and lash, and advanced modalities. Every program includes free business and entrepreneurship classes, and a Multi-License Program offers 10-20% stacked tuition discounts to retain students across disciplines. The owner-operator model is led by Mr. and Mrs. Tyler, with Mrs. Tyler bringing experience as a licensed aesthetician, massage therapist, instructor, and former founder of the Celebrated Woman day spa. Exclusive training partnerships with Aesthetics Exposed Education (laser certification) and Deesignz Artistry (brow and lash) differentiate the curriculum.

Revenue is generated primarily through individual student tuition across the five programs, supplemented by continuing education fees ($90-$104 per CEU course), a $50 registration fee, and student clinic service revenue. The GTM motion is direct-to-consumer via online inquiry, campus tours, and a structured in-person admissions interview. Tuition pricing is not publicly disclosed. Since inception, USTA has produced over 2,000 graduates and reported an 87% graduation rate and 83% placement rate for 2022 per NACCAS. No external funding, M&A activity, or multi-campus expansion is indicated.

Universal Spa Training Academy firmographics

Firmographics
Name
Universal Spa Training Academy
Legal name
Universal Spa Training Academy
Website
https://spatrainingacademy.com
Company type
Private
Founded year
2006
Operating status
Operating
Headcount range
11–50 employees
Short description
Universal Spa Training Academy is a privately held, NACCAS-accredited career school in Downers Grove, Illinois, founded in 2006, offering aesthetics, cosmetology, massage therapy, instructor, and medical aesthetics training programs to aspiring beauty and wellness professionals in the Chicagoland area.
Ownership category
akta.pro rank

Universal Spa Training Academy industry classification

Industry
Product category
Beauty and Wellness Career Education
NAICS
Technical and Trade Schools (6115), All Other Schools and Instruction (61169)
SIC
Services-Educational Services (8200)
akta.pro primary industry
Massage Therapy & Bodywork (EDAOALAH)
akta.pro secondary industries
Massage Therapy Schools & Certification Programs (HSALANAJ), Spa & Body Treatment Training (Body Wraps/Scrubs/Hydrotherapy) (HSALANAI)

Keywords

  • Aesthetics training programs
  • Cosmetology education
  • Massage therapy training
  • Medical aesthetics certification
  • Continuing education courses

Where Universal Spa Training Academy is headquartered

Location

Headquarters

HQ city
Downers Grove
HQ country
United States
HQ region
North America

Offices2 records

Markets served

Universal Spa Training Academy business model

Business model
GTM type
B2C
Offering type
Services
Cost components
Personnel, Operations, Marketing or Sales, Others

Revenue model

  1. Tuition - Aesthetics Program: 750-hour aesthetics program with tuition that includes all training materials, student kit, and laser certification course. Financial aid available to qualifying students through federal Pell Grants and Direct Loans.
  2. Tuition - Cosmetology Program: 1500-hour cosmetology program with tuition covering theory and practical instruction, premium styling tools, and business courses. Multiple schedule options available with varying program durations.
  3. Tuition - Massage Therapy Program: 650-hour massage therapy program including massage table with tuition. Covers Swedish, sports, deep tissue, hot stone massage, reflexology, CPR certification, and pregnancy/prenatal training.
  4. Instructor Training Programs: 500-1000 hour cosmetology instructor and 750 hour aesthetics instructor programs for licensed professionals seeking to become educators.
  5. Continuing Education: CEU courses for licensed massage therapists (24 hours including ethics), aestheticians (10 hours biennial), and cosmetologists (14 hours biennial). Classes like Aromatherapy offered at $90-104 per course.
  6. Student Services Revenue: Revenue from $50 registration fee for enrolled students. Additional services include transcript requests.

Pricing tiers

ModelBillingPrice
Unit PricingPay-as-you-goMassage CEU - Aromatherapy Course
Unit PricingPay-as-you-goRegistration Fee

Go-to-market motion2 records

Distribution channels1 record

Marketing channels6 records

Universal Spa Training Academy product offering

Product offering

Core offering

Universal Spa Training Academy (USTA) is a private career school that delivers state-approved programs in aesthetics (750 hours), cosmetology (1,500 hours), massage therapy (650 hours), medical aesthetics, instructor training (500–1,000 hours), and continuing education. Instruction combines classroom theory with hands-on clinical practice delivered through a student-run spa clinic serving paying clients.

Product overview

Universal Spa Training Academy is a multi-program educational institution offering spa and beauty training in the Chicagoland area since 2006. The institution operates as a single unified academy offering five core training programs: Aesthetics (750-hour), Medical Aesthetics Certification (included with aesthetics), Cosmetology (1500-hour), Massage Therapy (650-hour), and Instructor Training (500-1000 hour). The institution also operates a Student Clinic where enrolled students perform actual client services under supervision, offering massage, skin care, waxing, and advanced spa treatments. The programs are integrated through a Multi-License Program that allows students to stack credentials with tuition discounts. All programs include free Business Class training covering entrepreneurship and career preparation. The institution's product portfolio also includes Continuing Education for licensed professionals seeking to maintain or advance their credentials.

Differentiator

Problem solved

Functional benefit

Products and services

  • Aesthetics Program

Quantifiable outcome

  • 87% graduation rate (2022)
  • +3 more outcomes

Companies that use Universal Spa Training Academy

Customer profile

Named customers25 records

Segments5 records

Ideal customer profiles1 record

Universal Spa Training Academy technology and API

Technology

Technology focussed No

API detail

Has API
No
API docs
API detail

Core technology

AI maturity

App detail

Universal Spa Training Academy partnerships and signals

Strategic signal

Partnerships

13 partnerships are on record, tiered core and supporting.

  • Aesthetics Exposed EducationcoreStrategic or Co-development PartnerExclusive partnership with Aesthetics Exposed Education, led by Terri Wojak with 25+ years of industry experience, to provide hands-on laser certification course included at no extra cost to enrolled aesthetic students. Training includes IPL, Nano Pen, Laser Physics, and hands-on certification. Internships at Aesthetics Exposed may be available for top-performing students.
  • Deesignz ArtistrycoreStrategic or Co-development PartnerExclusive partnership for brow and lash training. Deesignz Artistry is licensed by the Illinois Department of Health and certified with CPCP and AAMP. Provides skilled technicians for training, hands-on instruction, and certificates upon completion. USTA students eligible for externships.
  • RedkensupportingTechnology or IntegrationDesignated as a Redken Partner School. Students receive training using Redken professional hair care products. Redken provides iconic formulas and hands-on education, with message of 'Powered by Science. Prescribed by Pros.'
  • PCA SkinsupportingTechnology or IntegrationDesignated as a PCA Partnership School. Students use PCA Skin products for facials, microdermabrasions, and chemical peels. PCA formulates products improving skin health with formulations free of synthetic dyes, fragrances, mineral oil, petrolatum, lanolin and phthalates.
  • EnvironsupportingTechnology or IntegrationMedical aesthetics program utilizes Environ skincare products, developed with vitamin A as their cornerstone life ingredient. Products focus on healthy, beautiful skin through vitamin-based formulations.
  • Alastin SkincaresupportingTechnology or IntegrationMedical aesthetics program utilizes Alastin Skincare products for daily regimens and post-procedure care. Products are cruelty, paraben, and gluten free, promoting fortified, healthy skin.
  • Hand and Stone Massage and Facial SpasupportingChannel Partner/ Reseller/ DistributorIndustry partner and employer of USTA graduates. Franchise spa chain providing employment opportunities for graduates across their locations in the Chicagoland area.
  • Associated Bodywork & Massage Professionals (ABMP)supportingGTM or Marketing PartnerABMP member school status. Students receive ABMP Exam Coach 1 Year Membership included in massage student kit. ABMP provides student resources, insurance discounts, and professional network access.
  • Make-Up Designory (MUD)supportingTechnology or IntegrationCosmetology and aesthetics students use MUD makeup products. MUD creates honest makeup products with quality education, offering long-lasting wearability and flawless application.
  • Skin ScriptsupportingTechnology or IntegrationAesthetics and cosmetology programs use Skin Script clinical skincare products containing retinols, glycolics, lactics, salicylics and natural lighteners. Products allow customization for client skin conditions.
  • MizanisupportingTechnology or IntegrationCosmetology program includes Mizani product knowledge training for textured hair services. Partnership addresses the 65% of US population with textured hair through holistic education on hair color, haircare, and styling.
  • OPIsupportingTechnology or IntegrationCosmetology program includes OPI nail product training. As the #1 nail salon brand worldwide, OPI provides unlimited shades and highest quality products for nail care education.
  • Keratin ComplexsupportingTechnology or IntegrationCosmetology students receive Keratin Complex training as an advanced service and revenue generator. Training covers professional installation techniques for smoothing treatments that can eliminate frizz and last 6 weeks to 5 months.

Scale indicators8 records

Recent moves6 records

Expansion highlights5 records

Universal Spa Training Academy competitors and assessment

Company assessment

Direct peers

  • Tricoci University of Beauty Culture: Chicago-based beauty and cosmetology school offering aesthetics, cosmetology, and instructor programs. Closest geographic direct peer with similar program mix and employer outcomes focus.
  • Aveda Institute Chicago: Chicago-area cosmetology and aesthetics school operated by the Aveda network. Directly comparable multi-program beauty school serving the same Chicagoland student base with similar product mix (cosmetology, aesthetics, massage-adjacent).
  • National Laser Institute: Specializes in medical aesthetics and laser certification training, which USTA bundles within its aesthetics program. Directly comparable in the laser/medical aesthetics segment of the curriculum.
  • Pivot Point Academy: Illinois-based cosmetology and aesthetics school offering multi-program beauty training. Comparable in program structure, regulatory profile, and Chicagoland student base to USTA.
  • Euro Institute of Skin Care: Specialized aesthetics and skin care school on the West Coast offering comparable aesthetics curriculum. Comparable in program focus but operates in a different regional market.
  • Cortiva Institute: Multi-state massage therapy and aesthetics school offering comparable 600+ hour massage curricula and aesthetics programs. Direct peer for USTA's massage therapy program.

Regional players

  • Total Cosmetology Training Center: Oregon-based cosmetology, aesthetics, and massage therapy school with comparable program mix. Comparable in multi-discipline beauty/bodywork training but in a different geographic market than USTA's Chicagoland focus.
  • Hollywood Institute of Beauty Careers: Multi-location beauty and wellness school offering cosmetology, aesthetics, and massage therapy with a comparable multi-program structure, though operating primarily on the West Coast rather than in the Midwest.

Broad incumbents

  • Empire Beauty Schools: One of the largest cosmetology school chains in the U.S. with national footprint. Competes broadly with USTA in cosmetology/aesthetics training, but at much larger scale and without USTA's massage therapy or laser certification depth.
  • Paul Mitchell Schools: Nationwide chain of cosmetology and barbering schools operating under the Paul Mitchell brand. Overlaps with USTA's cosmetology program at scale; not present in massage therapy.

Market position

Strengths5 records

Weaknesses5 records

Competitive moat5 records

Key risks5 records

Key highlights7 records

Customer concentration

Universal Spa Training Academy social profiles

Digital presence

Universal Spa Training Academy compliance and trust

Trust signal

Compliance7 records

Universal Spa Training Academy financial estimates

Financial estimate

Revenue estimate

Valuation estimate

Universal Spa Training Academy leadership team

Management profile

Number of profiles

Universal Spa Training Academy funding detail

Funding detail

Funding overview

Funding rounds

Investors

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Universal Spa Training Academy M&A and investment

M&A and investment

M&A

Investments

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Frequently asked questions about Universal Spa Training Academy

What does Universal Spa Training Academy do?

Universal Spa Training Academy (USTA) is a private career school that delivers state-approved programs in aesthetics (750 hours), cosmetology (1,500 hours), massage therapy (650 hours), medical aesthetics, instructor training (500–1,000 hours), and continuing education. Instruction combines classroom theory with hands-on clinical practice delivered through a student-run spa clinic serving paying clients.

Is Universal Spa Training Academy a public or private company?

Universal Spa Training Academy is a private company. It is classified as founder individual operated bootstrapped and is currently operating.

When was Universal Spa Training Academy founded?

Universal Spa Training Academy was founded in 2006. It employs 11 to 50 people.

Where is Universal Spa Training Academy based?

Universal Spa Training Academy is headquartered in Downers Grove, United States, in the North America region.

How does Universal Spa Training Academy make money?

Six revenue lines are on record. Tuition - Aesthetics Program is the primary driver. The others are tuition - Cosmetology Program, tuition - Massage Therapy Program, instructor Training Programs, continuing Education and student Services Revenue.

Who are Universal Spa Training Academy's main competitors?

Direct peers on record are Tricoci University of Beauty Culture, Aveda Institute Chicago, National Laser Institute, Pivot Point Academy, Euro Institute of Skin Care and Cortiva Institute. Regional players are Total Cosmetology Training Center and Hollywood Institute of Beauty Careers. Broad incumbents are Empire Beauty Schools and Paul Mitchell Schools.

Does Universal Spa Training Academy have an API?

No public API is recorded for Universal Spa Training Academy.

What industry is Universal Spa Training Academy in?

Universal Spa Training Academy's product category is Beauty and Wellness Career Education. Its primary akta.pro industry code is EDAOALAH, Massage Therapy & Bodywork, with a secondary code of HSALANAJ, Massage Therapy Schools & Certification Programs. Its NAICS code is 6115 and its SIC code is 8200.

Unlock the full company data

50 free credits on sign-up, no credit card required.

Contact sales