Developer docs
API playgroundTry for free, no card

Search company profiles

National Procedures Institute

Full company profile

uuid000n9fv

Namestring
National Procedures Institute
Legal namestring
National Procedures Institute (NPI), LLC
Websiteurl
npinstitute.com
Company typeenum
Private
Founded yearint
1989
Descriptiontext

National Procedures Institute (NPI) is a Texas-based continuing medical education (CME) provider founded in 1989 by Dr. John L. Pfenninger, specializing in procedural-skills training for primary care physicians, family practitioners, and other healthcare professionals who want to incorporate office-based procedures into their practices. NPI's catalog comprises 15 distinct CME courses covering procedural disciplines such as dermatologic surgery, aesthetics, and minor office-based surgical techniques, priced individually from $1,095 to $2,395 per course.

The business operates as a Texas LLC with a small staff (1-10 employees) and delivers training in person across three Texas cities (Austin, Round Rock, Houston) between July and December each year. Since 2008, NPI has been owned by a joint venture of the Texas Academy of Family Physicians (TAFP), the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP), and the Society of Teachers of Family Medicine (STFM), which provides both ACCME accreditation pathway and direct distribution into the membership rosters of the largest U.S. family medicine professional organizations. Course registration is handled through the Cvent event-management platform.

NPI's revenue model is per-seat tuition paid by individual physician registrants, with no disclosed institutional, employer, or government contracts and no publicly reported revenue figures. The operating footprint is intentionally narrow, concentrated within Texas with no observed national or international expansion, and there is no evidence of AI/ML capability, proprietary technology platform beyond Cvent, venture funding, or patent activity in the input data. The business functions as a niche, professionally accredited CME operator whose strategic significance is anchored to its curriculum library and ownership-aligned distribution rather than to technology or scale.

Short descriptiontext

National Procedures Institute is a Texas-based CME provider, founded in 1989, delivering hands-on procedural-skills training courses to primary care physicians and family practitioners across three Texas cities, and owned by a joint venture of AAFP, STFM, and TAFP.

Operating statusenum
Operating
Ownership categoryenum
Headcount rangeband
1–10
akta.pro rankint
HeadquartersAustin, United States
HQ citystring
Austin
HQ countrystring
United States
HQ regionstring
North America
Markets served

Serves global market

Offices1 record

Each record includes

City, Country, Type, Description, Source

Keyword5 values
continuing medical education, hands-on procedural training, CME courses, medical procedure workshops, primary care skills training
Industry2 codes
1Healthcare Clinical Professions (CME/CE for Nurses, Allied Health, Pharmacy)
CodeEDAAALACPrimaryYes
2Healthcare & Clinical Professional Development (CME/CE)
CodeEDAGANAJPrimaryNo
NAICS code2 codes
  • Colleges, Universities, and Professional Schools61131
  • All Other Schools and Instruction61169
SIC code1 code
  • Services-Educational Services8200
Product category
Continuing Medical Education (CME) Training
Social media profiles1 record
GTM motion1 record

Each record includes

Type, Description, Source

Revenue model2 records
1Course Registration Fees
TypeOne Time License
Description

NPI generates revenue through one-time course registration fees. Healthcare professionals pay to attend 1-3 day hands-on CME courses. Fees vary by course complexity, ranging from $1,095 for single-day courses to $2,395 for three-day intensive courses like EGD/Colonoscopy. The company also offers discounts including early bird registration ($100 off), multi-course discounts ($200 off for two courses), loyalty discounts (50% off sixth course after attending five within three years), and professional discounts (10% off for residents, students, NPs, and PAs).

npinstitute.com
2Hotel and Event Services
TypeProfessional Services
Description

NPI contracts room blocks at host hotels for conference attendees at discounted rates, though the revenue from this stream appears to be incidental to the primary course registration revenue.

npinstitute.com
Marketing channels3 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Stage, Description, Source

Distribution channels2 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Scope, Target buyer, Description, Source

Cost components6 values
Personnel, Operations, Marketing or Sales, Technology or R&D, Infrastructure, Others
Pricing details15 tiers
1Suturing Skills and Advanced Techniques - 2-day course
ModelOne time/ perpetual licenseBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

$1,695 per course. Earns 15 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits. Early bird and multi-course discounts available.

npinstitute.com
2Musculoskeletal Ultrasound Scanning and Injection Guidance: The Next Step - 2-day course
ModelOne time/ perpetual licenseBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

$1,895 per course. Earns 16.5 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits.

npinstitute.com
3Mastering Protocols for Optimization of HRT - Part 1 - 2-day course
ModelOne time/ perpetual licenseBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

$1,495 per course. Earns 16 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits.

npinstitute.com
4Imaging for Primary Care Providers - 1-day course
ModelOne time/ perpetual licenseBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

$1,095 per course. Earns 8 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits.

npinstitute.com
5Exercise Stress Testing - 1.5-day course
ModelOne time/ perpetual licenseBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

$1,195 per course. Earns 12 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits.

npinstitute.com
6EGD (Gastroscopy) and Colonoscopy - 3-day course
ModelOne time/ perpetual licenseBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

$2,395 per course. Earns 23.25 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits.

npinstitute.com
7Dermatologic Procedures - 2-day course
ModelOne time/ perpetual licenseBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

Price not publicly disclosed on source page. Earns 15.5 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits.

npinstitute.com
8Contraceptive and Women's Health Procedures - 2-day course
ModelOne time/ perpetual licenseBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

Price not publicly disclosed on source page. Earns 15 AAFP Prescribed credits.

npinstitute.com
9Bioidentical HRT Optimization - Part II Clinical Conversations - 2-day course
ModelOne time/ perpetual licenseBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

Price not publicly disclosed on source page. Part 2 of HRT series.

npinstitute.com
10Allergy Testing and Immunotherapy for Primary Care Physicians - 1-day course
ModelOne time/ perpetual licenseBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

Price not publicly disclosed on source page. Earns 8 AAFP Prescribed credits.

npinstitute.com
11Aesthetic Procedures - 2-day course
ModelOne time/ perpetual licenseBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

Price not publicly disclosed on source page. Earns 14.25 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits.

npinstitute.com
12Joint Exam and Injections with Ultrasound Guidance: First Step - 2-day course
ModelOne time/ perpetual licenseBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

Price not publicly disclosed on source page. Earns 14.5 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits.

npinstitute.com
13Point of Care Ultrasound (POCUS) - 2-day course
ModelOne time/ perpetual licenseBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

Price not publicly disclosed on source page. Earns 15 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits.

npinstitute.com
14Hospitalist Procedures - 2-day course
ModelOne time/ perpetual licenseBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

Price not publicly disclosed on source page. Earns 16 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits.

npinstitute.com
15EKG Interpretation - 2-day course
ModelOne time/ perpetual licenseBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

Price not publicly disclosed on source page. Earns 16 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits.

npinstitute.com
GTM typeB2C
B2C
Offering typeServices
Services
Core offering1 text field

National Procedures Institute (NPI) delivers hands-on continuing medical education (CME) courses that teach outpatient diagnostic and therapeutic procedural skills to primary care clinicians. Course offerings span 15 specialties—including suturing, dermatology, aesthetics, allergy testing, endoscopy/colonoscopy, EKG interpretation, exercise stress testing, hospitalist procedures, imaging, joint injections, musculoskeletal ultrasound, POCUS, and hormone replacement therapy—and combine didactic lectures, instructional videos, live demonstrations, and small-group hands-on practice using anatomical models and manikins. Each course is accredited by the Texas Academy of Family Physicians through ACCME to award AMA PRA Category 1 Credits and AAFP Prescribed Credits.

Differentiator
Functional benefit
Problem solved
Quantifiable outcome1 of 4 values shown
  • Small class sizes ensure hands-on experience and one-on-one time with faculty
+3 more records
Product overview1 text field

National Procedures Institute offers a comprehensive portfolio of 15 hands-on CME courses designed for physicians, PAs, NPs, APRNs, residents, students, and clinical staff. The courses are taught in supportive small-group environments by experienced instructors and provide real-world procedural skills immediately applicable in clinical settings. Course offerings span aesthetic procedures, allergy testing, hormone replacement therapy optimization, women's health procedures, dermatologic procedures, gastroenterology (EGD/colonoscopy), cardiology (EKG interpretation, exercise stress testing), hospitalist procedures, medical imaging, musculoskeletal/ultrasound procedures, and surgical suturing skills. All courses offer AMA PRA Category 1 Credits and AAFP Prescribed Credits. The company was founded in 1989 and is currently owned by the Texas Academy of Family Physicians.

Product and service14 records
1Suturing Skills and Advanced Techniques
CategoryCME Course
Description

Two-day hands-on CME course teaching wound repair techniques from basic suturing to advanced methods (dog ear repair, z-plasty, v-y plasty, advancement flaps) for primary care clinicians. Priced at $1,695 and awards 15 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits.

2Musculoskeletal Ultrasound Scanning and Injection Guidance: The Next Step
CategoryCME Course
Description

Two-day advanced hands-on CME course teaching ultrasound-guided musculoskeletal injections for shoulder, elbow, wrist, hand, hip, knee, ankle, and foot. Priced at $1,895 and awards 16.5 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits.

3Mastering Protocols for Optimization of HRT - Part 1
CategoryCME Course
Description

Two-day intensive mini-residency CME course teaching hormone replacement therapy protocols (thyroid, testosterone, estrogen, progesterone, growth hormone, DHEA, pregnenolone) for men and women. Priced at $1,495 and awards 16 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits.

4Imaging for Primary Care Providers
CategoryCME Course
Description

One-day CME course improving ability to read X-rays of chest, extremities, neck, spine, abdomen, and sinuses, plus basic CT and MRI review. Priced at $1,095 and awards 8 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits.

5Exercise Stress Testing
CategoryCME Course
Description

One-and-a-half-day case-based CME course providing hands-on and interpretive training to perform and interpret exercise stress testing for coronary artery disease. Priced at $1,195 and awards 12 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits.

6Aesthetic Procedures
CategoryCME Course
Description

Two-day hands-on CME course teaching non-surgical cosmetic procedures (botulinum toxin, soft tissue fillers, microneedling, submental fat injections, lasers, microdermabrasion, chemical peels) for primary care clinicians. Awards 14.25 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits.

7Allergy Testing and Immunotherapy for Primary Care Physicians
CategoryCME Course
Description

One-day CME course training primary care physicians to administer and interpret allergy tests using multiple applicators and to initiate immunotherapy programs. Awards 8 AAFP Prescribed credits.

8Contraceptive and Women's Health Procedures
CategoryCME Course
Description

Two-day CME course covering contraception methods (implant, IUD), no-scalpel vasectomy, endometrial biopsy, fine needle aspiration, and office treatment of hemorrhoids. Awards 15 AAFP Prescribed credits.

9Dermatologic Procedures
CategoryCME Course
Description

Two-day CME course teaching common skin procedures (skin anesthesia, nerve blocks, skin biopsies, cryosurgery, electrosurgery, surgical excisions, dermoscopy). Awards 15.5 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits.

10Bioidentical HRT Optimization – Part II Clinical Conversations
CategoryCME Course
Description

Two-day advanced case-based CME course on bioidentical hormone replacement therapy management, focusing on clinical conversations and patient-based learning for BHRT treatment protocols. Part 2 of the HRT series.

11Joint Exam and Injections with an Introduction to Ultrasound Guidance: The First Step
CategoryCME Course
Description

Two-day intensive CME course on examination and injection techniques for musculoskeletal problems (15 palpation injections, 80 physical exam special tests, ultrasound-guided injections). Awards 14.5 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits.

12Point of Care Ultrasound (POCUS)
CategoryCME Course
Description

Two-day CME course covering abdominal, OB/GYN, cardiac, transvaginal, high-frequency, and musculoskeletal ultrasound for office, hospitalist, and emergency point-of-care settings. Awards 15 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits.

13Hospitalist Procedures
CategoryCME Course
Description

Two-day CME course covering hospitalist procedures (central line placement, lumbar puncture, thoracentesis, airway management, intubations, ventilator management) via lecture, video, and hands-on practice. Awards 16 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits.

14EKG Interpretation
CategoryCME Course
Description

Two-day CME course enhancing clinicians' EKG/ECG interpretation skills via a case-based interactive format covering intervals, waveforms, arrhythmias, and clinical abnormalities. Awards 16 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits.

Scale indicator3 records

Each record includes

Type, Value, Description, Source

Partnership4 partners
Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development PartnerAnnounced on2008-01-01
Description

NPI is currently owned by the Texas Academy of Family Physicians. TAFP provides joint accreditation for NPI CME courses through its ACCME accreditation, enabling the offering of AMA PRA Category 1 Credits. This ownership and accreditation partnership is central to NPI's legitimacy and credit recognition.

Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development PartnerAnnounced on2008-01-01
Description

AAFP holds an ownership stake in NPI through a joint venture (along with STFM and TAFP) established in 2008. AAFP reviews and approves courses for AAFP Prescribed credit, and NPI courses are marketed to AAFP members. This partnership provides credibility and credit recognition for NPI courses.

3Society of Teachers of Family Medicine (STFM)
Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development PartnerAnnounced on2008-01-01
Description

STFM holds an ownership stake in NPI through a joint venture (along with AAFP and TAFP) established in 2008. STFM is a professional medical society focused on family medicine education, and this partnership supports NPI's educational mission and curriculum development.

npinstitute.com
4Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME)
Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

ACCME is the governing body that accredits the Texas Academy of Family Physicians to provide AMA PRA Category 1 Credits. Through TAFP's ACCME accreditation, NPI courses can offer physicians Category 1 credits recognized throughout the US medical system.

npinstitute.com
Recent move5 records

Each record includes

Date, Type, Title, Description, Source

Expansion highlight3 records

Each record includes

Type, Description

Peers10 records
TypeDirect peer
Description

Large-scale primary care CME provider offering live conferences and online CME to PCPs, NPs, and PAs. Directly comparable to NPI in target learner and CME focus, but at much greater scale and with both live and digital delivery.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Accredited CME provider delivering live meetings, webcasts, and on-demand content for physicians and allied health professionals. Directly comparable in CME accreditation, multi-format delivery, and clinician learner base, though broader in therapeutic area.

TypeDirect peer
Description

CME provider focused on primary care and emergency medicine clinicians via podcast, video, and live courses. Directly comparable learner base (PCPs, NPs, PAs) and curriculum-driven model, differentiated mainly by audio-first delivery.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Subscription-based CME and clinical reference provider for emergency and primary care clinicians. Comparable in clinician-targeted CME, but oriented to emergency medicine and digital delivery rather than in-person procedural training.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

The largest U.S. medical association, offering extensive CME programming and administering the AMA PRA credit system. Broad incumbent providing overlapping CME capabilities as part of a much wider portfolio serving all physician specialties.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

National family medicine professional society providing AAFP Prescribed Credit CME to its 130,000+ members. Broad incumbent and a current co-owner of NPI through the 2008 joint venture, making it both a partner and a much larger peer in primary care CME.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Provider of board review and CME content for primary care physicians, PAs, and NPs. Comparable in clinician-learner focus and continuing education format, though heavier on board prep than procedural training.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

Large accredited CME provider offering live and online activities across multiple therapeutic areas. Broad incumbent with overlapping clinician CME capability but much larger portfolio and pharma-funded activity mix.

9Society of Teachers of Family Medicine (STFM)
TypeEmerging player
Description

Academic family medicine society offering conferences, courses, and faculty development for medical educators. Partial overlap with NPI's curriculum and ownership history (STFM is a 2008 joint-venture co-owner), but focused on educator training rather than practicing-clinician procedural CME.

TypeEmerging player
Description

Digital CME and board review platform for physicians, NPs, and PAs. Emerging player with partial overlap in clinician-learner CME, differentiated by Q-bank and online-first delivery rather than in-person procedural training.

Market position
Strengths4 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Weaknesses5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Competitive moat4 records

Each record includes

Type, Details

Key highlights5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Customer concentration

Classification, Details

Named customers1 record

Each record includes

Name, Industry, Type, Use case, Source, UUID

Segment5 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Primary, Description, Pain point addressed, Use case, Source

Ideal customer profile3 records

Each record includes

Profile, Firmographic size, Sales motion, Sales cycle length, Buying structure, Purchase trigger, Buyer persona, Geography, Industry vertical, Primary use case, Description, Pain points, Evidence proof points, Target buyer

Technology focused
No
API detail
Has APIbool
No

Docs URL, Description

AI maturity
App detail

Has app

Feature2 records

Each record includes

Title, Differentiator, Description, Source

Core technology
Revenue estimate
Valuation estimate
Number of profiles
Profiles1 record

Each record includes

Name, Designation, Designation category, Overview, Profile commentary, Source

No data
No data
Funding overview

Funding stage, Last funding date, Total funding USD

Funding rounds

Each record includes

Round, Amount USD, Date, Pre money valuation, Total investors, Investors, News

Investors

Each record includes

Name, Type, Date of entry, Rounds participated, Website

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

M&A

Each record includes

Name, Acquisition type, Announced date, Completed date, Status, Website, News

Investment

Each record includes

Name, Round, Announced date, Lead investor, Website, News

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

National Procedures Institute

Continuing Medical Education (CME) Trainingnpinstitute.com

National Procedures Institute is a Texas-based CME provider, founded in 1989, delivering hands-on procedural-skills training courses to primary care physicians and family practitioners across three Texas cities, and owned by a joint venture of AAFP, STFM, and TAFP.

What National Procedures Institute does

National Procedures Institute (NPI) is a Texas-based continuing medical education (CME) provider founded in 1989 by Dr. John L. Pfenninger, specializing in procedural-skills training for primary care physicians, family practitioners, and other healthcare professionals who want to incorporate office-based procedures into their practices. NPI's catalog comprises 15 distinct CME courses covering procedural disciplines such as dermatologic surgery, aesthetics, and minor office-based surgical techniques, priced individually from $1,095 to $2,395 per course.

The business operates as a Texas LLC with a small staff (1-10 employees) and delivers training in person across three Texas cities (Austin, Round Rock, Houston) between July and December each year. Since 2008, NPI has been owned by a joint venture of the Texas Academy of Family Physicians (TAFP), the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP), and the Society of Teachers of Family Medicine (STFM), which provides both ACCME accreditation pathway and direct distribution into the membership rosters of the largest U.S. family medicine professional organizations. Course registration is handled through the Cvent event-management platform.

NPI's revenue model is per-seat tuition paid by individual physician registrants, with no disclosed institutional, employer, or government contracts and no publicly reported revenue figures. The operating footprint is intentionally narrow, concentrated within Texas with no observed national or international expansion, and there is no evidence of AI/ML capability, proprietary technology platform beyond Cvent, venture funding, or patent activity in the input data. The business functions as a niche, professionally accredited CME operator whose strategic significance is anchored to its curriculum library and ownership-aligned distribution rather than to technology or scale.

National Procedures Institute firmographics

Firmographics
Name
National Procedures Institute
Legal name
National Procedures Institute (NPI), LLC
Website
https://npinstitute.com
Company type
Private
Founded year
1989
Operating status
Operating
Headcount range
1–10 employees
Short description
National Procedures Institute is a Texas-based CME provider, founded in 1989, delivering hands-on procedural-skills training courses to primary care physicians and family practitioners across three Texas cities, and owned by a joint venture of AAFP, STFM, and TAFP.
Ownership category
akta.pro rank

National Procedures Institute industry classification

Industry
Product category
Continuing Medical Education (CME) Training
NAICS
Colleges, Universities, and Professional Schools (61131), All Other Schools and Instruction (61169)
SIC
Services-Educational Services (8200)
akta.pro primary industry
Healthcare Clinical Professions (CME/CE for Nurses, Allied Health, Pharmacy) (EDAAALAC)
akta.pro secondary industry
Healthcare & Clinical Professional Development (CME/CE) (EDAGANAJ)

Keywords

  • Continuing medical education
  • Hands-on procedural training
  • CME courses
  • Medical procedure workshops
  • Primary care skills training

Where National Procedures Institute is headquartered

Location

Headquarters

HQ city
Austin
HQ country
United States
HQ region
North America

Offices1 record

Markets served

National Procedures Institute business model

Business model
GTM type
B2C
Offering type
Services
Cost components
Personnel, Operations, Marketing or Sales, Technology or R&D, Infrastructure, Others

Revenue model

  1. Course Registration Fees: NPI generates revenue through one-time course registration fees. Healthcare professionals pay to attend 1-3 day hands-on CME courses. Fees vary by course complexity, ranging from $1,095 for single-day courses to $2,395 for three-day intensive courses like EGD/Colonoscopy. The company also offers discounts including early bird registration ($100 off), multi-course discounts ($200 off for two courses), loyalty discounts (50% off sixth course after attending five within three years), and professional discounts (10% off for residents, students, NPs, and PAs).
  2. Hotel and Event Services: NPI contracts room blocks at host hotels for conference attendees at discounted rates, though the revenue from this stream appears to be incidental to the primary course registration revenue.

Pricing tiers

ModelBillingPrice
One time/ perpetual licensePay-as-you-goSuturing Skills and Advanced Techniques - 2-day course
One time/ perpetual licensePay-as-you-goMusculoskeletal Ultrasound Scanning and Injection Guidance: The Next Step - 2-day course
One time/ perpetual licensePay-as-you-goMastering Protocols for Optimization of HRT - Part 1 - 2-day course
One time/ perpetual licensePay-as-you-goImaging for Primary Care Providers - 1-day course
One time/ perpetual licensePay-as-you-goExercise Stress Testing - 1.5-day course
One time/ perpetual licensePay-as-you-goEGD (Gastroscopy) and Colonoscopy - 3-day course
One time/ perpetual licensePay-as-you-goDermatologic Procedures - 2-day course
One time/ perpetual licensePay-as-you-goContraceptive and Women's Health Procedures - 2-day course
One time/ perpetual licensePay-as-you-goBioidentical HRT Optimization - Part II Clinical Conversations - 2-day course
One time/ perpetual licensePay-as-you-goAllergy Testing and Immunotherapy for Primary Care Physicians - 1-day course
One time/ perpetual licensePay-as-you-goAesthetic Procedures - 2-day course
One time/ perpetual licensePay-as-you-goJoint Exam and Injections with Ultrasound Guidance: First Step - 2-day course
One time/ perpetual licensePay-as-you-goPoint of Care Ultrasound (POCUS) - 2-day course
One time/ perpetual licensePay-as-you-goHospitalist Procedures - 2-day course
One time/ perpetual licensePay-as-you-goEKG Interpretation - 2-day course

Go-to-market motion1 record

Distribution channels2 records

Marketing channels3 records

National Procedures Institute product offering

Product offering

Core offering

National Procedures Institute (NPI) delivers hands-on continuing medical education (CME) courses that teach outpatient diagnostic and therapeutic procedural skills to primary care clinicians. Course offerings span 15 specialties—including suturing, dermatology, aesthetics, allergy testing, endoscopy/colonoscopy, EKG interpretation, exercise stress testing, hospitalist procedures, imaging, joint injections, musculoskeletal ultrasound, POCUS, and hormone replacement therapy—and combine didactic lectures, instructional videos, live demonstrations, and small-group hands-on practice using anatomical models and manikins. Each course is accredited by the Texas Academy of Family Physicians through ACCME to award AMA PRA Category 1 Credits and AAFP Prescribed Credits.

Product overview

National Procedures Institute offers a comprehensive portfolio of 15 hands-on CME courses designed for physicians, PAs, NPs, APRNs, residents, students, and clinical staff. The courses are taught in supportive small-group environments by experienced instructors and provide real-world procedural skills immediately applicable in clinical settings. Course offerings span aesthetic procedures, allergy testing, hormone replacement therapy optimization, women's health procedures, dermatologic procedures, gastroenterology (EGD/colonoscopy), cardiology (EKG interpretation, exercise stress testing), hospitalist procedures, medical imaging, musculoskeletal/ultrasound procedures, and surgical suturing skills. All courses offer AMA PRA Category 1 Credits and AAFP Prescribed Credits. The company was founded in 1989 and is currently owned by the Texas Academy of Family Physicians.

Differentiator

Problem solved

Functional benefit

Products and services

  • Suturing Skills and Advanced Techniques Two-day hands-on CME course teaching wound repair techniques from basic suturing to advanced methods (dog ear repair, z-plasty, v-y plasty, advancement flaps) for primary care clinicians. Priced at $1,695 and awards 15 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits.
  • Musculoskeletal Ultrasound Scanning and Injection Guidance: The Next Step Two-day advanced hands-on CME course teaching ultrasound-guided musculoskeletal injections for shoulder, elbow, wrist, hand, hip, knee, ankle, and foot. Priced at $1,895 and awards 16.5 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits.
  • Mastering Protocols for Optimization of HRT - Part 1 Two-day intensive mini-residency CME course teaching hormone replacement therapy protocols (thyroid, testosterone, estrogen, progesterone, growth hormone, DHEA, pregnenolone) for men and women. Priced at $1,495 and awards 16 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits.
  • Imaging for Primary Care Providers One-day CME course improving ability to read X-rays of chest, extremities, neck, spine, abdomen, and sinuses, plus basic CT and MRI review. Priced at $1,095 and awards 8 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits.
  • Exercise Stress Testing One-and-a-half-day case-based CME course providing hands-on and interpretive training to perform and interpret exercise stress testing for coronary artery disease. Priced at $1,195 and awards 12 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits.
  • Aesthetic Procedures Two-day hands-on CME course teaching non-surgical cosmetic procedures (botulinum toxin, soft tissue fillers, microneedling, submental fat injections, lasers, microdermabrasion, chemical peels) for primary care clinicians. Awards 14.25 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits.
  • Allergy Testing and Immunotherapy for Primary Care Physicians One-day CME course training primary care physicians to administer and interpret allergy tests using multiple applicators and to initiate immunotherapy programs. Awards 8 AAFP Prescribed credits.
  • Contraceptive and Women's Health Procedures Two-day CME course covering contraception methods (implant, IUD), no-scalpel vasectomy, endometrial biopsy, fine needle aspiration, and office treatment of hemorrhoids. Awards 15 AAFP Prescribed credits.
  • Dermatologic Procedures Two-day CME course teaching common skin procedures (skin anesthesia, nerve blocks, skin biopsies, cryosurgery, electrosurgery, surgical excisions, dermoscopy). Awards 15.5 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits.
  • Bioidentical HRT Optimization – Part II Clinical Conversations Two-day advanced case-based CME course on bioidentical hormone replacement therapy management, focusing on clinical conversations and patient-based learning for BHRT treatment protocols. Part 2 of the HRT series.
  • Joint Exam and Injections with an Introduction to Ultrasound Guidance: The First Step Two-day intensive CME course on examination and injection techniques for musculoskeletal problems (15 palpation injections, 80 physical exam special tests, ultrasound-guided injections). Awards 14.5 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits.
  • Point of Care Ultrasound (POCUS) Two-day CME course covering abdominal, OB/GYN, cardiac, transvaginal, high-frequency, and musculoskeletal ultrasound for office, hospitalist, and emergency point-of-care settings. Awards 15 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits.
  • Hospitalist Procedures Two-day CME course covering hospitalist procedures (central line placement, lumbar puncture, thoracentesis, airway management, intubations, ventilator management) via lecture, video, and hands-on practice. Awards 16 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits.
  • EKG Interpretation Two-day CME course enhancing clinicians' EKG/ECG interpretation skills via a case-based interactive format covering intervals, waveforms, arrhythmias, and clinical abnormalities. Awards 16 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits.

Quantifiable outcome

  • Small class sizes ensure hands-on experience and one-on-one time with faculty
  • +3 more outcomes

Companies that use National Procedures Institute

Customer profile

Named customers1 record

Segments5 records

Ideal customer profiles3 records

National Procedures Institute technology and API

Technology

Technology focussed No

API detail

Has API
No
API docs
API detail

Core technology

AI maturity

App detail

Feature2 records

National Procedures Institute partnerships and signals

Strategic signal

Partnerships

Four partnerships are on record, tiered core.

  • Texas Academy of Family PhysicianscoreStrategic or Co-development Partner · 1 January 2008NPI is currently owned by the Texas Academy of Family Physicians. TAFP provides joint accreditation for NPI CME courses through its ACCME accreditation, enabling the offering of AMA PRA Category 1 Credits. This ownership and accreditation partnership is central to NPI's legitimacy and credit recognition.
  • American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP)coreStrategic or Co-development Partner · 1 January 2008AAFP holds an ownership stake in NPI through a joint venture (along with STFM and TAFP) established in 2008. AAFP reviews and approves courses for AAFP Prescribed credit, and NPI courses are marketed to AAFP members. This partnership provides credibility and credit recognition for NPI courses.
  • Society of Teachers of Family Medicine (STFM)coreStrategic or Co-development Partner · 1 January 2008STFM holds an ownership stake in NPI through a joint venture (along with AAFP and TAFP) established in 2008. STFM is a professional medical society focused on family medicine education, and this partnership supports NPI's educational mission and curriculum development.
  • Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME)coreStrategic or Co-development PartnerACCME is the governing body that accredits the Texas Academy of Family Physicians to provide AMA PRA Category 1 Credits. Through TAFP's ACCME accreditation, NPI courses can offer physicians Category 1 credits recognized throughout the US medical system.

Scale indicators3 records

Recent moves5 records

Expansion highlights3 records

National Procedures Institute competitors and assessment

Company assessment

Direct peers

  • Pri-Med: Large-scale primary care CME provider offering live conferences and online CME to PCPs, NPs, and PAs. Directly comparable to NPI in target learner and CME focus, but at much greater scale and with both live and digital delivery.
  • CME Outfitters: Accredited CME provider delivering live meetings, webcasts, and on-demand content for physicians and allied health professionals. Directly comparable in CME accreditation, multi-format delivery, and clinician learner base, though broader in therapeutic area.
  • Hippo Education: CME provider focused on primary care and emergency medicine clinicians via podcast, video, and live courses. Directly comparable learner base (PCPs, NPs, PAs) and curriculum-driven model, differentiated mainly by audio-first delivery.
  • EB Medicine: Subscription-based CME and clinical reference provider for emergency and primary care clinicians. Comparable in clinician-targeted CME, but oriented to emergency medicine and digital delivery rather than in-person procedural training.
  • MedStudy: Provider of board review and CME content for primary care physicians, PAs, and NPs. Comparable in clinician-learner focus and continuing education format, though heavier on board prep than procedural training.

Broad incumbents

  • American Medical Association (AMA) Continuing Medical Education: The largest U.S. medical association, offering extensive CME programming and administering the AMA PRA credit system. Broad incumbent providing overlapping CME capabilities as part of a much wider portfolio serving all physician specialties.
  • American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP) CME: National family medicine professional society providing AAFP Prescribed Credit CME to its 130,000+ members. Broad incumbent and a current co-owner of NPI through the 2008 joint venture, making it both a partner and a much larger peer in primary care CME.
  • Haymarket Medical Education: Large accredited CME provider offering live and online activities across multiple therapeutic areas. Broad incumbent with overlapping clinician CME capability but much larger portfolio and pharma-funded activity mix.

Emerging players

  • Society of Teachers of Family Medicine (STFM): Academic family medicine society offering conferences, courses, and faculty development for medical educators. Partial overlap with NPI's curriculum and ownership history (STFM is a 2008 joint-venture co-owner), but focused on educator training rather than practicing-clinician procedural CME.
  • BoardVitals: Digital CME and board review platform for physicians, NPs, and PAs. Emerging player with partial overlap in clinician-learner CME, differentiated by Q-bank and online-first delivery rather than in-person procedural training.

Market position

Strengths4 records

Weaknesses5 records

Competitive moat4 records

Key highlights5 records

Customer concentration

National Procedures Institute social profiles

Digital presence

National Procedures Institute financial estimates

Financial estimate

Revenue estimate

Valuation estimate

National Procedures Institute leadership team

Management profile

Number of profiles

Profiles1 record

National Procedures Institute funding detail

Funding detail

Funding overview

Funding rounds

Investors

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

National Procedures Institute M&A and investment

M&A and investment

M&A

Investments

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Frequently asked questions about National Procedures Institute

What does National Procedures Institute do?

National Procedures Institute (NPI) delivers hands-on continuing medical education (CME) courses that teach outpatient diagnostic and therapeutic procedural skills to primary care clinicians. Course offerings span 15 specialties—including suturing, dermatology, aesthetics, allergy testing, endoscopy/colonoscopy, EKG interpretation, exercise stress testing, hospitalist procedures, imaging, joint injections, musculoskeletal ultrasound, POCUS, and hormone replacement therapy—and combine didactic lectures, instructional videos, live demonstrations, and small-group hands-on practice using anatomical models and manikins. Each course is accredited by the Texas Academy of Family Physicians through ACCME to award AMA PRA Category 1 Credits and AAFP Prescribed Credits.

Is National Procedures Institute a public or private company?

National Procedures Institute is a private company. It is classified as corporate owned and is currently operating.

When was National Procedures Institute founded?

National Procedures Institute was founded in 1989. It employs 1 to 10 people.

Where is National Procedures Institute based?

National Procedures Institute is headquartered in Austin, United States, in the North America region.

How does National Procedures Institute make money?

Two revenue lines are on record. Course Registration Fees are the primary driver. The others are hotel and Event Services.

Who are National Procedures Institute's main competitors?

Direct peers on record are Pri-Med, CME Outfitters, Hippo Education, EB Medicine and MedStudy. Broad incumbents are American Medical Association (AMA) Continuing Medical Education, American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP) CME and Haymarket Medical Education. Emerging players are Society of Teachers of Family Medicine (STFM) and BoardVitals.

Does National Procedures Institute have an API?

No public API is recorded for National Procedures Institute.

What industry is National Procedures Institute in?

National Procedures Institute's product category is Continuing Medical Education (CME) Training. Its primary akta.pro industry code is EDAAALAC, Healthcare Clinical Professions (CME/CE for Nurses, Allied Health, Pharmacy), with a secondary code of EDAGANAJ, Healthcare & Clinical Professional Development (CME/CE). Its NAICS code is 61131 and its SIC code is 8200.

Unlock the full company data

50 free credits on sign-up, no credit card required.

Contact sales