Developer docs
API playgroundTry for free, no card

Search company profiles

Rontec

Full company profile

uuid000cxid

Namestring
Rontec
Legal namestring
Rontec Roadside Retail Limited
Websiteurl
rontec.com
Company typeenum
Private
Founded yearint
2011
Descriptiontext

Rontec Roadside Retail Limited is an independent UK forecourt operator running 267 service stations across England and Wales. The company was formed in 2011 to acquire Total Oil UK's retail network and in 2015 merged with Snax24, both heritage businesses traceable to Sir Gerald Ronson CBE's 1966 founding of Heron Service Stations, which opened the UK's first self-service petrol station. Fuels are retailed under the Esso, BP, and Shell brands via long-standing fuel-supplier partnerships, with the BP me rewards, Shell Go Plus, and Nectar loyalty programmes integrated at applicable sites.

The business operates a multi-format retail model across four branded sub-divisions: Shop'n Drive (167+ 24/7 convenience stores featuring Costa Coffee, Greggs, and Subway franchises); Morrisons Daily (forecourt grocery format with fresh produce and deliveries via Just Eat, Deliveroo, and Uber Eats); wash'n drive (automated and self-service car wash with contactless payment and touchscreen controls); and CHARGE (150kW high-powered EV charging stations powered by green energy). Day-to-day site operations are conducted by independent Commission Operators who run stations as agents under Rontec management, brand, and infrastructure frameworks.

Rontec monetises across multiple transaction-based streams — fuel margin, convenience goods, car wash, food franchise royalties, EV charging usage fees, parcel logistics (InPost/Amazon Hub), and commission-operator fees — alongside an ESG/brand-equity programme anchored on its Pennies digital charity-box partnership active at 260 sites. The customer base is structurally diverse: daily motorists and commuters, local community shoppers, EV drivers, and franchisee operators, with no enterprise B2B anchors disclosed. Rontec is a private limited company headquartered in Watford with a registered office in London, employing 101-250 staff supplemented by its Commission Operator network.

Short descriptiontext

Rontec is an independent UK forecourt operator running 267 Esso-, BP-, and Shell-branded service stations across England and Wales, offering fuel, convenience retail (Shop'n Drive, Morrisons Daily), car wash, branded food franchises, and 150kW EV charging under a Commission Operator model.

Operating statusenum
Operating
Ownership categoryenum
Headcount rangeband
101–250
akta.pro rankint
HeadquartersLondon, United Kingdom
HQ citystring
London
HQ countrystring
United Kingdom
HQ regionstring
Europe
Markets served

Serves global market

Offices3 records

Each record includes

City, Country, Type, Description, Source

Keyword5 values
forecourt retail operations, petrol station services, convenience store retail, EV charging stations, car wash services
Industry3 codes
1CRANAJAB
CodeCRANAJABPrimaryYes
2CRAHABAB
CodeCRAHABABPrimaryNo
3EUALAIAJ
CodeEUALAIAJPrimaryNo
NAICS code2 codes
  • 45711
  • 457110
SIC code1 code
  • 5500
Product category
Fuel and Roadside Retail Services
Social media profiles1 record
GTM motion3 records

Each record includes

Type, Description, Source

Revenue model6 records
1Fuel Sales
TypeTransaction Fee
Description

Sale of petroleum products (petrol, diesel) at forecourt service stations operating under Esso, BP, and Shell brands

rontec.com
2Retail Shop Sales
TypeTransaction Fee
Description

Sale of convenience goods, groceries, food-to-go, and everyday essentials at Shop'n Drive and Morrisons Daily locations

rontec.com
3Car Wash and Valet Services
TypeTransaction Fee
Description

Cash wash and automated car wash facilities including contactless payments, jet washes, and automated cleaning systems

rontec.com
4Fast Food Franchise Operations
TypeLicensing Royalties
Description

Revenue from franchise operations including Costa Coffee, Greggs, Subway, and other food brand concessions at service stations

rontec.com
5Commission Operator Fees
TypeManaged Services
Description

Commission-based model where independent operators run service stations as agents, with Rontec providing brand, infrastructure and operational framework

rontec.com
6EV Charging Services
TypeUsage Based
Description

Electric vehicle charging at CHARGE branded 150kW high-powered charging stations, powered by green sustainable energy sources

rontec.com
Marketing channels6 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Stage, Description, Source

Distribution channels7 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Scope, Target buyer, Description, Source

Cost components6 values
Personnel, Operations, Infrastructure, Supply Chain, Marketing or Sales, Technology or R&D
Pricing details2 tiers
1EV charging - pricing not publicly disclosed
ModelUsage-basedBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

Tap-and-go card payments and app-based charging available; specific pricing not disclosed on website

rontec.com
2Car wash services - pricing not publicly disclosed
ModelUnit PricingBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

Contactless payment accepted; specific wash package pricing not disclosed on website

rontec.com
GTM typeB2C
B2C
Offering typeServices
Services
Brand1 of 5 records shown
1shop'n drive
Description

Forecourt convenience store brand offering everyday essentials, fresh food-to-go, quality drinks, and treats. Over 167 forecourt locations across the UK, open 24/7.

rontec.com
+4 more records
Core offering1 text field

Rontec operates a network of 267 forecourt service stations across England and Wales under Esso, BP, and Shell fuel brands. The company offers multi-service roadside retail including fuel sales, convenience grocery (Shop'n Drive, Morrisons Daily), car wash (wash'n drive), EV charging (CHARGE), and franchise food brands (Costa, Greggs, Subway), supported by a Commission Operator model where independent entrepreneurs manage day-to-day operations.

Differentiator
Functional benefit
Problem solved
Quantifiable outcome1 of 3 values shown
  • Nearly £3 million raised for UK charities through Pennies micro-donation partnership
+2 more records
Product overview1 text field

Rontec is one of the UK's leading independent forecourt operators operating 267 service stations across England and Wales. The company operates under Esso, BP, and Shell fuel brands and has developed a multi-brand convenience portfolio comprising Shop'n Drive (convenience retail with Costa, Greggs, and Subway partnerships at 167+ locations), Morrisons Daily (fresh grocery with delivery partnerships), wash'n drive (car wash and valet services with contactless payment), and CHARGE (150kW EV charging). The business model includes Commission Operators who manage day-to-day forecourt operations. Rontec has a history dating back to 1966 with Heron Service Stations and has grown through acquisitions including Total Oil UK (2011) and Snax24 (2015).

Product and service6 records
1Shop'n Drive
CategoryConvenience Retail
Description

Convenience store format operating at over 167 forecourt locations across the UK, offering snacks, beverages, emergency car care products, and food-to-go partnerships with Costa, Greggs, and Subway. Open 24/7.

2Morrisons Daily
CategoryFresh Grocery Convenience
Description

Fresh grocery and convenience stores located within forecourts, offering Morrisons-quality fresh produce, chilled meals, snacks, and essentials with extended hours. Partnerships with Just Eat, Deliveroo, and Uber Eats for grocery deliveries.

3wash'n drive
CategoryCar Wash and Valet Services
Description

Automatic and self-service car wash facilities with smart touchscreen terminals, contactless payment options, high-powered vacuum stations, and precision air towers.

4CHARGE
CategoryElectric Vehicle Charging
Description

EV charging service featuring high-powered 150kW charging stations compatible with all major EV models, available 24/7 with tap-and-go card payments or mobile app, powered by green sustainable energy sources.

5Fuel Sales (Esso, BP, Shell)
CategoryPetroleum Fuel Retail
Description

Petrol and diesel fuel sales operated under Esso, BP, and Shell brand partnerships at 267 service stations across England and Wales.

6Commission Operator Programme
CategoryFranchise Business Opportunity
Description

Entrepreneur programme allowing independent operators to run their own Rontec service station under the company brand, with Rontec providing operational framework, training, infrastructure, and brand support.

Scale indicator6 records

Each record includes

Type, Value, Description, Source

Partnership17 partners
Strategic tierCoreTypeChannel Partner/ Reseller/ Distributor
Description

Fuel brand partnership operating service stations under the Esso brand alongside Rontec's Shop'n Drive retail offering

Strategic tierCoreTypeChannel Partner/ Reseller/ Distributor
Description

Fuel brand partnership with BP for forecourt operations, including BP me rewards loyalty integration

Strategic tierCoreTypeChannel Partner/ Reseller/ Distributor
Description

Fuel brand partnership with Shell including Shell Go Plus loyalty programme integration

Strategic tierCoreTypeChannel Partner/ Reseller/ Distributor
Description

Morrisons Daily format bringing Morrisons supermarket quality and fresh food to forecourt locations across England and Wales

Strategic tierCoreTypeChannel Partner/ Reseller/ Distributor
Description

Coffee franchise partnership bringing Costa Coffee Express to Shop'n Drive locations

Strategic tierCoreTypeChannel Partner/ Reseller/ Distributor
Description

Food franchise partnership with Greggs bakery concessions at Shop'n Drive and Morrisons Daily locations

Strategic tierCoreTypeChannel Partner/ Reseller/ Distributor
Description

Fast food franchise partnership bringing Subway sandwiches to select Shop'n Drive forecourt locations

Strategic tierMinorTypeChannel Partner/ Reseller/ Distributor
Description

Food franchise partnership bringing Cornish pasties to select forecourt locations

Strategic tierMinorTypeChannel Partner/ Reseller/ Distributor
Description

Loyalty programme partnership allowing Nectar card collection at Rontec service stations

Strategic tierMinorTypeChannel Partner/ Reseller/ Distributor
Description

BP loyalty rewards programme integration at BP-branded Rontec sites

Strategic tierMinorTypeChannel Partner/ Reseller/ Distributor
Description

Shell loyalty rewards programme integration at Shell-branded Rontec sites

Strategic tierMinorTypeChannel Partner/ Reseller/ Distributor
Description

Food delivery partnership for Morrisons Daily rapid grocery deliveries via Just Eat platform

Strategic tierMinorTypeChannel Partner/ Reseller/ Distributor
Description

Food delivery partnership for Morrisons Daily rapid grocery deliveries via Deliveroo platform

Strategic tierMinorTypeChannel Partner/ Reseller/ Distributor
Description

Food delivery partnership for Morrisons Daily rapid grocery deliveries via Uber Eats platform

Strategic tierMinorTypeChannel Partner/ Reseller/ Distributor
Description

Parcel locker partnership providing Amazon Hub delivery and collection services at Rontec forecourts

Strategic tierMinorTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Charity partnership with Pennies digital charity box enabling customers to round up purchases for charity donations; raised nearly £3 million since 2014 across 260 stations

17The Michael Palin Centre for Stammering
Strategic tierMinorTypeOthers
Description

Current charity partner supported by Rontec, dedicated to helping children and young people with stammering build confidence in communication

rontec.com
Recent move7 records

Each record includes

Date, Type, Title, Description, Source

Expansion highlight5 records

Each record includes

Type, Description

Peers10 records
TypeEmerging player
Description

UK-leading independent rapid EV charging network operator building motorway-adjacent charging hubs; a nascent but credible competitor to Rontec's CHARGE brand in the same retail-charge category.

TypeDirect peer
Description

One of the largest independent forecourt operators globally with deep UK presence; operates a similar multi-brand fuel + convenience + foodservice + EV model (acquired by Asda in 2023 for its UK retail business). Most directly comparable peer to Rontec on scale and operating model.

3MFG (Motor Fuel Group)
TypeDirect peer
Description

UK independent fuel retailer operating hundreds of forecourts, branded partnerships, and convenience retail across Britain — direct competitor in the independent forecourt segment that Rontec competes in for sites and supply contracts.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

A second core Rontec fuel brand partner, Shell also operates its own branded UK retail network and aggressive EV charging (Shell Recharge); poses an incumbent-fuels-partner-cum-competitor dynamic.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

Major UK supermarket with extensive petrol forecourt estate integrated with grocery; provides the supermarket-fuel-retail benchmark that Rontec's Morrisons Daily partnership partially competes against.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

UK's largest grocery retailer with a meaningful forecourt estate and Clubcard loyalty integration — a broader-incumbent competitor combining supermarket footprint with fuel-convenience cross-sell that Rontec matches via its own format partnerships.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

One of Rontec's three core fuel brand partners, BP also operates its own UK retail network with integrated convenience (including the bp pulse EV charging rollout) — overlapping capability as both partner and competitor.

TypeOthers
Description

Rontec's Morrisons Daily co-brand partner; operates Morrisons Daily convenience stores independently elsewhere and is in process of being acquired by Asda, making it simultaneously a key supplier partner and adjacent channel competitor.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

UK supermarket that acquired EG Group's UK fuel retail business (~320 sites) and now operates one of the largest forecourt networks in the country — comparable geographic and competitive overlap with Rontec, with grocery cross-sell advantages.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Irish-headquartered roadside retailer with UK and US operations running service stations under multi-brand fuel partnerships plus convenience and foodservice; very similar 'one-stop roadside' positioning and sub-brand strategy to Rontec.

Market position
Strengths5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Weaknesses5 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Competitive moat5 records

Each record includes

Type, Details

Key risks6 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Key highlights7 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Customer concentration

Classification, Details

Named customers4 records

Each record includes

Name, Industry, Type, Use case, Source, UUID

Segment3 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Primary, Description, Pain point addressed, Use case, Source

Ideal customer profile4 records

Each record includes

Profile, Firmographic size, Sales motion, Sales cycle length, Buying structure, Purchase trigger, Buyer persona, Geography, Industry vertical, Primary use case, Description, Pain points, Evidence proof points, Target buyer

Technology focused
No
API detail
Has APIbool
No

Docs URL, Description

AI maturity
App detail

Has app

Feature3 records

Each record includes

Title, Differentiator, Description, Source

Core technology
Revenue estimate
Valuation estimate
Number of profiles
Profiles1 record

Each record includes

Name, Designation, Designation category, Overview, Profile commentary, Source

Subsidiaries3 records

Each record includes

Name, Acquired on, Relationship type, Type, Business focus

No data
Funding overview

Funding stage, Last funding date, Total funding USD

Funding rounds

Each record includes

Round, Amount USD, Date, Pre money valuation, Total investors, Investors, News

Investors

Each record includes

Name, Type, Date of entry, Rounds participated, Website

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

M&A

Each record includes

Name, Acquisition type, Announced date, Completed date, Status, Website, News

Investment

Each record includes

Name, Round, Announced date, Lead investor, Website, News

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Rontec

Fuel and Roadside Retail Servicesrontec.com

Rontec is an independent UK forecourt operator running 267 Esso-, BP-, and Shell-branded service stations across England and Wales, offering fuel, convenience retail (Shop'n Drive, Morrisons Daily), car wash, branded food franchises, and 150kW EV charging under a Commission Operator model.

What Rontec does

Rontec Roadside Retail Limited is an independent UK forecourt operator running 267 service stations across England and Wales. The company was formed in 2011 to acquire Total Oil UK's retail network and in 2015 merged with Snax24, both heritage businesses traceable to Sir Gerald Ronson CBE's 1966 founding of Heron Service Stations, which opened the UK's first self-service petrol station. Fuels are retailed under the Esso, BP, and Shell brands via long-standing fuel-supplier partnerships, with the BP me rewards, Shell Go Plus, and Nectar loyalty programmes integrated at applicable sites.

The business operates a multi-format retail model across four branded sub-divisions: Shop'n Drive (167+ 24/7 convenience stores featuring Costa Coffee, Greggs, and Subway franchises); Morrisons Daily (forecourt grocery format with fresh produce and deliveries via Just Eat, Deliveroo, and Uber Eats); wash'n drive (automated and self-service car wash with contactless payment and touchscreen controls); and CHARGE (150kW high-powered EV charging stations powered by green energy). Day-to-day site operations are conducted by independent Commission Operators who run stations as agents under Rontec management, brand, and infrastructure frameworks.

Rontec monetises across multiple transaction-based streams — fuel margin, convenience goods, car wash, food franchise royalties, EV charging usage fees, parcel logistics (InPost/Amazon Hub), and commission-operator fees — alongside an ESG/brand-equity programme anchored on its Pennies digital charity-box partnership active at 260 sites. The customer base is structurally diverse: daily motorists and commuters, local community shoppers, EV drivers, and franchisee operators, with no enterprise B2B anchors disclosed. Rontec is a private limited company headquartered in Watford with a registered office in London, employing 101-250 staff supplemented by its Commission Operator network.

Rontec firmographics

Firmographics
Name
Rontec
Legal name
Rontec Roadside Retail Limited
Website
https://rontec.com
Company type
Private
Founded year
2011
Operating status
Operating
Headcount range
101–250 employees
Short description
Rontec is an independent UK forecourt operator running 267 Esso-, BP-, and Shell-branded service stations across England and Wales, offering fuel, convenience retail (Shop'n Drive, Morrisons Daily), car wash, branded food franchises, and 150kW EV charging under a Commission Operator model.
Ownership category
akta.pro rank

Where Rontec is headquartered

Location

Headquarters

HQ city
London
HQ country
United Kingdom
HQ region
Europe

Offices3 records

Markets served

Rontec business model

Business model
GTM type
B2C
Offering type
Services
Cost components
Personnel, Operations, Infrastructure, Supply Chain, Marketing or Sales, Technology or R&D

Revenue model

  1. Fuel Sales: Sale of petroleum products (petrol, diesel) at forecourt service stations operating under Esso, BP, and Shell brands
  2. Retail Shop Sales: Sale of convenience goods, groceries, food-to-go, and everyday essentials at Shop'n Drive and Morrisons Daily locations
  3. Car Wash and Valet Services: Cash wash and automated car wash facilities including contactless payments, jet washes, and automated cleaning systems
  4. Fast Food Franchise Operations: Revenue from franchise operations including Costa Coffee, Greggs, Subway, and other food brand concessions at service stations
  5. Commission Operator Fees: Commission-based model where independent operators run service stations as agents, with Rontec providing brand, infrastructure and operational framework
  6. EV Charging Services: Electric vehicle charging at CHARGE branded 150kW high-powered charging stations, powered by green sustainable energy sources

Pricing tiers

ModelBillingPrice
Usage-basedPay-as-you-goEV charging - pricing not publicly disclosed
Unit PricingPay-as-you-goCar wash services - pricing not publicly disclosed

Go-to-market motion3 records

Distribution channels7 records

Marketing channels6 records

Rontec product offering

Product offering

Core offering

Rontec operates a network of 267 forecourt service stations across England and Wales under Esso, BP, and Shell fuel brands. The company offers multi-service roadside retail including fuel sales, convenience grocery (Shop'n Drive, Morrisons Daily), car wash (wash'n drive), EV charging (CHARGE), and franchise food brands (Costa, Greggs, Subway), supported by a Commission Operator model where independent entrepreneurs manage day-to-day operations.

Product overview

Rontec is one of the UK's leading independent forecourt operators operating 267 service stations across England and Wales. The company operates under Esso, BP, and Shell fuel brands and has developed a multi-brand convenience portfolio comprising Shop'n Drive (convenience retail with Costa, Greggs, and Subway partnerships at 167+ locations), Morrisons Daily (fresh grocery with delivery partnerships), wash'n drive (car wash and valet services with contactless payment), and CHARGE (150kW EV charging). The business model includes Commission Operators who manage day-to-day forecourt operations. Rontec has a history dating back to 1966 with Heron Service Stations and has grown through acquisitions including Total Oil UK (2011) and Snax24 (2015).

Differentiator

Problem solved

Functional benefit

Brands

  • shop'n drive: Forecourt convenience store brand offering everyday essentials, fresh food-to-go, quality drinks, and treats. Over 167 forecourt locations across the UK, open 24/7.
  • Morrisons Daily
  • wash'n drive
  • CHARGE
  • Commission Operator Programme

Products and services

  • Shop'n Drive Convenience store format operating at over 167 forecourt locations across the UK, offering snacks, beverages, emergency car care products, and food-to-go partnerships with Costa, Greggs, and Subway. Open 24/7.
  • Morrisons Daily Fresh grocery and convenience stores located within forecourts, offering Morrisons-quality fresh produce, chilled meals, snacks, and essentials with extended hours. Partnerships with Just Eat, Deliveroo, and Uber Eats for grocery deliveries.
  • wash'n drive Automatic and self-service car wash facilities with smart touchscreen terminals, contactless payment options, high-powered vacuum stations, and precision air towers.
  • CHARGE EV charging service featuring high-powered 150kW charging stations compatible with all major EV models, available 24/7 with tap-and-go card payments or mobile app, powered by green sustainable energy sources.
  • Fuel Sales (Esso, BP, Shell) Petrol and diesel fuel sales operated under Esso, BP, and Shell brand partnerships at 267 service stations across England and Wales.
  • Commission Operator Programme Entrepreneur programme allowing independent operators to run their own Rontec service station under the company brand, with Rontec providing operational framework, training, infrastructure, and brand support.

Quantifiable outcome

  • Nearly £3 million raised for UK charities through Pennies micro-donation partnership
  • +2 more outcomes

Companies that use Rontec

Customer profile

Named customers4 records

Segments3 records

Ideal customer profiles4 records

Rontec technology and API

Technology

Technology focussed No

API detail

Has API
No
API docs
API detail

Core technology

AI maturity

App detail

Feature3 records

Rontec partnerships and signals

Strategic signal

Partnerships

17 partnerships are on record, tiered core and minor.

  • EssocoreChannel Partner/ Reseller/ DistributorFuel brand partnership operating service stations under the Esso brand alongside Rontec's Shop'n Drive retail offering
  • BPcoreChannel Partner/ Reseller/ DistributorFuel brand partnership with BP for forecourt operations, including BP me rewards loyalty integration
  • ShellcoreChannel Partner/ Reseller/ DistributorFuel brand partnership with Shell including Shell Go Plus loyalty programme integration
  • MorrisonscoreChannel Partner/ Reseller/ DistributorMorrisons Daily format bringing Morrisons supermarket quality and fresh food to forecourt locations across England and Wales
  • Costa CoffeecoreChannel Partner/ Reseller/ DistributorCoffee franchise partnership bringing Costa Coffee Express to Shop'n Drive locations
  • GreggscoreChannel Partner/ Reseller/ DistributorFood franchise partnership with Greggs bakery concessions at Shop'n Drive and Morrisons Daily locations
  • SubwaycoreChannel Partner/ Reseller/ DistributorFast food franchise partnership bringing Subway sandwiches to select Shop'n Drive forecourt locations
  • West Cornwall Pasty CominorChannel Partner/ Reseller/ DistributorFood franchise partnership bringing Cornish pasties to select forecourt locations
  • NectarminorChannel Partner/ Reseller/ DistributorLoyalty programme partnership allowing Nectar card collection at Rontec service stations
  • BP me rewardsminorChannel Partner/ Reseller/ DistributorBP loyalty rewards programme integration at BP-branded Rontec sites
  • Shell Go PlusminorChannel Partner/ Reseller/ DistributorShell loyalty rewards programme integration at Shell-branded Rontec sites
  • Just EatminorChannel Partner/ Reseller/ DistributorFood delivery partnership for Morrisons Daily rapid grocery deliveries via Just Eat platform
  • DeliveroominorChannel Partner/ Reseller/ DistributorFood delivery partnership for Morrisons Daily rapid grocery deliveries via Deliveroo platform
  • Uber EatsminorChannel Partner/ Reseller/ DistributorFood delivery partnership for Morrisons Daily rapid grocery deliveries via Uber Eats platform
  • InPostminorChannel Partner/ Reseller/ DistributorParcel locker partnership providing Amazon Hub delivery and collection services at Rontec forecourts
  • PenniesminorStrategic or Co-development PartnerCharity partnership with Pennies digital charity box enabling customers to round up purchases for charity donations; raised nearly £3 million since 2014 across 260 stations
  • The Michael Palin Centre for StammeringminorOthersCurrent charity partner supported by Rontec, dedicated to helping children and young people with stammering build confidence in communication

Scale indicators6 records

Recent moves7 records

Expansion highlights5 records

Rontec competitors and assessment

Company assessment

Emerging players

  • InstaVolt: UK-leading independent rapid EV charging network operator building motorway-adjacent charging hubs; a nascent but credible competitor to Rontec's CHARGE brand in the same retail-charge category.

Direct peers

  • EG Group: One of the largest independent forecourt operators globally with deep UK presence; operates a similar multi-brand fuel + convenience + foodservice + EV model (acquired by Asda in 2023 for its UK retail business). Most directly comparable peer to Rontec on scale and operating model.
  • MFG (Motor Fuel Group): UK independent fuel retailer operating hundreds of forecourts, branded partnerships, and convenience retail across Britain — direct competitor in the independent forecourt segment that Rontec competes in for sites and supply contracts.
  • Applegreen: Irish-headquartered roadside retailer with UK and US operations running service stations under multi-brand fuel partnerships plus convenience and foodservice; very similar 'one-stop roadside' positioning and sub-brand strategy to Rontec.

Broad incumbents

  • Shell Retail UK: A second core Rontec fuel brand partner, Shell also operates its own branded UK retail network and aggressive EV charging (Shell Recharge); poses an incumbent-fuels-partner-cum-competitor dynamic.
  • Sainsbury's Fuel: Major UK supermarket with extensive petrol forecourt estate integrated with grocery; provides the supermarket-fuel-retail benchmark that Rontec's Morrisons Daily partnership partially competes against.
  • Tesco Petrol: UK's largest grocery retailer with a meaningful forecourt estate and Clubcard loyalty integration — a broader-incumbent competitor combining supermarket footprint with fuel-convenience cross-sell that Rontec matches via its own format partnerships.
  • BP Retail UK: One of Rontec's three core fuel brand partners, BP also operates its own UK retail network with integrated convenience (including the bp pulse EV charging rollout) — overlapping capability as both partner and competitor.
  • Asda Forecourts: UK supermarket that acquired EG Group's UK fuel retail business (~320 sites) and now operates one of the largest forecourt networks in the country — comparable geographic and competitive overlap with Rontec, with grocery cross-sell advantages.

Others

  • Morrisons (Wm Morrison): Rontec's Morrisons Daily co-brand partner; operates Morrisons Daily convenience stores independently elsewhere and is in process of being acquired by Asda, making it simultaneously a key supplier partner and adjacent channel competitor.

Market position

Strengths5 records

Weaknesses5 records

Competitive moat5 records

Key risks6 records

Key highlights7 records

Customer concentration

Rontec social profiles

Digital presence

Rontec financial estimates

Financial estimate

Revenue estimate

Valuation estimate

Rontec leadership team

Management profile

Number of profiles

Profiles1 record

Rontec subsidiaries and ownership

Company hierarchy

Subsidiaries3 records

Rontec funding detail

Funding detail

Funding overview

Funding rounds

Investors

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Rontec M&A and investment

M&A and investment

M&A

Investments

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Frequently asked questions about Rontec

What does Rontec do?

Rontec operates a network of 267 forecourt service stations across England and Wales under Esso, BP, and Shell fuel brands. The company offers multi-service roadside retail including fuel sales, convenience grocery (Shop'n Drive, Morrisons Daily), car wash (wash'n drive), EV charging (CHARGE), and franchise food brands (Costa, Greggs, Subway), supported by a Commission Operator model where independent entrepreneurs manage day-to-day operations.

Is Rontec a public or private company?

Rontec is a private company. It is classified as family owned and is currently operating.

When was Rontec founded?

Rontec was founded in 2011. It employs 101 to 250 people.

Where is Rontec based?

Rontec is headquartered in London, United Kingdom, in the Europe region.

How does Rontec make money?

Six revenue lines are on record. Fuel Sales are the primary driver. The others are retail Shop Sales, car Wash and Valet Services, fast Food Franchise Operations, commission Operator Fees and EV Charging Services.

Who are Rontec's main competitors?

InstaVolt is listed as an emerging player. Direct peers are EG Group, MFG (Motor Fuel Group) and Applegreen. Broad incumbents are Shell Retail UK, Sainsbury's Fuel, Tesco Petrol, BP Retail UK and Asda Forecourts. Morrisons (Wm Morrison) is listed as an others.

Does Rontec have an API?

No public API is recorded for Rontec.

Unlock the full company data

50 free credits on sign-up, no credit card required.

Contact sales
Live signals