Developer docs
API playgroundTry for free, no card

Search company profiles

Community Resource Federal Credit Union

Full company profile

uuid000ivp4

Namestring
Community Resource Federal Credit Union
Legal namestring
Community Resource Federal Credit Union
Company typeenum
Private
Founded yearint
1935
Descriptiontext

Community Resource Federal Credit Union is a member-owned, non-profit financial cooperative founded in 1935 and headquartered in Latham, New York, serving the Capital Region. It operates two physical branches (Latham as headquarters at 20 Wade Rd. and Rensselaer at 631 Bloomingrove Dr.) and serves both individual consumers and small businesses through a full-service retail banking, lending, and digital banking platform. Products span checking accounts (Free Checking, Dividend Checking, Teen Checking), savings (Member Share Savings, Youth Savings, Money Market, Share Certificates, IRA products), vehicle and recreational loans (Auto Loans, Energize Auto Loan, Boat/Powersports/RV loans), unsecured personal loans and lines of credit, home equity products (fixed and adjustable HELOCs, Fixed Rate Home Equity), mortgages (Conventional, FHA, VA, USDA), credit cards, and business banking (Business Checking, Business Savings, merchant services via Elavon, business credit cards). Member value is augmented through a 85,000+ fee-free ATM network, 30+ local shared credit union branches, mobile and online banking with digital wallet integration (Apple Pay, Google Pay, Samsung Pay), and ancillary services including Skip-A-Pay, Message Pay, notary services, and direct deposit.

The underlying technology stack is conventional retail banking infrastructure: an online banking portal and community-branded mobile applications (iOS and Android) with SSL encryption, multifactor authentication, mobile check deposit (10 checks/day, $5,000 daily limit), and debit card controls. Credit cards, student loans, merchant processing, and wealth management are delivered through partner platforms: Elan Financial Services issues and processes the credit card portfolio, LendKey powers the student loan origination and refinancing, Elavon handles merchant payment processing, and LPL Financial provides wealth management and investment services with referral fees flowing back to the credit union. Insurance products are brokered through TruStage Insurance and NILICO. The credit union's underlying core banking platform details are not disclosed but appear to be a vendor-managed core rather than proprietary technology.

The business model is typical of a community credit union: primary revenue is interest income on the loan portfolio (auto, home equity, mortgage, personal, business loans) at rates ranging from 3.74% APR (new auto) to 13.25% APR (personal line of credit), supplemented by fee income (Skip-A-Pay at $35-$50, Message Pay at $4.99, late fees, account fees), interchange revenue from Visa debit and credit card transactions, and affiliate/referral fees from LPL Financial, TruStage Insurance, and NILICO. Customer acquisition runs through direct-to-consumer channels: community engagement programs, employer partnerships for financial education (BALANCE Financial Fitness), youth savings capture, and community outreach, with membership opened via a primary share savings account. Distribution is hybrid: two proprietary branches plus digital self-service, shared branching, and the CO-OP ATM network. There are no publicly disclosed revenue figures, no funding activity, and no investor-backed growth initiatives.

Short descriptiontext

Community Resource Federal Credit Union is a member-owned, non-profit credit union founded in 1935 in Latham, New York, serving individual consumers and small businesses in the Capital Region with checking, savings, loans, mortgages, credit cards, and digital banking through two branches and partner-driven platforms.

Operating statusenum
Operating
Ownership categoryenum
Headcount rangeband
11–50
akta.pro rankint
HeadquartersLatham, United States
HQ citystring
Latham
HQ countrystring
United States
HQ regionstring
North America
Markets served

Serves global market

Offices2 records

Each record includes

City, Country, Type, Description, Source

Keyword5 values
retail banking, consumer lending, mortgage lending, share certificates, credit union services
Industry1 code
1Community Credit Unions (Retail/Consumer Focus)
CodeFSABAEAAPrimaryYes
NAICS code2 codes
  • Credit Unions52213
  • Credit Unions522130
SIC code1 code
  • Savings Institution, Federally Chartered6035
Product category
Retail Banking
GTM motion1 record

Each record includes

Type, Description, Source

Revenue model5 records
1Interest Income
TypeTransaction Fee
Description

Primary revenue stream from interest earned on loan portfolio including auto loans, home equity loans, mortgages, personal loans, and business loans. The credit union offers competitive rates on various loan products generating the majority of operating revenue.

communityresourcefcu.com
2Fee Income
TypeTransaction Fee
Description

Various service fees including $35-$50 Skip-A-Pay processing fees, $4.99 Message Pay fees, late payment fees, and transaction fees on certain account services. These are ancillary revenue sources complementing interest income.

communityresourcefcu.com
3Interchange Revenue
TypeTransaction Fee
Description

Income from debit and credit card transactions processed through Visa networks. The credit union encourages members to select 'Credit' processing option to maximize efficiency and reduce ATM transaction costs.

communityresourcefcu.com
4Insurance Referral Fees
TypeAffiliate Referral
Description

Commission revenue from TruStage insurance products (auto, home, life, AD&D) offered through the credit union to members, and NILICO AD&D coverage at no cost to members.

communityresourcefcu.com
5Wealth Management Referral Fees
TypeAffiliate Referral
Description

Revenue from LPL Financial partnership where the credit union receives referral fees for directing members to investment and wealth management services provided by registered representatives.

communityresourcefcu.com
Marketing channels6 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Stage, Description, Source

Distribution channels6 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Scope, Target buyer, Description, Source

Cost components5 values
Personnel, Operations, Technology or R&D, Marketing or Sales, Infrastructure
Pricing details16 tiers
1Vehicle Loans - 2022 & newer: 24-84 month terms ranging from 3.74% to 5.84% APR
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceMonthly
Notes

2022 & newer: 24 Mo 3.74%, 36 Mo 3.99%, 48 Mo 4.24%, 60 Mo 4.59%, 72 Mo 4.84%, 84 Mo 5.84%. 2018-2021: 5.64%-6.84%. 2014-2017: 6.99%-7.99%. All rates include 0.25% Auto Pay discount.

communityresourcefcu.com
2Powersport Loans - 2022 & newer: 6.24%-8.24% APR depending on term
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceMonthly
Notes

2022 & newer: 24-36 Mo 6.24%, 48 Mo 6.74%, 60 Mo 7.24%, 72 Mo 8.24%. 2019-2021: 7.04%-7.44%.

communityresourcefcu.com
3RV Loans - 2022 & newer: 6.99%-8.24% APR depending on term
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceMonthly
Notes

2022 & newer: 60 Mo 6.99%, 84 Mo 7.49%, 120-144 Mo 7.99%, 180 Mo 8.24%. Older vehicles have higher rates up to 13.24%.

communityresourcefcu.com
4Personal Loans: Up to 72 months, up to $30,000, 9.74% APR as low as
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceMonthly
Notes

Terms up to 72 months, loans up to $30,000. No early payoff fees, no origination fees, no hidden fees. Rate as low as 9.74% APR determined by individual credit history.

5Personal Line of Credit: Revolving, up to $15,000, 13.25% APR
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

Unsecured Line of Credit up to $15,000 at 13.25% APR. Includes Membership Pays discount of 0.25% for automatic payment from checking account.

communityresourcefcu.com
6Home Equity - Fixed Rate: 5.00% APR, up to $350,000 (1st lien) / $200,000 (2nd lien)
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceMonthly
Notes

Fixed Rate Home Equity loans up to $350,000 (first lien) / $200,000 (second lien). Rate as low as 5.00% APR. Up to 100% CLTV. No annual fees.

communityresourcefcu.com
7HELOC: 5.25%-5.75% introductory, then Prime + Margin
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

Interest Only HELOC: 5.75% intro, then Prime + Margin. 3 Year Adjustable: 5.25% intro, then Prime + Margin. Max $250,000 (1st lien) / $100,000 (2nd lien). Up to 85% CLTV.

communityresourcefcu.com
8Residential Investment Property: 8.00%-8.50% APR, up to $350,000, up to 70% LTV
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceMonthly
Notes

Fixed rates: Up to 120 months 8.00% APR, up to 180 months 8.50% APR. Maximum loan $350,000 in 1st lien position. 70% LTV.

communityresourcefcu.com
9Share Certificates: Limited-time 25-Month CD Special earning up to 4.25% APY
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

Limited-time 25-Month CD Special earning up to 4.25% APY. Regular Share Certificates: Terms from 6 to 60 months, $500 minimum deposit.

communityresourcefcu.com
10Super Share Certificates: Higher rates for deposits over $50,000
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceAnnual
Notes

Super Share Certificates available for deposits over $50,000 with enhanced interest rates.

communityresourcefcu.com
11Money Market: No minimum balance, tiered rates, higher dividends on $2,500+ average daily balance
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceMonthly
Notes

No minimum balance required. Tiered dividend rates. Earns higher dividends on average daily balance of $2,500 or more. FDIC insured.

communityresourcefcu.com
12SaveUp Account: Free automated savings with round-up feature, earns interest at $100+ balance
ModelFreemiumBilling cadenceMonthly
Notes

Free automated savings tool. Round up purchases to nearest dollar and transfer difference to savings. Earns interest once balance reaches $100.

communityresourcefcu.com
13Skip-A-Pay: $35-$50 processing fee per loan
ModelTransaction based/ take rateBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

$35.00 processing fee for loan payments under $500, $50.00 for loan payments $500 or more, per loan.

communityresourcefcu.com
14Message Pay: $4.99 per loan payment
ModelTransaction based/ take rateBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

$4.99 per loan payment via text message service. Payment can be made via ACH or with a card.

communityresourcefcu.com
15Business Checking: $1 minimum to open, unlimited check writing, no per-check charges
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceMonthly
Notes

$1 minimum to open. Unlimited check writing with no per-check charges. Free Visa Debit Card. Free online and mobile banking.

communityresourcefcu.com
16Business Savings: $5 minimum to open (individual) / $10 (joint), no monthly service fee
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceMonthly
Notes

$5 minimum to open for individual account, $10 for joint account. No monthly service fee or minimum balance. Free online banking, mobile banking, bill pay, and mobile check deposit.

communityresourcefcu.com
GTM typeB2C
B2C
Offering typeServices
Services
Brand1 of 2 records shown
1Financial Education Partnership
Description

Free financial coaching and education program for employers to offer their employees.

communityresourcefcu.com
+1 more record
Core offering1 text field

Community Resource Federal Credit Union is a member-owned, not-for-profit financial cooperative offering retail banking, consumer lending, mortgage financing, credit cards, and wealth management services to members in New York's Capital Region. The institution generates revenue primarily through interest income on its consumer loan portfolio (auto, home equity, mortgage, personal) and deposit products (checking, savings, money market, certificates), supplemented by service fees, interchange revenue, and referral commissions from insurance and investment partners.

Differentiator
Functional benefit
Problem solved
Quantifiable outcome1 of 3 values shown
  • Save up to $266/month or nearly $13,000 over four years by refinancing auto loan from 17% to 7%
+2 more records
Product overview1 text field

Community Resource Federal Credit Union operates as a member-owned financial institution offering a comprehensive suite of banking and lending products. The core banking platform centers on checking accounts (Free Checking, Dividend Checking, Teen Checking), savings products (Member Share Savings, Youth Savings, Money Market Accounts), and certificate accounts (Share Certificates, Super Share Certificates, IRA Certificates). The lending portfolio spans vehicle loans including standard Auto Loans and the innovative Energize Auto Loan Program (a lease-alternative with lower payments), Boat/Powersports/RV loans, Personal Loans, Personal Lines of Credit, Home Improvement Loans, and Student Loans through LendKey. Mortgage offerings include Conventional, FHA, VA, and USDA loans alongside Home Equity products (Fixed Rate Home Equity, Fixed Rate HELOC, Interest Only HELOC, 3-Year Adjustable HELOC). Credit card offerings through Elan Financial Services include Everyday Rewards+, Travel Rewards+, Reserve Rewards+, Max Cash Preferred, Platinum, College Real Rewards, Max Cash Secured, and Secured cards. Business Banking encompasses Business Checking, Business Savings, Merchant Services via Elavon, and Business Credit Cards. Digital banking features include Online Banking, Mobile Banking (iOS/Android), Mobile Check Deposit, eAlerts, Direct Deposit, and Debit Card Controls with Apple Pay/Google Pay/Samsung Pay integration. Wealth Management through LPL Financial provides investment and retirement planning. Supplementary services include TruStage Insurance, Notary Services, Night Deposits, Skip-A-Pay, Message Pay, and the Community Heroes discount program.

Product and service31 records
1Free Checking
CategoryChecking Account
2Dividend Checking
CategoryChecking Account
3Teen Checking (13-17)
CategoryChecking Account
4Member Share Savings
CategorySavings Account
5Youth Savings (up to 17)
CategorySavings Account
6Money Market Accounts
CategorySavings Account
7Share Certificates
CategoryCertificate of Deposit
8Super Share Certificates
CategoryCertificate of Deposit
9IRA Certificates
CategoryRetirement Account
10IRA Savings
CategoryRetirement Account
11Auto Loans
CategoryConsumer Loan
12Energize Auto Loan Program
CategoryConsumer Loan
13Boat, Powersports & RV Loans
CategoryConsumer Loan
14Personal Loans
CategoryConsumer Loan
15Personal Line of Credit
CategoryConsumer Loan
16Home Improvement Loan
CategoryHome Loan
17Student Loans
CategoryStudent Loan
18Conventional Mortgage
CategoryMortgage
19FHA Loan
CategoryMortgage
20VA Loan
CategoryMortgage
21USDA Loan
CategoryMortgage
22Residential Investment Property Loan
CategoryMortgage
23Fixed Rate Home Equity Loan
CategoryHome Equity Loan
24Home Equity Lines of Credit (HELOC)
CategoryHome Equity Loan
25Credit Cards
CategoryCredit Card
26Business Checking
CategoryBusiness Banking
27Business Savings
CategoryBusiness Banking
28Merchant Services
CategoryBusiness Banking
29Business Credit Cards
CategoryBusiness Credit Card
30Wealth Management
CategoryWealth Management
Description

Investment and financial planning services through LPL Financial partnership including retirement planning, estate planning, education planning, and portfolio management provided by registered representatives.

31Insurance Products (TruStage)
CategoryInsurance
Description

Insurance products through TruStage including auto/home insurance, life insurance, and accidental death & dismemberment coverage designed for credit union members.

Scale indicator4 records

Each record includes

Type, Value, Description, Source

Partnership8 partners
Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

LPL Financial partnership provides wealth management and investment services to credit union members. Richard C. Anthony serves as the Registered Principal offering retirement planning, investment planning, estate planning, and insurance services. The credit union receives referral fees for directing members to LPL services, and this partnership is marketed as enhancing the institution's financial product platform.

Strategic tierCoreTypeTechnology or Integration
Description

Elan Financial Services provides credit card products and processing for Community Resource FCU's credit card portfolio including Everyday Rewards+, Travel Rewards+, Max Cash Preferred, Platinum, College Real Rewards, and secured card options. Elan handles card issuance, processing, and manages the Elan Account Access online portal for cardholders.

Strategic tierCoreTypeGTM or Marketing Partner
Description

TruStage Insurance offers auto, home, life, and accidental death & dismemberment insurance products to credit union members. The partnership includes complimentary AD&D coverage for members and discounted insurance rates as a membership benefit. CMFG Life Insurance Company underwrites the products with an A.M. Best 'A' rating.

Strategic tierCoreTypeTechnology or Integration
Description

Elavon provides merchant payment processing services for business members, enabling in-person, mobile, and online payment acceptance. Services include chip card/EMV terminals, POS systems, next-day funding, and dedicated account management. Elavon handles payment processing while Community Resource FCU offers these services to business members.

Strategic tierCoreTypeTechnology or Integration
Description

LendKey partnership provides student loan refinancing and in-school student loan products. The partnership enables Community Resource FCU to offer competitive student loan rates through LendKey's digital lending platform while maintaining the credit union relationship with members.

Strategic tierSecondaryTypeGTM or Marketing Partner
Description

BALANCE Financial Fitness provides financial education resources, online education modules, and financial coaching accessible through the credit union's website. The platform offers budgeting tools, savings guidance, and credit management resources free to the community, not just members.

7NILICO
Strategic tierSecondaryTypeGTM or Marketing Partner
Description

NILICO provides group Accidental Death and Dismemberment insurance policy providing $3,500 AD&D coverage to all members and staff in good standing, 24 hours a day. Coverage is provided at no cost to members.

communityresourcefcu.com
Strategic tierSecondaryTypeTechnology or Integration
Description

UserWay provides website accessibility widget for communityresourcefcu.com to improve compliance with Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG 2.1). The widget is powered by a dedicated accessibility server to ensure the website is accessible to people with disabilities.

Recent move6 records

Each record includes

Date, Type, Title, Description, Source

Expansion highlight6 records

Each record includes

Type, Description

Peers10 records
TypeBroad incumbent
Description

Large nationwide member-owned credit union with consumer deposits, mortgages, auto loans, and credit cards. Similar cooperative structure and full-service suite but at vastly larger scale and broader member reach.

2Empower Federal Credit Union
TypeDirect peer
Description

Member-owned credit union headquartered in Syracuse, NY serving Upstate and Central New York with a similar community banking and lending model, including digital banking, auto loans, and mortgages.

TypeEmerging player
Description

Digital-first consumer banking platform offering fee-free checking, high-yield savings, and secured credit products targeting the same retail member segments Community Resource FCU serves, with no physical branches and a national footprint.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Upstate New York credit union offering consumer and business banking, mortgages, and wealth services with a member-owned cooperative model and comparable regional community focus.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Capital Region credit union serving Albany-area consumers and businesses with checking, lending, mortgages, and digital banking — competing head-to-head for the same local members.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

New York-based community bank with branches throughout the Capital Region, offering consumer deposits, mortgages, and small business banking as a comparable brick-and-mortar alternative to a credit union.

TypeDirect peer
Description

New York-based community credit union serving the Capital Region and surrounding areas with consumer loans, mortgages, business banking, and digital channels — directly comparable in product mix, member-owned structure, and regional focus.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

Large national member-owned credit union offering a digital-first banking, lending, and credit card platform. Comparable cooperative model but materially larger scale and broader geographic reach.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Another member-owned credit union headquartered in the Capital Region of New York (Latham-adjacent), offering a directly overlapping suite of consumer deposits, lending, and digital banking to the same primary market and member segments.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

Regional New York community bank serving Albany/Capital Region consumers and small businesses with deposits, lending, and digital banking — a comparable incumbent competitor for the same member base.

Market position
Strengths5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Weaknesses5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Competitive moat5 records

Each record includes

Type, Details

Key risks6 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Key highlights7 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Customer concentration

Classification, Details

Segment5 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Primary, Description, Pain point addressed, Use case, Source

Ideal customer profile2 records

Each record includes

Profile, Firmographic size, Sales motion, Sales cycle length, Buying structure, Purchase trigger, Buyer persona, Geography, Industry vertical, Primary use case, Description, Pain points, Evidence proof points, Target buyer

Technology focused
No
API detail
Has APIbool
No

Docs URL, Description

Integration10 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Description, Source

AI maturity
App detail

Has app

Feature5 records

Each record includes

Title, Differentiator, Description, Source

Core technology
Revenue estimate
Valuation estimate
Number of profiles
No data
No data
Funding overview

Funding stage, Last funding date, Total funding USD

Funding rounds

Each record includes

Round, Amount USD, Date, Pre money valuation, Total investors, Investors, News

Investors

Each record includes

Name, Type, Date of entry, Rounds participated, Website

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

M&A

Each record includes

Name, Acquisition type, Announced date, Completed date, Status, Website, News

Investment

Each record includes

Name, Round, Announced date, Lead investor, Website, News

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Community Resource Federal Credit Union

Community Resource Federal Credit Union is a member-owned, non-profit credit union founded in 1935 in Latham, New York, serving individual consumers and small businesses in the Capital Region with checking, savings, loans, mortgages, credit cards, and digital banking through two branches and partner-driven platforms.

What Community Resource Federal Credit Union does

Community Resource Federal Credit Union is a member-owned, non-profit financial cooperative founded in 1935 and headquartered in Latham, New York, serving the Capital Region. It operates two physical branches (Latham as headquarters at 20 Wade Rd. and Rensselaer at 631 Bloomingrove Dr.) and serves both individual consumers and small businesses through a full-service retail banking, lending, and digital banking platform. Products span checking accounts (Free Checking, Dividend Checking, Teen Checking), savings (Member Share Savings, Youth Savings, Money Market, Share Certificates, IRA products), vehicle and recreational loans (Auto Loans, Energize Auto Loan, Boat/Powersports/RV loans), unsecured personal loans and lines of credit, home equity products (fixed and adjustable HELOCs, Fixed Rate Home Equity), mortgages (Conventional, FHA, VA, USDA), credit cards, and business banking (Business Checking, Business Savings, merchant services via Elavon, business credit cards). Member value is augmented through a 85,000+ fee-free ATM network, 30+ local shared credit union branches, mobile and online banking with digital wallet integration (Apple Pay, Google Pay, Samsung Pay), and ancillary services including Skip-A-Pay, Message Pay, notary services, and direct deposit.

The underlying technology stack is conventional retail banking infrastructure: an online banking portal and community-branded mobile applications (iOS and Android) with SSL encryption, multifactor authentication, mobile check deposit (10 checks/day, $5,000 daily limit), and debit card controls. Credit cards, student loans, merchant processing, and wealth management are delivered through partner platforms: Elan Financial Services issues and processes the credit card portfolio, LendKey powers the student loan origination and refinancing, Elavon handles merchant payment processing, and LPL Financial provides wealth management and investment services with referral fees flowing back to the credit union. Insurance products are brokered through TruStage Insurance and NILICO. The credit union's underlying core banking platform details are not disclosed but appear to be a vendor-managed core rather than proprietary technology.

The business model is typical of a community credit union: primary revenue is interest income on the loan portfolio (auto, home equity, mortgage, personal, business loans) at rates ranging from 3.74% APR (new auto) to 13.25% APR (personal line of credit), supplemented by fee income (Skip-A-Pay at $35-$50, Message Pay at $4.99, late fees, account fees), interchange revenue from Visa debit and credit card transactions, and affiliate/referral fees from LPL Financial, TruStage Insurance, and NILICO. Customer acquisition runs through direct-to-consumer channels: community engagement programs, employer partnerships for financial education (BALANCE Financial Fitness), youth savings capture, and community outreach, with membership opened via a primary share savings account. Distribution is hybrid: two proprietary branches plus digital self-service, shared branching, and the CO-OP ATM network. There are no publicly disclosed revenue figures, no funding activity, and no investor-backed growth initiatives.

Community Resource Federal Credit Union firmographics

Firmographics
Name
Community Resource Federal Credit Union
Legal name
Community Resource Federal Credit Union
Website
https://communityresourcefcu.com
Company type
Private
Founded year
1935
Operating status
Operating
Headcount range
11–50 employees
Short description
Community Resource Federal Credit Union is a member-owned, non-profit credit union founded in 1935 in Latham, New York, serving individual consumers and small businesses in the Capital Region with checking, savings, loans, mortgages, credit cards, and digital banking through two branches and partner-driven platforms.
Ownership category
akta.pro rank

Community Resource Federal Credit Union industry classification

Industry
Product category
Retail Banking
NAICS
Credit Unions (52213), Credit Unions (522130)
SIC
Savings Institution, Federally Chartered (6035)
akta.pro primary industry
Community Credit Unions (Retail/Consumer Focus) (FSABAEAA)

Keywords

  • Retail banking
  • Consumer lending
  • Mortgage lending
  • Share certificates
  • Credit union services

Where Community Resource Federal Credit Union is headquartered

Location

Headquarters

HQ city
Latham
HQ country
United States
HQ region
North America

Offices2 records

Markets served

Community Resource Federal Credit Union business model

Business model
GTM type
B2C
Offering type
Services
Cost components
Personnel, Operations, Technology or R&D, Marketing or Sales, Infrastructure

Revenue model

  1. Interest Income: Primary revenue stream from interest earned on loan portfolio including auto loans, home equity loans, mortgages, personal loans, and business loans. The credit union offers competitive rates on various loan products generating the majority of operating revenue.
  2. Fee Income: Various service fees including $35-$50 Skip-A-Pay processing fees, $4.99 Message Pay fees, late payment fees, and transaction fees on certain account services. These are ancillary revenue sources complementing interest income.
  3. Interchange Revenue: Income from debit and credit card transactions processed through Visa networks. The credit union encourages members to select 'Credit' processing option to maximize efficiency and reduce ATM transaction costs.
  4. Insurance Referral Fees: Commission revenue from TruStage insurance products (auto, home, life, AD&D) offered through the credit union to members, and NILICO AD&D coverage at no cost to members.
  5. Wealth Management Referral Fees: Revenue from LPL Financial partnership where the credit union receives referral fees for directing members to investment and wealth management services provided by registered representatives.

Pricing tiers

ModelBillingPrice
SubscriptionMonthlyVehicle Loans - 2022 & newer: 24-84 month terms ranging from 3.74% to 5.84% APR
SubscriptionMonthlyPowersport Loans - 2022 & newer: 6.24%-8.24% APR depending on term
SubscriptionMonthlyRV Loans - 2022 & newer: 6.99%-8.24% APR depending on term
SubscriptionMonthlyPersonal Loans: Up to 72 months, up to $30,000, 9.74% APR as low as
SubscriptionPay-as-you-goPersonal Line of Credit: Revolving, up to $15,000, 13.25% APR
SubscriptionMonthlyHome Equity - Fixed Rate: 5.00% APR, up to $350,000 (1st lien) / $200,000 (2nd lien)
SubscriptionPay-as-you-goHELOC: 5.25%-5.75% introductory, then Prime + Margin
SubscriptionMonthlyResidential Investment Property: 8.00%-8.50% APR, up to $350,000, up to 70% LTV
SubscriptionAnnualShare Certificates: Limited-time 25-Month CD Special earning up to 4.25% APY
SubscriptionAnnualSuper Share Certificates: Higher rates for deposits over $50,000
SubscriptionMonthlyMoney Market: No minimum balance, tiered rates, higher dividends on $2,500+ average daily balance
FreemiumMonthlySaveUp Account: Free automated savings with round-up feature, earns interest at $100+ balance
Transaction based/ take ratePay-as-you-goSkip-A-Pay: $35-$50 processing fee per loan
Transaction based/ take ratePay-as-you-goMessage Pay: $4.99 per loan payment
SubscriptionMonthlyBusiness Checking: $1 minimum to open, unlimited check writing, no per-check charges
SubscriptionMonthlyBusiness Savings: $5 minimum to open (individual) / $10 (joint), no monthly service fee

Go-to-market motion1 record

Distribution channels6 records

Marketing channels6 records

Community Resource Federal Credit Union product offering

Product offering

Core offering

Community Resource Federal Credit Union is a member-owned, not-for-profit financial cooperative offering retail banking, consumer lending, mortgage financing, credit cards, and wealth management services to members in New York's Capital Region. The institution generates revenue primarily through interest income on its consumer loan portfolio (auto, home equity, mortgage, personal) and deposit products (checking, savings, money market, certificates), supplemented by service fees, interchange revenue, and referral commissions from insurance and investment partners.

Product overview

Community Resource Federal Credit Union operates as a member-owned financial institution offering a comprehensive suite of banking and lending products. The core banking platform centers on checking accounts (Free Checking, Dividend Checking, Teen Checking), savings products (Member Share Savings, Youth Savings, Money Market Accounts), and certificate accounts (Share Certificates, Super Share Certificates, IRA Certificates). The lending portfolio spans vehicle loans including standard Auto Loans and the innovative Energize Auto Loan Program (a lease-alternative with lower payments), Boat/Powersports/RV loans, Personal Loans, Personal Lines of Credit, Home Improvement Loans, and Student Loans through LendKey. Mortgage offerings include Conventional, FHA, VA, and USDA loans alongside Home Equity products (Fixed Rate Home Equity, Fixed Rate HELOC, Interest Only HELOC, 3-Year Adjustable HELOC). Credit card offerings through Elan Financial Services include Everyday Rewards+, Travel Rewards+, Reserve Rewards+, Max Cash Preferred, Platinum, College Real Rewards, Max Cash Secured, and Secured cards. Business Banking encompasses Business Checking, Business Savings, Merchant Services via Elavon, and Business Credit Cards. Digital banking features include Online Banking, Mobile Banking (iOS/Android), Mobile Check Deposit, eAlerts, Direct Deposit, and Debit Card Controls with Apple Pay/Google Pay/Samsung Pay integration. Wealth Management through LPL Financial provides investment and retirement planning. Supplementary services include TruStage Insurance, Notary Services, Night Deposits, Skip-A-Pay, Message Pay, and the Community Heroes discount program.

Differentiator

Problem solved

Functional benefit

Brands

  • Financial Education Partnership: Free financial coaching and education program for employers to offer their employees.
  • LPL Financial

Products and services

  • Free Checking
  • Dividend Checking
  • Teen Checking (13-17)
  • Member Share Savings
  • Youth Savings (up to 17)
  • Money Market Accounts
  • Share Certificates
  • Super Share Certificates
  • IRA Certificates
  • IRA Savings
  • Auto Loans
  • Energize Auto Loan Program
  • Boat, Powersports & RV Loans
  • Personal Loans
  • Personal Line of Credit
  • Home Improvement Loan
  • Student Loans
  • Conventional Mortgage
  • FHA Loan
  • VA Loan
  • USDA Loan
  • Residential Investment Property Loan
  • Fixed Rate Home Equity Loan
  • Home Equity Lines of Credit (HELOC)
  • Credit Cards
  • Business Checking
  • Business Savings
  • Merchant Services
  • Business Credit Cards
  • Wealth Management Investment and financial planning services through LPL Financial partnership including retirement planning, estate planning, education planning, and portfolio management provided by registered representatives.
  • Insurance Products (TruStage) Insurance products through TruStage including auto/home insurance, life insurance, and accidental death & dismemberment coverage designed for credit union members.

Quantifiable outcome

  • Save up to $266/month or nearly $13,000 over four years by refinancing auto loan from 17% to 7%
  • +2 more outcomes

Companies that use Community Resource Federal Credit Union

Customer profile

Segments5 records

Ideal customer profiles2 records

Community Resource Federal Credit Union technology and API

Technology

Technology focussed No

API detail

Has API
No
API docs
API detail

Core technology

AI maturity

App detail

Integration10 records

Feature5 records

Community Resource Federal Credit Union partnerships and signals

Strategic signal

Partnerships

Eight partnerships are on record, tiered core and secondary.

  • LPL FinancialcoreStrategic or Co-development PartnerLPL Financial partnership provides wealth management and investment services to credit union members. Richard C. Anthony serves as the Registered Principal offering retirement planning, investment planning, estate planning, and insurance services. The credit union receives referral fees for directing members to LPL services, and this partnership is marketed as enhancing the institution's financial product platform.
  • Elan Financial ServicescoreTechnology or IntegrationElan Financial Services provides credit card products and processing for Community Resource FCU's credit card portfolio including Everyday Rewards+, Travel Rewards+, Max Cash Preferred, Platinum, College Real Rewards, and secured card options. Elan handles card issuance, processing, and manages the Elan Account Access online portal for cardholders.
  • TruStage InsurancecoreGTM or Marketing PartnerTruStage Insurance offers auto, home, life, and accidental death & dismemberment insurance products to credit union members. The partnership includes complimentary AD&D coverage for members and discounted insurance rates as a membership benefit. CMFG Life Insurance Company underwrites the products with an A.M. Best 'A' rating.
  • ElavoncoreTechnology or IntegrationElavon provides merchant payment processing services for business members, enabling in-person, mobile, and online payment acceptance. Services include chip card/EMV terminals, POS systems, next-day funding, and dedicated account management. Elavon handles payment processing while Community Resource FCU offers these services to business members.
  • LendKeycoreTechnology or IntegrationLendKey partnership provides student loan refinancing and in-school student loan products. The partnership enables Community Resource FCU to offer competitive student loan rates through LendKey's digital lending platform while maintaining the credit union relationship with members.
  • BALANCE Financial FitnesssecondaryGTM or Marketing PartnerBALANCE Financial Fitness provides financial education resources, online education modules, and financial coaching accessible through the credit union's website. The platform offers budgeting tools, savings guidance, and credit management resources free to the community, not just members.
  • NILICOsecondaryGTM or Marketing PartnerNILICO provides group Accidental Death and Dismemberment insurance policy providing $3,500 AD&D coverage to all members and staff in good standing, 24 hours a day. Coverage is provided at no cost to members.
  • UserWaysecondaryTechnology or IntegrationUserWay provides website accessibility widget for communityresourcefcu.com to improve compliance with Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG 2.1). The widget is powered by a dedicated accessibility server to ensure the website is accessible to people with disabilities.

Scale indicators4 records

Recent moves6 records

Expansion highlights6 records

Community Resource Federal Credit Union competitors and assessment

Company assessment

Broad incumbents

  • PenFed Credit Union: Large nationwide member-owned credit union with consumer deposits, mortgages, auto loans, and credit cards. Similar cooperative structure and full-service suite but at vastly larger scale and broader member reach.
  • Trustco Bank: New York-based community bank with branches throughout the Capital Region, offering consumer deposits, mortgages, and small business banking as a comparable brick-and-mortar alternative to a credit union.
  • Alliant Credit Union: Large national member-owned credit union offering a digital-first banking, lending, and credit card platform. Comparable cooperative model but materially larger scale and broader geographic reach.
  • Pioneer Savings Bank: Regional New York community bank serving Albany/Capital Region consumers and small businesses with deposits, lending, and digital banking — a comparable incumbent competitor for the same member base.

Direct peers

  • Empower Federal Credit Union: Member-owned credit union headquartered in Syracuse, NY serving Upstate and Central New York with a similar community banking and lending model, including digital banking, auto loans, and mortgages.
  • Hudson Valley Credit Union: Upstate New York credit union offering consumer and business banking, mortgages, and wealth services with a member-owned cooperative model and comparable regional community focus.
  • Broadview Federal Credit Union (formerly SEFCU): Capital Region credit union serving Albany-area consumers and businesses with checking, lending, mortgages, and digital banking — competing head-to-head for the same local members.
  • Sunmark Credit Union: New York-based community credit union serving the Capital Region and surrounding areas with consumer loans, mortgages, business banking, and digital channels — directly comparable in product mix, member-owned structure, and regional focus.
  • CAP COM Federal Credit Union: Another member-owned credit union headquartered in the Capital Region of New York (Latham-adjacent), offering a directly overlapping suite of consumer deposits, lending, and digital banking to the same primary market and member segments.

Emerging players

  • Chime: Digital-first consumer banking platform offering fee-free checking, high-yield savings, and secured credit products targeting the same retail member segments Community Resource FCU serves, with no physical branches and a national footprint.

Market position

Strengths5 records

Weaknesses5 records

Competitive moat5 records

Key risks6 records

Key highlights7 records

Customer concentration

Community Resource Federal Credit Union social profiles

Digital presence

Community Resource Federal Credit Union financial estimates

Financial estimate

Revenue estimate

Valuation estimate

Community Resource Federal Credit Union leadership team

Management profile

Number of profiles

Community Resource Federal Credit Union funding detail

Funding detail

Funding overview

Funding rounds

Investors

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Community Resource Federal Credit Union M&A and investment

M&A and investment

M&A

Investments

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Frequently asked questions about Community Resource Federal Credit Union

What does Community Resource Federal Credit Union do?

Community Resource Federal Credit Union is a member-owned, not-for-profit financial cooperative offering retail banking, consumer lending, mortgage financing, credit cards, and wealth management services to members in New York's Capital Region. The institution generates revenue primarily through interest income on its consumer loan portfolio (auto, home equity, mortgage, personal) and deposit products (checking, savings, money market, certificates), supplemented by service fees, interchange revenue, and referral commissions from insurance and investment partners.

Is Community Resource Federal Credit Union a public or private company?

Community Resource Federal Credit Union is a private company. It is classified as nonprofit foundation owned and is currently operating.

When was Community Resource Federal Credit Union founded?

Community Resource Federal Credit Union was founded in 1935. It employs 11 to 50 people.

Where is Community Resource Federal Credit Union based?

Community Resource Federal Credit Union is headquartered in Latham, United States, in the North America region.

How does Community Resource Federal Credit Union make money?

Five revenue lines are on record. Interest Income is the primary driver. The others are fee Income, interchange Revenue, insurance Referral Fees and wealth Management Referral Fees.

Who are Community Resource Federal Credit Union's main competitors?

Broad incumbents on record are PenFed Credit Union, Trustco Bank, Alliant Credit Union and Pioneer Savings Bank. Direct peers are Empower Federal Credit Union, Hudson Valley Credit Union, Broadview Federal Credit Union (formerly SEFCU), Sunmark Credit Union and CAP COM Federal Credit Union. Chime is listed as an emerging player.

Does Community Resource Federal Credit Union have an API?

No public API is recorded for Community Resource Federal Credit Union.

What industry is Community Resource Federal Credit Union in?

Community Resource Federal Credit Union's product category is Retail Banking. Its primary akta.pro industry code is FSABAEAA, Community Credit Unions (Retail/Consumer Focus). Its NAICS code is 52213 and its SIC code is 6035.

Unlock the full company data

50 free credits on sign-up, no credit card required.

Contact sales