Developer docs
API playgroundTry for free, no card

Search company profiles

Hart Learning & Development

Full company profile

uuid004jyig

Namestring
Hart Learning & Development
Legal namestring
North Hertfordshire College Further Education Corporation
Websiteurl
hartld.co.uk
Company typeenum
Private
Founded yearstring
-
Descriptiontext

Hart Learning & Development is a private B2B learning and development provider headquartered in Stevenage, England, operating as the apprenticeship and professional training arm of the Hart Learning Group, itself a trading structure of the North Hertfordshire College Further Education Corporation. The company delivers UK government-funded apprenticeships (Levels 2-5), accredited professional qualifications including AAT Levels 2-4 in accounting, CIPD HR programmes, and Paediatric First Aid, plus a catalogue of online continuing professional development courses. Its customer base spans large enterprises (Hertfordshire County Council, Ocado, Co-op, Ramsay Health Care, Delta Group, Lloyds Banking Group, John Lewis Partnership, Metroline Travel) and SMEs across Hertfordshire, Bedfordshire, Buckinghamshire, and Essex.

The company's technology stack is built primarily through partnerships rather than in-house product development: a blended learning platform delivered with Mindful Education for AAT courses (combining on-demand video lessons with face-to-face classroom sessions at the Stevenage campus), an online CPD delivery channel operated through The Skills Network for self-serve distance learning, and a Cognassist-branded individualized learning support layer for neurodivergent and additional-needs apprentices. An electronic portfolio system underpins evidence capture across apprenticeship programmes. Approved centre status with nine awarding bodies (City & Guilds, ILM, CMI, CIPD, AAT, Pearson, BCS, NCFE/Cache, TQUK), a Quality Mark, and direct employer relationships create a credentialed, partnership-driven operating model.

Hart generates revenue through three streams: government apprenticeship levy and co-funding for apprenticeship training (with employer top-ups of £4,000-£7,000 per programme), one-time professional qualification fees (AAT Levels 2-4 at £765-£2,573, Paediatric First Aid at £120), and direct employer-funded bespoke training programmes. Distribution combines direct enterprise sales through account managers and business development teams, on-campus delivery at North Hertfordshire College facilities in Stevenage and Hitchin, employer workplace delivery across four counties, and self-serve online enrolment via The Skills Network platform. Pricing is per programme or per apprentice rather than subscription at the enterprise level. Revenue figures are not publicly disclosed, and the company has no parent funding rounds on record.

Short descriptiontext

Hart Learning & Development is a private UK learning and development provider based in Stevenage, operating as part of the Hart Learning Group. It delivers government-funded apprenticeships, AAT and CIPD professional qualifications, and online CPD courses to enterprises and SMEs across Hertfordshire, Bedfordshire, Buckinghamshire, and Essex.

Operating statusenum
Operating
Ownership categoryenum
Headcount rangeband
11–50
akta.pro rankint
HeadquartersStevenage, England, United Kingdom
HQ citystring
Stevenage, England
HQ countrystring
United Kingdom
HQ regionstring
Europe
Markets served

Serves global market

Offices2 records

Each record includes

City, Country, Type, Description, Source

Keyword5 values
apprenticeship training, professional qualifications, workforce development, blended learning, continuing professional development
Industry6 codes
1Workforce Development & Continuing Education Divisions (Noncredit)
CodeEDAHADAGPrimaryYes
2Accounting, Audit & Tax (CPA/CA/ACCA CPE)
CodeEDAAALAAPrimaryNo
3Human Resources & Talent (SHRM/HRCI Recertification)
CodeEDAAALANPrimaryNo
4Education Professionals (Teacher/Administrator CE, CPD)
CodeEDAAALAEPrimaryNo
5Project, Quality & Operations (PMP PDUs, Six Sigma, Quality CE)
CodeEDAAALAMPrimaryNo
6Project, Process & Quality Certification Prep (PMP, PRINCE2, Lean Six Sigma, ITIL)
CodeEDANAIAEPrimaryNo
NAICS code2 codes
  • Professional and Management Development Training61143
  • Professional and Management Development Training611430
SIC code1 code
  • Services-Educational Services8200
Product category
Vocational Training and Apprenticeships
GTM motion2 records

Each record includes

Type, Description, Source

Revenue model3 records
1Apprenticeship Training Revenue
TypeSubscription Recurring
Description

Hart Learning & Development generates revenue primarily through government-funded apprenticeship programs. The UK government provides apprenticeship funding including the apprenticeship and skills levy for larger employers and co-funding from the government for non-levy paying employers. Additional incentives include £2,000 per apprentice aged 16-24 hired by SMEs and £3,000 for hiring apprentices aged 18-24 who have been on Universal Credit for six months or more.

hartld.co.uk
2Professional Qualifications Fees
TypeOne Time License
Description

Revenue generated from professional qualification courses including AAT accounting qualifications (Level 2: £765, Level 3: £2,573, Level 4: £2,573), Paediatric First Aid (£120), and various CPD courses. Some courses are fully funded for eligible individuals through government initiatives like Free Courses for Jobs.

hartld.co.uk
3Employer-Funded Training
TypeProfessional Services
Description

Direct revenue from businesses for bespoke training programs, professional development courses, and apprenticeship training not covered by government funding. Employers co-invest in staff development through apprenticeship programs.

hartld.co.uk
Marketing channels5 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Stage, Description, Source

Distribution channels4 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Scope, Target buyer, Description, Source

Cost components5 values
Personnel, Operations, Marketing or Sales, Technology or R&D, Infrastructure
Pricing details10 tiers
1AAT Level 2 Certificate in Accounting - Foundation level
ModelOne time/ perpetual licenseBilling cadenceMulti-year contract
Notes

£765 including tuition fees, AAT membership, and exam fees. This Level 2 course is part-funded, reducing the cost for students.

hartld.co.uk
2AAT Level 3 Diploma in Accounting - Intermediate level
ModelOne time/ perpetual licenseBilling cadenceMulti-year contract
Notes

£2,573 including tuition fees, AAT membership, and exam fees. May have fully funded places depending on eligibility (age, earnings, existing qualifications). Part of Free Courses for Jobs initiative for eligible learners.

hartld.co.uk
3AAT Level 4 Diploma for Professional Accounting Technicians - Advanced level
ModelOne time/ perpetual licenseBilling cadenceMulti-year contract
Notes

£2,573 including tuition fees, AAT membership, and exam fees. Advanced Learner Loans available on application.

hartld.co.uk
4Paediatric First Aid - 2-day practical course
ModelUnit PricingBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

£120 for the 2-day course delivered in a classroom setting.

hartld.co.uk
5Team Leader/Supervisor Apprenticeship (Level 3) - 15 months
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceMulti-year contract
Notes

£4,500 course cost plus 2-3 months End-Point Assessment duration. Apprenticeship is government-funded with co-investment options for employers.

hartld.co.uk
6Operations/Departmental Manager Apprenticeship (Level 5) - 18 months
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceMulti-year contract
Notes

£7,000 course cost plus 3-5 months End-Point Assessment duration. Available remotely, nationwide delivery.

hartld.co.uk
7Early Years Practitioner Apprenticeship (Level 2) - 14 months
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceMulti-year contract
Notes

£6,000 course cost plus 2 months End-Point Assessment. Start dates in April and September.

hartld.co.uk
8Early Years Educator Apprenticeship (Level 3) - 15 months
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceMulti-year contract
Notes

£6,000 course cost. Includes Level 3 Early Years Educator Diploma and Level 3 Paediatric First Aid qualification.

hartld.co.uk
9Improvement Technician Apprenticeship (Level 3) - 14-18 months
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceMulti-year contract
Notes

£4,000 course cost plus 3 months End-Point Assessment. Remote delivery with face-to-face options available. Start date September 2026.

hartld.co.uk
10Laboratory Technician Apprenticeship (Level 3) - 21 months
ModelSubscriptionBilling cadenceMulti-year contract
Notes

£21,000 salary contribution mentioned. Duration includes 3-month assessment period. Start dates in September/October, January, and April/May. Locations: Bedfordshire, Cambridgeshire, and Hertfordshire.

hartld.co.uk
GTM typeB2B
B2B
Offering typeServices
Services
Core offering1 text field

Hart Learning & Development delivers apprenticeships, professional qualifications, and online continuing professional development (CPD) courses to UK businesses of all sizes. Programs are structured around three pillars — apprenticeships (engineering, HR, leadership & management, early years, laboratory science, administration at Levels 2-5), professional qualifications (AAT accounting, CIPD HR, paediatric first aid), and online CPD short courses (business administration, digital marketing, mental health, SEND, safeguarding). Delivery combines on-campus classroom sessions at North Hertfordshire College campuses in Stevenage and Hitchin, online learning via partner platforms, and workplace-based coaching.

Differentiator
Functional benefit
Problem solved
Quantifiable outcome1 of 3 values shown
  • Past apprentices progress to supervisory and management positions
+2 more records
Product overview1 text field

Hart Learning & Development is a progressive national learning and development business operating as part of the Hart Learning Group (a charitable organisation linked to North Hertfordshire College). The company offers a comprehensive portfolio of training programmes structured around three main pillars: Apprenticeships (including Engineering, HR, Leadership & Management, Early Years, Laboratory Science, and Administration at Levels 2-5), Professional Qualifications (AAT Accounting Levels 2-4 delivered in partnership with Mindful Education, CIPD HR programmes, and Paediatric First Aid), and Online CPD Courses (short courses in Business Administration, Digital Marketing, Mental Health, SEND, Safeguarding, and Equality & Diversity delivered via The Skills Network platform). The offering is delivered through multiple modalities including on-campus, online, and blended learning, primarily serving businesses in Hertfordshire, Bedfordshire, Buckinghamshire, and Essex who wish to develop emerging talent.

Product and service18 records
1Laboratory Technician Apprenticeship
CategoryApprenticeship
Description

A Level 3 apprenticeship lasting 21 months that trains learners to work safely in laboratories, gather valid reliable data, perform routine and non-routine testing, and provide technical support across chemical, pharmaceutical, analytical science, and education establishments. Delivered across Bedfordshire, Cambridgeshire, and Hertfordshire.

2Engineering Apprenticeships
CategoryApprenticeship
Description

Level 2 engineering apprenticeships teaching sector-specific knowledge on engineering operations and maintenance, fault finding, and safe working practices following health and safety legislation.

3Team Leader / Supervisor Apprenticeship
CategoryApprenticeship
Description

A Level 3 apprenticeship for first-line management roles with operational/project responsibilities, covering supporting, managing and developing team members, managing projects, planning and monitoring workloads and resources. Duration 15 months plus 2-3 months End-Point Assessment.

4Operations / Departmental Manager Apprenticeship
CategoryApprenticeship
Description

A Level 5 apprenticeship for managers who manage teams and/or projects, covering creating and delivering operational plans, managing projects, leading and managing teams, managing change, and financial and resource management. Duration 18 months plus 3-5 months End-Point Assessment, remote delivery.

5Improvement Technician Apprenticeship
CategoryApprenticeship
Description

A Level 3 apprenticeship for hands-on problem-solvers who help teams work smarter, faster, and more efficiently using Lean and Six Sigma methods, operating within operational teams to fix problems at the source. Duration 14-18 months plus 3 months End-Point Assessment.

6Early Years Practitioner Apprenticeship
CategoryApprenticeship
Description

A Level 2 apprenticeship for those working with children under five in various settings, supporting the planning and delivery of activities, purposeful play opportunities, and educational programmes within the Early Years Foundation Stage. Duration 14 months plus 2 months End-Point Assessment.

7Early Years Educator Apprenticeship
CategoryApprenticeship
Description

A Level 3 apprenticeship for professionals working with children under five, ensuring young children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe, working within the Early Years Foundation Stage requirements. Duration 15 months; includes Level 3 Early Years Educator Diploma and Level 3 Paediatric First Aid.

8CIPD & Human Resources Training
CategoryProfessional Qualification
Description

CIPD-accredited on-campus and blended learning courses at Levels 3 and 5 for HR professionals, providing internationally-recognised qualifications for career advancement.

9AAT Accounting (Online & On Campus)
CategoryProfessional Qualification
Description

Blended learning courses in partnership with Mindful Education combining online learning with face-to-face lessons for AAT qualifications at Levels 2, 3, and 4. Features on-demand video lessons with animations and motion graphics, accessible via phone, tablet or computer.

10AAT Level 2 Certificate in Accounting
CategoryProfessional Qualification
Description

An AAT Foundation Certificate providing basic accounting principles and skills, covering double-entry bookkeeping, basic costing principles, purchase/sales/general ledgers, and accounting software. Priced at £765 including tuition fees, AAT membership, and exam fees.

11AAT Level 3 Diploma in Accounting
CategoryProfessional Qualification
Description

An AAT Diploma providing technical training in accounting covering maintaining cost accounting records, preparing reports and returns, management accounting techniques, and ethical principles. Priced at £2,573 including tuition fees, AAT membership, and exam fees.

12AAT Level 4 Diploma for Professional Accounting Technicians
CategoryProfessional Qualification
Description

An advanced AAT qualification covering drafting financial statements, managing budgets, personal and business tax calculations, audit, and advanced business awareness for professional accounting roles. Priced at £2,573 including tuition fees, AAT membership, and exam fees; Advanced Learner Loans available.

13Diploma for Working in the Early Years Sector
CategoryProfessional Qualification
Description

A 12-month Level 3 qualification preparing learners to become early years educators, covering skills and knowledge to work with children from birth to five years and development of children aged 5 to 7.

14Paediatric First Aid
CategoryProfessional Qualification
Description

A 2-day practical course covering emergency actions, CPR, choking, first aid for injuries, and conditions including asthma, diabetes, and meningitis, leading to an industry-recognised certificate. Priced at £120.

15Online & Blended CPD Courses
CategoryProfessional Development
Description

Flexible continuing professional development programmes including online courses in Business Administration, Digital Marketing, Lean Organisation Management, Mental Health, SEND, and Safeguarding, delivered via The Skills Network platform with rolling entry dates and approximately 13 weeks duration.

16Employability Courses
CategoryProfessional Development
Description

Courses helping people aged 19+ successfully enter or return to work, providing training in key skills, knowledge, and experience needed for the job application process, with partnerships with local employers.

17Apprenticeship Support for SMEs
CategoryService
Description

Support services helping SMEs access the Youth Employment Package, including a dedicated account management team and business development support for apprenticeship programmes.

18Apprenticeship Funding Guidance
CategoryService
Description

Guidance on UK Government funding options and financial incentives including the apprenticeship and skills levy and co-funding from the government to help organisations access apprenticeship benefits.

Scale indicator3 records

Each record includes

Type, Value, Description, Source

Partnership11 partners
Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Strategic partnership with Mindful Education, an edtech company specializing in blended learning courses for professional qualifications. Mindful Education provides the technology platform for AAT accounting courses (Level 2, 3, and 4), combining online video-based learning with face-to-face classroom sessions. The partnership delivers award-winning flexible learning that enables learners to study around work commitments.

2North Hertfordshire College
Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Hart Learning & Development operates as a subsidiary of North Hertfordshire College Further Education Corporation, trading as Hart Learning Group. NHC provides campus facilities, administrative support, and additional educational services. Hart L&D delivers apprenticeships and professional qualifications at NHC campuses in Stevenage and Hitchin.

hartld.co.uk
Strategic tierCoreTypeTechnology or Integration
Description

Accredited awarding body for apprenticeship qualifications and assessments. City & Guilds provides the framework for various apprenticeship standards including engineering and construction programs.

Strategic tierCoreTypeTechnology or Integration
Description

Approved centre status for delivering ILM leadership and management qualifications. ILM credentials are embedded in team leader and operations manager apprenticeship programs.

Strategic tierCoreTypeTechnology or Integration
Description

Approved centre status for delivering CMI qualifications including Level 3 Certificate in Principles of Management and Leadership and Level 5 Diploma in Management and Leadership, integrated into apprenticeship programs.

Strategic tierCoreTypeTechnology or Integration
Description

Approved centre status for delivering CIPD-accredited HR and people practice qualifications. CIPD credentials available from foundation to advanced level.

Strategic tierCoreTypeTechnology or Integration
Description

Partnership for delivering AAT accounting qualifications at Levels 2, 3, and 4 through blended learning format. AAT provides accreditation, membership, and exam framework.

Strategic tierCoreTypeTechnology or Integration
Description

Accredited by NCFE/Cache for various professional qualifications including early years and childcare courses.

Strategic tierCoreTypeChannel Partner/ Reseller/ Distributor
Description

Online learning platform partnership for delivering CPD courses. The Skills Network platform hosts Hart Learning & Development's online professional development courses including business administration, digital marketing, mental health, SEND, and other vocational topics.

10Hart Schools Trust
Strategic tierMinorTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Part of the Hart Learning Group ecosystem. Hart Schools Trust is a multi-academy trust including Thomas Alleyne Academy and Roebuck Primary School in Stevenage.

hartld.co.uk
Strategic tierMinorTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Part of the Hart Learning Group ecosystem. The STEM Discovery Centre is an education facility inspiring young people to consider careers in science, technology, engineering, and maths.

Recent move6 records

Each record includes

Date, Type, Title, Description, Source

Expansion highlight6 records

Each record includes

Type, Description

Peers10 records
TypeBroad incumbent
Description

Large UK apprenticeship, professional qualification, and training provider with broader portfolio across financial services, accounting, and management. Comparable in AAT/CIPD delivery and apprenticeship scale, but operates at materially larger scale.

TypeDirect peer
Description

UK training provider offering apprenticeships and vocational qualifications across multiple sectors via distance learning and online platforms. Comparable in online CPD delivery model through The Skills Network-like platforms.

TypeDirect peer
Description

UK apprenticeship provider delivering programs across health, social care, childcare, and business services. Direct competitor in early years, healthcare, and leadership apprenticeships.

TypeDirect peer
Description

UK IT and digital apprenticeships provider with BCS-approved centre status. Overlaps with Hart L&D's BCS accreditation and IT training, serving similar employer cohorts.

TypeRegional player
Description

UK apprenticeship provider operating primarily in the North West with similar sector coverage. Comparable apprenticeship delivery model but different geographic focus.

TypeEmerging player
Description

UK-focused digital apprenticeship provider specialising in data, tech, and leadership apprenticeships. Comparable apprenticeship delivery model with technology-led differentiation; primarily targets large enterprise employers.

TypeDirect peer
Description

UK specialist apprenticeship and professional training provider offering accountancy, leadership, and sector-specific apprenticeships. Closely comparable in apprenticeship portfolio breadth, employer-funded delivery model, and blended learning approach.

TypeDirect peer
Description

UK leadership and management apprenticeship provider focused on Level 5/7 programs for major UK employers. Direct overlap in organisational leadership and management apprenticeship offerings.

TypeOthers
Description

Online CPD and distance learning platform partner that hosts Hart L&D's CPD courses. Acts as both a channel partner and an adjacent provider of online vocational courses in overlapping subjects.

TypeOthers
Description

Edtech platform partner providing blended learning technology for Hart L&D's AAT accounting courses. While not a direct competitor, it is an enabling technology peer whose platform is integral to Hart L&D's differentiation.

Market position
Strengths5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Weaknesses5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Competitive moat6 records

Each record includes

Type, Details

Key risks5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Key highlights7 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Customer concentration

Classification, Details

Named customers9 records

Each record includes

Name, Industry, Type, Use case, Source, UUID

Segment3 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Primary, Description, Pain point addressed, Use case, Source

Ideal customer profile3 records

Each record includes

Profile, Firmographic size, Sales motion, Sales cycle length, Buying structure, Purchase trigger, Buyer persona, Geography, Industry vertical, Primary use case, Description, Pain points, Evidence proof points, Target buyer

Technology focused
No
API detail
Has APIbool
No

Docs URL, Description

AI maturity
App detail

Has app

Feature3 records

Each record includes

Title, Differentiator, Description, Source

Core technology
Revenue estimate
Valuation estimate
Number of profiles
Profiles8 records

Each record includes

Name, Designation, Designation category, Overview, Profile commentary, Source

No data
No data
Funding overview

Funding stage, Last funding date, Total funding USD

Funding rounds

Each record includes

Round, Amount USD, Date, Pre money valuation, Total investors, Investors, News

Investors

Each record includes

Name, Type, Date of entry, Rounds participated, Website

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

M&A

Each record includes

Name, Acquisition type, Announced date, Completed date, Status, Website, News

Investment

Each record includes

Name, Round, Announced date, Lead investor, Website, News

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Hart Learning & Development

Vocational Training and Apprenticeshipshartld.co.uk

Hart Learning & Development is a private UK learning and development provider based in Stevenage, operating as part of the Hart Learning Group. It delivers government-funded apprenticeships, AAT and CIPD professional qualifications, and online CPD courses to enterprises and SMEs across Hertfordshire, Bedfordshire, Buckinghamshire, and Essex.

What Hart Learning & Development does

Hart Learning & Development is a private B2B learning and development provider headquartered in Stevenage, England, operating as the apprenticeship and professional training arm of the Hart Learning Group, itself a trading structure of the North Hertfordshire College Further Education Corporation. The company delivers UK government-funded apprenticeships (Levels 2-5), accredited professional qualifications including AAT Levels 2-4 in accounting, CIPD HR programmes, and Paediatric First Aid, plus a catalogue of online continuing professional development courses. Its customer base spans large enterprises (Hertfordshire County Council, Ocado, Co-op, Ramsay Health Care, Delta Group, Lloyds Banking Group, John Lewis Partnership, Metroline Travel) and SMEs across Hertfordshire, Bedfordshire, Buckinghamshire, and Essex.

The company's technology stack is built primarily through partnerships rather than in-house product development: a blended learning platform delivered with Mindful Education for AAT courses (combining on-demand video lessons with face-to-face classroom sessions at the Stevenage campus), an online CPD delivery channel operated through The Skills Network for self-serve distance learning, and a Cognassist-branded individualized learning support layer for neurodivergent and additional-needs apprentices. An electronic portfolio system underpins evidence capture across apprenticeship programmes. Approved centre status with nine awarding bodies (City & Guilds, ILM, CMI, CIPD, AAT, Pearson, BCS, NCFE/Cache, TQUK), a Quality Mark, and direct employer relationships create a credentialed, partnership-driven operating model.

Hart generates revenue through three streams: government apprenticeship levy and co-funding for apprenticeship training (with employer top-ups of £4,000-£7,000 per programme), one-time professional qualification fees (AAT Levels 2-4 at £765-£2,573, Paediatric First Aid at £120), and direct employer-funded bespoke training programmes. Distribution combines direct enterprise sales through account managers and business development teams, on-campus delivery at North Hertfordshire College facilities in Stevenage and Hitchin, employer workplace delivery across four counties, and self-serve online enrolment via The Skills Network platform. Pricing is per programme or per apprentice rather than subscription at the enterprise level. Revenue figures are not publicly disclosed, and the company has no parent funding rounds on record.

Hart Learning & Development firmographics

Firmographics
Name
Hart Learning & Development
Legal name
North Hertfordshire College Further Education Corporation
Website
https://hartld.co.uk
Company type
Private
Operating status
Operating
Headcount range
11–50 employees
Short description
Hart Learning & Development is a private UK learning and development provider based in Stevenage, operating as part of the Hart Learning Group. It delivers government-funded apprenticeships, AAT and CIPD professional qualifications, and online CPD courses to enterprises and SMEs across Hertfordshire, Bedfordshire, Buckinghamshire, and Essex.
Ownership category
akta.pro rank

Hart Learning & Development industry classification

Industry
Product category
Vocational Training and Apprenticeships
NAICS
Professional and Management Development Training (61143), Professional and Management Development Training (611430)
SIC
Services-Educational Services (8200)
akta.pro primary industry
Workforce Development & Continuing Education Divisions (Noncredit) (EDAHADAG)
akta.pro secondary industries
Accounting, Audit & Tax (CPA/CA/ACCA CPE) (EDAAALAA), Human Resources & Talent (SHRM/HRCI Recertification) (EDAAALAN), Education Professionals (Teacher/Administrator CE, CPD) (EDAAALAE), Project, Quality & Operations (PMP PDUs, Six Sigma, Quality CE) (EDAAALAM), Project, Process & Quality Certification Prep (PMP, PRINCE2, Lean Six Sigma, ITIL) (EDANAIAE)

Keywords

  • Apprenticeship training
  • Professional qualifications
  • Workforce development
  • Blended learning
  • Continuing professional development

Where Hart Learning & Development is headquartered

Location

Headquarters

HQ city
Stevenage, England
HQ country
United Kingdom
HQ region
Europe

Offices2 records

Markets served

Hart Learning & Development business model

Business model
GTM type
B2B
Offering type
Services
Cost components
Personnel, Operations, Marketing or Sales, Technology or R&D, Infrastructure

Revenue model

  1. Apprenticeship Training Revenue: Hart Learning & Development generates revenue primarily through government-funded apprenticeship programs. The UK government provides apprenticeship funding including the apprenticeship and skills levy for larger employers and co-funding from the government for non-levy paying employers. Additional incentives include £2,000 per apprentice aged 16-24 hired by SMEs and £3,000 for hiring apprentices aged 18-24 who have been on Universal Credit for six months or more.
  2. Professional Qualifications Fees: Revenue generated from professional qualification courses including AAT accounting qualifications (Level 2: £765, Level 3: £2,573, Level 4: £2,573), Paediatric First Aid (£120), and various CPD courses. Some courses are fully funded for eligible individuals through government initiatives like Free Courses for Jobs.
  3. Employer-Funded Training: Direct revenue from businesses for bespoke training programs, professional development courses, and apprenticeship training not covered by government funding. Employers co-invest in staff development through apprenticeship programs.

Pricing tiers

ModelBillingPrice
One time/ perpetual licenseMulti-year contractAAT Level 2 Certificate in Accounting - Foundation level
One time/ perpetual licenseMulti-year contractAAT Level 3 Diploma in Accounting - Intermediate level
One time/ perpetual licenseMulti-year contractAAT Level 4 Diploma for Professional Accounting Technicians - Advanced level
Unit PricingPay-as-you-goPaediatric First Aid - 2-day practical course
SubscriptionMulti-year contractTeam Leader/Supervisor Apprenticeship (Level 3) - 15 months
SubscriptionMulti-year contractOperations/Departmental Manager Apprenticeship (Level 5) - 18 months
SubscriptionMulti-year contractEarly Years Practitioner Apprenticeship (Level 2) - 14 months
SubscriptionMulti-year contractEarly Years Educator Apprenticeship (Level 3) - 15 months
SubscriptionMulti-year contractImprovement Technician Apprenticeship (Level 3) - 14-18 months
SubscriptionMulti-year contractLaboratory Technician Apprenticeship (Level 3) - 21 months

Go-to-market motion2 records

Distribution channels4 records

Marketing channels5 records

Hart Learning & Development product offering

Product offering

Core offering

Hart Learning & Development delivers apprenticeships, professional qualifications, and online continuing professional development (CPD) courses to UK businesses of all sizes. Programs are structured around three pillars — apprenticeships (engineering, HR, leadership & management, early years, laboratory science, administration at Levels 2-5), professional qualifications (AAT accounting, CIPD HR, paediatric first aid), and online CPD short courses (business administration, digital marketing, mental health, SEND, safeguarding). Delivery combines on-campus classroom sessions at North Hertfordshire College campuses in Stevenage and Hitchin, online learning via partner platforms, and workplace-based coaching.

Product overview

Hart Learning & Development is a progressive national learning and development business operating as part of the Hart Learning Group (a charitable organisation linked to North Hertfordshire College). The company offers a comprehensive portfolio of training programmes structured around three main pillars: Apprenticeships (including Engineering, HR, Leadership & Management, Early Years, Laboratory Science, and Administration at Levels 2-5), Professional Qualifications (AAT Accounting Levels 2-4 delivered in partnership with Mindful Education, CIPD HR programmes, and Paediatric First Aid), and Online CPD Courses (short courses in Business Administration, Digital Marketing, Mental Health, SEND, Safeguarding, and Equality & Diversity delivered via The Skills Network platform). The offering is delivered through multiple modalities including on-campus, online, and blended learning, primarily serving businesses in Hertfordshire, Bedfordshire, Buckinghamshire, and Essex who wish to develop emerging talent.

Differentiator

Problem solved

Functional benefit

Products and services

  • Laboratory Technician Apprenticeship A Level 3 apprenticeship lasting 21 months that trains learners to work safely in laboratories, gather valid reliable data, perform routine and non-routine testing, and provide technical support across chemical, pharmaceutical, analytical science, and education establishments. Delivered across Bedfordshire, Cambridgeshire, and Hertfordshire.
  • Engineering Apprenticeships Level 2 engineering apprenticeships teaching sector-specific knowledge on engineering operations and maintenance, fault finding, and safe working practices following health and safety legislation.
  • Team Leader / Supervisor Apprenticeship A Level 3 apprenticeship for first-line management roles with operational/project responsibilities, covering supporting, managing and developing team members, managing projects, planning and monitoring workloads and resources. Duration 15 months plus 2-3 months End-Point Assessment.
  • Operations / Departmental Manager Apprenticeship A Level 5 apprenticeship for managers who manage teams and/or projects, covering creating and delivering operational plans, managing projects, leading and managing teams, managing change, and financial and resource management. Duration 18 months plus 3-5 months End-Point Assessment, remote delivery.
  • Improvement Technician Apprenticeship A Level 3 apprenticeship for hands-on problem-solvers who help teams work smarter, faster, and more efficiently using Lean and Six Sigma methods, operating within operational teams to fix problems at the source. Duration 14-18 months plus 3 months End-Point Assessment.
  • Early Years Practitioner Apprenticeship A Level 2 apprenticeship for those working with children under five in various settings, supporting the planning and delivery of activities, purposeful play opportunities, and educational programmes within the Early Years Foundation Stage. Duration 14 months plus 2 months End-Point Assessment.
  • Early Years Educator Apprenticeship A Level 3 apprenticeship for professionals working with children under five, ensuring young children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe, working within the Early Years Foundation Stage requirements. Duration 15 months; includes Level 3 Early Years Educator Diploma and Level 3 Paediatric First Aid.
  • CIPD & Human Resources Training CIPD-accredited on-campus and blended learning courses at Levels 3 and 5 for HR professionals, providing internationally-recognised qualifications for career advancement.
  • AAT Accounting (Online & On Campus) Blended learning courses in partnership with Mindful Education combining online learning with face-to-face lessons for AAT qualifications at Levels 2, 3, and 4. Features on-demand video lessons with animations and motion graphics, accessible via phone, tablet or computer.
  • AAT Level 2 Certificate in Accounting An AAT Foundation Certificate providing basic accounting principles and skills, covering double-entry bookkeeping, basic costing principles, purchase/sales/general ledgers, and accounting software. Priced at £765 including tuition fees, AAT membership, and exam fees.
  • AAT Level 3 Diploma in Accounting An AAT Diploma providing technical training in accounting covering maintaining cost accounting records, preparing reports and returns, management accounting techniques, and ethical principles. Priced at £2,573 including tuition fees, AAT membership, and exam fees.
  • AAT Level 4 Diploma for Professional Accounting Technicians An advanced AAT qualification covering drafting financial statements, managing budgets, personal and business tax calculations, audit, and advanced business awareness for professional accounting roles. Priced at £2,573 including tuition fees, AAT membership, and exam fees; Advanced Learner Loans available.
  • Diploma for Working in the Early Years Sector A 12-month Level 3 qualification preparing learners to become early years educators, covering skills and knowledge to work with children from birth to five years and development of children aged 5 to 7.
  • Paediatric First Aid A 2-day practical course covering emergency actions, CPR, choking, first aid for injuries, and conditions including asthma, diabetes, and meningitis, leading to an industry-recognised certificate. Priced at £120.
  • Online & Blended CPD Courses Flexible continuing professional development programmes including online courses in Business Administration, Digital Marketing, Lean Organisation Management, Mental Health, SEND, and Safeguarding, delivered via The Skills Network platform with rolling entry dates and approximately 13 weeks duration.
  • Employability Courses Courses helping people aged 19+ successfully enter or return to work, providing training in key skills, knowledge, and experience needed for the job application process, with partnerships with local employers.
  • Apprenticeship Support for SMEs Support services helping SMEs access the Youth Employment Package, including a dedicated account management team and business development support for apprenticeship programmes.
  • Apprenticeship Funding Guidance Guidance on UK Government funding options and financial incentives including the apprenticeship and skills levy and co-funding from the government to help organisations access apprenticeship benefits.

Quantifiable outcome

  • Past apprentices progress to supervisory and management positions
  • +2 more outcomes

Companies that use Hart Learning & Development

Customer profile

Named customers9 records

Segments3 records

Ideal customer profiles3 records

Hart Learning & Development technology and API

Technology

Technology focussed No

API detail

Has API
No
API docs
API detail

Core technology

AI maturity

App detail

Feature3 records

Hart Learning & Development partnerships and signals

Strategic signal

Partnerships

Eleven partnerships are on record, tiered core and minor.

  • Mindful EducationcoreStrategic or Co-development PartnerStrategic partnership with Mindful Education, an edtech company specializing in blended learning courses for professional qualifications. Mindful Education provides the technology platform for AAT accounting courses (Level 2, 3, and 4), combining online video-based learning with face-to-face classroom sessions. The partnership delivers award-winning flexible learning that enables learners to study around work commitments.
  • North Hertfordshire CollegecoreStrategic or Co-development PartnerHart Learning & Development operates as a subsidiary of North Hertfordshire College Further Education Corporation, trading as Hart Learning Group. NHC provides campus facilities, administrative support, and additional educational services. Hart L&D delivers apprenticeships and professional qualifications at NHC campuses in Stevenage and Hitchin.
  • City & GuildscoreTechnology or IntegrationAccredited awarding body for apprenticeship qualifications and assessments. City & Guilds provides the framework for various apprenticeship standards including engineering and construction programs.
  • Institute of Leadership & Management (ILM)coreTechnology or IntegrationApproved centre status for delivering ILM leadership and management qualifications. ILM credentials are embedded in team leader and operations manager apprenticeship programs.
  • Chartered Management Institute (CMI)coreTechnology or IntegrationApproved centre status for delivering CMI qualifications including Level 3 Certificate in Principles of Management and Leadership and Level 5 Diploma in Management and Leadership, integrated into apprenticeship programs.
  • CIPDcoreTechnology or IntegrationApproved centre status for delivering CIPD-accredited HR and people practice qualifications. CIPD credentials available from foundation to advanced level.
  • Association of Accounting Technicians (AAT)coreTechnology or IntegrationPartnership for delivering AAT accounting qualifications at Levels 2, 3, and 4 through blended learning format. AAT provides accreditation, membership, and exam framework.
  • NCFE/CachecoreTechnology or IntegrationAccredited by NCFE/Cache for various professional qualifications including early years and childcare courses.
  • The Skills NetworkcoreChannel Partner/ Reseller/ DistributorOnline learning platform partnership for delivering CPD courses. The Skills Network platform hosts Hart Learning & Development's online professional development courses including business administration, digital marketing, mental health, SEND, and other vocational topics.
  • Hart Schools TrustminorStrategic or Co-development PartnerPart of the Hart Learning Group ecosystem. Hart Schools Trust is a multi-academy trust including Thomas Alleyne Academy and Roebuck Primary School in Stevenage.
  • STEM Discovery CentreminorStrategic or Co-development PartnerPart of the Hart Learning Group ecosystem. The STEM Discovery Centre is an education facility inspiring young people to consider careers in science, technology, engineering, and maths.

Scale indicators3 records

Recent moves6 records

Expansion highlights6 records

Hart Learning & Development competitors and assessment

Company assessment

Broad incumbents

  • Kaplan UK: Large UK apprenticeship, professional qualification, and training provider with broader portfolio across financial services, accounting, and management. Comparable in AAT/CIPD delivery and apprenticeship scale, but operates at materially larger scale.

Direct peers

  • Learning Curve Group: UK training provider offering apprenticeships and vocational qualifications across multiple sectors via distance learning and online platforms. Comparable in online CPD delivery model through The Skills Network-like platforms.
  • Lifetime Training: UK apprenticeship provider delivering programs across health, social care, childcare, and business services. Direct competitor in early years, healthcare, and leadership apprenticeships.
  • Estio Training: UK IT and digital apprenticeships provider with BCS-approved centre status. Overlaps with Hart L&D's BCS accreditation and IT training, serving similar employer cohorts.
  • Babington Business College: UK specialist apprenticeship and professional training provider offering accountancy, leadership, and sector-specific apprenticeships. Closely comparable in apprenticeship portfolio breadth, employer-funded delivery model, and blended learning approach.
  • Corndel: UK leadership and management apprenticeship provider focused on Level 5/7 programs for major UK employers. Direct overlap in organisational leadership and management apprenticeship offerings.

Regional players

  • Aspire Training Solutions: UK apprenticeship provider operating primarily in the North West with similar sector coverage. Comparable apprenticeship delivery model but different geographic focus.

Emerging players

  • Multiverse: UK-focused digital apprenticeship provider specialising in data, tech, and leadership apprenticeships. Comparable apprenticeship delivery model with technology-led differentiation; primarily targets large enterprise employers.

Others

  • The Skills Network: Online CPD and distance learning platform partner that hosts Hart L&D's CPD courses. Acts as both a channel partner and an adjacent provider of online vocational courses in overlapping subjects.
  • Mindful Education: Edtech platform partner providing blended learning technology for Hart L&D's AAT accounting courses. While not a direct competitor, it is an enabling technology peer whose platform is integral to Hart L&D's differentiation.

Market position

Strengths5 records

Weaknesses5 records

Competitive moat6 records

Key risks5 records

Key highlights7 records

Customer concentration

Hart Learning & Development social profiles

Digital presence

Hart Learning & Development financial estimates

Financial estimate

Revenue estimate

Valuation estimate

Hart Learning & Development leadership team

Management profile

Number of profiles

Profiles8 records

Hart Learning & Development funding detail

Funding detail

Funding overview

Funding rounds

Investors

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Hart Learning & Development M&A and investment

M&A and investment

M&A

Investments

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Frequently asked questions about Hart Learning & Development

What does Hart Learning & Development do?

Hart Learning & Development delivers apprenticeships, professional qualifications, and online continuing professional development (CPD) courses to UK businesses of all sizes. Programs are structured around three pillars — apprenticeships (engineering, HR, leadership & management, early years, laboratory science, administration at Levels 2-5), professional qualifications (AAT accounting, CIPD HR, paediatric first aid), and online CPD short courses (business administration, digital marketing, mental health, SEND, safeguarding). Delivery combines on-campus classroom sessions at North Hertfordshire College campuses in Stevenage and Hitchin, online learning via partner platforms, and workplace-based coaching.

Is Hart Learning & Development a public or private company?

Hart Learning & Development is a private company. It is classified as corporate owned and is currently operating.

When was Hart Learning & Development founded?

Hart Learning & Development was founded in -1. It employs 11 to 50 people.

Where is Hart Learning & Development based?

Hart Learning & Development is headquartered in Stevenage, England, United Kingdom, in the Europe region.

How does Hart Learning & Development make money?

Three revenue lines are on record. Apprenticeship Training Revenue is the primary driver. The others are professional Qualifications Fees and employer-Funded Training.

Who are Hart Learning & Development's main competitors?

Kaplan UK is listed as a broad incumbent. Direct peers are Learning Curve Group, Lifetime Training, Estio Training, Babington Business College and Corndel. Aspire Training Solutions is listed as a regional player. Multiverse is listed as an emerging player. Others are The Skills Network and Mindful Education.

Does Hart Learning & Development have an API?

No public API is recorded for Hart Learning & Development.

What industry is Hart Learning & Development in?

Hart Learning & Development's product category is Vocational Training and Apprenticeships. Its primary akta.pro industry code is EDAHADAG, Workforce Development & Continuing Education Divisions (Noncredit), with a secondary code of EDAAALAA, Accounting, Audit & Tax (CPA/CA/ACCA CPE). Its NAICS code is 61143 and its SIC code is 8200.

Unlock the full company data

50 free credits on sign-up, no credit card required.

Contact sales