Curtis Banks
Curtis Banks is a UK specialist retirement platform brand within the Nucleus Financial group, providing Self Invested Personal Pensions and Small Self-Administered Schemes to financial advisers and their individual clients as one of the largest SIPP/SSAS providers in the UK.
- Company typePrivate
- Founded2009
- HeadquartersBristol, United Kingdom
- Headcount501–1,000
- GTM typeB2B
- OfferingServices
What Curtis Banks does
Curtis Banks is a UK-based specialist retirement platform brand operating within the Nucleus Financial group, providing Self Invested Personal Pensions (SIPPs) and Small Self-Administered Schemes (SSASs). It is positioned as one of the largest UK providers of these products, serving both financial advisers and their underlying individual clients who seek flexible, self-directed pension and retirement planning solutions. The platform is built on retirement platform technology provided through the Nucleus Financial group infrastructure and is one of seven group brands — alongside Nucleus Platform, Nucleus Wrap, James Hay, Talbot and Muir, Third Financial, and Dunstan Thomas — collectively administering £110bn in assets across 251k customers and approximately 5,200 UK advice firms.
The company's go-to-market is sales-led, with financial advisers directing clients to Curtis Banks for SIPP and SSAS products as part of broader retirement planning advice. Pricing is not publicly disclosed and is structured through adviser relationships rather than direct consumer channels. Marketing and distribution operate via the Nucleus Financial group website, which provides separate adviser and customer pathways, alongside direct adviser referral channels. The firm is headquartered in Bristol, UK, with group operations centred at Nucleus HQ in Salisbury, and is FCA-regulated.
Historically, Curtis Banks pursued an acquisition-led growth strategy between 2011 and 2016, completing three documented acquisitions (Montpelier Pension Administration Services, Pointon York SIPP Solutions, and Suffolk Life) to consolidate the UK SIPP administration market. The company is now presented as an operating platform brand within Nucleus Financial Platforms Limited, indicating that it has been integrated into the wider group structure. Revenue model details and Curtis Banks-specific financials are not disclosed in the available material, but historical operating data prior to integration suggests an established, profitable platform business serving the UK retirement advice market.
Curtis Banks firmographics
Firmographics- Name
- Curtis Banks
- Legal name
- Curtis Banks
- Website
- https://curtisbanks.co.uk
- Company type
- Private
- Founded year
- 2009
- Operating status
- Operating
- Headcount range
- 501–1,000 employees
- Short description
- Curtis Banks is a UK specialist retirement platform brand within the Nucleus Financial group, providing Self Invested Personal Pensions and Small Self-Administered Schemes to financial advisers and their individual clients as one of the largest SIPP/SSAS providers in the UK.
- Ownership category
- akta.pro rank
Curtis Banks industry classification
Industry- Product category
- Retirement Pensions
- NAICS
- Pension Funds (525110), Pension Funds (52511)
- SIC
- Investment Advice (6282)
- akta.pro primary industry
- Retirement & Pension Wealth (401(k)/IRA/SIPP/Superannuation Retail) (FSAAAAAJ)
- akta.pro secondary industry
- Retirement & Distribution Planning RIAs (401(k)/IRA/Pension Rollovers) (FSAAACAE)
Keywords
Where Curtis Banks is headquartered
LocationHeadquarters
- HQ city
- Bristol
- HQ country
- United Kingdom
- HQ region
- Europe
Markets served
Curtis Banks business model
Business model- GTM type
- B2B
- Offering type
- Services
- Cost components
- Personnel, Operations, Technology or R&D, Marketing or Sales, Infrastructure
Go-to-market motion1 record
Distribution channels1 record
Marketing channels2 records
Curtis Banks product offering
Product offeringCore offering
Curtis Banks provides Self Invested Personal Pensions (SIPPs) and Small Self-Administered Schemes (SSAS) as one of the UK's largest specialist pension administration platforms. Its products offer flexible retirement options covering diverse investment strategies and commercial property holdings, delivered through the Nucleus Financial group's platform infrastructure and accessed via financial advisers and their clients.
Product overview
Curtis Banks operates as a standalone platform brand under the Nucleus Financial group. It provides Self Invested Personal Pensions (SIPPs) and Small Self-Administered Schemes (SSASs) as its core product offerings, serving both advisers and customers. The platform forms part of Nucleus Financial's comprehensive range of retirement-focused platform solutions alongside other group brands including Nucleus Platform, Nucleus Wrap, James Hay, Talbot and Muir, Third Financial, and Dunstan Thomas.
Differentiator
Problem solved
Functional benefit
Products and services
- Self Invested Personal Pensions (SIPP)
Companies that use Curtis Banks
Customer profileSegments2 records
Ideal customer profiles2 records
Curtis Banks technology and API
TechnologyTechnology focussed No
API detail
- Has API
- No
- API docs
- API detail
Core technology
AI maturity
App detail
Curtis Banks partnerships and signals
Strategic signalScale indicators3 records
Recent moves4 records
Expansion highlights4 records
Curtis Banks competitors and assessment
Company assessmentBroad incumbents
- AJ Bell: Major UK investment platform offering SIPP, SSAS, and ISA products to advisers and direct customers. Comparable platform-based retirement proposition with overlapping adviser-distribution focus.
- Hargreaves Lansdown: The UKs largest direct-to-consumer investment platform offering SIPPs within a broader multi-asset wrap. A broad incumbent competing with Curtis Banks on SIPP functionality, with significantly larger scale and brand recognition.
- Legal & General: Large UK pension provider offering SIPP and workplace pension solutions. A broad incumbent with substantial scale and brand that competes for the same advised SIPP customers.
- Aviva: One of the UK's largest life and pensions providers, offering SIPP and personal pension products through both advised and direct channels. A broad incumbent whose SIPP offerings compete in the same customer-adjacent space.
- Fidelity International (UK): UK investment platform offering SIPP and ISA products through adviser and direct channels. Comparable platform-based retirement proposition competing for adviser-driven SIPP flows.
- Standard Life (Phoenix Group): Major UK pension and investment platform provider offering SIPP and personal pension products via advisers. Comparable adviser-led retirement platform proposition with significant AUA scale.
- Scottish Widows: UK pensions and investment provider offering SIPP and personal pension products, primarily through adviser channels. A broad incumbent with comparable advised retirement proposition.
Direct peers
- James Hay: Fellow Nucleus Financial group platform brand and one of the original UK SIPP providers; offers Partnership SIPP and IPS SIPP products. Direct competitor in the same SIPP/SSAS wrapper market, now operating alongside Curtis Banks within the same group.
- Talbot and Muir: Fellow Nucleus Financial group platform specialising in Small Self-Administered Schemes with commercial property expertise. A direct peer operating within the same group, focused on the SSAS sub-segment where Curtis Banks is also a leading provider.
Emerging players
- PensionBee: UK direct-to-consumer pension consolidator offering a digital SIPP. An emerging challenger that competes for end-customers seeking simpler, self-directed pension solutions, particularly relevant to Curtis Banks' individual customer segment.
Market position
Strengths5 records
Weaknesses5 records
Competitive moat5 records
Key risks6 records
Key highlights5 records
Customer concentration
Curtis Banks social profiles
Digital presenceCurtis Banks financial estimates
Financial estimateRevenue estimate
Valuation estimate
Curtis Banks leadership team
Management profileNumber of profiles
Profiles2 records
Curtis Banks funding detail
Funding detailFunding overview
Funding rounds
Investors
Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →
Curtis Banks M&A and investment
M&A and investmentM&A3 records
Investments
M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →
Frequently asked questions about Curtis Banks
What does Curtis Banks do?
Curtis Banks provides Self Invested Personal Pensions (SIPPs) and Small Self-Administered Schemes (SSAS) as one of the UK's largest specialist pension administration platforms. Its products offer flexible retirement options covering diverse investment strategies and commercial property holdings, delivered through the Nucleus Financial group's platform infrastructure and accessed via financial advisers and their clients.
Is Curtis Banks a public or private company?
Curtis Banks is a private company. It is classified as corporate owned and is currently operating.
When was Curtis Banks founded?
Curtis Banks was founded in 2009. It employs 501 to 1,000 people.
Where is Curtis Banks based?
Curtis Banks is headquartered in Bristol, United Kingdom, in the Europe region.
Who are Curtis Banks's main competitors?
Broad incumbents on record are AJ Bell, Hargreaves Lansdown, Legal & General, Aviva, Fidelity International (UK), Standard Life (Phoenix Group) and Scottish Widows. Direct peers are James Hay and Talbot and Muir. PensionBee is listed as an emerging player.
Does Curtis Banks have an API?
No public API is recorded for Curtis Banks.
What industry is Curtis Banks in?
Curtis Banks's product category is Retirement Pensions. Its primary akta.pro industry code is FSAAAAAJ, Retirement & Pension Wealth (401(k)/IRA/SIPP/Superannuation Retail), with a secondary code of FSAAACAE, Retirement & Distribution Planning RIAs (401(k)/IRA/Pension Rollovers). Its NAICS code is 525110 and its SIC code is 6282.