Developer docs
API playgroundTry for free, no card

Search company profiles

Roanoke Higher Education Center

Full company profile

uuid000ukal

Namestring
Roanoke Higher Education Center
Legal namestring
Roanoke Higher Education Authority
Websiteurl
education.edu
Company typeenum
Private
Founded yearint
2001
Descriptiontext

Roanoke Higher Education Center (RHEC) is a public, state-chartered higher education hub — legally constituted as the Roanoke Higher Education Authority, a political subdivision of the Commonwealth of Virginia — operating from a single facility at 108 North Jefferson Street in downtown Roanoke. Founded in 2001, RHEC functions as a shared-infrastructure platform on which 11 member institutions (Virginia Tech, James Madison University, Radford University, Virginia Commonwealth University, Virginia Western Community College, Appalachian College of Pharmacy, Roanoke College, Virginia State University, Sovah School of Health Professions, Total Action for Progress, and Region 5 Adult Education) and 5 partner institutions deliver 70 programs ranging from GED preparation through doctoral degrees. Member institutions lease classroom, laboratory, and office facilities, while RHEC operates shared student services including the RHEC Library (OneSearch discovery, EBSCO databases, interlibrary loan via VIVA), a 24-station Windows computer lab, the Student Success Center (free tutoring), the Testing Center (proctoring CLEP, DSST, Praxis, Pearson VUE, GED), and the Career & Workforce Training Center (which added a 24/7 AI chat assistant in 2024).

The business model is hybrid. Revenue streams include (a) lease and program-delivery payments from member institutions, (b) facility and conference room rentals to outside businesses and nonprofits at $25-$104/hour depending on room and nonprofit status, (c) testing and proctoring fees at $28.50 per examination, (d) tuition collected by member institutions (not by RHEC), and (e) philanthropic funding through the affiliated 501(c)(3) RHEC Foundation. As a Virginia political subdivision, RHEC is also supported by state appropriations, though exact figures are not disclosed. Customer segments span adult learners and working professionals (primary, 800-900 program completers annually, 17,000+ cumulatively), member institutions (primary B2B anchors), workforce-development seekers (CNA, OSHA, culinary arts certifications), adults seeking high school equivalency, and business/community organizations renting event space.

Operationally, RHEC serves the Roanoke Valley and Southwest Virginia region with on-site, online synchronous, online asynchronous, and hybrid delivery formats. Distribution is regional for facility-based services and global for online courses. Leadership transition is imminent: Executive Director Kay Dunkley, Ed.D. — who has led the center since 2016 and overseen its 25th anniversary, campus expansion, and foundation activation — is retiring effective January 1, 2027, with the Board of Trustees conducting an executive search.

Short descriptiontext

Roanoke Higher Education Center is a Virginia political subdivision operating a shared campus in Roanoke where 11 member institutions deliver 70 programs from GED to doctoral level, supported by centralized library, testing, tutoring, and career services for adult learners in Southwest Virginia.

Operating statusenum
Operating
Ownership categoryenum
Headcount rangeband
11–50
akta.pro rankint
HeadquartersRoanoke, United States
HQ citystring
Roanoke
HQ countrystring
United States
HQ regionstring
North America
Markets served

Serves global market

Offices1 record

Each record includes

City, Country, Type, Description, Source

Keyword5 values
higher education services, workforce training programs, educational facility rental, testing proctoring services, academic support services
Industry4 codes
1EDALABAF
CodeEDALABAFPrimaryYes
2EDAAABAF
CodeEDAAABAFPrimaryNo
3EDAHADAE
CodeEDAHADAEPrimaryNo
4EDAOAJAO
CodeEDAOAJAOPrimaryNo
NAICS code2 codes
  • 611710
  • 611
SIC code1 code
  • 8200
Product category
Higher Education Services
GTM motion1 record

Each record includes

Type, Description, Source

Revenue model4 records
1Educational Program Delivery
TypeProfessional Services
Description

Revenue generated through member institution lease agreements and program partnerships. Member institutions offer degrees ranging from GED preparation through doctoral programs, with tuition and fees collected by the respective institutions.

education.edu
2Facility and Space Rental
TypeProfessional Services
Description

The center rents classrooms, conference rooms, and computer labs to businesses and organizations for meetings, training sessions, and events. Pricing varies by room type and nonprofit status.

education.edu
3Testing and Proctoring Services
TypeProfessional Services
Description

The Testing Center proctors various exams (CLEP, DSST, GED, Praxis, Pearson VUE, etc.) for a fee of $28.50 per examination.

education.edu
4Tutoring Services
TypeProfessional Services
Description

Free tutoring for member institution students; fee-based tutoring available for non-affiliated community members.

education.edu
Marketing channels6 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Stage, Description, Source

Distribution channels5 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Scope, Target buyer, Description, Source

Cost components5 values
Personnel, Operations, Infrastructure, Technology or R&D, Marketing or Sales
Pricing details11 tiers
1Large Multipurpose Room 409 rental
ModelUnit PricingBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

$104/hour or $840/day for standard rate; $60/hour or $420/day for nonprofit organizations

education.edu
2Conference Room 417 rental
ModelUnit PricingBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

$47/hour or $327/day for standard rate; $25/hour or $176/day for nonprofit organizations

education.edu
3Computer Lab Room 202 rental
ModelUnit PricingBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

$650/day or $450 for half day (4 hours or less) for standard rate; $450/day or $350 for half day for nonprofit organizations

education.edu
4Computer Lab Room 419 rental
ModelUnit PricingBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

$500/day or $300 for half day (4 hours or less) for standard rate; $300/day or $200 for half day for nonprofit organizations

education.edu
5OSHA 510 Course fee
ModelOne time/ perpetual licenseBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

$845 for the OSHA 510 - Occupational Safety and Health Standards for the Construction Industry course

education.edu
6Small Classroom 418 rental
ModelUnit PricingBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

$58/hour or $392/day for standard rate; $28/hour or $188/day for nonprofit organizations

education.edu
7Medium Classroom 411 rental
ModelUnit PricingBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

$60/hour or $435/day for standard rate; $41/hour or $251/day for nonprofit organizations

education.edu
8Large Classroom 408 rental
ModelUnit PricingBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

$63/hour or $449/day

education.edu
9A/V and facilities equipment rental
ModelUnit PricingBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

LCD Projector $75, Laptop $50, Stage Riser $100, Flip Chart with Pad $25, Flip Chart Stand $5, Easel $5. Services: IT Support $35/hour, Security $35/hour, Storage $25/event, B&W copies $0.10/page, Color copies $0.25/page

education.edu
10Distance Exam Proctoring
ModelUnit PricingBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

$28.50 per examination ($53.50 for exams longer than 4 hours)

education.edu
11Certified Nursing Assistant Program
ModelOne time/ perpetual licenseBilling cadencePay-as-you-go
Notes

$1200 per person. Financial assistance available for clients whose income is 200% or less of the area median income for Roanoke, Virginia

education.edu
GTM typeB2B and B2C
B2B and B2C
Offering typeServices
Services
Core offering1 text field

The Roanoke Higher Education Center (RHEC) operates as a multi-institutional educational hub offering degree and certificate programs (from GED preparation through doctoral level) delivered by 11 member colleges and universities in a shared facility. Beyond academic programs, RHEC provides student support services (library, computer lab, tutoring, career center, testing center), facility rentals (classrooms, conference rooms, computer labs) to businesses and community organizations, and testing proctoring for professional certifications.

Differentiator
Functional benefit
Problem solved
Quantifiable outcome1 of 2 values shown
  • 17,000+ individuals have earned degrees, achieved industry credentials, and pursued new careers
+1 more record
Product overview1 text field

Roanoke Higher Education Center operates as a collaborative educational hub providing comprehensive academic programs, student support services, and facility rentals. The center functions as a platform with multiple integrated services: core educational offerings include degree and certificate programs (from GED to doctoral level) delivered through 11 member institutions; student services encompass the RHEC Library (with OneSearch discovery and interlibrary loan), Computer Lab (24 Windows workstations), Career & Workforce Training Center (with AI-powered chat assistance), Student Success Center (free tutoring), and Testing Center (proctoring GED, CLEP, Praxis, and professional certifications). Additional services include space rental for events/meetings (classrooms, conference rooms, computer labs accommodating 15-100 attendees), Seasons and Occasions Cafe, student parking, and RHEC Foundation scholarships. The center serves as a multi-institutional campus where various colleges and universities deliver programs, unified by shared facilities and support services.

Scale indicator5 records

Each record includes

Type, Value, Description, Source

Partnership13 partners
Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Member institution offering doctoral programs including Doctor of Nurse Anesthesia Practice (entry-to-practice and post-master's) at the RHEC. Programs are delivered in hybrid format combining on-site and distance coursework.

Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Member institution offering Counselor Education Master's, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies (master's and doctoral), Reading Specialist K-12, Mathematics Education, and graduate certificates in Leadership Academy and Local Government Management.

Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Member institution offering Educational Leadership (master's and certificate), Speech Language Pathology, Adult Degree Program, RN to BSN, test prep programs (SAT, ACT, GRE, GMAT, LSAT), and professional certificates (Paralegal, Project Management, Certified Financial Planner, Lean Six Sigma, Learning Design & Technology).

Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Member institution offering Bachelor of Science in Nursing (on-site at RHEC), RN to BSN, Healthcare Administration (Bachelor's and Master's), Public Health, Social Work, Respiratory Therapy Degree Advancement, Business Analytics (MBA and certificate), Doctor of Nursing Practice, Doctor of Education, Doctorate in Health Sciences, and various graduate certificates.

Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Member institution offering Culinary Arts career studies certificates including Introduction to Foodservice, Advanced Foodservice, Baking and Pastry, and Cake Production and Decorating.

Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Member institution offering Virginia's only accelerated three-year Doctor of Pharmacy program. Students complete 2nd year didactic curriculum and 3rd year rotations at the RHEC.

Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Member institution offering Certified Nursing Assistant Program, Project Discovery (first-generation college-bound student program), and WINGS (Women Initiating New Growth) reentry program for women released from incarceration.

Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Member institution offering GED Preparation and National External Diploma Program (NEDP) for adults seeking high school equivalency credentials.

Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Member institution providing higher education programs at the RHEC.

Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Member institution offering health professions training programs at the RHEC.

Strategic tierCoreTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Member institution providing higher education programs at the RHEC.

12Mid Atlantic OTI Education Center
Strategic tierSecondaryTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Partner organization offering OSHA training courses (OSHA 510, 500, 511) at the RHEC as Host Training Organization.

education.edu
Strategic tierSecondaryTypeStrategic or Co-development Partner
Description

Library resource sharing partnership allowing students from VIVA member institutions to receive community borrower cards and access RHEC library resources.

Recent move3 records

Each record includes

Date, Type, Title, Description, Source

Expansion highlight5 records

Each record includes

Type, Description

Peers8 records
TypeEmerging player
Description

National workforce development nonprofit offering technical training and job placement, similar in target audience to RHEC's workforce programs (CNA, culinary, OSHA) but operating through corporate employer partnerships rather than a higher-ed consortium.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

Global commercial test delivery and proctoring operator that competes with RHEC's Testing Center in the certification/licensure exam segment. RHEC proctors CLEP, DSST, Praxis, and Pearson VUE exams that Prometric and its competitors also deliver at scale.

TypeRegional player
Description

Virginia public research university that has historically operated distance learning and regional higher-education-center partnerships. Comparable in mission (regional access to advanced degrees) and demographics served, though based in Hampton Roads rather than Roanoke.

TypeBroad incumbent
Description

Statewide system of 23 community colleges providing workforce and transfer education across Virginia. Functions as both a parent/funder (through VWCC and other member institutions) and a broader competitive alternative to RHEC's workforce credentials.

TypeDirect peer
Description

A member institution of RHEC that also operates its own campus in Roanoke with workforce credentials (CNA, culinary, IT). Demonstrates both partnership and direct competition with RHEC's non-degree offerings, making it a hybrid peer.

TypeDirect peer
Description

Operates an analogous multi-institutional shared-facility model in Staunton, VA, hosting university and community college programs under one roof in partnership with Blue Ridge Community College. This is the closest direct comparable in Virginia's higher-ed-center ecosystem.

TypeRegional player
Description

Virginia Community College System institutions serving Southwest Virginia with comparable workforce and transfer programs (similar geographic and demographic footprint as RHEC's catchment). Operates as a single institution rather than a consortium, but competes for the same adult learner pool.

8University Center at Lake Nona
TypeDirect peer
Description

Multi-institutional higher education center in Orlando, Florida, hosting programs from UCF, Valencia College, and other partners in a shared facility. Same hub-and-spoke infrastructure model as RHEC, applied to a different region.

Market position
Strengths4 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Weaknesses4 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Competitive moat4 records

Each record includes

Type, Details

Key risks6 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Key highlights7 records

Each record includes

Headline, Details, Source

Customer concentration

Classification, Details

Named customers9 records

Each record includes

Name, Industry, Type, Use case, Source, UUID

Segment5 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Primary, Description, Pain point addressed, Use case, Source

Ideal customer profile4 records

Each record includes

Profile, Firmographic size, Sales motion, Sales cycle length, Buying structure, Purchase trigger, Buyer persona, Geography, Industry vertical, Primary use case, Description, Pain points, Evidence proof points, Target buyer

Technology focused
No
API detail
Has APIbool
No

Docs URL, Description

Integration23 records

Each record includes

Title, Type, Description, Source

AI capability2 records

Each record includes

Type, Description, Source

AI maturity
App detail

Has app

Core technology
Revenue estimate
Valuation estimate
Number of profiles
Profiles1 record

Each record includes

Name, Designation, Designation category, Overview, Profile commentary, Source

Subsidiaries1 record

Each record includes

Name, Acquired on, Relationship type, Type, Business focus

No data
Funding overview

Funding stage, Last funding date, Total funding USD

Funding rounds

Each record includes

Round, Amount USD, Date, Pre money valuation, Total investors, Investors, News

Investors

Each record includes

Name, Type, Date of entry, Rounds participated, Website

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

M&A

Each record includes

Name, Acquisition type, Announced date, Completed date, Status, Website, News

Investment

Each record includes

Name, Round, Announced date, Lead investor, Website, News

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Roanoke Higher Education Center

Higher Education Serviceseducation.edu

Roanoke Higher Education Center is a Virginia political subdivision operating a shared campus in Roanoke where 11 member institutions deliver 70 programs from GED to doctoral level, supported by centralized library, testing, tutoring, and career services for adult learners in Southwest Virginia.

What Roanoke Higher Education Center does

Roanoke Higher Education Center (RHEC) is a public, state-chartered higher education hub — legally constituted as the Roanoke Higher Education Authority, a political subdivision of the Commonwealth of Virginia — operating from a single facility at 108 North Jefferson Street in downtown Roanoke. Founded in 2001, RHEC functions as a shared-infrastructure platform on which 11 member institutions (Virginia Tech, James Madison University, Radford University, Virginia Commonwealth University, Virginia Western Community College, Appalachian College of Pharmacy, Roanoke College, Virginia State University, Sovah School of Health Professions, Total Action for Progress, and Region 5 Adult Education) and 5 partner institutions deliver 70 programs ranging from GED preparation through doctoral degrees. Member institutions lease classroom, laboratory, and office facilities, while RHEC operates shared student services including the RHEC Library (OneSearch discovery, EBSCO databases, interlibrary loan via VIVA), a 24-station Windows computer lab, the Student Success Center (free tutoring), the Testing Center (proctoring CLEP, DSST, Praxis, Pearson VUE, GED), and the Career & Workforce Training Center (which added a 24/7 AI chat assistant in 2024).

The business model is hybrid. Revenue streams include (a) lease and program-delivery payments from member institutions, (b) facility and conference room rentals to outside businesses and nonprofits at $25-$104/hour depending on room and nonprofit status, (c) testing and proctoring fees at $28.50 per examination, (d) tuition collected by member institutions (not by RHEC), and (e) philanthropic funding through the affiliated 501(c)(3) RHEC Foundation. As a Virginia political subdivision, RHEC is also supported by state appropriations, though exact figures are not disclosed. Customer segments span adult learners and working professionals (primary, 800-900 program completers annually, 17,000+ cumulatively), member institutions (primary B2B anchors), workforce-development seekers (CNA, OSHA, culinary arts certifications), adults seeking high school equivalency, and business/community organizations renting event space.

Operationally, RHEC serves the Roanoke Valley and Southwest Virginia region with on-site, online synchronous, online asynchronous, and hybrid delivery formats. Distribution is regional for facility-based services and global for online courses. Leadership transition is imminent: Executive Director Kay Dunkley, Ed.D. — who has led the center since 2016 and overseen its 25th anniversary, campus expansion, and foundation activation — is retiring effective January 1, 2027, with the Board of Trustees conducting an executive search.

Roanoke Higher Education Center firmographics

Firmographics
Name
Roanoke Higher Education Center
Legal name
Roanoke Higher Education Authority
Website
https://education.edu
Company type
Private
Founded year
2001
Operating status
Operating
Headcount range
11–50 employees
Short description
Roanoke Higher Education Center is a Virginia political subdivision operating a shared campus in Roanoke where 11 member institutions deliver 70 programs from GED to doctoral level, supported by centralized library, testing, tutoring, and career services for adult learners in Southwest Virginia.
Ownership category
akta.pro rank

Where Roanoke Higher Education Center is headquartered

Location

Headquarters

HQ city
Roanoke
HQ country
United States
HQ region
North America

Offices1 record

Markets served

Roanoke Higher Education Center business model

Business model
GTM type
B2B and B2C
Offering type
Services
Cost components
Personnel, Operations, Infrastructure, Technology or R&D, Marketing or Sales

Revenue model

  1. Educational Program Delivery: Revenue generated through member institution lease agreements and program partnerships. Member institutions offer degrees ranging from GED preparation through doctoral programs, with tuition and fees collected by the respective institutions.
  2. Facility and Space Rental: The center rents classrooms, conference rooms, and computer labs to businesses and organizations for meetings, training sessions, and events. Pricing varies by room type and nonprofit status.
  3. Testing and Proctoring Services: The Testing Center proctors various exams (CLEP, DSST, GED, Praxis, Pearson VUE, etc.) for a fee of $28.50 per examination.
  4. Tutoring Services: Free tutoring for member institution students; fee-based tutoring available for non-affiliated community members.

Pricing tiers

ModelBillingPrice
Unit PricingPay-as-you-goLarge Multipurpose Room 409 rental
Unit PricingPay-as-you-goConference Room 417 rental
Unit PricingPay-as-you-goComputer Lab Room 202 rental
Unit PricingPay-as-you-goComputer Lab Room 419 rental
One time/ perpetual licensePay-as-you-goOSHA 510 Course fee
Unit PricingPay-as-you-goSmall Classroom 418 rental
Unit PricingPay-as-you-goMedium Classroom 411 rental
Unit PricingPay-as-you-goLarge Classroom 408 rental
Unit PricingPay-as-you-goA/V and facilities equipment rental
Unit PricingPay-as-you-goDistance Exam Proctoring
One time/ perpetual licensePay-as-you-goCertified Nursing Assistant Program

Go-to-market motion1 record

Distribution channels5 records

Marketing channels6 records

Roanoke Higher Education Center product offering

Product offering

Core offering

The Roanoke Higher Education Center (RHEC) operates as a multi-institutional educational hub offering degree and certificate programs (from GED preparation through doctoral level) delivered by 11 member colleges and universities in a shared facility. Beyond academic programs, RHEC provides student support services (library, computer lab, tutoring, career center, testing center), facility rentals (classrooms, conference rooms, computer labs) to businesses and community organizations, and testing proctoring for professional certifications.

Product overview

Roanoke Higher Education Center operates as a collaborative educational hub providing comprehensive academic programs, student support services, and facility rentals. The center functions as a platform with multiple integrated services: core educational offerings include degree and certificate programs (from GED to doctoral level) delivered through 11 member institutions; student services encompass the RHEC Library (with OneSearch discovery and interlibrary loan), Computer Lab (24 Windows workstations), Career & Workforce Training Center (with AI-powered chat assistance), Student Success Center (free tutoring), and Testing Center (proctoring GED, CLEP, Praxis, and professional certifications). Additional services include space rental for events/meetings (classrooms, conference rooms, computer labs accommodating 15-100 attendees), Seasons and Occasions Cafe, student parking, and RHEC Foundation scholarships. The center serves as a multi-institutional campus where various colleges and universities deliver programs, unified by shared facilities and support services.

Differentiator

Problem solved

Functional benefit

Quantifiable outcome

  • 17,000+ individuals have earned degrees, achieved industry credentials, and pursued new careers
  • +1 more outcomes

Companies that use Roanoke Higher Education Center

Customer profile

Named customers9 records

Segments5 records

Ideal customer profiles4 records

Roanoke Higher Education Center technology and API

Technology

Technology focussed No

API detail

Has API
No
API docs
API detail

Core technology

AI maturity

App detail

Integration23 records

AI capability2 records

Roanoke Higher Education Center partnerships and signals

Strategic signal

Partnerships

13 partnerships are on record, tiered core and secondary.

  • Virginia Commonwealth UniversitycoreStrategic or Co-development PartnerMember institution offering doctoral programs including Doctor of Nurse Anesthesia Practice (entry-to-practice and post-master's) at the RHEC. Programs are delivered in hybrid format combining on-site and distance coursework.
  • Virginia TechcoreStrategic or Co-development PartnerMember institution offering Counselor Education Master's, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies (master's and doctoral), Reading Specialist K-12, Mathematics Education, and graduate certificates in Leadership Academy and Local Government Management.
  • James Madison UniversitycoreStrategic or Co-development PartnerMember institution offering Educational Leadership (master's and certificate), Speech Language Pathology, Adult Degree Program, RN to BSN, test prep programs (SAT, ACT, GRE, GMAT, LSAT), and professional certificates (Paralegal, Project Management, Certified Financial Planner, Lean Six Sigma, Learning Design & Technology).
  • Radford UniversitycoreStrategic or Co-development PartnerMember institution offering Bachelor of Science in Nursing (on-site at RHEC), RN to BSN, Healthcare Administration (Bachelor's and Master's), Public Health, Social Work, Respiratory Therapy Degree Advancement, Business Analytics (MBA and certificate), Doctor of Nursing Practice, Doctor of Education, Doctorate in Health Sciences, and various graduate certificates.
  • Virginia Western Community CollegecoreStrategic or Co-development PartnerMember institution offering Culinary Arts career studies certificates including Introduction to Foodservice, Advanced Foodservice, Baking and Pastry, and Cake Production and Decorating.
  • Appalachian College of PharmacycoreStrategic or Co-development PartnerMember institution offering Virginia's only accelerated three-year Doctor of Pharmacy program. Students complete 2nd year didactic curriculum and 3rd year rotations at the RHEC.
  • Total Action for Progress (TAP)coreStrategic or Co-development PartnerMember institution offering Certified Nursing Assistant Program, Project Discovery (first-generation college-bound student program), and WINGS (Women Initiating New Growth) reentry program for women released from incarceration.
  • Region 5 Adult EducationcoreStrategic or Co-development PartnerMember institution offering GED Preparation and National External Diploma Program (NEDP) for adults seeking high school equivalency credentials.
  • Roanoke CollegecoreStrategic or Co-development PartnerMember institution providing higher education programs at the RHEC.
  • Sovah School of Health ProfessionscoreStrategic or Co-development PartnerMember institution offering health professions training programs at the RHEC.
  • Virginia State UniversitycoreStrategic or Co-development PartnerMember institution providing higher education programs at the RHEC.
  • Mid Atlantic OTI Education CentersecondaryStrategic or Co-development PartnerPartner organization offering OSHA training courses (OSHA 510, 500, 511) at the RHEC as Host Training Organization.
  • VIVA Cooperative Borrowing ProgramsecondaryStrategic or Co-development PartnerLibrary resource sharing partnership allowing students from VIVA member institutions to receive community borrower cards and access RHEC library resources.

Scale indicators5 records

Recent moves3 records

Expansion highlights5 records

Roanoke Higher Education Center competitors and assessment

Company assessment

Emerging players

  • Year Up: National workforce development nonprofit offering technical training and job placement, similar in target audience to RHEC's workforce programs (CNA, culinary, OSHA) but operating through corporate employer partnerships rather than a higher-ed consortium.

Broad incumbents

  • Prometric: Global commercial test delivery and proctoring operator that competes with RHEC's Testing Center in the certification/licensure exam segment. RHEC proctors CLEP, DSST, Praxis, and Pearson VUE exams that Prometric and its competitors also deliver at scale.
  • Virginia Community College System (VCCS): Statewide system of 23 community colleges providing workforce and transfer education across Virginia. Functions as both a parent/funder (through VWCC and other member institutions) and a broader competitive alternative to RHEC's workforce credentials.

Regional players

  • Old Dominion University: Virginia public research university that has historically operated distance learning and regional higher-education-center partnerships. Comparable in mission (regional access to advanced degrees) and demographics served, though based in Hampton Roads rather than Roanoke.
  • New River/Mountain Gateway Community College: Virginia Community College System institutions serving Southwest Virginia with comparable workforce and transfer programs (similar geographic and demographic footprint as RHEC's catchment). Operates as a single institution rather than a consortium, but competes for the same adult learner pool.

Direct peers

  • Virginia Western Community College: A member institution of RHEC that also operates its own campus in Roanoke with workforce credentials (CNA, culinary, IT). Demonstrates both partnership and direct competition with RHEC's non-degree offerings, making it a hybrid peer.
  • Higher Education Center (Staunton, Virginia): Operates an analogous multi-institutional shared-facility model in Staunton, VA, hosting university and community college programs under one roof in partnership with Blue Ridge Community College. This is the closest direct comparable in Virginia's higher-ed-center ecosystem.
  • University Center at Lake Nona: Multi-institutional higher education center in Orlando, Florida, hosting programs from UCF, Valencia College, and other partners in a shared facility. Same hub-and-spoke infrastructure model as RHEC, applied to a different region.

Market position

Strengths4 records

Weaknesses4 records

Competitive moat4 records

Key risks6 records

Key highlights7 records

Customer concentration

Roanoke Higher Education Center social profiles

Digital presence

Roanoke Higher Education Center financial estimates

Financial estimate

Revenue estimate

Valuation estimate

Roanoke Higher Education Center leadership team

Management profile

Number of profiles

Profiles1 record

Roanoke Higher Education Center subsidiaries and ownership

Company hierarchy

Subsidiaries1 record

Roanoke Higher Education Center funding detail

Funding detail

Funding overview

Funding rounds

Investors

Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Roanoke Higher Education Center M&A and investment

M&A and investment

M&A

Investments

M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →

Frequently asked questions about Roanoke Higher Education Center

What does Roanoke Higher Education Center do?

The Roanoke Higher Education Center (RHEC) operates as a multi-institutional educational hub offering degree and certificate programs (from GED preparation through doctoral level) delivered by 11 member colleges and universities in a shared facility. Beyond academic programs, RHEC provides student support services (library, computer lab, tutoring, career center, testing center), facility rentals (classrooms, conference rooms, computer labs) to businesses and community organizations, and testing proctoring for professional certifications.

Is Roanoke Higher Education Center a public or private company?

Roanoke Higher Education Center is a private company. It is classified as state government owned and is currently operating.

When was Roanoke Higher Education Center founded?

Roanoke Higher Education Center was founded in 2001. It employs 11 to 50 people.

Where is Roanoke Higher Education Center based?

Roanoke Higher Education Center is headquartered in Roanoke, United States, in the North America region.

How does Roanoke Higher Education Center make money?

Four revenue lines are on record. Educational Program Delivery is the primary driver. The others are facility and Space Rental, testing and Proctoring Services and tutoring Services.

Who are Roanoke Higher Education Center's main competitors?

Year Up is listed as an emerging player. Broad incumbents are Prometric and Virginia Community College System (VCCS). Regional players are Old Dominion University and New River/Mountain Gateway Community College. Direct peers are Virginia Western Community College, Higher Education Center (Staunton, Virginia) and University Center at Lake Nona.

Does Roanoke Higher Education Center have an API?

No public API is recorded for Roanoke Higher Education Center.

Unlock the full company data

50 free credits on sign-up, no credit card required.

Contact sales