Rontec
Rontec is an independent UK forecourt operator running 267 Esso-, BP-, and Shell-branded service stations across England and Wales, offering fuel, convenience retail (Shop'n Drive, Morrisons Daily), car wash, branded food franchises, and 150kW EV charging under a Commission Operator model.
- Company typePrivate
- Founded2011
- HeadquartersLondon, United Kingdom
- Headcount101–250
- GTM typeB2C
- OfferingServices
What Rontec does
Rontec Roadside Retail Limited is an independent UK forecourt operator running 267 service stations across England and Wales. The company was formed in 2011 to acquire Total Oil UK's retail network and in 2015 merged with Snax24, both heritage businesses traceable to Sir Gerald Ronson CBE's 1966 founding of Heron Service Stations, which opened the UK's first self-service petrol station. Fuels are retailed under the Esso, BP, and Shell brands via long-standing fuel-supplier partnerships, with the BP me rewards, Shell Go Plus, and Nectar loyalty programmes integrated at applicable sites.
The business operates a multi-format retail model across four branded sub-divisions: Shop'n Drive (167+ 24/7 convenience stores featuring Costa Coffee, Greggs, and Subway franchises); Morrisons Daily (forecourt grocery format with fresh produce and deliveries via Just Eat, Deliveroo, and Uber Eats); wash'n drive (automated and self-service car wash with contactless payment and touchscreen controls); and CHARGE (150kW high-powered EV charging stations powered by green energy). Day-to-day site operations are conducted by independent Commission Operators who run stations as agents under Rontec management, brand, and infrastructure frameworks.
Rontec monetises across multiple transaction-based streams — fuel margin, convenience goods, car wash, food franchise royalties, EV charging usage fees, parcel logistics (InPost/Amazon Hub), and commission-operator fees — alongside an ESG/brand-equity programme anchored on its Pennies digital charity-box partnership active at 260 sites. The customer base is structurally diverse: daily motorists and commuters, local community shoppers, EV drivers, and franchisee operators, with no enterprise B2B anchors disclosed. Rontec is a private limited company headquartered in Watford with a registered office in London, employing 101-250 staff supplemented by its Commission Operator network.
Rontec firmographics
Firmographics- Name
- Rontec
- Legal name
- Rontec Roadside Retail Limited
- Website
- https://rontec.com
- Company type
- Private
- Founded year
- 2011
- Operating status
- Operating
- Headcount range
- 101–250 employees
- Short description
- Rontec is an independent UK forecourt operator running 267 Esso-, BP-, and Shell-branded service stations across England and Wales, offering fuel, convenience retail (Shop'n Drive, Morrisons Daily), car wash, branded food franchises, and 150kW EV charging under a Commission Operator model.
- Ownership category
- akta.pro rank
Where Rontec is headquartered
LocationHeadquarters
- HQ city
- London
- HQ country
- United Kingdom
- HQ region
- Europe
Offices3 records
Markets served
Rontec business model
Business model- GTM type
- B2C
- Offering type
- Services
- Cost components
- Personnel, Operations, Infrastructure, Supply Chain, Marketing or Sales, Technology or R&D
Revenue model
- Fuel Sales: Sale of petroleum products (petrol, diesel) at forecourt service stations operating under Esso, BP, and Shell brands
- Retail Shop Sales: Sale of convenience goods, groceries, food-to-go, and everyday essentials at Shop'n Drive and Morrisons Daily locations
- Car Wash and Valet Services: Cash wash and automated car wash facilities including contactless payments, jet washes, and automated cleaning systems
- Fast Food Franchise Operations: Revenue from franchise operations including Costa Coffee, Greggs, Subway, and other food brand concessions at service stations
- Commission Operator Fees: Commission-based model where independent operators run service stations as agents, with Rontec providing brand, infrastructure and operational framework
- EV Charging Services: Electric vehicle charging at CHARGE branded 150kW high-powered charging stations, powered by green sustainable energy sources
Pricing tiers
| Model | Billing | Price |
|---|---|---|
| Usage-based | Pay-as-you-go | EV charging - pricing not publicly disclosed |
| Unit Pricing | Pay-as-you-go | Car wash services - pricing not publicly disclosed |
Go-to-market motion3 records
Distribution channels7 records
Marketing channels6 records
Rontec product offering
Product offeringCore offering
Rontec operates a network of 267 forecourt service stations across England and Wales under Esso, BP, and Shell fuel brands. The company offers multi-service roadside retail including fuel sales, convenience grocery (Shop'n Drive, Morrisons Daily), car wash (wash'n drive), EV charging (CHARGE), and franchise food brands (Costa, Greggs, Subway), supported by a Commission Operator model where independent entrepreneurs manage day-to-day operations.
Product overview
Rontec is one of the UK's leading independent forecourt operators operating 267 service stations across England and Wales. The company operates under Esso, BP, and Shell fuel brands and has developed a multi-brand convenience portfolio comprising Shop'n Drive (convenience retail with Costa, Greggs, and Subway partnerships at 167+ locations), Morrisons Daily (fresh grocery with delivery partnerships), wash'n drive (car wash and valet services with contactless payment), and CHARGE (150kW EV charging). The business model includes Commission Operators who manage day-to-day forecourt operations. Rontec has a history dating back to 1966 with Heron Service Stations and has grown through acquisitions including Total Oil UK (2011) and Snax24 (2015).
Differentiator
Problem solved
Functional benefit
Brands
- shop'n drive: Forecourt convenience store brand offering everyday essentials, fresh food-to-go, quality drinks, and treats. Over 167 forecourt locations across the UK, open 24/7.
- Morrisons Daily
- wash'n drive
- CHARGE
- Commission Operator Programme
Products and services
- Shop'n Drive Convenience store format operating at over 167 forecourt locations across the UK, offering snacks, beverages, emergency car care products, and food-to-go partnerships with Costa, Greggs, and Subway. Open 24/7.
- Morrisons Daily Fresh grocery and convenience stores located within forecourts, offering Morrisons-quality fresh produce, chilled meals, snacks, and essentials with extended hours. Partnerships with Just Eat, Deliveroo, and Uber Eats for grocery deliveries.
- wash'n drive Automatic and self-service car wash facilities with smart touchscreen terminals, contactless payment options, high-powered vacuum stations, and precision air towers.
- CHARGE EV charging service featuring high-powered 150kW charging stations compatible with all major EV models, available 24/7 with tap-and-go card payments or mobile app, powered by green sustainable energy sources.
- Fuel Sales (Esso, BP, Shell) Petrol and diesel fuel sales operated under Esso, BP, and Shell brand partnerships at 267 service stations across England and Wales.
- Commission Operator Programme Entrepreneur programme allowing independent operators to run their own Rontec service station under the company brand, with Rontec providing operational framework, training, infrastructure, and brand support.
Quantifiable outcome
- Nearly £3 million raised for UK charities through Pennies micro-donation partnership
- +2 more outcomes
Companies that use Rontec
Customer profileNamed customers4 records
Segments3 records
Ideal customer profiles4 records
Rontec technology and API
TechnologyTechnology focussed No
API detail
- Has API
- No
- API docs
- API detail
Core technology
AI maturity
App detail
Feature3 records
Rontec partnerships and signals
Strategic signalPartnerships
17 partnerships are on record, tiered core and minor.
- EssocoreFuel brand partnership operating service stations under the Esso brand alongside Rontec's Shop'n Drive retail offering
- BPcoreFuel brand partnership with BP for forecourt operations, including BP me rewards loyalty integration
- ShellcoreFuel brand partnership with Shell including Shell Go Plus loyalty programme integration
- MorrisonscoreMorrisons Daily format bringing Morrisons supermarket quality and fresh food to forecourt locations across England and Wales
- Costa CoffeecoreCoffee franchise partnership bringing Costa Coffee Express to Shop'n Drive locations
- GreggscoreFood franchise partnership with Greggs bakery concessions at Shop'n Drive and Morrisons Daily locations
- SubwaycoreFast food franchise partnership bringing Subway sandwiches to select Shop'n Drive forecourt locations
- West Cornwall Pasty CominorFood franchise partnership bringing Cornish pasties to select forecourt locations
- NectarminorLoyalty programme partnership allowing Nectar card collection at Rontec service stations
- BP me rewardsminorBP loyalty rewards programme integration at BP-branded Rontec sites
- Shell Go PlusminorShell loyalty rewards programme integration at Shell-branded Rontec sites
- Just EatminorFood delivery partnership for Morrisons Daily rapid grocery deliveries via Just Eat platform
- DeliveroominorFood delivery partnership for Morrisons Daily rapid grocery deliveries via Deliveroo platform
- Uber EatsminorFood delivery partnership for Morrisons Daily rapid grocery deliveries via Uber Eats platform
- InPostminorParcel locker partnership providing Amazon Hub delivery and collection services at Rontec forecourts
- PenniesminorCharity partnership with Pennies digital charity box enabling customers to round up purchases for charity donations; raised nearly £3 million since 2014 across 260 stations
- The Michael Palin Centre for StammeringminorCurrent charity partner supported by Rontec, dedicated to helping children and young people with stammering build confidence in communication
Scale indicators6 records
Recent moves7 records
Expansion highlights5 records
Rontec competitors and assessment
Company assessmentEmerging players
- InstaVolt: UK-leading independent rapid EV charging network operator building motorway-adjacent charging hubs; a nascent but credible competitor to Rontec's CHARGE brand in the same retail-charge category.
Direct peers
- EG Group: One of the largest independent forecourt operators globally with deep UK presence; operates a similar multi-brand fuel + convenience + foodservice + EV model (acquired by Asda in 2023 for its UK retail business). Most directly comparable peer to Rontec on scale and operating model.
- MFG (Motor Fuel Group): UK independent fuel retailer operating hundreds of forecourts, branded partnerships, and convenience retail across Britain — direct competitor in the independent forecourt segment that Rontec competes in for sites and supply contracts.
- Applegreen: Irish-headquartered roadside retailer with UK and US operations running service stations under multi-brand fuel partnerships plus convenience and foodservice; very similar 'one-stop roadside' positioning and sub-brand strategy to Rontec.
Broad incumbents
- Shell Retail UK: A second core Rontec fuel brand partner, Shell also operates its own branded UK retail network and aggressive EV charging (Shell Recharge); poses an incumbent-fuels-partner-cum-competitor dynamic.
- Sainsbury's Fuel: Major UK supermarket with extensive petrol forecourt estate integrated with grocery; provides the supermarket-fuel-retail benchmark that Rontec's Morrisons Daily partnership partially competes against.
- Tesco Petrol: UK's largest grocery retailer with a meaningful forecourt estate and Clubcard loyalty integration — a broader-incumbent competitor combining supermarket footprint with fuel-convenience cross-sell that Rontec matches via its own format partnerships.
- BP Retail UK: One of Rontec's three core fuel brand partners, BP also operates its own UK retail network with integrated convenience (including the bp pulse EV charging rollout) — overlapping capability as both partner and competitor.
- Asda Forecourts: UK supermarket that acquired EG Group's UK fuel retail business (~320 sites) and now operates one of the largest forecourt networks in the country — comparable geographic and competitive overlap with Rontec, with grocery cross-sell advantages.
Others
- Morrisons (Wm Morrison): Rontec's Morrisons Daily co-brand partner; operates Morrisons Daily convenience stores independently elsewhere and is in process of being acquired by Asda, making it simultaneously a key supplier partner and adjacent channel competitor.
Market position
Strengths5 records
Weaknesses5 records
Competitive moat5 records
Key risks6 records
Key highlights7 records
Customer concentration
Rontec social profiles
Digital presenceRontec financial estimates
Financial estimateRevenue estimate
Valuation estimate
Rontec leadership team
Management profileNumber of profiles
Profiles1 record
Rontec subsidiaries and ownership
Company hierarchySubsidiaries3 records
Rontec funding detail
Funding detailFunding overview
Funding rounds
Investors
Funding detail is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →
Rontec M&A and investment
M&A and investmentM&A
Investments
M&A and investment is available on the Subscription and Enterprise plan.Contact sales →
Frequently asked questions about Rontec
What does Rontec do?
Rontec operates a network of 267 forecourt service stations across England and Wales under Esso, BP, and Shell fuel brands. The company offers multi-service roadside retail including fuel sales, convenience grocery (Shop'n Drive, Morrisons Daily), car wash (wash'n drive), EV charging (CHARGE), and franchise food brands (Costa, Greggs, Subway), supported by a Commission Operator model where independent entrepreneurs manage day-to-day operations.
Is Rontec a public or private company?
Rontec is a private company. It is classified as family owned and is currently operating.
When was Rontec founded?
Rontec was founded in 2011. It employs 101 to 250 people.
Where is Rontec based?
Rontec is headquartered in London, United Kingdom, in the Europe region.
How does Rontec make money?
Six revenue lines are on record. Fuel Sales are the primary driver. The others are retail Shop Sales, car Wash and Valet Services, fast Food Franchise Operations, commission Operator Fees and EV Charging Services.
Who are Rontec's main competitors?
InstaVolt is listed as an emerging player. Direct peers are EG Group, MFG (Motor Fuel Group) and Applegreen. Broad incumbents are Shell Retail UK, Sainsbury's Fuel, Tesco Petrol, BP Retail UK and Asda Forecourts. Morrisons (Wm Morrison) is listed as an others.
Does Rontec have an API?
No public API is recorded for Rontec.