PRACTICE GROUP LTD
Practice Group Ltd is a UK-based, founder-led direct acquirer of UK accountancy practices, offering confidential buyouts and subscription-based operational support (Optivo fractional COO, Fiscora fractional FD, and white-label compliance delivery through its in-house delivery engine, Buzz) to practice owners considering sale, succession, or stepping back.
- Company typePrivate
- Founded-
- HeadquartersLondon, United Kingdom
- Headcount—
- GTM typeB2B
- OfferingServices
What PRACTICE GROUP LTD does
Practice Group Ltd is a UK-incorporated, founder-led direct acquirer of UK accountancy practices. The company buys limited company and sole-practitioner firms confidentially, without broker involvement, paying 0.8–1.2x gross recurring fees (higher for quality firms). Co-founders Andy Jackson and Peter Allen run the business: Jackson originates and leads acquisitions, while Allen leads the fractional finance-director service. The company's product surface extends beyond acquisitions into three operational services for accountancy firm owners: Optivo (fractional COO, monthly retainer), Fiscora (fractional Finance Director, monthly retainer), and a white-label Back Office and Advisory Enablement offering delivered through 'Buzz' — the group's in-house delivery business.
Buzz is the operational backbone of the model, with delivery hubs in London, Manchester, Ballymena (Northern Ireland) and Pretoria (South Africa), handling bookkeeping, accounts preparation, corporation and personal tax, VAT, payroll, and company secretarial work on a white-label basis. The technology stack is deliberately non-proprietary: there is no disclosed platform, AI capability, or software product beyond a self-serve Practice Valuation Calculator. All delivery is human-service driven.
Go-to-market is direct-to-consumer and content-led: SEO-optimised guides, a monthly newsletter, organic LinkedIn presence, and a valuation calculator generate top-of-funnel leads, with every prospective seller speaking directly to Andy Jackson. Pricing for acquisitions and operational services is quote-based and not publicly disclosed. The company is privately held with no external institutional funding, no parent entity, and no public listing; financials are not disclosed.
PRACTICE GROUP LTD firmographics
Firmographics- Name
- PRACTICE GROUP LTD
- Legal name
- Practice Group Ltd
- Website
- https://practicegroup.co.uk
- Company type
- Private
- Operating status
- Operating
- Short description
- Practice Group Ltd is a UK-based, founder-led direct acquirer of UK accountancy practices, offering confidential buyouts and subscription-based operational support (Optivo fractional COO, Fiscora fractional FD, and white-label compliance delivery through its in-house delivery engine, Buzz) to practice owners considering sale, succession, or stepping back.
- Ownership category
- akta.pro rank
PRACTICE GROUP LTD industry classification
Industry- Product category
- Accountancy Practice Acquisition & Operational Services
- NAICS
- Management of Companies and Enterprises (55), Other Management Consulting Services (541618)
- SIC
- Services-Management Consulting Services (8742)
- akta.pro primary industry
- Professional Practice Brokerage (Medical/Dental/Legal/Accounting) (FSAEAIAI)
Keywords
Where PRACTICE GROUP LTD is headquartered
LocationHeadquarters
- HQ city
- London
- HQ country
- United Kingdom
- HQ region
- Europe
Offices4 records
Markets served
PRACTICE GROUP LTD business model
Business model- GTM type
- B2B
- Offering type
- Services
- Cost components
- Personnel, Operations, Supply Chain, Marketing or Sales, Technology or R&D, Infrastructure
Revenue model
- Practice acquisition and integration: Practice Group acquires UK accountancy practices directly, paying a multiple of gross recurring fees (typically 0.8–1.2x GRF for general practice, with higher multiples for quality firms). The company builds value by integrating acquired practices into a group with shared back-office delivery via Buzz.
- Fiscora — Fractional Finance Director: Monthly retainer service providing finance director support to accountancy firms — profitability analysis, pricing, cashflow, KPIs. Turnkey operational service.
- Optivo — Fractional COO: Monthly retainer providing fractional Chief Operating Officer support to accountancy firm owners — weekly working sessions, monthly operating reviews, live operating plan.
- Advisory and back-office services: White-label bookkeeping, accounts preparation, tax, VAT, payroll and company secretarial delivered via Buzz to accountancy firms, freeing their teams for advisory work.
Pricing tiers
| Model | Billing | Price |
|---|---|---|
| Subscription | Monthly | Foundation tier: Quarterly management accounts + review call |
| Subscription | Monthly | Growth tier: Monthly accounts, KPIs, forecasting, regular calls |
| Subscription | Monthly | Partner tier: Full virtual FD — planning, cashflow, board-level input |
Go-to-market motion1 record
Distribution channels3 records
Marketing channels5 records
PRACTICE GROUP LTD product offering
Product offeringCore offering
Practice Group Ltd directly acquires UK accountancy practices from owners considering retirement, succession or stepping back, using a confidential five-step process from indicative valuation through completion. It supplements acquisitions with subscription-based operational services — Optivo (fractional COO), Fiscora (fractional Finance Director) and white-label back-office compliance delivery executed through its in-house delivery engine Buzz across London, Manchester, Ballymena and Pretoria.
Product overview
Practice Group Ltd operates a platform-plus-services model for UK accountancy practices. The core offering is a direct acquisition service for practices seeking to sell, supplemented by three operational support services (Optivo for fractional COO, Fiscora for fractional FD, and Back Office Services via Buzz for white-label compliance delivery), plus an advisory enablement service. All delivery work is handled by Buzz, the company's in-house delivery engine with hubs in London, Manchester, Ballymena, and Pretoria. The offering is designed for practice owners considering retirement, succession, or stepping back, ranging from full exit to partial involvement.
Differentiator
Problem solved
Functional benefit
Brands
- Buzz: In-house delivery business owned by Practice Group — white-label bookkeeping, accounts preparation, corporation tax, personal tax, VAT, payroll and company secretarial services delivered across UK and South Africa hubs.
- Optivo
- Fiscora
- Advisory
- Back Office
Products and services
- Practice Group Direct Acquisition Direct buyer of UK accountancy practices (sole practitioner or limited company) enabling owners to exit via a confidential five-step process: confidential call, indicative valuation, light-touch due diligence, heads of terms, and completion. Deal structures include cash plus deferred, earn-out or phased step-down.
- Buzz (In-house Delivery) Wholly-owned delivery business of Practice Group providing bookkeeping, accounts preparation, corporation tax, personal tax, VAT, payroll, auto-enrolment and company secretarial services across UK and South Africa hubs for acquired practices and partner firms.
- Optivo — Fractional COO Monthly retainer providing fractional Chief Operating Officer support to accountancy firm owners, including weekly COO working sessions, monthly operating reviews, a live operating plan, and light-touch support between sessions.
- Fiscora — Fractional Finance Director Monthly retainer providing fractional Finance Director support to accountancy firms, turning firm numbers into decisions through profitability analysis by service line and client, pricing and fee recovery guidance, cashflow management and KPI tracking.
- Back Office Services (via Buzz) White-label bookkeeping and compliance back-office delivery including bookkeeping, management accounts, year-end accounts, corporation tax, personal tax, VAT, payroll and company secretarial work, delivered in the partner firm's name and to their standard via Buzz.
- Advisory Enablement Service that helps accountancy firms transition clients from compliance to advisory work by carrying the compliance back office, freeing firm staff to lead advisory relationships.
- Practice Group Valuation Calculator Online calculator providing indicative valuation ranges for accountancy practices based on gross recurring fees, recurring percentage, top-10 client concentration and owner dependency level.
Quantifiable outcome
- Practice valuations typically range 0.8–1.2x gross recurring fees (GRF) for general practice; high-quality firms can achieve 1.3x+
- +1 more outcomes
Companies that use PRACTICE GROUP LTD
Customer profileSegments2 records
Ideal customer profiles2 records
PRACTICE GROUP LTD technology and API
TechnologyTechnology focussed No
API detail
- Has API
- No
- API docs
- API detail
Core technology
AI maturity
App detail
PRACTICE GROUP LTD partnerships and signals
Strategic signalScale indicators1 record
Recent moves6 records
Expansion highlights5 records
PRACTICE GROUP LTD competitors and assessment
Company assessmentDirect peers
- Xeinadin: UK and Ireland accountancy consolidator that acquires and integrates accountancy and tax practices, directly competing with Practice Group for the same pool of retiring owner-operators.
- DNS Associates: Smaller UK acquirer of accountancy practices, offering Practice Group a comparable (if lower-scale) alternative-exit option for retiring practice owners.
- Sumer Group: UK and Ireland professional services consolidator that acquires accountancy, legal and advisory firms, competing with Practice Group for the same fragmented supply of small and mid-sized practices.
- PKF Smith Cooper: Mid-tier UK accountancy group with active practice-acquisition activity and shared back-office services, operating a similar consolidator-plus-delivery model.
- Azets: Large UK/Nordic professional services group built largely through acquisition of regional accountancy firms, with shared back-office delivery — directly comparable operating model to Practice Group's roll-up plus Buzz delivery engine.
- MHA (formerly MacIntyre Hudson): UK top-10 accountancy and advisory group built on a federation model of member firms, directly comparable to Practice Group's strategy of integrating owner-led practices into a larger group.
- The Accountancy Partnership: Alternative buyer of UK accountancy practices offering owners a clean exit route, competing with Practice Group's direct-buyer proposition on speed and discretion.
- Haines Watts: Top-20 UK accountancy group built through long-running acquisition of regional practices with shared support infrastructure — a comparable consolidated, multi-location model.
Broad incumbents
- Forvis Mazars (UK): Top-10 global audit, tax and advisory network with a large UK accountancy practice that competes for the same mid-market seller pool and offers an alternative exit route at scale.
- Crowe UK: Top-10 UK audit, tax and advisory firm that acquires and integrates accountancy practices as part of a broader professional-services portfolio, competing for the same acquisition supply.
Market position
Strengths5 records
Weaknesses5 records
Competitive moat4 records
Key risks7 records
Key highlights6 records
Customer concentration
PRACTICE GROUP LTD social profiles
Digital presencePRACTICE GROUP LTD financial estimates
Financial estimateRevenue estimate
Valuation estimate
PRACTICE GROUP LTD leadership team
Management profileNumber of profiles
Profiles2 records
PRACTICE GROUP LTD subsidiaries and ownership
Company hierarchySubsidiaries1 record
PRACTICE GROUP LTD funding detail
Funding detailFunding overview
Funding rounds
Investors
Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →
PRACTICE GROUP LTD M&A and investment
M&A and investmentM&A
Investments
M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →
Frequently asked questions about PRACTICE GROUP LTD
What does PRACTICE GROUP LTD do?
Practice Group Ltd directly acquires UK accountancy practices from owners considering retirement, succession or stepping back, using a confidential five-step process from indicative valuation through completion. It supplements acquisitions with subscription-based operational services — Optivo (fractional COO), Fiscora (fractional Finance Director) and white-label back-office compliance delivery executed through its in-house delivery engine Buzz across London, Manchester, Ballymena and Pretoria.
Is PRACTICE GROUP LTD a public or private company?
PRACTICE GROUP LTD is a private company. It is classified as founder individual operated bootstrapped and is currently operating.
When was PRACTICE GROUP LTD founded?
PRACTICE GROUP LTD was founded in -1.
Where is PRACTICE GROUP LTD based?
PRACTICE GROUP LTD is headquartered in London, United Kingdom, in the Europe region.
How does PRACTICE GROUP LTD make money?
Four revenue lines are on record. Practice acquisition and integration is the primary driver. The others are fiscora — Fractional Finance Director, optivo — Fractional COO and advisory and back-office services.
Who are PRACTICE GROUP LTD's main competitors?
Direct peers on record are Xeinadin, DNS Associates, Sumer Group, PKF Smith Cooper, Azets, MHA (formerly MacIntyre Hudson), The Accountancy Partnership and Haines Watts. Broad incumbents are Forvis Mazars (UK) and Crowe UK.
Does PRACTICE GROUP LTD have an API?
No public API is recorded for PRACTICE GROUP LTD.
What industry is PRACTICE GROUP LTD in?
PRACTICE GROUP LTD's product category is Accountancy Practice Acquisition & Operational Services. Its primary akta.pro industry code is FSAEAIAI, Professional Practice Brokerage (Medical/Dental/Legal/Accounting). Its NAICS code is 55 and its SIC code is 8742.